Premature babies support group

Welcome Jaslyn
Yes, i have a set of twin boys.
They turned 3 years old early this year.
Do you have other children besides the twins?
Regarding EBM - Drink more fluid. It was recommended to drink one big glass before and after pumping.

powergal
i c. my mum use quarrel lots with my sis & talk like dat 2. lucky my time not so much think she mellow down. same here lah. if make sense, will listen. I dun understand when elders give funny ideas and expect us to listen. I told il so so many times my ger sleep at 8pm yet still ask meet at nite. even though see her few times cryscream for 1hr coz its bedtime and she not home and she overstimulated by unfamiliar people/environment. maybe take lot more time for it to sink in.

thk gotta be thick skin & dun care 2 much coz u know what u doing is rite. and super patient with these elders. do talk to ur hubby. even if he dun voice out, at least he on ur side if u need to speak out

hi Mich!
oic..
wow..ur boys r so big already..
nope they r my 1st child..
how about u?

oh.. okok thanks!
I thought only b4 that need to drink..
after that also must drink.. will take note. thanks!
now in confinement only can drink milo and red dates longan drink..
how I wish can drink water.. hehe..

good afternoon mummies

very held up with work hence have not been logging in.

thanks to all the mummy for wishing me luck in the coming IQ test for siang. i guess i will just take it as it come :p

oh jaslyn, welcome to the board. hope your 2 princess be discharged soon. my boy is a 26 weekers (born at 985g). he was in KKH for total of 3 months plus. do share with us your gers progress and take care during confinement. re EBM, jia you. yeah as mich mention, drink more fluid...eat more. try to rest.

jaslyn,
diff bb grow/behave differently. what u hear/read, juz take it as a guide. dun worry if your girl(s) don't behave similarly... as long as they r drinking/happy/poo-ing, it's alright. another good source of gauge is frm your pd.. he/she will b able to tell if your gers r ok..

Hi disneymickey and daec,

No choice.. Now I m still staying with her and have to see her "face colour".. There were many many time when I was feeding Craydon milk and u know my boy won't finish milk at one go, always hav to break into 2, 3 time and during the break, my mil will always come into our room and carry him away.. Even if I said its milking time, she will said never mind, keep the milk warm 1st.. I feel its rude to carry Craydon back hence I waited but an hr later still not back yet and I had to discard the milk away..

I can't control myself at times and I admit I sometime will argue with my hubby cos of her.. My hubby will never blame his mother cos he is a Er Shi Shi Xiao son.. Like doing my confinement, she was always not at home to help me care for Craydon when he was back from KKH.. I was a new mum & was so helpless.. She will come back from her usual breakfast outing at 10am, only then she will brew the longan tea for me.. no tonic for me during that time too.. I have to eat only chicken or fish soup at nite.. Afternoon take mee hoon or fried rice.. Once she was very late home and she ta bao outside fried rice for me! For the 1st few days, I have longan tea then she got lazy, she decided to just put in the flower tea sachet into the hot water and ask me to drink! And the quantity is so little that only 3 glasses, I hav no more drink, so during the confinement I drank water which was forbidded.. She never helped me in feeding milk, washing clothes and bottles, never help carring my baby when he cried (cos she is always not at home)and didn't help to bath my baby.. I touched water all days during my confinement.. I really really got so much complain about my mil.. :p

jaslyn,
diff bb grow/behave differently. what u hear/read, juz take it as a guide. dun worry if your girl(s) don't behave similarly... as long as they r drinking/happy/poo-ing, it's alright. another good source of gauge is frm your pd.. he/she will b able to tell if your gers r ok..

Hi jaslyn,

During my boy stay in SCN, according to the nurse, he can suck well.. But then again, with all the professional nurses and pd there, they will gaudge when to let ur bbs suck from bottles, when to start on nutrition drips and so dun worry.. Meanwhile u can rest as much as u can for now cos once ur bbs r back, I guarantee u, u dun know what is called sleep liao.. :p

powergal

pat pat... now craydon has grown up well under your care. You have make a big achievement as a first time mum. i personally felt that you are very wei da.

