Premature babies support group

hi kimmy, def have to transfer to govt hosp cos 26 wks premature means a pretty long stay at least an average of 2-3 months in hospital. You can try to appeal to the hosp yourself. only then can you get subsidised rates. kkh nicu has many wonderful and experienced docs too.

Hi Teo,
Think KKF's boy was transferred to kkh 3 days later after he was born,and was under subsidised rate with help of social worker from kkh.

Any advice on how to prolong preterm labour? I'm currently 24 weeks now. But been having cramps on and off since 22 weeks. My cramps can be last for more than 3 hours and it's really painful. Also having brown discharge now.

My doctor is currently giving me Nifedipine to take and weekly injections of Proluton. I'm on long MC currently but will be going back to work this Sat. My Doctor suggest that I take No pay leave and stay home to rest. But moneywise it's really not easy.

kimmy
yes, i second xbliss..continue to appeal and put the baby on waiting list with KKH/NUH. Having said this, unless there's a vacancy, your sis-in-law will have to bear the high hospitalisation cost at the private hospital. Worst come to worst, one has to work out with the hospital on instalment plan. BTW, medisave could be used, parents, grandparents and siblings....

I've heard from KKH-NICU nurses that some parents who gave birth prematurely and baby with complication even have to resort to selling their flats etc. to pay for the hosp. bills. Sigh!

Meantime, advise yr sis-in-law to focus her energy and attention on the baby first, worry about $$ later, just take one step at a time.

Joannna
Doc.can prescribe whatever medicine available but it is GOD's will to determine the birth of a baby. Really, even when I was hospitalised, the gynae also said the same thing to me, they tried but if the baby wants to come out, let it come out.....and my baby arrive on 24 wks + 4 despite all medications given to me. Sigh!

Pls talk to yr doc. on the 2 jabs that will be given to you to strengthen the baby's lungs, I didn't receive mine so my baby was in NICU for almost 6 mths!

There seems to be more and more premies nowadays...?

kimmy,
keep on appealing. all the best!

precious/mummies
hmm more prem babies coz more stress as a result of the economy nowadays ?

now I thinkin to switch to KK or seeing 2 drs like kkf just in case.now wk 26. both not workin, cannot afford..

day-C
If $ is the constraint and if I were you, I will go to KKH. KKH is still the best hospital for babies in Asia. Of course, you won't get the personal best treatment like in private hospital, thereagain, you can opt for class A ward, my sis stayed there and the service is good too. If it is natural delivery, mummy only need to stay one night..I remembered I gave birth at noon 6 Feb and I checked out 7 Feb at 5pm. Plus, yours is a second baby, so delivery will be faster than the 1st.

BTW, my appointed gynae in KKH didn't deliver my baby then, the gynae on duty did so cos he was off on Sunday. Good also, didn't have to pay additional snr consultant rate, haha

Alas, the medical team at SCN is going to refer my girl to a Dietician, she is still losing weight as at yesterday...she is not 1505...So sad... They should have done so when I alerted them I feel, instead of waiting...so disappointed with them.

Joanna,

I second precious_one's advice. Really gotta leave it to God and your baby...If baby wans to come out, there is really nothing much we can do. For my case, i stay in hospital for Bedrest for 1 week andthen Home complete Bedrest for another, with Lots drips and medications, I wasn't bleeding or leaking water at all yet...but still Baby chose to come out at 29 weeks, choosing to burst the water bag...

i also feel your doctor has a reason for not allowing U back to work...though how difficult financially it will be, but we are talking about a life here...I hope you can re-consider not going back to work...all you can do to help keep baby in your womb is to stay in bed...

kimmy,

Your sis will experience some difficulties in trying to transfer her baby from private to kkh..as I was told kkh will give priority or even reserve some vacancies for patients delivering in kkh. That was why my gynae insisted that I get delivered there, instead of him delivering me then transfer...Do perserve, and I noticed that kkh ppl won't take any action unless you get really persistent and keep bothering them...Then they will try to do something cos they find entertaining your queries very mafan. This happened to me in my recent case of my Girl's situation in KKH's SCN.
Do not give up, even if needed be to get MP or whoever to help...God Bless!

