Premature babies support group

xbliss,
my gal too merlion all the time..... feeding her is like a challenge when she is awake..... only recently she is better... when she is younger, suck finger also vomit.... do her laundry till i sian... my mom said bb who is like, will go v fast.... hope so la....

re: vaccination
my gal 28wker, she had her BCG,hep B when discharge, then her 6-in-1 according to her actual age... so far ok lei...

Hi Jas,

Enterovirus can be transmitted through contact with body fluid (Any Type). If the other baby is having this and if the caregiver does not practice good hygiene, it will be carry over when the caregiver touch the next baby.

Hi Mums

Today, Danya stool is very watery. Danya is very lethargic. Danya weight is down to 1960gram. Seems like the 2kg mark is a strong resistance. Danya fight strong and hard and we shall fight together as one.

David,

Does KKH have the sanitiser at every cot? You have to sanitise the hands at every touch .. SGH practice that. When carry baby have to wear the gown. Touch baby have to wash hands till elbow and with sanitiser than can touch baby.

If the virus is pass thru caregiver who does not practice hygiene.. This is such an irresponsible act. Furthermore with all the bacteria ard us..

I have a very sad news... i hope all of us here will help to pray for this lady's baby.

This lady gave birth in Mar emergency c sec due to pre-eclampsia. Her baby at birth is 500+ gm which later drops to 400+ and at birth the baby was almost gone but in the end, manage to survive. This lady's baby is my babies neighbour, use to be doing quite ok, only that the lungs is not very good, the baby now already 1.6kg plus, on high frequency ventilator, seems that these few days the condition has worsen and seems that the lungs might have collapsed as the mother and father are at the hospital waiting for that "frightening" moment as told by the mother.

I felt sad ... very very sad.. this mother visits the baby without fail everyday frm noon till evening. Pls help me to pray for her n the baby..

<font color="0077aa">Lin</font>,
since the advice given, today, I did not wipe it. I just take out the funnel and storage bottle 'swing' to get rid of bottle. I dun sterlise every pump. how's abt u?

yup, that's what my boy did for the past 3 mth merlion all over esp when hubby fed him, he merlion more until sofa and hubby's legs also kana.for us, we will let bb rest for a while b4 continue feeding him. no ebm wasted loh.

re:supplement.
yup, no poos for tbf bb mean absorbing well.yup, do big biz once a wk is ok. oh..that time, I remember Gingal's gar also got the eye review doc to review her gar. dunno what did the doc do to her gar eye then the next day or later, her gar just refused to open the eyes. think something like that.

<font color="119911">precious_one</font>,
oh...hubby will help to sterlise the bottles using traditonal method (boiling) at the end of the day (night time) before my last pump of the day. so after my every pump, I will rinse it with water fr flask. if one just happen to boil water, then I will use the boiling water to rinse. my mum even dun wash the pacificier when she took it for my boy to eat. the pacificier is just placed on my boy's bed, at least, can just go and rinse it mah,,but....

re:eyes checking.
just curious to know....hmm what's the purpose of checking? pai seh for the silly qns.

<font color="119911">hui</font>,
hmm..kkh staff said once bb hit 2kg then can take BCG and hep B leh. so that's why my boy took both together when he is discharged the day b4.

hmm..I remember when I had my gar that time, it is different lah. dunno why this mth, my boy no jab but got to wait for next mth then jab. reason given by nurse is bec he delayed in his hep B mah.

hmm..both yr kids (boy or gar?) are preterm??

<font color="0077aa">xbliss</font>,
oh, spoon feeding milk, super siong wor....must have lots of patient wor...

my sil's daughter ever since 1.5yr old only took 2 times of milk feeds (240ml per feed) per day. as long as bb is growing well, it is ok blar.

2593385.jpg
2593386.jpg

Hi David,

I know how you feel now.

When my gal was in NICU, she contacted blood infection and MRSA.