Hi jane,

Thanks!! As a mummy, I only hope is he getting stronger and healthier and happy all the time.. I try to forget his future op which may happen end of this yr or next..

hi powergal

we all hope our children get stronger, healthier and happier at all times.

Don't worry. technoglogy is really advance. thing will just be fine.

come this july, siang is due for his IQ and eye review. so much just before he hit 2 :p. anyway, just want him to be happy ah.

hi jane
just receive a call from my PD..
he say jie jie will be taken off the warmer today..
and will start on bottle feed for all feeds..
if everything is ok..
she can go home tomorrow..
for mei mei..
she still have to gain weight..

disneymickey
I will.. thanks!

jaslyn, congrats on the good news. ur gals are doing well, dun worry. weight will yoyo sometimes, like for my boy, his weight always drop a little everytime they changed his incubator then. adjustments for them also matters too.

powergal,
can tell u having hard time at in law's place. close one eye cos ur flat coming soon. u moving to buangkok mrt area right?? will become my neighbor! hee. when my flat was ready last year, i moved in immediately one day before bryan came home. din wan to start unnecesary tradition at mother in law place. i know how it is like but u must really bear with it. cos in future anything at least she still will help.

xbliss
ya lor..
weight not stable one..
just came back from TMC..
the nurses say I must learn how to bottle feed 1st then can let her go home..
like that one ah?
then how come my PD say if ok I can bring her home tomorrow...
the nurses like say I very gan chiong..

Jaslyn, yah, its like that. The nurses will make sure you are very confident in handling your child before you can bring her home. You must learn how to bathe, feed and even first aid, thats all wat we did at kkh last time. Me and my hubby attended their first aid course before we brought our boy home.

xbliss, how come never meet you at compasspoint leh...hee. My hubby working at buangkok area leh.

wow powergal, your in laws a bit bad leh, not helpful at all.

Actually,frankly, can understand the problems you all had with in laws. I tell you a joke, my marriage instructor told us that when they were staying with their parents last time, half way while they were getting intimate, their Mother would knock on their door, and asked what they wanted for breakfast tomorrow in the middle of the night...haha. I guess everybody will have problems with in laws. From what I see, older people think it is alright to let our children eat whatever, cause they think if we protect them too much, they will grow up to be weak. But of course, I would be very unhappy too.

Going for half day meeting today. I discovered I had lost my minutes for meeting(hand copy one), die....I am suppose to write down and type...now I lost it.

morning...

kkf
oic.. its like that ah..
that means if my PD discharge her today..
I cant bring her home also lor..

jaslyn,
dun stress urself 2 much. but sometimes, it's the pd's instructions tat count. maybe today when u go visit her, the nurses will teach u how to bathe, feed, change clothes, etc. cos i think as long as pd say can discharge, they hav to obey the pd. cos they oso wan u to bring bb back ASAP.

dun worry. hubby & me nev attend any courses during pregnancy.. dunno how to bathe/feed/dress bb, wat's more, our ger is sooo small & fragile.. but we learn frm the nurse in the nursery, then go home & do it our way.. still my ger grows up alrdy

disneymickey
thanks..
cant help not to be stress leh..
wanting to bring her home faster..
she seems to be staying longer for a bb at 34 weeks and birth weight at 2.065kg..
ya lor.. hope they faster teach me and
hope my pd will give me gd news today..

my mum also say.. still must learn one meh..
everyday do will know liao..

jaslyn,
old pple will surely say tat.. esp they hav experience in bringing up their own kid. but they must hav 4gotten tat our bbs r preemies, so need some extra care... but your mom is oso not wrong, even if u dunno, everyday do, sure will get it right some day.

wat i did when my ger was in hospital, i'll call up the pd's clinic every morning (cos he'll go c my ger b4 he goes to his clinic) & ask abt her - weight.. how much she's drinking, etc. so the day b4 he gives ok, he told me i can bring her back alrdy.. so when i went to visit her, i juz told the nurse, doc say ok alrdy. but of cos, they would hav gotten the news frm the doc 2

Jaslyn
Congrats on having twins.....a wish of many mummies.....your girls will grow fast and be home with you soon. Dun be overly anxious, take most time now to have plenty of rest before they go home....by then, you have no time to rest properly.

