Premature babies support group

hey costa,

we shud lunch again before u take leave! let me know when u can meet next week.
also, the movement monitor if u still keen.

puppyduppy,
questions are never dumb..if you dun ask you never noe..i just ask all that i can...after all, knowledge is power...

yvonne,
i dun even noe if i can take leave at a stretch.busy wif work leh...the monitor i think at the moment, dun need..thanks..i got two human monitors at home ha ha...

will email you again for lunch...

hey girls
doc called me yest and said bb got reflux, heartrate dropped to 80 on 2 occasions yest, but went back to normal without having to administer the oxygen. so now feeding every 2 hours(17ml) instead of 3 hours(26ml).hope she will be ok, cos if she cant take, then will have to put on drip :<..was all worried yest, couldnt sleep...

costa,
yes knowledge is power...:>

puppyduppy,
good morning....reflux i think means the bb regurgitate the milk out is it...Did you ask the doctor was it after the bb drank, they aspirate out the milk and din digest properly..

its lidat, one..preemies' digestive systems not so good, my kiddo oso lidat...that day merlion out the milk, i oso wanted to merlion out together wif him and panicked..dun worry, the doctors will noe wat to do

they try to feed 3 hrly and if can tolerate, continue (bec tis pattern is like new born baby)..but if they cant tolerate, they will go back to 2 hourly..no big deal..its a bi4 jin1 zhi1 lu4..(must go thru road)...

its better to let her take her own time and her heartbeat to be stabilise....

alot of bbs will have reflux..infact i just asked a doc yterday..there are solutions to it..dun worry...any thg you wanna noe, can ask here....cheer up, okay.....

morning costa,
yah they aspirate out the milk and got alot of milk left..so have to reduce the feed.but for the past 3 weeks she has been doing ok drinking every 3 hours then suddenly cant digest.thats why got worried...now every little change in her i super kancheong...nurse say she still active which is a good sign...

oh ur baby threw up the milk? wats the reason?

thanks for explaining, made me feel better about the situation

puppyduppy,
morning...yeah, my bb threw out the milk.same problem as your bb....reflux...there is a thread on tis reflux pblem on tis board...

Even for full term bbs can happen, anyway, there is medication for it and if it still fails got method to resolve it..for eg, holding the baby upright after feeding, dun rock the baby too much after drinking...dun lie him/her flat on bed after feeds etc...dun worry....the nurses and docs wld tell you wat to do...

no pblem, bu4 yong4 ke4 qi4...just post any queries you hv here...

good morning mummies :)) wonderful thursday to all.

notice the thread about reflex.

puppyduppy - rest assured. my boy has the same thing (he is got desat). like what costa say, there is solution to relflex one. and yes, it happen to big babies too... read up the thread about reflex. basically is all about the valve that is not closing properly after feeding hence the milk came out... and as what costa point out, after feeding, its NO NO to rock and etc.

i think if when they aspirate out..and got lots of milk means your baby is not digesting yet. so hehe...never mind, the easy solution is they will let her have lesser but more frequent feed ;-) its okie.... don't worries.

and OH yes, reflex will go away as they mature...so don't worried. most important is be gentle after feeding the babies (this apply to even full term baby...not only our little one)

hugs to all mummies...

today i am going to attempt to let my boy latch on again (keke...). cheer for me okie keke. i am trying to let him feed on both breast..instead of only one and after that he zzzz haha! mission like impossible :p

costa - din see you last night... your boy cot has lots of colourful toys...you bought all that? so nice..

puppyduppy - like what costa say, got ?? just post. who know the answer is really simple as ABC ;-) kanjong sure will one. me too sometime lost my head by just being kanjong :p

oh yvonne... u there? talking abt the monitor. i saw the earlier thread somewhere...what was the brand again? i thought of buying ler :p

jane,
harlo, yup, i din go after work because i had gone during lunch yterday to speak to the doctor..

had to go home to spend more time wif my elder boy who is feeling neglected....

yes,the toys were bot by me....since kkh had become second home..

puppyduppy,

no worries abt the reflux, nearly all premmies will hv it for a period. remember size of stomach is only the size of a clenched fist. rule of thumb will be to burp baby in between feeds, eg. burp after every 5-10ml.

jane,

it's Angelcare sound &amp; movement monitor. can buy fr Robinsons or Motherworks.

costa,

of cos, human monitor is always the best but must teach them to look out for signs &amp; symptoms.
the best &amp; fastest gauge is when the area ard the mouth turns blue-ish during feed, ie, baby's not breathing well.

