Premature babies support group

kkf,
juz think of the nice hols u r gg to hav.. i know it's difficult.
in mar, hubby & me went vietnam for 4 days. the nite b4,left my ger @ my mom's place,i oso crying..hubby ask if i wan to cancel trip. but once reach there, will 'forget' & start enjoying..

jane,
wow, drum.. i salute ur 'courage' .. u not scared ur hse 2 noisy?? heehee..

Haha...I sure hope so too. I think I will go there buy this and that for him, then may feel better...!

hi kkf ... enjoy your break. u deserve this break.

disneymickey-- .. .actaully i really need to introduce sound (hope it dun become noise haha) to my boy haha....kekeke...next week i tell u if it causes pollution ah hahahah...!!

costa,
ya... no need stress ur brain over the table thingy... what do u need to add? i can help u lar.. hehe..

naddy,
thanks to ur instruction ...otherwise, i also dunno how to do the table thing...

kkf,
oops! hehe... actually all mummies same same lar..love buying things for their precious darlings...
enjoy ur trip to taiwan!!

kkf, wow second honeymoon with hb huh or project bb ha....ha ? thought of going taipei for a long time
tell us how fun and how's the shopping ? hmm... so long never go for retail therapy

Jane, may I know what is the purpose of exersaucer ?

dropping a post before I go to taiwan in just few hours time!

Didi, no leh, wun be trying for baby so soon, ha! Anyway, my "relative" came to visit me yesterday too! Now me soooo sianz, because got to look for toilets everywhere!!! (got guys seeing this thread or not?!) ha!

Will missss you all, n my little prince! Post a picture of my little prince here so that you all will think of me! ha!
840787.jpg

Mich,

the following is on rotavirus vaccine...tink after readin it...dun noe if d and e are too big for tis alrady

Rotavirus causes severe diarrhea. It can also cause fever, vomiting, and dehydration. It's extremely contagious, and spreads easily through contact with contaminated hands or objects.

When should my baby get the vaccine?
RotaTeq is given orally, in three doses. Your baby should receive the first dose between the ages of 6 and 12 weeks and two more doses at four- to ten-week intervals. These doses will usually be given at your baby's 2-, 4-, and 6-month checkups. All three doses should be given before your child is 32 weeks old.

The rotavirus vaccine should be used with caution on infants with compromised immune systems or a history of a chronic gastrointestinal illness, as the safety and effectiveness of the vaccine for these children have not been determined.

A child who has had an allergic reaction to a previous rotavirus vaccine shouldn't receive additional doses.

What precautions should I take?

It may be a good idea to delay the rotavirus vaccine if your baby's sick, especially with a fever of 100.5 or higher. If the illness is mild, the vaccine should pose no risk, but be sure to let your doctor know that your child is sick.

What are the possible side effects or risks of an adverse reaction?
In tests of the new vaccine, some babies had a few more minor symptoms ?including diarrhea, vomiting, ear infection, and runny nose ?than those who received a placebo. No serious side effects have been associated with the new vaccine.

the above is just alittle on rotavirus..to read more..go to this link

http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/baby/babyills/babyvaccine/1494687.html

As wif all vaccines..some babies may have adverse reactions to it..so please consult yr paedi or neo nat before taking action..

My son has taken this vaccine already....

Kkf,
Rotavirus vaccine is taken orally...so no pain...but watch out for side effects as mentioned in the article...can consult the neo nat before taking....

nana,
thanks...will ask you if i need help on table..me suaku lah...dun even noe how to use many of the softwares available in the market....heh heh..

hi costa.

then my boy is also outdated for the rotavirus..he is already 10mths (actual)...:-(( this mummy no good. never keep a look out for the jab period.... i hope...he ok without it

Jane, ah,

maybe you go cfm with doc A whether still can take or not..

hows yr boy?recently busy lah..nvr text or email you?hows evythg?

hi costa. ya super busy lately really.

yup will check with Doc A....

oh i just rent 2 toys from rent that toy. wow their service really good. hehe...one day book, next day sending liao keke.

my boy ok la, next month seeing KKH for neo nat, physio, dietrician, lung and eye...same same :p then also continuing with SGH appointments too.

but he still cannot crawl so i rent the exsaucers so that my mum don't need be too tired to always carry him keke..can let him sit for a while and she can play with him hehe...since walker is not that advisable...exsaurcer shld be ok ah...

i wanna get the bumbo seat cos heard many parents say good for training of sitting..but hor!! Siang sit inside...difficult to get out...when i try to pull him out, there will be a 'POP' sound from his tighs..so end up i give up, never rent or buy the bumbo seat keke

he getting more and more naughty by the day lor keke. but cute la haha.