I officially announce that I quit my SAHM role and will be a FTWM like most of you here wef from next Monday. I'm thrilled and excited.

disneymickey
ya lor..haiz..

I dun know what time my pd go for his rounds..
everyday different...
so I wait for him to call everyday..
the waiting can "kill"..
so when doctor say ur ger can go home..
the next day u brought her home?

didi
oic..
so gd.. 2 boys..

precious_one
cant help not to be anxious leh..
dun know y..
cant sleep well at nite.. haiz..

precious,
congrats! looking fwd?? will miss angel?

jaslyn,
think ya, he say she can go back on sat, so on fri, we 'inform' the nurses, then they told us to bring clothes 4 her on sat. so we learnt how to bathe b4 she comes back. the feeding & changing diapers, we hav hands-on experiences when she was in NICU..

Hi Jaslyn,

Trust in ur PD, if he gave green light that mean u can bring ur gals home.. If not, is always better for the nurses there to feed milk and monitor..
My hubby and I had to learn CPR and bathing him before we can brought him home..

I rem when the nurse told me doc said my boy ready to go home, I was so so happy.. But when he is really home, I headache lorr.. hahahaa..

xbliss,

U staying in Atrina harr? :p Can meet up one day when I move in? U a working mum rite?

disneymickey
oic..
see what my PD say today..

powergal
oic..
hope he will give green light soon..
think i will cry if PD say she can go home..
yesterday got a boy going home today in SCN..
see them so happy..
I also cry..
dun know when my gers can go home..
haha.. no headache lah..
when u see him.. u melt rite..

jaslyn
We can understand your anxiety. Me too was longing for my girl to return home soon but it took 6 mths ......then when she is back, like powergal said...my head swelled....no sleep and no rest, sometimes no time to eat.

daec
I was offered an Office Manager position.

dm
Will miss A for sure but thankfully, I have brought A to mil's house every afternoon for the last one month. She has cousins to play with her there and she's happy to be without me for a while...so long as I'm out of sight, otherwise, she will leech on me ....hehe

Hi jaslyn,

I totally understand how u feel now.. That time I also saw my boy's "neighbour" changing into their own clothes, packing & ready to go home, I feel so sad that I hav to go home alone without my bb.. But trust me, when the day ur gals reach home, u will really really bz and tired.. Newborn esp will wake up every 2 - 3 hrly so u be expected to wake up at least 3 time in the middle of the nite.. :p And of cos seeing the cute face of ur bb will make u forget all the tiredness.. temporary.. hahaaa..

precious_one,

Really envy that u finally can be a FTWM, how old is ur gal now? I really hope one day I can be one too when my boy is older.. I miss the outside world.. :p

Anyway gals, my boy started mumbling words.. Last sun, he started to mumble "ah pa" "ah pa" My cute hubby is so happy.. I told him he is just playing with his saliva and its not his 1st word, he said I jealous.. hahhaaaa..

precious

just curious, was ur previous experience relevant to the job ? was it difficult to find ?
wondering how it is after SAHM convert to FTWM. coz I not sure if employers r keen..for IT, sure die one if too long

daec
Yes, I have experience in the same area. This job came in very smooth, I wrote in on the 17th May, 1st interview on the day after Vesak day, then ytd I went for my 2nd interview with the CEO and got the job. A lot of time, job seeking depends on luck too....so perhaps GOD is with me this time round. Sure, employer asked what why SAHM, I told the truth and he accepted it.

precious,
congrats and welcome back to working world, where there is sometimes relief and sometimes stress. But at the end of the day, we rush home to our premies with excitement and happiness. Like ppl always says 9am look fwd to lunch, lunch look fwd to children and dinner.

