Premature babies support group

jane,
really hope my boi will listen to aunty jane and faster drink...i dun hv such patience i tell you..tink i feel that working is much easier than looking after a child, thats y i dun hv high expectations from my son's caregiver....

costa,

my mother always say. when they are ready, they will do what they need to do...

don't be stress okie...

give ur boy a big ang bao come CNY>... tell him. big liao, must learn to drink, grow big big..next time give mama ang bao ;-)

jane,
yeah, hope my boi wld be like wat yr mother said....guess my boi will do it "in his time"...when he wants to...he can drink until fall asleep, tickle him or squeeze him still kooning..ha haha

hi costa

haha ... see your boy so smart. know koon is more important. bb sleep (rest) is good . like that they will grow up faster...

in time to come as he inter organs mature, he will be able to drink more and more...

Can advise when should we change our FM?Based on bb corrected age or birth age?I'm abit confused.Currently,my boi is drinking Similac Infant 0-6 months.

Mothercare at suntec city is having a sale up to 70%.I bought quite alot of clothes there for my boi last sun.For fashion wear,it's 40% for 4 pc and above.If purchase more than $100,additional 10%.As for the sleepwear, only 20%.Alot of small sizes left.Big sizes are mostly gone.But I buy what my boi can wear now.I notice that my boi shoulder quite small.So he can wear size 0-3 months and 3-6 months.

costa,
yr boy is probably signaling to u that he's ready to bottle by pulling the tube off.
he'll definitely better his drinking skills... esp after receiving mummy's gigantic ang bao! heehee

jolene,
personally, i feel there's not much difference in stage 1 & 2 FM. just go with your instinct.
my boy was on stage 1 FM till 9 mths corrected & stage 2 FM till 15mths corrected.

good afternoon, gals,
yvonne, jane,
really hope he can drink faster, man...esp after receiving my angpow..he better be good boi..or else..heh heh....

jane and yvonne,
scn nurses supposed to visit me at home in early jan, until now, they din come, tink they not free, ha ha by the time they call me hor, i think my boi reached one year of age (from date of birth) ha ha

i tot neosure can drink until 1 year old...maybe you can ask dr agarwal when you see her again or call scn...?

yvonne,
you din let yr boi drink neosure at all last time?

costa,

9kg is not underweight but he seems quite bone-ny, no chubby limps like most bb.
he did reach 9.3kg before xmas. the last weigh at PD's 2 weeks ago, he was only 8.5kg.

i did standby neosure when i TBF in the early months.
then at follow-up, neonat says not necessary to give cos he was at very good weight/height ratio.
so after finishing 1 small tin, i just move on to stage 1 FM.

Dr argawal told us last time to let baby drink neosure till 1 year old then switch to normal milk.

Anyway, have asked my hubby to buy mother n baby jan issue for me when he came back from work...

Talking about new year...hmm have bought quite a lot of new year clothes for my boy.

Tend to feel that I want to give him the best since he already loses out to other babies at the initial stage. I don't know, I keep having this feeling. Whenever I saw my friends gave birth to healthy and full term babies, I will really envy them... I will think why I could not be like them, carry babies to 40 weeks? I will feel that my boy is losing out to other normal babies...

How can I get rid of this silly feeling?

hi costa,

hehe..don't worry. your boy will bottle up soon --cos he looking forward to the giganitc ang bao (like what yvonne say)... ;p

kkf -- me did not manage to get the january issue too..

and about the feeling you have. i think...i think...from my point of view, my boy is still so young (corrected as at 2 mths)..your boy has come so far, compare to my boy... so... to me, your boy is like normal baby. he is not losing out to other baby

you see...he is learning to walk..so cute...

i know its not easy not to compare (my husband always compare). but well, to each children, each will lead a different life.

our baby...just have a different starting thats all.

there is no need to purposely rid of this silly feeling. i think even when our baby all grow up into adults....we will still have this feeling.

but there is really dun need to be envy... cos...should not we salute our baby for their strong fighting will??

