Premature babies support group

Hi Jas,

My vendor recommended by KKH, its name called Somnotec. Tel : 68440002. you can ask them for quotation for rental of O2 concentrator, portable oxygen tank and oximeter. They sell the equipment too.

My boy needed 0.5L/min. As what Precious _one said, need to maintain 93% and above. So try to maintain at this level, if necessary , up the oxygen level. I understand yr feeling, be patience with Xavier. When the time is right, he will wean it off.

Once he is stable, you can do cycling for him. Slowly , he will be able to breath at room air.

Hi Lilac,

No need say Sorry leh, hahahaha, she indeed looks like a boy, and more and more like one....She was lagi chubby last time, now she slimming down liao...distracted easily and dun wan milk...only can sleep feed her, which is no good...

Hi WH,

Just went to Dietitian on Friday... She lost some weight, dunno is it due to her teething or what, actually I did noticed the decrease in her milk intake last few days...
Now she is 6.85kg and 64cm long, or Tall??? Hmmm keke...

The dietitian say we can go ahead and feed her some solids liao, but only on cereals 1st, and must mix with lots of milk, cos I told her J dun wan to drink her milk, if she can smell/see our lunch or dinner...
so the trick is, to feed her by spoon with some cereals and let her make believe we are eating the same thing...hope it works!

Hi Luana,

My girl is abt AA 7 mths and CA 4.5mths ...

It's nice to know that U have found someone who is good at OT that helps Erica! The sharing will help alot of us here too!

Hi Gingal,

You mean the dietian ask you to start solids at CA 4.5mths?

Strange leh, cause I also told the dietian that my boy dun want milk at abt CA 4mths but she didn't ask me to start solids!! Wonder why.

Dear precious one n Xiaowanzi,

Her name is Yi Tian, she's at Delfi Orchard, Speech Inc is the name of her practice. Her mobile is :
96687857. She charges $300 for first assessment and $170 an hour for therapy. I heard she has a wait list but she gives priority to needy cases.

Hi tigger,

Yup, our appt was with the Chief Dietitian, before that the Juniors all don't dare tell me when I can go ahead with giving J solids... just keep telling me 6 mths to start...

Butthe Chief dietitian was very confident J can take liao, and it will help her in improving her diet, which alot ppl was afriad that it might backfire and and baby dun want more milk...

She said based on how "greedy" J is now, so better let her start abit, in case she wait too long and very poor thing...

Guess what, I gave J her first cereals just now. As advised, we gave her her usual milk first...she drank 120ml, then we sat her next to us on the dinner table while we eat, then we observed...As usual, she couldn't take her eyes off our food and when we bring the spoon to our mouths, she also open mouth...so i quickly prepare her cereal for her..only 3/4 teaspoon cereal mxed with abt 30ml milk...very watery...Fed her and she can't wait for the next scoop...one scoop after another, if there is any pauses, she screams...alot of the milk ended up dripping, i think she only consumed abit 1/4 of what is fed...she still not used to swallowing it bah...but it was fun and she was really happy...after that she seemed hungry again, like want to drink milk, but we don't want give her liao scared too much for her stomach, maybe giving her later if she wants, now she is happily sleeping tightly...

Now Happy Baby = Happy Mummy...

Sam, matthias is very tan!

WH... ur gal is very sweet..dont look like boy lah! my gal look like toddler but just small size... ahahah

zola, ur boy's blog is very funi.. it can list and appear on my gal's blog (kathleenmak.blogspot.com) but when i click on it, then it says the URL does not exist and the URl is available for grab... is there some access rights that i have to apply???

Luana, very sweet pic of erica! really glad that ur SLT is so good... my gal is attending speech therapy at KKH.. she does make some improvement but seems tat the therapist only focuses on making her talk and never notice anything else... my gal also has a very high threshold of pain (last week just knock her head on table at nanny's pl and bleed but she didn't even cry), but can feel warmth (anything warm is 'hot' to her haha). how regular is erica's appt with the therapist and is it during weekday office hours???

gingal, i wan to pinch her cheeks (as always)!!!! :p so cuteeeee!!!! J's first solid food session sounds great!

precious_one, i found this site previously.. not sure if it can help ...http://mommyspeechtherapy.com/ now i wish i can find some simple therapy course tat we can attend online ....sighh

Luana,

Bernard is okay...norti and stil gg for his Occupational Therapy appts at kkh.....

i guess evy preemie has his/her own challenges...

