Premature babies support group

Mich,
Harlo, hows things?
Tink i wld just have a simple celebration wif my immediate family for my son's birthday as i got no energy to organise party..vy tired due to work...

Lindah,
R u feeling better after these few days?Let yr boy take his time....i remember my son also desat the other time and cldnt suck properly....and just when he was better, he deteriorated due to his coughing and was discharged wif feeding tube.....Just let him take his time...hope that he doesnt need to use feeding tube at home..even if he does, its just a temporary measure....guess most important are tt he is not desating...

kkf,
tink brain cells will grow and renew right....did doc A say anythg?

stressed,
my bm supply has dropped to ridiculously low levels..tink factory may hv to close soon..its really very very miserable...

Recently i sent my pump in style for service and my mini e was also cranky and i din pump much and the level has really came down alot...

Mummylian,
wats this haemangioma that you mentioned in yr post?

Costa,

I will be decreasing my # of pumps slowly. I will stop stressing myself to reach quota by the end of this month. I'm so relief it's finally over. U know I exclusively pump for more than a year already. I am soooo FED UP. I can't wait for the end of the month. Everytime I see the pump, I want to hurl vulgarities at it. hahahaha

The PIS traveler that I'm using belongs to my good friend. So I thought before I return to her I get her some new parts.

Do u know to replace the tubes cost $30 (per tube not one pair) in Singapore? And the battery pak cost $99 whereas in the website it cost $24 only GOSH!!!!!

If u do go to Medela service center, please tell them on my behalf that their pricing is ridiculous! thanks. hee hee

hi kkf,

Hahah...I also wish to buy second hand but hor....anymore toys I have to sleep outside my corridor liao. My itsy bitsy flat cannot take me liao. :p

Hi costa, no, the brain cells wun grow over there. But anyway, just hope it has no effect on my boy, just like a scar on our hand.

Wow stressed, your home got lots of toys???

Anyway, me quite sad today. Just now my in laws brought my boy home, he was crying when he saw his ah gong left. Whenever I left home, he never shed a tear. sob!

Also, my mum is here with me today, he seems to want to get close to my mum, want her to carry etc instead of me!

Suddenly feel so sad! my boy is not close to me at all!

Sob sob! I have tried taking care of him fully for a few days, but still he isn't close to me. How???

I am thinking of putting him in childcare as he is 20 months now. A new ntuc childcare just opened, and is very nearby my home, think kids 18 months can go already. I am thinking of putting him there because if like that then after my teaching ended around 3 or 4 plus normally, sometimes earlier, I can bring him home and spend time with him. Currently, I bring him to my in laws place, and let my in laws take care of him, and my hubby will drive him home at night around 7 plus, 8 plus.

Mummies wat do you think? You think too young to go childcare?

oh mummies, i want to ask one question. does any of u go for the flu vaccination? recently the government jsut launch? i am thinking of going for it and also let my boy be jab..i wonder is is good?

Hi disneymickey...(here is the rain maker haha)

Multi-colored beads cascade through the clear tube creating fascinating visual tracking opportunities while enhancing listening skills.

847046.gif

kkf, don't like that lah
I am only a sahm
what got $$$ to lend you
ha...ha.... btw the fengshui shop in taipei good ? think my friend was brought to one too when she visited TaiChung...

Jane, you really an expert on toys, me rookie must learn from you ......

kkf,
my boy got grade 3 brain bleeding.....so maybe i also get worried quite some time but i think as long as yr boy's development is okay..shldnt be problem..thats wat i feel (and hope) for my own kiddo also....

did you have any side effects after taking the flu jab?i also think its a good idea to take jabs but i vy scared to take jabs after all the drips/jabs/operations i been thru last year...

rgding child care, i let my elder boy enter childcare in the year that he turned three....no particular reason except i wanted him to learn smthg but be prepared that kids may fall sick more often when put in childcare..

maybe you can have someone stand by also so that if touch wood, he feels sick or the centre closes (by government ruling, they are allowed to close a few days for their staff training),someone can help you to take care as i guess as a teacher..schedules are quite tight and you cant always take leave..i am assuming lah....another consideration is where the cc is located..near yr hse wld be good idea for u to bring him back ..but when sick..is it convenient for the person taking care to go fetch him back....

just my 1 cent opinion..maybe other mummies got ideas to contribute?

i think lah that yr son must be close to the grandparents tts why he feels sad but ultimately, he wld noe who is mummy....its better he is close to them than u worry everyday whether likes being wif the caregiver, tio bo?

again, my own opinion lah...anyway, u wld get to see him more when you put him to cc....

jane,
wah, u machiam become an expert on toys..can i appoint you as our toy ambassadess

stressed,
i bot the medula replacement tubes..from mums n babes in united square...tink its not cheap like wat you said but bo pian they are monopoly in spore...

i did tell them tt its expensive because i ever rented a hospital grade pump from them before and the tubes and etc just to match that pump had already costs me smthg like $68..

tink i m going to stop the expression soon liao...u din latch on yr dd at all?to think tt u can always meet yr quota is already vy good liao loh...for me, amts really dropped to ludicrious levels...

