Premature babies support group

hi costa.

wow...that time i had my cervical length and waterbag measure routinely too....

oh yes, please tell angel. make sure they give her the steriod jab (after hearing what mich say)...must tell angel...must take the jab wor...

do continue to keep in touch with her... let us know the result

hi disneymickey..after what happen this early monring. i have decide to clear all the dangerous things from my room. most likely will sleep on the floor keke... or like what u suggest, will put him in his cot and put the protector on (which he find too small space keke but i don't care..for his saftety sake)..

Jane,
my boy oso sleep on mattres on floor. he can sleep fr one end to another, so cannot let him sleep on the bed, sure fall one.

Disneymickey,
Thanks for ur advise. Too bad my gynae only visit Mt E, no other hospital. last time when i got prob, she didn't advise me go KKH either. so we juz gong gong stick w her n deliver in Mt E. was so worry about the bill , esp u see how Mt E charge u everything - cotton wool $xx, panadol 2 tablets $xx, towel $xx..... lucklily my boy only stay there 3 wks last time. if stay longer, definately can bankrupt
tis time, to be more prepared, i was thinking to find an option rather than go to Mt E only. I know TMC NICU not cheap coz they dun hav 'downgrade' system (eg: NICU level 3 to level 1 cost lots different), similarly for NUH. so if i choose private, the only alternative that w be cheaper than Mt E will be Mt A. my fren's baby born in glenE stayed in NICU for 10days, her bill same as my boy's bill, so it's not cheap there as well.

think i'll go KKH if got prob tis time (pray pray pray, hav a smooth one tis time).

Costa,
i'm thinking to get a maid to help with 2 kids. can i PM u about maid matters? i'm quite reluctant to get maid coz heard of so many stories about maid, but no choice.

irenelovej,
No pblem, u can PM me but i dun noe whether i m qualified to give advice as my standards are pretty low and as i m not at home most of the time..so i can say that i m quite lousy when it comes to maid issues...

did i tell you tt if you are considered "A" class in Mt E and then if you touch wood transfer to KKH, then they wld charge you "A" rate until you get a downgrade after getting a means test...But the first $15k wld still be considered as private rate..

PS. I could be wrong on this but tis information was given to me last year..

But of cse, i hope that you will not need to go to kkh lah..

Jane,
No, din hear from Angel, guess she must hv gone for her scan..hope to hear good news from her later..will update here if i got update...

Costa,
Pls convey my regards to Angel. We are all here supporting her, to hang as long as possible...

Can i check with u what is the means test u mentioned for the downgrading? I dunno how exactly should i proceed if i hav to go kkh (cross fingers, hopefully won't need). but i'll be going to kkh straight rather than xfer fr Mt E to there. I think the 2nd option is much more complicated....

I'll PM u to ask about maid. my standard oso very low n i'm poor in managing ppl. i think w a maid around, i might end up do more work than her. haha..

irenelovej,
thanks and will convey yr regards to Angel....

shes seeing the same two gynaes as me last year...

the means test(according to wat i noe from last time) means going thru the counsellor to get a downgrade..if i not wrong, tink they will downgrade bb to "c" class most of the time...

i hv seen cases where the patient transferred from pte hospitals and then treated as "A"class patient and then later got a downgrade but the first 15k is treated as private rate accdg to wat the patient was under at the private clinic...

rgding maids, i also dun like to tell pple off and so called train pple....thats why i leave it to the maid and printed a set of instructions to let her read (to which i tink she also din read bec her english not vy good)...i told the maid agent wat i wanted and then he got me two maids..he told me not to read too many biodata(maybe he was lazy and dun want to give me more biodatas)...then one of the maid i couldnt get to her as philipine got typhoon...

