Premature babies support group

costa
showed ur bb photo to my sis.. they say he changes too. Very big eyes n long lashes.. Like mummy.. Cute
Sorry if i make u think of the other twin.. not my intention.....
kkf
aiyo.. my boys sometimes oso talk like beng seng.. they r very rugged one.. mayb in neighbourhd sch, ppl from all walks of life... it's jus that they r gentle wif mei mei... cos once i 'smuggled' them into icu for 2 min... to let them c how hard mei mei fought for her life... n guess tat's y they dote on her.. heart pain ma..my eldest boy used to ask whether mei mei will stop breathing(apnea), or choke on milk?? He gets frantic when mei mei has the action of choking.. Very touched by his words sometimes

Can imagine the pain of loss for jared. I'm new on the thread... can i ask how long was jared's life span.. U can don answer if too sensitive....
Naddy
No worries abt age men.. there r many gd concealers in the market now.. hehe.. But most importantly, muz have gd helper;)Costa shared with me that she saw a premie mummy carrying her 2nd pregnancy till full term liao...We all will too

Mich
Thanks for the advice on the cordyceps.. Will grind some for her when she is off her current medication.How r ur boys doing???do they have telepathy like wat some say??
My manager himself is a twin (long2 feng4 tai1)mine colleague gave birth to twin (gal&boy) in Mar.. Carried thru 33 weeks.Very envious

Costa,
Happy belated to your boy ha, so sorry, never on the computer , just know now.
Lindah
Your boys very handsomecos got big eyes. Dont worry. He will be soon, last time my 1st twins use long for the oxygen too as he already 1.7kg, he was the oldest prem baby in hospital which still use oxygen support, doctor always joke wth him, big boy, must breath yourself, shy shy, need to go back liao, we dont want you. ha..ha.. i am so paiseh as he say like that, after that they try to take out and give him the pump which for strong his lung, then he can go back.
Mummylian
your boy very handsome too, he was 9month old? that mean quiet same wth my twins , my twins was born on august. How many kg of your boy? He look like very guai ha? My boys also a lot of phelgm, currently in similac advance eyeQ. My doctor say if baby can take cow milk, than dont change to soya milk. So i still stay on it. But i hearded a lot of mummy say isomil baby less problem.
Jane,
What milk you boy take now? similsc stage 2? which type? Ya, now my 1st twins teething, second one come out, he dont want the milk wth bottle, i need to feed him by spoon in 250ml milk, so sian, will your boy like that? What should i do? will he reject the bottol forever.? if yes, i will pengsan? The 2nd twins not yet teething, i am so worry if he same wth his brot.....
nanny,
My boys was born in malaysia, if you want can add them in the chart.
1st twins : 1.51kg
2nd twins : 1.19kg
born in 14/8/2006
stay 57days
the cordyceps can get at any chinese shop like zencongpin or fuhua, before that i always buy the cordyceps at fulushou which at bugis, the lady in shop was my friend, very good of her cordyceps and price very reasonable too.
Fairytale,
Dont worry abt the op, your baby will be recover after the op, just pray for him, i will do for you. I believe all this , cos when my boy go for laser when he was only 1.5month and 1.5kg, i do for him the pray too, and he was very good during laser.
kkf,
Dont worry, you will soon.
ya, i got one chinese herbal note for increase the % for pregnant, my sis say quiet good, some people pegnant after taking the herbal, if no problem very fast, was write in chinese name of herbal , if you want i can fax to you.
Fairtyale,
How was your baby, please keep us updates.
Mich,
You mean ask them to do powder is it? how much to give? I want to try, my boy reject bottle feeding now.
mummies.
For phelgm.
My friend teach me. take one apple, steam it at empty bowl, no water. after 1/2 hour, use the spoon to press the apple which cooked, than give baby take the juices of apple only. She told me she teach a lot of people , all ok and phelgm all gone, she say better than taker medicine, some people take a lot of medicine and see docor also cant cure, but if take this result very good. I will try today, ya, if want more sweet, can put one pintang( white sugar) . let try together, hope can help.
My 1st twins teething now, reject the bottle feeding, neeed to use spoon to give milk, any mummy gor this problem before? i am so scared he will use spoon and reject the bottle forever, i am going to pengsan if carry on... He like the cereal and brown rice which use spoon to give, actually he can finish all the milk and cereal, only things is he dont want bottle, what should i do? I try to change teat too and cut the teat, but still the same. any mummy got this experinces before? Please help me.
Ok, lah, chat till here, later your will scold me , so many word to see, so boring.

just came back from bugis guan yin temple. You know what? I have actually went to the temple opposite my school to ask guan yin for her advice whether I can give birth next year (because I know horse and rat crashes). But the qian wrote something I dun understand because it is in very ancient chinese language.

