Premature babies support group

same here. v scared to come in now,cos scared i can't control my tears.in fact,when i went into angel's blog & saw bb ashley's pics..i really teared. angel, if u r reading, hope u b strong.

hi mummies, any bbs sleeping in a sarong at home ? my mom very keen to let my bois sleep in 1 but pd says no, anyone knows why ? as I forgot to ask the pd

didi

i read somewhere that sleeping in sarong has adverse effects on the brain development, esp when the vertical swing is too vigorous. Not sure whether this is true. My kids sleep on floor mattress, baby cot and play pen.

hi disneymickey...same here. but...ya, angel if u are reading our threads, please be strong.

didi-- erh..my boy since home has been sleeping in sarong. but ya, i agree cannot swing too vigorous...is suppose to be a gentle swing motion only. i don't even really 'yao' him. only gentle swinging... my boy too sleep on bed...

Had been a silent reader of this thread (I got a premmie bb too and posted once or twice)..

so sad for angel...
Angel, be strong ok.... our thots are with u...

hihi all...
long time didnt post here...

let me slowly go read the postings since my last post in apr...

hiya bloom,
u also drop by here ahh... see u ard leh...

rehi to costa, jane, jacelyn...
sorry ahh... so long then respond to u all again...

costa,
thanks... u r rite... my boy actually discharged same day as me... but one wk later, he readmitted to hospital for 3 days as his jaundice level super high... gotta go for phototherapy...

jane,
thanks for liking my blog..u mentioned that u have a blog for ur boy too?? do share share if u dun mind... i love looking at baby's pics nowadays..hehe..

jacelyn,
wow...u have twins... must be a handful to look after.. how old ur two boys now?

can i ask u mummies, do u start solids for ur babies when they r 6 mths (actual or corrected age)??
my boy wld be 6 mths next wed... but if corrected only 4 mths plus... so far i havent intro solids to him yet... wld start maybe next wk... at least corrected age also 4 mths plus liao.. so ok rite?

angel,
just read abt ur baby gal... very very sorry to hear that...

take good care & god bless.... u r really a very strong lady *hugs*

hi kkf,
ooh u r janmum's fren?? actually hor i nvr see her before yet leh... hehehe.. hope to see her next time when we have gathering...
wah..ur boy very big liao... handsome boy... saw ur family photos in sentosa..so heart warming..
may i know ur boy's name? can i add ur website to my blog?

kkf,
u r one strong mummy too... my eyes brimming with tears when i read the website u dedicated to ur elder son...

jacelyn,
saw photos of ur twins... they r soo cute!!

sorry all...
i posted so many msgs at one go... cos reading thru the past posts...& posted whenever i want to respond... pai seh for flooding this thread suddenly..

hi adeline,
ur boy looks very handsome... i think his wt shld be ok... though i m not experienced mummy... but he looks fine to me...

hi all mummies!!

i was deeply saddened when i read that ashley has left us.

---------

stressed - why did your agent photocopy the health booklet's appt page? our appts with our neonats are not written there, right?

nana,
morning & hi. i started giving solids to my ger @6mth (non-corrected age). cos pd gave the go-ahead. maybe u chk w ur pd when u next visit,cos think he'll b able to gauge if ur boy is ready.

angel,
my heart goes out to you, david and ashley. i am so sorry to hear of your loss. it is heartbreaking, even to us who dun know you and had our hopes up for you and ashley.

it's a lovely blog of remembrance. you have beautiful pictures to remember her by. be strong ok. maybe god have bigger plans for you and your angels. take care.

hi disneymickey,
thanks for ur feedback....
his last appt on 22 may, pd said can start intro to him if we want... but this lazy mummy here havent started yet... oops...
can i ask if u all bought those rice cereals for ur darlings? or ownself make? i dunno how to make myself leh...