hows ur boy?

jane, my boy ok...weight wise, is 25th percentile, height and head circumference is 50th percentile..cant ask for much liao loh

he has to do the exercises like wat i mentioned yterday....

my son getting more notti and active, even though small size, carrying him around when he is struggling also not easy...

hi costa...weight will gain as he start more on solid :) not to worry on that.

my boy has not really start on solid..except he got intake the si shen chao mi combine in milk to make him full enough lor...

keke..think my boy will be given the 'manual' to go back cut down little bit more because his weight percentile is on the high side haha

well, active is good cos then they will be keen to learn and know more things...

my boy is also not easy to 'carry' because he will want to try crawl on my boy then try use his jelly buttock get out keke...

(actually..i never ask about his head circumference..think shld ask else i measure at home myself haha) hehe

wow weekend coming...busy busy again :p

but very funny...a new findings. he love to watch pple talk on the phone...then very funny. when i let him listen..he don't reply immediately. his reaction will slow one pace..after that i put down the handle..he will shout at the phone kekekek...then his body will rush to the phone keke...

sometime he see me talk on the phone..he will snatch and want to talk. but put him on the hearing set..he like...(listening??) i also dunno. but he no reaction ler. after i put down..then he start to babble...

keke..funny one.

on leave today.cos last nite took care of my ger till so tired.again,she lao sai this morning 5+,cos i was sleeping w her, i smelled something so no choice,got to change her.then think flush out 2 much,woke up at 6+ like v hungry like tat.so i got up oso & brought her to mom's place so she can eat bfast (jia lad hor,my hse no bfast 4 her,got to go ah ma's hse 4 bfast haha).
now i'm back in my own place.gg to do some housework then c can catch a nap or not.

in case i dun login again today, enjoy ur weekend mommies!

Hi Jane,
The jumperoo is can train the baby calf muscle
I think adult supervision is needed coz there isnt a seat belt.I think you can rent this as well. I got it second hand.

Hi KKF,
In which mth did you start implementing the schedule?

Hi Mich,
The boys took the Pneumococcal Jabs when they were 4 mths corrected age. This was recommended by PD as they were v prone to cough and cold.They were admitted before.One of the boys still coughing and h been a mth already.Tomorrow bringing him to take X Ray

I am trying to start a schedule for the boys.Very challenging indeed as it is not easy to sychronise their timing.I only manage to sychronise their wake up time (6.30am) and sleeping time (7pm).Do your babies wake up so early?Do you have problem sychronising their nap times?So tiring for me, when this one wake up,the other one want to sleep, so literally not much rest for me and maid

Edric just went for his eyes check-up at SNEC today. It was a relief that his right eye is still stable and will be going back to KKH to see Dr Audrey Chia in 2mths time.

But still feel very heart-pain today, he cry until his face almost turn blue black and when he saw me leaving the room, he was screaming for me. I feel so helpless and feel that i have betray his trust. So sad....

Of all the check-up, i really dread going for the eyes appt. May i know how many mths interval will u bring your bb to see the eyes doctor? I really hope edric's eyes appt can push back longer so that there is no need for him to suffer every 2 to 3 mths.

He will only got to see Dr Lim Sock Bee for growth monitoring next year as his appt has now changed to yearly.

Hi Chloegal,
We went every 3 mths until the doc said it is ok. One of my triplets has ROP Stage 1.The eyes heal themselves and was discharged at the 4rd visit but need to see the Audrey again in Dec. The other two was discharged after 3 visits. Dont worry too much,its normal that they are afraid.My boys also cry and scream. Mm..wonder if this will also b the case when they are old enf to make the dental visit...

Hi chloegal, my boys intially went for monthly check-up with Audrey Chia (we went twice so far) and she told us now we only need to see her six months later. I understand how you felt, as whenever my boy went for the blood test, I will cry too
I felt so heart-pain for my boys when the lab technician prick their heels/ hands to get blood, how I wish they prick me instead....

din post for the last 2 days.was sooo tired. my ger's diarrhea seems better. for the past few days, only shit the watery shit once or twice a day. ytd only once. but last nite, she refused any milk b4 bedtime,which NEVER happens in all her 15mths.hubby & me dunno wat to do.she looks so tired,but juz refused to drink milk & zzz. in the end,think she tired herself out & juz fell asleep. but we woke her up @3am to feed her. but she only drank a bit. this mornng ate bread oso ate v little. but asked 4 milk. sigh. she's alrdy so skinny..