Gingal and precious_one

Thanks for your advice.
I'm seriously considering now. I had another attack of cramps this morning. Luckily it stop after medications. But I wonder how long can the medications works. My doctor says after sometime my body will get use to the medications. Just that now I'm only 24 weeks. Really worried about my baby if he decide to come out now. I hope I can hold on till at least 30 weeks.

Day-c
Agree with precious_one if i were you, i will find a good gynae at kkh and if can tahan till 34 wks then can let own gynae delivered but if touchwood bb come out early then downgrade to C class and then the MO delivered lor. Caused if want to have own gynae deliivered must at least choose b1 (4 bed) class.

This is what i do for my last 2 pregnancy. I choose my own gynae and manage to tahan till 34wks so i choose B1 and let my gynae delivered for me. After that the social worker approached me to downgrade my bb's class and i managed to downgrade to B2. My ger stay in SCN for 5 days. I only stay for a nite as i have natural delivery.

Day-c
Agree with precious_one if i were you, i will find a good gynae at kkh and if can tahan till 34 wks then can let own gynae delivered but if touchwood bb come out early then downgrade to C class and then the MO delivered lor. Caused if want to have own gynae deliivered must at least choose b1 (4 bed) class.

This is what i do for my last 2 pregnancy. I choose my own gynae and manage to tahan till 34wks so i choose B1 and let my gynae delivered for me. After that the social worker approached me to downgrade my bb's class and i managed to downgrade to B2. My ger stay in SCN for 5 days. I only stay for a nite as i have natural delivery.

joanna
Pls take your Dr's advice seiously. We just need to spend less and save more to tide over this critical period if money is a constraint. Imagine if you delivered early, the amount spent will be alot more than what you can earn and also the bb will have to suffered and endure all the neddles and tube on his body. Pls weight the Pro and Cons seriously

joanna
FYI, I was confined in bed since Day 1 when I learnt about my pregnancy. I have a bleeding pregnancy throughout and was forced to choose between a good paying job or keeping the baby after knowing about the pregnancy. Obviously I chose the latter, I didn't even go back to office to do a proper resignation, everything was done on the phone and thankfully, my boss was a very understanding person then. I was wheel chair bound too. Despite only going to toilets on my two feet, I'm practically confined in bed, still my baby was delivered prematurely.

Having said the above, we have a wonderful mummy here KKF who just gave birth to a very healthy 34 weeker, baby girl violet, who also put her career on hold for this pregnancy, encounter false alarm episode but managed to keep her baby within her for 34 weeks. She is now our 偶像!

So perhaps, complete bed rest and think positively helps delay early delivery. Like we encourage KKF lately, you must also 加油!

gingal
With the dietician interception, you will see your baby grows very quickly with all the supplements. My girl weigh 710gm at birth but was discharged at about 6kgs +.....

Precious_one.
I think I will have to take your advice and get more rest. Otherwise the alternative will be really depressing. Money can be earn back but not the life of our baby.
Thanks for the encouragment!

Joanna
You have all mummies here to rally around you. Come in often to chat and get encouragement from one another. Share your thoughts and worry freely and very soon, your baby will reach full term.

precious, chloegirl
thanks for the encouragement and advice. me c-section last time & 5 days at C-class. not so nice but just go thru la

joanna
prem baby bills is expensive and heartpain c them at hospital (not at home with us) with all the checks/treatments. but still the little fighters do us proud with their spirit and growth;) hope u can cheong as long as possible,all the best, rest well! take care

Joanna,

I am also one of the mummy who put a hold in my career and despite financially constraint as
just spent a bomb on renovation in my new house and also the housing loan which depend mostly on my CPF contribution...
It's a difficult decision, but think of it again, the earlier there is a risk baby will come out, the more expensive the
baby's bill in NICU will come out to be. So pls don't exert yourself. I quit as I had a miscarriage scare in my first trimester
and I'm glad I did what I did...I cannot afford to lose my child again...being not working I can rest enough and thus
my labour was delayed another 2 weeks to week 29, which baby will be in safer condition to be delivered.