Hi naddy,

I also dunno why must photocopy the health booklet. Silly right? My agent say some underwriters are v kia su. Some just graduate so they want to cover their backside.

hiaz.

hi nana,
i give her Nestle rice cereals for a start.when she's ok w it,i give brown rice cereals.when she's 7mths (not corrected age),i give her cooked porridge w veg. but u must b careful & only add 1 kind of veg each time. let him eat for 3days, make sure no allergy, then give another kind.
when she's 8mths, i start to give Nestle rice w mix fruits.then after she's 9mths,i give Nestle rice w chkn.

hi nana,
oso,i din give meat (port & chkn) until she has teeth.i din give fish until after 1 yr (not corrected).

anyway, need to ask advice frm mommies here. hav any of u bought those ready-to-eat porridge, eg.pigeon brand? saw @taka. like v convenience. can either feed direct, or warm up in hot water. feel like buying, but dunno if good or not.

nana,welcome back..we miss you leh...so long never visit us...

I gave my son rice cereals at 6 mths corrected age and some of those bottled Heinz/Gerbers pureed food

Last wk at abt 7 mths plus corrected age, i gave him porridge which i cooked in a slow cooker..

Disneymickey,
I din buy those ready made pigeon brand for my kid......

Hi Nana You did not meet faith before? Thought you are her friend. hee.

I am not strong as I have told many mummies...sigh. Angel is really strong. Angel my boy jared is playing with ashley up in heaven too. (though I am not a christian).

Nana, my boy is call DASH! Sure you can add his blog www.ido.per.sg/dash into your blog.

Hi disneymickey, I tried cooking the pigeon ready to eat porridge b4, terrible leh! dun waste money. I think it tastes terrible, and I dunno if I am a lousy cooker, but I can tell you, the end result dunno looks like what! yucks! (sorry, hope nobody working in pigeon company, will kill me).

Angel, if you happen to read this thread. Sharing with you my boy's blog. I created a blog for him when he died, just like yours. It gives me strength. At least, I am still communicating with my boy.
http://www.ido.per.sg/jared/
You can talk to me if you want to. But I know right now, it is better for you and your hubby to be left alone.

thanks 4 the advice on pigeon porridge. but now i need some advice: i'm travelling to HK w my ger in aug. the flight will b 3.45pm-7.25pm. means she needs to eat her dinner on board.i'll b travelling on jetstar,so makan v limited.was thinking of buying the ready-to-eat porridge,juz warm up in hot water.but w the advice frm u mommies,think i won't do tat. if no other better choices, i'll cook porridge & put in hot flask & bring on board. btw, my ger can eat normal food like rice, & noodles stuff,so i'm not bringing any bb food 4 her.

disneymickey,
can jetstar heat up any food on board for you?do they allow you to bring food on board...i very tempted to try jetstar but now really busy and cant take leave for holiday...

or else let her drink milk during the flight as its only about 3 over hours...

costa,
bb food can b brought on board la.went taipei last yr (oso on jetstar) when she's 8mths old.i fed her cereals (add hot water). actually they dun provide water (need to buy mineral water),but if u say it's 4 bb, it's ok, they'll give. but the timing clashes with her dinner time. so she MUST eat dinner. haha. was thinking either 1) bring porridge in hot flask or 2) feed milk & bread then when reach HK, go find dinner immeidately.