now she's zzz & we were suppsoed to go eat dim sum for father's day. hope she's not cranky today. ltr gg IL's place. another big sigh. cos my ger c MIL will b v scared & cry..but MIL will b so insensitive & kept irritating her, & thus, irritate me.sigh. hope my SIL brings nephew earlier, cos MIL will go play w the boy instead of irritating my ger.

wat a father's day...wish me luck.

hi good morning mummmies.

hi cholegal, my boy appointmet is on a 6th monthly next visist is in July. lucky to say, my boy does not have any ROP issue (Cleared since Jan 07)...just back for routine check in july. i find that he is very scare with the eye review too..like you, i hope soon the visit will be less frequent.

hi disneymickey..hope father's day went well for u. i had planned to bring my boy out (with papa) for father's days celebration. but wow..it rain and rain..so end up at home :p

morning mommies,
surprisingly,my day yesterday turned out to be much better than expected.though my ger din eat a lot of lunch,but she's v happy when we brought her to suntec. so happy,kept kicking & clapping hands.din manage to eat a lot duringlunch.but think her appetite came back during dinner time,cos she ate a lot of mee sua, got to refill her bowl twice. then when we were eating fruits,she asked 4 it. but since she's recovering (btw, she din shit at all yesterday, think stomach empty after 3days of lao sai),so dare not feed her too much. & she drank milk b4 zzz oso (which she din on sat nite). & she's actually q well-behaved at IL's place. so can't complain alrdy.

so tired whenever our bb fall sick. guess they can't express wat's making them uncomfortable & we can only guess.

jane, did u manage to go out? weather was q cooling after the rain.

hi disneymickey... haha think all bb is the same. always appetitie very good after outings keke. sometime i think is it they wanna be ready for the next outings hence after each outings they tend to eat more :p cos energy all used up during the trip hehe

no ah...me did not bring my boy out last weekend...raining raining non stop and my place the wind was wwowowowowoinngg.... so scary keke

Hi All! Was invited by costa del sol to join in the support group. My girl was born on 7 Sep 2006 weighing 1034g. Thank god she is coping well.. Yesterday she was downwith viral fever at 39.3degrees. Very high. Would like to be part of the support group to share the experiences with all premies mum. My girl is 6.8kg now. Do share all the experiences with me.. Have read through most of the messages posted.. U all are great mummies!!

hi mummylian, hmm you recruited by da-jie aka costa ? Welcome, did you delivered at kkh too
your gal is turning one soon.... hope your gal is fine now.

Hi I am back!!!
Disneymickey, how's your gal now? The touhua you recommend really nice! yummy!

Guess what? I spend $1000 plus there! Not to buy clothes, shoes, in fact very I didn't buy much. I was bought to this one day tour by tour guide who brought us to a fengshui shop. i spend most of my bulk there because I am a fengshui believer. Ha!

Chloegal, soon you will be like me, I already forgot when is the last time my boy went to see eye specialist...? Now next appointment, still got meh? I think as the child grows older, the interval will be longer.

I always find it very confusing, so many appointments, this and that, make me so confuse.

Mummylian, welcome! How's your gal now? My boy last time got this bronchitits, and his fever hit around 40 degree too! I know how scary!

Jane, hope your boy enjoys the toys. I used to rent toys too. But ever since I found out that they actually bought 2nd hand toys from mummy who sold them, I stopped renting, thinking I might as well buy 2nd hand too, because cheaper and also, sometimes more worth than renting. You may want to consider too.

kkf,
welcome back! glad u enjoy urself..nice break huh?
thanks,my gal has recovered..her appetite is back! my mom told me ytd after finshing her porridge,she wans rice frm ah-ma. when ah-ma told her finish rice alrdy, she cried haha..gd la,she din eat for the 3days when she's sick,so now trying to gain back wat she has lost.

mummylian,
welcome! we r all here 2 share (& complain sometimes
). nice to hav another member

btw, mommies, hav been reading abt the eye reviews? is it compulsory 4 preemies? but my ger hasn't done anything yet leh. her pd oso nev mention anyting. gg for MMR this sat. maybe shld ask pd.. btw, heard after MMR will fall sick again? sigh..

Hi disneymickey
I think your gal isn't that premature so dun need eye reviews. Ours too premature like below 30 weeks, so need eye review.

What is MMR? Injection? My son always got fever after injection too.

Hi porkchop, I forgot to answer your question. Are you asking me when did I start letting my boy have the meal schedule? I actually slowly increase his milk intake until 240ml, and then the schedule starts, think its around 18months.

costa thanks for the article, but the side effects sound scary...! Got diarrhea, vomiting, ear infection, and runny nose?