Then I went to bugis guan yin temple to ask again, you know what? I got exactly the same qian!!! Now the qian got english translation and i finally figure out wat it is trying to say. It is saying "I am filled with uncertainties. I want to pursue my dreams, but in the end all become nothing. I should stick to the present situation." - bad

Now I finally know what to do. Got to wait till year 2009 before I can have my 3rd one.

Mich
If edric see dr chia without subsidy, the first consulation would be $70+ and the follow-on check-up would be $50+. Is alot of different.

I have went to the polyclinic and ask for a refer letter and managed to book a date 2 mths later when dr chia is having her clinic. Not sure which dr will be seeing edric but dr chia can just come in and take a look at edric. Also need to pass a letter to dr chia given by the SNEC dr.

Will see how the situation is like. If no choice will go back to SNEC to look for Dr Edumnd Wong as he know edric's condition.

Will be registering him in Aug when the school start enrolling. Not much of a choice as i an sending him somwhere near to my mother's place as it is more convient.

Edric did not have any fever or any sides effect after taking the vaccination.

I am feeling very excited these few days as my twin sister is giving birth soon. She just went for her check-up on friday and everythings is fine. She is into her 35wks gestation. Will be seeing Dr Han again this friday to decide on the date to have her cerclage relased. Hope can wait till then so that she can donate her bb blood cord when she reached 36wks gestation. Its going to be a premature bb but i am sure it will be a healthy bb.

It really remind me of the time when i delivered my ger at 34 wks. Really missed my pregnancy and labour period. Times passed by really fast, my ger is already 9mths old and is she really a very notti ger now.

Hi mommies, just when i was going to sleep. I suddenly remember my mon asking the chinese physican about taking cordyceps and some others chinese tonic to help my son to built up his body when she bring him to see her for flu. .

If i remember clearly, The lady physcian at yu ren sheng advised that cordyceps and some others herbs cannot be taken when the child is sick.

It is better to have it when the child is healthy.

Thanks for all the support.

Praise the Lord! My boi's condiiton is improving.Currently he is on oxygen and nitrogen to help his lungs and heart.We will see him healed,in Jesus Name.The operation is for his reflux.Nothing to do with his current condition.I'm not sure whether they will postpone the operation coz my boi is too weak for an op.Will see wat his doc say on tuesday.Today,he opens his eyes twice to see us even though he is on sedation medication.The doc don't wan him to move too much coz it may affect his lungs.

Everday is a blessing for me & hubby to see him improving.I will be accompanying him till he is awake.Most likely I can only update you all in the evening when I get back.

hallo!!

wah... i am lost in the postings. so many since i left!

mummylian,
2 months of trying only? Jia yo! i tried for 5 months for my current baby before i finally hit. that time hit oso because i just came back from holiday from melbourne. otherwise, i think too stressed to score! Good Luck!!!

kkf,
i oso hope my next baby is full term. and yes i oso hope for daughter. can dress up nice2... 27 when you got dash, still ok what. i am 26 when i got my son...

naddy/mummylian,
your girls are cute and very sweet. i want a girl next!!! hehehehe!

jacelyn,
actually my son eyes not that big lah. he was just photogenic that day. me and hubby both got small eyes. but he follow after the daddy. most of the time when i take his photo, can see his cheeks only!

fairytale,
i hope your son get well soon! you are really a very positive mummy! i admire your positiveness! i wish i am more positive like you! It will rub off on your son, i am sure.

my son went back to oxygen hood on fri night. dunno because he cant take canula, or because he just dun like. he struggled and strained like no one's business. when he sleep, the nasal canula can come off (pointing to outside his nose) and his sats still good. aiseyman. when he wake up, then his sats like dunno what bcause of all his straining.

