Premature babies support group

aneo
noted. enjoy urself k? come back with pics hor!

yan and Lin
noted. wont get your kite.

shelllow
noted. will get a cute kite.. haven't checked out yet but i will let u know tmr if got cute kites

<font size="+1">Gathering @ Sengkang (Buangkok MRT) for kite flying and pot luck </font>

Venue: Buangkok MRT (those coming by MRT: take the exit on the left once you exit the gantry, those driving can park at compassvale bow along the stretch where the mosque is or just outside the Buangkok Mrt where there is shelter -if outside MRT, u will need to keep watch for TP)
Time: 4pm
Date: 6 March 2010
No. of kites: pls state how many kites u want? (xbliss can source from downstairs shop and order before hand.)
Food: please state type of food bringing (if you can, otherwise, no obligation!)

1. xbliss + husband + bryan (1 kite, 4pm, packet drinks)
2. KKF + hubby + violet + dash (haven't decide what food to bring yet, but will buy, not self made)
3. bloom + kate (1 kite patched n times. Not sure if still can play) OK with any time and date
4. celline + hubby + Jerome (3+yrs) + Megan(5mths) + Helper
(potluck - hubby can cook beehoon + maybe some chicken wings)
5. Tree_Ice + hubby + Craydon &amp; Dexter + Helper (dun mind potluck too)
6. gingal + Jerlynn (no kite, 4-5pm, potluck - tidbits or desserts)
7. shelllow + hubby + paige (1 kite, 4-5pm, i can bake some cookies n cake)
8. 29 weeker + hubby + Jolie(1 kite, 4-5pm, potluck - Fishball/Fried Wanton)
9. yan + ah lao + Yilin(15mth) + Weng(4 yr old) + helper(might be getting our own kite, 4-5pm)

(i've asked fairylander to come along..she can't confirm yet)

List of food and pple buying
1. Packet drinks - xbliss
2. ?? - KKF
3. Beehoon/chicken wings - celline
4. tidbits/dessert - gingal
5. cakes/cookies - shelllow
6. fishball/fried wanton - 29weeker

List of logistics -
1. ground sheets -(buying those thin plastic kind plus got one big poncho alr) - xbliss
2. kites - shelllow (cute kite)
3. paper plates and plastic cutlery - yan (tks yan for offering, i forgot all about it too! lucky you mentioned or we will eat using hands :p)

Wah... So exciting...if only i can go! But my plane leaves @ 130pm on that day!

I wanna meet kkf and shellow! and Jas too but i think she'll be in shanghai already...

hi kaylas mom
where u headed to?? we can always meet up again when u are back.

yan, shelllow, kkf, celline, bloom, and gingal
i have pm-ed you on the gathering in case you don't log on here.

Lin(29weeker) and Tree_ice
you don't accept pm. Lin, pls pm me for my hp can? Tree_ice, you have my hp alr so no worries!

Hi xbliss,
Me going to Macau... wanna use up my BA frequent flyer points before they expire in March!

don't forget to post pics of yr outing on FB!

i not joining u all for gathering . but would like to drop by and say hi to u guys.

xbliss can we exchange contact no. in case i cant find the place.

hi xbliss, my girl is coming to 14mths corrected age. A v petite lady at jus near to 8kg. trying to let her gain more weight by eating porridge but she super fussy eater.

Sori, can't join for the gathering. Jus gave birth to my baby boy so v busy w 2babies.

Hi Tree Ice, read abt u on FEB 2010 mummies as i m one 2. My girl also failed her hearing test once but ultimately passed becos too much earwax. Do stay positive for the next test

Sgal,
have pm-ed you. cya on sat :D

shelllow
sorry i haven't gone to check out the kites downstairs!!! been too busy so OT-ing at work a lot and now zombie liaoz. i will do it tmr.. so sorryyy..

mimylassy,
i see. congrats on #2! 14mths 8 kg not bad! my boy haven't passed 10kg even at 24 months corrected! haha..

I gave birth to a under-33 week preemie recently.
He has been in NICU since, initially requiring oxygen for his lungs over 3 nights. Currently observing him till 35 weeks as he is getting better from chest compressions and breathlessness.

The nursing team has been bottle feeding him for the past week, and he seems to be a milk guzzler (maybe finishing 35ml in about 10-minutes-plus).

I am wondering how he will be able to get used to latching since everytime I express, the milk flow goes by drips and drops instead of mouthfuls (when sucking by the bottle). On average, my current supply by pumping works out to 35ml per 15 minutes.

