Premature babies support group

Jane, good if you can go London
hear that London is great for shopping and you can cross over to Paris too
hmm travelling to such far places is too impossible for me now
Hubby suggested going to Bintan for my regular spa treatments, just told him I WILL NOT travel out of Singapore without my boy boys

Disneymickey, if you go Bali let me know how is it ? as I planned to go there too...... TOO MANY PLACES, TOO LITTLE TIME.

hi di id...if can go KL i be SUPER dupper happy hahahahha..london...erhhhh....dream pah :p

wow ur hubby so good. let u go bintan for spa. hor me??? wow...go to those neighbourhood spa centre also not possible keke...

oh i been to bali...really really nice. the sunset..hmm...i forever remember....

sometime really too little time hum...

Costa, my boy is lucky to have a mummy like me, but I am a very poor mummy due to buying too much things! haha! thats why I can't leave my job yet because I dunno how to save!

The grandma put the zhu jiao gen as a flavor, not to eat.

Yeah yeah, mummylian actually overseas clothes are nicer.
Me actually got this idea of getting clothes from overseas and sell online! haha! Anyone want to join me and be a stakeholder? hoho.

Lindah, do take a break if you need to...resting is to prepare yourself for a long journey ahead! hee (chinese saying)

Hi Jane, you do look like a happy mum to me. good leh! must learn from you. Congrats that your hubby got his degrees!!! wow, you can go for a break, sooo good.

Oh btw, my dream is also to be SAHM.

disneymickey, bali is quite relaxing, but dun think you shd bring your gal because there is nothing for her to play there, also got mosquitoes...

Me also want to go bangkok someday, not to relax, but to get some clothings from there to sell!! haha! I really will like to set up online store selling children's clothes leh....but no courage...

actually kkf, you want to be SAHM with online store right? then that is better than being just SAHM, i think!

i was at babymall online. I realise we can actually print cute stuff on rompers and mummies will buy, one. My fren who went spain just got me zara baby tees (3-6mth) that says 'ma mere est la plus belle' and 'mon pere est le plus fort'. So cute.

hi kkf...if u really serious? i want to join in. i have lobang for shipping of clothing in china...wow...so excited. maybe we can start on something hehe..

hmm...i am not exactly a happy mum la but make do with things lor. just be happy everyweekend can cook OK porridge for now and .... waiting see when my boy will crawl!! kekekkekeke...

linday...i actually ever order under PB a romper for my boy...quite cute with those spain wordings too hehe...

jane, the words are in french. dunno y selling in spain. hehe. it's actually a very simple idea that sells.

you have lobang then can start something... ;)

Chloegal
I ordered the cup cakes from www.roomfordesssert.com.sg

Daec
Your baby could be adjusting to the new environment, new smell and new pple handling her.
I ve heard of some newborns (full term bbs) who have sleeping disorder when home. Some sleep in the day and are wide awake till wee hours in the morning.
Some newborns exercise their lungs for hours, leaving the new parents feeling so helpless and mentally drained.
Feel free to ask questions and we will try to help as much as we can.

Jane
My gf told me about the news this am...
Such a tragic....
So, there is still some degree of risk in childbirth. We seem to take it for granted today that all childbirths will be ok.
Hb and I met a friend at NICU last week. She was transferred from TMC to KKH when she was 27 or 28 weeks preggie . Reason: Her placenta was attached to her womb.Her bb was born in KKH at 29 weeks.
She was still very shaky when we talked to her. She said she probably would have died from delivery if her gyane did not initiated the transfer. Seems like TMC is unable to support such cases? I am not sure... Didnt want to ask more.
She had 13 bags of blood for transfusion.

Now I hardly can find time to do shopping... So need a bit of help here.
Any idea where can I get Winnie The Pooh or other Waltz Disney Curtains? Preferably thicker and better quality ones. Thanks!

hi lindah...frankly...i had TONs of idea but no time to implement. hmm shall go and hunt see if i can find the romper pic..show u. its really nice. i been hunting online for such BP hehe...quite reasonable price. the material good too. most of it is price at about $6-7... and its full romper (not those high cut type)

mich...ya..such a tragic...oh..your fren is really blessed...

for the curtain, maybe u want to shop at those geylang sari curtain shop??? quite cheap and many pattern there...

Hi jane you got lobang? Then good leh...we can start something. My hubby can help to set up the website as he is quite good with computer.

I m thinking of getting clothes from china, bangkok, indonesia...hee. My mum in law come from indonesia, can ask her help. For bangkok, I can try source around...you think we are able to make it possible!