Yvonne,
harlo...yes, u are right abt the signs of not breathing well....

hows yr job?tues lunch onz.....see u...

thanks to all mummies for ensuring me..feel more at ease now....cos she was feeding well with 3 hourly feeds so that alls well..then when i hear her heartrate drop...wah panick...

yest nurse was changing her diaper and was commenting that she put on weight,tummy quite big..then she press her tummy leh,and say "but still very soft" wah! i wanted to punch her..guess im over protective of bb, like a tigress protecting her cub..hehe

puppyduppy,
no pblem at all, tis board is to share knowledge and wat we noe..

"tummy still soft" means okay right....hmm, let me ask a nurse if i can remember...

costa,

yes, onzz... work as usual lor, bao shan bao hai but still manage to go home on quite on the dot so can't complain.

puppyduppy,

can understand yr protectiveness - i always re-tidy bb, cot, surrounding machines &amp; even paperfiles when i visited him - to the nurses, i'm a "don't-mess-with-me" mummy.
the pressing of stomach soft or hard is to make sure that there's not too much air or even blockage in &amp; ard the stomach/intestine. costa/jane, pls correct me if wrong info hor.

yvonne,

bo pian, all jobs also cover mountain, cover sea.....

yr answer sounds logical.....tink u cld be right..

smtimes i try to tou1 kan4 (sneak a peak) at the files...if the nurse okay will not make noise if not, she will say cannot read...not as if i can interpret lah..

im not a tidy person...so i oso too lazy to tidy the cot...my bb upgraded to "presidential suite"..bec too big for the cot...ha ha and also he stayed too long liao....so his cot now is the big baby bed...(i think the bed looks strong enough to take my weight,ha ha

costa,

yeah, hubby always try to peep the files &amp; once got into "arguement" with 1 super-on mi si. other nurses who know us well will close 1 eye lor.
in fact, 1 senior nurse who looked after my boy most time taught us how to read the different machines... must be we've asked too much liao.

by now, do u notice how some mi si just bedek their way when u question them... hee

my boy oso hav reflux, after went home. at NICU never see him Merlion. Only after 1mth old then sometimes he thrown up. that's the sign of colic, so juz burp the bb. my in law hav experience looking after 10 kids, she said every bb is like tat at around 1-2 mths, being full term or not. after tat it'll gone. and yes, the relux gone after my boy is abt 2mths actual age. juz sometimes when he burp got a mouthful of milk came out together.

dun worry tat much abt it

puppyduppy, we are having same gynae n PD. i think our gynae always hav 'tied' w the PD , so every preemie she recommend to him.

Yvonne/Telly,

Got a question to both of u. i notice my boy sometimes shivering when he was drinking milk, seems like 'not enuf breathe' to drink, even now he's 6+ mths liao...but tis onli happened once every now n then n is not per every feed. my in law comment he seems not enuf 'qi4' to drink sometimes... did urs hav similar issue? can share or enlighten me if u hav any idea?

hi irenelovej,

it cud likely be he's out of breathe, trying to drink as fast as he can, esp if he's very hungry.

my 14mth still gags/chokes when he tries to drink faster than can manage.
wat i do now is to give him a break during feed, say, when he has drank close to half the feed, stop &amp; burp him, then few minutes later, continue to finish up the feed.

make a point to double-check with the neonat/PD at his next checkup.

hi yvonne,

i just wanna know....i understand about the importance of pacing during bottle feeding for our babies... but.. when you notice the surrounding around your baby mouth turn blue..what do you immeidatly do?? will they outgrown this lack in co-ordination drink milk skill?...

puppy,
for me,I wear the binder becoz when I walk,I don't feel the pain so much.But it does helps my wound to heal faster.

gals,
we will be learning CPR today from a doc.Anyone here goes thru this training?My boy hv improvement now when he is bottlefeed.At least he rememebers how to breathe.Yesterday we learn how to bathe him.I think the next time is to learn how to bottle feed him.I was really happy to see him grow.Honestly,i was abit affected when he is born premature.Now,I learnt how to trust God for everything.

yvonne,
your reasoning on the pressing of tummy sounds logical....was so shocked when she press bb tummy a few times...

when i go see bb i always ask alot alot of questions...most of the nurses are nice..but 2 of the nurese there like dont want to bother about me...so i just ask the other nicer nurses...im paying so much for the hospital fees, they better ans all my questions man, even if i have a 100 questions!

irenelovej,
i hope our gynae introduce us to the right PD...since ur boy is doing so well now, i hope my girl will be like your boy and "graduate" from the hospital soon...

