Premature babies support group

hi mummylian
how r u ? me and my ger doing fine except for my nausea. my ger is now 14mths and walking ;)
any tips for us preggy mums hehe

mummylian,
gd to see you back again here....u closing shop ar....?

wah ezanne so lucky can go japan..me oso hvnt got chance to go...

mummies, update on purebliss

she texted me tis morning that her bb gers were born yterday evening and are 2.35 and 2.42 kg respectively and wld be discharged wif her on sunday.....

pinety,
i guess marrow is those veggies like hairy marrow etc etc...
can give us details so tt we can update our table?

hi pinety,

marrow is a green cucumber-like gourd... i really dunno wat its called in chinese! but u will be able to identify it cos it looks similar to cucumber except it's a much lighter shade of green. Let me do some elimination here.. it's not hairy gourd, old cucumber, cucumber, zuchinni, or winter melon. That's all i know how to describe!! dun give too much cos quite cooling. i tend to give in porridge to make it sweet, and esp when i feel he is "heaty".

kkh dietician thinks that unlike the last time where bbies get intro to different varieties of food (.e.g veg to fruits to meat), bbies can be given ANYTHING from their 7th month onwards. So, they already recommended my boy to take yogurt when he hit his 7-8 corrected month. But being the cautious mom, i am trying to avoid giving yog cos even then it's "processed" food. I am still insisiting that he tries to eat those foods which he does not like but which i think are good for him (hehehe.. that means the veg!!) sigh, i think he is meat eater like me!!

mich,
no F1! i can buy about 4 tins of 1.8kg milk for bryan with that money!! hahahha..
taxi uncle told me that it's extra surcharge for entering suntec area today too, so no no (at least not now for xmas shopping too!)

yes, i am so looking fwd to xmas, not that i'm a christian. Will bring bryan to see see look look at the lights in orchard and then maybe bump into you and your boys there!

smiggleprincess
welcome here. Ur boy is such a brave little one to have endured the past 6 months in the hospital. And so are you, cos i know it's a even bigger challenge sometimes for 24 wkers. My boy was 27wks, now already 9 months corrected. Like what the other mummies here said, i follow up with at KKH Dr Khoo, the dietician, eye, heart, and also surgeons for his hernia. Outside of kkh, i go to GP (if small ailments) and to pte paed clinics if his condition is more serious. But for first few times, becos i am new mummy, i found it more assuring to go to a paed cos i believe it to be more "specialised". They def do a bit more checks on the child as compared to GP. I stay at SK area, if u are near here, i can recommend u some of the docs i think are good. The other way is to ask KKH doc to recommend their friends.

Do share more with us on your boy, his name, how he is doing, how u are doing

Updates on bryan:
Cardiac centre seems to think he has passed and wanna discharge him, but we ks and insist we wanna come back for a the last review in jan 09, which is supposed to be his 1-yr old corrected age review. He was found to have some fluid ard his heart at last echo 2 months back, but thank goodness that has gone.

he has also completed his hernia review.. and now busy pulling at his little "bird bird" everytime during diaper change time... he seems to enjoy doing that.. guess boys are boys uh!?!?

so, we are left with the paed, eye, and dietician to address his never increasing weight issue! ai.. i think the weight is quite hopeless already. as long as he grows, even 1 cm i also happy.

kkf
maybe can try adopt thinking - if no proof from dr, that means all is fine ? not sure that is gd, but rather than jump over stuffs, can get followup from dr to see if it really is something to have concern abt.

I am trying to get 'optimistic' gynae hehe. take precaution is fine. tell me got chance things not so gd, but I dun want someone treat me like things gonna go wrong from day 1.

oh mums
I happened to catch the Nanny Daddy chinese show yesterday. so rite timing I change channel at the time when the dr was telling the dad - your wife has pre-eclampsia which is dangerous for mum and baby. worse case lose life.best to deliver soon if cannot stabilise bld pressure. The wife saying I dun want to, my baby is just 1kg and not full term. episode ended with wife going for emergency delivery

bring back memories seh.This couple also conflict with each other and parents over moving out. soo similar to mine!

hmm more awareness abt such conditions..

daec,
u oso watched the show ar?
me on and off will watch it..the pregnant woman's stomach so big and so gemuk..wonder how cm so long hvnt delivered..then the gynae used all the terms on her..oni i din hear her saying tt her kid will be in nicu haha maybe she dun noe..

the poor woman forever loggerheads wif her mil...haha occasionally when i watch alrdy see them quarrelling...

mich,
me not gg F1 but hb is (he was given tickets)
I got a gf's wedding dinner to attend
are you going ?

