Premature babies support group

It's been long since I post

Congrats to KKF anfd Fairylander

How's everyone? Hope all is well with u n the ittle ones!

Good morning mummies

How's everyone national day holiday?

DM, wow...happy shopping. how many days you be in BK?

mummylian
how is ezann? siang is doing ok, naughty as usual :p

kkf
keep on chatting on your progress and all your thoughts, its ok. me not posting much as another quarter of the year just started hence lots of program to run... continue to write okie
. I really should be buying more books for siang... do let me know if there is any book sale going on

Jane Jane,
my National day is so so only, had bar-b-q at my sil's place
just came back from ICA (went to collect D&D's passport
) hey, made a appt and only waited 5 mins, glad that didn't have to wait long .....

hello didi

wow! bbq on national day
. sounds fun ah.

yeah now ICA very efficient. that time i do for siang, also very fast :p. submitted on line and only waited for less than 5 days and Passport is ready hehe. are you planning any holiday with D&D? do passport liao (not cheap ler :p) must bring them somewhere hehe..

my lao gong is planning to drive up to kota tinngi - kelong. but i wonder if siang be ok with kelong life :p

jane,
will b in bangkok 4 days. shopping list v long alrdy heehee..but mostly ws' stuff haha

mummylian,
hi hi, how's ur little princess??

on half day today, cos gg singapore flyer ltr. so bz clearing work cos last fri oso on leave..

Jane,
Yup, my sil loves to entertain at home
I am happy to go there, cause they will take care of D&D for a few hours while we are there, then I can unwind a bit
thot of gg Bintan maybe. Kelong for Siang, should be fun

Nada is starting get more difficult.eating more tough. any gd recipe books or tips ? she is 1yrs 4mths thx.

didi

wow yeah its good to take a break for a while since there are family members around to play with our kids hor :p. oh yes, i always heard bintan (lagoon?) is a good place for kids...

the only thing about kelong is dunno if the food is ok for siang :p. that time we go KL, all the 3 days he ate at Yu Ren Sen Soup Restaurant ler... at kelong.. where got such restaturant :p....

hello daec
you meant daec is rejecting porridge? maybe cook some ABC macroni for her?

Jane,
Can you pm me the link too, need to add some 'color' to d&d food
oh ya, if Siang is a fish-lover then kelong should have fresh fish for him to eat with rice ? or you cook your own porridge
me now got to leave home for town, to have brunch with my long-time gf who is back home for holiday.....

hi didi

ok. send u the link via PM keke. wow! have a good brunch ;) - today is a beautiful day to head for town ler haha.

siang eat fish..but he is not much of rice pple. he like mee and UDON haha!!

daec
frankly, now siang is kind of rejecting home cook (heart warming) porridge and also wants to eat outside food but i am persisting on...thou at times i do give in :p. i hope u find the link useful. thought you can try try some of the receipe

jane
didnt get it. can resend ? thx. I am also wonderin tactic how to deal. coz some kids will walk ard and then e mums chase to feed them. at times, refuse. Nada is starting to that patter too yikes!

daec, dash is like tat already. got to chase him around.

nowadays, me too lazy to cook, and no strength. hubby doesn't really know how to cook so in the end dash ends up eating lots of outside food.

aiyo, you all dun make me envy, wish i can go out too...sob. happy bangkok trip dm. jane, happy trip to kelong, but why that plc? btw, dm, tot you just celebrated your anniversary?

you all still have to work today ah? tot today may be off day for some companies?

daec

ok ok i resend. hmm for me. when at my own house, i make siang sit on high chair thou now he will say "no no" to porridge. but i will slowly, watch tv with him (change VCD at times) and make him finish whole bowl...

my mama is let him walk around the house...:p.

hello kkf

its ok...rest and just play with dash at home. also very blessful ah. or u go on internet and surf for good stuff etc lor. there is a lot one can do at home. watch olympics live

my lao gong colleague wants to go kelong so jio us hahaha..no particurly reason hehe..

