Premature babies support group

afcai
Tracheostomy surgery: The ENT prof punch a on the neck below the vocal cord, insert a trachy tube and the trachy tube can be hooked on an oxygen tube connects to the oxygen generator. The nursing care is very tiring as she tends to have lots of phlegm and needs suction regularly.

Yes, my girl is lazy in biting and chewing so we have to watch her closely when she eats otherwise she gets choke easily. Her main meal is porride, milk and bread....she can eat pizza, meat etc. though, she simply refuses to eat rice and noodles/beehoon (unless we cut them into very tiny bits for her to simply swallow but rice already so tiny liao, how to cut?)....

Just went to the KKH-Respiratory clinic on Wed, at age 4 she is only 12.6kg...looking at the weigt chart she is below the 10% percentile.....her height is at the 50% range.

Each time she puts on some good weight, another bout of cough will bring her scale down....damn sianz... she can only fit into a size two skirt or pants as her waist is small. But sometimes the size 2 pants length is rather short for her....

sam
afcai is right. Social worker from KKH will approach the mummy as soon as the baby is admitted to NICU as they know that the bill is going to be huge. They will ask if you will have any financial difficulty. You will have to take a means test if you want to tap onto some hospital childen's funds. Hospital will allow you to tap onto yours and hubby's parents and siblings medisave if they are willing to help.

At this stage, please do not worry about $$ issues as it will only wear you down, just focus on bringing your litte ones back to health first. . As the chinese saying goes 船到桥头自然直! The hospital will be able to work out instalment plans if there's a need.

For my case, my girl's medi bill came up to be around S$60k after subsidy (6mths stay at NICU), we use hb's and my medisave cum cash to settle it.

Trust that that the LORD will provide. 加油!

afcai
the nurses was scared that she would lose her body heat quickly so used clingy wrap as blanket for her.
think it was some infection that caused the prematured. my gyne was saying my body was trying to discharge any foreign things in it. so baby got flushed out too as it's was foreign too. By the time she arrived, she looked down, she saw Maddy's toes wriggling at her. Her first reaction was" I can see her toes".. Maddy was delivered in breached position. Her feet was bruised as she was sitting on it for awhile.

kkf
please go ahead if you wanna post it up. it's fine with us..

Hi ladies an gentleman,
Sorry, so long never post. I brought my gals for their 6in1 jab on wed and they both had fever the same afternoon and yest. This Am just settled....stress man....

My fren oso told me can give panadol b4 jab. But my pd told me cos they are still small and liver may not be tat good, so can oni give when got fever >38 degree leh...

Hi afcai,
oic...my gals going 2nd neonate checkup next mon, shall see when's the next one.

re:feed.
wats the purpose of placing upright while waiting for milk? Is it to calm her down?

re:physio
ya loh, must pay extra but still ok for us. I keep telling myself its a short-term thing and they dun have to see already if they are better. Maybe HX birth weight >1.5kg, tats why no need dietician and physio bah.

re:bm.
Its good that he wants to slp, cos my mum say babies must slp then would grow faster. At the same time, you can rest oso.

re:iron drop.
hmm...ok thanks.

Hi precious_one,
Saw ur reply to afcai on the iron drops, i'm oso still continuing to put in milk til further advise.

Hi Lin,
Welcome to the thread. KKH would assigned ur baby with a doc according to your baby's condition. My twin gals were delivered in Kkh at 31wks. They are under follow-up with Dr Quek Bin Huey, she's a very nice doc. I understand that she sees babies with very low birth weight. My younger gal was born 1kg, so gotta see her, so my elder gal oso follow, she was born 1.46kg.

My gals refused to latch in hospital, it is 2wks after we came bk then elder gal Channah started to latch, initially oso bite me til bleed, after tat better. But my younger gal til now refuses to latch, quite lazy, cos she oni wants to lick and suck the let-down bm.

Hi David,
Yes, you are right, we have to be positive. Anyway, you dun expect Danya to be a sportswoman next time right? So no worries, i'm positive she'll be fine

My gals oso lost weight when out of incubator, cos they use up more energy to fight the cold. Dun worry ok? She looks so alert and pretty!

Hi Maykel,

Thanks for the assurance. Danya has gain some weight after my nagging last Saturday. Ha Ha.

Hi Sam,

A friend of my, TMC, 2 mths, 200K. Talk to the social worker. They can help you to work out some installment plan. If really can't pay, they are not going to sue you. Don't worry. Just focus on your 3 warriors. Money can be make back in future. Fight On & Fight Strong.

Hi afcai

beside expressing milk,i dare not sleep too much at nite cos bb always make alot of noise when she is sleeping n her breathing is loud..so have to on off check on her when she is sleeping..

my ger is discharged with 5 types of supplements..3 of them need to add into the BM for every feed n the other 2 is once n twice everyday..since all these will help in bb growth so oso dun dare to miss...

yah..my 1st child..have been nagging my hubby..he now only know how to "play" with bb n shout for help..

re:skin.
yah..i oso have rashes on side of my thigh...sian man..apply med liao..still cant really help much..still there after 1 mth..

re:bm.
my bb sometimes 10 min can finished her 45ml ..sometimes take abt 1hr..depends on her mood..but burping her is more siong..cos always take time..sometimes burp for 1/2 hr still no burp then give up liao..i only let her latch on for 15 min..yi shi yi shi..hahaha

re:spotting.
oso dun know how to differentiate lochia with menses...will go followup checkup with my gynae in 2wks time, maybe check with him again..sian man..hope spotting will be over soon...

didnt know tat BF will create spotting..hopefully, my spotting is cause by BF..

yah...i oso heard menses will reduce bm.

wanna check with u all..how u all pay for the followup check?by cash,medisave or CDA?

when u all go for followup checkup which take 1/2 day..how do u all feed bb with BM?purely on latch on? tink my ger cant dong too long with latch on.. or still go to SCN to express milk out?

do u all managed to buy insurance gor ur premmies? seems like it is not tat easy...