Good morning mummies.....very cold weather this am.....am hoping for tmr am weather be like today so that I can have a good, long sleep as I'm off tmr...

Purebliss : Congrats on the arrival of two lovely princesses!

Pinety and Smiggleprincess : Welcome to the Premies Support Group.

Smiggleprincess....I have a 24 weeker girl 3 yrs ago....she will be 4 in Feb 2009.

Mummylian ....really envy you have 4 children....glad to hear than Ezann and Edel is doing fine and I'm sure Ezann will pass her 2 yrs test with flying colours.

A is as ever, very active, she will only be quiet during sleep. Ever since my MIL looked after her, together with two boys her age, she has been very mischevious and naughty, doing more boy's acts than girls. Not scared of cane or daddy/mummy already. Faintz.... A is still seeing the respiratory doc...and the neuro doc. is planning to stop her control seizure medication by end year. No more rehab appmts. She is seeing Dr Lim SB every 9mths...if I remember correctly.

costa
just happened change channel. I like the actor - funny! ya hor I also thot her tummy so big, only 1kg ?? often quarrel ah - better move out ah. not gd to live like that. I think every woman shld have her castle hehe

daec,
you are a fan of adrian pang ? me dun follow, like Costa on and off (when I got no other programmes, then I will watch

daec,u like which actor?the hb of the preggie..?
i like the little ger, so cute and so clever to act..she appeared in the sunday times the other day...

tink mayb tt preggy's amnio fluid too much ahhah....i oso dunnoe why..got one episode, the mil was eavesdroppg behind a tree and when she was discovered, she lunga the tree hahaha..really very hilarious....

have anyone heard of 'Healtra air purifier' ? one of hb's friend is using and recommended this to us, there is so many brands of purifier in the mkt so wondering is this is good ? thanks

hello,

my boy was born 810g on 8Apr.
Just discharge last sat. Been in ICU for abt 4mths.
Main problem chronic lungs, most of the rest were dissolved.

Ya, im goin back to KK for checkup but need to find a pediatrician near my place too.
Was wondering what sort of pediatricians are there???

Like shld i just find one near my place or go to one that has specialised in premature babies/respiratory???

didi
I bought the Austin Healthmate. Very good and east to maintain.

hi smiggleprincess,
Oh I see
where did you buy the austin healthmate ? do you need to replace the filters ?

Daec N KKF
Hmm... Remmeber when I was pregnant with Edel.. Was like the 2 of u..scared that history will repeat itself. So I din walk that much n have enough rest.. Guess at that point, I was mostly concentrating on Ezann n the 2 boys so din really have much time to dwell so much..I jus keep talking to Edel who was still in the womb to jus stay put till 37 weeks. Guess wat, I was dilated about 2 cm at 30 weeks. Warded for a day and I keep telling Edel to stay put cos Jie jie Ezann did it the hard way... N good girl Edel.. She stay put till 37 weeks!

So my point of view is to stay positive and like wat my hb say, whatever will be will be

Welcome on board Smiggle n pinety

X bliss
Can I know y bb need to followup with dietician? Ezann has never seen a dietician.. Did they miss her out??

Ezann is still fond of taking porridge.. No rice yet for main meal... My fren bb already aking rice.. Anyone can share??

hi smiggleprincess, may i know the reason for your premature labor and is kaydon your first child? Wow, thats a good weight for 24 weekers, 810grams!
and its good that for your 24 weekers, no major health issues except for lungs, which is fairly common for our premature children. My boy too.

For bill, I am civil servant, so heavily subsidised by govt, hence am not very sure. I always paid thru my salary cause I am from govt service.

Yesterday was the first time I paid in cash (cause I am on no pay leave), and I paid $100 plus for cardio review.

As for padetrician, as a start, you shd go to padetrician, those specialise with children, dun go to normal gp. Whenever my boy was sick, I will bring him to padetrician, now he is about 3 years old, i am starting to bring him to normal GP. I am not sure where good for amk and tiong bahru. I know amk there is a baby and child clinic over there.

the talk about the 9pm show, i love it too! I think adrian pang is cute as well. But the cuttest is the baby!
I love the baby! hee.
Yah, I saw the part about the preggy woman saying she dun want to go thru Cesarean and want to wait for the baby to grow. But she is already 8 months plus preggy, baby already good enough to come out leh (for me lar). So why risk her own life? My sister also born 8 months plus. She doesn't need to stay much in hospital, 2 weeks only but mainly because she did not cry when she was borned, so doctors got to let her stay in hospital. hee.