Yvonne,

maybe your boy is just those belong to the fitter type... hey..who know...maybe he will be the future Mr Fit Singapore ler ;-) you won't know ler... plus good mah, if he is not the chubby type when he go into NS, he won't need to go and lose weight mah....

some baby are just those not so chubby ones...since neonat say he is faring well, then all is ok ah

good morning, all,
jane, my boi kena cough...dun wanna drink milk...and not in good mood...

i gave him a bit of the ba bao shan...

kkf,
i cant get rid of the sad kind of feeling and cant help but feel overprotective of my kid...last time i even told the nurses that tis boi of mine wld never be beaten by me because of all the hardship he has undergone at such a young age...i worry about his health incessantly..

i remember i even went to ask the gynae who delivered my kid and even the professor when i happened to see them at kkh whether my boi can be exempted from NS...they looked at me and said "ai yah, you shld be happy he is not exempted, that shows he is a fit and healthy kid, dun tink so far"

and that time, he has not even been discharged...i think i think too far into the future when we are not even sure of wat tomorrow brings...so lets just take one day a a time....

Sometimes wat we want is not sympathy but empathy but just cant help feel that pple look at me wif sympathetic eyes when i dun want/dun need them to....

afternoon ladies...

jane,
don't think he'll make Mr Fit Singapore... not with our genes! hehehee
i'm happy as long as he's not at either extremity.
just 1 of my typical parental view that bbs are cuter when they're slightly chubby but not the michelin baby type lah.
my boy didn't hv the baby looks for long, he looks like a little little boy... a common statement echoed by relatives/friends.

kkf,
i can understand how u feel. it's like an cause & effect of our "shorten" pregnancy & we want to make up to bb.
not think or brood too much, the feeling will go away as you watch bb grow & move along the development milestones.
i too started out extremely protective & paraniod abt him but over time, i learn to let go as he strive for his own independence (crawling, walking, etc).
Our over-protectiveness will only hinder their development. bb needs our guidance more than anything else.

costa,
looks like this cough virus is very aggressive & long life...
can't seem to complete get rid of it... take care of kiddo more.

i found this discussion is cosy, as i feel exactly as wat kkf mentioned abt our preemie, i over-protect him, avoid mentioning abt his premature birth, worry abt his development physically n mentally, feel envy when others give birth on full term and keep asking the question 'y me...'

but, now i see my boy at 9 mths, active n happy, developing as others, can sit, crawl, learning to stand, understand us a bit wat we r talking abt, know how to reject things he dun like n express his happiness when he get the chance to play or go out... i feel contented. like wat Jane said, they juz hav a different start than others. i believe with such a difficulty at the beginning, they'll be more prompt to harder environment n act strong in the future.

when i look back, the period was tough, but it actually trained me to be stronger, tougher and improve the bonding within the family. it oso makes me remember of 'nothing is granted' in tis world, be appreciative on watever i hav.

juz my 2 cents worth. wish all hav a nice day!

kkf
I hv the same feeling too when I see other mummies wif full term bb.At least you are in good health.For me,I can't hv bb until doc say ok wif my health.Hiaz.....I din't wan to share what happen as it will bring sad memories to me....

hello mummies...

reading today discussion...i feel tingle of sadness and uncertainties. me too have it.

but well. as yvonne say (she is the experienced one here)... the sun will shine one day.

costa - hope the pa bao shan works wonders.

jolene - don't look at the 'close door' look at the wonderful panel of windows opening in front of you n ur kiddo...

yvonne - hey..me too think that my boy (now at 2 mths) is more like a boy than the 'baby' look...my mum always say...see see see this 'old man' (prounce in hokkien - lao ah pei) already ready to go out and play kekeke...

let us all wish our bb good health and happiness...

irenelovej definitely sum it up very well.

hi jolene,
it's extremely important that your health comes 1st.. bb needs all-important MUMMY!

jane,
yr mum is a very smart lady.. oredi hinting yr boy to grow up quickly.

hi yvonne,

yes you are rite...bb (no matter premature or not), need mummy most (as care giver). so mummy must stay in tip top condition always... no rain no wind no thunder can shaken us...

haha..my mum ah. my mum always belive that all human have ability to survive and live well. she also discourage me to 'over protect' my boy... she say...let him stand on own feet (cos he like old man liao mah) :p... she always like to kajiao my boy one keke....

thanks for all the feedback! Nice hearing from all of you your feelings.

Yeah, most importantly, our babies must be healthy! Mummies must be healthy too!

I am a premature baby myself borned 27 weeks plus, and look at me! I have a degree, and is coping well! No problem for our babies! Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!

kkf,
u're a very good "live" example for this support thread!
how abt sharing with us your personal experience during the early years?
i'm sure most mummies wud like to learn fr yr experience.

So sorry, late reply to all the friend.