I dinoe that Erica went for speech therapy as i din see yr family since last year...But m glad that she has improved so much after seeing the therapist..So i guess, if we have kids with sensory disorder, we can refer them to her....I wil take down this contact and let my fren noe..her kid got SPD and i hope this can help her..

Sam, sorry to hear that you are not feeling well. Hope you were able to have quality rest over the weekend.

Zola, has Joya been discharged? I remember that tomorrow is your HB's birthday and it will be a great gift if Joya can be discharged tomorrow.

Carried Nate again!! He is on cycling now and is doing quite well.... just hope that by posting it here, I won't jinx it. But nurse was telling me that if he continues to do well, then probably by this weekend, he can be transferred to the step-down NICU. I am sure looking forward to that. I think exhaustion has hit me finally. Was feeling very exhausted today and just can't seem to concentrate. I almost fell asleep when I was at the NICU carrying Nate cos' it was so quiet and the beeping sounds seem rather therupeutic. Weird hor, me?

May our babies continue to fight strong and emerge victorious =)

I have been very paranoid. I refuse to let people carry my babies without washing their hands. But I know they will be exposed to more and more people and I know I can't force this on everyone.

Do you mummies still practise hand washing (how old are the babies before you loosen up), or is it just me?

Hi Mums,

Long time no post and thread moving real fast. Today is Danya 3rd review. Today review is by Pediatric surgeon. She has some concern as Danya weight gain is still slow. We have learn a new skill today. Rectal wash out. We have to do rectal wash every alternative day so that Danya Colon and Rectum can be enlarge so as to prepare her lower half of her bowel system for the closure ops.

Hi Bloom Mum,

Angel care has a "TIC" function which also monitor the breathing movement of our warrior.

Hi Afcai Mum,

Me already in Panda Club. Happily being one. Only need more caffeine between meeting in day time. Skip lunch and try to have some power nap.

Hi Jas,

Don't worry. Xavier is going to wean off soon. What hurdle, what O2 support. Our champion Xavier has scaled even tougher challenges. Jia Yu.

Hi Sam,

Mattias is tan man. Potential beach boy. How's Jeriel? Home Sweet Home??

Hi WH,

Your BB is sooo cute. Love the innocent look in the eyes. More please.

Hi Gingal,

Can I have the permission to pinch Jerlynn cheek. Soooo Cheeky.

Hi Luana,

Erica is bright. Like her pic.

Hi Lilac,

I agree. The Beep Beep Beep sound in NICU/SCN sound can sometime make you feel so sleepy. Me doze off a few time during those day.

zola,
joya is such a blessed baby to have you 2 as parents. I can see so much love in the blog. i have also lost 2 kids before i finally have one (also premie) and can understand what joya means to you. Take heart, Joya will be back soon!

Hi Lauana,
Tks for sharing. Must be tough on you...but most importantly Erica is doing well now...

Hi gingal,
the baby doc olso advice us to let our girl go solid by 5/6mth. see how lah. our appt will be this mth end.
at the moment bb still yo-yo feed. no mood to drink wanna to play.

hi tigger,
i know what u r gg thru. mi too... when baby first came home my basic rule is whoever want to carry pls wash hands... i will ask then order them... giving excuse liked H1N1 now to stay there even a greater need to keep hands clean. i know sometime my family members "disliked" my behaviour... but as a parent i've to "act" what is good for my child. and after a while it bcame "auto"... i'll also quote words liked doc/ nurses said "most baby ward at hospt due to careless in caretaker/adult hygiene ". i will make it such that, it nothing personal this rule apply even to both hubby and miself... i also restrict guest visit. so far we hv not really bring her around.