I really will like to be a boss! haha...but then so many online clothes stores like kidzcottage...competitive leh.

kkf, jane and lindah, good I hope to join too as I am a SAHM and good to do something
always wanted to start something but have got no idea to do so..... let's start something

Jane
Congrats to ur hubby.. Oso an achievement for him! Jus like ur bb
N no worries for ur boy, he will recover!

Saw the news about the mummy who died... Very sad for the bbs...

One of my colleagues kana dengue fever le.. She had 2x blood transfusion liao.. N guess wat, she is about 20+ weeks pregnant! Anyone know if it is dangerous for the bb??
Hope everything will be well for her... Danger mozzie

Mummylian, is your colleague ok????
Think more or less will affect the baby right?
Hope she and baby will be fine!!! Scary dengue. I got headache since yesterday, now throat also a bit dry...worry!!!!

Dunno need to take mc or not...

mummylian,

seems that any infection may affect baby. plus cannot take antibiotics... hopefully all her symptoms under control so that no need too much medicine. hope the baby will be ok. she must rest in bed, i assume in hospital right?

i was hospitalised for dengue in 2005. never felt so sick and tired before. (during recovery week, worse then 1st trimester pregnancy. I was sleeping all day because body recovering) but i wasn't pregnant so i think your fren realli poor thing. ;(

kkf,
for dengue you will usually get fever for 3 days (high in the morning, subside in the evening)... The migraine thing quite common nowadays it seems. My fren oso has the same thing. I suspect because weather hot cold hot cold. Body has no time to adjust.

But if you think need MC, better take. Become teacher, very impt to take MC. Because in class, there's no telling when whatever the kids do may make you snap! ;)

jane & kkf,

if u really start a biz, i'll surely b ur customer heehee..cos i oso v siao shopping 1

mummylian,
hope ur colleague's bb is ok...1 of my colleague kenna chkn pox during 2nd tri, but doc say lucky 2nd tri & her bb came out ok. so hope ur colleague is ok..

hi kkf - true. really many competitive such biz out there..but i think, the whole idea is to provide niche services...hmm maybe we really can work something out...

didi -- haha ok ok will jio u if we really engine something from here.

hi mummylian - thanks :)wow hope your colleague be ok...ya..now really dengue danger period

disneymickey -- hehe...since u siao shopping perhaps u can generate some good ideas on what shld we start on too??

mummies,...sigh..my boy not well ler. he start coughing yesterday. then wheeze...have put him on the puff then this moring he fever...but after taking parcementol he fever go down. have ask my mum to watch him... think he teething ah cos in April when his first teeth came out, he also same sythoms (that time he was hospitalised for 3 days ah)... mummies...jane tired ah

jane,
ya,teething may b y he's sick..poor boy.. drink more water? my mom sometimes will make barley water, no sugar, dilute & give my ger, to replace plain water...

i only know how to buy clothes..heehee.. but as my hubby travel to US q often, he always go & stock up.. was packing my ger's cupboard 2 nites ago & took out some clothes which were bought long ago (b4 birth) till now can wear liao haha

shoes!! q difficult to find nice & unique & ok-price shoes!!!

btw, someone mentioned abt shopping @kitzcottage & babymall..wat's the website?? i wan to go look c

Jane, you really got all the 'lobangs'

lindah, yup, the things are nice, saw them at the website that you mentioned, do you if it is cheaper for them to ship direct or via Vpost USA ? I cannot tahan not buying

didi

since you are SAHM, do you mind organising spree. got one mum in spree thread wants someone to do. she has 20% discount code that can be used provided order is in by july 16. she want sembawang area but dunno if that is negotiable.

if you decide to go ahead, one word of caution, make sure pple transfer $$ to you first before ordering. otherwise, if buyer MIA, then jia lat!

i also dunno if direct shipping or vPost is cheaper... but most mums use vPost.

hehehe. sigh. bad timing... ;)

if you buying, you want to share postage w me? if only 2 pple should be quite ok right? i just want one romper and one set of rcvg blankets.

i noticed in SCN/NICU, they make a nest for the baby using blankets... so I thot it'd be useful when my son comes home...

hi lindah..pardon my interruption. about the 'nest' i think...erh...not necessary when u bring your boy home... cos ... when he come home, he be sleeping in cots? and erh..haha..think he won't like to be nest??

just my 2 cents of thoughts haha...then the nest not necessary to be made of rcvg blanket pah...

jane, thanks for your advice. ya... i think i kiasu... actually the blankets i will use like pillow lah... but oso dunno how long baby will use. worse case, pass to my SIL who's giving birth in august lor... but the material like very nice like that. so tempted to buy...

lindah, for the pillows I am using those cloth nappies, but for those blankets I bot from KKH (the First few years, ie if we are talking abt the same) they are good and bigger I still use them to swaddle my boys every nite

hi lindah...no la, won't say u are being kiasu. i brought lots of things (that end up never use) for my boy too hahahah....

agree the material looks good.

like didi, me too buy it form KKH (the first few year).

