Premature babies support group

ya... i like the piano too... as it is, got too many toys at home... i think need to sell off some of the clothes i bought. my son touching 4kg already...

good morning mummies

wow..so much to catch up.

myfab -- wow cute picture, two of them seen something really interesting? wow..think their motor skill quite good (to be able to raise their head so high up).

kkf -- haha, i had wanna let my boy take a pic with the Ron Mac too but no chance yet hehe. was very tempted to buy the piano when i saw the threads but hehe... hmm.. i already got quite a number of muscial instructments..so erh..the piano have to 'wait' haha...

lindah -- wow looks like your boy is putting on very good weight. do keep us posted on his progress (which must be very encouraging)

costa - take care ah.

kkf, costa and fairytale -- all of you are very strong mummy. *hugz* *hugz*.

this week busy week for me hence did not sign in till now. me busy online sourcing for a stroller too hehe.

hey..anyone keen to let your bbs try the jumperoo?? haha...robinson toy section have..haha many of my collegues bring their bb there to sit and take pics (OPPPPSSSS..there go wacky jane again)

here a pic of my boy on it keke
868584.jpg

stressed,

hahaha...wow.. that is exactly the one i spot at robinson..hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm......ah yeah, if only i know you have, then i don't have so far go to robinson..go your place take can liao mah hahahaha!! sorry sorry, i joking la...keke

this one not cheap hor..you brought with discount? is your dd still on it now? quite fun hor

wow 4-5 months she already learning to jump ah. her development really quite on par ah

my exsaucer which i rent from rent-that-toy is soon cmong to an month. i intend to rent this one next...

stress...give me some opinion...

868662.jpg

kkf -- i think the above step piano 'noise' is about equal to the piano u brought but this one could be more loud in volumn as its 'step' kekeke...imagine if my boy jump aroudn..oppsps!!

but truthly, the exsaucer really help my mum a lot, cos she can let my boy sit there for 10-20mins while she go toilet or cook something...really helpful. and safe for my boy to be in it...

jane,
another place to try out new toys - toy'r'us!! haha. actually thinking of bringin my ger there this weekend, cos my hubby gg US, he's thinking of buying a wheelbarrow kind of toy 4 her, but i say go & try it out, c if she likes or not then buy haha.. cheapo hor.

the kiddy palace @marina sq oso hav few toys on display can try..

kkf,
thanks, dont like that, see your boy so clever, and know how to play music too.
naddy,
ya, was that water lor, maybe a few spoon only,oh, the phelgm gone, so great, is it because of that steamed apple?my boys one also gone,,,
Myfad,
Maybe another week see how 1st, last time my 1st twins too, the 2ns twins will look at us when we call him, but,1st twins not at all, we also worry abt that, after 1 month, got one day, i point him the camera as i want to take photo for him, suddently he know it, after that when we callhim or make noice , he will turn to the side which sound come from, i think shouls be no problem, but, if you still afraid, maybe can go test hearing again. ya, your babys very chubby.very cute.
lindah,
take care ha..

hi disneymickey -- great idea hahahah...i was tinking of going toy s'rus too during the GSS but had no chance. maybe this weekend plan a trip to the one at Jurong hehehehe!!

sorry what is a wheelbarrow??

i think its not cheapo idea ah, we really have to let our baby tried the toys before buying ;-)

oh..had not bring my boy to marina sq yet..hmm but interesting i did not know got kiddy palace there hehe..now that i know HAHAHAHA!! sure will make my lao gong make a trip down hehe.

jane,
wah, so xinfu of your baby, can rwent so many toys there, if i am at singapore will be great, canb rent for my boys too, how i wish i be there, here dont have at all, and singaporee side cant sent in here too as i ask before...
(((

Oh Jane,

I rented that toy before. She loves it. i love it too because it gives me 10 mins of toilet time!

No lah. She pretend to jump lah at 4 to 5 months. I put her there because I need to do housework and toilet. hahaha...

My brother bought her the jumperoo.

Jane jane, I rented the fisherprice piano b4!

I even got picture of my boy in it...but me at my battlefield now (lindah, me at battlefield, today got time to on my laptop. )
My boy doesn't like to sit in it leh...at first, he was fascinated by the things around the toy (strangely he wasn't fascinated with the stepping of piano), but then after 1 or 2 days, he got bored,and the thing was lying there...

