Premature babies support group

gingal,

tat feeling is real great.. i agree with u. after my girl in nicu for about 2-3wk then get to carry her.. tat time she is still small like a kitten.. about 1 kg only..i think.

re:not gain weight sign of prem labour
hmm during those time I had high bld pressure and wen back weekly, I didnt gain weight either.

gingal
ur baby look so sweet and enjoying her sleep

gingal ur gal sooo sweet!

day-C, got one of the weeks, my weight actually dropped, but last weight gained back...

hmm.. day-c.. the pump warrranty only within USA leh..if spoil then really is suay.
i tot the kkh first years deal is good enuff.. it has 15 months local warranty.

gingal, so sweet ur gal!!! remind me of the days when bryan was in SCN and i always kangarooed him. nowadays he also manja manja like to kangaroo. except his big liao, so cannot have all his limbs on my body!

not gaining weight is a sign of prem labour? maybe it is true. i din gain too, in fact weight lost. before preg, i weigh 52kg. after preg till before i gave birth, i still weighing about the same but baby is growing according to my gynae. tat is to say, i loss weight. and i can feel tat my arms became smaller too.

My Poor baby, she is not 1598 g, the nurse related the weight wrongly. She has not gained any weight since the day she was transferred to SCN, instead for the pass 3 days, her weight dropped. Today I went and visit her again, her Heart rate was almost 200 and averages 190+ and the 2 nurses attending to her still non-chalent about it. Despite me repeatedly asking if they should relate this to the doctor, they say it's because my girl was awake and struggling. I still rembr the episode in NICU Step Down Unit, when my girl's Heart Rate was 180+ average. The team did a couple of tests for my girl and the nurse was very attentive. And today I noticed that my girl's skin was very very dry and flaky...She had wonderful skin and only today it became so dry that it turned flaky. When asked why this is happening, the nurses says it's normal again, it's because my girl's skin is like that to start with..HELLO!!!!!! It was not!!!!! I couldn't get any doctors also, when asked when they are doing their rounds, the nurse said that she don't know, and if I want she will feedback later to the doctor about my girl's high heart rate. FAINT!!! Really, those young things at SCN are all BO SIM AT ALL!!! To be Frank I doubt they love babies, cos they don't look like Mummies to me at all!!! They looked like fresh grads from Poly!!!

I'm going down tomorrow again, can someone advise me what I can do??? I don't want to doubt their professionalism, but yet I don't feel safe with my girl in SCN, and be it at a higher rate, I do wish they take care of her longer in Step Down or NICU...I don't think she is stable yet when they transferred her...

tree ice, yup i did go ma kuang to see my usual chinese physician for tiao yang...but i am not very faithful type...but most importantly, I waited 2 years before trying again and also, I started to rest once I am preggy. For dash, I just waited 3 months after my first, and in the end he was premature again...

For you case, i think u dun have to start resting so early, maybe from 3rd trimester or wat...

gingal, why not you tell the staff nurse manager about your concerns?

How do I find her, later the juniors see liao I complaint about them and they ill-treat my girl how??? Haizzz..dilemna dilemna....

BTW I called SCN to check on my girl's progress at 9+pm just now, They say her heart rate averages 160+ now, and they said they have feedbacked to the doctor. Doctor just say to observe. I kinda feel the nurse who told me this cannot be trusted, she is like trying to brush me off...Can't help worrying...Don't like them!

gingal,

i dun like the scn nurses too. luckily blessing in disguise. my girl was transfered to the mrsa room after 3days stay in scn. at east in mrsa, there are only a few babies. but of cos nurses in nicu are still the best.

i think the doctors do their round after 2pm. u can stay longer there, the visiting hours there is not so strict like nicu. ii always stay till 4pm++ . or insisted to ask the nurse to call the doc for u if u really think there is a need. the nurses there ah, anything u asked, they will say, doctor will tell u later lah, they will feedback lah.. but when the hell we are able to meet the doc?? i told them i wanna speak to the doc. the foreign nurse quite unhappy about it but i dun care.

those wearing very smartly in dress one, and with tag staff manager?

i also dunno where to find...

i noe head of scn is dr argawal, why dun you feedback to her?

wun lar, they wun ill treat ur gal, last time, i dun find the nurses that bad leh...maybe those are new nurses you seen...

actually, complain lar, dun worry, they wun ill treat ur gal, instead they will pay more attention for fear u will complain again...

as a teacher, i am like that leh...hee. even though yah maybe not good impression of the child but will try to treat her nicer cause dun want to garna complain.