So i got the other one..her english not vy good and smtimes got communication breakdown...but as long as my kid is treated okay..i think i really close two eyes...

lucky my mum is around most of the time to over see her but my mum does go out smtimes and wkends my mum goes home..many times i left my bb wif her alone at home..

hi irenelovej, talking about having maid and doing the maid job for the maid. when u PM costa...haha ask costa what she see for herself (what happen to me) kekeke :p

costa - can narrate what u see to irenelovej...

maybe then ireenlovej, u will consider if taking in a maid is wise.

frankly i have very low standard for maid too..but min can help me..not i help her haha

Angel, jia you! I fight together with you.... i'm also struggling to extend the term as long as i can

i was also at KKH ADC today for growth scan. the smallest baby is still smallest but has grown so dr said no concern, just observe.. countdown 5 more weeks.....!!! hubby wants me to tahan another 7 more weeks, i told him ican't take it liao... and he can't help but agree cos he knows i very sin ku le.... 5 more weeks bring us to week 33! i'm happy enough with that.

i'm also looking out for a maid.... is it very difficult to find a maid willing to look after multiples... i'm getting late... hubby said just close your eyes and chose one.... hahaha

costa

Any updates from angel. Thanks for updating us so promptly.

angel

How's everything? Wow, u've earned another day u know! Great job!

Costa/Jane,
Ya lo. i heard too many maid stories. But really no choice. My in law can only help 'part time' coz she has lots of commitment, and my own parents r not able to help. So most of the time hav to leave maid with the baby too. think abt it i oso quite worry...

i was thinking of 2 options - getting a maid or sending the younger one later to nanny (cannot go infant care, quite far fr my place n expensive too). get a maid will be 1st option coz hopefully she can do some housework on top of taking care baby. if really can't work, then hav to send to a nanny.

working mother is really not easy....

good mornng mummies.

an update (costa just sms me this morning). angel has just taken her steriod jab (second one is this morning at 6.30am).

angel..i know is super painful...ren ok....ontinue to keep us post on the updates.
ashley u be a fine good gal :)

hi irenelovej, yes, as a working mum, we don't have much choice. between nanny and maid. frankly sometime...most pple say a nanny is a better choice but well, sometime is all about luck.

maybe i am not that lucky hence todate i still cannot get a good maid. but lucky for me, my mum help to take care of my boy

Dear mummies

thank you for leaving me your kind thoughts and regards even though I cannot post so often these past few days. So much has happened - Friday midnight, went into contractions, sent to Delivery Suite but thankfully, the pain subsided and baby Ashley's was obedient to still stay inside. Yesterday went for scan at 4pm, showed that my cervical length has shortened and so Dr Loh ordered for me to start my steroid jabs
1st dose was at 6.30pm - I knew it's going to be unpleasant but boy, it was even more stinging than all the IVF jabs put together. The moment the steroids entered my bloodstream, all the blood vessels and veins in my thighs went into involuntary convulsion and the pain only subsided about 30mins later...
but like what Costa advised - just grit my teeth and 'loon'...I tell myself - the more pain and jabs I take now, the less bb Ashley has to suffer in future...that very thought gives me strength to go through...anyway, y'day morning I had blood test too (twice a week) and it never fails to leave a large bruise on my arms...all these 'battle scars' for bearing a child!

This morning, as I was reading your posts, the neo-natologist Dr Agarwal (an Indian lady) came to talk to me ant all the complications that Ashley may face should she 'pop' btw now and before 28 weeks - all horror stories lah - listening to her nearly made me tear! Most eminent threats are undeveloped lungs, brain haemorrage, collapse of heart, liver/gut/intestine rupture etc. And also celebral palsy and low IQ...she also said once the baby's born, I won't be able to cuddle her as she has to be immediately resusitated (our instruction to the docs - to save her at all costs)...she has to be intubated and put on ventilator and IV drips etc.

I know all these must sound so familar and dejavu to you mummies who have gone down the same preemies road...thinking abt all the medical interventions our preemies have to endure just make my heart ache..If only God would spare us this agonising journey to Motherhood...mummies, I really need you to give me hope to see the light at the end of the tunnel...sometimes, it's so difficult to keep your hopes up when everything at this stage is still so unpredictable...Still, to have made it to the start of week24 is a victory in itself already and I'm so thankful to feel Ashley move inside me everyday...looks like I'll be hospitalised here at KKH till Ashley's delivered so keep your posts coming ya? Hugs and thanks.

hi good morning sunny day angel :)

the sun is shining for u and ashley. ashley girlie, today marks ur 24 weeks. auntie jane want u to stay beyond 28 weeks in mummies tummy okie.

