Premature babies support group

xiaowanzi,
how old is yr boy? HX when learn how to walk, he just dare it out and kept on falling down till face blue black but he still tried and tried. do encourge yr boy and he felt more confident.

berryfarmer,
when the bb is below 1 yr old, the doc always count their non-correct age. but after one yr, the doc kept telling me to forget the GA and count fr the day where bb is born loh...that's time I was also super confused. when I told my fren the non-correct age, they just laugh and say dun think of the non-correct age lah.

Hi Berry,

Full term is 40 weeks so Ryan is early by 11 weeks. By the time Ryan reach 40 weeks, his CA is consider new born. Anyway, CA is use for development assessment eg. gross & fine motor skill, physical growth etc. My princess can't even catch up with the growth assessment as her weight and height is way way below lowest 3%.

Hi David,
Paige passed both her hearing tests, so i assume her hearin is ok but i do realise she is a bit slow in her speech. Just have to monitor ba, but teachers in childcare said nt to worry.

Shellow
Yes, I agree with the cc teachers, don't worry, speech will definitely come, it is a matter of time. My girl's speech come only at about 3 years plus. Now, she is bilingual liao .... Praise GOD!

PS: Paige is very sweet!

hi all, have been reading silently reading..

welcome all new mommies...

hi to old friends!

david, shellow, jas, nice pics of the kids...

shellow, i got the headband for kate too..but she does not like it....

Have u all felt like the journey seems sooo long and slow. Emma and Ethan in NICU for about 6 weeks now, seems like a never ending road, cannot see the light at the end of the tunnel.
Their current updates: Emma is doing better, gaining very little weight each day, making it to 1.1kg (FINALLY!). Otherwise, there seems to be no other progress. She's on CPAP, so they are monitoring her and see if she can go on cycling, but that should be next week if she continues her good progress.

Her brother Ethan, HAIZ....his lungs are weak and has infection on right lungs. So far, he is on CPAP and is just monitoring. Quite frustrated, also dunno frustrated with wat..maybe it's the slow progress, maybe it's the NO updates. Weight is hovering about 850g-870g, going up and down...

Hope that next week we will get more progress as they grow bigger...

Hi Keann, I can understand how you are feeling now. I felt tired of travelling to visit my boy at some point of time. Happened twice. After many weeks in ICU, I felt hopeful when they told me that they were moving him to the HD ward. I cried my way to the ward that day. Happy tears. Then it was a few weeks of travelling again. Felt tired again. And the doctor came to say that my boy is likely to go home with the oxygen machine (ventilator?). Hopeful again when I hear "home". But was sad knowing that he is going to be dependent on that machine. Many restrictions.
Glad to know that Emma is growing. Lung infection seems common. My boy got it a few times. Weight will go down when there is an infection. We can only pray for their recovery. Look forward to their next achievement, no matter how small it is. I hope the nurse at KK (?) are nice. You can talk to them if you are feeling down. Make friends with other mothers there.
My boy is in SGH. Born on 30 Apr at 26 week. The nurses at SGH are great.
Cheer up!

David
Yes, my husband named the little baby "David" as he is a great warrior in the bible.

Jas
Thank you for advising regarding ebm. I have been adding the extra to my elder son. At first he noticed the difference but now he has gotten used to it. Yeah! This will help to clear the stock, slowly. But will mixing frozen and fresh bm for infants ok? I got headache now cos the freezer is full to the brim and yet baby is still in hospital. Hai.

I bought adult and kid masks and hand sanitizer and decided to be KS. Haha. No choice since baby is going home with the oxygen machine. Really have to limit visitors. And grounded for a few months. Gosh!

David, thanks for the formula. Looks like I may be giving quite a big for my little one, he is now 3.5kg and drinks 85mls every 3 to 4 hourly... but he finishes all and sometimes still cry for milk less than 3hrs. Thank GOD, he has also catch up on normal weight compared to a full term newborn bb (he'll be 40wks or consider a newborn bb tomorrow).

Nikki, how is little Luke and how are you coping?

Berrybaby, thanks for asking abt Luke.
He is coping well. He feeds well with every increment of milk (except for early morning feeds when he is just so sleepy, he take really long to finish). He screams every time its near feeding time...without fail; and every time he dirties himeself.

Am unsure abt the amt of milk to add as well. The last time we were at the PD's a week plus ago (he weighed 2.5kg), we were told to increase to 60ml by the last weekend and then add 10-15ml every 2-4 days. He is already at 75ml and not sure if thats Ok or too much for him. We are not even sure abt his weight now...until we hv our next PD visit; so how to decide how much more ml to add? If according to David's formula, I think we are feeding our boys a little too much.