precious,

how long did your girl stayed there? Discharged at 6kg+??? That is very big liao...

gingal
My girl was in NICU for 5mths and 28 days to be precised. She was discharged from NICU, didn't have a chance to go SCN. As I practically camped myself at KKH (12 hours almost or more each day) after confinement, I knew about the SCN nurses ratio etc. and heard many complaints from mummies whose babies went to SCN before heading home.

gingal,
good that you made your concerns heard. keep talking to your gal to ask her to keep the goodies inside her so she can gain lots of weight!!! they really need a lot of encouragement. they can sense when people around them are worried so be positive and talk positively to her!

joanne,
are you with KKH now? If money is a concern and you are seeing pte gynae, i suggest you go to a polyclinic to get a referral to KKH and start a file at KKH by going for first appointment to play safe.

You need to heed advice. Contractions at this stage is no joke. Carrying bb so far is already a feat and you don't want to have to go through that for nothing.

does your company cover hospitalisation leave under it's group insurance. i was on bedrest for nearly 8 weeks, all covered by MC and hospitalisation leave. some mummies also appealed for advanced maternity leave.

Bedrest, MC, means lying in bed and preferably not even sitting up. It does not mean walking about and doing your daily routines. You need to understand that contractions are the body's way of telling you to rest.

I have decided to take no pay leave to rest. I had a talk with my husband and in-laws. Moneywise, my inlaws will help so not to worry already. I had a previous miscarriage too so my in-laws are pretty worried about this pregnancy too.

I'm currently seeing A/Prof Mary Rauff at NUH. I had bleeding problems and cramps in the 1st tri so was on bedrest too for 4 weeks, was covered by mc and hospitalisation leave.

I hope I can carry my boy for at least another 8 weeks.

good morning mommies..

precious/didi/yan/xbliss .. n all mommies who hav contributed ideas on where 2 get CNY cloths thanks 4 ur advise.SORRY if i 've missed anyone out). ytd, when i sent ws to sch, teacher told me no celebration on fri, so no need 2 buy. anyway, i've alrdy asked my mom 2 go 4 bfast @bt batok mkt, so tot might as well go there look c, still can't find! but in the evening, when i was @tiong bahru plaza 4 dinner, found it! $15. bought 1 for her, tot can b worn on racial harmony day. but didn't get a chance 2 try on her, cos when i reach home @9, she was being punished by her daddy, no toy, no books, nothing. so i can't let her try her new clothes. haha. in case she can't wear, can pass 2 kkf haha

joanna,
dun worry so much. u need to rest well.

gingal,
u 2, dun worry so much. now tat ur girl is appointed to c a dietian, i'm sure she;ll improve frm there.

Hi Hi Hi

i am back!! thanks for all ur wishes!

Violet is still in SCN under observation. KKH rule: only can discharge when reach week 35, so the fastest is end of this week.

Anyway gingal! I was looking to see if you are in scn too! where is your gal? My gal is right at the end of scn (not the end but nearly the very back near the breastfeeding corner).

If you happen to see a tall tall lady wearing specs, and plump plump one, its me! haha.

Joanna, welcome! I have taken no pay leave since I know I am pregnant, and I am working as a teacher. I had twice premature labor before, so I die die have to take no pay so that I can carry my baby in my womb longer. It helps really! I carry my girl to 34 weeks, 7 more weeks than her brother. I had contractions on 29th week, was on pills to stop contractions, and I faithfull ate those pills (i believe they help cause if I dun eat my contractions will start), and rested on bed. I manage to dong another 5 weeks to week 34. I can do it, you can too!

Delivering now at 24 weeks is not good, cause I lost my boy before who was borned nearly 24 weeks.

bee Khim, my boy was transferred fr raffles to KKH 3 days after delivery. That time NICU not full. With help of social worker, we got the subsidised rate, and our medisave was enough to cover our bills. I saw from forum, another lady's sister also gave birth at 7 months, and needed to transfer her baby to govt hospitals, she finally got a place in SGH i think after waiting for a few days...so your sis in law must keep waiting and asks her gynae to keep calling to ask.

