Premature babies support group

Hi Jane, thanks. I brought my boy to Yu Guo before, actually, heard a lot saying that it is good. But there are a lot of sick children there, and the waiting time is quite long. Sometimes, I do worry that if I bring my healthy boy there for tui na, wait he got virus from those sick children there, will be worse...

But really got no choice now, his immune system really weak.

Really ah? just 200? Hope so.

Hi didi, my son got this penumoccal injection before. Actually it is because of the hole in his heart (patched up already by surgery though). PD said due to the hole it is dangerous to get infected, so advised on the jab.

But I think it is good for all children to get the jab. The virus now around the world is really powerful!!!

hi didi,

i too intend to let my boy go for the penumoccal jab... but because he has yet to complete his basic 5-1..i have yet got a chance to let him take the penumoccal jab. but yes, i will let him have it.

hi kkf, hmmm i share your experience at YU GUO. thus..i have actually stop bringing my boy there.

i am not sure if the 200 is the final bill but that is what the biz office gal told me verbally :p

good morning, mummies,
i did let my son take the pnemococal jab and even my elder boy took it...wif so many types of viruss/bugs flying around, better be safe than sorry and there is wide spread coverage of tis vaccine in the media to tell us abt the benefits of this vaccine...kkf, you are very right on tis....

my elder boy took it but dun need so many as he is older..the younger you are the more jabs u need to take....

didi,
tink the pd recommended it is probably due to our preemies being on ventilations and lungs being weak..so more prone to being sick..so better take.....

Hi mummies, thanks for the info, but should I take 6-in-1 as per advised by the pd ? cause my friend's bbs are taking 5-in-1 instead and can I let my bbs start taking the jabs next month-end ? their corrected age is 1 month for next mth.

didi,
tink both six and five are almost the same except some places dun hv six in one..anyway,some preemies took six in one and they are okay...whilst i heard from a neo nat in kkh that the effects of six in one are not studied or inclusive on preemies....

when u bring yr bbs for the five or six in one jabs, u can shun4 bian4 ask the paedi when they are can take the jabs?they will tell you as certain jabs are based on their date of birth and certain jabs are based on their"corrected age"..

P.S the above is my one cent opinion on wat i can remember..please consult the experts before you let yr bbs take....

rehi all...

costa,
nope i gave birth in SGH... opted for B2 ward as my boy came out so early (unexpected one... i didnt even know i was having contractions that day..haha)... so in the end, i was not delivered by my gynae also...

jane, stressed
hope ur babies are ok now!

yup, wish all our babies healthy & happy!!
can i ask how old ur babies now?
my boy currently 4 mths plus...
u all can go the blog i created for him to view pics: http://ryanchl.blogspot.com

can i see pics of ur precious darlings also??

nana,
welcome again to the board!!!!

yr boy very adorable and good size....for a preemie, he is vy good weight..dun tink he needed to stay for long in hospital, right?

my boy is now about six months corrected age but if you calculate from date of birth, its maybe 10 mths plus....

my bb coughing again
me so sian...

hi nana, your boy really cute :)i like your blog. i got a blog for my boy too..but erh..as i need to work, i do not have much time to tidy it up yet... will try to post some new pic here next week :p (if i manage to find time during this weekend keke)

my boy he is born at 26 weeks on 12 Aug 06 (doggy too). count like that from date of birth he is 8 mths old but corrected he is only about 5 mths old...

costa - mmm... nowadays air really no good. don't be sian. sometime bb fall sick because they are progressing to the next stage of development. cheer up....

gosh..am i glad next week there is one PH..i am falling sick myself (think i caught some germs while my boy was hospitalised last week)...

