Premature babies support group

good morning all..

costa,
yup saw my gal yest...my gal like your boy...nurse say she keeps crying for milk...even after feeding her..nurse had to carry her around and drop some milk in her mouth to keep her quiet...she keeps struggling to get out of her blanket..thought babies liked to be wrapped up,but my gal dont seem to like..hehe...keep trying to punch and kick her way out..

puppyduppy,
u r still on maternity leave, r u?
maybe my boi can feel my stress and i dun really like one of the nurses who was on duty yterday..so maybe was in a foul mood yterday oso..

jane,
din see u yterday...u came?

costa,
yup still on maternity leave till jan...thinking of extending it when my gal comes back in end dec(hopefully) to look after her..

yah think ur boy can feel u stressing..so he also stressing...

anyone extended leave (no pay leave)?

puppyduppy,
oic...yr company must be very pro family oriented company...

tink maybe my boi can feel it...was dem frustrated yterday...tink as wat we said yterday..recently alot of preemies..the nurses are overworked...and nurses hv to be deployed to where my kid is fm the nicu...

so they are overworked and thus frust and maybe inadvertably make remarks that i dun take vy kindly to...and then i frust and make the bb frust and its a vicious cycle

fm wat i guessed yterday nite, the same nurse wld be around today...ehhhhhhhhh....help me..please....

looks like we are very active in the thread, see how much of our posting hav been archieved already

my boy oso cried v loud in NICU last time ( now still the same), n dun wan to be wrap.. when he went home, we always wrap him when he slept coz he get scared easily, but he tried watever he can do to make himself out fr the blanket.

i recently read a article in ezyhealth, saying tat there's a research in US found every 8 bb there's 1 preemie (<37wks). it's realy high rate...the society must hav some problem ...too stress? too much chemicals??

puppyduppy,
i didn't extend my leave. rest for 12wks then start back working. i can extend the leave but i choose to spare my annual leave to offload my MIL every now n then.

irenelovej,
dunoe why leh...its really a good guess as to why things happen tis way and smtimes accusation fingers are pointed at the daughter in law fm the mil...etc etc...really, hv learnt alot during my son's stay in hosp..

my boi oso doesnt like to be wrapped and wld kicked himself out of it..maybe they are too big already...

costa,
the NICU ur boy at got alot of premmies now? at my baby's side got less than a handful.so my gal is getting all the attention..

irenelovej,
feel like im not a good mother if when my gal comes home and i immediately start working ...feel guilty..so still undecided on the no pay leave..sigh..

yah i really think we are more stressed now, eating more foods that have chemicals in it...maybe thats wat causing all problems...

my gal is so small yet trying to break free from the blanket..than always have that unhappy look when she cant get away..hah

puppyduppy,
my boi actually at the SCN (special care nursery)but because he had some infection, hes put together wif nicu babies...

kkh has alot of preemies becuz its spore's biggest hosp for babies...they have alot of transfer babies fm other hospitals...

tink now alot of food are genetically modified and coupled wif stressful lifestyles..causing all these premature births...but of cse, cld be other reasons as well, which we will never noe..

just tink that yr gal trying to improve her motor skills by breaking free..heh heh..smtimes they wrap my son so tightly like popiah but when i wrap..so loose..the 'fillings"(hands and legs) all coming out..heh heh

hey good morning mummies.

costa - don't fuse over the happenings last night, cheer up.

i was there last night (i go everyday one hehe). oh tomorrow i am taking the CPR class...

hey..did any of your bb taken the BCG jab? the nurse last night told me they will be giving it to my boy soon. he had his Hep B jab since 1 Nov.

puppyduppy - don't be stress over the number of leave to take etc yet...focus on the well being of your gal. there is a solution to everything. most important is your gal and you are happy ;-)

my boy too (esp recently..the nurse say he big liao) always try to wiggle out of the blanket keke..unless he is deep zzzz...

then last night don't know why, after after feeding at 8pm, he refuse to sleep ler...i think really the babies feel the mum mood (i was not in very good mood last night).... when i go off at around 9.30pm (upon the nurse request i go home and rest), my boy still eye big big :p

jane,
yeah, will not blow my top now....when my boi still in hosp...see tonite,hopefully i wun "sock" circuit..

tink my bb took the bcg jab liao...got the mark on his hand...

my kiddo oso eyes big big and when i wanted to leave, he oso eyes opened even bigger....i oso bu4 she3 de2...

i can imagine how crowded the NICU at kkh is...some of the premmies at Mt e also transferred to kkh for treatment...plus the bbs already at kkh...packed

glad that my gal is active and wanna break free...so tiny and so strong :>

nurse say that my gal putting on weight very slowly...might have to stay at NICU for another 5 weeks...sigh...

the slt just called us....say my boy maybe monday can go home... but has to use the special silicone pigeon teat (XS) and has to be paced every 8 sucks....

puppyduppy - weight gain slow is ok...so long gaining. don't be stress about the 'estimation' of how long the stay will be... just cheer and encourage your gal...

costa - keke...give them the fierce look if they dare to think you are good to bully...

actually...everyday nowadays i tell myself must control my feelings...don't sock circit there :p

Jane, congrates... bb can go home is really a good news. wat's ur bb weight now? if can latch on i think tat's better rather than bottle feed.