Hi Zola & Xbliss,
it not easy being a parent. it even tough to be a premmie parent. be strong and hang on. there will be ups and downs. but the rewards will be lotsa UPs... especially when they smiles..

just check if anyone of yr bb is feed lying down with pop up pillow? my bb is like that since 1-2 mth ago, he dun like ppls to carry him when he drink milk if not, he will wrigger bec he sweat so much evne with fan on.

<font color="0077aa">Bloom</font>,
yes. disapointed wor...the only thing HX has is hernia surgery and prolonged jaurdice (2mth). other than that, nothing else and no supplement except iron drops and multi vitamin. dunno why still rejected. NTUC asked me to try again when he is 1 yr old....

but do u buy insurance for Kate last time?

hmm..kate small built bec Mummy also small built mah...

hey, barley, pao sheng etc can give bb meh....?acc to info i read, barley water only can give bb after 6mth.

<font color="119911">sam</font>,
that time, I'm also worried how to bath HX too after his hernia opt. so i delayed bringing him back for 2 days (anywhere, no one help got to wait for wkend). by then, the plastic is already removed. nurse only advise not to plc powder and also had to keep the area dry as possible.

oh, do take care....think weather is not gd, flu bug is ard...so do drink lot of water and eat more balanced diet. I also sick with running nose and cough last week. the previously, week, got a slight fever.

<font color="119911">WH</font>,
hmm...yr ah gar sweet looking wor....fair . haa I tot what mag cover she is in....very interesting wot.

same same, HX is also mostly kept at hm, not even to in laws hse. he only came out wkend once to coffeeshop when we had dinner. if not, sat if got time, will take him down to walk walk so that he see until blur blur and then doze off very quickly.

<font color="0077aa">ginger</font>,
wow, J is so chubby, look at her cheeks...hmmm.my gar last time also look like a boy. ppls said first bb look like boy, 2nd bb will be boy too.

hmm...so u start J solid food liao. HX has been consuming cereal (1 x 60ml of spoon->mxed with abt 30ml milk...very watery) 2 wk before he is 6mth(CA 3mth 2 wk).1 hr before, he consume 150ml of ebm. he luv it(same behaviour as what HX did - cant wait for next scoop, scream if any pauses) and ask for more but my mum did not give him then he will cry. he can eat well. my elder said didi is eating ice-cream loh (cos cereal color is like vanila)

HX just turned 6kg loh from 4.95kg 2 mth ago. after jab, bb will eventually slim down.

<font color="119911">Luana</font>,
wow, time flies hor....yr premiees turn 3 yr old...

hmmm..the brushing experience is indeed miracle. me first time hearing it, thks for sharing.

<font color="0077aa">lilac</font>,
thks for the infor on cycling...so he is still in NICU? ask Nate to jiayou, mummy is waiitng for him to be home.

<font color="119911">tigger</font>,
no practise of hand washing when my mil and sil came visit after 1.5mth when bb is discharged. CL and my mum also dun wahs hand too. for me and my hubby will sure wash our hand b4 touching bb now. can't practise on old folks as they claimed that their hand is 'always' clean and dun really happy to ask them to wash hand.

<font color="0077aa">David</font>,
oh David, u also take care. first time, hearing being a happy panda wor....oh caffeine at least work for u but not for my hubby. no matter how much he drink, he still can doze off anytime....think more tired than me...

Hi Bloom,

Erica's S therapy was fortnightly, always on Thurs at 9am. After showing some improvements the therapist moved our time slot to 10am. Not sure why but I guess ST just prioritize needs of patients that way? Anyway, the downside is she dictates the time because she has a wait list. I never got a chance to see the ST in KKH cos we just decided on our own to send Erica for therapy before Dr Argawal could refer us to one...it was just one of those decisions we took ourselves.

Honestly speaking, I was a bit put off by the pychologist @ KKH when Erica did an assessment test, it was a very long one, I'm sure all premies had to go through that at their correct age of 1 year.It was just not a good experience, everything was negative and nothing was constructive, no real explanations; sorry to say this but I have never been impressed by any of the therapists so far at KKH. Maybe I've just met the lousy ones. Anyway, it's my opinion, I'm sure there are good ones, it's just that I have not be as fortunate....