hi, all mummies,
so long never here , busy wth my twins which they just stay to have the solic food.
nana
ur boy was so cute and handsome....good size too.must be super milk boy right?
Jane,
hi , long time never chat with you right? hope your boy ok now?understand that your boy teething now, how is it?everthing ok? I think my 2nd twins going too, He always bite his mouth, like very itsy like that, 1st twins no yet, he always slower than his brother, only weight win him only,ha,,ha,,he even have know how to turn his body yet, which I am so worry now, now was 6month corrected.
ya, I have been given them solic food last week start, they like it. now I give them 2 time a day, which they always reject milk last time, now the only take 3 time milk a day and 2 solic food. the like the cereal and chao mi powder. I got do porriage for them, but they dont like it, so I stop it and will give them next week again. I also give them the apple(blended), 1st I give them they dont like it, second time they can finish. so funny ha..
How abt your boy, did he start now? maybe he will like it, now my boy very funny, they will open the mouth when saw the spoon near them. I gaven them half bowl of cereal.
costa,
hope your boys recover soon.
ya, share with you one thing, before that my boys always come out the water from nose, like running nose, but they never sick, look like sensitive nose, until last month my sis introducing the negative ionizer for me, i try it, ya , very effect and good for us. now my boys no more nose sensitive and they have good appetites too. and can hear their breath more smooth and strong. I believe because last time my niece always fever, cough and flu, now since my sis use it she save a lot of money, the more important is she seldom see doctor and eat medicine.
I just share with you , hope can help all the mummies here as if our baby health we also more relax.
For me, even my boys weight not gd, but they never fall sick, not only I give them the supplement food, I always go and find the thing which good for them.

hi jacelyn, yup my boy is now ok :)

hehe..looks like your boy and my boy progress is about the same. yes, my boy now got two white one below..very cute hehe... he now like to bite the teat when bottling...

i intend to introduce the chao mi to him somewhere begining of May (when he turn corrected 6 months).

wow.. sounds like you having lots of fun introducing solid to your boys.

don't worry, i am sure ur elder boy will soon flip and turn...

what is negative ionizer ? what does it do? my boy too have sensitve nose and sensitve air passage way (lung). will this negative ionizer help??

oh jacelyn, talking about supplement food..what do you give your boys to let them stay in pink of health? my boy had chronic lung (he like cannot tahn strong wind)..so is there anything special you giving your boys?

Hijane,
ok, I will explain to you later , cos I need to take shower for them 1st. ya, the thing very good for our baby exspeaciaally the prem baby. share with you later.
keep in touch.
bye

Hi mummies, do all your bbs woke up at nite for feeds ? and do they doze off to sleep imeediately ? for mine, the younger twin will drink at 2 hours interval (eg he drinks at 2am and he will refuses to sleep till 3.30am) so I have no sleep at all

didi,
my boy already 1YO still wake up every 3 hrs for milk milk.
he already get used to it, don't wan to give oso cannot, he will cry loudly
i read somewhere if u wanted to wean off night feed better start earlier, like at few weeks or few mths time.

I cannot remember when I started training her. But I noticed right from the start (after I bring her back from NICU), she sleeps at 7pm every evening and waking only at 11pm. So that was a 4 hours stretch. Then because she was a preemie, I had to wake her up every 3 or the most 4 hourly every night until she was one month actual.

I could not take it anymore. I was beginning to behave like a zombified panda. hahaha....So I took the chance and see how long she can stretch. At the beginning she stretch from 4 hours, then 5, then 6, now at 9.5mons corrected, she'll wake up 8 hours later after she's put to bed. Then she'll go back to sleep for another 3 hours.

I read that if u keep waking up the bb for feeds, it will be a habit for him. But then again, our babies are preemies. I guess we have to really observe the babies behaviour and most importantly health. If your preemie is growing well, drinks well, no major complications, I think should be ok to let bb sleep.

Someone told me babies are very clever. When they are hungry they will automatically call for milk. Hence the term "feed on demand".

oh. Forget to add that prior to sleep say at approx 5.30pm, I will feed her. Then at 7pm (bedtime and last feed), I'll feed her again. Just to tank her up for the long night.

