Premature babies support group

Joining back this thread again.
Hi chloegal, I think I am just like you, got two premature labors! But my Gynae said it is not due to incompetent cervix...haiz, dunno due to what! My first boy was borned 23weeks and my 2nd boy 27 weeks. Sadly my first boy did not make it, else I will have two boys running about too..haiz.
My 2nd boy also went thru a lot of operations, hernia, and heart surgery to repair hole in heart. As his immune not so good, he also went in and out of hospital quite a few times.
So me and Jane have decided to kick the door of kkh and never to enter again!

hi all mommies,
@work early this morning & saw abt bb ashley...teared my eyes, nearly cried out..hope bb ashley is a strong fighter & angel, if u r reading..fight on 4 bb ashley..

stressed,
ya,no seafood except fish till 18mths. tat's wat my pd say.my nephew who's 20mths oso not taken any seafood yet.my SIL say to wait till 24mths,though he's not a preemie

ya,my ger love the ABS pasta 2.how u cook? w tomato sauce?i normally boil soup (with chkn,ikan bilis,veg) inside & cook the pasta separately.when wan to eat,use the chk soup & heat up the pasta & added an egg inside. i love to c her eat this 2,cos she enjoys it a lot & makes me feel my efforts not wasted.

chloegal,
u v brave.dare to hav 2nd bb after 1 premmie. now still dun mind having a 3rd 1. 4 me,after the scare of my ger (i had pre-eclampsia @Wk30),gynae came to visit me on 2nd day & told me my chance of having pre-eclampsia 2nd preg is dunno-how-many-%, i shooed her away. haha, not gg to hav 2nd 1 alrdy.

Hi disneymickey,

I cook the pasta until very nua coz I scared my dd didn't like the texture. So I cook nua nua to test. Then I add brocolli and cauliflower and one cube of beef.

I haven't intro egg yet. Maybe when she turns one yr corrected. 7 more weeks and counting down. I'm quite anal about salt so I dare not give ikan bilis. My dd has a kidney issue previously. So I try no salt until 2 yrs. Also no sugar coz i scared she be fat like her mummy and bor gay like her grandpas. hahahaaa..

Cheaky,
Which company insurance you bot?if not convenient to mention here,can PM me...

Angel texted me yterday and she wanna thank all of you for all yr prayers and love for her.....the next 48hrs from the time of birth is very crucial for angel...do pray for her and keep her in yr minds...As hers is a C section, so pray tt she will recover fast fm her pain so that she can express BM for her...

As all preemies, Angel said tt most likely, Ashley wld stay on till Sept...

Shes a fighter just like all our preemies...

Good Morning Mummies

So many early birds here.

Didi
My boys on Enfagrow.
Were on Gain IQ but they were badly constipated.

Costa
Cheaky mentioned GE in her post Great Eastern Life.

Chloegal
Yah... I think ours too preemie, not easy to get approval. Have to keep trying.
30 weekers plus shd have no problem.
I made a montage of the boys pictures and sent it out as a greetings card. I email it to you.

Stressed/Disneymickey
I suspect my elder boy is allergic to peanuts, he developed rashes on 2 occasions when we gave him peanut butter.
So, no nuts for both. Intend to bring them for a test to confirm.
However, they are ok to soya beans.
ABC pasta can try Italian Style. I cooked with fresh cream , pumpkin and minced meat.

KKf
You are a very brave mummy.

Mich,
blur me,nvr read properly...din noe the insurance from GE..i had wanted to buy GE from my fren but need so many reports or stuff until i quite fed up and gave up the idea at least for now...

tink peanuts are one of the items high on the allergic list..their rashes are near the mouth is it? u bringing d and e for patch test..?

cook italian style....that means fry pumpkin, meat and then put in fresh cream?

