Premature babies support group

wow how i wish i would actually need to buy an extra fridge to store BM...that means my MS is alot..now can barely fill till 1 oz...sigh...

costa,
do all premmies need to do MRI?

hi EBM mummies,

ya...a fridge is a must. we did not get the bar fridge as it has no ability to froze the BM. so we bought the 2 door fridge...

yes, like what telly say, supply can increase with diligent pumping..

costa & puppyduppy,

i just remembered that my baby also had a brain scan. (motherhood has seriously depleted my brain cells!! i need a brain scan - not my baby!)

i think it's part of the procedure. so, don't worry!

telly,
my boy got ivh bleeding in brain of grade three and an mri will show in more detail on wat extent the damage is done although nothg can improve the situation

puppyduppy,
not all babies wld need an mri...actually my boi's mri was scheduled for next year but suddenly it was brot forward..

Oso, the point to note by the doctors was that if we get it done during his hospital stay, it can be in our bill and deducted from medisave..If we do as an outpatient thingy, then it may or cannot be deducted from medisave...

its not cheap at least not a three figure sum...

puppyduppy,
dun worry.....yr baby may not need mri....so relax....

i just called the business office, they told me my son's mri was actually $4900 plus but after government subsidy is $483 there about...so guess the subsidy did come in useful....

but dun worry.....wat my kiddo had gone thru is wat other kiddo wld not go thru...

hi costa,

my boy also had his mri done last week...keke. i dare not call my business office for any bill update...when the time come for money...then i see how la :p cannot worry so much...

wow...soon can go play with my boy liao hehe

Costa
wow the scan is so ex! luckily got govt subsidy.will check with the doc if my bb needs the MRI.

the bill for my bb is really going to alot...i also dont dare think of how much it will cost...was deciding if i should transfer my girl to kkh, cos i think it would be cheaper the Mt e...but still undecided..not to keen on moving her here and there...

hi costa....erh...i think that was MRI result ler... (opps...did i make a mistake....)....

hi puppydupy...perhaps you wish to check with the doc about your bb progress before deciding on transfering...

puppyduppy,
i oso din noe it can be so expensive...for bb, the mri needs to be very very detailed...

as to how much mt e bill wld cost..maybe u can call the mt e business office to ask..in any case, your bb may not need the mri so dun worry.....dun ask your doc first...

telly,
tink the list of pblems that my kid has oso includes ivh grade 3..so please help me to add it in...

Jane, costa

will see how it goes regarding MRI.
my hub also dont wanna shift bb cos he say since all the nurses and doc know her condition, safer to leave her at Mt e.....

puppyduppy.

dun tink so much about doing a scan when you may not even need it, right?dun worry too much unnecessarily..

whether which hosp to go to is up to you? the most important thing is you hv to be comfortable wif the hosp, doctors, environment, correct?

ya, as what costa say...utmost important is the comfort... sometime money is not not everything.

really cannot worry too much sometime...just relax, always encourage our bb..

puppyduppy n costa, send my hug and love to your kid ;-)

yeah, jane..

hugz hugz yr boi boi for me too.....

puppyduppy,
like wat jane n me always say..take a day at a time...

yes...a day at a time is the way to over come everything. the day will come when our bb goes home...with our will and encourage :)!!

smile at your baby with a cheerful heart. they will feel it one... (that day i was so silly to break down and cry at my bb cot - when i see the tube..now think it over, haiz...i was silly keke)

costa, puppyduppy - smile okie

jane,
actually its not silly lah...who doesnt cry?
i remember i din cry the first day i saw my bb at nicu but later on almost everytime when i was there, i wld cry...

even one of the nurses oso said the nicu is a place of tears....

puppyduppy,
one day you wld realise that everythg wasnt so bad afterall...smtimes the docs/nurses hv to tell the bad news to us incase we blame them if it happens but most of the time..they are also making an educated guess and not all bad thgs turn out to be true..rather the good thgs wld turn up...

keep our chins up....we learn more when we go thru difficulties in life...

Dear Costa,

I cried the day she was born. I also cried when I saw her hooked up in the NICU. Everyday I cry whenever I see her.

When she was in KKH for UTI, I cried the moment the doc said she needs to be admitted. All the thoughts of NICU days came back to me. I cried the most when the incompetent doc poked soooo many holes into her legs just to put her in the drip. Then the idiot can tell me she's too fat!!!

Last week, our PD said that my DD had abnormal kidneys. She had 2 right kidneys and one left one. And all her kidneys had refux problem, I cried like nobodies business.