Jane, May I know where did you get the rainmaker ? other than BP

Mummies, May I know do you cut your bbs hair yourself ? if so, what of scissors did you use ? as my boys hair is finally gtg longer and needs to trim some

Stressed, thanks, then maybe I should get from the BP instead
think they are selling around S$16.00 plus

Saw the posts on EBM... Am still expressing for my bb gal... Twice a day now.. Think having engorgement this 2 days... Had a hard time.. Very tiring;(
Mich
Ya! We met. I remember. Am happy that u still remember me;)
Costa
The haemangio is a strawberry birthmark that my girl has n is can be fd with premies. The pd say may flatten n disappear as they grow... But the one that she has is still there.. But thank God that it din grow any further. It was as small as a full stop when i first saw in her 2nd day of life... but it grew as big as a meon seed in few days... So was wondering anyone out there know more and will be encouraged by real life experience that it can really disappear!

kkf
R u a teacher?? Wat makes u say my boys may be your student?? Hee;)
Lindah
Understand how u feel.. But do stay positive .. I always believe that the bb can feel how the mummy feel..So stay positive
My girl had her hernia op the day before her discharge. Don worry, all will be ok with ur bb!

My sis in law's colleague had a premie too.. now still in NICU in KKWCH. The bb gal underwent few op for her intestines... Heard that the op to rejoin was not as ideal and the wound cannot be rejoin
Let us all pray that all will be well for the little gal!
Any one out there whose bb still in NICU KKWCH??

My gal failed her 1st audio test b4 her discharge. Did the retest and passed it during her first followup. Subsequent audio test was ok too..
Heard from my sis fren who is ENT specialist that it is advisable not to let premies take the plane due to the pressure until they r about 3 to 6 years old... Any one can advice??? Am planning for a trip for the boys n would like to bring the bb gal too.. but am worried...

Mich
I will sending him to playgroup next year. Dun think their age qualify for nursery. Have your boys taken the eyes test to see if they have any short-sightness already?

Will be bringing my ger for growth development at polyclinic this thursday. Edric will also be going as i need the doctor to write a refer letter to go back to KKH for eye check-up. As he has not been going to KKH for check-up for than a year, he will not be given subsides rate.

Mummylian
My son got haemangio on his head too and as he grow bigger, the haemangio become smaller and flatten. The colour also become lighter.

Mummylian yes I am a chinese teacher! I think I heard that before too, but my trip to taiwan, I saw a lot of young children leh.

Anyway, I think you should not take those jetstar, tiger airway etc. Choose bigger planes like SQ will be fine. I heard my colleague said (his wife is pregnant) the gynae told him pregnant women and young children should sit on bigger planes.

How premmie is your colleague gal? so poor thing. It is really sad to see young babies going thru so much ordeal.

Thanks a lot costa for giving me advices. I think you are absolutely right!
I think I should wait till he is bigger and stronger. He ultimately knows who is his mummy.

morning mommies..

wow, looks like there r a lot of owl-mommies who dun sleep till wee hrs huh..

kkf,
dun worry,ur boy will know who's his mommy.maybe u hav left him w IL for a few days when u went taiwan, he needs some time to adjust back to u. think ur idea of putting him in childcare then u pick him up 3-4pm is not a bad idea. but like wat costa said, b prepared for the wat-if days (ie. when u r sick, when he's sick, when childcare close). need someone to help out. so location of childcare v impt else ur helper may hav difficulties reaching there.

costa,
re flu jab, had 1 b4.no side effect. but there's a colleague who went w me (we went to take at company's doc), he's 50+, he fainted the next day. his wife was so worried & called & chk if i'm ok, cos we took the same jab. but according to himself, he claims his body is 2 healthy, so when doc introduced virus into his body, his body rejected haha. but anyway, haven't heard of any side effects so far.

mummylian,
my ger does not hav haemangio, but she has those blue-black marks on her backside & ankle. doc say it's called mongolian marks. supposed to go away. but she's alrdy 15mths still there leh.. any mommies got similar experiences & if it's true the marks will go away?

good monrning mummies,

haha....i am not any toy expert la. so happen to see this 'rainmaker' during one of the session at speech thereaphist and my boy really glue to it. so decide must purchase haha. plus, its seem very durable (ie can use for long time haha) and easy to keep keke. plus..if can really enhance my boy listening skill hehe...why not. i brought at BP..

hmm..seem like all mummies i more or less ok with the flu jab (my company is having a kind of promotion). for family member just have to pay $20. for staff is $10 la (i have not gone for it thou)

mummylian -- hope the little gal be ok. am sure things be fine

Good morning, everyone..