Yan,
hmmm...whr is mrsa?

kkf,
Still got a feeling the nurses esp. the 2 taking care of my girl will ill-treat her if I complaint...Anyway, see how later, maybe I will get so angry I will complain loh...

I saw one auntie nurse looking after another baby, she is so nice...will chit chat with the baby while feeding her...how I wish she is the one taking care of my girl, instead of that 2 idiotic young chicks.

shellow, cos that time only 12 week maternity leave and i wan to send her over earlier too so that i still have time to swithc bbsitter if she turn out to be unsuitable...

kkf, eheh..so next time u go kkh can fill up feedback / suggestion form for me re expansion of NICU? :p congrats on hitting 34 weeks.now violet is pre-term/full term bb liao

daec, dont cry too much over the house tingy..bb more impt...

gingal, i tink they say not putting on wgt --> premature labor cos pp tend NOT to put on wgt when stress? heheh.that cap reminds me of all the different caps my gal used to wear when she is at SCN :p 2 young chicks? last time when my gal was in scn also got 2 young chicks... one chinese one russian..i also dont like the russian gal but the chinese gal is fine... i think they do rotate so one of the aunites will take care of ur gal soon

gingal
do talk to the dr/head of nurses abt ur concerns to make sure all ok with babe, ur peace of mind too. else worry often if babe ok.

bloom
thx. coming to terms with it. hmm within these coming 3mths - I woulda given birth, start moving hse, adapt to baby/JB.the EDD is near estimated date to move hse.

wanna share somthing funny. start bit on potty training - basically just try make her sit on potty before bath last few days. only last few seconds b4 she gets up but gd enuff lah for now. then keep telling her potty poo, potty pee.nothing much. once, took her soiled diaper put in the potty and tell her potty poo.

today, she suprised me - after do her biz, she took off her pants and soiled diaper. and handed me the diaper hehe

gingal,

mrsa is the room next to the blue team scn. but of cos u won´t want youur gal there la, cos mrsa is a contagious virus.

gingal,

I also dun like the SCN environment. I still remember the first time when my boy transferred there after so many mths in NICU, i cried. I felt being left out. No nurse attending my boy and my boy was moved to a corner. Luckily, my boy was moved to MRSA room later.

If u feel uncomfortable with the nurses there, u can talk to the sister. (those wearing blue uniform). The sister room is 1 door away from from the MRSA room

From the rate my girl is doing at SCN, chances of going home soon is getting more and more distant. She was growing really well..Until the pass 5 days at SCN, she did not put on weight and instead has lost weight. She was 1570g putting on at least 100grams each week at NICU and Stepdown unit. The pass 5 days at SCN, if things are well, she should has passed 1600 mark...but her weight as at today is 1530g...!!!

I have spoken to the doctor, and she surprised me by giving me a "I also dunno" look!!! WTF!!!
When I explained to her, she just say my girl weight should stabilised as she is more than 2 weeks old and should have been putting on weight. But since she is pooing and peeing well, they will not do anything yet. When I asked when then they will think they will do something about it, is it another 3 days and her weight still dropping or when she has dropped til certain weight??? She just smiled...WAT IS THIS??? Means they don't intend to do anything or they have no observation plans??? Then I asked her again, is it normal that other babies are experiencing it also? Straight 5 days losing weight? She gave me an AWKWARD smile again, then she thought of an "excuse" at last...She said that maybe my girl is using her FATS to keep herself warm now, as she is not used to after taken off the incubator, dats y the lost of weight...This is really ridiculous...!!!

I am really PISSED...and there is nothing I can do, I can't possibly transfer her to another hospital do i? I can't let my girl keep losing her weight there right? This is not normal...What is happening in SCN!!!!!??????