I personally feel that the blood infection could be due to blood infusion. Probably due to loop hole in checks. But theres nothing we could do as she needs the blood. Just our luck.

Just when she was cleared of the infection, she contacted MRSA.... I googled a bit and noted that it was highly infectious in hospital. But what pissed me off was that some nurses claimed that it was us who passed her the bugs ... think they think I'm some stupid SAHM ... but I didn't want to argue since my priority was to get my babies home

Hi David,

Hope Danya will feel better now and by the day.. You must be so stressed this period of time.. Must rest well to fight another battle with her k. I can understand the anxiety also, like my Lao er immune also quite bad, now still waiting for the blood clot to really disperse in his brain but seems that its so S..L..O..W. sighs and furthermore with his chronic lungs even more worrying.

Xiaowanzi,

Wow ur baby looks chubby.. so good .. i dunno when my son can look like that le.. still so skinny actually.. hmm issit because of MCT oil? cause the nurses say MCT oil makes them look round n chubby.. they just started on it and hope soon got the effect.

Hi Sam,

Don't worry, the day will come. My boy last time also very skinny and small. Born only at 635g, but under the care from KKH and the MCT oil, he get chubby.

But reasonly, he has slim down. Maybe he has grow taller, no matter what, as long as our kids is healthy and happy. We're happy.

grace hui, how's icylemon's gal? the last time she posted was taht her gal went for an op... its not the good stuff that makes a bb fat..its the fat stuff..the good stuff keeps him healthy!

jas, congrats on xaiver coming back..he is so sweettttt!
glad u enjoy motherhood!

babymaking..welcome!
week 30 is a pretty safe stage liao..so don't worry!

Sam..ahaha..another pic of a bb that clap the head (buay tahan) cos mommy/daddy took too many pics :p sad news re ur neighbour....

david, be strong... u r almost there liao..

kassie, for me.. 1) delivery of bm.... and not enuf rest cos most of us travel back to the hosp everyday to see. don't understand ur Q2 either...

afcai..ehehe..no..its not the water.... wah... u r so lucky ur hb help u sterilise ur pump via boiling water... waiting for the water to boil is the most ley chey part (have to wait very long)...

andrina_gina..so where is ur hb if i may ask..cos i thot its quite hard to find other jobs outside after one quits teaching due to unrelated experience? yes..i think children are wonderful (i have many nieces and nephew)...

welcome yangli..r u a premmie's mommy?

Hi david, hope danya will get well soon. she is on antibiotics drip?

Tell u when my boy was in kkh nicu, he also garna blood infection and wat more went into his brain and left a scar there. the doctor even told us to prepare that his right side will be weaker than his left blar blar...but amitable, luckily, my boy is fine now. I did a research, the infection is due to mishandling of equipments. anyway, i always said, better get ur child out of nicu/scn if possible as early as can be.

Sam, wow, proud mummy of 3 lovely babies!
Hope the baby can survive...i understand the pains of losing.

hui and andrina, same career ah! hui you are not a chinese teacher right? andrina, maybe we same batch! haha. which batch are you in? die, i can't recall liao... anyway, thinking of sending my boy to my own school maybe, i am a lazy mummy, lazy to be parent volunteer. haha. anyway, my school is quite a popular school in sengkang, might as well send him in. i am still slogging in the service...and holidays ending soon.

babymaking, eat lots n lots of meat n durians, thats what i did leh. eat and eat, and when my gal was borned 34 weeks, she is of rather good weight 2.778kg, yes 30 weeks over is consider safe liao, but to hospitals, 34 weeks over is the best.

welcome yangli, you have premiee too?

aiyo, quite a couple of posts, will read and post more later...

xbliss, my teacher's grandson doesn't like powder milk too, so they gave him those magnolia milk ...you can try it? think shd be ok too?

afcai, very premature babies have risk for ROP (some eyes condition) so have to do eyes check.