Me and my sister all premature babies one, so maybe to me, 30 plus weeks good enough liao. Wun risk my life cause if cannot see baby grows, a sad thing.

hey precious one, glad to know angel is doing well!
she is getting naughtier? fairly common! dash is also the same.

purebliss, congrats, babies weight very good!

i had a little bit of vaginal infection and was given pill to put in.
The next day my water bag burst, i didnt know cos never experience it before. Two days later then i felt contractions.
In hospital, they gave me the jab for strengthenin the baby's lungs. I had adverse reaction to it.
Immediately after i deliver naturally in breech position, i blacked out.
I was in critical condition and in ICU for a week. KKH had to get TTSH specialist to come and revive me.
I didnt get to see Kayden til about two weeks later.
Diagnosis was severe lung infection.
My husband was on the verge of losin wife and son at tat time.
I have made a sppedy recovery but lungs still weak.
Kayden had desat during his fever caused by vaccination. So im stil worried abt that.

Wow, what an experience smiggleprincess. Very scary.

I really think we women who went thru pregnancies sometimes risk losing our lives, sigh.

Sorry, what is desat? You mean recently kayden had vaccination and cause desat?

Mummylian, thanks for sharing your tips.

Actually I am doing my best to stay positive. But somehow, I am not the same as all of you. I have not once, but twice premature labor, so really hard for me to think positive leh.

Last time when I had my first premature labor, I blamed it on luck, and still was not so negative, when I had dash, I was not so pessismistic. But after dash was also premature, I began to lose hope. For this pregnancy, I also dunno how to tell my baby to stay till full term, though I really wish to. But I think my womb is really not strong enough or wat. I just tell my baby if she is really eager to come out, and if my womb really is not a good place, she must wait at least 30 over weeks then can come out. What a lousy mummy am i right??

Vaccination for pneumoccocol will caused fever.
And Kayden has desaturation (oxygen level down) due to it. In severe case, he will need oxygen to help him breathe

kkf,

if u think u are a lousy mum, i m not much better... i can´t even provide enough milk for my baby yilin..she just need 20ml per feed 12x per day.. only this small amount i also dun have

few days back, she was transferred from step down to scn but yesterday they found tat she kana the bateria MRSA. so sent her to isolation room. her tummy was all along a little bloated. last time the doctors said tat is due to the air from the cpap but now no cpap still bloated. then yesterday she din digest her milk well so doctor decided to to put her on glucose drip till today then give her milk.they said might be due to the intolerance of the milk.

sigh... if i can produce enough milk for her, i think she won´t have this problem. yesterday she was wailing when they put drip on her.. i so heartache.. after the procedure, she look so exhausted.. i feel like crying when i see tat..
i feel tat i let her down...

smiggleprincess
fever will cause desat? i was goin to let Paige take the pneumoccocal vac next week.... mayb have to wait till she a bit older ba...

Yan,
sure heartpain 1, when paige on blood transfusion, i see her struggling, when she on drip for hernia surgery, she was struggling, keep swinging her hand thinkin tt it will go away. me too think tt i have failed as a mom to have cause her so much pain. Recently she went for her eye review, i have to leave the room cause i cant bear to see her in pain.... think i have no more tear left....

smiggleprincess, so kayden is home with oxygen tank?

Yan, dun think that way...you have tried your best. Right now, just continue to pump as much as you can. Wat is bateria MRSA? My boy garna infection before and was put in islation room at nicu last time too. Needed to be on antibiotics, and worse, the blood infection went up to his brain and left a scar there.

Anyway, dun think too much yah. You have tried your best.

Yah shelllow, no hurry with the pneumoccocal vaccine. Maybe wait till paige is older.

nana, added u! hahehe..but my facebook inside kosong one... :p

dm..yes i rem last time when i was in sec/pri school only 18kg (got the card from the shopping center weighing machine.)..and then my niece was that wgt before pri sch ahahhahaa...

daec, i dont like the tone of ur gynae too....

welcome pinety! can try pumkin too! and then things like mee sua, macaroni for variety...

mummylian.. welcome back
osaka!!??/ pictures pl!

didi, let them baluku lah... so long as its not sharp corners from high areas etc...

welcome smiggleprincess.... wow..water bag burst for 2 days!!!!!!!! luckily everyting is fine in the end!!!

congrats purebliss!!! wahh..both > 2kg ..envy envy ehehheeh

mich, talking abt F1, yest i watch the qualifying rounds on tv..so boring hahahahhaha

xbliss..congrats on bryan 'firing' cardiac center !!!