Hows little Ryan doing? Sounds like he takes his feeds well and wants more. That's a good sign. Plus he is growing well.
Our premies will soon catch up with the normal full term babies. In fact, when I last brought Luke to the PD's, he looked like any other new born at the clinic (no one would know that he was a premie).

I need advice on whether and how much I shld increase my baby's milk feed.

2 weeks back when we went to see his PD, we were told we can increase 10-15ml every 2-4 days. Since then, I only dared to increase by 15ml. He is now on 75ml (his weight 2 weeks back when measured at the clinic was 2.5kg. I assume he has put on more weight since but I will not know for sure till we see his PD again in another week+).
Should i increase to 90ml now(not really knowing his weight)? Is there such thing as over-feeding? I don't wish to stress his stomach by over-feeding. I was advised my a friend that it is no harm increasing, provided he can finish and he may just sleep longer after a full full feed. Hmmmmm....

Any advice please.

Hi Nikki,

There is no such thing as over-feeding. Babies actually know when to stop when they are full. Before my baby went home (he was 2.2kg), he was on 55ml 3 hourly feed, but after we got back, he went up to 90ml every 4 hours. We just gave him...until he stopped drinking. He grew really well.

It's the same as when you do breastfeeding, there is no measurement, baby will jsut drink and drink until he is full , then he will stop...
so dont worry...please increase!

shelllow
i think paige looks great and is doing well in her speech. i know so many other kids who can't even talk at 2yo, and have difficulties even at 4yo!! my boy only more or less started catching up in speech at 2.5yo also..now still only catching the last word of songs. So, well done on ur part and childcare part!

Re: insurance
for mummies thinking of getting insurance, my boy managed to get through Aviva. they are a bit more costly. I am not sure if they will approve when your premie is still very young, but for my case, my boy apply at 2yo and got it. He was born 27+5, discharged with all complications resolved, except came back for hernia. For myself, i have some health problems declared, but they still cover without loading. except have to pay about 100-200 more per yr. FYI if u are keen.

cindy,
take heart. the day for home-coming is soon. once that day comes, u will never look back hosp days
not ez to be ftwm with a premie, so kudos to u!

Hi Jas, thanks for replying.
I did an increase today...it took him a lot longer to finish but he finished (partly cos he fall asleep). it can be hard to tell if he wants to stop when he also wants to sleep.
You are right...if he is full, he will let me know some how...like rejecting the bottle with his mouth.

I will worry less and increase accordingly...

Greetings!

My name is Kim and I almost had to deliver my boy at 33weeks when nothing was prepared.

Now I help clothe the babies that arrive unexpected early and take away the storage problem when the baby out-grew these clothes.
I.e., I rent these small size clothes at a very low rate as compared to retails.

Find me at http://picasaweb.google.com/101477561525358586890/BabiesBreath20100701#
As this is a newly set up business, all the clothes in the website are currently brand new.

I wish all babies here health and happiness, most importantly appropriately clothe and stay warm.

Sincerely,
Kim

Hi Nikki, glad to hear that Luke is doing well, how many weeks is he now? Re feeding, most importantly bb must b able to keep feeds down. Makes no sense if we increase to 100 or more n each time he vomits out after that, especially Ryan does have a bit of reflux n would occassionally throw out milk aft feeding. He's now doing abt 95 every 3 to 4hr n weighs abt 3.7kg. Dr tan says to increase to 100ml only when he's 4kg. Btw, Ryan is just recovering fr a mild episode of RSV, thank GOD he's ok after 5 days of neberlizer treatment at home. So do take care n keep him away fr any potential source of infection. I had to make my hubby sleep in the other room because he caught a cold too... No more chances

Hi Berrybaby, Luke is now 39 weeks. The weeks fly by so fast...
How many weeks is Ryan now?

Luke does occassionally vomit out his milk especially when he does not burp well. I get so worried when it happens. thank goodness...we are around when it happens so that we can clean up etc. And he will turn his head so that milk flows out by the side and not back into his mouth.

Agree with you...no pt increasing if he cannot digest. He is now on 90ml and he does finish it most of the time except for a few incidents whereby he vomits after or refuses to finish up. We have yet to check his weight (shld be over 3kg now)...
do you weigh Ryan at home or at the clinic? I wished i had one of those baby weighing machines here so that don't have to wait till the next appt to weigh him at clinic.

Am glad to hear Ryan is recovering...What exactly is RSV? Like a cold? And what is neberlizer treatment? Hope the treatment was not "painful" for him.
Has Ryan done his vaccinations like BCG, 6-in-1 etc.?