Joanna
I've heard of A/Prof Mary Rauff, she is very experienced, by now she is rather old liao right? You are in good hands and your boy will do well in your loving care.

Daec, I finally delivered at KKH instead of Mount E. Financial wise, really good to deliver at KKH, but then I was delivered by nurse midwive, stitched by junior doctor, and senior doctor only came to check the stitches and to push out the blood.

Worse worse worse! I opted epidural (couldn't resist) guess wat? The trainee with a senior anethescian tried doing for me, But failed! they couldn't get it into my spine, and it was very painful!!!!!!!!!!!! Worse than contractions! I could feel the tugging and pulling at my spine, very pain! halfway, I asked them to abort, since they were unsucessful in their attempt, so I still got to go thru the labor pain! And now my back was rather painful for nothing!!!

Thats KKH Subsidised class lor. sianz.

Hope no side effect of the attempted epidural. really regretted choosing! In the end, no use.

if can afford daec, choose private gynae and hospital... a bit regretted going subsidised kkh...

Btw, gg11, u given birth?? must update us!

Gingal, the nurses at scn very free one leh, not much babies around, why they have no time to check on ur baby? They are chatting so free!

My gal's area only got 3 babies.

Btw, now no more glass bottles for breastmilk! I was foolishly asking the nurses, can I get some glass bottles to store breastmilk, in the end, the nurse told me now is plastic bottles mendala somemore, 8 bottles $16!!!must pay!

3 years ago, bottles were free leh, i was saying lucky dash was borned 3 years ago.

Btw, I am facing problem with breastmilk now. nothing comes out leh and my nipples sore from pumping! When I was in hospital I can still try letting violet latch on (though not very successful), but now have to pump...but no supply!!! how how how!!

btw, xbliss, i want to support u one, but dash is still coughing and is seeing doctor for the 3rd time!!

Sigh, he cannot eat all the goodies leh.

I am doing confinement too, this and that also cannot eat...

kkf,
congrats...take more soup maybe..did you get any precription to increase bm...now is the golden time to build up yr supply..

wah, din noe nw got no more glass bottles....last time free to take as many as we wanted..

kimmy,
did you ask yr sil to try sgh..they r gd too in preemie issues....my son stayed for 5mths.....his bill was 32k at C class rate..still manageable...

kkf, quick one... i stil got those small ones from 2 years ago..but alot of caps got mould so i throw alot away (so u might need to use cling wrap or wahtever)...

tomorrow PM i am going orchard for health checkup... so if u wan tomorrow after that i pass to u? U got my hp number. Sms me if required.

Else if really urgent will need ur hb to go to woodlands and get it from me tonight.... but have not washed for 2 years so u gota clean it real thoroughly ok!

when u got back KKH, ask the nurse to teach u how to hand 'pump' if necessary... sometimes different brand of pump might not be 'suitable'....

KKF

Thanks for the encouragement. The thought of losting my baby boy really scared me to make this decision.

All the best to Violet. Hope she can come home soon.

Precious_one

A/Prof Mary Rauff is pretty old now but is very experience. My SIL intro her to me. I had 2 doctors before but none can help me with my bleeding problems. In the end only A/Prof Mary could diagnose the problem. But she's really expensive. But it's worth it. At least my boy is 24 weeks now.

Joanna
May I know what causes the bleeding, to be honest, I also started with a private gynae at Gleneagles, then transferred to KKH after trimester 1 but none of the gynaes including the HOD of KKH can resolve my bleeding problem. I just bled and bled daily. I search the net and also can't find any explanation. By the time I delivered at 24 weeks + 4, they took the placenta for lab test and found that it was infected. When I thought of it, sure infected lar, cause bleeding so badly throughout pregnancy, somemore CRIB, even shower also must get approval from gynae in charged.

Precious_one

Mine is due to low lying placenta. The placenta kept rubbing on the cervix which cause the bleeding. So have to bedrest and cannot walk and stand too long. But luckily most of the time the placenta will actually move up as the pregnancy progress which mine did.

Joanna
Me also placenta previa....but mine didn't go up as pregnancy progress....at one stage the gynae was talking about C-section birth...but who knows, my girl scared of knife, press panic button and come out so quickly forcefully naturally, but very much too early. I have my girl to thank for as I do not have stretch marks owing to her early arrival..... now can joke about it.