Mich,
ya,peanuts can b allergic.so pd say no nuts till 18mths.so we r avoiding all nuts,inclu almond.

stressed,
ya,if scared of salt,dun put ikan bilis 1st.u can try 2 use chkn breast meat to cook soup,oso v tasty. u mentioned u use beef? wat kind of beef u buy? i tried to buy frm cold storage,to stir fry kind,put in soup to cook,becaame soo hard.so i got to mince them in the end.

Need your advice here.I wan a second opinion for my boi condition.Any mummies here facing similar situation as mine?CLD,reflux?I need the doc information before I see my boi's doc next week.

Last 2 days,he was very breathless and turned blue.It took 3 hours to settle him down.

I've got GE for my dd. Yeah. They make me photocopy the appt page of the health booklet. I was puzzled why only the appt page. Not as if I cannot cancel my appts or something.

My agent photocopied the entire book for them just in case. To which I think is as ridulous. Dd's book never state her medical history. Except for the "born 33 weeks", there is no indication she is a preemie.

But they refused to acknowledge hospitalisation. They say have to wait. I will call my agent shortly since dd has past her 1 yr actual. BTW, she's insured under Greatlink Supremelife (meducare).

hi good morning all,

saw thread of TCM...my boy on chinese medication now too.

costa. do keep us posted on ashley and angel...am sure ashley be ok.

hi fairytale...your boy under KKH? my boy is seeing lung specialist for his cough and 'wheezing' thingy...

you wanna PM me?

thanks chloe, i have just seen the thread for ashley...leave a msg there.... seeing ashley now reminds me of my boy when he was born (but i din take any pic then)... else i will post and show angel that all will be well and to belive....

Angel, We all will pray for you and Baby Ashley !
get well fast and join us here, k

Hi Stressed,
Thanks for the recommendation. Will check out the book.

Hi Mich,
Thanks for remembering me. So much h happened since I last posted at the other thread. My previous nanny (which is my dad's cousin) was suspected of stealing my wedding jewellery!No evidence but made police report already. Still no news - that was in Feb jus before CNY. She had history of stealing. Anyway, my fault for not placing them safety. She had the cheek to implicate MIL maid, claiming that her money was stolen by the maid many times. Strange lor, she chose to tell me this when I confront her.Anyway..I got another nanny who is a pastor wife. She is leaving in end July.

I am still breast feeding though long time ago started supplementing. Very tired not enf rest. Weaning off soon but very tough leh. Very emotionally attached to the boys.

By the way, since then my boys are hospitalised for broncholities. And many times get cough and flu. Probably common in premature babies. I feel bad..giving them so many medicine..got steriods as well though short term..

Any idea when I can start TMC?

Thanks for the input on insurance policies. H asked hb to check on them.

Jane,
The kkh lung doctor is gg to give a talk in a series of programs in kkh....i saw her name mentioned in the newspapers recently

Fairytale,
Maybe you wanna attend the talk by kkh...tink there is a talk about respiratory issues by this doc that jane's boy goes to..

Angel texted me n said tt the neo nat had spoken to her hb and ashley's lung is scarred becuz she in on ventilator...

I texted her sayin' tt all preemies cant really breathe on their own (m i right?) and tt all our preemies' lungs are scarred due to being on ventilator..(i noe mine is) and asked her not to worry...

Also, told her tt preemies' weight may fluctuate and asked her to be hv positive thinkin'

I remember i was really upset when my boi din put on weight but one of d mummies told me that once they reach 1kg..its like they wld put on vy fast..and its really true..