*Sorry for my language above, but I'm really pissed*

I'm not just uncomfortable with the Nurses there...I'm also uncomfortable with the doctors...Though they are the same team of doctors as the Step-Down Unit, but they are giving a simply "Don't Care" attitude in SCN...

gingal, everytime they changed incubator for my boy, he experienced weight loss and on top of that indigestion. it so coincidentally timed with it.. we tracked later on and found this to be true. i think babies are indeed very very sensitive to change of environment. you have to give your gal a bit more time to adjust k? the doctors there cannot give an answer on the spot? sometimes its not the actual paed or the senior doc whom you meet.

i dun think they are bo chup.. but they are simply too busy cos so many bbies there. ask to meet the doc i/c or senior doc. they will schedule time for you. dun panic k?

xbliss,

Thanks, Ur words did comfort me a little. I will monitor another 2 days and see how it goes. BTW, i'm not introduced to the doc i/c or senior doc as you have mentioned. i always meet those that are doing their rounds.

To be frank, I still feel they are quite neglecting... To me is, even if there are many babies, it's not an excuse to neglect...esp. when most are at vulnerable stages...but yet again, there is really nothing I can do but sit and wait...

i just got sms that KKF has delivered bb violet at 2.77kg!! wat a feat!!

CONGRATS KKF!! U AND VIOLET DID IT! it is another milestone for all the mummies here!!

gingal, pat pat. i know what you mean lah. i have seen some incidents and heard some similar stuff from other mummies too. I highly suggest you ask to get updates from the snr doc. they are really much more informative. dun hesitate to give feedback of cos!!

kkf
congrats....well done, u will b our IDOL...

Gingal,
with regards to losing weight, i think is pretty common, my gal put on weight very very slow when she is in scn, the weight she lose is more than the weight she gained. in her medical report, doc even state tt she has growth retardation. But when i bring her home, she put on weight pretty fast. i suppose she know tt she is at home n way much comfortble than scn. think 1st wk at scn is a bit stress, as u expect to have same treatment as in nicu... cos u dun get update from doc everyday. normally i only tok to the senior staff nurse, they r more experience. normally i go in the evening n wkend, n can stay there longer with my gal. after visiting hr n fedding time, nurses r less busy n u can actually chat to them abt ur concern....
dun stress, else the quality of milk wont be good...

xbliss,
how come u not sleeping yet??? haha. ya, congrats 2 kkf, i oso received her sms when i woke up @6+ this am!! so happy 4 her & little violet!

gingal,
understand your frustration. esp when we r so worried but the docs/nurses r bo chap. y dun u stay on & ask another doc? or like wat some of the gals suggested, ask the doc-in-charge of the SCN?

kkf
Congrats to you and your family on the arrival of princess Violet! It's good news....her weight is super good too! The best news received since beginning of Year 2009. Hugs and kisses to both of you. Oh send regards to Dash too.

gingal
I think SCN rules are more lax...if possible be there for all feeds (i mean if you are not available, your family member can come in) so that you ensure that your baby get best care from loved ones and also be the no. 1 to be fed. I understand the nurses there are happy to have parent around to help feed the baby. I was told the baby who cried the fiercest or loudest get to be fed first......until the baby's scale hit 2 kg...I think between 1 to 2 kgs...the weight fluctuates ...

daec, wow..nada knows how to remove her own diaper? (good and bad of course.. esp when they take it off when u wan it to remain on ! :p)

gingal, look forward to a time when the doc decided to give the bbs triglyeride (sp?). The only time they gave it to my gal, she put on wgt suddenly! seems that u r really not comfy with scn.. *sayang*...cant help much here...

kkf. CONGRATS!!!!! wowowowowowowow... OU XIANG (IDOL) leh... ehehehhee... so she is at Mt E?

kkf,

CONGRATS!!! If I'm not wrong Violet is in her 34th going 35th Week??? Means at 2.77kg, she can be back home with kkf???
Hope she no need to stay hospital too long wor... So Cool... 2.77kg is a good weight, even better than some Full-term babies!
Way To Go man...

xbliss/shellow/disneymickey/preciousone/bloom,

Thanks for the encouragements and suggestions.

I wish I can be there for my girl's feeds...being in still confinement doesn't help much, I can't get out of the house without my hubby fetching, my MIL doesn't allow...And I don't like being control from food to going out to even bathing and washing hair, and recently was told not to sit in front of laptop for too long as it will cause backache...basically there is nothing I can do then if I don't use the laptop..., though it is said to be for my own good...