Are u petite in size?

precious_one

I have stretch marks at the bottom of my tummy and my thighs now. Sobs. I'm about 155 cm only. Now 71KG. Just lost 2Kg since last week. But My little Nigel is pretty big. He's slightly above average in size since the last scan. My husband side is all pretty tall except for my hubby. Everyone says my tummy look like I'm 8 months pregnant actually.

kkf
wah siong epidural. yes I heard epidural sometimes, they problem find the spot. long term - depends on person to person, my sis no side effects tho they inject 2-3x and at wrong spot

Glad its over for u! Congrats!

rest well! Kudos to u
Violet will be home v soon

Yes yes, joanna tan! hang in there!!!

Not good lar, even now my gal 34 weeks in scn, I also worry worry worry, so best can carry full term!

Just went to see my gal, sad she needs to be on photolight cause got jaundice, so our hope for her to come back before chinese new year dunno can fufil or not leh...

Poor gal... hope she can come home soon.

Doctors nurses said no other issues, just has to solve jaundice...

even heart seems to be ok (yeah! i was worried she may have hole in heart like dash).

Praying everything goes well and she can go home soon.

Btw, bloom, thanks a lot for ur offer!! but I dun have supply yet leh... sob sob, I think the plastic bottles still enough to use...cause it seems like i dun even have supply! sad sad sad.

kkf

Jaundice pretty common for preterm babies. My best buddy delivered her baby girl at 34 weeks due to low amino fluid. She stayed in normal baby ward for only 5 days. Now she's a bubbly 2 months old baby.

I also hope i can hang on till full term. Praying hard. Today only have cramps in the morning, ok after taking my medications but having sharp pains at the womb.

kkf

busy last few days hence no post here. don't worry i am sure violet be home soon. Jaundice can be monitored at home too. let us know when violet is home ah

wishing all mummies a happy & properous lunar new year. OX Year OX Year OX Year huat ah
May everyone have a smooth sailing year

kkf
thinks the milk takes time to come in. do keep pumping regularly. dun pump too long at one time, thk 15min shld be fine. ohh and get those nipple cream. remember the breasts take time so not pain later & milk take time to start producing well. a gd pump impt too. hang in there..

joanna
jia yuo!

oh yea, my fren's pediatrician recommended she rent a bilibed or something so that can bring home baby tho baby has jaundice. not sure abt the cost. its a baby cot with the equipment to treat jaundice.stil subject to hospital agreement to releas ur baby and let treat at home tho

My boss just called HR for me. They are really troublesome. Need me to clear all my 60 days MC 1st. So need to call my doctor to get hospitalisation leave. Then clear my Annual Leave first. Then can get no pay leave.

precious,

Your girl was in NICU for so long...but both of you managed to fight through the obstacles, now enjoying bliss...

Joanna,

I'm so glad that you have made this right decision, now rest well, and don't even sit up too long to use PC..when I was
on Bedrest I limit myself 15 - 30 mins a day only...

Isn't that great that you can untilise your MCs and Annual Leaves 1st??? Now U get paid resting...you can rest better liao...

kkf,

Congrats again, in case you never see our well-wishes!!! I am now at SCN Blue, Today the nurse says will move my Girl to the first Room...
Now she is at the 2nd Room temporary, I think it's the Isolation Room...Dunno what Time they will move her. Go look for her, I think she
is the only Preemie borned on 1st Jan 09 bah...

I will be in tomorrow again, but I dunno Lunch or Dinner hours, depends on my hubby schedule...
If you are at SCN Blue, I go and find find u..I am not tall, stands at 1.58m and am plump too...my hubby has spiky
brown hair and wears specs...I think I can look under your name ( I have it in your PM to me) and look for your baby..
You can also find mine too D/O Jeannie Zeng...

Hear your story about the failed Epidural so scary..Luckily I was not allowed to use epidural despite me repeatedly
asking for it...Yah loh, I was also delivered by Mid-wife, stitched by junior, but I like the Midwife (She is very Young) who delivered me,
very encouraging and very in control...now your back painful you gotta take care wor, maybe buy "Pu Yao Jing" aka Back Tonic etc...