OFF? ah yo..how i wish i can off my pc hahahah! no ler. my company no off today :p

kkf, must ren ..no coke and icy drinks! i still rem during the last few months, i threw up whenver i take my pre natal vits.. plus meds for high BP..eeeks! which first gynae was taht so out to scare u.... on leave still gota mark worksheets? then how to pass back to the students?

costa, which line are u in if i may ask...

powergal... 25kg 3 yo is ALOTTTTTT!!! goodness.. i bet no stroller can carry him now?

fairylander, congrats!

xbliss..u just hit big 3? i just hit big 33 leh! lagi worse :p

dm, i was in town too! hb wanted to watch batman but all cinemas packed full so we din watch... have fun in bkk!

didi, 5 min wait? taht is efficient!

jane..me lazy mommy..long ago gave in to kate re outside food..... national day i was watching fireworks with my family heheehheeh

daec, jia lak if must chase bb everyday to feed leh..plus clean up the whole house after tat!

welcome shelllow

hello shelllow

your gal is your first child? welcome to our board. my boy is a 26 weekers at 985g.

if your gal on bottle already? keep us posted on her progress. you just out from the one month confinement? must take care ah

hi bloom
keke..me just persist on la. but dunno for how long more to go :p. oh yes, i read your blog just now hehe...wow..think u must have prebook the hotel room quite sometime ago?

yeah is my 1st child. She is still on tube feeding, nt sure when she will be taught bottle feeding. Having her 2nd eye review tomorrow, good news is she doesnt have ROP but will need surgery on her hernia....
Yup 1 mth confinement is over n been back to work for abt a wk now....

shellow

i see
then don't worry, eye review is just routine review. so you did not utilise your 2nd month maternity leave. must be quite tiring for u. you be going to play with your ger later after work?

i believe she is on room air now? is she at KKH?

a few babies here have had hernia surgery...don't worry, she be ok.

kkf,
like wat jane suggested, u can watch olympics

ya, celebrated my 10th yr ROM anniversary last fri. today my hubby not working, so planned to go flyer. i took half day & went shopping b4 meeting them. sad to say, i didn't enjoy the flyer a lot. q boring leh..the view & the ride. initially ws was scared, doesn't wan to go off my lap. but soon, she's like spiderman, hanging on the bar & climbing on the glass..will upload some pics

me go bangkok with colleagues
shopping trip.

bloom,
my colleague oso watched batman @suntec. she said cinema crowded, but they still managed to get tix leh..

jane,
dun worry la. siang will eat watever u (adults) eat. he'll feel v "adult" haha.. but i rem the last time i went to kelong, no fresh water. this u hav to take note. but tat was >10yrs ago, so maybe now better? can check it out b4 deciding whether 2 go or not. it may b a good experience 4 him

ws oso walk ard during meal times @ my mother's place. *shake head*. at home oso like tat. but if i turn on pc, she can sit in front & watch her cousin's youtube haha. btw, hav u tried out this website www.totlolcom? q interesting. ws enjoyed it a lot

shellow,
welcome... do come in & 'chat' more often. we always talk abt non-bb stuff 2

haha seldom log in so late. me trying to load some pix

didi
haha actually the kelong is very near kukup or shall i say its just there...

hi disneymickey
today weather quite good. the view at the flyer should be quite nice ah...

oh yes, my colleague who just went told me must be prepared to buy mineral water there to boil... i think now they have fresh water but for toodler, better to boil the water first before they drink.

hmm...i shall go and see the link hehe.

shellow
oh yes, we chat a lot here ;)

Hi shelllow! welcome. wow, goodie goodie, your gal is doing well, think soon, she can go home liao.

my boy borned 1.12kg 27 weekers, spend think around 1.5 months in nicu leh. he had hernia operation before, dun worry, think 2-3 days after operation can go home. very simple surgery. do update us with your gal's progress.

jane, dm, me not an olympic person. i dun like to watch that.

bloom, i always hate pills whether pregnant or not. so i also struggled with the vitamins. sigh. every morning, got to force myself to swollow. sometimes until want to vomit. sigh. i know there will be more pills to come at a later stage (anti contraction blar blar)...want my life.

talking about the worksheets, i brought them home in june, and till now haven't mark. hope no parent compains. sigh...me really no energy. will ask my hubby to bring back if I have finished marking.

yup, goin to see my gal everyday after work... how i wish there is more than 24h in a day.... yeah she is in KKH, i went to KKH for my 1st appointment n delivered there after a few hr... My gal has been on room air for 1 wk now... the nurse told me last night tt she wont be on bottle feeding yet as she is still less than 1.8kg but they let her suck on pacifier, seems like she like it alot.... good to hear tt hernia surgery is a simple surgery....

good morning mummies

kkf
stick on...i dislike pill too. i used to dissolved all the pills and swallow it keke..

shellow
hope your work place is not too far away from KKH. your ger is in SCN blue or pink?

great news to know she is in room air. help me hug hug her and ask her to put on weight fast fast then can bottle then can go home liao
. hernia is quite 'common' in a sense...

