Premature babies support group

kkf,
u are very brave..i salute you for wat you have gone thru....will bookmark yr site....yr boy is growing well and adorable....

wat u hv gone thru, i totally understand as i hv been thru vy bad times before.....

yes, i saw the 23wker...a brave little fighter who is doing so well and can drink so fast.....my boy and him were "neighbours" before...

guess smtimes you hv to make a decision which hurts...my boy got brain bleeding as well...grade 3...went for MRI also during his stay in kkh...

do share with us more leh..thanks for your info on the baby jumper..tink we want the best for our child and yet scared they exposed to too many germs/bugs outside...

hey costa...i myself explode at home (to my maid and husband)...keeping so much gas in my heart..i think...its difficult to be all that cool at all times :p

costa - you can ask the meesee...me too is a crying mum...they always check on me when i in NICU/SCN..cos they scare i affect other mum mood :p cos i always teary...

hi kkf - YES you are rite. i am determine that KKH stay away from our fighters... or else i will Kick down its door :p (don't think i quiet quiet am a sick cat) hehe

kkf,
Can't imagine the things that you've gone thru. I guess all of us need to stay strong for our darlings. They need us more than anything. I've seen your website too. Very well-done leh. He looks so cuuutttteee.

All mummies,
Nice to see so much sharing here. Should really make this thread more well known so that those lost souls (like how we used to be) can see light at the other end of the tunnel.

Hi Jane bought the colorful mats at kiddy palace, 4 pieces in a set for 16 plus, I think.

You are so cute, Jane, haha! Yes, lets kick the door of kkh!

Hi costa and cheaky, sometimes, I do think why thing turn out this way for me, while my friends are all having smooth pregnacies and deliveries. Actually, I don't blame, I just feel envy. It seems like people around me are all giving birth so easily, like Zoe Tay lar, small S lar, they want how many, can have how many, for me? I am not greedy, I just want 2, but I lost my first, and now, I hope to try for another, but full of fear and uncertainties!!!! I fear the same thing will happen. We all have been thru, we know how scary and agonising that can be!!!

This is a great forum, at least I know I am not alone.

Hi do share with me your child's photos and blogs too yah! I will try to participate more actively here!! But for my workplace, I am not able to access to computer most of the time. Only when I get home then will be able to access.

Btw, here is another website for my first boy:
www.ido.per.sg/jared

Hi kkf, read your website for your boy, jared. It is so touching and very well done

hi kkf

Agree, i found strength in this forum.
i lost one of my triplets in week 30 (gestation). It was also a difficult time for us. i still think of him, if not for my two surviving children, i really dunno how to carry on with life. Children really give us strength!

all the mummies,
good afternoon to your.
Hope everything in good.
jane,
Oh, the negative ionizer was purchases from one of my friend. If you really interesting, maybe I can ask her to explain to you 1st, you can check wth her more and be more understand.let me know, my friend nyanne will be go singapore this coming sunday, if can you can meet her and ask her to show your the things.Ya, now my twins like to sit on the sofa, my 1st twins he as he haven flip yet , but he like to sit more than his brother which 2nd twin more active, last sunday I bring them to shopping, try to let them sit at the walker, oh no, they was so happy, keeping laugh when sit down there, they very strong to sit there too, so maybe coming week I will buy for them since they know how to sit, a lot of my friend ask me to give them sit on it, they say they will boring when sleep on the bed. when I go restaurant, I also give them sit on the baby chair. I think your boy too right? ya, now my boys take 2 meal in cereal or zhaomifen. they like it , can finish one bowl. maybe you can give a try.
DIdi,
the ionizer was different wth the air-con one, air-con one was not so strong enought, can you can move the things, like me in the morning and afternoon, I will bring downstair and on for my twins when they sleep and play , at night I will bring up to my master bedroom, I on it 24 hour. as I say before I can feel the digfferent when I use, exspeacially their breath and the clean of air. I feel a lot of prem baby and even normal baby they have a lot of flu and cough problem, I really think this things can help your, I never earning anything on it, I just share with your my experinse and I hope every baby will healthy. For my twins which 30week,1.19kg,1.51kg when born, up to now, was 8month,even their size a big small, but they not been sick before and cough before, even I bring them for 6-in1 and puenomccal jabs, they also no problem, only got one time a bit fever only.
kkf,
I am so touch when read the story of your son. I was cry when read the sory cos I was remember when my twins was in hospital 6 month ago, I still remember my twins was so small and I almost lost them cos they have a lot of problem as they was twins prem baby, as my nutriction need to give to 2 boys in the stomuch. but now at least pass, I just try my best to take care them in good and careful. you was a strong mum.