Hi Sam

jia you..like wat precious_one say..things will be solved when we reach the bridge..since we r in KKH (govt hospital), they cant be too jue qing..at most go by interest free instalment & pay bit by bit..they cant chase us out of KKH..dun be too stress..focus on ur health n bb 1st..everything will be fine...jia you

lin
didn't managed to get insurance. Prudential rejected me cos they said baby's birth weight is low. They said can only get when she turn 4. not sure about other company. i'm thinking of buying via banks. they don't seem to be so strict.

precious one
do you have any problems buying policy?

Sam
I understand how you feel cos I hv been there. Seeing all the premies who were admitted at the same time as my girl were discharged after 2 or 3 months, yet my girl couldn't breathe on her own then. I was concerned with the $ but more concerned in my girl's survival. I couldn't handle both so I had to cast $$ issue out temporarily. I did sound out to both families that we might borrow their medisave $$ if we didn't have enough $ to settle the bill.

After my girl was discharged, we had to fork out more than S$10k to buy the oxygen support equipment, suction machine, humidifier etc., and various medical supplies....and these small items add up to a couple of hundreds and we had to replenish them every month. Worst, when all our medisave were wiped out to pay for the long stay, my girl had to be admitted to the hospital each time she had cough, staying at dependency ward each time...we lost count. These were $$ issues. I knew the stress level. My girl costs us more than S$100k...to be exact.

From my experience, I learnt that it is best to focus your energy and giving your love, support and time to your darlings than to worry about $. When your babies are at the pink of health, you will be so joyful that you will be able to sort out the $ issues with the hospital.

As it is, you have 3 premies and your hospital is going to be huge, to what level, only GOD knows. Why worry over some indefinite figure?

If the current bill is at S$80k, be prepared to stand by S$160k. Pay up whatever you can afford in medisave and cash and arrange for instalment plans. I'm sure the hospital will agree.

There's always a solution to $$ issues but when it comes to health.... everyone knows that it is something that $$ cannot buy. Stress will affect one's health and you can't allow that to happen to you as your babies and hb need you. Stress is the No.1 killer.

Stay positive, hopeful and faithful, believing that your babies will be home soon.

Anyway, what's your hb's plan on the $$ issue.

I learnt from the hospital previously that some parents had to resort to selling their properties or downgrade their homes. I strongly believe that there is a solution to $$ issue but one must be willing to make adjustment to the lifestyle.

I'll pray for a speedy recovery of your boys so that the hospitalisation bill will be within your means.

Grace Lim
Insurance - BIG problem cos they want clearance letter from the hospital....but A has so many doc.. f/up, now left with four, don't know which doctor can give overall clearance...Sigh!

Grace
I approached Prudential from Standard Chartered Bank and also Maybank....same prudential so they will not barge.

I didn't want to ask others cos A still seeing respiratory, neuro and eye. I'm waiting to see Dr Lim SB to have her view...see if she's willing to give overall clearance letter. But with this H1N1 thingy...don't know when she will see A.

precious one
exactly!! very sickening..I signed everything, issued cheque.in the end, got rejected... I just received a invitation from ocbc. might give it a try. they offer edu policy..

Hi Maykel

My ger oni latch on for awhile..the feed doesnt really satisfy her..so i top up with bottlefeed which has supplements inside..=)

precious
which eye doc is A seeing? Maddy is seeing Dr Khoo from Mt E.

Oh.. i'm so going to faint... Maddy caught a cold. so bought her to the doc for her running nose. she didn't sleep well last night, kept us up till 4am. Anyway.. cut the story short.. she was given this nose drop for her congestion.. the seal was broken but i didn't think much at that moment. i applied on her.. now i can't sleep, feeling so gulity. fearing the medication is contaminated..what a lousy mother i am...

Grace
Eye? Errr. I forget his surname as it is a yearly appointment and the last time, my hb took A there. If I remember correctly, he's Dr Kwek, he is also the HOD of Eye Clinic - KKH. Always have students with him when A saw him previously. A is lucky to have HODs as her doc. in charge in many areas..hahaha

For edu....my hb and I took up another 21yr endowment policy each with the intention of giving the $ at maturity to A if she makes it to uni. That's what the insurance agent advise us. Can't insure her, insure ourselves.

I am saving diligently to meet any "unexpected" .. and keep myself healthy so that I don't need to use my meagre medisave on myself hopefully.

I will try to get medical insurance for her again when she's discharged from all docs....at a later age. Enough of "rejected feeling" ..hehe

Grace
Complaint to the doc about the broken seal, I'm sure you will get a replacement. I was once given an expired tablets (medi) by a GP. I called the nurse and they asked me to go and changed them. Then my girl was bed-ridden at home so I told them that it was their fault and I didn't have time. The doc. appeared in my house door step in the afternoon to give me the replacement and at the same time visited A.

hello all,
I am currently pregnant with twins and am very worried about having premature birth which requires neonatal care, can mommies and daddies out there advise me on what to plan for? e.g, how to get subsidized rate, what insurances are possible at this stage for the child, etc .. any advise if appreciated... thanks

precious one
my husband went back to get an exchange..are you looking after A full time?

precious baby
maybe you can discuss with your gyne? you might want to call the hospital service line to check or take a hospital tour? your gyne warned you about premature birth?

Hello Grace,
So far, my gynae has not mentioned to me anything about premature birth, but I am secretly very worried since with multiple pregnancies, the risk is always higher. I have already blown away 20K from a recent hospital stay and am very worried about premature birth, NICU stay and how much that will all cost us ... I read a little about NICU care in KKH and that it's subsized, so am wondering how we can get the subsized rate if we really need to make use of NICU .... thank you.
Also, do you know of any insurance which will cover baby stay in NICU from Day1? I cant seem to find ...