I seriously dunno when I'll stop this crying business.

Motherhood is very tough for me.

hi stress,

me too cried almost everyday during confinement..but after that, i somehow (some way) manage to glue myself up and never shed a tears (since the day i know that bb can feel our feelings)... but last sunday i was.... hmm, lets be strong and encourage each other on. our baby will eventually outgrown everything and be ok...they are fighter remember....

i hate the thought of them poking at my bb too...i be very fierce when they did it incorrectly.

stress...don't be tense. nothing too tough really. just take a day at a time. your DD be ok one.

give u a pat on your shoulder...you are already doing very well. don't stress yourself.

stressed,

smtimes i oso wonder why thgs are bad for me as well..but i guess we hv to accept thgs as they are...

talk to you 2mr..cheonging to my second home to meet jane..hehheh

think....there is no point in wondering. walk out of the shadow and let the light come in...

put it this way, like costa say, we grow and learn from going through various experience...

ya ya. me too going off soon to cheer my boy up and also shall try to bottle feed him (got chance shall latch him on). shall peek and see if i can winkle at costa later hehe (then i send a flying kiss to her boy).

ladies... tonight sleep well. rest is very important.

hey ladies,

we all have to stay strong and be positive for our bbs...when we are strong..we can be strong and look after bbs when they come home.

costa
u are right on that, they have to tell us if there is any bad news cos as parents we are always very anxious about our bbs...more so when they are premmies

puppyduppy,
dun think ur dd need mri as PD didn't say so. he's the type :if there's anything he'll let u know. if he didn't say so, then i think ur bb is ok.
ya, u can call Mt E cashier to check ur bill. n i think level1 is not ex. ofr me we oso ever consider trasfer. but after knowing the charge of level 1, we drop the decision.

Went to see my girl yest..she seems to be having abit of mucus in her nose, and abit in her lungs,they are giving her nose drops. hope she is ok. so worried now...

irenelovej,
i hope so, so far he didnt say anything.

today will be the 1 month since i delivered....

puppyduppy,
i saw ur email to me, but i was in a hurry tat day n accidentally delete the mail before i reply to u.so sorry...
my mail address is : [email protected]. pls send me a note for replying to chat abt the nurses, since ur profile choosen is do not accept PM.

jane,
harlo,glad to see you ytday...was talking to my fren and was telling her Stressed's advice..on pumping bm and guess wat..

my fren said stressed's advice is very good...and she managed to pump more..

stressed, thanks for your advice..at least one person has benefited from it...

puppyduppy,
dun worry, the doctors wld noe wat to do abt the mucus..tink they wld either get it sucked out or use nose drops

anythg you wanna noe, u can drop a note here so that we can share wif you wat we noe...

it's really good to read how all of u are encouraging & hearing each other out.

all ur little fighters will do very well!

irenelovej,
sent you an email already....thought you didnt receive the last message as i didnt know if i sent it correctly :p

costa,
i really hope she is ok. you saw your boy yest? how is he?

sorry but this is out of the topic but want to ask all about c sec? did most of you have csec? when did u all start wearing skirts/pants, cos im scared tat the skirts/pants would touch the scar....

yvonne,

harlo, hows yr boi boi?yeah, glad to hv tis thread to learn more fm each other...

puppyduppy,

my boi ok, later will go to kkh and talk to doctor abt mri result...

me went for natural delivery becuz bb was small and it was an emergency,,perhaps when yr gynae sees you for the post 6 week check up..u can ask..

tink the scar wld have healed already??

costa,
mine was emergency csec...actually opted for natural but gynae said cant.seeing my gynae next week, will ask about scar :>

puppyduppy,

yeah, guess the gynae can help answer yr queries..oso you can ask him/her for medication to increase bm..

tis medication normally prescribed is to stimulate the brain to produce more bm...Its safe even though it passed thru bm to yr baby...

BUT you STILL need to express religiously every three hourly or ask him if he has any advice or tell u how to get appt wif a lactation consultant....if you are vy keen on bfding...

hey costa,

thanks, he's doing very well... blab-singing alot lately & walking more steadily (at times running) with little support.

he's due for next physio & neonat checkup in mid Dec & am planning to ask neonat for green light to do his MMR jab.

how's ur fighter doing? any update on his ROP & bleeding?

reading the recent posts really made me feel like some 'old bird' who's losing touch with the premmie issues... think my memory failing liao; forgetting the finer details of the beginning path.
but am really glad that all the mummies are so supportive of each other.

puppy,
mine is also emergency c-sect.I started wearing my pants/skirts 2 weeks aft my delivery.But I do wear the binder so that tummy won't feel so sagged.