kkf,

my josiah also.. cause of the brain bleed, doctor say more or less will have impact and scarring and will affect his motor abilities on his left arm or right leg. I really hope he belongs to the minority ones that are not visible. I do not wish that he have so much sickness at one go..

afcai,
i have 2 boys. both preterm. #1:35weeker, #2:33 weeker. since you all like jab your bb following the chart, it should be safe then lor hor..

bloom,
icy's gal's op has been postponed due to H1N1, but think the op might soon be scheduled. according to her, this op's very complicated n we all hope n pray tt it'll be smooth.

kkf,
i'm an ex-chinese tr, but in sec level. but seems i might be older, earlier batch than both of u..

dun worry SAM, the doctors told us that my boy will also be affected but in the end, he is running over the place, and when he throws temper, his strength is greater than any of us...haha. dun worry!

oh i see. super stress teaching secondary!!! nowadays, my p5 and p6 already dunno like wat, can't imagine secondary!

who is icy gal btw? is she in our thread too? and what condition is her gal?

talking about injections, i remember the nurses in scn gave us appointments one for my boy (to take injections at polyclinic) who is very premature, as for my gal, as she is 34 weeks and of good weight, nobody says anything and we just brings her to padetrician ourselves for injections base on her actual age, not corrected.

hui, think ur boy can take injections base on actual age? ur padetrician shd be able to advise u on this? my gal is taking 6 in 1 injection plus rotavirus and puemoccocal (dunno how to spell) injection.

kkf,
stress comes from those who hated chinese to the core n would disrupt your class when u try to teach... but i've learnt how to be 'friends' with them to earn their trust... makes my life easier, but i can only do this if i'm a flexi-adj tr, with full time tr's responsibilities n load, its hard to do so. oh, bloom is asking abt icylemon's gal. she used to be active in smh threads. her elder gal's same age as my #1. she has a heart condition which needs to op.

teach me a tip or two leh, how to earn their trust??? i am going to teach p5/p6 weak students when school reopens, still thinking how to "push" their results up...hmm...

my boy went thru heart surgery before as well. if she needs, she can contact me. we have a support group for children with heart conditions...

kkf,
is the support group within this forum? prob i can ask from u n email her abt this. she really needs lots of support to go through this. as for tips on earning their trust?...well, i just relax n try not to scold them, can joke with them n join in their conversation. kids nowadays have ego... i never scold them in front of the class. i also use add in activities like riddles/cartoons/dvds at times when they feel sleepy n bored.

kkf,

I hope so too.

BTW, anyone of your bb experience water retention?

Jeriel got water retention, dunno how he got it and even need jab to help him to release more water leh..

<font color="119911">xiaowanzi</font>,
yeah, true,yr boy indeed chubby wor...when I saw him that day. are u a sahm?

<font color="0077aa">bloom</font>,
yeah, waiting for the water to boil is quite long and then sometimes he just doze off. so sometimes, i got to make sure he is NOT zzz...if not, I 'die' if the pump (funnel) spoilt.

<font color="0077aa">kkf</font>,
ai-yo...is blood trasfusion the cause of blood infection? so far, 2 of my preggie, I had blood transfusion. first one 1 pck and sec one 2 pck of blood. forgot what the nurse told me something abt reject the blood.

no wodner violet is so chubby wor....haa would like to pinch pinch her cheek. :p.

<font color="119911">hui</font>,
oh...both yr kids preterm. at least no#1 is closer to 36 or 37 blar...

hmm..u got a way to coax kids wor....usually, new teacher or teacher who is young and has innocent look will tend to get bully.

kkf
Dun give too much homework. Dun scold them too much. Do encourage them. Do give presents to them! ha!!! i wish hor?! as a student, i was looking fwd to such a teacher but at my time, bo leh..only got teachers who use pens to draw our face (1 line for each mistake), and teachers who pinch and twists our ears 360degrees.