my gal is in SCN blue.... how i hope work place is nt too far from KKH.... i work in the west... n stay in the west....
can i check wif u ladies, if let say my gal can b discharge, but can i request to let her stay in the nursery for another 1 wk or so? worry if she is too small, i have no confident in taking care of her.... other than my hubby, i got no extra help.... any1 of u sent u kid to infant care? pls advise

shellow,
welcome to this board....please give us more details so tt we can update our table, like date of birth etc etc.....

yup, i think u can request to let bb stay longer in the hospital if you are not confident of taking care but bear in mind tt the hospital is not the cleanest of all places...

i felt the same way as you last time and worried to bring my bb back...and he caught the cough bug from the hospital again...but of cse if u are not confident, u can sound yr worries to the nursing sister.....

kkf is right, hernia operation is relatively minor..usually scheduled before bb goes home..

xbliss,

With baby ard, I think its hard to keep a house neat and clean.. hahaha.. i totally understand.. Now I only got a bedroom to clean up and its all so messy liao, set aside we r toking about the whole hse.. I can't imagine myself having to take care of bb and doing lotsa hsehold chores.. sure pengz one.. anyway r u celebrating Bryan's 1st bday?

kkf,

My mum staying in Compassvale
nowadays I went back to her hse almost every weekdays.. No choice cos I can't handle him alone esp he crawl and stand alot nowadays.. Even put on a fight with me during his diaper changing.. arrgghh!! hahahaaa.. My mum staying in 20X one.. u leh?

Jane,

Wanted to go pasir ris park for a gathering with my hubby's side of relatives but ended up heavy rain hence plan cancelled and went to his auntie's hse instead.. Good also cos we could watch the parade which my hubby luv.. He is a very "ai guo" person.. hahahaa..

Hi Shelllow,

My boy was born 1.5kg stayed in SCN for 3weeks too.. And he was in SCN blue too.. If I m not wrong, think u can request for ur gal to stay in abit longer but not sure if can up to a week..

Bloom,

My sis never let him sit on a stroller ever since he reach 2yro.. Yah, I bet even the most powerful stroller also cannot withstand his weight leh..

Gestation period: 28wk
weight: 1.18kg
DOB: 2 july 2008
In NICU for 34 days, SNC for 7 days and is still counting.
Was given diuretic medication after 28days as she didnt do well for CPAP cycling. Goin to have hernia surgery before going home.

hi powergal

haha so u mange to watch the national parade live on tv
- i missed that...

shelllow
I happen to live in the west and work in the west too... i can understand the journey to and fro home to kkh and back. take care. that time i normally spend my weekend at KKH because its just too far to go back home and then travel back to KKH again...

My boy was in SCN blue too...

your ger will very fast go home
very very soon. cheer her up everyday!

Jane,
think they will have re-run of the National Day Parade
I missed that too, was bz feasting those bar-b-q food, too noisy to concentrate on the tv so mite as well concentrate on the food

shellow
if u are concerned coz she is prem ->
norm they give u some hands-on traning/classes eg. bathing, let u feed baby urself, abt 4-5 sessions on common prem baby issues/basics. Hope that helps u to boost up ur confidence. can ask questions abt any concerns. do take down number of SCN, counseller, others to call if u have questions.anywayz dun scared-scared, when they declare baby ready to go home - they really check2 and sure abt it. And they will tell u if any other info to deal with.

I remember I also scared2, then the nurse tell me dun worry, once she is discharge she is ok. just treat her like normal baby.

thanks gals, really comforting to know tt i m nt the only 1 having all tis problem.... just worry the apnea episode will happen after she is home.... i did learn CPR for baby b4, but still scared, cos real n doll are very different

shelllow,
daec is right.....u will be fully prepared for yr baby's discharge...any concern you have, please do let them know......

dun worry, we hv all been thru the same route before...just share yr questions and concerns here..

shellow
hmm I recall, there is a trial stayover thingy u can opt for. means u stay one nite at hospital and then u handle baby. like testing. optional lah. extra cost tho

yup i was so scared if i had to use the CPR, I kept the notes near incase ah. well they say there are occasions when mum is like superwoman if her child is in danger :p heard of those real life stories whereby mum miraculously do something to rescue her child.