Irenelovej and stressed, thanks.... think I have to be a 'zombie' for a while,.....ha...ha. They are not even 1 mth yet -corrected age. I have thought of weaning them off nite feeds or just once a nite will do. I rem reading somewhere that to wean off the nite feeds, we must feed them extra ml b4 they sleep ?

hi didi,

haha...talking about night feed. sometime ago, when my boy was about 4months corrected, he seem to wean off himself. but as 6mths approached, he start to wake up for night feed again....think he need solid

some bbs they wean off themsevles as they grow up.. don't be too stress. thou some mothers believe in weaning bb off when they are young..to me. if my boy want to drink..haha i will just feed him...:p

Hi jane,
I am back, see, I am busy until now, my boys so naughty, they dont want to sleep, want to play only. always play their mouth, play bubble, use the mouth to po,po,po,po.
hei, let you see my boys photo, sure you see them like girl,girl, let me know whether they grow up a bit or not?sorry , not able to do now,cos the picture I think too large.I will try again.
ya, I was givem them the powder which have vegi,fruit and soya bean. castus juice.some supplement food lor, going to backup liao.ha,,ha,,,but at least I can see their skin and health not bad, then I feel more happy. My hubby kena work hard lor...
the negative inolozer which I will on 24 hour, was very effect on my baby and us. For me, now I feel more energy which last time I always feel very tired. and when my baby wake up at 6am for milk, 2 ogf them normally will finish untill 7am, lat time I cant sleep on the spot, but now, I can sleep after finish gaven them milk. My hubby also sleep more sweat, even my twins wake up he also dont know.
ha, teel you also that last time my 2nd twins always cant finish and drink milk slow, after using this he more effect which he can finish faster.haa.hhaacan believe right, last time my sis told me, my hubby say dont believe of this things, but now he believe too.hi..hi..last time when they sleep I can hear their nose like big breath gor sound, but now no more. but this depend of baby too, I cant say 100%, but I can say is good for their lung .
ok, chat again, anything let me know again.

Hi Jane, ok I see ....

Hi Jacelyn, the negative ionizer thingy that you mentioned, it is same as those in those air-con unit ? I have figured out what is the purpose of them ?

Jane, I understand that you send your bb to polyclinic for jabs, did you consider letting them taking 6-in-1 ? and don't me asking how much did you pay for the jabs ? as the kkh quoted me $450.00 for the jabs and something like 4 jabs of puenomccal jabs at $150 ea, that's mean I need to pay 1k plus for ea bb and that's very expensive for 2 bbs

Happen to come to this thread. I've a premie born at 32 weeks last August. Although my boy has caught up on his weight (abt 8 kg) and height abt (50 percentile), there are still questions on his developmental state. My SIL delivered about 1 month after I delivered and whenever I hear of how well her baby is developing e.g. sitting up well or eating well, I feel worried for my boy. Is it normal for them (premie) to develop slower? My boy also seems to be sick more often. Is it normal?

Hi Cheaky,

My dd is also slow in developement. She can't and won't crawl and is unable to pull herself up to stand. She loves to stand though but that's because we train her to do so.

In comparison to her peers in both her actual age and corrected age, she is slow. I'm also worried but as long as I continue training her in gym exercises, I hope things will be better.

Hi Hi cheaky and stressed

My boy borned at 27 weeks is slow in motor skills too. He walked only at 17 months, and when I bring him for lessons, obviously he is much slower than the rest, especially in terms of motor skills. But he can speak quite well. His language is good because he can speak quite many words. Anyway, I believe eventually he will catch up with others, and so will yours.

Btw, as I mentioned before, I am a 27 weekers myself. In terms of study, I am still ok, manage to get my degree, so not to worry! (though I worry for my boy too, ha!)

Hi kkf and stressed,
Many times I also tell myself that I must have faith in my son and not to worry but you know, mothers are mothers... My boy now coming to 9 months next month still can't crawl and he's only taking one small cereal meal, and abt 4 or 5 feeds of 120ml of milk a day. Just wean off breatmilk last month.

good morning mummies,

hi didi, i did not consider letting my boy take the 6-1 is because that time when i bring him to polyclinic, then i realise polyclinic does not have 6-1 :p. Oh, i got one colleague who baby is taking the 6-1 in KKH. the price is the price you mention. and yes, puenomccal jabs is at $150 ea.. Anyway for the 5-1 which my boy is taking, i am paying about 80+. I intend to let my boy go for for the puenomccal jabs too. sometime..for our bb health, we just have to pay a bit more...

hi KKF - my boy is a 26 weekers. at todate (corrrected 5mths), he can only flip and not yet about the turn back himself. but i am happy because at least he is now able to lift his head high high...