Today,I will be going to see my bb & nurse will teach me how to bathe him.Hope to learn how to bottle feed him also.Btw,my bb is on FM.

yvonne,

tink you can be the zhang3 men3 ren2 (leader) of tis board..as yr boi boi graduated last year....

of cse you wld forget the finer details lah..dun say you, i myself oso forgot some of the earlier stuff...not old bird lah (reminds me that xmas is coming) but rather the term lao3 lian4 (experienced) wld be a better description, ha ha

I din forget my endless crying though at the earlier stage..

rop slowly on its own regressing...doc not dg anything and bleeding (will see doc later) and find out more.....

evyday vy busy, dun noe wif wat oso....like cheong here cheong there and dem stressed....trying to get my son ready for pri one is a headache....

u clarified yr doubts on the mmr for your boi boi wif your doc already?

Hi Costa,

Glad to be of any help.

For me, if I didn't pump for a good 6 hours and my boobs are like super engorged, i'll even do an extra 10 + 10. Just to make sure I drain it well to get the hindmilk.

My poor boobies are so overworked! :/

Stressed,

Thanks, man....my fren was really frust wif her bfding attempts and nearly wanted to ask for xian1 dan1 fm the gynae......and she said tis helped...

the following is her message to me last nite:

Dis new zhao you taught me largi tekong. Nw 1 10 min pump 15ml.U can be lactation guru...

ha ha...told her its not my zhao though...i wld not tink of such a smart idea...

costa,

my butt not big enuf to sit on the big chair lah. just happen that my boy cheated & arrived early nia.
yeah, lao lian is sound more pro.. hee

how to forget all that crying, man... my eyes were perpectually red & puffy, like a tap... easily turn on but not tightly turn off - always dripping.

every now & then, i still browse the pic taken then to remind myself not to take everything for granted, esp family.

come to think of it, yes, it was a very busy period for me too. like a headless chicken run july hor? it kind of peaks when bb is abt to be home.
u're probably getting peak of the peaks with the pri 1 thingy as well. must take care ah.

do keep me updated of the MRI review, ya?

so far, PD says no prob with the MMR but i just kiasi & want the neonat's view too cos he's yet to eat full eggs (read it's 1 of the "criteria" to know if he'll be allergic to MMR jab or something like that lah...)
aiya, just my excuse for being super lazy.

jolene,
i stopped wearing the binder when the stitches were taken out...felt so uncomfy and hot with it.till now i dont dare wear pants/ skirts, cos i scared it will snag the wound or something..being very kiasu here..haha...

costa
the PD gave me some meds to take to increase BM, but still not alot like all of you. will ask gynae for more meds when i see her.am pumping religously every 3 hours..if not breast wil be super engorged

yvonne,

just came back from seeing doc at kkh...the doc said anytime can go home...i tink maybe next week lah..when he has more improvement over drinking..

oso, got to get my boi ready for pri one..super busy...really like a headless chicken.....

really my eyes are like tap..and tears like running water...really cant take anythg for granted...

so if yr boi can take eggs, means better to take mmr jab is it..

puppyduppy,

if you feel engorged, that means you got milk..so keep it up, ok.....and try the method that stressed taught..

loggining on reading the threads make me feel, there is so much i need to know...

ya, think will need some pretty good advise from yvonne.

still smiling and looking forward to playing with my boy tonite.

hope everyone in good mood today..and good news coming for everyone.

costa - take care.. so happy to know your boy cld be gg home by next week. i am sure u be able to cope..

puddyduppy - mine was natural too..so sorry, cannot share much about c-sect. but i see the other ladies are providing much advise :) reading all that makes me learn more too. hey, try not to 'use' too much meds just to increase BM...its no good. continue pumping is really the way to good supply... jia you. you have our full support.

harlo, jane,
yeah, i hope i can manage...the nurse just reminded me after my kid goes back hor,dun be so blur until after work, go kkh which is my daily habit..

tink im gg to miss the place..just now my boi's galfren came back wif her mum..(my boi's old neighbour).her progress was vy good and she went back although her edd supposed to be only next month...

hope that yr boi boi will gv you a surprise tonite...

the nurse/speech pple will advise on wat teat to use etc so dun worry...