Hello Precious Baby,

FIrst of all, get yourself into restructured hospital. NUH or KKH are both quite good. Pls dont go there when you are about to deliver because emergency case doesnt give subsidies. For me, I actually went to polyclinic to get referral letter, and went to NUH.

When you are admitted, choose C ward. So in case of NICU stay, your baby will follow the C ward rate as well, which is the cheapest. However, pls note that whether u get C ward subsidy or not also depends on the mean testing done by MOH. (if your household income level is less than a certain amount, u can get maximum up to 80% subsidy as a Singaporean, for more info on mean testing, pls check the MOH website). If you still cant afford the bill after subsidy, you can talk to social worker and request for installments.

As for insurance, it is too late now that u are pregnant. Insurance for maternity related claims has a grace period of 6 - 12 months depend on companies...

My bill for my elder twin is around 15k for 46 days stay. For my younger twin, up till date already 127 days, the bill is around 34k plus. I have 70% subsidy as I am a PR, not a SIngaporean.

MOst importantly you got to rest well now. Money matter will all straight out later....

All the best

Precious Baby,

I forgot to mention that, if u are not able to get the maximum subsidy 80% due to your income level, you can still appeal to MOH for more subsidies for reason such as "huge medical bill".

I did appeal once due to low subsidies, and it was successful. So, dont worry....

Xavier finally tried latch on last friday, after 4 months of waiting...

The feeling was amazing. wow, looking at him sucking and swallowing made me want to cry....How i wish Issac was here to share the joy as well...But i do believe he is in heaven watching over us

Xavier is coming home in a few days time, by this week! But we are not yet ready....still refurnishing my bro's empty HDB, it is really empty....very stressed now..still havent installed air con, kitchen cabinet, internet, etc. And we still have to move our bed and babycot over... Very kancheong now~~~~

These 2 days i kept having nightmares of baby....Guess i m over stressed and too excited....

Hi Jas

Good news to hear that Xavier is latching on and he will be back hm soon...you will get busy soon..1st few days will be more siong as we dont know their pattern yet..once we know their pattern,we will be more confident n easier to manage..

the 1st nite when my ger is hm, we did not really sleep much the whole nite..maybe is new environment..she is "awake" for the whole nite n her breathing is noisy so we dare not sleep oso cos scared she has difficulty in breathing..

enjoy ur motherhood...more sleepless nites to come..=)

Hi preciousbaby,

Based on the bill estimation statement during admission..For class C (my case), i shld be able to pay all "the after subsised bill" by medisave, we dont need to fork up any cash..

read from forum also, if ur medisave not enuff, still can "borrow" from your relatives..or at most,pay by interest free instalment..drag for a longer time n pay bit by bit..money matter will be solved...dun be too stress abt it now..

Moreover, ur bb are still safe in ur tummy..dun tink too much..maybe u wont have premature bb leh..suai yuan

In fact, for my own hospitalisation bill,i still can "cash" back..they deducted my hubby's medisave $3k+ but after subsidy etc, the bill is $1.5k+..they still send me a cheq of $1.5k+ after 1mth+ after my discharge...dun know how the things work..we are in the sense getting hard "cash" from our medisave acct

BB just discharge this wk, so bill havent come yet..will see how the bb bill is...

Hi Jaz,

Finally, Xavier has the final triumph. He has fought brave and he is indeed a champion. Cheers.

Hi Mums,

Danya update. Weight 1630gram. This afternoon bottle feed has a little episode. After finishing her bottle, while the nurse was burping Danya, suddenly she desat. Her lips turn brown, she look sleepy, SPO2 & HR dive to 60+% and 110+BPM. Within a short while, she was panting hard and everything is back to normal in less than a minutes. Wow, the nurse that was feeding Danya was steady and as cool as a piece of ice. I also look cool at the moment but actually, I was totally SHOCK at the moment. Wow, what a happening day.

Grace Lim
I looked after A full time for 3 years. I've returned to the workforce and on June 9, it will be one year.
One year of guilt too cos don't have much time for A after I work...

Jas
So happy for you and Xavier....

David
Danya likes to play trick on you ah.... she is doing well and should be home soon.

Hi PreciousBaby,

Maybe you can check with your gynae whats your current condition first as why jump into conclusion that you will give birth preterm, unless your twins are sharing same placenta or doctor tell you that there are possibility of TTTS or even low lying placenta etc... Its not easy to go through this journey frankly.. Its very stressful emotionally and financially.

Im with SGH and the admission assistant will advise if you have higher chance to give birth pretem, they will advise you to go lower class and for SGH NICU its 1 nurse to 1 Baby ratio. For subsidy its up to 70% and appeal will go up to 80%. For insurance, you have to buy maternity rider but 10 mths prior to pregnancy, if not all policy does not cover pregnancy.

Do rest well and listen to gynae especially when they ask you to bed rest.. its really no joke. I feel guilty letting my babies suffer now..

Grace,
hihi, saw the advertisement on tmc on saturday
hope alls well wif yr family and maddy..

precious baby,
which hospital are you with now? i was with kkh..under c class, the bill was about $32k wif subsidy..u may want to pm me..

hi Mummies/daddy,

It's like some time since i last posted...

Jerlynn was down with flu and cough rather badly for the past week, luckily the medicine the GP @24 hours Clinic we went to a week ago gave works, and now she is feeling better. Initially i mixed the syrup to water and fed her for 2 days, but the cough and blocked nose got worst...then i gave her straight and it worked better. She lost weight
for the past week, she was cranky and wants to be carried alot, and lost appettite again...maybe she felt better already, so ytd night she slept from 1am to 9am without wanting milk. So at last I can say, she sleeps through the night liao...not a good thing afterall, cos after she wakes up, she gets so hungry and keep wanting to drink...being alone at home with her, so difficult to prepare her milk while carrying her...sigh...
Now she is sleeping soundly whilst I have time to do my pumping and type out this post...