Will any mommy with similar experience (baby born with under-developed lungs) be able to share with me some tips?
This is my first baby, so I'm not sure what the 'norms' for direct latching are...

Hi Babying

Welcome to our group. Am I correct to say that your boy is no longer on any O2 or CPAP? Is yes, his lung should be fine.

Some of our warriors had been on ventilator and CPAP for sometime which will scar their lungs thus some will be discharge with CLD (Chronic Lung Disease) which my princess is one of them. Being said, even our warrior lungs are scared from the start, they will have 8 years for them to recover. By the time they reach 8 years old, a child lungs is as mature as an adult lungs.

Once your boy is ready for home, keep the dust at home to minimum. Don't place his baby cot near to any curtain. Try to invest in a good air purifier. Clean you hands everytime when your need to cuddle him.

As for latching, sorry could not provide much info as this is my wife forte.

Have faith and be strong for your warrior.

hi everyone!!

Last message before we leave for Shanghai and before my internet line is cut off!! Not sure if I can still access to this forum since "GREAT FIREWALL" in CHina is very scary... hehehe..

Anyway, a short msg as I m still packing (seems like a no-ending job). Thanks everyone for your suppport for the past one year, yes it's already one year!! time flies ya...Next Wednesday is Issac's one year death anniversary, lots of emotions....but I am glad that we have Xavier with us, he filled our life with happiness and blessings!!!

It's a pity i cant come for the gathering tmr, but i am sure there will be chances in future! If any of you come to Shanghai (u can PM me, or leave me a msg on FB, i will try to access it), i will be a good host

All the best to all mummies and daddies, and hope all our warriors will grow up well and healthy!

Cheeers, Jas

Hi Jas,

All the best. Xavier has grown strong and brave with Mummy Jas TLC.

Take heart, Issac is already home with the mighty one. He will protect his brave brother Xavier.

Keep in touch.

Hi David,
thanks for your advice.
Yes, baby's no longer on CPAP or O2. He was on each for 3 days consecutively.

When I asked the NICU nurse today, she said PD will usually advise bottle-feeding until a certain number of weeks before encouraging direct latch - to ensure we monitor his milk intake using the bottle.

I'm still worried about the transition though - helps to hear what other moms did to facilitate direct latch cos I can't imagine carrying the pump and bottle out each time!

for the gathering, i bought mini taiwan sausage and mushroom balls.. will boil it and not fry..

i had tried boiling taiwan sausage, not bad.. still got taste and best of all, not oily.

yan, tks! u so xi xin! i'm ok with boiled or fried or watever.. as long as tasty! heheheh..

So far kkf, tree_ice, and gingal can't make it already.

I have not heard from celline and 29weeker though i emailed them. Don't have their number too...If you see this msg, you can look for us once you reach Buangkok MRT. Exit by exit A and you will see the field. I have a big green poncho and i doubt you will miss us. Sorry i don't feel comfortable posting my hp here but u can refer to my pms or emails for my hp.
hope to cya!

hey, thanks for the outing yesterday... my gal is very happy. when she wenthome she auto tell her father (she usually don't) "i fly kite".

Can those pp with the group photos pls email to me a ? Esp Yan, i wan to see the image colors of ur shock proof water proof camera! :p

am trying to upload the few pics i hav to fb now..

yah...thanks for organising the outing..think we all enjoyed...the weather oso quite ok..not too hot..hope to see you all in the next gathering!

Can help to upload the photos in the Singapore Premmies FB?Thanks=)

missed the gathering as dash these few days tend to get fever very easily...yesterday also got slight fever...sianz. not sure why. hope to join u all in next gathering. do post photos for me to see. hee

pai seh.. still dun have the time to upload the pics.. will see if i got the time tonight..

bloom,
so far i still figuring out the mode to use for better colour.. so tat day i used auto mode, hope it will not disappont u.. haa. but the shock proof and water proof(water = yilin's saliva), as demo by yilin, quite impressive right.. haaa.

actually i have posted our Batam trip pics in my FB ([email protected]), all taken using this camera. u can see some pics actually taken under the water.. still can be seem quite clearly.

Sorry, I couldn't make it for the gathering.
Both of my kids were sick. Went A&amp;E.

Hope to join in during the next gathering.

hi all mummies,
glad ur kids enjoyed the outing. my boy too (i guess he is the bee among the roses so he is most happy!) He was very motivated to eat more so he can run faster to catch yan's older gal next time. heeee..

and my husband... it's his 1st time flying kite at our area though we stay for over 2 yrs. can tell he enjoyed thoroughly that he totally ignored my boy in the beginning! it's very rewarding to see the kite fly cos usually mine don't. looks like the venue is quite good.