Hi xbliss,
Thank you, god bless me and all of the parent in the forum too. How many mth is your bb now?

Hi WH,
I agree with you.

Precious_one

Totally understand, if i were you, i would have bought also. I am getting paranoid also..i think i will buy a pulse oximeter and o2 tank later to standby just in case..

Now Xavier's need of requirement has gone down to 0.125L/min, and he can maintain 93% and above. Talked to his doc, dun need to go for follow up apt tmr since he is otherwise doing okay..So, i can slowly choose which oxygen tank to buy.hehe...

By the way, what is the minimum reading of your o2 tank? My vendor only has minimum 0.5L, which is too much for Xavier since he only needs 0.125L currently. If your tank is less than 0.5L, can u recommend ur vendor to me? Do you remember how much u paid for it? If not, maybe u can sell me ur old tank since A doesnt need it anymore...hehee...

How far off was the pulse oximeter from the right readings? I also a bit concerned..my vendor told me that their pulse oximeter is not as accurate as the one in hospital (maybe plus minus 2-3%) as it is cheaper...hmm...like that also can

Why would you need the suction machine when travelling? It is for secretion right? Got to do so frequently?

Xiaowanzi,

Hehe, we got the same vendor. Did you rent it or buy it? Does cycling help to wean off the O2 faster? Sometimes i tried to turn the O2 concentrator off, but as soon as Xavier desats till 80 something which may take only 5 mins, I will on back again...

Precious_one and Xiaowanzi,

Need your advice on 2 more questions :
1) Is the cannular standard size? Can find longer type that is more than 2-3 metres?
2) how do you develop ur babies' motor skills when they were on O2 support? For me, it has been really restricted with the BIG concentrator and monitor and lines to move around with him. He is having some slight delays with motor development, particularly his neck control...but now with his condition, i wonder whether i should push for more training, or concentrate on getting this O2 thingy off first. The therapist actually mentioned that it would be a bit late if he still has poor neck control when he is 4 mths corrected, which is one more mth to go. hmmm having a dilemma here.....Pls share your experience?

Bloom,

I havent gone back to work, but soon. Will continue to express...Yet, i am a bad cow now. My production dropped to half due to the stress staying in hospital with Xavier for a few days..sigh. Cant match his demand nowadays, got to use old stocks..

Xbliss,

Ya, Xavier is getting used to manage the O2 cannular, esp good at struglling off it.....hehe..

Zola,

My vendor is called Somnotech, if ur baby is in KKH, u can call this guy called ShiJie, he is the sales in charge of KKH cases. His number is 96731408. If your baby doesnt have any lungs/breathing problem, my personal advice is not to get one. u will go insane during wee hours when it starts beeping merely due to baby's movement...

Gingal,

Agreed with u, happy baby = happy mummy

Glad that Jerlynn starts well with Solid, cant wait for Xavier's turn. He seems to be a big eater, i guess he will enjoy too....

David,

Both Danya and Xavier has gone thru a lot...They are indeed strong warriors. Lets continue to cheer for them, jiayou!!

Tigger,

I am more paranoid than u. We strictly practise NO visitors recently due to his readmission to NUH again, and last time when we had visitors, no touching and carrying.... We never brought him out except for hospital trips. My brother in msia wanted to visit and i said no....just to be safe. He totally understands. i guess as parents, if we cant protect our children, who can? Sometimes maybe a bit overprotective.Anyway, i am suffering from vulnerable child syndrome, esp after recent hospitalization..Afterall, who can foresee that jus routine vaccinations can cause so much hassle at the end? Better PLAY SAFE...

Luana,

Thanks for sharing your story with us. Got to note down for later use..hehee...

afcai, yes, Nate still in NICU. He has been performing quite well on the cycling. We are praying that he will be totally off CPAP today so that he can be transferred to step-down or SCN this weekend. Just did eye review and it all turned out well. He is also gaining weight so that's really good. So basically, the major milestone is CPAP and his hourly feed (which they want to convert to 2-3 hourly). I miss him so much and hope he can be home soon.