Jane,
my bb turn blue when he is bottle feed intitally.That's why nurse don't allow us to feed him but to obeserve him.I think my boi hv improved on the co-ordination.I believe all premature bb need to learn before they can be discharged.I saw the nurse trying to make my boy cry when he turns blue the last time.So that oxygen will go in.(I think)

puppy.
can i ask what questions u usually ask?For me &amp; hubby, we din't ask questions &amp; the docs find us weird.Seems like don't care for my bb.Haha......

jolene,
everyone at kkh whose bb is preemie must go thru the cpr training..i quite enjoyed mine as the nurse who taught tis was q interesting...

tink when they turn blue, they tickle the leg is it?

i really wanna read the files but dare not flip leh...and too many to go thru...think hor, my boi got at least four files....hahaha..

i think i so blur, even the nurses bedek me maybe i oso dun noe..

anyway, that day i was so kan cheong over my son mri that i talked to one on call doctor, he kept on nodding his head when talking to me that i also nodded together and later headache.....and ended up, he oso din explain clearly....

puppyduppy,
u r right, manz...u pay for service, of cse must ask lah....

jolene,
u cld be overwhelmed thats why dun noe wat to ask..relax lah, ask us haha, maybe we can shed light better....

costa
thanks for the advice.I really dont know what to ask.Btw,I received an email on a real life story abt a premature bb who managed to survive despite what the doc said.Jesus is so good! The bb is alive today!When I read the article,i was really very touched by HIS LOVE.I'm sure my bb will be well &amp; healthy.

jolene,
no pblem....
i got the email as well on the preemie...

its true that we are given the bleak side..but more often than not, thgs wld turn out better...and being a 30wker...yr bb will hv a vy good fighting chance...

maybe you really trust the doctors and there is really nothg to ask..no wrong oso, maybe u wld hv more questions to ask later ..for eg, earlier on, i was so worried and kept asking the docs and nurses whether are we able to handle a preemie, wat are the challenges facing a preemie..how to overcome these challenges etc...

maybe your bb is dg well and there is really nothg to worry about....

as i said before, just take one day at a time, you wld really feel better.....

jolene,
the questions i ask are like, do they take temp everyday, when they bathe baby, is it ok to give pacificer to bb when she cries, how often bb poos...things like that...since i am a new mum, all things things which seem trival to the docs are very new to me...so i just ask..even when one of the rude nurse dowan to ans my quest..i will ask another nurse...very pesky...but i dont care :p

the nurse told me that if baby stop breathing, they will pat them on their back, abit harder than a normal pat, or ticklet their feet if im not wrong, to get them to breathe..

jane,
when it's blue-ish ard the mouth, just stop the feed, sit bb upright &amp; burp him. bb can then catch their breath &amp; the blue-ish will start to disappear. let bb rest awhile &amp; continue to feed.

Definitely they WILL outgrow this phase.
as bb grows, his major organs become stronger &amp; it will be easier for bb to coordinate everything.

costa,
i believe it's when bb goes into apnea, then need to inflict pain on their soles to wake them up. Sole is where the most senses can be felt by bb, so it's not tickle but like slapping hard so that bb feels pain &amp; will open mouth to cry, thus the breathing.

jolene,
not to worry abt wat to ask. it's ur perogative to question anything re bb.. don't forget.. U ARE THE MOMMY!

puppyduppy,
u are right...the nurses say the same thing..preemies may forget to breathe and have to tickle their leg..watch their chest movement
but most importantly, the nurses told me try not to put them chest down although they do that in hosp cos they may turn whole face down...
They do that in hosp bec they hv monitors, at home, dun do that....although some pple do put their bbs chest down...

there are parents who rather not know too much to avoid confusing themselves or adding stress.
they simply leave it to the capable hands of the professionals.

but guess most of us here are the exact opposite. we look for answers everywhere &amp; anywhere.

like wat puppyduppy said, asking the small details is our way of knowing wat bb's up to... just as u wud be observing bb when he's home.

yvonne,
thats what the nurses said, their breathing and drinking coordinating efforts will improve thru time...

abt the tickling thg, coming to tink abt it..the foot has the nerve endings and stimulating it wld wake up the baby...just like foot reflexology for us..

tink every preemie is really different, huh...the sets of pblems and challenges are really vy different for each preemie