Thanks everyone for contributing your share to make the outing so pleasant.. shelllow, yan, Lin for contributing food. Yan and Weng for unofficial photography!

For those who missed out, don't worry. sure there will be gatherings along the way.

bloom
so nice to catch up after so long! must meet again cos we didn't have time to chat more.

celline,
hope the kids recover 100% asap. must had been a tiring weekend for you and your hubs too.

Hi babyjng,
my bb gal is borned at 30+ weeks. And she also on the cpap for 6 days, now she is already 5 months (corrected age 3 months) and I latched her on before she discharged from the hospital. She can latch on and use bottle without much problem from the beginning.
One thing if u want to latch her directly you must emphasize that to the nurse, though for the initial period they must feed bb with bottle to monitor milk intake and bb's breathing and heartbeat. I latched on the first few times under the nurse supervision. I believe ur bb have no problem since he can finish the bottle.
2nd thing u must make sure latch on is correct. Bb mouth wide open. For this you can seek help from nurse or the Singapore Breastfeeding support group.
I dunno whether this is important or not, my bb is using the NUK teats from very beginning. Not sure whether that helps in better latch? And FYI the quantity that I can pump out each time at the beginning is also about the same with yours, but no worry when ur bb latch on properly he normally gets more. And u can increase more pumping sessions before he discharged so that the milk supply increase.
If you need any help just pm me I'll be very glad to help. I can really understand ur worry and doubt somehow cos I just gone through those
hope u and ur little one enjoy the feeding time.

wow...everyone so busy leh?

March holiday finally comes! yeah! can take a small break. this year really busy for me, as taking p6 class, and my p6 class is very very weak...sigh. i also dunno why every year they give me such classes...sigh. look too highly of me, cause i look like god that can work out miracle? hee

anyway, hope every kids are doing well here!

bz bz, work got lots of hiccups. sigh..........
hope all mummies, daddies and kids are fine here.

bryan's down with a lingering fever slightly above 38 for 2 days alr..sigh.. tired tired..

I stumbled upon this group and would like to ask for some advice.

I'm a Malaysian mummy to be at about 23 weeks now and was diagnosed with lymphoma and currently seeking treatment in SG. There is a risk of pre-term labour, which is why I am heavily considering giving birth in SG as well. As a foreigner, i don't enjoy subsidies like most of you do, so private hospitals might be a better option for me cost and speed wise. I'm trying to understand which are the better equipped NICUs in SG and who the recommended neonatologists are in SG? Other than that, any good recommendations on gynaes? I did see Dr Roy Ng of Mt Elizabeth for a review prior to my chemo and during my biopsy. And somebody recommended me the famous Dr Peter Chew of Glen Eagles but I heard he is always full. I'm currently flying in and out of SG for my chemo treatments, so i need to time my appts, but i do plan to stay put in SG from 30+ weeks, i supposed, just in case of any pre-term labour *cross fingers*

Would appreciate any feedback. Thanks.

Hi Bannyeng,

I could not speak much for the private hospital as my princess was born in KKH. As far as I know, KKH still has the best neonate team and facilities. I know of a few Malaysian parents and a German parent decided to transfer to KKH after much consideration.

A friend of mine also has a premature warrior. After delivery in a private hospital, some complication arise and they had to transfer their warrior to KKH as the Docs there are more experience and better equipment.

As for service, private hospital are more personal as compare to KKH.

Do stay strong and positive. Don't even think about pre-term labour. Only with a strong and positive thoughts, you and your young warrior will have the final triumphs.

God Bless &amp; Cheers.

Greetings from Shanghai! It's great that I still can access to this forum here. It's been 2 weeks now, and we expected the weather to be better, but now it's still a bit cold. The first week we came back, there was one day it was snowing, and another day it was -3...We were so worried but Xavier seems to be adapting well, he hates to wear a lot of clothes, but other than that he is fine
What surprises us is that he is starting to drink more milk than b4! Hopefully his weight will go up soon.

Hi Bannyeng,

Sorry to hear about your lymphoma. It must be really hard with this and pregnancy. I hope everything will go well for u! I am also a Malaysian mummy, and I never thought of giving birth in Singapore until I was diagnosed with twins complications which then I was referred to a private gynae in Camden Medical Center. My doctor's name is Professor AnandaKumar, details as below:

Antenatal Diagnostic Centre and Well Woman Clinic
Dr Chinnaiya Anandakumar
I Orchard Boulevard
Unit No: #06-07/08 Tel: 6333 8621
Web: www.ssr.com.sg
(you could call in and check with his assistant nurse -- Hong, to see if they could help. Must make appt early, since Prof is always travelling to teach in Univ too)

He is very famous for risky pregnancy, and most importantly he is a very kind-hearted doctor. When he found out i may have to deliver in 2 weeks time at 25th week, he was concerned with the high NICU cost and help to refer me to NUH (contacted the HOD for me), so that I could have subsidies for NICU and a good doctor to follow up (i am a new PR, dunno anything abt subsidies, seldom live in SG). But do take note that he is very expensive, (i think consultation is 300SGD plus), but believe me that he is worth the money!