Re: Hospital bill for Jerlynn
My bill comes up to $31k after subsidies gotta pay $11k...we used up our medisave for it...we have very little medisave, now just nicely wiped out liao. I think we got the 80% subsidies, not sure how they computed though, when we see teh bill it's like not 80% leh, nevertheless we don't wish to dispute la, cos I think kkh has done very well for us. I was admitted on 31st Dec 08, thus the MEANS TEST does not apply to us as it's effective date was 01 Jan 09..Phew..Jerlynn was borned on 01 Jan 09...luckily no disputes, cos based on admitted date...luckily my water bag broke on 31st Dec 08...hahahahaha I opted for C Class bed as I was already taught to do so by my Gynae which we have already anticipated my early deivery, I was lucky again as C Class was full that day and I was upgraded free to B Class, at least got air-con...hmmmm

Why I said that they have done good for us, cos I was a TMC Patient, and I admitted myself to KKH A&E on emergency basis to deliver. It was good that they accepted me, and the ppl there knew my gynae very well, they said he always will ask his patients whoever gonna deliver early or with complications to do this...they take him "boh pian"...

At first they were reluctant to give Jerlynn a bed in NICU as they were very full...but they still managed to do it for her, even though i was not a KKH patient.

My Gynae advice was if I choose to let him deliver at TMC with baby at NICU the bill will come up to 6 -digit figure and with no subsidies...unless I can perservere til 34 weeks, he will not deliver for me...I really cannot imagine myself with a 6-digit bill...

Grace,
U delivered Maddy at TMC right? I think I read that on the magazine...Hmmm your bill must be really on high side, hows the Neonat/NICU team at TMC? Are they good? I really like my stay at TMC, everyone was soooo friendly even the Ward nurses, I can't say the same for Ward nurses at KKH though, keke...though I would not wish myself staying at TMC for the same situation (was on bedrest 7 days there), but I do really miss the food there, I always will opt for their malay breakfast, the Lontong is shiok!!!! Kekeke

Hi Gingal,

Don't stress yourself too much. How about getting your parents to help out in the daily chores? You also need too recharge OK because none of us are Energizer Bunny. LOL.

Talk about bills, I only see the 1st bill after Danya's STOMA ops. 12 days in NICU and STOMA ops, after all subsidy, 7K cash. I told KKH don't bother me. Get me the total sum once our princess is back home. Well, if I really can't afford, than installment plan. Better than I declare bankrupt right?

<font color="119911">precious_one </font>,
thks for explaining what is Tracheostomy surgery. hmm..I had learnt another new thing.

oh, punch on the neck. must be very painful wor.

re:rice.
my mum said before cooking the porridge or rice, soak the rice for a while first so that it will be soft then much easier to eat.

re: weight.
did the doc say her weight ok? is A a small built? my gar who is 2.5yr old only weight 12kg (not preterm, wk 38). other toddler of her age already more than 12kg and some hit 18kg.

oh...that's mean she can even wear 2 yr old clothings...anyway, as long as she eat, slp and display happy mood, I'm sure it is gd enu right...

re:bills.
wow, $60k, that's lot wor....but as said, health is more impt as money cannot buy it.

<font color="0077aa">Grace Lim</font>,
oh my god....fr yr experience, u must be worried at that pt of time. so how is she now?

<font color="119911">Maykel</font>,
re:Jab.
my boy also will kana fever for the first 2 6 in 1 jab. once they jab, do give them the fever medcine so that the fever will not that high.

re;chckup.
oic...my boy nextneonatal checkup (6mth) will be in sept.which clinic u gg? me at clinic K.

re:feed
yup, think my boy like upright pose and not lying down. while waiting for milk, when he is upright post, he can KPO look here and there (of cos, that time must support his head but now dun need).

re:weight.
think so...my boy is 1.72kg at his birth.

re:bm
yup, shiok since mid of may, my boy is like sleeping prince. last feed is at either 0530pm or 7pm then can only woke up at 2-3am but with exceptional case, sometimes 1am. of cos, I can slp more before my next moo moo time is 0330am.

re:iron drops.
do check with doc and pharmacist again.

re:latch on.
oh...Channah so playful huh, bite u till bleed. ai-yo.... yr younger gar also smart wor...dun need to work for bm, know when ebm is given.

<font color="119911">Sam</font>,
teah, what more impt is the health of yr darling boys....cheers...as one saying, there's a will, there 's sure a way to resolve a problem right....

or else use parents medisave??

cheers, like what precious mentioned dun stress yrself...I also pray for a speedy recovery of yrs darlings.

<font color="0077aa">Lin</font>,
dun worry, cos my boy initially came hm make so much noise and we did monitor him for 2 wks then find it the noise is cause my his stretching. I also check with neonatal doc that why is my boy making so much noise during the night. she told me that I must burp bb well cos those noise are caused by gas resolving ard his tummy. doc told me not to worry. now, my boy only make noise when stretching only.

oic...my boy did not discharge with any supplement until he went for his first neonatal checkup only. now, he is given 4 bottles of mutlit vitamin to last till sept.

will yr no#1 disturb bb? mine will always disturb him when he fall aslp.

yeah, true, bb can sense the new envirnoment and we adult will have sleepless night.

re:hospitalisation bill.
for me, I onyl get bck $800+ (gd liao...). u c-sect (me natural)?? $3K+ ex wor.... bb bill will only came in 1mth later.

re:skin rashes.
my rashes will go off and come bck again when there is sweat. sian...now, neck got rashes...

oic..gd that latch on to bond with bb loh. anyway, the bonding is also nice right where no words can describe. too bad, my boy dun want to latch on.

now, my boy got a new method of drinking milk. he dun want to be carried. so we placed him down on the sofa or bed. then pop him up with pillow with musical equipment beside him. if no musical equipment, he will still drink but kept on 'eh eh'. think 'mumbing' to the muscial equpiment man...