But that time he was around 1 year old. But my boy is strange one, he doesn't like to sit anything, he has no patience. You know my home got a swing, the most he can sit is just 5 mintues...

ok type more when i go home, gotto mark and mark.

thanks for the compliment

kkf
I really din't regret asking permission from my pastor & organiser whether I can touch my boi for the last time before he was cremated.Aft tat,all who are present touched my boi also.

hallo. thanks thanks.

son tried alternate bottling last three days. sometimes can bottle 20-25ml. got once he managed to drink all 70+ml. not bad, huh? i quite happy. hope no more go stun.

but i notice after feeding, his sats sometimes drop. hope it stabilise soon... sometimes, if i carry him 30mins after feeding, he may still choke a bit.

but i try not to worry lah. let him take his time to get better.

jane,
it looks something like tat
868957.jpg

hubby kept saying cool..btw, my colleague saw me looking at the pic, told me they hav such 4 rent in zoo.. haha.. told me to bring my ger there to c if she likes it.

lindah,
70ml?? wow!! that's very good! hope he takes well to bottling. the nurses will also encourage you to latch on direct once he's completely okay with bottling. but be prepared for rejection if you're going to try direct latch-on.

disney,
the one at the zoo is a pulling type. i saw some parents pulling their children along and i dont think it's that great cos there are lots of slopes in the zoo.
but the picture looks like it's a push-type, hor?

jane,
i rented the jumperoo before. first two times, my daughter was jumping up and down excitedly but after that, she seemed to be a bit scared of it and cried when we put her in there.

stressed,
your baby is sooo cute!! sooooo chubby!!!

naddy... but he's inconsistentlah. yesterday 4pm, 70ml, today 11am back to 25ml... so i guess the nurses are taking it slow...

other than kkf, anyone else here is a teacher? i am thinking of joining teaching but i hear nowadays very challenging...

Oh it is really you! lindah!

I have replied you. Teaching shortens my life. I got chest pain, shortness of breath, body ache, migrane etc, all dunno due to teaching or due to weakness after giving birth! haha.

I used to have this fantasy idea that I can bring sunshine to every child's life, I can make a difference in them. Now, my fantasy is gone, I realise there is so little I can do for them. i cannot even bring sunshine to my own boy's life...ha!

Anyway, the wagon looks really cool leh disneymickey!!! But I know sure very very ex. I saw dodo selling from motherhood leh, but it is not like that, just a big wagon at $99, so I cannot imagine how much will yours cost!

Btw, disneymickey, you are like my hubby, he is very stressed up and tensed now because his boss came from hongkong. When his boss not around, life is much better, ha!

<font face="Book Antiqua"> Mummies,

Babies born in wk 35 still consider premature? Some PD said consider but some said no leh. </font>

Hi jenifur,
I heard that as long as it's before 36 weeks is considered premature. Anyway, the nurse in NICU even said my 32 weeker is 'just marginally premature'. But I guess it all depends on birth weight and the baby's condition.

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">kkf/Cheaky,

Thanks. My DH was born in wk 35 but she weighed 2.81kg. Didn't stayed in SCN, jus had Jaundice problem den.

BUT Her paediatric cardiologist keeps reminding us tt being premature she will face problem in her IQ/motor skill. He thinks we should let my DH do a series of development tests before she starts sch.

On e other hand our regular PD thinks otherwise so we are abit confused.

In fact our regular PD said DH is doing ok.. she's 21 mths now, able to talk though not sentences, walking & running etc. He tink tere's no need for me to worry.

He also said I should assess my DH's development/progress based on "adjusted age", meaning I shld substract the no of mths she came early from her actual age.</font></font>

Hi mommies, side-tracked a bit, do you know where can I get customised football jersey ? needed to get some for friend's kiddos. Thanks

jenifur,
i think born b4 37wks is considered pre-mature. but i dun think u shld worry, ur ger born wk35, not so bad. FYI, my ger born on wk34 & she was only 1.5kg when born, urs @2.81 kg considered good alrdy & the fact tat she din need NICU, so no worry.

i know some mommeis here still talking abt corrected age for their bb, but my pd nev talk abt tat since after 6mths. even her feeding, he told me to give solid frm 6mths onwards (non-corrected age).

pd did tell me development need to b base on adjusted age - meaning, if nomal bb can flip @4mth, expect my ger to flip @4mth + 6wks. but he say after 1yr, shouldn't hav any diff any more, in terms of developemtn.