i found out he came off the nasal canula only yest when i came during lunch. when i went home yesterday, i cried my eyes out. My heart felt physical pain. during dinner visit him, i felt better and he was calmer. but come home, cry like dunno what again. this morning i went early (1045) and tried to latch him. not bad. his sucking quite good. just the coordination part. after 10 mins, he choked and desat so, I stopped lor... and continue w tube feed. Then later i talked to the nurse. She was very nice. One of the babies in SCN w CLD went back to NICU (So poor thing, right!!!) so I felt depressed and scared for my son. But nurse say dun worry, my son is ok. and will wean off soon. I hope she's right. She also say I must believe in him, so that he will believe in himself. I started crying right then. I guess I am scared for him, at the same time I felt guilty that my faith in him was wavering. But I think it's only normal to be shaky after waiting so long. I told him I am proud of him for hvg come this far and I will love him no matter what. I just need him to get thru 2 more hurdles - bottling and breathing - and he can come home. Haiz... I told him he can do it. I really hope he can come home soon.

I am exhausted from the travelling to and fro, and the worrying. I try to spend lunchtime there but everytime if I go, sure will take 2 hr 15 mins before get back to office. Doesn't look gd to be doing that so often. I hope he can understand why I want him home sooner. I will take leave to be with him for a month or so at home.

I am going a bit mad, I think. Some moments very stable. Some moments really think I am going nuts. Dunno how some of you guys take it, man. To tell you the truth, I had an easy life so this is my most stressful period ever. So I hope you don't mind me ranting on this board, ok... ;) Thanks for all your encouraging words.

Today on hood somehow sats not that great when i was leaving (95, 96 like that) altho he was asleep. and he aspirated some of his 5 pm milk which is weird coz usually he digests all. I hope he's ok and will be ok. Gnite.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender </TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD></TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy </TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

chloegal,
so, if i want to give cordyceps to my girl, i must wait for her to be in the pink of health first? aiyaah.. i must wait long long. i dunno when this cough will clear.

jacelyn,
i'm going to try that apple remedy on my daughter. i hope it works. how frequently must i give my daughter the apple juice? how much of the apple juice must she take each time?

lindah,
*hugs*
congratulations on making him latch on!!! i struggled with latching on for a looooooooong time. i trawled through the internet for tips and videos on how to latch on. i felt like a failure when my daughter looked at my nipple and cried as if she'd seen a monster. it was almost a week after she was discharged that i managed to latch her on properly. and now i'm having major trouble reintroducing her to the bottle.

as your baby is more premature than mine, it's wrong for me to say that i know how you feel. if you're talking about the physical exhaustion from going to and fro and the emotional exhaustion, i think most of us can understand that. come in here and vent.

(for me, to combat the physical exhaustion, i took a taxi to and from the hospital throughout my daughter's stay in hospital. i calculated that i spent about $1.5k on taxi fares alone. but, money can be earned back. time with my daughter, cannot. besides i've already saved money by putting up with the crappy, perpetually pms-ing nurses in c-class.)

jacelyn
hi... the one posted is my only princess as for now... hee
Ya.. bb on isomil not so phelgmy..but still better to heed dr's advice

kkf
Since u belive it, then jus stick to the present situation lor
Nothing beats than following ur own plans n feelings..
Happy working tomoro.. Enjoy ur teaching!

chloegal
Am sure ur sis bbs will be healthy! Ur ger same as my ger... 9 mths(mine 9mths2wks) but she is a 27 weeker! Rather than miss the pregnancy, I miss the confinement period when I can see the bb grow and clear her every hurdle every day!

Fairytale
Praise the Lord tat ur boi is taking it well! God will defintely make his creation whole! Tat's always God's creation! Ya, can't agree with u more... when my ger was in ICU, was thankful that it was another brand new day! That's how they grow and recover!
Give ur little warrior a kiss (from auntielian)!

Lindah
hee.. Ya tried 2 mths only.. am still trying.. Hoping for a ger now then my ger can have playmate...hee.. hope i'm not too greedy.. Wish u n kkf to have a cute little princess the next rd.. then we can gather n bring all the little prince and princesses out for them to play.. haha
Can understand wat u r going thru, cry if u need to and rant more on the board, but do not linger in the negative thots for too long.. like the nurse said, have faith in ur boy! He can feel it.. N give him time, don overstress him too.. all this i heard from the icu nurse.. N i believe it totally!!Kiss ur little warrior for me too! God bless

Naddy
Thanks for the computation again! Btw, wat u mean with the crappy, perpetually pms-ing nurses?? Bad experiences is it??