This two day was so busy, my 2nd twins Bryan always reject the milk, give him milk always cry and cant finish in 120ml. Drink till half he cry, I need ti carry him and walk around, then he will drink a bit, how? I really dont know what to do, he never gain the weight from sunday until now. Antyone can help me?

Actually I am the brave mum, I am also feel very weak when I take care them , what I can do is control myself, if not, all my family member will worry abt me...

Really thanks for all the wish and advice. We are the best brave mum..

Hi, Yvonne,
Thanks for your advice, I will continue the LF and will check with doctor again next month when do the injection. Do you facing the same problem for your prem baby of drink milk and weight problem? how's you think of my baby weight?

Costa,
you must be strong, I also facing the problem when I take care my baby in hospital, I need to give 2 baby the milk through tube, I never ask nurse help, cos I must learn..It was so sad when I look at them, I try to give my 1st twins using bottle, but his face always turn to purple colour, cos his lung was not strong, his lung cant support to breath when he drink the milk, he was so slow, 30ml always finish in 1.5hour, untill the milk turn cold and cold, Bryan always cry cos he was hungry as i haven finish give the milk to Terry, on that time I feel I was useless, I cant take care of 2 boy, if they go back I also dont know how to do, Nurse always scold me say give terry the milk so long, they want to give him tube again, but I am not agree, after that I change the turn, I give Bryan first, cos bryan still using tube, sometime he use cup, quiet ok, faster than his brot.After that I will give terry slowly slowly. every time i spend alot of time at ward, never sleep at all a day, because they took milk abt 2 hour, example i give them 12pm, after finish already 2pm, go ward and pump milk again, eat lunch, sometime never eat too, 3pm, need to give them milk again, whole day like that.

But, got One day, the doctor say maybe can try to let my terry try the pump the medicine for his lung to be more strong, after try 2days, was better, he can took off the oxygen tupe and breath himself, ( he already 1.7kg) and he canm finsh the milk in one hour, after a few day he can finish in less than 1 hour. Now he was the strong boy who drink the milk in 160ml, faster than his brother bryan. This is just my experince.

I haven get the mum baby magazine yet, I will ask my hubby to get for me.

I really like this chat place, but some time really busy of 2 boys here. only can check the mail when they sleep. Now they wake up again.

Bye. take care all the mummies

Hi Jacelyn,

My dd at 8months (6months corrected) now has been drinking 120ml of eBM since she was 4months til now. Give more, she'll scream. She's now 8.1kg. So I think u dun have to worry if he can't finish drinking the 120ml.

I suggest giving lesser ml but increase the frequency like maybe 2hours. Try not to compare between the tewo brothers. They are both individuals lah. I ever saw in the clinic a set of twins. One is very obviously smaller than the other.

hi all mummies..

havent been able to log on for some time..internet has been down and bz with bb...

keep up the good work mummies...its extra tough taking care of our little precious..for me when my girl spits out milk or cries non stop no matter what i do...i will think back on how poor thing she looked when she came out of me early..and how lucky i am to have her around now...then i calm down...no matter how hard it is...we have to be strong...reading all the stories on how other bbs are growing well and developing well..makes me look forward when my girl will outgrow all the difficulties now...

my girl still has the snorting sounds...her PD say will outgrow it...she already 1 month corrected age..hopefully she will outgrow it soon...

my girl is drinking 90ml on some feeds and 120ml on some feeds...it depends on her mood...but she is gaining weight...PD say as long as she gaining weight..doesnt really matter how much she drinks...

Hi Yvonne

I forgotten how I was like when I was very young. But I remember I couldn't write "b" during kindergarten and my teacher threw my book across the classroom, haha. I am quite slow in learning, but I am hardworking! hee :p

But not to worry, I am slow in understanding, but eventually will understand by exploring myself.

Physically, I am 1.7m tall, and weight (ermm secret, haha!). So not to worry about physical development. I can jog and run like everybody else, but recently got quite weak after giving birth, guess because I never do my confinement properly, busy visiting baby at NICU...haiz.

My mum said I used to be very cranky at night when I was a baby, cried and cried till 2am, until my dad wanted to throw me in rubbish chute. haha.

Hi mummies, I used to worry about my son, whether he gains enough weight, whether he drinks enough etc. Right now, still worry, ,but guess its normal! My boy used to drink very little too and got a period of time, even refused milk! I was soooo worried during that time, could only feed him when he was asleep. When he was awake he will struggle. Brought him to YU GUO for tui na somemore to increase his appetite. Still remember those days!