Hi jane,
here the latest my twins photo, still can remember them?
see their face, look so naughty right?
really cannot tahan. my house very noisy, since they know how to scream.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

PICT0171.psd (39.8 k)</td></tr></table></center><center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

PICT0181.psd (39.9 k)</td></tr></table></center><center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif

PICT0216.psd (39.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

sori to hv MIA-ed... been very busy at work.
just started work with a new company so won't hv much time to chat like before.
anyhow, i'll try to catch with all the postings when possible.

and... wow, it's really great to see so much yakking going on & also, new mummies on board.

kkf, had popped by yr blogs for yr boys. really good work & very touching... kudos to u & hubby!

jacelyn, yr twins are growing very well!

costa & jane, how's yr little fellow? hope all's well.

Yvonne,

Harlo...guess you must be bz wif your new job...hows everything?

my boy ok, still tiny sized and just started him on a little solids but most of it end up on the floor or on his face but not in his mouth..ha ha...he also looks like he graduated from Shaolin Shi4 - becuz he got not much hair..haha...

hows yr boy?the other time you were saying hes gonna be discharged from kkh........

jacelyn,
i cant see the photos leh

Hi.yvonne and costa.
I feel too, after they start eat the solic food like caomifen,cereal and fruit, I can feel they grow up a bit, even their weight not really. Wah , you so cleaver, how you saw the photo? how come costa not able to see? even I try to open also cant, see, got so laoji mum, know to upload but dont know how to open.
ya, I try to upload again to display the photo, but not succesful, always come out note excess 50kilibytes. I try and try , but only can do like that? do you know the reason?
costa.
Hi, I will try to upload again, me also not able to open..

dont worry, soon he will know how to eat, last time when I start to give them, also like that, all handkerchip and face eat the cereal.ha..ha..but now, the spoon haven reach they open the mouth already. my twins also still botak, maybe I apply too much babyoil on it liao.ha,,ha,,

jac -- cannot see the pic...i will try to upload my boy latest 'fish' mouth picture (haha)... about the negative ionizer . Yes, i am interested. can you ask your friend to email me the details?

kkf - oh ok, i shall go have a look at the colourful mat...just now when i was reading jared message...kkf...you are a very strong mother...

jacelyn,
tink you may need to go to microsoft office manager to shrink the photos....and then upload again...but again, my computer skills are not very good and so maybe thats why i cant open...

i din even apply any oil and still not much hair....

jacelyn,
tink you may need to go to microsoft office manager to shrink the photos....and then upload again...but again, my computer skills are not very good and so maybe thats why i cant open...

i din even apply any oil and still not much hair....

I m not strong...sometimes, I still cry over my son. Whenever I think that he left without mummy holding him, I will cry.
(

I really regretted not seeing and holdiing him for one last time. When they took away those equipments that helped him to breath, I was not there.

I am a lousy mummy, dash is premature like his brother too. I am just not able to protect my babies safely inside my womb.

You can see I buy many things for dash, I just want to make myself feel better, you know?

hi kkf...there is always a better tomorrow. don't feel as if you have let your boys down. you did done your best.

sharing sad thoughts...me too sometime feel as if i let my boy down (ie not able to protect my boy when he was in my womb).... but....but we we have to walk on.

kkf..........at least your younger boy is all well and developing well..my boy...he....he is going to do well too i am sure of that :))

cheer up...

kkf,
don't say like that lah. sometimes these things happen for a reason that we don't know, and it's really not our fault. ;( It probably will never get any easier but it has made us appreciate life and health a lot more. At least you have Dash to brighten up your life. ;) The fact that you managed to keep on trying for another baby despite having gone thru such a harrowing experience already shows that you are strong. That you did not give up on life.

It's a bit morbid but when I am so depressed abt life, I have to consciously remind myself that I do NOT want to die! Last time in school, we always had this bad habit of saying we want to die.

When I read your story, and other stories about stillborns, I realise that I am quite lucky already. There was another lady in a magazine with an abnormal uterus who had multiple (7) miscarriages and then had to give induced labour to a baby (not twins or triplets) who already died in her womb. Luckily she still kept on trying and now has a living kid.

Other pple's stories made me realise tt I have to give thanks for my son's life despite having to watch him struggle so hard in his first months. Sometimes one person's experience is meant to serve as a lesson for others.

I remembered clearly that when I went into uexpected pre-term labour, my thoughts went to God; he is probably showing me that things are not always in my control, but that it is all in his control. I had forgotten to remember him in my day-to-day life and he was reminding me to remember him before it's too late. Don't mean to preach lah, but that was what came to mind.