shelllow,
IMO, you mite want to delay sending your bb to infant care initially ? if you want to get a maid, you mite need someone to be with her, it's better not to leave the bb alone with her ? and you mite want to let your maid attend those lessons on CPR, bathing of the bb at kkh prior your bb return to your home ? not to worry, you will be fine, I rem when my elder boy return home, I was alone with him for 2 - 4 weeks, iirc and enjoyed every min with him

now i know what the "old" (aka experienced lah!) mummies here talk about relieving their experiences when we have new mummies joining us here..

shellow
this is the right place to share your concerns cos we all went through it, some harder than the rest.

my boy born 925g at 27wks, stayed nicu 1 mth and scn 1 mth. he had hernia about 2 months after his discharge when docs found the protrusion at the testes area. it's a pretty fast surgery lasting 1 hr but traumatic for me cos i had to stay over 3 days.. and literally panda eye after that. good thing for u is that the nurses in scn can take care of her.

like what the mummies have said, they will train us on bathing, changing diapers (which u should have started already?), feeding, and the CPR before discharge. i think they worried for the babies too! like daec, i kept the cpr notes accessible even though i am already first aid trained.

i know what your worries are about apnea, but i dun really tink there is great cause for it. It's more psychological than anything else especially if your gal is not desat anymore nearer to her discharge. If you have opportunity, ask to learn to bathe and breastfeed (which means that the tube will be taken off n she is totally on room air), and for the nurse to be with you when you try it. It is a feel of how it would be like when she goes home and also gives u an idea of what to look out for if she desats.

in the mean time, lots of kangaroo hugs for your gal everyday k? my boy put on a lot of weight when i carried him skin to skin a lot at SCN.

when my boy came home, i did everything on my own, including household chores. You may not be able to be that perfectionist and get everything done, but nothing beats spending time alone with the bb to bond. but of cos, if u would prefer a maid, then try not to let her handle the bb if still small size. i wanted to send my boy to infant care but they din accept cos he was premature and small. They claimed infant care easy to spread germs. can you count on relatives like mum and in laws? i hated that option cos i dun like the way they handle children, but i tell u, after so many months, nothing beats being cared for by your own relatives (of cos i know got some exceptions, but generally which relative will be so black hearted?).

powergal
saw that u having cradon's b'day at chalet?! aiyoh i tell u i am so fickle minded that i dunno wat to do!!! but my sis in law had her boy's celebration at chalet and they said it was so tiring having to organise all the bbq, decor, and attend to the kids. So think u better get more ppl to help so u can remain happy parents for the day! in the end, i tot just do pte affair at home with the immediate relatives. we shall cater simple but nice food lor. .heheh.. old style but i really cannot bear all that trouble and sweat!!!

the nurse started bottle feeding my gal yesterday, she managed to gulp down 10mL then got tired... i did give it a try at feeding her... n she got choked n started coughing (feel like a lousy mom)... is it common tt bb has tis wheezing sound during their feed?

xbliss,
infant care dun accept premature baby? How i wish i have relatives to help look after my gal when i go back to work after my maternity leave/unpaid leave....

Hi shelllow I bought an angelcare baby monitor when baby was home last time, it would sound if it did not detect any breathing or movement from baby. It is supposed to put under baby's mattress. haha, kiasu me. but it at least helped to set my mind at ease. you can get it from kkh. a bit expensive over 100 plus but think if can give you a peace of mind, why not?

dun worry, oh btw, haven't introduce myself leh, I am the oldest premature baby here, I am 30 years old liao lor, I am born 27 weeks too, dun worry, as long as the doctors and nurses say can discharge, that means your baby is perfectly normal liao, esp if he/she doesn't need to bring home any oxygen tank or wat right?

Yes, kkh will require to attend this and tat courses before you bring baby home. I still remember staying at night to attend their course, but quite interesting, cause first time parents mah.

oh jane, we sama sama ah! I tot I am the only weird one who doesn't know how to swollow pills. haha cause my hubby can just swollow two pills at one go! For me, a struggle esp eating big pills like pandadols want my life!

can i ask whats scn blue and pink? wats the difference? i never even noticed last time whether dash is in scn blue or pink, as long as he was in SCN, I already very happy! hahaha. so wats the diff?