I am back again, really cannot everday stay here cos now my 1st twins teething, he dont want the milk, he reject the bottl eat all, but he still taking the whole bowl of brown rice wth milk and cereal, only bottle he dont want, I kena gine him by spoon then he want. He only come out one teeth only. Some more my computer break down pass few day cos raining heavy here.
Hi nana,
Welcome and how are you?
Great that you remember me.
Oh, my twins now is 9.5month,(corrected month 7month) now was 8.2kg and 7kg.
Hi jane,
can i check wth you any sign that you boy teething?like reject milk orfever? my boy only reject milk. now only 1st twins teething, 2nd twins not yet. how's you boy now? Now two of my boys know how to turn here and turn there, the know a bit to climp back, I didint give them sit on the walker yet cos my doctor advice me dont give them before they climp. They know how to bai bai sou too, the like to play hide and seek too, some time two of them will play together cos i put one pillow between them. I think your boy should be quiet the same wth them right?
Please help me, I cook the porriage for them everyday, but they dont like the porriage, always noisy and dont want to open the mouth after few feed, but if I give them cereal or brown rice wth milk, they will finish all. what should I do?
I give the brown rice 3big scoop and milk water in 210ml , they finish all, is it too many for them? now they was 9.5month(correcten month 7month) weight one is 8.2kg, another one 7kg.

Hi Jacelyn,

b patient. if they like brown rice cereals, give them. maybe u can try adding some pumpkin or spinach or broccoli into the cereals. but remember to try 1 kind at a time, for 3 days, before tyring another kind of vegetables.
it's ok if they r rejecting new food. try a bit everyday, b patient, they'll grow to liek to experience new things.

my ger is 15mths (non-corrected age) & she's only 7.5kg, so ur boys r growing well, dun worry

Hi disney,
Thanks for your reply,
Ok, maybe I will give them brown rice and cereal, but will be too hot or not, cos brown rice quiet dry right, afrais their poo poo not nice, I use cosway brown rice, do you think I should change to shi shen brown rice? the cereal is nestle or new product nestle gold wth canberry and apple. you mean I can add the pumkin in? the cereal already got milk, I still can add vegi in?
now their feeding is five time a day,
morning 9pm 250ml(1st twins)210ml(2nd twin), 1pm, 1 bowl of brown rice arounf 220ml, 4pm, 250ml and 210ml milk, 7pm, cereal 1 bowm or porriage, 10pm 250ml milk and 220ml milk wth soya bean powder. their feeding is it ok? you mean i can give them 2 time of brown rice if i never give porriage?

hi jacelyn,

can add stuff into the brown rice cereals. but b careful, introduce 1 new food at a time, then u can monitor if ur boy got allergy or not. i give nestle brown rice cereals. yes, now got new flavours of brown rice. but i suggest u go w juz plain brown rice cereals first. even if got milk in the cereals, still can add vegetable or meat.

i fed my ger 3 times cereals last time - bfast, lunch & dinner. & of cos, milk in between. good to get them start to hav a schedule of feeding time. then ltr on, when u wan to move them onto real adult food, easier - they can fit into our eating time better. i c u r giving ur boys 3x milk & 2x cereals, shld b ok.

if u scared of heaty, give more plain water. i dun use the shi shen brown rice, cos i dun like to add 'chinese med' (though some pple will argue shi sen is not chinese med'. but up to individual la, some pple say shi sen is good. no harm trying.

anyway, they r growing & putting on wt rt? not to worry...

Hi disney
ok, i will try to put some into it.ya, you mean you use nestle brown rice, is it that one will milk? I prefer the nestle rice cereal cos without milk, I prefer our own brand milk. why not try the cosway brown rice more natural not too sweet. very cheap too, 2packet of 500gram only cost abt RM12.
nestle got one product call nestle gold, got stage 1,2,3. i try 1 , very good , got apple and canberry, new inproved for good digest.
how's your girl now? should be know how to climp right? normally baby girl more small size. mine one quiet small liao, you know jane, her boy age 2 day different wth my boys, i think her boy weight now abt 8.7kg, some more 26th week born, jane more clever than me. her boy very cute too. ya, show me your girl photo, she born in how many weeks?

Hi disneymickey you bring your gal to many places already (taipei and going hong kong!) I wish to too. I am going taipei in june, but dun dare to bring my son along leh...
First, troublesome. Secondly, will there be germs and diseases around? In singapore, I already dun really dare to bring him to crowded places, because his immune is really not so good due to his prematurity and heart. So dun really dare to bring him overseas!