On another note, HELLO to all the ladies here! I have been following this thread occasionally but I haven't participated. My baby came out at 24 wks 6 days gestation at 680g. He's still in NICU now but he looks so much better. My maternity leave ended early this week. I am back at work for now till his discharge. ;)

lindah,
welcome to this board...we hope to learn from you and hope that you will find tis board interesting and insightful....

which hospital did you use for your boy?

if you need anyone to talk to, u can pm me.....

when was yr boy born?you hv anythg to ask or know you can always post here.

kkf,
me too put on a brave front, i always blame myself whether wat caused the infection to cause the early birth.....there are always reasons in life for things to happen....i still cry or shed a tear when i tink of the baby whom i lost.....tink our angels are in heaven looking out for each other.....

costa,
i am at kkh - lucky i never change to EastShore. ;) somemore, i was in JB when my contractions started. really crazy. Qns? Not yet lah. I am still waiting for my son to graduate from the cycling. This is the second time they are trying to wean him off the CPAP. Hopefully by tmr, he'll be off. He's on 3:1 now. But very yo-yo, I suspect because of gastro-reflux. Did you take no-pay leave after your baby got discharged?

lindah,
lucky alls well wif you and bb....

tink cycling must be done patiently..dun rush things and when he wants to do it he will

my boy stayed in kkh for 5mths and 1 wk becuz of several conditions like lung etc..dun worry my boy was born at 24 wks plus about 4 days and was 750gm...many times, many factors are involved per se and no two preemies are alike....

gastro reflux is common in many preemies, my son also took the test for reflex called a barium test....(hope i din spell wrongly)

if you want smbody to talk to, please pm me and where do you live..how come you consider east shore leh?

i took 3 months off including pregnancy related problems...i din take much leave after he was discharged as im self employed and cannot be away for long...

my maid n mum are helping me and you really dun have much to worry..( i noe u must be tinking its easy for me to say that) but if kkh decided to discharge yr bb, it means that he is in very good condition to be able to do that ..I hv full trust in the kkh doctors and nurses that they will onli discharge him when he is fit as a fiddle)

Costa,
Ok, I will try to do again, hope can show it here. I talk I was putting too much oil on my boys hair that why they botak, oh, that mean not la, cos your one also botak, never mind as long as they got hair, maybe we need to wait long long lor...my boys head very shinny. when we go out, a lot of people look at their head, always ask me why their head so shinny, I told them because they botak, that wht your feel nice..
Jane,
I know you cant see the photo, I will do again, costa also not able to see, only yvonne succesful to get it, ya, why the forum always reject my upload, always come out the word excess 50bytes.The photo already so small, how you do it? refer the negative ionizer, how abt my friend go and meet you? explain in face by face is better. let me know again.
linhah,
dont worry, everthings will be alright, every mummies here will support you.

succesful to upload again.
costa,
I follow your advice and I succesful to do it.
the face more round that one is 1st twins terry, small one is bryan.
Jane,
I think my boys should be same with your boy right?
786180.jpg
786181.jpg
786182.jpg
786183.jpg

thks costa. i stay in siglap w my parents, so east shore is super-near. my pregnancy was smooth sailing until the pre-term labour came abt. the only thing they found post-delivery was that the placenta was slightly inflamed. he was born on 4 feb 07.

ya, i hope my son comes back home for good soon. dun want to keep on running back and forth btw work and hospital. can go nuts.

Hi Jacelyn,
Ur twins are so cute. chubby chubby..... twins always looks very cute coz they r identical
one of ur boy (in red pants) seems more active while the other is so cool...
can tell u've take good care on them.

my boy now is skinny skinny type, no more chubby face, arm n tight

Jane/stressed,
Ya, my boy eats lots of JUNK now. we nvr introduce sugar n salt before his 1 YO. Only recently after 1 YO we brought him to jab, his PD said can give him salt n soya sauce to hav better taste on his food. i oso heard that if u dun give him food w taste he'll nvr know the taste. but too bad my boy will come to u n say : mom mom (eat) when seeing u have food on hand. so we hav given him a bit of tasty food n now he knows. luckily we never give him sweet n chocholate, else... jia lat

lindah,
i just pm you, hows everything?

jacelyn,
yr boys so adorable and bah bah....

my boy is the skinny type leh......

irenelovej,
i also hope my bb can take junk to put on weight but now too early to eat junk..m sure one day i wld do that...

hi costa. haven't check my mail yet. will do so during lunchtime.