My boy already 20 months, how? still can take or not?

Mummylian,
Welcome you here leh...Hows yr girl now?thinking back, our babies were neighbours wif each other and finally they got to see each other again last month....

Can you private message me yr email address so that i can email some pictures to you?

eh,i think you can be the one to guide us leh, mummylian becuz u are the one who is the most experienced and yet younger than me alot..

mummylian, a mummy on this board is compiling our information, can you let me noe when yr gal was discharged and how long in scn and nicu?tis is just to update in our table so tt we can noe each other's history...

kkf,
did you buy any kids' stuff for yr boy? my fren went there recently and she bot back some toy puppets and stickers for kids..not bad, quite nice..tempted me to go there also..

i asked my frens,they said that after 6 mths, not recommended to take..maybe you can check wif doc A when you see here....

so far, my son took and touch wood, no side effects...maybe for yr next child, you can let him/her take...

the side effects mentioned think was in USA...not in spore...so far, think none of my frens let the kid take it except me..

MMR jab is for measles, mumps and rubella...

thanks for your note on the toys...do you buy from the board here, kkf?

hi mummylian, welcome :))

hi kkf - haha, seem like this trip you really enjoy. make me wonder..wow...when will my next trip come :p. oh so that is so???? hmm...then i really consider buying 2nd hand toys too. thanks for ur note (i did not know)

hi disneymickey - glad to know your gal is back on yummy makan :)

think my boy is going for the MMR come his 15mths

recently i get to know one mummy (her boy is full term bb) admitted into hospital for fever and such..seem now there is more new viral...really have to take heed....

Hi costa, yup bought some stuff for my boy. I bought clothes (not that cheap leh, around $10 per cloth), and shoes, not cheap too, around $20-$30 plus per pair. I wanted to buy chinese board books because taiwan got a lot! Singapore got so little board books in chinese, but however theirs are written in fan ti zi, while ours is jian ti zi. So eventually just bought one simple set.
I saw puppets too, but didn't buy, but think they are really nice. Stickers a lot..but I also didn't buy.
Wanted to buy toys, went their toysrus, about the same as singapore, price same too. But I think their fisherprice toys slightly cheaper (i never buy).

Yup, 2nd hand toy normally I buy from here or yahoo auction.

I think nowadays virus are everywhere, really got to be careful. When my boy was admitted to hospital for bronchitis, a lot of kids also same problem. We got to be extra careful!

Hi all! Thanks for welcoming me on board

Coasta
My bb gal data
27 weeker. Birth wt:1034g Lth:34cm NICU:38days
SCN:20days
Thanks for the compliment coasta.. Any experiences or sharing, just throw on the forum n we all discuss it;)
Actually, read about Little ashley yesterday

Heart was heavy n as i gazed at my little one, really feel that all the little preemies r all strong worriors! Help me to kiss all ur little warriors;))

Jus to update my profile.. Like coasta said, my premie is my 3rd child. I have 2 boys @ 11 n 10. My gal is now 9 mths plus. Correceted 6 mths 1 week. Hmm.....Can't remember who mention about buying insurance for the little premies?? M in the insurance industry and understand how they work.. It's their underwriting criteria to ask for all the documents.. Good la. when we buy, we want them to cover. Average waiting period is about 1 year for our little ones.

Btw, anyone out there has haemangioma??? Has it subsided and VANISH???

Chloegal
Glad to hear that Edric eyes is ok.
Eye check up Evans review is more frequent, about every 3-4 mths cos he has lazy eyes. But they no longer pry open the eyes to check. Just check his vision and eye ball movements.
Dylan's next review will be one year later.
My boys also seeing Dr Audrey Chia. I like her.
Do you intend to send Edric to Nursery next year?

Mummylian
Welcome.. We met. Remembered?

Kkf
You had a big harvest from Taipei.
What's your view of a pre school which uses Mandarin as the main langauge? English and Mathematics will be taught in English. Any mummies here with comments or views? Thanks!

Costa
Saw from the chart that your boy's birthday is around the corner. Planning for a BIG celebration?

Any of you bought from here before?
www.mytoys.com.sg

help help! i think i'm breaking down!

*laughs* actually i am delirious. a bit unstable.

haiz. my baby still havent weaned off the oxygen and still struggling w bottling. 2 weeks since his hernia operation. haiz...

sorry hor. just need to complain and rant to someone. yesterday managed to drink 20ml by bottle but desat until 46 like that. And because he's so big already, he's cranky. Dunno wat to do already.

Wow mummylian, you got two big boys already? Might be my students you know?