powergal,
i'm at aspella. very near too. next time craydon and bryan can meet at playground! v excited to see u here soon. bryan also call baba.. instead of MAMA. sheeshh..

kkf
we usually go compasspoint on wkends, wkdays no energy liao! u are shopping queen, i am makan queen, sure will meet one day at CP. ur hubby workplace and my house not so near lah.. mine is just next to buangkok mrt whereas ur hubby one is along buangkok green. :D we have a sengkang premies group when powergal move in k???

powergal..
ya lor..
I see liao cry leh..
dare not to face them..
ya.. new borns tend to wake up more at night...
now I also wake up at night to pump my BM..
haha.. ya lor.. see them will forget everything liao..

Jaslyn, good things are worth waiting for. Very soon your baby gal will be home soon! dun worry and think too much! I understand your anxiety, last time I was very eager to bring my boy home as well...

xbliss, I see, I seldom go compasspoint during weekends, cause it was packed with soooo many cars and people.

Congrats! precious one. Welcome to the working force! Me thinking of getting out...haha.

Finally officially off from school, real holidays start today! yeah!

But still got things to do...

Anyway, prince dash woke up liao...must stop here.

xbliss,

Hav to wait till Nov/dec then I will move in cos now still no news from HDB..
Think is a great idea holding a gathering.. How about meeting together not as a sengkang but as a premies grp?

jaslyn,

I cried a few time when I visited my boy in SCN, he was so small and with a feeding tube inserted ito his mouth all the way to his stomach, I felt so heartpain.. But then I learnt to be strong and stay positive as nurse feedback the good progress my boy was going.. I guarantee u in no time both ur gals will be in ur arm cos their wt is consider very good for a twins..
Now is rest rest rest for u.. keke..

disneymickey,

I heard too that most bb 1st word is dad dad or papa.. My niece and nephew 1st word is ah mah and jie jie respectively.. special horr? hahahaa.. Somehow rather I do feel happy if his 1st word is papa cos that will make my cute hubby so happy.. I m fine with any word as long as he tok..

powergal,
gd to see u online more often.......u really can manage craydon well

kkf,
you finished wif all yr work assignments for the holiday?is the ducktour thingy still hving promotion ?i called them,they said dun hv leh....

powergal,
ya, me 2, i'm fine as long as ws is talking..

btw, noticed tat ws started crying again these 2 wks when we dropped her in sch.. but she cried "mommy,daddy.." but still follow the routine - take temp, chk hands & legs, then go into classroom & play..

does any mommy has similar experience? she was crying the 1st mth in sch, then ok for 2mths..now start again..sigh. teacher said cos after trip, kids always like tat.. sigh

morning mummies..
been busy with work so din log in.

jaslyn,
understand your anxiety to bring yr gals home, it took me nearly 2mths.Most important to have plenty of rest cos once they are back, u would have enough rest.

A newcomer to this thread to seek more advise and consoling from everyone.
I delivered my twin girls on 30th May 2008. I started contractions since wk31 and gynae was trying to hold and delay the contractions. I was discharge 1 day later in hospital and was admitted again few days later due to red discharge. Endure for 5 days and placenta started to split from 1 of the twin. It was quite dangerous and gynae had to quickly give me a emergency c-sect to take out the twins to prevent stillborn. I was at wk32+ by then.

Now both are in NICU under monitoring due to their small size. The young one is doing well but the elder one is still quite weak becoz she was in stress during delivery as she's the one who having the placenta problem.

Now hopefully they will discharge soon and back in my arms..The bills are really high to be in NICU.

mummy_yan,
*hugz*..u came to the right place.....r yr bbs in kkh?

dun worry, they pbly wun be in nicu for long....the bulk of the costs pbly come in when its the early stage as they nd more medication, procedures etc....

32wks shld be okay...maybe stay till bb is bigger and stronger can go home or downgrade to less intensive care..

do share any worries u hv wif us here...fyi..many of our bbs were born at less than 30wks....