So lets all hope that ashley wld improve day by day ......

costa
I don't think i hv the time to attend the programs coz I need to work and stay at home to look after my boi.Is your bb doc gd?I would like to seek 2nd opinion leh.

hi fairytale.. i try to PM u then.

costa..oh really she gg to give ttalk? when?? i also keen to attend..thou erh....i am like have special access to ring her anytime to see her la...but..interesting to hear her talk ler

costa

i din know that all premmies have scarred lungs...

anyway, with regards to the weight, please tell angel that at the beginning, it is normal to lose weight, cos the baby will have to lose those extra water. It is abnormal not to lose weight actually, cos this would mean the baby is having water retention.

hi porkchop...erh. first time i am chatting wif u... my boy ... since go home at corrected age of 1 mth already taken ba bao shan. now he is on hou zao shan sometime. and i am letting him take the puff plus some chinese medicine (TCM keke) my mum say the chinese medicine is ling zhi....

i call it 'shit' cos its look like shit (FORGIVE me mummies). i always tell my boy..come eat da pian and be well :p..... cos so many medicine he eat he also kanna phelgem..but erh..so far he eat this da pian and plus the puff...seem better for him wor...

+forgive me mummies for saying 'dirty' words' here....

:p...forive me ah...but i am just trying to say what i did

hi costa..thanks for the updates. yes. do let angel know. its norm for ashley to lost some weight but she soon will gain many...so tell angel. don't worry.

(hope soon angel can read all our threads and tell ashley all the stories the mummies is writing)

Costa
Italian Sauce Put butter in a pan. Stir fried the pumpkin and mince meat.
Pour in cream and water. Simmer for a short while. Pour over cooked pasta.
Simple dish to make for the boys on days when I am in a rush.

Where can I go for the patch test for allergies?

There is a picture of Ashley in the prayer thread.

PorkChop
Taking care of 3 is not easy. How many helpers do you have?
2 maids rejected my offer when they heard need to take care of twins!!
No hospitalisation for my boys since discharged. *touchwood *. Only time was last year when younger boy was admitted for plastic surgery.

Jane
Which TCM did you go to? I want to bring my boys to tiao2 their bodies.
Took too much drugs at NICU... no good for them.
This is not a right time now cos they will cry the moment they enter docs clinics

Fairytale
My boys were not discharged with oxygen, I am afraid I cannot advice you with this.
Reflux my younger twin continued medication after discharge. Gets better as the bb grows.

mich..u are not only beautiful mummies, u can cook! i don't even know how to cook a proper porridge for my boy ler...i must copy down all ur thread on how to cook things...then i compile into a cook book...

yes, i seen sweet ashley picture.

erh....its a chinese doctor at my mum place (Bedok Reservoir)....its not famous one. but it works well for my boy. re i was telling all mummies about my boy cough?? hmm...... erh....after following the lung specialist instruction of giving the puff and letting him eat the 'da pian' for about one week, I AM happy to say...he seem recover liao.. thou i am still giving him the 'preventive puff' daily.

ya...reason why i go TCM because...really too much medicine...

hi chloe...we as mummy, think we sure feel hurt to see bb ashley at this stage (its just one of the stage..soon she will move on)

BUT well soon she be like our babies, grow and well...let us give all the hugs and warmness to ashley and welcome her to this world of wonders.

no tears, let us give her the sun (keep her warm). this world is full of hope.

right chloe :) march on....

Hiaz....My heart pain when I see little Ashley. I totally understand the anguish Angel and hubby are going through....

The physical pain we feel is nothing like the pain we feel in our hearts.

Jane
Aiyoh.... My head swelling liao. Haha....
Trial and error lor...
I wasnt good too and practice makes perfect...
I really enjoy preparing food for my boys.

What is da pian? The chinese medicine?

You are the Sunshine in this thread!

hi mich...'da pian' is ...... is..... poo poo :p OPPS! sorry sorry sorry.....jane say yucky things again.... Since expensive medicine like not doing good for my boy..eat the TCM Colour poo poo is well better off for my boy....

me no la...like i proclaim myself. me really wacky one. think i am the most blur mum here haha...

hmmm...trial and error can make u such a good cook.. wow off hand u also can teach how to cook things... for me, give me a cook book i also don't know how to follow hahaha...

i think...frankly, its i never put in effort to practise :p opps!!