Kkf,
onli now then got time to go thru all yr posts yterday....yr taiwan trip was free and easy right..?in yr opinion, where are the good stuff sold? in shops or in the street markets..really also feel like going taiwan but now really bo eng..

no pblem abt the childcare thingy as my son though full term really got sick every month smtimes more than once..imagine so many kids all at one place..another thing to note is perhaps maybe you can find a cc which is not fully airconditioned the whole day as i think our preemies' lungs cld be weaker and too much aircon is no good...

maybe get a cc that has some open places for play so tt they are not cooped in the whole day....

Mummylian,
thanks for yr answer on the haemangio..where is it on yr gal?I dun see it leh when i saw her last month...my elder son got the blue black mongolian marks on his bum and on his left hand...the ones on the body no more but the hand one i think is still there....not too sure about haemangio though...did the neo nat say anythg?

will pray for the little girl...she shld be in good hands...

disneymickey,
u cld be right leh..bec i read from the Today's newspapers tt when one is vaccinated, modified viruses or bacteria are introduced into the system to educate the naive white blood cells on how to protect the body..

The article also said that premature babies are more susceptible to infections bec of their weak immune systems bec preformed antibodies from the mum to the baby happens during the last few wks of pregnancy.....

so for premmies, we got to take extra care on their predeposition towards illnesses like flu etc,,..

anyway,wat happened to yr colleague and what he said cld b very true also....

is it after taking the flu shot, u wld be less susceptible to flu but touch wood, may still kena the common cold?

Have been reading this thread. I don't have a premmies but my sister did. She delivered at 30wks. My niece is now 4YO but sadly, she cannot walk. She has got celebral palsy which makes her trunk and lower limbs weak.. but otherwise she's a very intelligent girl. Anyway, I'm only intruding becos I just wanna assure some mummies here regarding these issues..

Haemangio:
One of my niece had this and when my sister first saw her newborn, she tot my niece was bleeding. But now, the strawberry mark is completely gone. The mark just got lighter and lighter then gone without any scar. It took about a year or more.

Air travel:
My 30weeker niece has been travelling on a plane since 10 months or so. She travels twice a year to the USA cos she's half-american. So far, she did well.

Hope it helps.

Hi Costa I stayed around xi men ding. That place is quite filled with things. You may want to go there. The place is a popular place for youngsters. But we also can get some stuff there.

Disneymickey, thanks for your advice too! I think he really needs some time to adjust. Right now, he is alone with me, and he is sticking to me like superglue. But when there are more people, dunno why, he just totally ignore me and play with other people?

Bride0712, your niece got celebral palsy, is it discover at birth or later stage?

Btw, costa, I have taken flu vaccination b4, no side effect (fever watsoever). I think it does help a bit. My hubby got flu at taiwan, but I am still fine.

Really hope our boys will develop well! No
problem!

Jane you tempted me to buy rainmaker too.

hi bride0712, thanks for sharing. hmm..about celebral palsy, i read one mother boy had it too...

kkf -- haha. hmm ... it cost around $14. i think ok to buy but u must see if ur kiddo is keen on such colour, moving effects things. you know i rented a leap frog drum for my boy...sigh...he does not seem to react to it too much. but he love the rain maker haha...

stressed -- i am buying another rain maker at the site you post. thanks.

hi stressed, haha...i lagi jialat. you know why i need another rainmaker? so that i can have one at my mama house and one (mobile) in my lao gong car..haha..so can enteratin my boy when we go anywhere.. hehe.

here is the leap frog drum i rent
847793.jpg

i very clever one. i send in my "buys" then i tell my boy father (keke) that to expect something to come in hahahaha!!!

jane think jane very clever hehe...and i never say i collect the thingy one...unless so BIG (like the car seat i buy that one bo bian have to ask my boy father to go pick up)

keekekeke.... heng he does not know about me chatting on this site (he know i talk a lot on forum but he dunno the site) keke...

mummmies.....shshshshshhs... hahaha!!