Now, he is having quite a good weight of 10.5kg at 15 months. He slowly drinks milk again after that period of time.

So mummies, dun worry!

hi kkf,
that's a typical growing up period...
tho born full term, i was also slow in learning, was & still cranky (at times), and physically i'm shorter than you!

it's a natural fact that mummies will worry every bit about kiddos... as long as we're still alive & kicking.

hi jacelyn,
as long as your twins are happy the way they are, don't worry too much abt the weight.
our kids start off on the small built side but never under-estimate their potential when puberty hits them!

Sorry for not coming in here for sometime as my boi admitted to hospital again.He hv alot of phelgm and could not breathe properly.Oxygen level was really low.Doc could not find anything wrong except suspect that he may hv reflux.Hiaz....I don't know wat to do.Alot of pp ask me to seek 2nd opinion but how to?He is still in hospital.Doc may want to do a probe test to see whether his passage way is properly developed.Anyone seeing KK doc?My sis ask me to go KK.Mine is at NUH.

Hi jolene,

sorry to hear about your boy...he cant breathe properly cos he got phelgm?did the doc suck out the phlegm or just gave medicine?

yvonne,
how's yr boy?my boi still coughing and having phlegm, i am at my wits end and have given him the ba bao shan and then put the nose drops to dry up his nose...sigh..dun noe wat to do as the neo nat had said dun give medicines..

jolene,
how did you noe yr boi cannot breathe properly..sorry to ask stupid questions but i have seen my boi's chest heaving up and down and i wonder if that is considered difficulty in breathing...

my boi seeing the neo nat at kkh..maybe if you want, you can call kk and ask for recommendations on lung specialist or smthg?m sure the nuh gv you a write up of yr boi case, maybe you can photocopy one for the kkh doctor or bring yr boi's health booklet along....

my gal seems to have alot of phlegm in her throat...she seems to be trying to snort it out..but cant...any advice what i can give her to reduce the phlegm?

costa,
was about to ask jolene ahow she know also...my gal also breathe heavily at times..and snort alot....dunno if should bring her to the PD...

puppyduppy,
i oso vy jialuk, i dun noe whether smtimes i err or not when making decisions...his chest goes up and down like breathing vy hard..i dun noe how to see if its difficult or not.....

jolene,
my boi when he was in hospital, they put some probe down his throat into his stomach to test for reflux...later they said it wasnt reflux...
dunoe is it your boi going for tis test...

i wonder why the doctor always hear the lungs and say its clear but yet if its clear, how come still got phlegm..i oso confused or dun tell me lungs clear still can have phlegm?im realy at a loss
anyone can help?

costa,

my mil was saying that bb have phlegm is very common..all bbs have it..some more than others...she told me not to worry..but of course being a new mum..everything also i worry...:p

sometimes i can hear my girl like very kang kor to breathe..dunno whether its normal for premmies or not...see lah i so blur...

hi costa,
my boy still has little bit of cough & phlegm. like ding dong ding dong.. ok for 2-3 days, then it comes back again.
still on inflammide & even finishing the TCM cough mixture... sigh... still no sign of full recovery.
maybe i'll just stop everything by fri, give him a few days to see if any further improvement anot.

how's yr boy? is he his usual self?
ya, i'm also like u at wit's end...

even my own cough mirrors his; ok 3 days, cough 2 days...

hi puppy n costa

My boi was breathing very very hard until his head is going up n down.Then his eye balls are not focus.He cried non stop also.Normally he don't cry so much.

yes,the doc is going to do a PH probe test like wat costa has mentioned.According to the doc,they told me if small amt of milk goes to the lung,it will produce phelgm.That's wat I was told.

Yvonne,
my boi oso same thing like yr boi...ok for a while and then come back and then not okay again..

hope your boi and you recover before cny....

i juz went to eys and bot some more ba bao shan...

Jolene,
i wonder how they can test if the milk had gone to the lungs just by doing the probe?i had let my boi drink using bottle so i wonder how do we noe if the milk has gone into the lungs and whether this was causing the phlegm or not? i really wonder and tink if any mummy can help me to answer tis question?

how long must he stay in hospital? hope his breathing has stabilised already..did the doctor say after doing the probe test must stay how long in hospital? did you manage to get another opinion?

costa

I din't get 2nd opinion coz doc refused to discharge my boi.Say if discharge got phelgm problem again,my boi will be very serious.Thus,they would like to do the test 1st b4 confirming wat's wrong wif my boi.