Jane
You said eat the da pian for a week... so I blur.
Sister.... U havent try my cooking..
Can cook doesnt mean good cook hor. Hehe....

hahahahah....yes, the poo poo (opps) he eat for one week ah...every four hourly he eat. and its not very cheap hor (but still better to pay for things that works than pay for things that does not work la hehe)... haha...

hmmm... well..mich never invite me to try the bb food mich cook wor :p jane don't dare to self invite hahahaha..

hey...maybe we can organise some form of gathering..then every one do some bb food..then we have a bb food festival haha!! like pot luck kind of things..

(mummies here must be thinking..this jane nothing to do hahahahah)....

Hi Costa,
Do you have the programme for the series of talk can post here? The KKH lung doc you talked abt is it the lung specialist that Jane refers to?

Pls tell Angel not to worry,the baby will gain weight very fast.My boy had water in the lung needs to open 2 holes.Doc cant do much except to say "we hope he can fight it out as we do the best". We talked to him a lot,he manage to pull through - Praise God!Pls asked Angle to touch his hand and keep talking to Ashley.

Hi Jane,
Can you PM me the Lung Specialist you refers to and also the address of the TMC doc as well?Thanks. Can you also share with us how you manage to get your baby to drink the bitter chinese medicine..did you add sugar?

Hi Mich,
I have 2 helpers.Nanny and a maid.As I am staying with IL,she has another maid.So my maid only look after babies.The other maid will clean the house (incl baby rm) n clothes (incl baby clothes).I h since took 1 yr no pay leave so I take care of the boys as well.I am very blessed to have a very good maid.Dont need to train much.

I can give you my agent contact if you are interestd.They are very good.

My friend recommended Dr Dawn from Kinder Clinic at Paragon. She is there Monday and Thursday only. She saves my friend child. My friend, Mable, have been giving his son the wrong medicine for 3 years. Then she saw Dawn recently, realise it was the cat in their house!The first doc she saw is a animal lover so kept dismissing is the cat!

I intend to bring my boys as well.Hwr, some docs are discouraging it as boys too young to test and results will not be conclusive.

For the past few mths we had been shuttling daily from my aunt place as there was heavy renovation next door.We have since moved back but on and off got drilling.Sigh

Any of you give barley water to the babies?How old did you start?

Aside from the puffs that I have to do for at least a few months, I also need to give them Ketotifen (for allergy) since father is allergic to dust. Jane, did you have that for you son as well?

Any of you put your babies on a schedule?I am thinking of starting to do it this month..have no choice coz triplets better to put on a schedule if not really no life leh.

I wld like to recommend this book "Healthy Sleep Habits Happy Child", a very well informative book with lots of case studies.

may I know wat is scarred lungs?Sorry for so ignorance.

you know,when I see baby Ashley photo,my heart felt for her.Like wat angel hv said,is it that diff to have a smooth sailing pregnancy?Sometime when I see those pregnant ladies and mummies who can bring their bb out,I kinda envy them.But envy is no good.The only thing I can say is we must treasure wat we have,our little warrior!

Yeah, we have our warriors!
Really hope ashley will be discharge very soon!
See that the topic for this week seems to be cooking!
ha!
Thats what I am lousy in!!!
My boy always eat fish with vege porridge in morning, and meat with vege porridge at night! ha! Because thats the only thing mummy knows how to cook...hoho.
Anyone cares to teach me more?

yes. We have warriors.

In fact mine is such a warrior princess that after she was borned, she continues to fight but this time it's fighting with her mummy.

Everyday she scream scream scream at me...hiaz.

BTW, KKF, u are no better than me. I also know how to cook only porridge. Even the ABC pasta is very boring. I just boil and mix with vege and fish. No sauce one. hahah....

I dare not give cheese because it has salt. So it really limits what i can give. hiaz...

Chloe, Just saw the thread, I am very sad, my heart goes out to Angel, being preemie's mummy I know what she is going thru
couldn't control my tears.....

Mich
Received your montage of the boys pictures. Its very nice. Though of doing one too so that next time can show edric.