Moreover, my hubby only has about 1-2 hours to spare everytime we go visit my girl, as he
needs to get back to work. He works 7 days a week...!!! Only occassionally, he will take some offdays, but he is still ever
so busy in meeting clients, or going back to office, or never-ending phonecalls even on his offdays...so sianzzz
Desperately misses my home & freedom...and I think that's why I get aggitated easily nowadays and very unforgiving...
I hope this episode on SCN is because I'm overly anxious and not as bad as i thought...(I try to console myself)

precious, bloom
hehe perhaps its a one-off incident ;) didnt happen today. but its nice anyways.I suppose she wiggle out as tho it is pants she knows how to take off her pants.

kkf
Congrats & kudos to u! rest well, take care

gingal,
try 2 relax.i know it's frustrating if being overly controlled. but got 2more weeks only rt? then u r 'free' heehee...think of all the good things u r gg 2 do when u go home with your little princess.

this morning ws sch juz said need to do a small CNY celebration on fri. ltr lunch time need go search 4 CNY cheongsam 4 her heehee.. think will go bedok mkt, cheaper, since this type of clothes only CNY wear, no point spending 2 much i think heehee..will try 2 take pic & show u gals

kkf..

CONGRATS!!! u can start to plan for the 1st mth celebration liao..nice~~ violet is in time to come out to collect ang bao.. ha....

2.77kg is very good weight. my full term gal only weighed 2.81kg at birth. violet absorded very well from you.. maybe the durian works!!! ha...

disneymickey,

my MIL wans to keep my baby at her house and won't allow me to bring back even when she is back...
she says one person difficult to look after, she wans to help...it's for my own GOOD...but yet not wat I want...

gingal,
actually i oso dun like interferring parents. good thing is, my MIL bo chap. but my husband insist to bring bb home, so my mom can't say anything. tell ur hubby 2 tell his mom. must stand firm. this is YOUR baby. tell ur hubby to tell his mom, if u can't cope, she's welcome 2 go your hse & help u. but u must insist to bring bb home. unless when u go back 2 work & it's really difficult 2 cope, then ask 4 her help again.

DM
I have those cny clothes for girl girl, if WS can't find any, I can lend u one.....I'm now living in Northvale.

gingal
At this confinement stage, it can be very worrying and boring especially with restrictions but at the end of the day, whatever the old folks said, they meant well. You are so fortunate in a way that your IL wants to help. During my time, when I needed help, no one can help me....also very chum...so think positively...once baby is home, you will find that you don't have time to rest properly and sometimes you really wish that someone whom you can trust can help. This is my personal experience. Cheer up...so that your milk supply and flow will be super nutritious for your darling. What you need now is plenty of rest and good food. When the baby comes home, everything will fall into place....don't worry! In 2 weeks time, you will be set free and you can camp yourself at the hospital if you want. No one can tell a mummy what to do liao!

CONGRATS!!! KKF and Violet!! I m so so happy for u!! Yup, 2.77kg is a very good weight, my sil bb 40wks only 2.8kg..

I WANA EAT ALOT OF DURIAN NEXT TIME WHEN I M PREGNANT!!! hahahhaaa...

This is the happiest news ever in this thread.. Great motivation for many of us here..

kkf
i echo preious_one message. congrats....well done, u will b our IDOL...

Congratulations
hehe now we all shall look forward to our gatherings

TO RAT and OX Year! our thread is full of happiness for kkf, dash and violet and family
YIPPY!

Dm
You are welcome! Actually every year I also buy for A, tradtional CNY clothings except this year cos didn't see anything nice yet....plus too bz working. You are right, most of them wear once only. I still keep them.

disneymickey,

i bought my gal´s cny clothing from john little, $16.90, not too ex
but not a lot of choices la. i also bought it becos of the school friday celebration.

I need some advice. My sis-in-law gave birth to her baby boy prematurely at 26 weeks. It was unfortunate that her water bag broke, and can't delay the delivery. She delivered at Gleneagles, and now her baby is in NICU. She is not just worried about her baby's health, but also the hospital cost. The PD is a very good doc Dr YY Yip, and it will be good if he can continue to care for the baby, but the cost is really a big concern. For just 10 days, the bill comes up to >$15K already! My sis-in-law is left with the option of transfering the baby to a government hospital like KKH or NUH instead. Till today, there is no vacancy in KKH and NUH. They have to deal with the high hospital bill. Anyone with premature birth please share with me how you deal with the high costs!!