precious_one..ahaha..at leat ur gal is not active when zzing..my gal will even roll here roll everywhere (of course row off the bed onto the cold floor) even when she is sleeping... (she is sleeping on mattress on floor)

yan, 20ml 12 x a day is alot...last time my gal only like 15ml 8 x a day (3 hours each) and i can barely hit that..... ur bb is going to be a tough fighter so dont worry abt the poking... ok...

i don´t leh... why other moms can easily produce bottles and bottles of milk but i can´t. i think breasrt size does make a different. the lactation nurse said tat might be due to small breast size, the reversoir is small, so milk is little. they asked me to pump more often.

i tried to pump 2 1/2 hourly, but very little milk leh cos it has not refilled from the previous pump, so i stick to 3 hourly for daytime. but at night i was too tired. i set the alarm clock, my handphone alarm and radio clock and even ask my hubby to try to wake me up if he heard the alarm.he is tired too so after trying to wake me he dozed off too. so sometime i woke up 1 or 2 hour later then the time i purposed to pump.

very sad....

bloom, u don´t have enough milk for your baby too?

Yan

How many weeks is ur bb now?
Me still breast feeding my no. 4. I breastfeed Ezann a 26 weeker for one year n thankfully I had enuf for her. I remember the lactaction nurse that I saw... She encouraged me n told me NO PAIN NO GAIN.. My tips for u is really got to express every 3 hourly
I know it is difficult.. But guess wat, u can stretch the timing when ur milk flow is established with no compromise on your quantity. Currently, my girl is 7 months old n still on full breast milk. I only express twice a day. U can PM me n I can share my tips if u want

My girl oso had MRSA when she was I think 5 days in the ICU. In fact, that's how i know Costa. It's quite a common bacteria in the hospital. I remember that due to this, Ezann had to be the last to be on the operating table for her hernia as they are scared that shewill contaminate the operating theatre...

Bloom
Me computer idiot la... Don know how to load the pics up leh.. must rope in my hb to help.. BTW< how old is ur bb?

Is never easy to have come so far... the fear, care n concern for our little premies or rather for all our little ones
Tat's y I always say Thank God for another happy Day

kkf

Hmm.. understand wat u mean.. jus don dwell too much on it..

Smiggle princess
My waterbag burst at 25weeks 2 days.. Ezann held on for 5 days n infection set in.. then she decided to see the world.. Can still remember the episode clearly.. Something that is etched in my memory

mummylian,

my gal was born on 12aug.. tatś about 7weeks ago. initially i woke up every 3hrs. yes, the nurse said after the supply established, we can drag the timing, but supply can´t be taking so long to set in bah... now is about 7 weeks after she was born..

for other moms maybe only need to do the 3hrly thingy day and night for the 1st week or 2, then can drag a lttle at night. but mine so long already still the same. imagine how tired i m.. 3 alarm clocks also fail to wake me up. i not even aware tat i off the alarm

Yan,
Actually, if iirc, I was still into the 3hr pumping till they are three months old, then I became to get tired and drag a bit..... (maybe that time I needed to pump more as I have got 2 to feed). Try your best to pump, I know how difficult to wake up

Kayden was discharged without oxygen.
However he went home with medication for lungs, reflux and vitamins
Tml going for 1st checkup with Dr Quek.

Shellow
Ya, Pneumoccocol will cause fever. Desat is subjective to babies, esp extreme preemies.

good morning mummies

hi mummylian greetings

hi smiggleprincess
welcome, kayden is a brave warrior and you too is very brave. for me, my water bag leaks for 12 days (i was hospitalised for CBR) and my boy arrived in his 26 weeks gestations at 980g at KKH...

Kayden is under Dr Quek of KKH? he is a kind soul. he came by to see me when i was hospitalised. btw, my boy is now 2 years old (corrected).
shelllow,
just to share, i let siang toke his pneumoccocal when his corrected age is after 1 year old. so he had only 2 jabs of it. Paige had her rotavirus? maybe can consider that?

hi yan
how is sweet yilin? do not feel down abt the volumn of BM.. she is a fighter and things be ok. pump whatever amount u can... mother love is the greatest

xbliss and all mummies,

Thank you for your reply. So many post unable to read so fast.

My boy delivered 31 weeks when 1.3kg. Stay about 30 day in hospital.