What blankets is that??? First few years got meh?

I think no one can beat me in buyign things!!! haha, me really splurge a lot on my boy!!! ha!
But I become a penniless mum.

Me come home sooo early today! hee. Ask a stupid p6 student to stay back after school, he go run home!!! Luckily me go home after waiting half an hour because colleague ask me to walk home with her, else will be waiting like a fool there. Later called up his father then know the maid has fetched him back! Stupid boy! me so angry. Any idea how to punish him tomorrow since now we cannot lay our fingers on him?

Jane hope your boy recover very soon. Me also very worry when my boy fall sick. He was hospitalised once for around 5 days for bronchitits! Soooo scary! Now, every weekend, faithfully bring him to yu guo for tui na, and also make him drink vitamin syrup every morning.

Kidzcottage sell really nice clothes. I love buying from there...hee

Me want to set up one store like it too! hmm...at least I know we got one sure customer - disneymickey!

I will like to sell some chinese or malay board books, dun you think we often see english board books but not mother tongue? I saw quite a few in taiwan, and bought one set home, my boy loves it! But sad leh, it is in fan ti zi (olden chinese words)...

kkf
I think i saw you ordering some stuff from Kidzcottage.
I ordered some puzzles too... but i cannot find the thread now.
Did the owner say anything about collection?

didi... i am serious about getting the stuff leh. you want to share postage w me? let me know ok? I PM the other mum but no reponse... hmm...

lindah, as I have a gf also want to get some things from babymallonline, think you better don't wait for me, my gf dilly-dally one
will hold u up

thanks for welcoming me and ur assurances! My gal just go home so I am sorta on edge how to take care her. I first time parent. Taking of her myself now.

yes Lindah, me still wanna be SAHM. mum too old to cope. Best for her to rest. Have to sort out stuff and cut expenses to do that.

Abt me.. My gal born at 32wks with a birthweight of 1015. Had pre-enclampsia.. She stayed at KK for 48 days and had hernia op.

Happy she's home. worry lot how take care of her. I suppose part of me still not relaxed from e days when I preggy and wondering how the blood pressure will be..sorta accumulates till now.. and still adding coz she just came home and I not confident yet how take care of her/if all ok.. Still somewhat in disbelief - she at home..

daec,

i oso had pre-eclampsia. my ger born @34wks @1.45kg. she stayed in hospital for a total of 3wks. she's 16.5mths now. very active but skinny gal
dun worry, ur little princess will b crawling/walking ard soon..

how's ur blood pressure now? shld b ok after delivery rt? dun worry abt bb, u will b able to do it. i'm oso a 1st time mother & i juz made it.. anyhow 1 la haha.. r u breastfeeding? if yes, gd. if no, dun stress urself ok? formula milk is oso sufficient 4 bb.

ur ger sleeping q a lot? try to rest while she zzz. trust me/us, u can do it. u can come in n 'chat' whenever u hav doubts. we hav lots of helpful mommies here, surely someone can help u

btw, today saw my ger WALKED!! must go n record down in my notebook!! though juz few steps, i'm v happy alrdy. at least it proves tat she can walk!! so mommies, b patient. every bb has diff development stages. now i'm juz waiting 4 her to talk!

gd nite.. "see" u tmrw morning!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender </TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

lindah,
are you going to see through the babymallonline spree?

i'm an online shopping junkie but it's impossible for me to organsise large-scale sprees as my daughter will not allow me to focus on the computer for too long.

daec,
welcome! i need your daughter's birthdate for the table.

hi naddy

yah, yah. i think i am going to put in my order today... u want to share postage w me? i havent decided via v-post or via direct shipping. i think v-post cheaper. you imagine. the store charges minimum USD$7.50 for local shipping... and can go up to USD$31 if you want express+insured. that's more exp than the amt of stuff i want to buy!

you PM me by today 3pm and confirm what you want to buy, can or not? i will put in my order at 5.30pm (coz hv to do in office. at home, my PC not working).

Hi premature bb mummies

a bb born 2mths earlier = premature. Somebody said her bb 7mths old but since premature, considered 5mths old only. correct?