Disneymickey
As i grow up in a big family,I know the joy of having more sibilings. It will be very lonely to be alone with no playmate especially most parents are working now.

Feel so sad when i know bb Ashely have passed away. I really cant believe it.... They have gone throught so many obstacles together and I thought that its time to enjoy the fruit they harvest. Why is it so unfair... why cant it be a happy ending.

Mich
I bring edric to TCM(YU REN SHENG)in Tiong Bahru Plaza. Edric also cried once he enter the clinic but now is quit o.k

Think the medicine is not very bitter, I always split it into half and give it to him at two different timing. Sometime I give him sweet after taking the medicine.

really v sad. was on leave ytd afternoon & this morning came in & reading all the threads posted ytd. saw the funny ones which jane say feeding her son da pian..then came the bad bad news..haven't even got time to go & c bb ashley's pic. when i was feeding my ger last nite, was thinking abt angel & ashley...sigh

stressed,
u can try boil soup w chkn/beef.cook the pasta separately.then use the soup to warm up the pasta.can add egg (if ur bb >1yr) to make the soup tastier.

Fairytale,
The paedi tt my son had gone to when he was sick last wk is a normal paedi tt my elder son goes to..not specialised in lung issues....

Then the neo nat tt he goes to was assigned to him at nicu....she is not the same specialist tt jane has gone to

Hope tis is not too comfusing..if not, u can pm me

Porkchop,
Yes, the lung doctor is the one tt jane's boy goes to..

The link for the talks is as follows:

http://www.kkh.com.sg/EventsnClasses/ForPatientsandPublic/Event%20Details.aspx?EventGuid=401f62fd-6947-47c6-a21c-af94181b36a1

if tis link doesnt work, u can go to www.kkh.com.sg and then right hand side there is a square box which says Health carnival....click on it..

If cant, then pm me...

Rgding barley water, i gv some to my boy recently...He is now about coming to 8 mths corrected age....By right, shld not put sugar in it but my mum boiled a big pot and then put two small cubes of rock sugar(those mini pieces)..(I actually not in favour of the sugar but bo pian...since she is the one who boiled it)

Regarding the scarred lungs thingy..it sounds serious but i hv heard tt once bb reaches 2 yrs old, the lungs wld be better and more developed...So i guess nthg to worry abt unduly..

My own opinion is since lungs are the last organ to mature and we had to take the steriod jab for it..so i guess preemies' lungs will hv to take their own time to mature and develop (my own opinion..i maybe wrong)

Kkf and stressed,
I oso dun noe much about porridge recipes as my boy had just started porridge two days ago but i read somewhere on the board tt some mummies recommended the following blog/website:

http://brendanchiang.blogspot.com/
http://www.parentingjoy.com

Do look thru and see if there are any ideas which you may wanna use...

Me oso vy upset abt Ashley..just hope tt Angel wld be strong...

Dear mummies

I've not been accessing my mails and the forum for the past few days since my waterbag broke on Sunday for obvious reasons. Everything happened too fast that I can't breathe. I thank everyone for their love and support towards me and Ashley throughout my stay here at KKH.

This morning, as I take time to alone to reflect over the past few days' events and grieve over the loss of my precious princess, I've created a simple blog for all to remember her. If you are free, do visit it: http://ashleyisourangel.blogspot.com/2007/06/her-life-in-icu.html

If my fever subsides and everything goes well, I should be discharged tomorrow. Thereafter, we would be arranging for Ashley's cremation this Saturday...will keep all posted here or on the blog. Love, Angie.

Hi chloe..i have PM steph

hi mummies...din really know to come in or not today..because....because...jane at a lost of what to say.

but still i login...

about taking chinese medicine...my boy seem to enjoy it? i think its not bitter (have not dare to try myself :p).... maybe i should try.

what i did was .. i put the black lotion plus the powder thingy (ling zhi) then let him sip lor. then i spoon feed him water...after that his tongue still come out and ask for more :p

Porkchop...u got PM.