Dear all mummies
Wonder d u all bring ur premies for swim?? Brought my little one for a 10 min swim today! She enjoyed it totally.. This is her 2nd swim.. but i got nagging from my sis... Say is better to wait till she is one year old:p
Tomoro sch reopens again.. like a battle for me again...
The forum is getting more n more exciting! More n more information n experiences exchanging! Like it

Hello everyone, dropping a post before going work! Siannnnzzzz when is the next holiday coming!

Anyway, yeah, its a battle for you and me, mummylian. Btw, I still dun dare to bring my boy to swim. I will wait till he is 2 years old. But I will def let him learn swimming.

Hi lindah, yeah! lets strive hard for a gal!
I understand your fustration and exhaustion. Hang in there! Your boy will be home soon!

Fairytale, hope your boy recovers very very fast.

mummylian,

i had no problems with the nurses at the labour ward, nicu & scn. but after i gave birth and was admitted to the ward, i felt miserable cos some of the nurses were so insensitive and were barking orders. one nurse was unbearably so and having just given birth and seeing my tiny daughter at nicu, i was a bit emotional and i couldn't handle the nurses being what they were.

naddy, i think on the nurses... depends on luck. i came across one irritable one, but cant blame her coz she has to take care of so many patients since C class so crowded. but okaylah. she was just irritable. she will still help me when i ask for things. there was another one who was quite nice to me coz they know i had a preemie. it really was stressful for me in C class because of the lonely nights though. Lucky only 3days 2nites.

you have a pt there. maybe i shud take cab more often during lunch. but it cost me about 16-20 dollars per lunchtime if i take both ways. but time with my son, cannot buy back...

actually i not sure if baby drank much while latching but i can feel the suck with pressure vs the suck with no pressure... so i figure he is latching lah...

mummylian/kkf,
hope your first day back went ok and your kids din give any trouble.

oh ya. i think my 2nd sis say bring baby swimming is very good becos good exercise for the lungs. play w water already very good.

she had twins (but both >2kg, very fortunate) so their lungs not as strong as fullterm babies. so she brings them swimming.

Mich,
Guess you must be bz wif work..eh,the nurses described you as the trendy and young mum...leh...not bluffing you, real one..

so fast you are letting d and e go to school already? so guess it must be smwhere convenient for you and yet also convenient for the caregiver...

Mummylian,
No worries lah abt mentioning my twin..guess this is fate...the elder twin just couldnt make it but glad tt i managed to keep the second twin..for this, i hv to thank God already...that he din come out together wif the first twin as at that moment..it was really a moment of chaos and just anythg cld hv triggered both to come out together....

oh, yes, i think i saw yr sister last time..tink she came by and waited for you outside the glass window at the ward right...

i think (think only lah) that wat naddy probably means that the nurse is in a bad mood always like forever PMS (premenstrual syndrome)...

chloegal,
i hope that yr sister will hv a safe delivery and everything going on smoothly for her and both mum and child are safe....

Lindah,
is yr office vy far from kkh? i oso wanna bring my son swimming but suddenly remember din buy swimming trunks yet..ha ha...

Fairytale,
Hope yr boy is okay........just pray and have faith in him...

good morning mummies,

jacelyn -- yes my boy now is on similac stage 2 (going to solid soon) don't worry. milk bottles is bb best pal. they will not reject it for life. hmm find somehting for to entertain him ;-) like you know the milk bottle cap or such. there was one period i really feel like 'spoon feeding' him as my boy too was rejecting milk. my boy how has 6 teeths ;-) .... like losting the bb cuteness liao.... no more bb look....like a toddler liao...

lindah -- wow your boy can suckle! that is a good news. soon soon he can go home liao

fairytale -- continue to update us on your boy progress. am sure he will progres and do well.

kkf -- i too sometime ask for 'advise' from guan yin temple but...our destiny is control by us. anyway..hehe happy teaching!! this moring while waiting for my pte bus, i see wow the SBS bus so crowded and realised school bell is ringing...