Really envy you.

jacelyn,
my girl totally dun take cereals since abt 1yr (btw, all my age non-corrected,maybe this mommy lazy haha). she's born Wk34, 6wks pre-mature. can crawl, but can't walk or talk. but loves to 'walk' .. i need to hold her armpit & let her walk lor. last weekend brought her to vivo city & IMM, make me hold her armpit & walk ard. so tired. i put her pic here..but 1st time post pic, dunno 2 big or not..
830820.jpg

kkf,
how big is ur son? maybe u start slowly bring him out to more places in spore 1st. let him accustomed to the 'crowded' places, then bring overseas. ya, tat reminds me, need to get med frm pd next visit. juz in case.
but bring bb oso v troublesome. our itinery all planned ard her. cannot go out 2 late, must eat on time. but lucky thing is, i go w many pple, got hubby, parents & sister ard to help take care.
n while in taipei, we plan to go zoo, n kiddy places lor.when i wan to go shopping,got to wait 4 her to zzz. this time we go hk,oso din plan to shop.

but 1 thing gd,if nev bring kid,u can enjoy urself. i'm sure u'll enjoy the break..

disney, you gal big already good, can jalan jalan everywhere, thought of bringing my bois to sydney but dare not attempt too young, maybe next year

My son older, 19 months. But still me worry a lot about those germs and diseases...haiz...Yah, maybe I shd try bringing him to somewhere, but first to get flu vaccination first!

I sure bringing kids is fun in a way too.
Envy.

Hi disney
wah, ur girl very pretty,she got big eyes, look sweet too, eee.how I wish my twins can be one girl and one boy. haa.ha... I like the baby girl so much.
kkf,
ya, agree wth disney,maybe bring him around singapore first, maybe go shopping center, let him be usual 1st, I also bring my boys to jalan jalan in shopping center only.

kkf,
thanks 4 ur compliment. show me ur son's pic la

can kids so young take flu vaccination? ya,can b fun, but if your kid is like my ger so sticky, only wan mommy & ah ma to carry, n when the grounds (in taipei) not flat, i din dare to let my mom carry her. so the poor mommy here got to carry her in the Go-Go-Rider

dun envy, it'll b ur turn v soon.

didi,
now sydney bit cold? but depend on ur kid la, my ger enjoys coldness, so this time round we go HK in aug will b v hot. dunno if she likes it or not.

Disneymickey,
yr daughter so pretty.........must be like momma!!!

U sure she is 7.5kg..she has vy good build leh...

yr daughter so lucky leh can go so many places..tell her aunty here also never take jetstar before....

is jetstar tickets cheaper huh?

Ok, let me search for the most handsome photo, so that you will chop for me.
831281.jpg

dada! expression when he sees pretty gal!

wow costa, i like ur comments.. make my head v big & i'm floating

yes,she's 7.5kg only. think she's tall lor, like her daddy.

jetstar tix is $40 (frm 0-24mths). but no seat 1 lor. so i got to carry her all the way.

stressed,
dun wory. ur ger's hair will come 1 la. i oso wait until she's after 1yr then got long hair. she hasn't cut her hair since birth ok. was thinking of bringing her 4 haircut this mth. show u a pic of her botak haha

831300.jpg

sorry mommies, i v heow , kept posting pics hor

My boy is 19 months, borned in oct 2005. He is borned 27 weeks, very preemie though. Hey hey, your gal so happy to see my boy! See she is smiling so widely in the pix, ha! :)pp)

Actually I wish for a gal too, can kiap clip on her hair too! ha!

Disney, your son lagi CUTE leh....
btw my bois are too young to check whether they like coldness or not, if go Sydney got to be in Sept, wants to attend my bro's convocation
see how, hb was saying leave them with mil, but can't bear to leave them 'sob... sob' did you carry your boy all the way or in stroller ?

kkf, aiyoh so fast chop huh, modern world already lah...