Need advise from mummies here - when did your baby start to suckle? I realized that Nate has been having that sucking reflex whenever I carry him. Will the nurses actually let me breastfeed him when he is off CPAP or would they let me do it at my own pace after I bring him home. My desire is that I can latch Nate on because latching on is really much easier for me and will help build the supply.

Hi lilac,

Is nate on bott feed olreadi? for my girl i remember they train her "sucking" by giving her teats. when her bott feed ok then the nurse there encourage me to let her latch on.

yeah, should let BB latch on before going home.

for the past few nite, baby had not been drinking and sleeping well. waking up every half hour, sometime the min i put her down she wakes up, so she need to be carry/hug.. on ave mi only sleep less then 3hr. and it not 3hrs of complete sleep...

so last nite bght her to see baby doc (who's a consultant for KKH) and he gave her some supp- probiotics (baby yakult) and Himalaya Bonnisan (appetite and weight gain).

would liked to do a poll here:
1) how much yr baby is drinking now/ hour?
2) any supp?
3) CA/weight/ height

My baby drinking habit this week:
1) 90~120ml per 4hour (per day 480~660ml)
2) Multi-vit + iron (KKH); probiotics and Himalaya Bonnisan
3) CA 4mths/5.6kg/64cm

Doc also conclude that my baby hd small tummy cant take much milk... hmmm

david,

Yes, Can Pinch...haha but must wash hands first...
Still remember last 2 weekends brought her to lots parties, so many relatives pinch and touch her cheeks and one of my hb's aunty also keep kissing her cheeks, my MIL was annoyed by that action and keep cleaning J's face...
Guess what after dat...Haizzzzz her ezcema comes back...Sad....usually ppl touch her face is ok de, her ezcema is in control, but guess that day too much food, and ppl's hands oily...

afcai,

I really hope what u said is true, alot ppl also say the same, console me say J looks like boy next time #2 is boy...
I just told my hubby, if cannot guarantee #2 is boy, I dun wan give birth liao...

HX started solids so early ah? yah, they glutton ah? Can't wait to eat...but my girl ask her drink milk sianzzzzz, can only sleep feed then she "gong gong" will suck and drink...
Now her appetite for milk better liao eversince started feeding her one meal of cereals...maybe the dietitian was right, it really helps improve her appetite abit. Cross fingers, hope she can drink more milk.

Will bring J for her 3rd 6 in 1 jab maybe next week, will heartpain if she loses weight loh, cos alot ppl already heartpain. I just developed her pictures taken since birth, and we looked through and saw how very very chubby she was...compare to now..haizzzzz

Jas,

Can see that u are working really hard for Xavier, hope mummies can help u in ur qns...and hope Xavier passes this stage asap...

Thanks everyone, so its not just me ....

I will be going back to work soon and bringing my babies to my mum's place. Knowing my mum, she will definitely lax and won't enforce the hand washing on her visitors ... its kind of making me nervous already.... hopefully my kids are stronger than I think they are

hi Jas,

I rented all the machines. Each month need to forge out 500 for all this. I think 0.5L is the minimum for all tank. Is alright to give Xavier 0.5L when u travel to hospital as 0.5L is very low amount.

Think Xavier will wean off very fast. Give him some time. Cycling is to see whether he is ready to wean off and not helping to wean off faster. If u see him maitain at 93% and above all the time, then u can start to cycle him. U can also try to put the cannular slightly away from his nose, let him use to it. But on the same time, monitor his O2 percentage, if he still can maintain, then cycle him. Some baby too use to air blowing to his nose, so when you totally off the machine, he's not use to it.

I think the length of the cannualar is standard size. you can check with the KKH pharmacy.