Puppyduppy, does ur gal taking milk fortifier (is a type of powder added to milk to increase the calorie content).. after taking tat thing, bb can gain weight very fast. my boy gain 80g per day ever

jane,
thanks for the encouragement...everyday i ask her to jia you to drink more milk and be strong :>

irenelovej,
not sure if she is talking milk fortifier, will ask nurses tonite when i go see my gal...dont think so leh...did ur boy take it when he was in nicu?

hi irenelovej - thanks :) i will see what the nurse/doc say tonight... my baby weight today is about 2.5kg. i will try let him latch on. but as i maybe back at work in one mth time, hence bottle feed is still very important...

oh yes, puppyduppy, irenelovej is right, once they fortifier our BM, baby weight sure will gain one..plus the MCT oil and other nutrients
. my boy milk was fortifiy when he was in NICU :p... please don't think that is because your BM is lacking of nutrient...they fortifier to help your baby gain more weight so that they can keep warm by themself and also to help them mature faster.. fortify of milk is ok...

and oh, everytime i express my BM, i alwasy 'talk to myself'...baby drink slowly, must breath, swallow, suck properly...mama milk only for you hehehe..so when he is bottled...he can read my thoughts haha (me a cute mummy hor)

my boy took the fortifier, once his milk intake is more or else fixed (abt 25-30ml i think), then PD presribed the fortifier n mixed w BM to feed twice a day.
Jane is rite, is not our BM don't hav nutrient, but the fortifier is to increase the calorie so the bb gain weight faster. n my boy oso take multivitamin, as 'tonic' to them

hi, all ladies,
how was everyone's lunch?

puppyduppy,
the bm sure got put the fortifier one...mct oil (which makes the cheeks fat), nutricomp and Polyvysol(dunnoe how to spell)..they say bm lacks dun noe wat so need the fortifiers wor..

dun worry, once yr baby hits a certain weight...vy vy fast she wld put on weight one..

i think is after 1.5kg, zoom like a rocket, everyday 100 gm or even more...smtimes they wriggle so the measurement not accurate, so dun panic if they "lost" weight, it may not be the truth....

jane,
tink today i will give that mee see my most sian and dun wanna talk to anybody look....just now my mum just called and said she around today....suay suay, yterday i had overheard her telling me "see you 2mr"

in my heart i was thking "hope not, manz" ha ha..

jane, wats the brand of your fridge or izzit a deep freezer (machiam like sell icecream that type)..

the slt recommended a latex stage 1 teat for my boi....so i went to buy two just now...Nuk brand..

hv to be very patient when feeding our bbs...one graduate nicu mum's bb lost weight as the bb kept throwing up milk...

so sad wun see you at our usual meeting place but happy yr boi boi gg back..

hi costa,
my lunch is as usual , eating the very 'sian' cafetria food

abt latex NUK teat. i got some comments. initially i let my boy tried this. it's fine, but the latex get deterioriate very fast, become non-elastic. so hav to change very frequent. initially we didn't know abt the teat does matter coz the nurse in Mt E never tell us. So, we gave him Avent...n he drank like.. heh heh heh...keep breathing fast coz not enuf energy to suck tat big teat... after tat, my MIL sense tis n we bought the latex type, n hav to change frequent (like 1 wk once)... get fed up with it after 3 wks n i ' nge nge' try avent on my boy, n it works! so after tat he keep using avent liao.

if ur bb is having colic, use Dr Brown bottle which gives zero bubble. it's a very good bottle, juz 2 more parts u hav to wash per bottle... my boy was on alternate Dr Brown/Avent after 3 wks to home n after 4mths when he totally no colic liao we stop the tedious washing Dr Brown bottle (such a lazy mum

irenelovej,
thanks...i din noe abt the latex..guess i hv to stand by a lot incase it wears out...

kkh got tis slt (like wat jane said - speech learning theraphist) who tell us wat to buy but smtimes wat they say conflict wif the nurse..so i oso blur one..

i heard of doc brown bottles but so far never seen it before, so i dun noe how different it looks...seems like i lost touch wif many bb products liao

Dr Brown bottle can get fr First Few Years in Paragon, Metro, Mums n Babes in Plaza Singapura, n maybe KKH sells tat too (dunno if there's any). basically it has one tube inside the bottle which the air will pass thro n eventually at the bottom of the milk, so bb won't swallow air in.