Good morning all the mummies.
Naddy,
my boys was born in 30week.
I try the apple already, quiet good, my boy bulp out the phelgm. But now still got a bit, i will try again after 3 day. my friend say if not very serious, 1 week one time. one person is one apply, she say no need to but special apple, just normal apple, you know the old type one before fuji apple, that one in very red colour one? got five star shapw at the apple bottom. Maybe we can try that type too, that day i use waterchestnut apple, oh, is ok for any amount, but after thte apple steam we only can get abt few spoon only, that day i only get 7 teaspoon.
Jane,
Thanks, I try a lot of way already, the bottle cap, toys, paper everthing can let him hold all i give him , but still not use, hug him walk around, as you say sit inside wardrobe all no use. ai ya, really headache lei, is it because of teething so he reject the bottle feeding? like just now i made 90ml soya bean powder for him, he only drink 40ml, i dont want to give him spoon feeding, i just forget it, dont give him anymore, i afraid he will be habit and everytime if he dont want i will give spoon feeding, am i do the right way? or i should give spoon feeding?
wah, your boy got 6 teeth? so cute, i look at my 1st twin he got 2 teeth, the look very funny liao, emazing your one 6 teeth... haa..ha... he got any problem when teething? ya , try the apple , good for phelgm....

costa,
ofis considered not that far. CBD (tanjong pagar) to Bukit Timah. But somehow always come to 8++ one-way because of the lunchtime peak fee and dunno what. sometimes the taxi driver dunno what do, come to 10. maybe go round2? There was once this taxi driver drove via Orchard Rd. I was fuming... coz got jam.

i take public have to take mrt, then bus. the waiting for the bus takes time.

swimming trunks can get from a lot of plcs right? get one and bring him lah... even if he don't swim, can take photo! ;) Cute2.

jane,
ya, his suckling not bad. just have to work on coordination. when he swallow, he like don't swallow whole thing, then try to breathe... i keep telling him, finish swallowing first then breathe. heheheh. dunno if he understand. talking to him like he's adult. heh. he will last about 15ml before desat so far... hopefully today can last longer.

lindah,
yah, for me also same...taxi fare is abt tis amt...the same thg happened to me, the taxi driver seow one, went past the YMCA at orchard road gantry..i made alot of noise and din wanna pay..becuz i already told and told him not to go by that way....

yah, swimming trunks can get fm a lot of places but i hvnt bot yet..i wanted to take bus to parkway to buy ha ha but later din lah...

to babies, sucking, swallowing and breathing is a learned process...i remember i saw my boy keep on like wanting to suck and thot that swallowing wldnt be pblem but alas..it was not so....

how abt you go after work?then you can take yr time and dun need to rush...but perhaps it wld be a little tiring as you need to go to work the next day..

hv they let you practise bathing yr boy?

morning mommies,
wat a weekend. so many posts to read..the weekend was soooo hot & my ger went 4 MMR on sat. think she's either hot cos of the weather or uncomfortable cos of jab, she was v cranky. lost my temper w her.. but lucky thing is, when 1 of us lose temper, the other person will b super cool. so when i lost my temper & shouted at my ger, my hubby was v cool & continue dressing her then ask her to come hug mommy.. sigh.. glad i'm back @ work..evil mommy.

mummylian,
my ger got her 1st swimming experience when she was 7mths (non-corrected age). i think as long as she's not sick at tat time, a short swim (abt 10mins) shouldn't hurt her. in fact, she enjoyed it sooo much. but better dun go when the sun is fierce. their skin q tender, scarly sun burnt. anyway, no matter sun fierce or not, remember to put sun block!!

kkf,
hope u enjoy ur work..grin.

lindah,
i oso took cab when i visited my ger. tat time i was on confinement. but i think if u wan to save some $, can take bus/mrt to hospital then take a cab back to office.

disney,
what is MMR?

ya... i think i will take public to kkh and cab back. then see how's my timing. this fri will take half day. spend the afternoon there w him.

costa,
i do go after work everyday. sit there 6.45 to 8pm like that. if he cranky, will stay longer. on mon, wed, fri, hubby working nites, then have to take 1hr bus or take cab home. then usually will fetch hubby after that oso... on tues, thurs, he go home after work, take our OPC car and meet me at kkh. then at least reach home earlier.