My boy also having delays in his development cos he stayed in hospital for almost a year and discharged with a cannualr for half yr. Our concern were to wean off his oxygen then foucus on his development. This can be catch up in a later stage. During that time, we will help him to do excerise on his bed with all the tube attached on him. If u are confident, take out the sensor and do excericse. While excercising, is alright to up the O2 level. After the excecise then tune back.

sigh.... visited Nate yesterday and he is back on CPAP. He failed the cycling test and the doctors did some blood tests and says he is anaemic. So gave him some blood last night. They will try the cycling again maybe this weekend or next week. Very disappointed. Very distracted also. This morning, spilled my morning pump of 110 ml of breastmilk onto the table. Sigh... just need to press on in prayering for Nate.

Hi Gingal,

Don't worry. I promise I will sanitize myself before I pinch Jerlynn. I am kind of a fanatic. At home, I force myself, my mum &amp; my MIL to put on mask. Strictly sanitize our hand and arm before we carry Danya. That's my house rule.

Hi Lilac,

Don't be disappointed. Danya also cycle and fail the first time leh. Some warriors cycle so many time but finally, they still say bye bye to CPAP. After the Red Bull tonic, Nate will sure cycle far far away from CPAP.

Hi Mums,

Today Danya had a review with the orthopedic doctor. Danya took 2 X-ray on her right thigh bone. The front view show that her fracture right thigh bone has fully recover. The side view show that her right thigh bone is bended. Doc say that it is not a problem as our human body are very resilient and they will eventually be straightened. So, I must let Danya kick more using her right leg. Ha Ha.

zola,
my boy coming 2 yo soon. He is the smallest in his weekly playgroup in terms of size. the other parents always ask me how old he is.. hehe.

Re: KKH checkup yesterday
Doc mentioned my boy still on 25th percentile weight and gave us 2 options - go back to see dietician or go for growth hormone injection. We took neither option, let him develop at his own pace lah. anyway, he is very greedy nowadays so we hardly bother. He did very well for the OT and PT tests so we are glad our training din go in vain!!

xbliss
What hormone injection? My girl is also skinny but her cousin, same age as her, a boy born full term is smaller than her. You are right, let Ryan grows at his ownpace.

Jas
Ee, I replied to your query yesterday night but didn't appear here.....

Xiaowanzi answered most of your concerns already. As for the Physio practice at home, I can only say, must work diligently at home, about 10 to 20 mins per session per day will do. Owing to the various tubes connected to my girl then, I placed baby on a mattress nearer to the o2 concentrator to allow her more space to move around.

Trachy baby has lots of secretion, so portable sunction is a must, anywhere and anytime to prevent her from choking from her own phlegm.

I do not suggest that you rush into buy anything for Xavier as I believe his needs for o2 is minimal and for very short duration only unless the doc.. said otherwise.

WH,

For ur reference:
1) abt 700ml (BM + FM) (Timing and Amt varies as we feed on demand), 30ml BM + 3/4 teaspoon plain rice cereals
2) Multi-vit + iron (KKH); Breastmilk (70%) &amp; NAN HA (30%)
3) CA 4.5mths/6.85kg/64cm (as at 31st Jul)

J's appetite is also considered small, as the dietitian has told me before that an average 4 mth old will be drinking about 930ml of milk daily... but she said not to worry as long as she is growing... She is now at 75th percentile for both weight and height, lower than before as she used to be on the 90% and above...

David,

Yes yes, we were also once as paranoid as u are in sanitizing our hands, I even got my mum to buy the J&amp;J Hand sanitizer as exactly the same on we used in KKH...only available at NUH pharmacy, outside cannot find...Slowly after a month or 2, u can introduce a little bit of germs to Danya liao, maybe can help build up her immune system? Too clean also no good, cos we don't want them fall ill too easily next time...

Good to hear Danya's legs are ok...

lilac,

Steady up for Nate... I think we all went through episodes of baby being anaemic and most prematures are... J also went through transfusion and after discharge still need to go weekly for blood test due to her anaemic situation, and she is ok now...slowly the bone marrow will grow well and will correct that problem...
After transfusion, the babies will look super RED...very cute...

Hi! to all warrior mummy and daddy

I have change my bb blog to

www.jarvierjoya.blogspot.com

Feel free to visit my princess warrior blog.