Your area only 3 babies means you are at SCN Pink? Cos they transferred most babies to SCN Blue liao...Mine just transferred
yesterday night...

I only got my milk on the 4th day...and it's only like 5mls...My nipples also sore and cracking the 1st 3 days.
Then I realised, I don't have to turn up the strength of my electric pump so high to stimulate my breasts, i switched
to Minimum and my nipples don't hurt so much and naturally the milk comes...If there are droplets of colostrum of milk
that comes out, use that to apply on your sore nipples, it works as good as the Nipple Creams...
Apart from that I drink alot of Red dates Longan Drink and every meal I drink Green Papaya Fish Soup...i also keep massaging my breasts, until my wrists abit painful, Don't forget
you must also massage your nipples and aerola to clear blockage in case any...
U can also use Warm Towel and place on your breasts on the top of your nipples, to promote letdown of the milk before
and during pumping... Drink Lots of warm Fluids before and after pumping...Just Don't give up, I'm pretty sure all Mummies
have Milk de...

Re: Good Pump

I'm using Medela's PIS Advance and It is very Good...

Costa de sol/KKF,

Still got Glass bottles leh..I managed to get but only used a few bottles, as realised after I sterilised the Cap of the
bottle, the insides of the cap will turn rusty, thus I don't use it and now using Milk Storage bags to bring my Milk...
If you really want, try the Nursery at your Ward if NICU/SCN don't want provide...

My Milk storage bags I bought from BP seller, quite cheap $6 for 25 pieces, brand is Blue egg...
i used to use Medela's Milk Storage bags at $50 for 50 pieces...damn Expensive

PM me for the Seller's email if you want...

Re: Hand pump

I agree with Bloom, i also sometimes use my hand and squeeze the milk out as it will block the near nipple areas
where the pump might not be able to clear for us, and thus will block the milk from coming out. It's like squeezing
cow's milk...Hahahaha

P/S: Oops...Wat a Long Post...paiseh!

Aiyah, forget to update...

My Girl has put on weight!!! Due to her own efforts, the supplements were not given yet when they weighed her...They only started the Supplement today at 2pm...

Maybe she likes it more at SCN Blue...Just moved her and next day she put on weight liao...Hubby also like the nurses at Blue better, he said they look more professional...SCN Pink's Nurses like always playing around...he realised there are more Senior Staff Nurses at SCN Blue...

BTW, she is sooo happy at SCN Blue that she keep laughing and smiling these 2 days...

thanks for your advice and encouraging words!! My sil has seen the MP already, and has even written to Minister of Health. Hope the baby can be transferred soon with the appeals. 32K for 5 months is very affordable.
We are trying to think positively about what has happened.
Good luck to you mummies too!!

Congrats kkf, for the delivery of violet.

Gingal

But not sure whether the Doctor can give me so many days of hospitalisation leave anot. Have to call tomorrow to check. But bad thing is after I go back to work I got no more annual leave liao. Luckily still have childcare leave.

Glad to know Violet is doing well. Hope you can bring her home soon.

gingal,
great for your gal! i loved SCN blue nurses always so nice even when they so busy!!

KKF!
at least this time you are comfortably settled at home and not as worried as dash that time! violet is good gal, she will jiayou one!!
I got the glass bottles and plastic caps! need anytime can pass over :D
Don't worry abt the snacks. i reserved some to share with all during our gathering! heee.. unless i get too greedy!

Violet be good gal, come home for reunion dinner! Actually KKF, you can self discharge violet if no issues right? most other hospitals will jus discharge.

got try taking medicine? the domperidone was a saver for me! i really salute you! you are my idol anyway!!!

day-c,
how r u? where are u staying and how is bb and nada doing?? i think there are some transitions for u right? think they just announced some budget today right? if got assistance do go and apply. having some help will def lower the stress. take care there.

Joanna,
Doctor sure give hospitalisation! these cases are very common u know? they also dun wan to have a bad name. besides we pay them so much!!!!