The only teacher i remember i like is one who gave us presents when we scored well at his tests. that teacher i admire and respect whole life. perhaps it may be useful to view students as still little kids.. they are kids after all lor!!!

re milk: yes, giving bryan packet milk. stop a while cos he has some persistent cough lor.

sam,
my gal has water retention which causes the PDA cant completely close up, so doc gave her some diurectic, n monitor her pee output.... ==> PDA close up...

bloom,
sorry har, haven't contacted u yet, so bz at work nowadays, trying to clear as much work as possible,cos going on leave this fri. then i juz transferred ws to full day cc (she was half day),so last weeek took half day leaves on thurs &amp; fri, to pick her up, reward her. then ytd, got to leave early, to settle payment...so bz.

think can only collect the cream frm u next week, after i come back.

hui, i see..*sayang*.. hope everything will be smooth for icylemon's gal... ...

afcai, ahhaa..ask him to set alarm for 5 min later just in case he doze off lah..

dm, no worries, take ur time...

kkf...u know the charmaine case? they are raising funds for her... i remember u have the contact for the reporter (u mention that last time).. think this should be mentioned? afterall, those financial cases mentioned in the newspapers always get alot of support from the public... http://www.ourfeistyprincess.com/fundraising_web.php#

Hi bloom, yes i noe. actually charmine news is already on wan bao and some papers liao...

hui, have pm u the link to the support grp. thanks. Yes thats wat i tried to do with my upper primary, played dvd/vcd (i have a collection), joke, etc...but still hor...

xbliss, wish i can be that "dream" teacher too...haha, but not really possible leh, i am one broke teacher, and impatient.

Hi Shellow,
I briefly glanced thru' this thread.I had a stillbirth at 29 wks last yr.It took me a long time to get preg again.I'm now preg.contemplating delivering pre-term.Can u share ur experience delivery at 28 wks? i think i want to be monitored very closely this time.i have to mentally prepare myself for delivery at 29 wks,if baby is in distress.the baby i lost was born at 1.1kg.nothing was discovered during routine check ups/ultrasound.she stopped kicking one day,and i reaslied she lost her heartbeat.but i'm also worried if i have to deliver so early (29 wks),the survival rate is not bad,but there's still a risk

Hi monster
Sorry about about your lost..
Why don't you talk to your gyne and ask if him/her to give you a check every week. Scan to see how the baby is doing? At least, you will feel more relax.. don't stress yourself up, dear..

Shellow,

Oh ok.. the doctor is monitoring the water retention, so far pass 50% more than the day before yesterday. Hope it goes away.

Monster,

Oh my goodness, is the baby on any monitor when in hospital? How can the hospital miss the kicking and breathing?

Sam,
I think u have been mistaken.I had a stillbirth.the baby was lost at 29 wks.suddenly stopped kicking.went to hospital,realised no more heartbeak.the baby was no born alive.

Grace,
I don't know wat caused the stillbirth.that's the whole trouble.if the gynae could have pinpointed to a cause,at least there could be treatment to rectify it this time.but there isn't.so did my baby's heart stop beating juz like that? in a split sec? or was it a gradual decrease in heartbeat that i failed to detect? i never know.gynae doesn't have the answer too.so wkly monitoring is not good enough.24 hrs monitoring is the way to go.haven't spoken to gynae abt that though

hi monster,
sorry to hear abt ur lost...
for my preterm delivery is due to pre-eclampsia.... i've freguent visit to my gynae, till he refer me to KKH, when i was admitted, doc found out tt bb is in distress, nt moving much, so they decided to get her out.... think is better to discuss wif ur gynae n he/she will monitor u closely.

hi monster,
myself and a few other mummies here have experienced stillbirth, esp for those of us who had twins and one passed away. I was indeed jittery all throughout the 2nd pregnancy, and til today have fear for having another child. You are not alone in your journey. We will keep you and the little one in your tummy in our prayers so you can deliver safely.