hehe...busy with work hence now then join in the chat...

for my boy - the slt has recommend pigeon brand S siz silicone teat... (that is the special one he is using righte now). the slt say to used for 2 mths ... until my boy is due for review.

puddyduppy - you are no siao..its good .. really good to cheer our baby up using this method. when you latch your gal on...lagi better, talk and talk and talk..ask her to slowly drink..mama milk won't run away hehe....

irenelovej n costa - i bought the dr brown bottle. but the bottle so BIG...i thinking our baby won't be drinking so much milk so i thinking of buying a smaller bottle hehe... and yes KK does sell this bottle (i bought it there after a friend recommend me). i also have avent bottle at home...so shall see which one my mum want to use keke..

dr brown bottle has a special tube inside which will prevent wind from gg in... thats is what so special about it lor...

oh costa - KK shop also have a special bottle for our baby... its bottle is very small (for small quantity intake pah) otherwise, i don't see anything special about it kekeke.... and its not cheap ler

actually dun need to buy small bottle juz bcoz ur bb drink little, their milk intake w increase very fast later..use those 4oz type will do.
Dr Brown has the 4 oz type

hi irenelovej... i see. the dr brown bottle i bought is the big one (did not see the 4oz type).

cos now my boy only drinking about 46ml..so the big bottle like so big :p

have a good weekend, cheers

may i know if all your bb have passed the hearing test?? i 'just came to know' yesterday that my boy 'did not manage' to pass his hearing test
(

they tested 3 times...he failed all. the doctor told us that they will review in another 3 weeks time.... the doc also say, with early intervention, things will be ok....

anyone any advise (or have heard of such case)???

my heart is in a mess state....

irenelovej - can i know how you monitor your bb breathing when you brought your bb home? cos right now, my bb drinking co-ordination is still somewhat lacking...so at times he still desat but he pick up very fast (and with good pacing he is ok...)... need your advise...

hope everyone have a good week ahead... (hope my phone ring today - telling me my boy can go home...)...

Good morning ladies,

want to ask if you all have the same experience,when i visited my girl during the weekend, she was lying on her front, nurse was changing her diaper, bb was so strong that she use her legs to lift her bum up in the air..a few times...nurse say that she can even shift her head left and right when she lies on her front.was so surprised
thought babies at such a young age...esp premmies dont have so much strengty.

jane,
where is the small bottle that you saw in kkh shops which is for preemies?is it that useful?

as long as desat but can pick up fast, i guess it shld be okay....the most impt thing is to observe his colour..tis is wat kkh nurses always say..

hi jane,
sorry but my girl has not gone through the hearing test yet.like doc said, if anything the matter, they will have ways to correct it, and good that it is discovered now..rather than later.can understand that you are very confused and troubled now...take heart, 3 weeks later they will do a retest and maybe your bb will pass with flying colours!

hi puppyduppy,

i ever seen a bb doing push up in the incubator...do not underestimate their ability ;-) hehe...

costa - i saw it in the 'first few years' shop... i don't know if its useful, look to me nothing special except the bottle is small. the teats we have to use the one recommend by the SLT (for your bb is nuk rite)? for my boy is pigeon, silicon S size. oh, the fridge i bought is the normal two door one (not the ice-cream freezer - cos one mama bought that and she say no use). i bought the 2 door Toshiba at $349 from mustafa centre

puppyduppy - thanks....yup. i belive and have faith with so much love from mummies here, my boy sure will pass the next test! thanks thanks. i was jsut too surprise to hear that from the doc as earlier no doc has told us about this....

jane,
that means the fridge you bot is a normal fridge like those we use at home is it...with the normal chiller compartment, freezer on top that type....??

how come one mum who bot the ice cream freezer said its no use?for me, i threw away some bm which were older as my two fridges really no space liao.....

regarding the hearing thingy...did the doctor say anything?dun tink its a cause of worry if they say they going to test again in three wks time..tink now hearing test is compulsory for all babies and the reason why they din mention earlier was perhaps they had to wait till the bb was near "full gestational age" before they take the test...(i am just guessing only)

tink i m overtired after my son's pri one orientation...coughing like mad..and tired....going to zzzz...now...talk later....

hi Jane,
hope u hav a nice weekend
for Mt E bb, nurses didn't told us tat much things. so i didn't do monitoring bb's breathing when i went home. But it might be a case by case basis. my boy can breath well rite after delivery n he cried so loud in the operation theatre n in NICU, so guess my case doesn't hav breathing problem.. when come to suckling, he stops a while n breath fast for few seconds then continue. didn't hav lips turn color. n we never been taught how to do pacing. my own style is if see he is breathless, pull out the bottle n let him rest for a while, burp him n feed again.

not to worry abt hearing test so much. The bb of my 'room-mate''s of maternity ward was a full term bb n she didn't pass the hearing test too, n was staying in hospital for another day to re-do.