re: spotting.
my lochia ended nearly 3mth. now, already past 4mth, once in a blue moon, got some spotting dunno why.

yup, doc said bf will tend to cause lochia to past out more and then help our womb to shrink down (but not for my case).

re:payment cum followup.
for me, initally, I use my CSC card. but now, if I go alone with bb, then will use CSC if not use CDA a.c (must activate, bring BB bc to activite at the payment counter). outpatient no medisave lah.

will take child care leave (request doc for mc). I got 4 days of child sick leave (applicable for 2 kids). usually, will go by cab to kkh and then came bck within shortest time. will feed the bb small amt before gg out so that can 'tong'. if bo biah, will latch him on (think if he is hungry, he sure will drink blar...have not tried yet). my boy when out won't felt hungry one cos got so many things for him to KPO ard, if not, he will be a sleeping bb cos too comfortable in my sling.

can still go SCN to express milk meh....KKH clinic also got nursing rm mah... which clinic u gg? me at clinic K. there's got nursing rm mah.

re:insurance.
yes. hubby is buying insurance for my boy. the agent said no problem for my boy even he had hernia surgery. now, still pending to approve.

hmm think SAM 's 3 darlings in SGH blar...

<font color="119911">Jas</font>,
glad to hear that finally a long wait that Xavier will be coming hm and in few day times and latching on. are u a sahm?? how mth is Xavier now? my boy just turned 4mth 4 days ago (corrected age is 2mth). do have more rest before bringing the bb hm.

<font color="0077aa">gingal</font>,
oh...u must be having sleepless night when Jerlynn is unwell. glad that she is recovery. how she caught the flu? u must be tired out after that...not easy to be SAHM. (now, I'm a temp sahm for nearly 4mth +. everyday, doing the same routine(woke up early at 3am+ moo moo, then slp 1-2hr, feed bb, send gar to ccc, ta bo breakfast for mum, sometimes go market to buy ingredient to cook (only when run out in fridge), came hm moo moo again, prepare lunch for my gar, bath and then fetch my gar fr ccc, attend to my gar before she nap, if gd time, i can nap for 1-2hr if not only 20mins if cow prince woke up. then moo moo at 0330pm and the prepare dinner, feed ah boy if not bath ah gar...hai...think i'm like robot (zombie in the morning) these few mths.dunno how being the sahm got that sian feeling or not....

mentioning abt handling 2 kids, these fews days think lack of slp etc. and mum is sick so have to handle both on my own. now, breathless and heavy head man. so now, immune system down liao...gg to collapse soon...)

hmm..maybe u want to sling her while preparing the milk?

re:bill.
wow, kind of expensive wor...my total bill is $19K (applied to bb bills only) before subsides. but after subside, we only pay $4k+ (near to $5K). no cash involved and all deducted fr medisave. my own delivery bills is $2K+ but after subsidse is $1.5k and KKH even returned $800+ (by cheque) to us. all bill are deducted fr medisave. the second time I admitted to hopsital after 3 wks delivery (did DNC), my bill is abt $2K+. so after subsides, pay $10xx by medisave. ai-yo....think delivery a child kind of ex wor....baby bonus also not enu to cover.

hmm nice and famous gynae u have wor...

<font color="119911">David</font>,
haa yr posting make my day again...energizer bunny wor....

Afcai,

think u asked me b4 about my tummy right? hehe...My tummy was quite big with 2 babies, even at 2nd trimester, however it shrunk a bit after my gynae did amnioreduction for me (sucked out 700ml of amnio water from Issac's water bag). Anyway, since i gave birth in 2nd trimester, it was still okay lah....not as big as those who carried all the way to end ...I really wonder how that feels...Got to try having twins again...hahahaha...

I am not a SAHM...However, I had applied leave since Jan, extended to Sept, i feel like a SAHM, hehe. My job is in Shanghai, yet i am blessed that my company actually allows me to start working again in Sept in our SG office. If not, dunno how to survive...because my husband also took unpaid leave to come over SG, 5 months unpaid...we are basically living on savings now...

Xavier is around 4 months plus, (1 month corrected age)...

ur bill very cheap leh...I dun have much medisave as i only became PR not long ago....I already paid out near to 50k SGD CASH....sigh...very poooor now.

Anyway, when Xavier is back, i will be the happiest person in the world, got money or not doesnt matter

<font color="119911">Jas</font>,
re:tummy.
yeah, even shrunk but still elastic right?? haa..u still want twins huh?? let god decided wor...

oic. that's mean Xavier is older than HX loh...is he a Jan bb (kkf, gingal and me are Jan bb)? HX only just turned 4mth 4 days ago.

glad that yr co is understanding.

re:bills.
tough the bill via payment is hard pain but $$ can still earn bck right...most impt is the health of our premiees.... wow, pay 50k in cash, that's a lot...so now, need to save a bit wor...but hor, envy u have such a gd supply of bm wor...

yup, true, no words can describe when bonding with Xavier wor...glad he is a great warriors. cheers.

take care....before another sleepless night begun...

<font color="ff6000">kkf/gingal</font>,
our bb are gg to 6mth soon (non-corrected age), will u be giving solid food to bb then? I asked the polyclinic doc when HX went for his jab. the doc said that, we can give solid food based on their non-corrected age. dun look bck at the edd date. just started them with a small amt.

Hi Jas,

Ha Ha. Congratulation with A BIG SMILE.

You &amp; Hubby gonna enjoy your life. Managing Xavier will be like going to gym, good work out on the arm and back. Xavier cry is going to be like a symphony, so pleasing to our ears. Cheers.