As for Neonatalogist, I heard YY YIP in Gleneagle is the best. I never went to him before, but he was recommended by my doctors.

Let me know if you need any other info.

Hi Jas,

Great to hear from you again. It is great to know that you and Xavier are adapting well. This is a long await family reunion. Cheers.

Hi Jas,

Danya is doing alright. Still no Michelin. Her weight has been on the 5.3kg scale for almost 2 weeks. We will be back to KKH next week and will consult the dietitian on the next course of action.

On the other hand, I am very happy with her development. Very talkative, very demanding, very stubborn. 6 of her front tooth is already out. Looks kind of cute when she smile
3752225.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">Jas</font>,
glad to hear fr u....at least, yr side still can access this forum but not some website.

think bb/kids luv cool weather....
glad Xavier drink more milk. hope to hear fr u....keep in touch...

<font color="aa00aa">David</font>,
hmm..nice to hear fr u abt Danya. as long as she can eat, can sleep well and active will be a happy bb right....
hmmm... u shave her??

Aixin,

Thanks very much for sharing your experience.
I went back to see lactation consultation and the very first latch was successful.
I've been practicing since, and the only problem is that baby falls asleep w/o feeling satisfied (even after more than 1 hour cos he falls asleep between) *~*

Now, we have a new problem of baby's jaundice refusing to abate.
It's been fluctuating from 18.4 -> 7.7 (with phototherapy) -> 16.4 -> 8.8 (phototherapy 2) -> 16+ again at 3 weeks' old.

He's been in-out of hospital and PDs' offices for the past week. I'm praying someone will tell me this too, will pass soon.

hi, i am also very busy..and very sian... wish i have time for a break!

jas, glad that u still can access SMH..no pic of xaiver all wrapped up?

david, talkative danya?? thats great!

bannyeng, not sure if this applies to foreigners, but when singaporeans and maybe PRs give birth prematurely with expected high bills, they social worker at KKH will try to downgrade u or provide instalment options. Really don't know if this will apply to foreigners but its worth checking out. My gal is born in KKH too

<font color="119911">babyjng</font>,
I understand yr worries abt yr bb's jaundice. my boy was clasified under prolong jaundice for 2 mth. hence, every alternate day, he will be poke for blood test till his tinny feet blue black. think jaundice is common for premiee or any full term bb. we also go polyclinic in and out for the testing of blood test.

<font color="0000ff">bloom</font>,
why sian? sigh...I also super tired, busy and how I wish I can slp longer.

David, Jas and Bloom

Thanks so much for your feedback!

Just checked out KKH. Seems like they are the regional leader in the field. impressive!

David, did your wife have her gynae visits at KKH as well? in Malaysia, if you go for your routine visits with the govt hospital, you cannot choose the doctor of your choice unless you are a referred case or your doctor is the only specialist in that hospital and your case is assigned to him/her. Otherwise, again, u cannot make a direct appointment with that doctor of your choice. Is it the same in SG? Also, i heard that in SGH, sometimes it's very difficult to get an appointment or the q is extremely long, and at times you have to make an appointment months in advance.

Hi Afcai Mum,

Danya no shave lah. Just botak.

Hi Bloom,

Me &amp; Diana black eye panda. Danya play and talk until almost mid-night yesterday. Recently, she is getting very playful during night time. Hope that she is not a night party animal.

Hi Bannyeng,

Diana's gynea is practicing in Mount E. When she was diagnose with PE, thru her advice, we got a referral letter from the poly-clinic. When we admitted into KKH, they were trying to push her out to other govt hospital. KKH like another other govt hospital will give their priority to their own patient. We are very fortunate that they are willing to accomodate Diana. If you walk into KKH as a private class patient, most likely, they will to take in your case

try not to let Danya sleep more during nap so that she can slp well at night. if not, very siong for the adult.if HX want to play at night, we will scold him and tell him it is night time, ppls slp liao. throw his smelly pillow at him and pat pat for a while before he zzz...if not, very taxing for us esp we still need to work.

finally saw some mummies and daddy back here again...me also sianz, no mood to mark so just surf net. haha.

welcome bannyyeng, afraid i can't give you much advises too. You are very brave indeed, and hope your little one inside will know what you are going thru and go well and strong everyday. Pardon me for asking, you were diagonised with the cancer after your pregnancy or before? is this your first child?