i have one question actually. how you handle your relatives? nurses say cannot bring him to crowded places but i can just imagine that at my ILs plc, a lot of cousins and auties will come see him, then my ILs want to have a celebration in Nov for him and another upcoming grandson being delivered in August. I very scared he cannot handle the crowd. Hhmmm...

lindah,
me huh...i din hv a full month celebration etc..

i just told my relatives nicely that when my bb is discharged....he is not allowed to see so many pple at one time as his immunity is very low.....usually pple wld understand..or else let them come to see him in smaller groups..tink wat the doctors mean is not to let them go to shopping centres etc but i think small family crowd shld be okay

subsequently as things got better, slowly my relatives came in groups of two, three etc.....
we need to protect them i guess to a certain extent but bringing them to the gardens downstairs etc shd be okay.........must treat them as normal babies...

yr boy everythg good right?only just started cycling, tio bo?

yr boy is under wh doctor and he is still in nicu or transferred to scn already?

irenelovej
hi, ya lor, that one is 2nd twins, he very active one, that why his was smaller than his brother terry which in7.5kg, he only 6.5kg.last time he always never finish the milk and dont like to sleep , that one the weight different so much. but now I start to give them soilc food, look like better for him, he know how to flip the body but his brother not yet.his brother more quiet than him, but his brother like to talk than move. like bryan can jump a few time, but terry only can do 2-3time only. ha..ha..maybe he more heavy.terry always cream and talk aaaaaaaa.
I am not take care them in good, but in careful, and i give them quiet a number of supplement food, as a lot of people say dont simply give them the health food, but, in my mind was think that better than nothing , because our baby was prem baby, they not like normal baby, they need more things.
costa,
dont worry, last time byran also in skinny skin, but now look more chubby liao, now he sleep more and eat solic food. your boy will be chubby when he start solic food.did you give him any supplement food?

he's in NICU, under Dr Argawal. second time cycling already. the first round was 2-3 weeks ago. that time, he had 3 episodes of desat, so kena full-on CPAP again. Then he had reflux. saturation went yo-yo. still got reflux now but as he is otherwise quite healthy, they started cycling him again.

the usual problems for now lah. ROP is between stage 1 and 2, IVH minor (less than stage 1), slightly anemic, and reducible hernia. i hv been hoping tt he doesn't need surgery but dr say most likely need one to repair hernia. and i am oso praying that the ROP will not progress to stage 3. his saturation still yo-yoing though. i dunno if he got chronic lung, and too afraid to ask.

otherwise quite ok.

I emailed you back already.

jacelyn,
me gv him some iron supplements fm the doctor thats all and the supplements that he was discharged from the hospital with...

tink he burnt alot of energy by jumping up and down...

wat you feed them huh?

hi lindah...don't worry . your baby is in good hand. my boy is under Dr Argawal too. my boy is born at 26weeks at 980grams. now he is a boy (i have earlier post his pic) weighting 8.7 kg :p

he was discharged on Nov 2006...so..since then he have put on about erh 8 kg...

lindah..have faith. your boy will be a fighter. fight with him...you can do it one...talk to costa more, she share a lot...

jacelyn - haha..ya my boy like ur boys...hair also not many. but that day i brought him to KKH for a scan. one auntie say..hmm...when he grow up..he will have many hair (i was so happy to hear that kekekeke).... my boy weight now is about 8.6kg. i think his weight gain is slow down. think the dietrican will be happy to hear that :-(

i htink my boy really need solid. i intend to introduce him this weekend...keke...

costa - i am just back from SGH appointment. everything went well :)

oh lindah..me too did not give my boy his one month celebration as he was then in hospital.... he stay at KKH for 3 mths. (2 mths in NICU, 1 mth in SCN)....

talk here more...you are not alone...

thks, jane. 8kg is quite a lot hor. wah. yvonne said her son was 9kg for the longest time so i guess it should be slowing down already. ;)

costa,
oh, that not bad what, he can jumping up and down, maybe he in small size .
my boy stil taking multivitamin, folic acid, iron I no more give them cos they was in similac advance eyeq with more iron.
for healthy food.
morning 7.30Am they wake up I give them 200ml milk each person.10am, i give them zaomifen wth milk half bowl, after bath 1.30pm milk 240ml wth 1.5ml multivitamin and folic acid 1ml. around 4pm, give them half of apple juice each person and castus juice 20ml. around 6pm half bowl of cereal with milk. between 9.30pm i will give them 10ml castus juices again. 9.30am before sleep 240ml and half packet of soya bean wth fruit powder.
This is my schedule for them whole day.
I giving them porriage before but they dont like it.so i stop it, maybe next week than i give them again.
ya, other than that, after i use the negative ionizer, i can see my boys appetities improve a lot. and they more nice sleep now.
I also do the massage wth my boys after bath, they say they will more health and chubby. maybe you can ask your maid or mother to try, I know you need to work. if not , you can try at night, before sleep. use babyoil.