If correct, u celebrate b'day on day of birth or 2mths later since u said must add 2mths to be a full mth/year bb

disneymickey : yea my blood pressure is ok. thx for e reassurance ! gd to hear someone been thru it and sucessful ;)

She sleeps more in the day,nite - trouble getting to sleep. She dun sleep that well - make all sort noises, toss and turn. shout or cries in her sleep sometimes, which worries me.It seem geting better I hope.

I wanted to do breastfeed 100% but it not enuff. yea used to stress/cry abt it coz not enuff milk. but hubby say nvr mind - as long as I do my best.
now I try to do combo of breastfeed and formula. Somtimes tempted to give up breastfeed - coz worry I'm stressing her instead by asking her to breastfeed which can take longer sucking time and lesser volume. but she seem like breastfeeding ;)
so now I do both, nights tend to be formulae so that she can sleep longer.

naddy - her bd is 18 May thx !

daec,

dun worry 2 much abt breastmilk. hav u tried pumping out 2 c how much ur ger is drinking actually? maybe then u can gauge if she's drinking enuff?

btw, mommies, need your advise/views. was thinking of getting my ger to drink milk frm straws rather than milk bottle soon, maybe when she turns 18mths. but 1 of my colleagues advised me not 2, she say, w/o bottle, w/o the sucking, scared she dun wan to drink milk anymore. wat do u think??

Daec,
My boy also 32 weeker, didn't manage to breastfeed directly. Don't really know how to latch on. Therefore, I express thruout 8 months. Managed to fully breastfeed for 7 months before mixed in the 8th month. Don't give up breastfeeding her since she has learnt to breastfeed already. She will get better as time goes by. On the other hand, I agree don't let breastfeeding be a stressful thing. Formula also quite good nowadays.

disneymickey,
My sis in law did that to her 2 gals and somehow they drink very little e.g. 8 months drink only 100ml per feed. I not sure if it's due to straw feeding but it can't be a coincidence that both her girls are such small drinkers.

Lindah, thanks a lot
been bz today
btw just kpo here, lindah check something with you : when my boys were in NICU, I came to know a indonesian mommy, do you know if her son has discharged ? (not nice to mention her name here)

disneymickey

she drinking abt 60ml per bottle. Last time, I express was 40ml. Now I dunno how much I hav. ALso heard that breastfeed tend to get more volume as compared to pump coz of the stimulation

Nurse said to breastfeed first then top up with formulae. but she tends to fall asleep after breastfeed so cant do that always. I feel guilty wonder if she not sleep well coz hungry - but ah if I dun breastfeed/pump at all then milk mite gone. Now I breastfeed mornings/afternoons. Nite more depend on formulae coz that's when she tend have more issues sleeping

cheaky
gd point ! thx ! will cont breastfeed

mich

actually I also from Thomson then transfered to KK.my gynae suggest it coz of cost. for my case, she said thomson can handle it but cost is high. maybe that lady transfered to KK for same reason ?

Lindah
that nest thingy useful for my gal at SCN since she move alot. mum bought that little padded mattress thingy with attached bolsters on both sides and pillow on top. COsy ! Maybe can try that ?

Hi Hi

Mich, I am not sure which website you referring to?
The kidzcottage website in biz thread: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/841229.html?1184391040

Bulk purchase site: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/841238.html?1184372872

Not yet leh, kidzcottage never mention about collection yet.

Hi daec welcome! I am kkf! the first in the list of the premature babies, ha!

Relax, dun worry about breastfeeding...me sad to say by 3rd month, me already no supply, ha! But I think you just give whatever you can.

myfab thanks for sharing the news, yizhen is another fighter!

Hi Daec,

U can try nursing while lying down. So that u can get sleep and bb gets to drink. All my bfing girlfriends do that. If u don't pump / latch even at night, ur supply will never be enough.

As for bb not sleep at night is because bb is confused between day and night. This is normal even in full term babies. Even worse for our preemie darlings because the hospital have only one type of light which resembles day time.

Ard 7ish at night, I put myself and dd in the room alone. No noise. I will rock and rock and rock until she sleeps. If she wakes up another 3 hours later, i will give ebm in the same room. Again no noise and darkness. Then I'll rock and rock and rock her to zzzz.....

After 3 weeks, she kinda know 7ish is night and she has to zzz. It's not true that FM makes the bb fuller so they can sleep longer. My dd was never on FM ever since she was discharge. She wakes only once at night.

U can read the sleep book by Dr Sears. It's God send to me.