ya, bb r very strong one... my boy keep wanted to pull his tube when he was staying in NICU, although tat time he still didn't noe the hand coordination.

hi costa,

yup..its the normal 2- door frige that i bought.

apparently, the ice-cream freeze can only freeze the BM..cannot defrooze it keke. imagine, if we want to defrozze our BM, we still need to put in in the normal compartment right...anyway, she told me that BM should be as fresh as possible...eg, we express put in the below compartment and consume within 2 days...so don't really have to freeze our BM... :p

at home, i am already starting to throw away my BM (those more than 2 weeks old). i am now not really storing any BM...just expressing and make sure the mil flow continue....

the doctor just say that... 3 weeks time they will review. ya, they did the check after my boy reach his gestation age (which is last week). but soon after that, i thought they should tell us mah...not until yesterday :-(

anyway, a day a time right :) i am sure my boy can pass the test in 3 weeks time...he will one

hi irenelovej,

i see okay, thanks... what the nurse told us is to pace my boy drinking lor...burp and etc... hehe, hope i can cope orh....

oh yvonne dearlie...

once again, can i ask you, is the movement monitor really good? we really considering buying :p. did your bb experience any 'blue' around the mouth after you bring your bb home?

been quite busy so only managed to read the past days' chats now.

re: bottle &amp; teat
seems like the SLT usually recommends Pigeon's latex teat size S, that wat my boy started with too. Latex is the softest so that it doesn't make the sucking any harder for bb. after 2, 3-4 months when bb can drink alot faster, you can change to teats of the next size, any brand bb is comfy with, silicone or latex.

as for bottles, i continue with normal Pigeon bottle. if u noticed, our bb were drinking fr the normal glass bottles without much air intake.
IMHO, the premmie bottles are useful only a short term. bb master the sucking very quickly once they hv enuf practice, so no point in slowing the practice with tiny teat.

also, i continue with the no heating up of BM for bb when he was home.
in KK, all the BM are thawed at room temperature abt 2 hours before feed time, so the milk is at best just room temp or slightly cool. it helps to keep all the nutrients in order.

only for FM, it must be slight warm to dissolve the FM powder.

the main point in intial bottlefeeding is still PACING.

hi jane,

congrats "again"... heehee
so when u bringing ur boy boy home?

yes, my boy had a few blue-ish mouth sessions during feeds at home initially. just had to pace &amp; burp more frequently.
small but frequent feeds work very well.

the movement monitor is mainly to monitor &amp; alert for apnea during the nite.
my boy had a fair bit of desat while in NICU/SCN, so i was afraid he'll get too comfy in the nite &amp; forget to breathe while i zzzzzz like a log &amp; not notice him.
but in the end, no apnea episodes since he came home &amp; i was very tuned instinctively to him, waking up every few hours to check &amp; breastfeed him.

when did ur boy desat? was it cos he got too comfy? my boy was quite complacent when he's very comfy.

hi yvonne,

pacing is what the nurse say too. he desat cos he drink too fast and never swallow...then like choke... :-(. last night i bottle feed him and he desat once...

jane,

not worry too much. ur boy just needs more practice.
it'll be extremely useful for u practice bottling with him as much now so that u can observe his signs &amp; symptoms &amp; handle the desat when the same happens at home.

hi yvonne,

i am gg to kk now to bring my boy home
. hope i can cope. ya, i am sure with more practice...he will co-ordinate well. thanks

jane,

u will DEFINITELY be able to cope cos of the unique mother/bb bond that u have.

enjoy ur undivided time with him. if can, keep us posted of his progress at home. also, u know we'll be here if u need help.

hi puppyduppy,

yes, desat is when bb stops breathing for a while due to various reasons.
it's quite common to desat when bb has yet to master the coordination of sucking/breathing during feeds.
having said that, not all premmies will desat too.

yvonne,
thanks for the clarification.my bb also forget to breathe when she is trying to suck and swollow..so she still has to be tube fed.

jane,
congrates! hav nice time w ur bb at home.
if u have elderly to give u a hand, get them to help at the initial period when ur bb is at home coz they r more experience. Actually lots of bb related 'problem' are happen on each bb, not juz to preemie, like puking milk, colic etc... they r more experience to tell rather than us 'gan jiong' n relate everything to preemie. like wat i did last time.... n my in law juz steadily said it's like tat one, lots of bb hav tat... after a while then i become more steady

puppyduppy,
does ur gil sucking the 'fake' pacifier? it's actually a 'practise' for them to drink. by using that thing my boy actually switch to bottle feed very fast, within 10days

irenelovej,
yup my girl is sucking on the "pacifier" she loves to suck on it...when she is tube fed..she wants to suck it, if not she will be very restless and not satisfied..nurse say she is too small to be bottlefed at the moment..so just give her the pacifier 1st...