Hi mummies, my bbs weigh at 3.6kg and their corrected age is 1 week old, it is normal ? thanks

Wow jacelyn, your bb's diet very healthy leh

hi lindah.... don't worry. your boy will be like our bbs...grow and soon home with you...
bb grow very fast.

hi jacelyn, wow...good diet plan indeed. what does castus juice help in? hmm..if only i am not working..think i can take care of my boy better...

Hi costa

thanks for the welcome.My boy is back to ICU again coz same problem.Doc say they may want to insert a tube to his stomach for his milk.Bypass lung and other organs.But we don't agree.We believe my boi will overcome this problem.My boi problem is reflux,lung and heart....

Fairytale,

Can say dun want to put the tube or not..sorry ask stupid questions..if put the tube that means still can or must feed thru the mouth or wat?

if dun agree, wat wld the doc say?
tink he shld be able to overcome the problem as i think when his organs are more developed, everythg wld fall into place....

his heart got wat problem?my boi got cardiac appt tis afternoon....to review on his extra blood vessel in his heart...

Hi Jane/Jacylyn,
my sis in law also gave cactus juice to her boy, i think is for immunity rite?

Ur boy weight gain is good. It's true tat when they reach about 9-10 kg, it stays for a while. My boy now stagnant at 9kg. He reached this weight few months ago, but as he fall sick on march, the weight drop so fast, juz regain recently.

Jacelyn,
U hav a good diet schedule for ur boys. They r drinking a lot (240ml). Big drinker. I guest u must be stocking up tins of formula at home
good sign.
for porridge, maybe u can try to cook the porridge longer w more water, so it is more watery, to let them hav 1st try. initially they might not adapt to more concentrated food. so give some watery one. add a bit vege (well blend) and some ikan bilis powder inside. it should be nice. later when they accept porridge more, then add fish, or soup bone, dry scallop etc.

And it's so good tat ur boys no need night feed. my boy still wake up for night feed.

costa

The doc say they will discuss then let us noe.But I'm believing God that he don't need to go thru this operation.The tube is to be placed inside the stomach.Now he is on tube feeding thru nose.

Last week,doc wan to put a dye into his stomach to check whether he have reflux n hernia.But we reject it.

His heart has a hole but doc say the hole is not a problem.It's the artery to the heart which is smaller than usual.So my boi will breathe harder.So far no danger.They have took an echo (heart scan) 2 days ago.But doc din't comment anything

didi,
because I am not working, so i got time to do for them, and I want them be strong and be weight can go up again, did you saw their photo, my untie all say they same with 2 month ago, mean that small lor...

your baby 3.6kg is a good weight. now only 1week old. very good.carry on.
jane,
my boyus like to sit on the sofa, ya, my hubby say my 2nd twins look like your boy, how do you think, and a lot of people say he more like girl girl.ha..ha..
jane,
wah, your boy already 8.6kg, my goodness, my boy only 7.5kg and 6.5kg only.now their weight also very slow, last month only gain 300gram. somemore now like to jump, think will be more slow down.
you better start the solic food now, think he will like it, maybe you can start the cereal first, my boy like nestle rice cereal than heinz cereal. you can give a try.
castus juice is for improve their immune system, since their come back from hospital i start give them already.
fairytale,
maybe you should listen to doctor opinion, they know your boy and maybe this is the better way, your boy need to gain weight first, through atomuch will be deduce his enegy for drink m ilk, than his breath will be better.
last time when my boys in hospital, I dont want them to use tube for milk, I keeping let them suck the bottle and use the cup. but cause them more weak in breath cos they need more enegy to get the milk, after i listen to doctor, i keep up and let them use tube, after a week they better and start to use back normal feeding.just my advice.
lindah,
I also never celebrate for them, only give but some cake only, we all gor no mood to celebrate the 1st month. only hope they will healty and happy.

Hi Jacelyn

Your boys look very cute.

my boi is on tube feeding now.The doc is thinking of whether to operate on him to insert the tube inside his stomach.Till now the doc din't say ok to operate leh.Maybe they hv changed their mind

hi jacelyn/jane
thks for the advice. i think will see how things go. nov is long way off. see how my baby is doing by then. ;) then decide whether have to slow talk my IL.

fairytale, jacelyn has a point... dunno whether the current feeding arrangement may be stressing him. so many judgement calls to make.