hi cheaky - you know..your boy and my boy is born on the same month (my boy born on 12 August 2006). but he is a 26 weekers..where your boy is a 32 weekers. i wish to ... to kind of....erh...tell you, don't worry. your boy (our boy) will reach the stage where they be the same as their same age kiddo. just remember.. your boy and my boy,... they are really same age. so...hehe.. write to me often, we compare ok..then i think both of us won't be so worried :p (at least we can learn more from KKF)

i always tell myself...KKF boy is born at 27 weeks...if KKF is able to bring her boy to such good development stage...me too is able to... :)

actually cheaky, our boys at corrected 5 months, he can flip and turn is very good liao :p do you know, some full term baby, at the age of 6 mths, they also not able to turn? kekekekek.....lets us look at the bright side of things hehehe

(in case you have not read much of my earlier threads...i am a very wacky mama) keke

oh cheaky...my boy has not start on solid yet (not even a mouthful of cereal because the dietrian tell me to start him on 6 months corrected).... so your boy is fairing much better than mine...

hmm....a spoon of thoughts from jane : learning slow does not means no good...perhaps through the slow path of learning, our baby can learn the proper and right ways of things. life is long long path of learning...at this tender age, maybe its good they do it a tiny little bit slower... so long they can reach the utimate goal, i think...its ok to be a bit slower pah.

don't know if i am right..

but mummies....actually i am facing one big issue right now (costa would know what i am talking about). i wish to tell all mummies, don't give up. the day will come when sun will shine and our babies will do us proud.

cheaky, welcome to the board....
very glad tt you have come to join us and we look forward learning from you....

tink our children are different as we cannot compare to those who were born at full gestational age...

which hospital did you use for your birth?

tink preemies wld be more prone to chronic lung etc and so wld probably fall sick more often...
in any case, my elder son was born at full term and was sick almost every month since birth..in fact, when he was less than a mth old, already went to hospital at least one times..so i guess preemies may fall sick more often but of cse it may not be the norm lah

yr sil baby was born a month later, I presume that the baby was born at full term...so i guess of cse in terms of development....yours will be slightly slower but once at the age of 2yrs old, wld catch up

kkf, wat gym exercises you doing for yr kid?i also think that development physically is good for kids esp preemies...

good morning costa.

really all hands up and agree with you...cannot compare...

hi jacelyn - where to get the negative ionizer? haha. my boy to also poo poo poo pooo poo (he splash his saliva everywhere he go keke)

Hi Jane, costa and all mummies,
Really glad to know you pple here. If only I had known abt this thread earlier, I wouldn't be so lost when my premmie was born. My boy was born in Gleneagles. He was in NICU for 13 days. Was abt 1.9kg when born at 32 weeks. He was quite ok though premature. But whenever he's sick, I tend to be more paranoid and protective (as compared to my full term born elder son). Now he's lifting his buttock to attempt to crawl. One of his favourite past time is to watch Baby Einstein Number Nursery.

hi cheaky...i was ever lost too (me veyr lost because my boy was 26 weekers and only 985 gram when born at KKH).

my boy..stay at KKH, NICU for 2 months. then SCN for 1month....

mummies here all really can understand what you have gone thru...

wow..he can lift his buttock. thats is great ah. hehe...am sure he soon can sing a few of his hot numbers ;-)

Cheaky, take heart manz..yr boy is very very good liao loh, stayed in nicu for 13 days...

my son literally became the PR of kkh...he stayed there for (take a deep breath)...5 months and one week.....

but everythg in life happens for a reason...i love the kkh nurses and the doctors...they are really god sent and m very blessed that my son has met them....they took such good care of him....

my boy was born at 24wks and was 750gm...now he is about 6 months corrected age

and remember tis saying for all preemies's mums...

GOOD THINGS COME IN SMALL PACKAGES.....

how you found tis thread, one huh?hope more pple wld share their knowledge here....

hi Costa,

Last week I was telling some mummies my dd was only 1.89kg when born. They gasp in disbelief. I cannot imagine their expression if u tell them how heavy your boy is. hee hee...