Don't worry about money, can always make back. Enjoy the moment with your love one, Like Mastercard advertisement says "PRICELESS". He He.

costa
arghh.. you saw it.. so pai sai.. i looked so fat in that picture..

gingal
yup.. stayed in tmc throughout. bill came out to $150k after discount. tmc doesn't have many preemies cases. max i seen was 11 babies at 1 time. that's prob for 2 days. they appointed 1 staff nurse to Maddy round the clock. She sit beside her, monitored , story telling, massaged etc for Maddy. The nurses are very friendly and encouraging over there. Sometimes they even let us in in the middle of night. I would drive down to spend some quiet time with Maddy if I can't sleep.we were given vip treatment.they prob can tell from begining that part of their bonus caming from us.. hahaha...they even popped by to visit maddy after she was discharged. they call on and off now.
my gyne is from mt.e. i only called her after i check myself in at tmc's labor ward hahaha..prefer tmc's rooms then mt.e..I would definiely choose to go back to tmc for delivery(if there's chance). wanna try out the lontong you mentioned.hmmm.. i love longtong... I didn't eat for few days after delivery cos was so worried then.

precious one
what causes your early delivery?

David,

Yah I know I should take a break off chores, just that past 2 weeks my Mum fell sick and she didn't came over and help me out, she also missed Jerlynn so much that everyday I will recieve at least 2 calls from her and 2 calls from my Dad..abit frustrating also...hahaha...My dad drops by the evenings, though he didn't do anything but at least I can let off and grumble abit to him...
Just nice also, usually I will let my MIL take care of Jerlynn on 1 or 2 weekend nights, so My hubby and I can sleep longer hours, but my HB's niece and nephew fell sick too, so many weeekends never bring over, thus I was really tired. Last Sat night, managed to let Jerlynn stayed over, but still Sunday gotta wake up early to do housechores...Faintzzzz...
Now better ler, I think Jerlynn starting to sleep longer hours through the night for the past 2 days, hope it stays that way...but it also means she is drinking lesser milk, she doesn't seem to be hungry...

But, looking at Afcai's schedule, I think I abit ashame to call myself busy...hmmm

afcai,

Jerlynn also like to be carried upright now, dunno why, but I find it easier to carry that way. If we carry her like small infant way, she will scream! We joke about her thinking she very Big liao, and yes, she likes to look see look see now, I have posted a recent pic we took at shopping centre at how she likes to be carried and seeing things...more on my FB too...

My gynae? He is famous with the old mid-wives and nurses at KKH, they say he was one smart looking Fit young man last time...then I told them : Hur?? But he looks fat and old now...hahahahaha! They also luffed and say different I generation la, so i dun understand...Hmmmm he must have been a heartthrob last time when he was in KKH.

BTW, think she caught the flu at one of the massage sessions as many kids were having flu and cough then...then it gotg worst after we brought her out on a Sunday and weather was hot and we were out too long...

I'm trying to use my sling but I just can't get her in a comfortable position..and moreover my sling material is thick type..so hot to use it now...KKF also bought the same sling, wonder if she feels hot using it now...?

Re: Solids

Don't think I'm giving so early, I won't until Neonat and Dietitian says go ahead. At least I will wait til she can hold her head up steadily, now not so steady though she KPO always wants to hold it up...

Jas,

$50k cash is alot! I can be SAHM for another 2 years with that! Hahaha

Grace,

Yeah I agree that the nurses were good..I also did receive calls from them after my discharge, they were really nice...they still will do story telling/massage for Maddy? I think this is something we don't see in KKH! But this service also comes wih a BIG PRICE.

U checked in TMC to deliver? Then how about the gynae whp delivered u? U can still choose? Do they have gynaes on standbys?

2519514.jpg

Hi, wow sooo many posts...needs time to catch up.

dash n violet both sick, so busy busy busy. now at my mum's place seeking refuge again. luckily now is holidays...

violet has bronchitis. sigh, that what worries me most. she is only 4 months...sigh, got it from her brother n my father in law.

Hi Gingal,

Jerlynn is soooo cute. Love her pic, she look so focus. Should buy some super duper VIT C and make sure everyone overdose with them. LOL.

Hi KKF,

Wow, U are sure going to be ultra busy. School holiday like no holiday at all. U also need to take VIT C, don't fall sick if not, need to take care of another BIG PREMMIE KKF. LOL.

Hi Mums,

Speaking of the bills topic, so choon and why 4D &amp; TOTO not so choon. KKH business office call up, Danya bill after sub is $28K, wipe out all my medisave. Ha Ha. Need to borrow medisave from Diana now. Aiya, what a lousy man, use wife money.

Hi afcai

yah...my ger oso make alot of noise when she is stretching...now i always burp her for 15-30min..now better liao...keep my finger cross

my ger is my 1st bb..=)
now dun dare to tink of another 1..just have a miscarriage in Mar 08..then conceived my this ger in Sept 08...after the miscarriage exp, have been very paranoid liao..in the end,bb still premature for no reason..i cannot imagine if i m going to have another bb again..how more paranoid i will be...

re:hospitalisation bill.
i natural but i stay in hospital a total of 6 days...cos i shi lai zhe bu zou as bb still in hospital n i tried to stay as long as hospital so easier to visit her..n i make sure my milk flow is more "stable" 1st before i go hm cos at least hospital still have LC to give advice...maybe cos i stay longer,i have more "cash back"..hahaha

the rashes very irritating hor..sian

my ger is impatient..when latch on,when the milk flow is not continuous, then she will start to buai song liao..cry n move her head around my breast..in the end,both her face n my breast is so messy..so now my focus is still on bottlefeed..cos somemore still need to put all the supplements in the BM

re: spotting.
ic..so is normal lah..i still tot i m adnormal..if have lochia..still can do pap smear test? i m supposed to do tat in my next followup..

oh..still have to activate the CDA acct 1 har..can do it on the spot rite? thanks for ur advice..my ger will be going to KKH for followup checkup on next fri..i better bring her bc along..luckily u got tell me..

ic..thanks for telling mi there is nusring rm in clinic K..maybe i will bring my pump along..do u know the nursing rm has electical power pt?hot water?i scared need to go SCN very far cos all the appt are in children tower n the appt are 1 after each...i scared no time to go over to SCN..

which insurance company u r buying?which insurance u buy for ur boy? i ask my NTUC agent..she called me to get a note from the doc during my followup checkup..then she will help me to submit

Hi David,

Me and hb already overdosed with VIT C...hahahaha...
Jerlynn cute ah? Very soon u will be posting Danya's pics like this too...Premmies when they come home they will grow very very fast...