...you are right..manz..we gotta right to ask watever we dun noe

recently, seems to be got new patients again..the mee sees said that dun noe why year end got alot...nicu not onli for preemies but for those wif other pblems as well..vy sad to see them but really hope that they improve by leaps and bounds...

yvonne,
thats what the nurses said, their breathing and drinking coordinating efforts will improve thru time...

abt the tickling thg, coming to tink abt it..the foot has the nerve endings and stimulating it wld wake up the baby...just like foot reflexology for us..

tink every preemie is really different, huh...the sets of pblems and challenges are really vy different for each preemie

...you are right..manz..we gotta right to ask watever we dun noe

recently, seems to be got new patients again..the mee sees said that dun noe why year end got alot...nicu not onli for preemies but for those wif other pblems as well..vy sad to see them but really hope that they improve by leaps and bounds...

oh yah...i also ask nurse if its safe to put baby chest down..cos everyone was saying cannot do that...very dangerous..but like wat u said costa, they have monitors to check...

costa,

more bb born these 2 years, probably a result of the improved govt subsidized package, so it also seems like more premmies &amp; bbs with problems. maybe it's the high stress levels in society...

totally agree with u that every premmie is unique although they go thru similar phases &amp; problems.

i'll try to drop-by NICU at the next checkup. the nurses/neonat are always happy to see how the "graduates" are doing.

yvonne,
its really cham because the bbs are micro minis and i heard the nurses say that there had even been cases where the bb was abandoned..when born preemie...and they hv to refer the bb to couples who want to adopt..

you are right, the nurses love to look at the graduates...and oso, they say that smtimes the preemies can remember the mee see uniform and cry..but when the mee sees wear "outside clothes", the preemies wun cry..ha ha...

I was really angry wif my father in law yesterday when I learnt what questions he ask the doc.Usually he will visit the bb alone &amp; most of the time we are not there.Guess what?He ask the doc abt my bb IQ!Then he compare other babies' performance on the bottle feed with my baby.But he dare not let me know what he had asked.&amp; still call my hubby wat doc hv told him.

costa,
yeah, really heartache to see the really small ones &amp; my heart always goes out to the parents who are starting on the journey.

it's true! my boy recognises 1 particular nurse who was very "fierce" with him back then. he's all smiles when he sees her.

puppyduppy,
definitely our bbs can recognise our voices, they can differentiatte which voice is mommy's among the limited visitors they get.
that's why u must talk to yr bb even when she's asleep, she can hear &amp; it's soothing, make her feel secure that she's not alone.

eyesight will take awhile more to develop. for now, it's blurry &amp; only see the outline, like yr head against the bright lit background.

jolene,

don't be angry. ur FIL is also concern abt bb but did it differently. he's likely confused being premature with diability.

it's very natural for human to compare... ren bi ren hui qi xi ren... my MIL always compare, even till today.
1 moment abt built &amp; size, next is amt of milk &amp; food and even abt sleeping hours. there's no end to it.

yvonne,
thats what i thought..cos when we visit her..i will say "mommy's here" she will open her eyes and look around when she is sleeping...

does ur babys eyes wander around? like cannot focus that kind of look....my babys eyes will move all over the place..sometimes look up and down..sometimes will roll back...

yvonne,
ha ha, now i got a real life example of a graduate bb who can recognise nurses...heh heh..

the eyesight indeed will be developed later

puppyduppy,
the bbs eyes will be lidat, one at the beginning, like cannot focused and oso it will roll back, up and down...i asked the docs before, they said its common, dun worry...

puppyduppy,

i can't recall noticing the wandering eyes.
cud she be trying to find something to focus on? perhaps other mommies are in better position to enlighten.

costa,
thanks..at least its common in babies...

cant wait to cuddle and carry my bb later on...the highlight of the day is carrying her...:>

puppyduppy,
u are welcome...
hope it helped to address yr queries..

me oso cant wait to finish work...

gals,
does all premature babies cry softly or loud?Once I heard my boi cry softly for a short while,then yesterday he cry very loud when he is hungry.First time hearing his loud scream!

jolene,
my boy is known to be 1 of the loudest during his stay.
actually, something that really puzzled me till now... how &amp; why did the weak lungs assist in the loud cries but not with the initial breathing efforts???
even the neonat can't answer it.

good morning, everybody...

puppyduppy,
yup, went to see my kid yterday...
yterday was in a stressed mood and maybe my kiddo oso knew and when i fed him, he refused to drink properly...

then later, the nurse fed him although he still made noise..

hows yr gal? did you see her yterday?