No, they havent let me practice bathing yet. I was told that my boy likes water, though. ;)

costa, my theory is the babies sho were on oxygen longer, had no time to practice coordination and was trained to remember breathing. so when bottling, they forgot their feeding instincts... and remember to breathe even when they should hold their breath while swallowing... dunnolah. my theory only... because i look at the not so preemie preemies who were not on oxygen long, they tend to pick up bottling v fast.

lindah,
tink yr theory is correct....maybe they are too dependent on it and cant forget their basic instincts....maybe can ask the nurses there abt it...

my boy also same..on oxygen vy long...also take dem long to drink..even now, slightly better but doesnt take much...

tink maybe disneymickey is right..take public tpt there and then taxi back..how long is yr lunch ?

my lunch is flexi esp when bosses not in. officially 1200 to 1245. usually pple go out at 1215 and return at 1330. if i take public transport, i lv at 1200, can make it back earliest 1415. actually if i lv 1210, come back 1340 good enuf already.

tdy may not go during lunch. have to buy ameda valve from bugis waterloo street. it tore yesterday nite. now i only have one dependable valve.

hi jacelyn -- when my boy had his first two teeth he had fever but after that things went plain smooth... cute? keke. when i tried to clean his tongue..that big big bite he give me is enought for me to scream out...wait till u see my shoudler..with all his love bite keke...:p

sorry. can u advise. about the apple? so after steaming the apple...just let bb take the juice ONLY? how much to let him take?? and also..is it only when bb have phelgm then can take? if not cannot?

lindah -- persist. that time during confinement my hubsband drive me there..when he cannot bring me..i will sob at home (and kept on calling him until he buah tahan drive me there). then after confinement...everyday i take public transport from Buno vista to KKH...then go home time if my hubby cannot fetch me home, i take a 1.5 hour public tranposrt home. almost every night i reach home about 10.30pm...without fail, i go everday to see my boy... rain or shine. '

Lindah - we have been thru this...persist and be strong. vent your anger here if need be. we can understand. its not easy....it is tough. so you are gg to be strong and fit mother. after gg thru this period. nothing will beat u down.

sometime give yourself a break...you deserve it. that time somethime i shop at novena square if still early too or in between non visiting hours, i will take bus to bugis or novena to window shop then go back see my boy...

those were the days....lindah, you see me, today, i everyday cheong home to fight with my boy...but u see, the day will come when u be cheonging home every day...the day will come really soon.

persist....

lindah,
MMR is measles/mumps & dunno wat haha. c how blur this mommy is, dun even know wat jab her daughter is taking. it's 1 of those compulsory jabs la.

oh ya, must ask those experienced mommies, some compulsory jabs to be taken until 18mths rt? after tat, got a 'cert' (or something like tat) being given, which is needed when register for sch? but i c frm the health book, got to take some jab @2yr & 3yr? cos i plan to stop gg to this pd after the last compulsory jab @18mths. cos it's 2 far & inconvenient for me.

lindah...u have us. that time i din know about this threads...lucky costa i get to know costa..and costa bring me to this thread to know all of you. today i am still facing certain uncertainess about my boy BUT hey hey!! think of it, if i can overcome the time when he is hospital...what is that little bit of uncertainess??

lindah...cheer up!

oh OH OH OH!! mummies! my boy finally can ROLL! yeah! thou he still cannot really sit. but he is making attempt to stand liao haha! and oh yeah, he can sit and drink milk hehe...

* just to share share haha *

lindah,
oic...then maybe go after work...not so rush...

i din noe the ameda spare parts supplier is around bugis area...

Jane,
Oh, just take one apple put in a empty bowm and steam it around 1/2 hour, after that use one spoon and press the apple to let the juices out, then feed the juices to our baby. no need to add any water, the amount is whatever juices have, i think abt 6-7spoon only. if you want can add one pcs of sugar, but, not nercessary, cos quiet sweet liao.
so good, your boy can sit and drink, i still need to carry my boys around, emazing, 8.5kg?????
still no drink at all.
((((((

Disneymickey,
R is for rubella...from the MMR jab

After all the jabs, the child would have a mini cert which my son paedi issued and stapled onto the health booklet

when we go for primary one registration, you have to show it to prove tt yr ger has taken all the jabs...tink they will photostat it on the spot

the jabs all can be taken at different places (if i noe wrong) but the final doc tt gives the last jab wld issue that paper....