Joya will share the same blog with kor kor

Happy to hear from dr that Joya may go back this sat if everything go smoothly. God bless

David and Gingal, thanks for the encouragement. It is not easy... especially when its one step forward and two steps backwards. But I will continue to be strong - for Nate. He hates the CPAP. Every time the nurse put it back after cycling, he will bawl his eyes out - very feisty one, the nurse said. And it pains me to see him crying so hard =( But what to do, he has to have CPAP on him.

wah.. i missed out so many posting..

yesterday went to SGH to order yilin's hearing aid.. at last... we choose a light sweet pink.. hee.. hope she will get use to it and dun full it off. :p

<font face="Comic Sans Ms">It's been a wk plus since I last posted. Baby Jed has been discharge on Mon but lousy mummy had to be warded so he bunk in w me in the hospital. It was so stressful to care for him w/o e machine. I'm so paranoid tt I kept checking on him every few mins. Any sound made by him will send me running to his cot. *haiz*

Btw.. can I check where to buy preemie clothes in Singapore? I've been blessed w a few pcs of preemie clothes but nt enough leh. Need to get more but have nt seen it around.

<font color="0000ff">Lilac</font>

Be strong ya.. Baby Nate will definitely win this battle. It's just a small setback which he will overcome very soon. Continue to encourage him.

<font color="aa00aa">Zola</font>

So happy to hear tt Joya will be discharge soon ya. Dr Keoy said he dun like to keep bb in NICU for long period of time. Once they r stable &amp; mummy is confident, he will discharge them. He feels it's much better for BB to stay home w mummy den to stay in NICU. Bet yr neck is very long now ya... few more hrs den she will be hone</font>

jenifur,

Mothercare sells clothes for small babies up to 4.5kg...but IMO don't spend on small clothings, as they outgrown very very fast...let them wear loose clothings better, grow faster and bigger...
What I did with Jerlynn last time was, wear those Tie-strings kimonos as tops on her and swaddle her...

Only start buying clothes when U intend to bring her out...which I think will not be within these 2 months bah...so by the time Jed will be able to fit in most NB clothes liao...

hi gingal,
tks so much for sharing the info.
BTW, how do u feed NAN with BF?

Hi lilac,
dont be dishearted. U r not alone. Most of us been thru it... lotsa up and down. But always believe that your baby will be fine and gg home soon. Someone once said to me “if you think there’s no one better than yourself who can look after your kid ; then you better take good care of yourself.”

Hi David,
been wanting to ask you. How's wifey now? she recover fm high blood? mi only managed to control my high blood after 2mths. and now liver and kidney is almost back on track...

After what had happened, I’ve even more appreciative of life and enjoying being alive and to be able to see again.
(Come to think of it, been taking things are liked eating, walking, running and able to see, hear and touch etc are granted.)

Hi Jenifur,
I have some preemie clothes to give away. U wanna? please email me at [email protected]

Hi Jenifur,

Forgotten to add. the clothes are still in good condition. enclosed some pic..

2783247.jpg

2783248.jpg

let me know if anyone beside jenifur also wants?

<font face="Comic Sans Ms"><font color="0000ff">gingal</font>

Thanks. Will go check out Mothercare when I've e chance to leave the house. Right now.. I dun dare to be too far away from baby Jed unless my DH is home. In fact most of the time, I'm sitting next to his cot. DH said I"m over paranoid

<font color="aa00aa">WH</font>

Really!! Tt wld be great but let me pay a small token for the clothes.. Feel paiseh to just take from you. Probably we can arrange via sms, will email you my hp no. Thanks in advance ya</font>

WH,

What I meant is Out of the 700ml, about 70% is BM, and the rest I supplement with FM...keke
But I do sometimes mix the BM with some FM...Have asked the dietitian and together with lactation nurse, they all say can mix BM with FM...

jenifur,

Do u have a baby monitor? It's useful for me, and made me less paranoid...now Jerlynn is abt 7 mths old actual age liao, and I still do check on her when she is sleeping alone in the room...sometimes middle of the night also will check and see if she is breathing well, if blanket is covering her face.. etc...it's normal to want to stay by the baby's side...can look at them 24 hours a day also not sianzz hor?