Have you let your baby take pneumoccocal?

hi pinety

welcome
yes my boy has taken his pneumoccocal vaccinations. i opt to let him take the jabs after he is one year old (corrected age)

Yan

I was still expressing 3 hourly till my gal is about 4 months plus... Was down with engorgement n blockage... Ultimately, u r the mummy.. u know wat is best for ur bb
Don stress
If can't, formula milk is jus as good

Hi Jane.. Wow, it's been a long time since We communicate. Hope Siang is doing well

hello mummylian

oh yes, i have not been logging in lately. me? well busy and busy. had a dramatic &amp; almost helpless 2 weeks haha (but well, manage to survive keke). I was without a domestic helper then, My mum go holiday, siang was not well (hospitalised for croup). but now things are like back to 'normal" :p, my mum is back from holiday, new domestic helper is here... so jane sit here catching up with the 'lapse' time.

how is sweet ezanne? siang is very much into his terrible 2s :p. very terrible, make lots of noise and many request... keke

mummylian,
yup, mrsa was wat brot our kids together.....but in a way it was better as they were isolated in a quieter place..

yah, they vy scared abt d mrsa infection..even if after our kids dun hv, they cant let them be wif the other kids...

kkf,
mrsa is a hospital transmitted infection..nurses and docs get it but for adults, its easier to cure..i heard just walk outside in the sun or apply nasal drops/cream or smthg but for bbs, must put d same nasal thingy but they wun put the mrsa kids back wif the rest even if after curing....think its due to the bbs being subjected to too much handling by the different nurses/doctors..

Hi pinety, cause my boy has moderate hole in heart so the doctor advised me to let my boy take all vaccinations, so he took pneumoccocal before.

Yan, really dun feel bad. I feel bad at times too when it comes to motherhood. But who can always provide the best for our children though how much we want to right? Like my boy, I feel I let him down because he has hole in heart, and for my this pregnancy, whenever I drank cold drinks I would feel guilty cause I think i am not a good mother, But really, I think none of us mothers here are perfect and can provide all the very best to our children. If we can, we will, but sometimes, some things are beyond are controls, we just can do our best.
I understand how tiring it is to wake up at nights to pump. I didn't remember I did that last time leh! you see, I even worst right? I think I pumped once like 10 or 11am, then 5am like that.

costa, thanks for explaining wats mrsa. I think dash also got similar infection but his more serious, it was blood infection also due to too many people handling him, and also the equipments.

Jane glad to see u back here. siang got croup again?

I remember when dash was before 2 years old, kkh was like another house for me cause dash always fall sick with bronchtitis lar, croup lar etc. very worrying. It was part of growing up I guess.

i saw a couple of mummies here with waterbag leaking? Can i know what are the symptoms? How you do its leaking cause sometimes, I seem to have quite a bit of discharge, and I will start to worry, is it coming from waterbag? opps.

hi kkf,
yes, you are right (u really got xin for siang) he again got croup. last episode was in Feb 08. but this time, it was not that bad... i hope like you say, siang will get pass this stage. siang just actually turn 2 (corrected). yes, its a very worrying stage for me. croup comes so sudden... i also dunno where i 'found the heart' to deal with it.

for me that time (being first time mummy), i woke up and went toilet (thinking of passing urine)..then the water like non-stop.. so my lao gong rush me to hospital but thinking back, i think before that i experienced some tightness in my tummy...

don't worry too much. stay postitive
rest more, things be fine.

Jane
hope Siang gets better...

smiggleprincess
that is tough. All the best to ur and u boy. Both of u are warriors!

Yan
U know u have already tried ur best, so dun be too upset abt it.Not all mums can produce full BM for baby - I dunno why. I was v upset abt it too. ur baby is still growing on strong! dun worry..

kkf
ahuh, not easy to remain positive coz of past experience. but I know u are trying hard rite ?
maybe each time u have a fear, u 'counter' that with a prayer of hope ? I honestly wish we had amnesia to forget the past pregy hehe. anyways every pregnancy is different. now still no issue, so still got hope, rite.. no proof that there will be issue. past is still past.

hi daec
have not been chatting with you lately too
, thanks, siang is ok

i do find time to browse nada blog hehe
, she too fancy shoo shoo? haha siang also keke

Just got back frm kk first followup...
My bill is $230!!!!
His medication so ex.....

Dr says must take meidcation for 6mths.. And his milk formula Neosure is so ex....

I can only express half his intake

Been too tired to express..

hi smiggleprincess

sorry, kayden is not KKH baby (ie not under subsidy)? sorry, which specialist did he went for review with (i am quite lost in the previous threads).

yes neosure is ex...my boy was on it for a while.