FYI, my ger is 16mths, cant' talk or walk yet. ask the mommies here, i oso v gan cheong, but pd oso nev say anything haha. but she's gd w her motor skills, so maybe every bb is diff lor

kkf,
i stress not becos of boss. frankly, boss v flexible & bo chap. but w/o boss ard, more freedom mah heehee.. in fact, even if he's ard, sometimes we oso go for 2hr lunch .. heehee..

fri alrdy yeh yeh..

jenifur,
me got no experience to share but me thinks 35weeker is very mild-premature so i dun think will be far off from her peers. further more 2.81kg is withing normal newborn wt.

in some countries, they categorise premmies by weight
w<500
500<w<750
750<w<1000
1000<w<1500
something like that...

so... your baby not really premmie in the wt context lah... only from the wks context.

disney! yeah! friday! ;)

you can try the web lah.. google it. teeshirt very common but jersey like very difficult to find...

Lindah, ok, but I need it in a hurry, like Suinday. If I am unable to find then I will get something else

Hi jenifur,
Your kid is doing really well. My elder boy, 28 mths (full term baby), is just starting to construct 2 words phrases, can't make sentences. On the other hand, my colleague's daughter (27 mths)already speaking and she said she can even use words like 'actually'. I think every kid is really different.

<font face="Book Antiqua"><font color="0000ff">disneymickey/lindah/Cheaky,

Thanks for all your replies.

Guess I more gan cheong cuz her cardiologist keep mentioning. I know there are lots of premiees who grow up just fine too. But there's just this part of me, feeling so guilty & worried.

I agree that every BB is different. My fren's ger is 2 days younger than my DH but her development is far more advance. She can recognise 100 different country flags & able to read out simple books.

Sometimes I cannot help but wonder if my DH would be on par if she's a full term bb

And is it true that with a case of pre-term delivery, most likely it will be the same for all pregnancy?</font></font>

didi,
you can try peninsular plaza. my friend got her son's jersey there and personalised it there also. which shop? i dunno. you can ask around cos that place has lots of those jersey and shoe shops.

lindah,

i'm a teacher, but presently on no-pay leave. i agree with kkf. i grow old very fast as a teacher. this year, time to rejuvenate myself.

anyway, the thing abt being a tchr is, you cannot take leave. your leave is during the school hols and even then, it's subject to 'principal's pleasure'. and, i felt very guilty always asking my P for time-off to take my daughter see her neonat after i gave birth.

there's a lot of reasons why i wont encourage pple to go into teaching. unless they are really into teaching. i've seen too many half-hearted people join teaching only to leave too soon. (this happens more in secondary schools than primary schools)

jenifur,
i dont think you should worry too much. as long as your daughter is developing within the range given, it's okay.

naddy, do you teach at sec school? during NIE days, you had time for your baby?

you need T/O for neonat appt? thought if you go PM appt, then no need T/O since out of school hours?

anyway i talk as if will sure get if i apply. heheh. aiya... see how lah. if get, then have to think properly...

Hello Mummies

I see a lot of shopping for the kids huh?

Share something funny with you.
Dylan sang this last evening. His remixed version:
Twinkle Twinkle Little Star
How I wonder.... Ee-Ya-Ee-Ya-ohhhh

Dr Argawal said it is NOT normal for young children to snore while sleeping.
Dylan snores. Dr Argawal checked and said his nose appears congested. Have to put nasal drops and take medication.
So mummies, if your precious ones snore in their sleep, please bring it up to the neonat or pd during the nxt review.

During the sharing session yesterday, one 25 weeker weighs 390g! I control my tears when I heard that. Very tough for the parents.

Kkf Lao Shi
I am not teaching and I suffer the same symptoms which you mentioned in your post.
I ate v well during my confinement and I thought I am healthier now as compared to before giving birth.
But this year, I see Doc every 2 mths...

My boss said : Your boys are starting to give you stress.