my boi still has to go for mri in a few mths time but i guess i will take one day at a time...dun over stress..the doc told me to relax..but dun tink i can ever relax....

costa,
yeah your boy can go home already!happy for you!how heavy is your boy now?
thanks for the encouragement about bfeeding, will keep pumping :>

jane,
yah i learn alot after joining this forum.thanks for your support too:>

puppyduppy,
my boi is about 4.5 kg thereabouts..now i noe you sure ask for the weight everyday..i hv been thru the same route as you..but when evythg stabilises..tis wun be so impt anymore..u wld reach tis stage soon

just take note of her progress and talk to the docs...take her progress wk by wk..last time i used to be so worried, when bb din put on weight or put on alot in one day and then none or lose weight..the nurse always told me look at things from a week's perspective..it wld make u better...true enough, the progress report sounds better and as i said...some bbs go back before their actual edd.....

costa,
yah you are right. i ask about her weight everyday. and if she never put on at all, im so worried for the whole day.cos PD say she has to put on abit of weight everyday.plus she drinking mostly bmilk...so he say wont put on that much in the beginning cos bmilk is diluted not like FM...

hi costa and puppyduppy

my boi actuall edd is today...if he was able to go home on last mondy then hehe :p. but i am as what costa say, better let the doc be certain that he is ready then bring him back lor...easy to care for too.

puppyduppy - we really been through what you are going through. so anythng just say it out to us...we totally understand. about the weight hehe, ya, me too used to everyday ask haha...

cheers to the day! yeah....

i also keep asking nurse "issit painful that the tube is perpetually in my bbs mouth?", until they get cheezed off,if it was me i would be so irritated.... cos she seems to be very irritated with the tube.

now my girl learning to suck pacifier..she will suck awhile then seem to fall asleep, then continue sucking....but havent learn to coordinate sucking and breathing, so still gotto be tube fed.

hi costa,

gong xi, gong xi! the wait is finally over!

yes, u're very right abt taking a day at a time. no point worrying abt the follow-ups. personally, follow-ups are good way to keep track of bb's progress.

hi jane,

i'm no expert but definitely willing to share any limited info i can recall.

1 thing for sure is that all of us hv threaded the worst part of the journey & it will get easier as we go along.

costa,
congrate. finally ur bb goes home.

puppyduppy,
i went thro elective c-section (w epidural , so brave
). wear pants on the discharge day, but no the zip type one (those track pants is better). after confinement wear jeans liao. juz hav to be a bit careful when u wear the jeans lor, dun tear the wound. Who's ur gynae? Mine one oso said cannot do natural delivery coz bb is too small to 'tahan' for the long labour period. but since some moms here can go natural with a even smaller bb, now i wonder how true is my gynae...

puppyduppy,

we understand yr feelings..we hv been thru tis many times.......i also kept asking the nurses if it was painful and when he was put on cpac, i actually broke down and cried although the nurse said that he was actually improving....

dun wori abt the pacifier as long as they put some cotton wool to stuff it and the bb not sucking air.....it helps when they learn to suck and swallow and breathe next time...

i was shocked last time when i saw it as i tot pacifier no good but later the nurses explained to me....

dun worry when you see secretions near the mouth..the nurses had told me that the baby cannot coordinate the swallowing and the secretions wld just be at the mouth..its no harm

puppyduppy,

just ask us anythg you wanna noe and we wld help you....
wat you can do to help and feel more involved is perhaps to hold the tube whilst she feeds....can also learn smthg and talk to your babe....at the same time

yvonne,

thanks, i hope that i can manage becuz the nurse yterday told me to come back to demo bathing today again becuz yterday i had a stressed day and cldnt concentrate last nite.BUT i bedek her saying i noe already ha ha......and not cmg back today

i need to spend more time wif my elder boy..feel that i had been neglecting him oso recently.so tonite better spend more time wif him...

irenelovej,
thanks, just hope that i can manage

irenelovej,
u so brave to choose epi..i told gynae no need to choose cos you know im a chicken..put me on GA!
wah wear jeans after confinement...i dont even dare to wear those drawstring pants leh..cos i scared it touches the wound..my tummy is still numb so have this weird feeling when i touch it..
my gynae is Dr Selina Chua, she is really good.she also told me that i cant have natural cos it will be too traumatic for bb.

Costa,
thanks..apologise if some of my questions seem quite dumb...like i very suaku....yup i will always talk to her when i see her..tell her dont waste mummy bmilk cos its very precious..haha