Meanwhile, having more checkups is a safe option. You also need to be more sensitive to your bb's movements.. there's a certain way to observe but i can't remember. can ask gynae.

Monster
think best is to talk to your gyne..at least tell her how you feel..maybe she can recommend you a foetus heart beat hearing monitor..so that you can do it at home anytime..

Hi, I am not sure which thread I should fall under,
I gave birth to a low birth baby 2.18 kg at 38+ wks.
He is now 1 month + and gaining weight, however I have concern about his eyesight.
Eye colour lighter and different than both parents, and so far not responding to moving object and do not flinch when I wave in front of him.
He is sensitive to sun and bright light though.
Am I too early to worry just incase he has delay or should I rush to eye specialist to check?

Any advice really appreciated

<font color="119911">Bloom</font>,
ai-yo, alarm no use one. even every morning, his alarm clock rang for more than 5mins (I'm at kitchen preparing my moo moo task equipment), he still slp like log. so imagine bb crying.....hai....this morning still can ask me Hx so gd huh did not wake up. I said who say, he woke up at 3am for feed, dun u heard his cooing meh? of cos, he kept quiet. shake head....hai...think next time, got to set more than one alarm clock for him. or else, dunno what is the effective way to make him wake up?

<font color="0077aa">kkh</font>,
haa...errr...tot having our kids will train us to be more patient....err..or else worst our patience man....

haaa tot teacher shd be caring, patient etc to teacher or else nowsday parents will tend to complain man....

<font color="119911">monster</font>,
sad to hear abt yr lost.
is there anything that can reduce yr risk of deliver preterm?maybe dun walk or stress too much?

<font color="119911">Lia</font>,
yr bb is a full term bb. congrats! hmm....did u put on weight yrself?? how's abt asking the doc when u take yr boy for a jab? maybe just monitor for a while blar....might be too early to tell....can check out on the development at babyuk.com

Shellow,
i believe my baby could have been in distress too.juz that it was not picked up in time.i never tot a stillbirth is so common,that has never crossed my mind until it happened.care to share wat ur baby's wt is? and how long was ur bb in NICU.any complications now?

Grace &amp; tigger,
Thank you for ur suggestion.i tot of using a doppler machine too.i know u can buy it fr the internet.but i'm worried abt night time.when i'm asleep,who is going to listen? whether the bb's heart stopped in the middle of the night or during the day,i have no idea.and at work,there is no way i can listen to the baby's heartbeat all the time.i tot of juz sitting at the gynae's clinic fr maybe 25 wks onwards,and at night,be warded so the baby can be monitored 24/7.haven't spoken to gynae yet.

afcai,
I want to deliver prematurely if possible.i'm looking at maybe 34 wks.i'm juz too scared to go to term with this next baby.my baby wasn't delivered due to complications.my baby was delivered at 29 wks coz she already lost her heartbeat.

monster
who's your gyne? talk to her about your fears.. she's in better position to advice you what to do.. 34 weeks baby is quit?e safe but if you can keep to full term, why not? anyway, every pregnacy is different so you might not face any problem this time round..

Monster,
she was 1.18kg been in kkh for 64 days, she has hernia surgery b4 she was discharge. So far, she is ok... will b turning 1 in 2 wk, she is crawling n standing up now, very active. A photo of her.
2604921.jpg

Thks gals for yr welcome

Am now writing from KKH, warded for pre term labour and erratic bb heartbeat.

Monster,
i can empthatise with what you are feeling now, with bb's heartbeat being erratic, I'm seriously wondering if i should opt for elective c sect now at week 31. Although doctors say it;s not a cause for concern as bb's hb do rebounce, i feel so much safer having a premature but LIVE baby in my arms rather than a dead full term baby.

Now living one day at a time, shuttling between full ctg monitoring and periodic monitoring.

It's hard not to be paranoid when you have lost a baby before, i lost 2 through miscarriage &amp; ectopic pregnancy, and after trying IVF for 4 yrs - so yes - i'm trying not to be paranoid but it's not easy.