Health booklet wld need to be submitted next time in primary one for those ministry of health nurses when they do their rounds in school..they just want to ensure the health of the child..

hope its, clear...anyway, i heard from my son paedi that the jabs are all recorded and computerised..so no matter where they take the jabs..the final doc wld sort of know whether its confirmed or not and issue the cert accordingly....

hope you are clear about tis..the health booklet is vy important.....

thks, jane. for the encouragement. ;) good good that your boy is developing so well! ;)

costa, the supplier is at tagore lane 'infantree' but i can get from jln pemimpin (momsinmind) which is open tues, wed, thurs or bugis (breastfeeding org) which is open mon,tues,wed. jln pemimpin is far but cheaper. but these things need urgently so will go bugis lah... not really bugis... it's near national lib there...

hi jacelyn

i also still carrying my boy around (he is about coming to 9kg+??) i accidently noted he can sit and drink too...cos that day bring him to orchard road..then he see one big brother sitting in pram and drink. then he decide he shall 'do it too' kekeke...

my lao gong kept on asking...can or not, can or not ... then i see my boy...just kept on seeing the other boy and my boy can sit and drink..hahaha and very fast finish the bottle... :p

costa,
thanks 4 clarification. then after 18mths jab,will not bring her to this pd alrdy. far & x heehee.. juz go pd near my place.

so tired hor, mon blues...

jacelyn, sorry..so only give the apple if my boy has phelgm??

lindah...we are all mothers of wonders. stand together and things be just fine :)

Lindah,
OIC.....i using Pump In Style..but heard that ameda is quite good also...

Disneymickey,
No pblem lah...I hope im right lah becuz im oso quite blur one....but keep the health booklet well..

Jane, ar,
yr hand got developed muscles or not...my boy still about 7.6kg...and i also no strength to carry....for long time...

hi costa, i tell u a joke. that time when my boy was in SCN, i know of one mama...she have a bb gal. she use pump in style..i always wonder..how to do two breast at one time!!! cos i always do one by one and i so used to it :p sorry no offence..i just...just kept on wondering... (sorry..i really...really cannot help but ponder. todate i am still pondering..i really salute u all who use this)....

my hand? what to do...now can carry him upright..so not that bad. that time when his neck is still not that firm..have to cuddle him...lagi tired keke...:p, but you are right...really cannot carry too long. thats why i rent the exsaurcer and put at my mama hosue..so that my mama dun have to carry him too much ah keke

costa and all mummies who is reading this thread...sorry jane is really a 'curious' mama and if i don't voice out my wacky and curious thoughts i will die of it :p. think my boy take after me. thats why he is 'dismantling' toys at this small age :p.

jane, ameda is also dual pump. either hold one to each hand... or if need to squeeze, then hold one side and balance the other one w arm... can be done. it really saves time! ;)

Jane,
To answer yr queries...i used pump in style and also used to pump one side at a time..becuz i chew kana kar (lindah, this means hand like leg in hokkien) and then i really cannot manage....two at a time

then later, i managed to learn how to do it and now i pump two sides at a time

but now supply going down....so gotta stop smtime...

how do you find the exersaucer?yr boi likes it or not?

Jane,
ya, the apple juices is good for baby which got phelgm as my friend say. if baby ok, no phelgm just give them apple only lor...
Costa,
our baby weight was the same wth my 2nd twin, quiet tired when carry for milk.
My friens say i am too pampet my boys, cannot carry them around, bad habit. but what should i do, they dont know my situation, if nevver do that they dont wantto drink. very difficult and so sad too.

jane,
the other time when i went hospital & visited my ger, borrowed the dual pump frm them, i oso dunno how to pump both breasts at the same time. so i ended up doing 1 breast at each time. so dun feel pai seh, cos there's me here joining u

yesterday my sis was commenting y my ger (today she turns 16mths,non-corrected) still not talkiong. she knows a lot of things, can point to a lot of things & can point & give instructions. every nite when bathing her, she'll point to her bathtub, ask daddy to go toilet & take water. after bathing, will point to dustbin 4 me to throw her diaper, point to tap to wash hand, point to towel to dry my hands, etc. my sis say, maybe there's no need 4 her to talk, since by pointing, we know wat she wants. she say 1 of her colleague's son oso like tat. sigh. now gg to read up, how to 'teach' her to talk.

guess every stage oso got prob..so lindah, we r all in the same situation, always worrying abt something..

disney...

like that have to write up job specifications for a mother
- worrying about her children...
- earn money for her children...
- spend time with her children...
- motivate her children...