jenifur,

carters nb size is good for premmies, but they outgrow very fast, my eldest after 3 weeks like tight fit liao..maybe try 0-3 mths..

hi mums and dad
so long never check - so many post.been bz trying to handle the 2 kiddies and being SAHM.nitemare when the 2 cry at same time. nada 2yr old IQ test is coming up in Sep.

to new mums &amp; dad - belated welcome to u

hope everyone is doing fine and fighting on - jia yuo, take care!

xbliss
hormone injection ? wah liao. happy2hear ur boy didnt take and doing fine irregardless

Jenifur,

Opps sorry, after I went to dig out, I realise its only up till 1.8kg .... think yours should be more than this now.

2784682.jpg

2784683.jpg

<font face="Comic Sans Ms">Thanks to all the mummy for your generosity. @ least now I dun hv to stress when it rains cuz baby Jed only hv 4 tops to wear now &amp; he needs to change so often. Diaper is too big so always end up staining his clothes.

Meeting WH later @ Woodlands so will prob drop by Mothercare to get 1 or 2 set of kai kai clothes. Dh wana bring him to church tmr though I'm still kinda skeptical bout it, it's gona b v crowded.

<font color="0000ff">gingal</font>

Nope, I didn't get any monitor. Wanted to get the Angel care but DH said dun need. He wants me to treat Jed like my 2 elder children. Don't want me to fuzz over him.

Ya I wish can stay next to him 24hrs but my #2 is quite jealous of him. He's been very fussy &amp; grouchy ever since Jed is home

<font color="aa00aa">Tigger</font>

Thank you for you offer. Jed now weighs 2.2kg so dun tink can fit. e 4 tops he have is for weight between 1.5kg to 2.5kg, still abit loose for him though.</font>

Hi jenifur,

For diapers, u can try Huggies Ultra NB size, smaller than Pampers and won't leak...

I'm using the Angelcare, the one that can detect the breathing and movement de...quite good... still using now...Buy and ship directly from US abt half cheaper...Singapore selling $300+.

day-C,
hey, how are you and babies?! must be busy with 2 now!

yar, i really think i'll be silly to opt for some chemical intervention to help bryan grow.. i always think about kkf.. she can be so tall, so shouldnt be a problem. hehe

jenifur,
Drypers NB also small size. Did you fold the diaper top down?? U know at hospitals the nurses always fold down their diaper top outward by the size of the plastic band on top? it will become more snug. No time to read through the thread, how heavy is ur bb now?

Jenifur, so glad that Jed is discharged!! What happened to you that you need to be warded? At TMC? You coming over to Woodlands arh? Should have asked me along! I'm staying around Woodlands area. Hee. Jed is a good weight at 2.2 kg wor. My sis-in-law gave birth to a 2.3kg baby and seems ok.

WH, thanks for your encouragement. Yes, I must take good care of myself. Have been feeling quite exhausted. Don't know why. I think its the whole travelling up and down the hospital and taking care of #1. But will press on.

Gingal, what's the model of the Angelcare monitor you are using? I went to the website and aiyo, so many different model. HB and I thinking of buying one when Nate is discharged. Has it been helpful? As in, were there any episode of Jerlynn breathing and the alarm went off?

Visited Nate in the afternoon and he is completely off CPAP. Yay!! But nurse says still need to monitor. The perplexing thing is that he desat only when we carry him. If left alone in the incubator, he does quite well. So nurse says maybe it is because of the feeding tube still inside him and the way we carry him. Thankfully, that desat will not be in the record else they will put him back to CPAP again.

Just a check - what's the difference between desat and APENA? Or there is no difference? What are the chances of a baby after being discharged to desat? The other day, Nate desat when I was carrying him. My fault lah... was chatting with the nurse and we both to engrossed in chatting, didn't realized that he desat liao. Plus, monitor did not show anything till much later. By then, his lips turned blue liao. So heartpain.... and scare that I cannot handle him when he is discharged.