U are so right abt good things come in small packages. My "small package" is a fighter. She fights with me all the time! hahaha

Thanks for showing so much encouragement. I happen to read some other threads and someone left the shortcut for this thread.
The nurse and doc at Gleneagles were also fantastic. They also tried very hard to encourage me to breastfeed but my boy just couldn't suckle well. So in the end, I express BM for him up to last month (supply just dwindle). Did you all manage to breastfeed directly?

Hi Cheaky,
Welcome to the thread.
Like costa n Jane mentioned, everything will pass n the sun will shine at the end of the tunnel.
Ur boy is really at good condition compared to lots of us. Understand how u fell about when ppl comparing ur baby vs ur sil one. i too passed that stage before. but, so what if ur sil baby can do more now? doesn't mean he/she will be always ahead of ur boy rite? life is so long and there are so many things going to be experienced by everyone.
My boy was not able to say 'ang ku' when he was 2 mths actual, not able to sit when he was 7 mths actual. and i keep hearing comments abt: oh...he is preemie, of course will be slower than others.... but, when he was 11 mths, he can walk! whereaes my relative's baby was a full term baby but not walking yet even post her 1 YO birthday. my sil boy was born at nearly 4kg weight, but now when he enter childcare at 4YO, he keep falling sick till has to withdraw from school. so, it's not always: preemie are slower/weaker than the others. of course at early stage (1st 2-3mths) they r, but slowly they'll pick up.

my son is actual 1YO now. His PD very funny, asked us not to'torture' him. watever we eat give him to eat, add salt to his porridge else it's so difficult to swallow. Now we always give him our food as 'snack' - bread, bun, cake, rice, soup.... his main menu still milk milk n porridge, which i think he's already very bored with it

Stressed,
some people will never believe how small babies can be....miracles happen.there was a 23wker whom was in hospital same time as my boy..and to me he was such a small dynamo.....tiny but power packed and can drink so fast.....

yr small package fights wif you..tink its great...that shows she got alot of energy...some nurses hv told me that preemies are like chilli padis..leh, small but vy hot...bec they are fighters all the way.......

irenelovej,
so long never hear from you?hows yr boy?you are right..alot is actually nurturing and every child is different...me also worried when his head keeps on flopping forwards but now seems better......

tink maybe yr paedi tinks that if yr boy wants to eat, just feed on demand,tio bo?

hi costa and irenelovej, ya...our fighters have indeed come a long way...

what they need is nuturing and like other kiddo, lots of patience in teaching and guidance... afterall, no one is born intelligent..

oh costa - tomorrow my boy going KKH for MRSA scan wor..hope everything ok :p

Hi costa,
I read the posting that mummies posted here but hardly participate, lazy

I juz brought my boy for chicken pox jab last weekend. His appetite on solid food is poor, u give him porridge he 'pui pui pui' the food out. so i told the PD abt it. The first question he asked was: did u add salt to porridge? i said no. Then he said: dun torture ur boy la, u taste his food, very tasteless. must add salt, give everything u eat for him. haha...

actually we gave my boy all kinds of food that he can take, like bread, cake etc.. on small pieces. he loves those, juz dun like to eat his porridge. my in law keep commenting that we feed him too much 'junk' with all sort of tastes now he dun like blend food. so now we add some salt or soya sauce to his porridge, sometimes give soup n rice to him. I plan to buy the Bouvil to add to his porridge

hi irenelovej, wow sound like your boy is starting to be a gourmat ;-). but my mum also seldom give plain porridge to my 2 year old niece. she will add bit of fish cake or egg...some time dark soya source meat keke....

hmm...dunno when can my boy eat porridge hahahah....i have many yummy food want to introduce him ler :p

Hi Irenelovej

I read that salt and suger should be avioded before 1yr. So far coming 1 yr dd is on a no salt no sugar diet. I am planning to start table food only when dd is 2 yr old. I hope we can make it.

They say if u dun intro them salt and sugar they will never know how it taste like and they'll never ask for it. Just like my nephews drink coke from young. Now they only drink coke. *faint*. I've ever seen a father feeding his barely 5 mo old baby with sambal and the mother feed him with bandung.