angel - i know how painful the jab is. i know. i really do. but like what costa say, taking the jab only indicate one thing. it will help ashley if she were to come out ... i will help her tremendously.

angel. talking about hope. mich (twin mummies) give me 200% boaster cos i see her boys who is born in 25 weeks. i see for myself her boys at coorected 2 years old, runnning and playing. i see for myself.

so angel. all i can say to you is. continue to believe. u see me (my boy is 26 weekers). u see costa boy (i seen her boy myself) 24 weekers. costa boy is doing so well...

frankly...if u want...come this sat, i don't mind carry my boy go KKH to visit u.... just PM me. really..i don't mind.

i always seeing is beliving.

i see mich and costa boy...i really belive.

chloe, no pblem...

just got back from seeing doctor,my boy got fever and like breathing difficulties..went to paedi...hv to use the nebulizer...sigh...

Angel,
way to go..just grin and bear it..its gonna save you alot of heartache and pain next time when u see the leaps and bounds in progress that ashley wld make...

doc agarwal is a vy lovely lady who looked after my son when he was at SCN....she just needs u to noe the complications of preemies.....but that may not mean it will happen..so just listen wif an open mind and ask questions...

hope u were strong..i remember my turn last year when i was spoken to by a lady neo nat..i cried and i was really vy lost...

yes, we cant cuddle our bbs immediately..its true..they wun look like wat we had imagined them to be but we can touch them thru the "portholes" in the incubator..

touch is very important and can stimulate the senses of our preemies...they noe we are the parents and will improve better wif us around to talk to them and encourage

lindah is another example of a preemie mum who is doing well....how are you, lindah?din hear from you for a few days already....

hi costa. hope your boy is ok. hmm...i am not sure if you know. accordinly to the lung specialist (re i told u my boy is 'under the eye' of a eye specilist at KKH). if possible, try not to neub the bb...if possible, try control things when they have breathing difficulties via the chamber (ie puff).... but i guess so long now your boy is ok, its ok la.

think now got another very strong virus going around.

yes angel..what costa say is very true. the neo nat just wish to tell u the possible complications...continue to talk to ashley..tell her..mummy tummy best place.

oh the lung specilist give me a 'preventor' call pulmicort for my boy to be puff once every morning. she tell me..this will prevent my boy from cough with the arise of phelgm and such (bronchitis).... she say there is no side effect of this puff. it is just a preventor.

jane,
pulmicort...i got it during scn days already because my boy was vy long on the ventiliator...and he was discharged wif ventolin and pulmicort..

hmmm..tink maybe later i text you and ask you again the name of the lung specialist at kkh...

i tink i may seek the advice of the lung specialist tt u go to...as the paedi may not be the best person to advise me..

i asked him if the nebulizar is okay to use on a few days basis.he said that it was ok, wor...

tink the neo nat also talked to you abt the complications of premature birth right?

Angel,
hang in there...u can do it..so far you are doing better than wat i did last year....its really true..u must really jia you....

Angel
Costa has been providing us with updates, via forum or sms.
We are praying for the best.
Ashley, please stay longer in mummys womb. If you choose to come out earlier, be a fighter and grow well.

I have a good book to recommend : PREEMIES - The Essential Guide for Parents of Premature Babies.
By:
Dana Wechsler Linden, Emma Trenti Paroli and Mia Wechsler Doron.

Both Dana and Emma have preemies and Mia is a Neonatologist.

The book is a reference that is both reassuring and realistic, delivering up-to-the-minute information on medical care at NICU in a warm, caring and engaging voice.
It is written in plain language and served as a comforting companion to me when my boys were in NICU.

To give you some support and boosts your confidence, I decide to post my boys pictures.