As for staying in the hospital,I don't know how long.Btw,in KKH do all the babies have their own ward or mixed wif other children wif different age?NUH is mixed,that's why I don't like.When my boi is better n discharge,I may go to KKH to seek 2nd opinion since he is "stuck" in NUH now.

Hi Jolene,

I new to this forum. I had a twins a boy & girl. Their corrected age is 2 mth only. There also had the problem with phelgm.

I gave birth in KKH, so when i start to notice my boy had phelgm & cough i brought him back to KKH also. He was admitted 1 day & the next day he was discharge cos the lung is clear. But until 2day he still had the same problem. No solving to it juz hope as he grow the phelgm thing will go away.

KKH is the same as NUH small babies stay in the same ward as young children as old as secondary children.

Morning all,

Jolene,
hope ur boy gets better fast and the phlegm goes away...poor boy...

my girl has been coughing up alot of phlegm recently..havent brought her to doc yet..dunno if i should...i also not sure if milk got into her lungs or not...cos when she cough up the phlegm..got bits of milky stuff...whitish colour...sigh...

Antz Antz, welcome to tis board..hope to learn more from you...

Jolene,
Tink better keep him in NUH and see how since transferring is not an option at the moment..hope he gets better and hope the result from the probe test is good....

puppyduppy,
my boi oso same, cough up milk wif the phlegm and i dun noe if milk has got into her lungs or not..i oso dun noe how then we noe unless we bring the bb to the paedia and let them hear using stethoscope...tio bo (correct or not)?

good morning mummies,

wow...all the discussion on phelgm..

jane at my wits end too...my boy down with cold (phelgm and block nose) too....

when will theis phlegm thing go away man....

costa - so the eys pa bao shan got effect since the last time you let your boy consume?

i brought my boy go see PD last friday...these two days he really struggle when drink milk.... my mum has advise me to stop the medication (cos it making him so so drowsy...). will be giving my boy pa bao shan today...

jane sing the song again...phlegm phlegm please go away....:-(

costa,
yah think must use the scope then will know...does ur boy vomit milk from his nose sometimes? my girl does leh and quite scary sometimes...

my mil gave pa bao shen to my girl every morning..but doesnt seem to work..still got phlegm..sigh..

Jane,
welcome back leh, was abt to message you last nite how come so long never hear from you...

i oso not sure if the eys ba bao shan got use or not as i dun give everyday and the phlegm/cough is on and off...

how did yr boi struggle when drinking milk?you brot yr boi to the paedi to the doctor near yr mum's house, izzit?

so you still travel everyday to your mum's place?

hi puppydupy,

the pa bao shan..cannot give every day...think only when really need then give pah...

this phlegm thing really is a headache hor...

hi costa.

keke..i really busy with work. then all the KK appointments i have to rush and rush (pai seah like always away from office hence whenever i at work..i really work like a bull lor...so have not been coming in for sometime...

wow...u shld come and see when my boy drink milk...he will push the bottle away and kick with his power leg....

ya..now everyday i still travel to my mother house..then weekend i will bring my boy back lor.

your boy drinking better liao mah?

i think its the weather..many bb not feeling well...

Jane,
guess u must be busy wif work and appts but i guess after a little time, yr boi's appts will be further and further apart...

yr boi sure vy comical one when he kicks the bottle...ha ha

my boi drinks slightly better now but still small sized although my parents say i expect too much...

seems to me many babies around me sick..hp the weather gets better, man..

Hi costa...

hehe...my boy eye is given the thumb up by the doc..so one appointment down... now only left with the monthly meet up with Dr Agawaral and dietrican appointments...

haha...comical really...he like practising kung fu ;p

oh look like soon your boy will bottle up ;-).

hmm.. to me, size does not matter. what matter is their character and personality and their achievement in life...

ya, really hope that weather clear up soon...

I'm juz back from NUH.Done the PH probe test,result will be out 2morrow.As for the phelgm thing,my hubby ask the TCM doc and say tat usually premmies will hv such problem.They recommend let the doc advise wat happen 1st b4 bring him to TCM doc.But he say in long run if phelgm is not suck out,usually it will become asthma.Not sure how true.Our doc at NUH recommend us to have suction pump so that we can suck our bb phelgm.