I am fearful of any potential bugs/virus etc. that is why i limit visitors to just immediate family members and do not bring him out unless for medical appointments. I do long for the day I can bring him out kai kai without such fear...but guess I will have to be patient till I am sure he is Ok to go out. Have you brought Ryan out anywhere?

Hi Nikki, glad to know Luke is doing well on his feeding. Ryan is now 41.5 weeks n last Tuesday he weighed 3.8kg at the clinic, I believe he shd b abt 4kg now. I weigh him at home too, just carrying him n weigh together then minus yr own weight, not very accurate but gives u a guide abt his weight gain. He did his BCG before discharge at wk 35kg n his 6 in 1 abut wk 39. According to dr Tan, WHO says vaccination need not b corrected age so I went ahead with jabs n he was ok. RSV is respiratory synical virus which is like normal cough n cold but may turn nasty into pneumonia n is especially dangerous for premies n expremies. I've also confine him since discharge only going for appt n dropping by my mum's pl after that to pick my older boy. Kai Kai is definitely No No at this stage. We did not even go back to my in laws pl for dinner but may do so next month onwards. Any aircon n crowded pl is out till he's at least 6 months... He's just too precious n we can't afford to take any chance . PS. Neberlizer is using compressed air to vaporize some medication like ventolin to openairways n dissolve phlegm used for coughs n asthmatic pp

<font color="119911">berrybaby</font>,
my boy also confine at home till 5mth.we only took him to in laws plc fr 5mth onwards every 2 wks (twice per mth) if not he always confine at hm. my gar more jialat last time, only 6mth onwards then go shopping mall.

Hi xbliss, thanks for your encouragement!

May I happily announce to all: My baby David is discharged as of last Friday! Yeah! No more travelling to SGH. But taking care of him at home is even more siong. I am sure many of us here will feel likewise. He had two hernia problems, and is now on the oxygen concentrator. Brought home some multi vits, iron supplement and inhaler. Feeding him more milk as he seems always hungry. Wonder how he survived in the hospital with only 45ml every 3 hour when he is drinking abt 60ml and is hungry again before the 3rd hr.

For all mommies with babies still in ICU, be patient. My wait was a long 91 days.

Have been busy busy busy since baby's return. But will definitely pop by whenever I am free.

hello afcai, gingal &amp; david...

long time didnt log in...
time flies. my baby already turn 18mths CA...

looking for good PDs... any recommendation?

wiseharmony,
yeah, we almost 'forgotten' abt u.:p. my stubbon ox will also be turning ca 18MTH next mth. for me, we dun go PDs. but heard fr one of the forum mum that this PD at Clementi blk 431 is gd.

i have a good pd to recommend. Dr Oh Meng Choo from Kids Clinic at Bishan. Lovely lady. Add is Blk 116 Bishan St.12 #01-28. Tel 63568909. Nate has been coughing and she has been quite good in treating him. Knowing that he is a premmie, she tries to give him lesser amount of dosage but still effective nonetheless. One downside is she is rather expensive!! Seeing her each time sets me back by S$100 or so. But then I am so familiar with her liao, so might as well just stick to her.

Hi afcai &amp; lilac,

thanks for the info...

used to bring my bb to normal GP, but some of them dare not see her... and one of the PDs which we visit always give strong dose. so thot of seeking second opinion...

lilac, PDs are usual ex. on average my PDs chrg me abv $100 per visit. .. luckily some can PDs can used baby bonus.

anyone else got good PDs to recommend?

where are you staying?
if sengkang, dr lilian lim at kids clinic is good. both my kids seeing her, she is patience, and detailed.

<font color="119911">WH</font>,
wow, $100 per visit. that's ex. think neo-natal doc at kkh much compare to PD much cheaper liao.

Hi kkf,
Do u hv to make appt everytime u see dr Lilian Lim?
Wanted to bring bb to kids clinic the other day but nurse said must make appt, pd fully booked for that day. Also, are the charges at kids clinic expensive?

Hi kkf,

am staying ard CCK area. every morning baby goes to mom hse at WL. Heard of Dr lilian lim. but kinda out of the way.

Yeah. afcai the PD is not only ex. but at time the dose is high. so am trying to seek another PDs.

Hi, My son's PD is Dr Terence Tan, his clinic at Mt A, u can call to register then they'll call u when yr turn is near. Charge abt 100 for first consultation, subsequent abt 80, but he's real patient, btw, he's also specialized in respiratory medicine

hi maple, yes, the charges are rather ex. about 100 plus everytime we went. but the padetrician is very nice, and detailed so we stick to her.
no need to make appointment, but if without appointment, you have to go queue up very early, as early as 745am to be the first, of before the centre opens at 9am to be one of the first few, else they will not accept anymore patients.