My 25 weekers, Dylan and Evans. Pictures took one week after birth. At NICU.
818550.jpg
818551.jpg

Recent pictures of Dylan and Evans.
818552.jpg
818553.jpg

hi costa. oh..my boy was not discharge with the chamber. it was at a later stage (recently in fact, after i got the 'maid) then the chamber together with salbuair cfc-free inhaler was given to my boy because he wheeze quite often.

because he got wheezing hence dr awgaral referal him to see and be follow up by this lung specialist...

hence last visit when my boy wheeze, i bring him to see the lung specilist and he was given this preventor called pulmicort.

i understand many of the mummies actually use nebulizar (they even brought the machine at home as standby). but this lung specilisat (when i ask her about neub) she is not very supportive. she tell me..."NO NEED"!

but costa....your boy not wheezing but maybe just phelgmy hence caused him to have breathing difficulities is it?

yes, in fact..i tell u, mummies (thoose reading this threads) please don't laff. the 'bb doctor who is from NICU" only talk to me only ONE HOUR before my boy was delivered. then i was in the delivery ward liao. so if u ask me...by then i already was all nerve up, i don't even know how to cry or worried how my boy will be when he came out.... (above story is true to the basis of what jane experience)

Any of your bbs are patients of the Cleft Centre at KKH?
They having a party this Saturday. Any of you going?

Jane
I am very glad that the brief encounter you and your hb had with my boys boosted your confidence by 200%!

I am sure many of the little ones here are doing very well too... just that we have no chance to meet each other and see with our own eyes.

Costa
You are like the "Da Jie" here in this thread. Everybody goes to you for advice. Very heart warming to read about such things.

mich.. u are a very brave mother. ok...i support u all the way (like we are supporting angel). here is my boy new born pic...

(i pai say to say...that time in NICU we din take much pic..this is one of the 2 that we take)

the 2nd one is when he is in SCN.
818590.jpg
818591.jpg

hi mich, not sure if any mother here is with the cleft clinic....

The encounter is brief but its enough for me to remember it always...its enough for me to know that with good care and patience my boy can grow and be strong.

i see costa like a da jie too. it was she who bring me to this thread. and i very thankful to her...

costa..nothing to say. but thank you.

Mich,
vy encouraging to see yr pictures here.....both of them are really vy adorable and they got alot of hair,huh....my boy still looks like he graduated from Shaolin Temple...

dajie?haha...xie xie for the compliment..its actually me who was ignorant abt all matters relating to prematurity thats why i started tis thread here and its thanks to all the ladies here who really helped me wif all the advice and knowledge......

to be frank, im inspired by dylan and evans..the pictures of them in nicu are really similar to the pictures tt we all took in the hospital..the tubes, the patches..

even when my boy was upgraded to cpac, i also cried..really drama mama..

mich, i read the book Preemies also..the cover picture really looks like our bbs.....seriously....altho the bb is a caucasian...

the book is really inspiring wif all the real life examples of preemies made good...

i hope angel got good news to share later.....really can empathasize wif her as shes going thru wat i did one year ago....really hope no one has to go thru all these obstacles to be a mum like us...

jane,
haha, i jioed you to come to support me at tis thread,mah, if not no one pong chan (give business) here...ha ha....

rgding the pulmicort...my boy more serious case as he had stayed at nicu and scn for a longer period of time thats why he needed all these booster medicines...

really hope he recovers fast, manz..

ya mich... i'm very encouraged by your boys' photos. thanks for sharing!

angel, you can do it too!!! have faith.

hi costa, sure your boy be ok. with good care (i really belive in what the lung specilist told me), my boy who was on respirattor and with CLD can grow up strong and ok...

u take care of yourself too..don't over tax yourself.

Jane,
ha ha...hope so..
the paedi said tt it must be the bug, plus i was sick also last two wks plus...family genes as my elder boy was on asthmatic medicine before and my cousin also asthmatic prone..

my mum was sick first and then followed by me, then my dad and then me again....wat to do? its lidat...

its just tt they are preemies we worry more.....

just called my mum..she gv him the neubulizar at 2plus and four hours later, give again.....
plus the whole cocktail of medicines...bo pian...he still got appetite to eat so shld be ok...

hi costa..oh so long he still have appetitie i guess its ok

hmm.. my boy now i bring him to see a chinese doc. he now on chinese medicine. (ling zhi) and every mornng i let him take ho zao shan. it seem to be better for him (than take all those cough mixture and etc and etc)....

i decide liao..if chinese is the way..i will let my boy go the chinese way. it may be longer way..but eventually i think its better for him.

costa

just to say i'll be praying for lil Bern's speedy recovery...you must stay positive and keep healthy yah, the flu bug seems to be in the air...