Powergal, me staying compassvale st. 29x

xbliss same here, this year dash will just be celebrating at home, we also decided to cater mini buffet for just our family members.

shelllow, tot you shd have 3 mths maternity, why you go work after only 1 month?

jane, hahaha... u r a good mommy..so if u go out with siang, u cook and bring out the food? only prebook 1 month in advance.. saw the advert in today online..i guess i am lucky bah, to be able to book on ndp... my colleague tried pan pac and only get a room during preview... dissolve the pills? wont it be more yucky then?

shellow, what was ur initial plan for childcare before ur bb was born? (what is her name btw?). if u r afraid of apnea, u might want to consider getting this angelcare monitor (something like that)..its a device put underneath the bed/bedsheet that will sound alarm if it does not detect movement of the baby... but pretty exp... accding to SCN nurses last time..once bb din have a apnea episode for 10days after they finished their course of med, then it should be alright... for my case, i got a auntie in the neighbourhood to bbsit my gal..and this auntie got a premmie of her own..but for my case, my gal discharged with no issue except for umbilical hernia... one thign good abt scn nurses is that they will tell u abt ur bb's habits (eg, my bb needs to burp alot) so u wont have to learn from scratch :p

dm, i was at orchard... anyway hb was the one that wanted to watch..i am never a movie fan :p

kkf, now i order chewable vits from US... else definitely cannot swallow! :p

xbliss...wah..u super leh..take care of bb plus household chores... i think the good thing abt booking chalet/fn rm is that u dont have to clean up afterwards :p

Xbliss,

No choice leh.. If I got a hse of my own, I wana celebrate it at home too but as I m staying with inlaws and mil dun wan a mess in her hse hence hav to outsource a venue..
Hopefully can get some help as that day is a weekday, think most ppl will only come after work

Bloom,

Thats what I think too.. Lesser cleaning to be done :p But then again, if held it at home, more convenient, no need to take so many barang barang there..

shelllow,

hey, aren't we fortunate to hav this thread where all experienced mummies share their point of view and advices? kekekee.. Sorry can't help and give much advise cos I m a blur mummy.. :p

re birthdays. hehe dunno if I tell u abt my ger first birthday. I reserve one day for inlaws and another day for me. IL agree BUT last minute change, keep calling on the day I reserve for myself. i end up serving and washing plates.sien. prob must do a small birthday party so they no choice but to come that day hehe.
honestly sometimes party - u end up cant spend much time w ur baby coz other people wanna play with her.be gd if can reserve other day for urself

kkf/Jane
me also dunno how to swallow big pills. then why hate supplements. dunno why most of them so big and then must eat many. I used to crumble them or break into half hehe

shellow
maybe u can do some reading up on babycare. Baby Whisperer by Tracy Hogg is gd. no need read cover to cover. just skip to sections. generally baby cry want milk or hug or change diaper. rocking helps too.

good morning mummies

daec
u got receive my PM?

shelllow
GREAT to know that your ger is starting on bottle
do try to latch her on too, as xbliss suggest (kangeroo) your gal more.

re bottling. must try to pace more during bottling. she may be just not ready yet..go slow with lots of pacing in between and burping. is she drinking too fast hence u hear the wheezing sound??? if there is any such concerns, think u can ask the nurse on duty to advise you. the nurses there are great adviser.

don't feel lousy. its really not easy for u...stay positive. you will get used to bottling your gal

re about going home, i was lucky because i got my mother who voluntary say she will help me care for my boy (who was still consider small when he was discharged).

perhaps you can think of options like nanny after your confinement period? try sourcing for one now if you do not have any relatives to offer help.

don't worry too much, things will turn out just fine. most important is your ger
other things, sure got a solution.

some of the mummies here have walk thru very tough path and today they are all doing fine

hi didi - hehe will try to catch the re-telecast (if got chance haha)

bloom
me not that good la...just want to try to let my boy eat home cook food for as long as possible (with him being born premmie). wow one month in advance ah...your view not bad hor. really can see clearly and with the help of your super power camera hehe

kkf, daec, bloom
i also wonder why must all that pills come in such giant size???? ah yo yo yo yo....keke. why not come in syrup. that time whenever i eat the calcicum pill, i will choke! keke cos its really giantic :p

kkf
my gal been apnea free for abt 2 wk... but i m a KS mom, always worrying. Yeha i've 3 mth maternity leave, but only utilise 1 mth n saving the remaining 2 mth to look after my gal when she is home... perhaps might get 1-2 mth unpay leave....

Bloom
my initial plan b4 my gal was born was to sent her to infantcare as there is 1 just next to my company. Who knows on the 28wk, my BP went up so high tt i need to deliver my gal.

daec
thanks i will go get hold of tt book.

Jane
will do the kangaroo thingy on her. mayb she is drinking too fast,she finished 10ml of milk in 5 min. perhaps need to pace more during her feed. Nanny are quit difficult to find every since the HFMD outbreak. I m still looking for 1 ard my area.

oh btw, my gal is Paige