Costa
You sick ah...
I think I am falling sick too. Body aches, feeling cold.
I just kena Stomach Flu last week! Going to fall sick again... Urghhh!!
KKH Preemies Awareness day Date is fixed. No other details yet.

Chloegal
When is Edric seeing the dentist?

Naddy
How about being a lecturer?
Not as tough as a teacher?

mich,
aiyo, ur son so cute, got his own remix version. can't wait 4 my ger to talk & sing. she's always "singing" now .. but only ah-ah-ah-ah.. but she'll hold anything (mike/stick/comb) as mike & sing when she's in gd mood. can't wait.. heehee..

i've been a relief teacher for 1 day..heehee.. & i give up, not tat i've ever dream of being a teacher anyway. my father was a teacher b4 he retires after almost 35yrs of teaching.. wa piang! i 1 day only give up.. but i'm not the patience type..

when my ger was in NICU, a bb boy oso 'snoring away & the nurses there say quick, call doc. ya, apparently it's got something to do w nose blocked so no gd, but c doc

Mich
Edric will be going to th dentist on the 17 july at National Dental Clinic as i managed to get the referral from polyclinic which is so much cheaper. Have cancel the appt at KKH dental on the 16 july.

How is the 25 weeker bb doing? Did they invit u to the sharing session? if they invit me, i dun think i will have the courage to go lor... i scare i cannot control my tears when have to recall how we managed to go through that period of time and also listen to others parents heartpain stories of how they are going to go through what we went through before.

Did u have any fever? Caused i think Pasir Ris is also one of the dengue infected areas. Must take care lor...

Hi Hi strange today not many posts to catch up.

Hi mich, I used to fall sick almost every month too, but after taking flu vaccination, find that I am much better now.

Ha! I am one of the teacher who almost going to give up!!!

Yeah today is friday!

naddy, okie will check out there too

mich, thanks for the info, thought my younger boi 'snore' too
ok will let the pd know during the next consultation. Btw, just curious what happens to the 25 weeker ? and do you know only those long-stayer gets to attend the shring session and be a guest speaker like yourself ?

Hi didi,
You can check out the shop at Queensway shopping centre at the third floor. It is the only shop there that do this printing..

Hi Mich,
I also have frequent stomach flu and headache. I read before that this happen for people who h sleep deprivation. They said that babies who dont sleep well have this also. I think mine definitely due to lack of sleep.Oh, take the instant ginger tea or make your own by pounding the ginger. It helps.Also take the pig stomach soap with lots of garlic (unpeeled) and white pepper seeds..all these suppose to warm the stomach. Take care

Mich,
Think it must be the toil of taking care of two active boys tts gettin you down plus the weather...

thanks for the information on the snoring....will take note...

tink dylan must hv his own "remixed" version of old macdonald had a farm plus twinkle twinkle little stars...u see he is more advanced than other kids..he noes how to remix songs before other kids even noes a single song...cute

didi,
dun tink its the parents of longer stayers being asked to come to give the talk...if it was so, think my turn wld be next year.....as my boy stayed on far longer than mich's boys....anyway,its usually the more chatty/friendly/ ones who are being asked..heh heh...someone told me tis before...
me oso wish to do my part to help the other parents of preemies if given a chance...

kudos to you, mich for taking time out inspite of yr work plus bout of sickness to give the talk to the parent support group pple..did you invite them to join our thread?

porkchop,
u are right to say tt those who dun hv enough rest will fall sick..guess immunity oso goes down when our body does not hv the chance to rejuvenate...

kkf,
think i better go and take the flu jab after wat you say as i oso cant take much mc and cant take much leave..its terrible to drag yrself to work when you are hving a bad flu....

how was the wkend,mummies...?hope u rest well before the coming wk begins....errrrrr......Monday blues.........

Costa, no lah, I am not the speaker yet leh, although the nurse manager did ask me before whether I wanted to, but that time I was too stressed to think about that
when your turn comes you sure make the talk lively

didi,
aiyoh, how can they ask you last time when you were so stressed?tt time, yr boys discharged already or not?

tink one mummy told me they will ask when our kid is bigger as they also noe tt we are stressed at the earlier stage when our bb is still in hospital..

i dun tink i wld make the talk lively leh..think i mentioned b4 tt one of the nurses din dare to talk to me last time as she always found me in tears.....think if they asked me to talk, hor..i wld frighten away the poor stressed parents....

just feel tt i m vy emotional..when i read abt mich mentioning the 25wker..again i feel tears in my eyes....i really understand how stressful is it and i hope tt we can help the parents with watever we can to lessen their burden and stress...