I am not so sure about foreigners seeking treatment in singapore, but i do think there isn't much difference between govt and private if you are a foreigner? So a couple of foreigners will go for high end ones, like mount E or Gleneagles etc. My gynae was Dr ann tan from mount Elizabeth (her clinic in orchard), and she is specialised in high risk pregnancy as well... I paid about $300 plus per visit, expensive right? but i did see a couple of foreigners visiting her.

Hi jas, you are in shanghai now. I want to tell you something, I am the one who tried reading your blog and tried commenting but couldn't because i don't have the account. So i can never comment. I am lazy to create one account leh...cause i have created a couple like multiply etc, just because i wanted to comment. can i just comment without creating account??

David, danya is sooo cute. is she one year old already?

babyjng, jaudice is common, dun worry, ur baby will outgrow it soon...

Hi Bannyyeng,
I think most hospitals in S'pore would be able to deal with pregnancy complications. KKH is definitely very well -equipped though not necessarily cheaper if you are not a subsidised patient. My baby girl has been transferred there from TMC as they have all the specialists under 1 roof, and also for the subsidy, and so far, we have been very happy with the medical care.

But having said that, private hospitals are not necessary 'worse-off'. My prenatal package was with Thomson Medical, under WC Cheng &amp; Associates Clinic. I was seeing Dr LC Cheng, the deputy director of Thomson, and even though mine was a high-risk pregnancy, everything was fine.

There is another doctor there who specialises in pregnancy complications. He is Dr TC Chang and he wrote some books on the topic. Very knowledgeable, although he can be quite rude sometimes! For neonatologists, mine was Dr Ang Ai Tin and I found her to be well good and experienced.

David, glad to see little Danya is looking so healthy! if its any consolation, she's not the only one seeing a dietician-little Kayla is very underweight too @ 6.2kg for the last month or so; her neonatologist @ KKH said she's @ the bottom 3 percentile. Maybe you can ask Danya's dietician if she can take MCT oil to boost her weight? It sure helped Kayla a lot when she was in NICU, and we are going to resort to that if her weight still does not increase by her next check-up.

Afcai Mum,

Ha Ha. I love smelly pillow but Danya does not have any booster or pillow. I guess Danya is the type that don't sleep much. Even for day time, she sleep only twice with a short duration of 30 minutes. Today, our review in KKH with the Neo-Nate. Check with Doc about Danya sleeping pattern. Doc says Danya is not the only nite party animal.

Hi kkf,

You can leave a comment at Jas's blog without register. Just click annoymous and key in the word shown. I always do that and its work.

Hi David,

Nice to see Danya's photo. Do post more. Hee....

Hi KKF,

Yap. Princess is also 1 year old.

Hi Kaylas Mum,

Danya is no friend of MCT. We tried twice and end up Singapore Merlion. After changing to Enfalac AR, she stop Merlion. We restart back MCT only last Sat. We will see how. Today, Dietician gave another new MCT boosting formula. Let take it slow and steady.

Hi Xiaowanzi,

Your wishes is my command.
3769793.jpg
3769794.jpg
3769795.jpg

wow, blow whistle (on the behalf of HX):p. finally, can see the close up pic of Danya. 3 cheers....Danya is growing well....

hmm. u luv smelly pillow...errr..u got one??:p

wow, like that, tot bb or kids shd slp longer type...then yr wife must be tiring look after her since she dun slp much.

what is Enfalac AR? got extra AR??

<font color="aa00aa">kkf</font>,
yup, dun need to register on jas blog.

Hi Bannyeng,
In Sg gov hospital neonatologists work as a team, not sure about the private hospital. My gal borned in SGH and when she got feeding intolerance, the SGH doctors actually get help from KKH doctors. So in a way I think that gov hospital is better.
Besides doctor I think the nurses are actually more important. I dunno how the rest here think? For me I always get useful info and update of my gal from the nurses but not from doctors, and I'm really glad that they take care of my bb so well. Premature bb need a lot of attention.
As for the cost we did compare price of SGH nicu and Mt Alvernia nicu, without subsidy, SGH is still cheaper. I nearly gave birth in Mt Alvernia and got the last min transfer to SGH.
For you, since u can't get subsidy you can just walk in to see the gynae you like, no need to get referral.