I gotten a home fetal doppler which came in very handy as whenever i needed assurance, i just switch it on and monitor bb hb on my own. Because of my own periodic monitoring, i noticed a drop in bb heartbeat and went to hospital for full monitoring - if you need it, email me [email protected].

KKF,
been eating durian before i got warded - i think my fellow ward patients will scream if i have them in the ward now :p

Hi Babymaking,

when I was warded, the nurses suggested that I take the durians in the garden But since I was on CRIB, my husband secretly sneaked in those durian pancakes into the ward ... but luckily nobody complained :p

Lia,

I had the same concerns when Jerlynn was about 2mth (CA) too...We did a physio test and she did not respond to moving objects too...Just like ur baby, she did not flinch, not only waving but even clapping and trying to startled her...The physio therapist was very concern on this issue, but we told her she passed her eye check...Thus she thinks Jerlynn has had some delays in focusing (always in her own wonderland, shld have named her Alice). We were taught to do some exercises with her at home daily.

1. Put her on our lap facing us and slowly catch her gaze and move our head side by side for her to follow, if she cannot focus after awhile, stop and let her rest, then repeat...

2.Use Black/white and Red Flash cards and move the flash cards slowly in front of her...it seems that they will be attracted to these 3 colors and will want to follow the movement...

4 weeks later (Last Week), we went for the rehab session again...and she passed with flying colors! Now she can even track my movements when I walked around the house, and also is watching tv and she loves commercials and news! She doesn't like Cartoon channels yet though...And when she is hungry, she will look at the kitchen area and not let her eyes off the milk bottle until it reaches her mouth!

BTW, she also has lighter eyes color, mine are Blue Black and my Hb's are Brownish Black...Hers are Brown..I joked to my HB saying I'm sorry that Jerlynn is not his...hahahaha But too bad, she Looks more and more like him each day, cannot bluff...

If u still feel it's a concern, u may wanna walk-in to KKH Eye Clinic for a consultation, I think they are quite professional and will be able to help...

"Jerlynn on My Lap"
2605983.jpg

Now my HB upgraded her Lap playtime by doing this...For me, I can't do this position cos my hands are like too short to bring her up to my knees! She loves this!
2605984.jpg

hi kkf,

I belong to the 02 batch in NIE... what abt u?? i tot in a school in serangoon and also a girls' school in bukit timah (dunearn) before.i think for kids (esp weaker ones), the most impt thing is ur care and concern and listening ear for them. anything else is a bonus. having taught in a rich ah tas school and a poor neighborhood school, i realize that all the kids are the same... they are naughty and mischievous becos they lack the attention which their parents shld be giving them. if we can just be there for them, during recess or watever, they will learn to slowly accept us. hehe... just my own opinion yah?? btw, tell me abt being poor... its really true that in teaching, we are seriously underpaid. sigh.... dun worry. u are blessed to be rich in the heavens!!!

Hi Bloom,
Currently my ah lao looking for a job and also giving full time tuition and some other part times like translating works etc. Hopefully there will be a full time job coming soon. He's looking for admin jobs in universities and polys... but till now, still not much news.

David,
don't worry!! i believe that all will fall for the better. but if possible, when danya reaches 2kg, quickly bring her home cos i dun really trust kk..

Hui,
my boy also 33weeker but he received all his vaccinations as any other normal babies... maybe becos i seeing my own pd that's y everything is the same?? he just took his last rotarix yesterday.... pneumococal will be starting next month. u want to check w the pd again?

Shellow
Paige is same as Maddy.. maybe we can arrange for playdates..
haha.. same hairstyle too..

gingal
sooo cute...love her cheeks..

babymaking
me too had etopic before. wedged 1 side off. so while pregnant with maddy, i was so scared.. guess that caused me to be tensed up and stressed.. which caused prematured delivery..so, don't worry..you are in good hands now.. JIA YOU!!