hahahah... well, each achievement is something to be celebrated... i am waiting to celebrate D-day. ;)

so tired. stoning at work liao. terrible right. think i am gg to wash my face. slept late last night. i m the type who sleep 8hrs a night before and during pregnancy. probably that's y nowadays tired. except during mat leave coz between visits to kkh, i can really sleep it off. i dun do housework since i stay w mum. the maid does most of the stuff. i just neaten my room w hubby, will do. lucky in a way. but my maid not very hygienic... so i dunno what will happen when baby come back... this morning i just nagged at her to change the sponge. so dirty and grimy... clean pots may not be clean enuf. but maid must treat nicely cos they take care of our kids... she dont mistreat kids, quite ok already.

hi costa -- haha...hmm...i think if give me, i will never be able to pump both...i really can only do one at a time... i think..just give what you can. your boy is pass the 6th mths time cut off ..so i think ok, anyway, he is on solid rite...

oh my boy? love that exsaurcer. after this, i am gg to rent him a swing hehe...so that afternn nothing to do..can let him sit in the swing and swing a while haha... or i will rent the yard for him to play inside.

lindah -- ur specification is really well quote
yes, each achievement is something to be celebrated.

disneymickey -- i think your ger is very smart. she know how to have her things without talking. i got one nephew (he is full term bb) also talk very very late (around 20mths). when he want something, he also use pointing or he will hold my sis hand and get that things. so i think...its matter of time your gal talk. don't worry...

jacelyn -- ok ok thanks. will try the apple thingy. thanks for sharing :) such a simple method. if its good then i will do it as and when necessary :)

disney,

ya... good luck to you too... i read in I cant remember which edition of Mother&Baby... they have an article about when to worry if your kid dun wan to talk. some babies are just naturally like that and will learn to talk on their own. some need early intervention. but your baby 16mths still very young, rt... playgroup oso start at 18mths...

hi lindah..talking abt maid. yes, my sister always tell me. so long the maid don't do any harm to our bb...many things we just have to learn to shut our eyes...

you take care ah..

Wow, me back from battlefield and see so many posts, trying to read all.

Lindah, my hubby got OPC too! Hee...I am luckier. When my boy in nicu, I am on holiday. But sometimes, when my in laws (they got car too) cannot fetch me there to see my boy, i will go with my mum taking train. My in laws and parents all go to see my boy when he was in nicu, especially my in laws (almost everyday without fail).

I admire you for going to see your boy everyday without fail after work. Hang in there. Your boy will be home soon, he knows he has a loving mummy.

Naddy, I agree. I hate nurses at kkh. Not hate lar, but I think they are really lousy. Last time when I had my contractions with my elder boy, I was bearing the pain at night! I told one of the lousy nurse, and she told me "yah! thats why you have to keep eating anti contraction pills", but the problem is no use!!! I was bearing the pain till morning with nobody besides me. Finally a more senior nurse came to track my contractions, by then, my waterbag burst, and everything was too late.

Jane, I believe destiny is in our own hands. I will like control my own destiny, but sometimes, things are beyond my control. Haiz...I got exactly the same "qian" at two different guanyin temple. I think it is too much of a coincident. Today, I go pray for another "qian", I ask guanyin, can I get pregnant this year since next year I cannot, you know what? The qian wrote "pregnancy will bring disaster". The qian actually wrote the word "pregnancy"! I cannot choose not to believe. haiz...I dunno when will I have my next one. Maybe still got to wait a long time.

But I am sooo sad and disappointed. I envy people who get smooth pregnancies. My colleague are all going thru smooth pregnancies and giving birth so easily. Some can even take planes here and there! I rested fully from 5th month onwards for my 2nd boy, but still wat happened? premature labor!

disneymickey, my boy is 20 months now. He just can say single or at most two words like "car, zheng tou (pillow), mommy, daddy, na na (milk) etc". Some kids are faster in language, some are faster in motor skills like walking and crawling.

Jacelyn, dun worry, think your boy will grow to like milk soon again. Just let him be. When he is hungry, he will drink. Or let him have more porridge? Every baby will have this "milk refusal" period, I think. You can try bringing him to YU GUO for tui na, that will help his appetite.

Lastly, my boy went to see dr argawal today. Heard my hubby my boy is "discharged" already! He will be seeing dr argawal at children development unit from now.