then after buying the car seat, i buy this thing to keep my boy entertain in the car keke
847810.jpg

but my lao gong kept on saying useless...i say..then i go and buy some other toys haha. and 'store' in the car haha!! he **faint**

Cholegal
Am happy to hear tat the haemangioma disappear!
Costa
BB haemangioma on the right groin area. Thank God it's not so obvious

Disneymickey
My gal oso have a small bluish birthmark on the left elbow.. She is 9 month plus and still there. Anyway, as long as won't affect their health, let it be..
bride0712
Thanks for the advice. Feel much more relieved now.
Jane
Wow, u really know how to source for toys to keep ur little ones occupied! Do share all the gd loangs..
Btw, how much u rent the toys? Cheaper than getting one??

kkf
My sis in law colleague bb should be 30 or 32 weeker.. She did a PDA op. Hope all will be fine. Will keep u all posted;)
Costa
The neonat din say much... Aiya, to them all is ok one rite?? Jus tat m concern for the little one.

My bb jus recovered from her fever.. She sleeps a lot.. From 11 plus nite to 11 in the morning... She is drinking very little. About 110ml per 3 hours. Cereal in between. Corrected 6 mths 1 week, she is only 6.8kg.. Anyone can share??
bride0712
Pls don say u r intruding.. ur knowledge is helpful to us

when your babies can roll, do they roll in the middle of the night? this morning, i saw caca sleeping on her tummy, her face was flat on the mattress! when i saw that, my heart missed a skip. i immediately carried her up and she smiled at me. naughty girl!

Jane,
wah, your boy must be a happy boy as his mum always buy toys for him.I will ask my friend to help me to buy the rain maker too. as i am at jb, not able to get it here.is it BP petrol station?now my boys can cramp back liao,and they like to play ball too, that day when we go shopping, i give them the ballon, they know to hold it and smile with me as say he know how to hold ballon. Now they start say say, like my 1st twins like to say abu,abu, 2nd twins a bit quiet now, but he still active as same. My 1st twins only come out one teeth only,dont know when can come out the second one, now he reject the bottle feeding, only drink then he stop, need to use spoon to finish it. but he can finish cereal and brown rice all. how come like this? already 1week,still same, i am so scared he will reject bottle forever, does your boy too when teething? i try many way to give, give him toy when drink, hide in wardrobe, carry around still cant, he will cry and dont want to suck, even sometime use spoon he also cry, but i will try to give all. please help me. or any mummies here got way?
Mummylian,
I think your baby ok, my twins 10month(corrected month 7.5month) also one 8.3kg and the 2nd one only 7.1kg. Sometime also cant finish the milk. I heard nurse say before if baby always sleep and not active as , maybe they was not enough blood, exspecially prem baby always got this problem, must give them iron. but i dont know your baby is it this? maybe you can check her eyes, look at below if still red that mean ok, if a bit white or less red that mean not enought blood.

myfab,

yes.my ger roll all over. we used to put her on mattress, sleeping on the floor in our rm. 1 nite, i woke up & found her missing..cos she rolled to under our bed haha. so we immediately moved the cot into our rm. initially she also roll & sleep on tummy. i'll always wake up in the middle of the nite & chk her breathing..scared la.. grin.

jane,
me hubby oso dunno i chat on this forum & complain abt MIL haha.. so sheeessshhh

mummylian,
juz heard frm 1 colleague, her ger (4mths, not a preemie) got a red birthmark on her finger. so it means not only preemie will get haemangioma

costa,
rem when i took the jab,i din kenna flu until 1 day when i started sneezing, realized it's more than 1yr alrdy. haha

My fad,
i think is ok, my twins also got a lot of pattern, they always like to turn around, i need to put 7 bloster around them, for block them hit each other and hit the wall. now they sleep at our king size bed. I will sleep beside. my hubby kena sleep at their single bedliao, cos not enough space.haa,haa

Mummylian,
if its area for concern, the neo nat sure tell you one....so guess you dun worry too much, first lah...

tink her weight quite okay when i saw her leh...my son onli 7.6kg and he is now about 8mths corrected age..

maybe after the bout of fever and the effects of medicine, she feels sleepy.....

jacelyn,
BP means Bulk purchase...you can source for it on this website...basically a few mummies consolidate their orders to get a cheaper price....

disneymickey,
thanks for the info on flu jab...so tempted to take if it can help me avoid getting flu and cold...

hullo all.

Hubby told me tdy, SLT say my baby sucking well but coordination not so good yet. Well, at least it's a start.

thanks for all your advice. i will continue to hang on although have been feeling the mental and emotional strain the last few days. maybe cos time of the month, so i more sensitive. everything oso can cry.