Angel,
thanks for praying for us in the midst of yr own challenges...

did you get another jab this morning? how are you now?

hv either doc loh or doc kwek seen you again today?

im vy sleepy and just slept in the office....

dunno wat to say when i saw the pics of ur bb in NICU..remind me of those days.. jane,we oso din take many pics,cos can't use flash (scared hurt bb's eyes). so pics not v clear. will go back & try to find c hav,tmrw i post ok?

hi disneymickey..ya same same. that is the reason why we did not take much pictures. then the lightings in NICU (not like SCN) is not that bright...

even now i take picture for my boy, i don't use flash. i use open all the window curtain at home and use the 'sports mode' to take my boy pic

if its still too dark..i just don;t take. i don't risk using flash...

would be happy to view ur bb pic :)

Hi mummies, today went to kkh for follow-up with PD, relieved that my boys are growing well accordingly to the PD, must really feed them till 'pui pui' ha.....ha also went back to SCN and NICU to visit the nurses, they were all so happy to see them

Costa, ya lah, you are the da-jie of this thread, don't be modest hor

Mich, we also named our young boi 'Dylan'

Angel,
Hang it there, most of us went thro that 2 painful steroid jab. Last time i so brave, i took MRT by myself to the clinic n after jab, juz sit there rest for a while and take MRT back home.

It's good for bb lung. My boy cried so loud once delivered. It really effective.

I reminded my boy's 'old' days in NICU too when i saw ur pictures....hard time, but sun w shine eventually, isn't it?

Angel n bb Ashley, u'll hav all our best wishes. Jia You!!

hi irenelovej, wow..u so brave. talking abt it, yes the jab did wonders. my boy had such a loud cry when he came out...

Jane and Costa
We all been through it. All mummies here are brave.
Dylan gave out a soft cry when he was delivered.
Evans did not make a noise.
Did you all delivered naturally or c sec?
Mine was natural.

Mesh
I am glad to hear that.

Disney and Jane
I did not use any flash at NICU. The photos were taken in the day and they turned out pretty well.
Dr Melissa encouraged us to take more pictures in case.........
So we have lots of photos of them during their stay in KKH.

Didi
Wow... Well done to Dylan and brother.

IreneLove
MRT? Steady lah....

How was the harvest over the weekend at GSS? :p

hi..i need to join this thread desperately for advice. my baby boy was borned 36.5 weeks, considered pre-mature. he sleeps a lot. he is now into his 2nd week. sorry...i don't have time to read all above threads, but would appreciate if any of you share some information regarding these:

(1) my bb is about 6 pound baby. consider small?
(2) he sleeps a lot, and feeding is my most worry!!! i have plenty of milk, but during the 1st week, because he was sooo sleepy, he didn't latch well on my breast. we resort to nipple shield which helps his sucking. then, also bottle feed as i needed to express my milk (as he doesn't latch on). now in this 2nd week, i begin to notice he is very lazy in sucking my nipple and don't know how to. i m also not that good in guiding him. he seems getting more and more comfortable using bottle, and at times nipple shiled. anyone experience this? i would like him to latch on my breast. what should i do???

PLEASE HELP!!

Hi Mich, mine was a c-section
as I mentioned my delivery was done in emergency
early morning of CNY 2007, so didn't get to see them till noon 18 feb 2007 but when the sedation went off I kept asking the nurse 'how is my bbs' ? then my hubby came in to assure me that our bbs are fine ..... btw my older boi is Darryl. Tell you something, today again another 2 ladies at Clinic K asked my mom is Darryl's mummy angmo ? ha she is the fifth person to ask my mom, hubby etc ..... the 1st few to ask is the nurses at NICU and SCN, think he must have gotten my paternal grandpa's eyes

Mich,
wow, you gv birth naturally to yr twins..really pei fu as one is hard enough to be born naturally dun say two..

paisay to say i dun noe whether my boy cried when he was born as i was incoherent and sent to wicu...jialuk...tink i must ask doc kwek next time...all i noe was there was an army of pple waiting on standby and i was like delirious...