Again.. too many posts for me to read. Really envy u all tat u can pop in to chat so often.. Life is bz... Think i missed out a lot...
KKF
Wow.. Really enticed by the little piano that u get for ur boy.. Tempting for my little one. Ur boy is very cute. Very good weight too.

Jane
U rally know hoe to source for developmental toys le.. Think need to get more lobangs from u.. Ur boy oso ver chubby le..

Costa n lindah n Mich
Do take care of ur health.. Being mothers will definitely drained us, what's more, ours r premies tat require more attention n energy. Do take care!
Work is really bz n really torn for time for my 3 kids.. My little girl is 10 mths old liao.. How time flies.. she is 7 months corrected.. Guess what, she can sit on her own ! N she enjoys doing the push up position.. think she is ready for her crawling too.. She is now very playful n talkative.. Talk in her bb language alot..

Can still recall how it was the time she was born.. All the uncertainties and anxieties and worries... Seems like all the little warriors r fightin n winning 1 battle at a time

Lindah

Continue to stay strong! N ur little one will be back home soon!

Monday blues really...so sleeeeeeppppy.
( Wish everyday is weekend. Sometimes wake up, really wish to get MC. ha! I am a very lousy worker with a lousy attitude.

Mummylian you got 3 kids, you never thought of being a SAHM? If I am so lucky like you, have 3 kids, I will stay at home, hee.

My boy got these rashes over his neck and he keeps scratching. Every night got to on air con for him to zzz. Stress. ha! Think may need to bring him to see doctor, me a bit worry that it might be more than rashes or what.

Bonjour MUMMIES!

jane here to submit her report book on cooking porridge for my boy!! YIPPY! Proudly to say that JANE manage to cook the porridge hahahahahahahhahahahah... at least it seem soft and edible

horray!!!!! now i feel so much more comforted.
No amount of words can describe my feeling when i see the porridge succesfully done. and i am proud to say i was the one who cook (though i got a 'new' maid who seem to know how to cook) the porridge...

mummies....i am i am i am so ssooooooo super happy. cannot wait to share with you all this news. (sorry.....i know i like over react. but i am really happy lor)

Last week was overloaded with work, so did not join in the chat...kind of lost the threads...

Mich -- thanks for sharing...i think...there was sometime my boy snore when he sleep too. but all along he has sensitive airway...so i also am very conscious when he snore... hope the 25 weekers bb is ok.

mummylian -- no la...because,... because i really wish to enhance my boy motor skill and such, so i kind of wanna him to learn thru play...

kkf -- haha think we are all same same..monday bluezzz

costa -- today my boy routine check with the lung specialist at KKH so i will be gg down KKH later this afternoon. hope all clears.

jane,

congrats! practice makes perfect. having a maid who can cook is wonderful. but i think, if possible, try to cook 4 ur boy. u'll b so proud if he can eat all ur cooking grin. but if u really can't cope, leave it to ur maid, but at least try to feed him.. i know it's easier said than done, cos i always got so fed up feeding my ger. sometiems, i'm juz glad my mom will feed her lunch & sometimes dinner b4 i get home on weekday..

mommies, wonder if i'm juz 2 selfish or wat. rem i said hubby & me din wan any kid initially. we really enjoy our life a lot, w at least 1-2 big hol (like europe or US) each yr, not 2 mention small small ones in between. however, when we got our bb, we know we need to change our lifestyles & our lives now revolve ard her. sometimes, we do enjoy her, esp when she's lovingly sweet & cute. but there are times, like this weekend, when she's super cranky & super sticky to me. soo sticky to the extent tat i can't even go toilet. once i'm out of her sight, she'll scream & cry until both eyes & eyebrows sooo red, macam kenna tortured. sometimes, i'm glad to come back to work. m i selfish? i know frm some colleagues, who dun bring their bb home until fri (due to logistics reasons), they'll look fwd to fri evening, when they can spend the weekend w their kids.. sometimes felt unfair 4 my ger 2. wonder any mommy who's as selfish as me..sigh