What is haemangioma?
Anyway, my boy same as your gal 27 weekers. But your gal only stay around 1 month in nicu? Wow!

Hi Mich, I think got to depend on whether you are english speaking family. If so, think chinese language preschool is ok. If you are already chinese speaking family, then better send to english one.
The website you recommend looks interesting, will take a look.
Lindah, you ok?? I understand how you feel. Last time, my emotions was like roller coaster too when my boy was in NICU. I was one minute up, next minute down. Whenever I was not happy will go take a break, shop, eat whatever to relieve the stress and tension. Take a deep breath. Your boy will be off the oxygen soon! Believe in him. He wants to go home soon too.

kkf, that's y, it breaks my heart. see him so gung-ho. after 20ml still want to drink somemore. but desat so bad, how to give somemore. so dangerous.

lindah,
at least ur boy got good appetite..
dun worry so much ok?

mich,
i tot most sch use english as the main language? but like wat kkf say, if u/family speak english at home, it shld b ok if sch uses chinese rt?

Yah...better not give him anymore. How about drink few mouth, then take out, drink few mouth, then take out?

kkf, wow seems like your 'damage' in taipei is not little
did you go pubbing ? cause my gfs told me the nitelife in taipei is so happening
and the gals there are very 'lah' (ie sexy in dressing). You make me 'gian gain'

Hi mummies, as my boys is about 2 months corrected, need to get some advice on what books or toys should I get for them, think they are quite bored with facing mommy everyday and wanna give them a break

hi lindah -- hug hug.. life in SCN/NICU is always like roller coaster. my boy that time also like that. think i share with you before? one week (he was on his 3rd mth there) before he due to discharge...OH>>>>> he desat so badly... then...hey hey hey! few days later he drink as if nothing happy 3/4 days back.

so lindah... don't feel downcast. the day will come. as disneymickey say he is drinking. that is important. and he want to drink..show that he is keen on bottle!! that is a good sign.

i too support kkf suggestion...try drink a few mouth stop. take out. try take out try... try give him very very very good pancing. ya..pancing is what he need.

lindah..believe...your boy have come so far...at least he is bottling...

Didi, my "damage' really a lot! now broke, ha! got money to spare me? :p

Never go pubbing. But yes, the night life very happening in taiwan, and the ladies there make up very nicely and dress very hot.

So never bought clothes there, because I am not "hot"...haha!

Yes, really good to go overseas once in a while.

hi didi, i thought my boy was bored too haha..so i rent the exsaucer..and think he enjoy it but upon what kkf say about renting...i think i will just go and buy 2nd hand toys :p

for me..anything that is interesting i let him playhahahha.. .sorry, i am not a very 'educated' mother who know what toys benefits my boy. but as i bring my boy to SGH for speech therapist, the lady there actually told me to look out for toys that has 'effects and result' means like rain maker and such...she say these will benefits my boy. i brought a rain maker hehe. my boy like it keke

Looking at what jane wrote, it reminded me, lindah, share with you, once my boy got blood infection during his nicu stay. That period of time was like hell to us. His blood infection got so serious that he got to be isolated. What worst, that lengthened his stay in nicu because he got to be on antibiotics drip that took 6 weeks to fight the infection.

What worst worst worst, his blood infection got into his brain. Actually honestly, dun mind sharing with all, his brain now got a scar that was attacked by infection. The scar when you do CT scan, it could be see. The tissue could not grow there anymore so there was a scar inside his brain.

Luckily, it doesn't really affect him (from what I observed). Doctor said he might be weaker on the right, but still ok leh. Most importantly, luckily, his brain function still ok (keeping fingers cross). He picked up words quite fast. Now he could say quite a number of words.

Not to worry lindah, we all went thru what you went thru. It will pass very fast.

Btw, mommies, do you believe in fengshui. Have planned to have 2nd one next year, but then went taiwan and asked a fengshui person, she said mouse and horse zodiac will crash. Have you heard of this before?

hi dear mummies here
so long never leave a message here, i am still read the message every day here, but dont have the time for catch up, my boys very noisy now, less sleep and play more. now afternoon only sleep three time only. like to play only
very interesting topics everyday here.

hi jacelyn, do keep us posted on your boys progress too :)

kkf -- no la, its really more of info sharing that u share with us. i think generally for big item can still rent pah :p or for things like bumbo seat where very soon bb will outgrow..can rent pah haha... not to worry. nice of u to share.. :)

yes lindah...your boy will be there soon. soon you will be wondering when he is home and bitting and playing with teats and able to bite and control the amount of milk he want to swallow...then that is another headache you will face ;-) so don't worry...soon he can bottle very well. have faith in him