Lin,

Same as you I had a miscarriage about 6-7 mths before I had Jerlynn. Then Jerlynn was borned premature too...Hmmmmm Dunno if it is because we conceived again too soon that caused the premature birth? Jerlynn also 29 weeker...so coincidence...

Re; Payment using baby bonus card

I never need to activate the card leh, just use as normal NETS card can liao...just remember the PIN no. when the Bank send u...

Re: Insurance
Just signed up Incomeshield for Jerlynn, keep fingers crossed that it will be approved.

afcai
haha, my girl was under GA prior to the "hole punching" lar.....she is supposed to be sedated for one week as the ENT team was afraid that the trachy tube would be dislodged especially the hole is not "stable" yet. Sekali my active girl woke up right after she was pushed back to NICU after ops.... they gave her "drugs" to sedate her .... There's only a couple of NICU nurses who had looked after a trachy baby before A, so the nurses were actually pretty nervous then.

Grace Lim
I have a bleeding pregnancy since DAY 1, therefore I'm CRIB .... no one can tell me why I delivered pre-maturely and there's no history from my family. They took the placenta for lab test and it was infected....but I was bleeding since the day I was confirmed pregnant.

David
haha, you are not alone there .... both hb and my medisave (mine hit maximum already then) were completely wiped out ... so hb also use my medisave wat.... but I've never feel that my hb is lowsy lei....got medisave better than no medisave .....

Hi gingal

2 of us really have the same "plight"...after the miscarriage, i have always been very paranoid n careful when i have my ger..in the end,my ger still come out premature...wat is ur reason for premature? i dun know for my case..

1 of the sunny sunday, i just feel bloated n went KKH A&amp;E..in the end,the doc said i m having contraction liao n in fact,i have dilated 3 cm w/o knowing anything...i am admitted to hospital n the next day my ger come out liao...

i really never expect my ger to be premature..but now i accepted this fact n my hubby still tease..see we so good...we can see the growth of bb from wk 29 onwards...not like other can only see the growth of bb from 40 wks onwards...hahaha

I oso intend to buy incomesheild for my ger..my agent said called me to pass her the discharge summary n get the doc to give me a note on her health status during the followup..she will help me to submit...hope can pass through oso...

gingal
Jerlynn is so cute.. feel like pinching her cheeks. you are doing a great job..
there's a doc there seeing me but i called my gyne after my water bag bursted at tmc. my husband called her and she came down.

precious one
guess many of us do not know what caused prematured birth. my gyne said next pregnacy must be careful.

david
we actually strike toto right after Maddy was borned. still remember it was the ang pow draw.. hahaha.. after that we strike a few times 4d. we didn't get cash back from hospital but got sponsor from singapore pools..

Hi Precious One,

Me MCP in family finance. What's Diana is her. What's mine is also her. In household finance, I still very much the old school, man should shoulder all financial burden where wife must keep "si fang qian".

Hi Grace,

WOW, so lucky. Me, no windfall luck, thus never in my life believe in lottery. Don't even know the correct rule of black jack. Ha Ha.

But, very good at computer &amp; actual Mahjong. Like to play 10 Cents 20 Cents stake. Can play until cow come home. Ha Ha.

Hi Mums,

Danya update. Weight 1710gram. Finally no more feeding tube. So happy. But also a little worry because Danya bottle feeding coordination is still not to good. Still forget to breathe toward the end. Well, have to encourage her and challenge her loh.

2521597.jpg

Hi David

Good to hear that Danya is moving on well...it takes time for them to coordinate well for bottlefeeding...since bottlefeeding is new to them,they will take extra effort to drink n there maybe a slight drop in their wt when they just started bottlefeeding..once she is better in sucking,can get her to latch on to Diana..

Danya is on the way hm liao..can start to prepare her barang barang at hm liao...=)

<font color="119911">Grace</font>,
hmm...fr what u describe yr encounters, look like tmc service is so gd wor. no wonder, everyone wanted to flock to tmc. intially, I wanted to try TMC but then pay the the consultant fees twice (each times $200+) during my first trimster then hubby said better return to KKH. luckily, we returned to kkh loh...

<font color="0077aa">gingal</font>,
dun say u shame shame yrself. for me, i got 2 kids so jugging them is really a major task to me. u are indeed gd liao...

re:carry upright.
think by carrying this way, they can KPO ard (got thing to see see look look mah). if carry in infant way, think bb 'sian' looking at us and cannot see other things. :p.

oic, will go and take a look at yr FB (very seldom log in...).

re:gynae.
which gynae u visit? some gynae will do rotation fr clinic to clinic. like the gyane at cck, he will also be stationed at seng kang (SK) certain day and dunno where also. but after all, yr gyane still gd mah. so will u still consider him next time when u have no#2?

re:massage session.
hmm. where u bring J (call her in short) to massage? do she enjoy the massage?

oh, bb or kids sick very jialat cos they can't communicate and then we will be more busy loh. so far, HX has not gone out(except for checkup n jab) yet and the furthest I brought him is only to mrt station (10-15mins walk fr my hse).

re:sling.
me also. I will only sling him when i brought him to checkup and jab. last time, when he is quite tiny, i also dunno how to sling him. now, he is ok liao. but think the sling is hot so he will struggle. mine is the MMR sling.

re:head support.
I can say HX head support is 95% steady. tough sometimes if he is excited then he will fall bck so still need to support his back in case he suddenly fall bck.

at least, J is 5mth liao now, HX only turned 5mth end of the mth. I forgotten to ask neonatal doc if he can consume solid based on his non-corrected age last time. but polyclinic doc and nurses said can leh. me still confusing.... think will give him 2 mouthful of cereal end of next mth.

hmm...do J like to wear something on her head??