Baby still not on nasal canula. I think they scared to try. But ok lah. Yest was between 21-22% like that. Tdy I havent go see. Dunno when can expect to go back like this. I realli wud like to see him home. But true, the nurse say my boy case not-so-teruk already... He just need a bit FiO2...

costa/disney,
the flu jab, can take while bfdg ? i told my GP my intention but she say not advisable since i am bfdg. but she is more conservative than my RMG GP. She even told me to discard my milk when on flu medication because my medication may gv sedative effect on my son.

I fall sick so easily (while my hubby doesnt). I even thought of buying air purifier or air humidifier at home coz my baby is in my room. and my room of course got piles of stuff that can collect dust. Any advice on this?

Yesterday I found a blog of an American preemie born at 24 weeks 5 days, weighed 680g. Now 1yr 3mth corrected, can stand! So cute.

http://birtchbaby.blogspot.com/

Is it that Caucasian preemie develop faster than Asians because of their genetic size? He stayed less than 4mths in hospital. That said, Mich's sons also stayed less than 4mths right? Guess it depends on the diff babies...

btw, doctor recommend 5-in-1 jab since baby already term + 3 weeks old. any advice? how come they dun talk abt the 6-in-1 ?

Jacelyn dun worry, got one point of time, my boy also like that, refused milk, and got to drink only when he slept.

Dun worry guess its a part and parcel of baby life.

Just try to get him drink as much as he can.

mummylian, think your gal is trying to recuperate, let her be.

kkf,
Thanks, hope to pass soon, if not he every day kena scold by me, now he know i scold him as he will cry and got tear come down, very naughty.
I try before when sleep give but he dont want,last time he like to drink when sleep , but now no more.
ya,need to check wth you their timing for sleep is it ok? they wake up 8am, after milk slepp at 9.30am, walk up 11pm. after that after brown rice sleep at 1pm, wake up 3pm, after milk 4pm, sleep around 4.30-5pm and wake up 6.30pm, at night sleep at 10pm. is it enough of their sleep time?
Lindah,
I think just listen to docotr say 5-in 1. maybe they never include the hepatitis jab. My twins had their 5 in 1 too, hepatitis , pneuomoccal jab too. thinking to give them flu injection too, docotr say can take but he say if take now, next time every year must take too. I will give them the injection as whatever doctor say, cos our was prem baby , must have more protection than other baby, my friend always told me very expensive of the pneoumaccal jab, she never bring her daughter to do too as her baby also prem baby. But i advice her money we can earn back, go and emazing if inflection by virus, the result is we cant say and if serious of attach baby, they will blame us forever.

jacelyn,
pneuomoccal cost S$168 per jab,but u mentioned u staying in JB, how much does it cost there? ya, this type of $ cannot save. hav to give, somemore our bb preemies, more prone to virus, must give
think ur boys sleep ok la. dun worry. refuse milk got many reasons - maybe teething, or maybe simply sick of milk (can try changing brand).

lindah,
think shouldn't bf if take jab. cos got med, not so gd 4 bb rt?

disney
oh, our side here was rm400.but the doctor gave me rm350per jab, got discount. cos mine is twins. i think here not so many parent take this jab.so together for my boys was rm2100.
ya,he got one teeth there, already half out, should be pass already right? already 1week, now more serious, even spoon for milk also cry.ai ya, dont know what to do, then i saw his face got red red stain out, leg and hand too? dont know why? is it rash?
i also wonder is it sick of brand milk? now taking similic advance eyeq wth blur cover, any idea the brand which good to them?and how to change?

jacelyn,
u can go to the "bulk purchase" section of this website and then join in watever purchases the other ladies are gettg

maybe can get yr fren to collect or get the item for you since you live in jb...

lindah,
every baby's situation is different.....cant really make a direct comparison between babies..tink my kid stayed the longest in scn and nicu as compared to the rest of the babies here...as he got exposed to the RSV virus and also to a doc who had chicken pox...

give him some time.u wld want to see him in tip top condition also right?

lindah,
ya agree wth costa, my boys taying hospital 57day, some other baby which same weight wth them when born only stay abt 1 month. depend of baby lung function and any inflection or not, just remember, nomatter how long, as long as our baby in good condition, sure one day he or she can go back wth us.

Long time dint log in as I was so busy wif my bb.Doctors hv decided to insert feeding tube & to tighten his stomach for his reflux.His operation date hv been fixed.Then I will be able to wean him.

lindah
don't worry abt the oxygen.My boi also on oxygen.I was worried so I ask his doc abt this.He say O2 is to help their lungs.They won't be dependent on it for life.