i wanted to take epidural but it was too late...after doc kwek removed my cerclage...i thot foolishly that i had to wait an hr for each cm of dilation...how i noe..even when bb was in breech position, he still came out easily....

i hvnt got any harvest yet at gss... i need to buy a new stroller but so far hvnt yet...

wounwounbee,
welcome to the thread...tink yr boy shld be okay lah...i dun tink so yr boy is small lah......tink maybe you shld try to express out more and later when his sucking is more strong then latch on..

sad to say, i din hv chance to latch on directly as my bb's sucking is weak...maybe the rest of the mummies can help....

eh think 36.5 wk vy good liao loh..

wounwounbee, I think to have your bb latch-on all boils down to perseverance, for me I only latch-on my 2 bbs every other day as I am too busy to have them latch-on everyday so I have my milk expressed and feed them. Intially as my bbs was borne at 30 weeks and the older boi only return home around 34 weeks so I only have the chance to latch him on around 34 weeks
think you have to continue latching him on.

Hi Mich, Can only confirmed is u when i see your boys' photo. I am erica ( edric's mummy). Wow... both of them so big liao since i last saw them. Edric is still that skinny. I think he only weight about 11 kg.

Will be bringing him to see the dentis at kkh in july. That is the earliest appt that i can get. His tooth is becoming very yellowish even though i brush for him everday. From dr Lim Sock Bee, she say could be due to the antibotics he took last time. Does your bois got these problem?

How is pamala doing? seldom heard from her since last outing.

By the way, do u know how is little angel doing. Never heard from her since she discharged from hospital.

hi angel

sayang sayang, i know the jab hurts, but like u say, every jab u take means one jab less for baby ashley! That's a good motivation!
Hang on there. Talk to u later, need to attend a meeting...

morning mommies,
din hav chance to search 4 my bb's pic in NICU cos my hubby 'chop' the PC last nite to play game :p tmrw public hol,prob will hav time to look 4 a pic then upload on fri

wounwounbee,
ur boy is 6pound?it's almost 3kg?v gd alrdy la.my nephew who's born full term oso <3kg. dun worry abt the sucking. if he's really not into latching on, juz bottle feed him ur EBM. take the opportunity to rest while others help u feed him.
& oso, any mommy will tell u, dun complain if ur boy is sleeping a lot! i'm sure a lot of us here r very envy of u

Chloegal
Oi... such a nice surprise to see you here.

Miss you leh.
Pam is ok. We keep wanting to organise a gathering but you ladies always so busy.
D&E weigh abt 12 - 13 Kg. Not very heavy too. The weight gain seems to slow down.
How's Edric doing?

Costa
Chloegal's boy is also a preeemie, born in KKH. 25 weeker!!
Her boy and mine were born around the same time. We met each other in the EBM room. Her boy is doing very well too.

Wounwounbee
I agreed with what Disney mickey suggested.
Ideally is to latch on. However, if your boy is more keen on the bottle, give it to him.
So long as he has wet diapers throughout the day, it shows he is drinking ok.

New borns are very disoriented with the new surroundings. Some sleep in the day and wide awake in the night! Leaving the parents with panda eyes.
You are very lucky to have a sleepy baby

Mich,
Thanks for Chloegal's introduction....tink we really make alot of friends in the EBM room..its a pity i din get to hv the contact of many of the mums i got to noe there....

Chloegal,
welcome here and we look forward to seeing you post here n do let us noe yr details so that we can update in our table...

wounwounbee,
disneymickey is right...6 pounds is about 2.7 kg..its a vy good weight..As any gynae wld say, 2kg is vy okay already..nothg to worry about....

Mich, ok lah, the eye-doc told me their eyes is nice cause it is in very light-brown
BTW R YOU A SAHM ?

Chloegal
Dylan's teeth is a bit yellowish. Evans' is ok.
Dylan hates to brush teeth leh. When it comes to brushing time, i have to go through a battle with him.
Evans on the other hand will ask for more!!
Where is the dentist clinic at KKH?
I dun think D&E will be so obedient to say " AHHHH" and allow the dentist to check their teeth.

They cry the moment we step into the Docs' clinics nowadays. The only exception is when they see Dr Argawal.

Didi
I am FTWM. How about you?