Hi kkf,

oic. No wonder. That day my hb went there at abt 12 pm +/- (cant recall the exact timing). Nurse told him pd is fully booked for the day and has a long list of patients waiting, also told him must make appt b4 10 am. Now after what u mentioned, i think she meant must go there early to register, else they will not accept anymore patients.

So he went to Kidslink at blk 237 instead. Just our luck that Kidslink is not opened in the afternoon that day. They are closing soon for the morning session and still has quite a number of patients waiting so is unable to take us in.
Btw, anyone has any feedback on Kidslink?

Hi berrybaby,

thanks for the info. heard of this PDs. very famous and long Q... (^_^)

hi kkf,
which formula is your BB on? i just switch mine to goat's milk. ytd bght her for review, they wanna me to switch back to pediasure due to her slow weight gain.

<font color="119911">WH</font>,
ppls said that kidlink at CCK also gd mah.hmm..why u want to give bb goat milk?

I got feedback that Dr Helena is gd. she is at the 24hrs clinic at CCK interchange or where woody is. She's there only on weekdays morning that's 715am - 12pm. After which she will go back to look after her kids.

Hi Cindy,

Congratulation. David is finally home. Have fun.

Hi WH,

Dr. Lim Kwang Hisen of Kinder Clinic is good. He is based on Mt A &amp; Eastshore depending on the day. He was recommended by my brother. He save my nephew life which he suspects my nephew was having a malrotation on day 5th of birth. Indeed, an emergency ops was performed after confirmation from X-ray. He forte is Paediatric Gastroenterology.

Hi WH, both my kids are on gain iq and gain kid. We are supporters of abbott gain series. haha.

Yah, why do you want to give goat's milk?

Hi afcai &amp; kkf,

i understand that goat's milk (am feeding her karihome goat milk) has an alkaline reaction the same as mother's milk and does not does not form mucous (phlegm) and easier to digest.

she is less grouchy and eat more &amp; sleeps better at nite even since she's on goat milk...

Hi everyone..
I have just given birth to my 2nd set of premature twins.. @ 32 weeks..
(my first set were @ 29.5 weeks!)(Boy/Girl)(1.19 &amp; 1.21kg)

They are 2 boys and were born weighing 1.37 &amp; 1.42 kg. I started to have contractions about 2 weeks ago and so was given the steroid jabs, was hoping to hold them inside for another month...but they had other ideas! My water broke on Monday morning, and by Monday evening they were out!

So now I am back in the NICU daily... it's complete deja vu to my first pregnancy. But hopefully this time the babies won't be in so long.(first time 7 weeks) They are breathing on their own,and milk intake is increasing daily, so that's promising, and they should only be in here for a month or until they reach 2 kg.

It's harder this time around as I have two children at home (3.5yrs),so can't spend as much time in the NICU as before, also the kids don't understand why their baby brothers cannot come home from the hospital yet. It's sad,.as they are so excited to see them.

I am being discharged this evening, and I know its going to break my heart, just as it did the first time to leave the hospital without my babies. I know hormones have a big part to play in being so emotional, but I'm sure other parents feel the same way too..

Am re-assured though that most of the NICU staff are the same as they were before, and the level of care is fantastic.So i am comforted.(to some extent)

I hope everyones preemies are doing well... looking forward to speaking to other parents going through what I am going through.

HI lulu8173,
congrats for yr twins. wow, twins again this time?? take care...I'm sure u have the experience now...dun worries the profession nurses and doctor at NICU will take gd care of the bb.u yrself must take care too.

lilac,

thats a touching story ...

i also gave my boys kangaroo care whenever possible and i believed strongly that it really helps a great deal.

Just waiting for the boys temperature to stabilize... and then will start Kangaroo care. Can't wait! It made a world of difference with my first two, they really started to grow and put on weight well after a bout a week of Kangaroo care.

I have started to read to them ( a story book each-that I began to read to them while they were in my womb!) Every little bit helps!

Sam.. how to cope...hmm... not sure yet! I'm sure we'll cope fine.I have to say, my other 2 are good kids,(don't get me wrong, they still act up!!) But they are generally good.I have a wonderful husband, who is quite hands on- especially on the weekend..(when he's home!), and a great helper. Everyone works well together, so fingers crossed it stays that way once the boys come home!

Hi sam, thanks! received! dash and violet both ok with sambucus. they love the taste. but dash is coughing leh...haha.

carla, really admire you! 4 kids! wow! i have 2 already worry, busy, crazy like dunno what. hee. but i believe your four kiddos are all good babies!