I cannot imagine how detrimental the baby's kidneys will be and if the baby doesn't grow up obese, it's a surprise!

hi stressed...talking about it. i seen a father giving his bb (i think about 2 months or so) expresso milo oh gosh.........

Jane,
Your boy going for MRSA scan or is it MRI scan?
the reason why i asked tis is because MRSA is an infection tio bo?or maybe i am wrong?

irenelovej,
oh i see....heh heh..tmr public holiday..so today you got mood to post

there is some jab tt supposed to be taken after the child has consumed eggs becuz its egg based..but i cant remember if its ckn pox jab..

tink children like to eat anythg else other than their own food.....

jane, ar,
i had let my boy tried one to two drops of black coffee and yterday i let him try a little bit of indocafe.....tink the meesees gg to scold me liao....

hi costa, its MRSA. ya for UTI (because that time when he arrived, he had UTI..but that time treated and ok). then the week before he was admitted KKH, so keke...the doc ask me how come this test not down yet (we been postponing). so ... wed gotten go and do lor...

hahaha..how your boy reacts to the coffee taste? after that he very alert?

Jane,
oh i see, tt means i mistaken liao..tt means confirm its a scan ...wonder if its the same mrsa my boy got and that was why he was isolated....

oh so tis uti is sort of due to a follow up by his recent admission?

my boy made a funny face but to me its very little nia but of cse to a bb, its a lot..ha ha....

when they were in icu, they were given caffeine to help them to remember to breathe...i remember i joked wif a doctor on why we cannot feed them direct wif coffee...

the doctor is such a jovial guy, he told me "is because they can get choosy and ask for a latte next time"

ha ha......its comments like tis which makes a gloomy day cheerful again in a place full of tears....

hi costa...erh not really its a follow up due to his recent admission. yes, its is a scan...but this scan actaully was supposed to be done after he was discharged last Nov :p.. but because during the first scan date, the hospital forgot to make appointment for me..so when i go there...i so angry cos its like a waste trip. then subsequent scan appointment was cancel either because my boy was not well or wat keke...so until now :p

hahahahha... i think that must have been a very funny face...

yes that time my boy was feed with caffeine too...hmm why did not i ask about giving coffee instead hum (probably because i am personally not a coffee lover) haha....

costa - you are still that cheerful...always :) lots to learn from you....

Hahaha....Costa, the doc's got humour!

I remember secretly drank Root beer and dd kept waking up in the night! So lucky I didn't drink coffee. Cannot imagine. Coz I'm already a zombified panda!

stressed,
aiyoh then i must be the worse example of wat not to do manz..i guess yr bb must hv got the effects thru the bm....

for me, i still drink lots of caffeine..but my bm is decreasing liao..very sad...and sooner or later i must stop...

jane,
me cheerful?ha ha, u never see the way i scold my elder son and explode at home...

tink hor,last time i flooded the nicu wif my tears ....everytime go,cry..doctor talk to me, i get emotional...go home also cry....sigh....you noe lah......

Wowowow

I have really wanted to participate in the discussion here. So many mummies sharing experiences together! But sometimes, I get a bit confused with the many posts and missed out here and there...hee...

Costa Used to bring my boy to baby jumper. Now no more because he got sick so often. It was quite good with learning and a bit of gym activities.

Jane, thanks for the compliment leh...
My boy 27 weekers, yours 26 weeks, think ours about the same...

My boy is a regular "customer" in KKH too. He stayed in NICU for 2 months, SCN for 2 weeks (if I am not wrong), and he even stayed in Children ICU before due the the heart operation. Not only that, he was hospitalised for 3 or 4 times liao due to vomiting or the recent case of Bronchitis. See lar, we regular "customer" of KKH, but I am determined, I am not going there anymore!!!!

Costa you said in hospital, you saw a 23 weekers??? I wish my first boy, a 23 weekers will survive too.
(( We named him JARED. He was borned 23 weeks, stayed two days in NICU and left us because he got serious bleeding in brain. Doctor asked us whether we want to save him or let him go...we don't know why, we chose to let him go because we can't bear to see him sufferring anymore...haiz.

I have lost my first boy before. I treasure my little prince now...

Anyway, also got a website for him, let me show off a bit leh (heeheehee)
http://www.ido.per.sg/dash/