<font color="119911">kkf</font>,
oh...when kids are sick, the adult life also suffer....hope dash n violet have a speedy recovery.

<font color="0077aa">David</font>,
yr posting again make my day....tough sleepy now, really amusing when see yr posting.

ai-yo, u gd already use yr medisave. when I had my no#1, I used my own medisave. but this time, I use hubby one. shd I said 'heng' bec the bill is more than what i had for my no#1. haa...

<font color="0077aa">Lin</font>,
oops, sorrie to hear fr bad encounter in 08.
hmm..our premmiee needs lot of attention wor...so maybe now focus and spend more time on no#1 first.... try to eat more "pu' before the next preggie loh so that our system and body will be stronger. I also dunno why my 2nd preggie preterm too. think my boy buay tan han wanted to come out during cny to grab ang pow. or maybe I walked too long that's why causing me preterm. anyway, I dun have smooth preggie thruout this 2nd preggie.

re: bill.
oic. I stayed only 3D 2N in hospital. but got admitted 3 wks later and stayed 3D2N again.
see LC need to pay or not?? I only know got one LC came to visit me that morning and ask me abt bf stuff. so I asked her qns since she already here. yup, usually, milk only came in 3-4 days later.

yup, SUPER irriating.

re:latch on cum bm.
haa..I can imagine the messy situation cos I also encountered it. yup, bottlefeed also gd mah, at least can ask other caregiver to help to feed.

re:spotting.
better to check if pap smear test can be done. cos if spotting scare not accurate loh. anyway, when i had my no#1, I only did pap smear 1 yr later+ after I stopped bf.

u are welcome. we do share advice and inform here where i really learn a lot fr this thread too.
CDA a/c- yeah, we also dunno tot it can be use. so I produce the card and the staff told me my CDA a.c not activate. then i said how to activate. so then she brought my hubby to the side counter to fill up dunno what form etc. so then the CDA a/c immediate activate liao.

yup, that day, i did not bring BC so they asked me to fax bb bc to them. luckily, they close one eye loh.

re:nursing rm.
oop, dunno if there can pump or not. but the best nursing rm is still SCN where there is sink, comfortable chair (can doze off one), sterlisation etc... even the woman tower clinic also got nursing rm but I can confirm over there can pump.think i saw sink in there. but for clinic K, am not sure got the electric plug or not....

or else, u want to call KKH customer service to check if there is any nursing rm with similar facilities like scn loh.

why need to bring pump, just latch her on loh...then faster go hm....

we bought fr hubby 's friend who is in a financial company. the only thing we submit is his BC and his healthbook infor. my hubby and I bought a plan fr Aviva so then kids are cover free(regards to how many kids) loh. my boy got another insurance fr NTUC - call vivo life. also dun need to submit anything only BC and healthbook infor.

<font color="119911">David/gingal</font>,
home sweet home is the best for our premiee to grew. home is filled with warmthness man...

<font color="0077aa">precious_one</font>,
hmm will she feel the pain after she woke up wor??

oh...bleeding scared right...I got phobia when I saw blood wor...for this preggie, i also been bleeding thruout the first trimster. luckily, sec trimster stopped but got very bad tummy rashes (like burning type). then after end of 2nd trimster, bb is born premature loh.

<font color="119911">gingal/Lin</font>,
do doc try to give u jab to prolonged the labour? mine think medicine not fast enu to react.

hey all,

I am moving house tomorrow, and my new place has no internet yet...so wont see me here for a long time... The next time i post, maybe Xavier is home

Afcai,
elastic? i cannot remember leh.....
I still want twins, if God is willing to provide...Actually, before I had Issac and Xavier, i never thought of having twins, but now that i experienced having them and lost Issac, i really hope i can have twins again..I guess is to make up for the loss?

Yes, 50k is a lot. It is becos i only had 109 dollars in my Medisave...very pathetic right? I jus became PR not long ago, got no money inside...

For BM, i had jus bought another chest freezer. Guess i m going crazy about keeping the milk....Really not sure whether they will be useful at the end becos i plan to breastfeed for a long time, maybe they will expired eventually...

David,

Danya looks cute
Is she going to wait till she finishes her STOMA operation before she can discharge? I remember you said she got to be 2.5kg to carry out the operation right? Can go home and come back again for the op?

Wah, u so nice, use wife's medisave also will paiseh one ....My husband is not even a PR, so he doesnt have medisave ...and my medisave is pathetic lah...

Gingal,

50k a lot, i borrowed most from my dad...luckily he is quite supportive, if not got to sell house or car to pay up liaooo...

Kkf,
jiayou ah....not easy to handle both kids sick... I heard they always tend to "cross contaminate"? Hope they get well soon!!!

Lin,
How is your baby feeding? You do mostly bottlefeed now? Today doc advised me to do purely breastfeeding as Xavier tends to desat while bottlefeed, mainly because with bottle, he cant control the flow and have to keep swallowing. Yet with BF, he can stop and rest....I think i will try and see how when he comes back lor...

RE: PREGNANCY EXPERIENCE
hmmm...seems like a lot of you had not easy pregnancy experience. For me, my pregnancy was really smooth (except for morning sickness), i continued working and never had any spottings or watsoever...so should consider a blessing too...Yet when i was diagnosed with my complications TTTS, doc told me that CRIB and eating a lot to compensate for my smaller baby will not work...He asked me to PRAY HARD as there is nothing i can do except that.....
2 weeks later, my babies came out. I guess it is all fated.