Premature babies support group

didi
no leh. so fedup waiting. my hubby still liaising with agents/getting the paperwork done to get house loan with bank. I suspect maybe he also delay as he busy with work. can't say much coz he say just leave it up to him, tell me he overloaded.that time, he told me dec, now he told me resign by feb. hopefully not delay somemore.

good morning mummies,

i am excited to hear DM and precious meeting. Pls post pics of the 2 chio gals and 2 chio mummies hor!

costa
not bad for pineapple tarts. it takes a lot of effort k? i ever attend one demo at CC.. see the lady stir pineapple so long i give up already.

i just started baking all over again. stay at MIL place for 1+ yrs i totally din cook cos i scared dirty her kitchen. I just baked betty crocker's choc chip cookies the day before.. taste very good leh! machiam like famous amos imitation!

kkf
nice makeover!! i will go for mine in may with bryan too! any idea if u are required to pay at all? cos they always use "ji jiang fa" and i end up giving in to buy the photos.

Some queries on bottle feeding
Realised bryan has been very cranky during feeds and i suspect it's due to avent bottle cos the teats are not so "user friendly". i can hear him sucking in the air. And he cries badly after some sucks cos there's air and he will take forever to burp. A good feed takes min 30 min for only 70-80ml and sometimes stretches to 1HR!! it makes me and him so frustrated. thinking of changing to NUK bottles and teats. Any comments?

Costa,
oh, you can using those ovens
I also thot of that but my kitchen top is not big, that's why we thot of those built-in, it couldn't take up extra space lor
where you usually buy the pineapple tarts from ? I used to buy from my aunt
(my ex-boss used to order about 15 cans from her too) but my aunt no more making since she had a stroke since 2 years ago....

xbliss,
precious & me prob bz chasing the girls ard the playground. no time to take pics :p

btw, i use NUK. & heng, my ger is perfectly ok w them. i heard my sis-in-law oso mention her daughter not taking avent bottle/teat well. maybe u can try changing.

precious,
nev hear frm u today? hope angel is ok in sch? sorry, can we change the meeting to thurs? cos i got to change my leave frm wed to thurs.

DM
I was about to ask you to change the date too cos I just received a SMS reminder from KKH that A has speech therapy at 4:45pm on Wed, so quite rushing for me....Thurs is fine and what time are you looking at cos my little girl wants a nap after school....today, she slept for a long time and wake up at 4pm.....last week, she refused to nap until about 3:30pm....a bit hay wire on her nap time ever since she started school last week.

This morning, she refused to change into her school uniform, we fight and of course I won. After that she wanted to go to school but when my car approached the school, she put up a fight again. I still brought her to class to meet her new chinese teachers....she knew I'm going to leave and held onto me so tightly... I asked the teacher to take over, she cried for a few seconds only cos I went to the loo and return she already stop crying liao. Then I stayed behind to watch her from the observation room (children cannot see us) cos she didn't know a word of mandarin at all. I wanted to see how she react and behave in class...she was alright too.
So I think A cried becoz I'm around...hahaha

didi,
yah, me using those normal few functions in one oven...i just put the oven on top of the built in cabinets..hv been using it for vy long liao...tink i never make full use of the different functions..

me usually buy the tarts fm my neighbour who is selling it on behalf of a church fren for charity..i oso dun noe where is nice outside?any ideas...

yr aunt poor thing got stroke..she can bake vy well, i guess

kkf
Yes, I agreed with xbliss that your makeover picture is so so so pretty....and Dash forever so handsome. Me have been wanting to do a family shot (nice one) but still cannot move my butt...very lazy...and I think A won't cooperate either.

daec
If you resign in Feb, that means you will be a SAHM only in Mar right? You have to serve one month's notice?

xbliss
yeah, my hubby spent S$7k on our wedding pics cos he kena ji jiang fa from the photographer ...but after collection, I think he viewed them twice only..

To all mummies
I can't bake at all.... so si bai!

Costa,
My aunt is good at baking (my dad's sil) every CNY she will bake Butter cookies, peanut cookies etc for us, actually I didn't 'buy' from her, it is more like she gives us 1 can then I will buy another 2, but bluff her say it is my friend ordered, otherwise she won't take $ .....

didi

precious
yes must serve one mth notice.time does have a way of running fast..thot I be back sooner. wah Nada 8mths already!

if u wish to learn ...
my sis cant bake at all but becoz my nephew loves to bake, she learn lah. can use those instant bakes is gd. Its a gd bonding hobby if u wish to take it up ;)

xbliss
I used NUK all the way as advised by my aunt and sis. no issues. BTW its reputated to be most similar to mummy, so if u intend to continue breastfeed-it will be helpful.

precious
gd ah Angel! after u go, she manage to adapt herself then don'tcont crying. hmm..guess heart must be strong see e kids cry on first days of school

daec
It certainly helps when I learnt from other mummies from other threads whose kids started school on 1st week of CNY, mine started on the 2nd week. More so when I'm a practical person, if I soften my heart this time round, I have to harden my heart again next time....so I must as well harden my heart once so I actually was with A fully on 1st day of school, then let go at 1030 hrs on 2nd day and 0900 hrs on 3rd day. Even today, the chinese teacher said becoz she is new to the children, she allowed us to stay behind but I just leave A with them.

Actually the ones who can't let go are actually the grandpa and grandma who brought the kids to school....you can feel that they are so sim tia (heartache) even until today. I'm now friends with ah gong and ah ma of some kids ....hahahaha I have to comfort and encourage them to let go.

precious,
let u know again on thurs? it's ok, if we can't meet on weekday, we can always meet on sat/sun?

think it's cos of the weekend, sat & sun no sch, so angel bit not used to gg to sch again today. slowly, b patient...

i'm oso q scared tat my mom will keep gg to kinderland & peep @ws. so i've alrdy applied morning leave on 1st wk of march, when i send her to sch. but luckily, the teacher @ kinderland say parents/grandparents r not allowed

i'm posting now cos, tonite, ws suddenly ask 4 daddy 2 feed her milk, instead of me!! but i dunno when she'll suddenly call 4 me again. so must type fast heehee

hallo bonjour and good morning all mummies

well a half smile from me perhaps. the lung specialists say siang can be Off the ketofien after he finish his prescrition but then he still need to be on the preventive puff of pulmicort (one puff per day). next review is in 4 months time. all in all, the lung doc is very pleased with siang...

yesterday siang toke his weight. he now is 11.22kg and height is 77cm.

hehe..me seldom on half day. so yesterday after doc appointment went straight home (cos raining)...realised...its so nice to spend a weekday afternoon with siang :p

Hello daec
hehe...ah yo, me just quote what my mama say :p. yes if nana is ok with similac..go on. so long she is drinking. hehe...later go into nana blog again :p (is her bathing video still there haha). oh, you are going to be a SAHM? wow! way to go lady!

hi xbliss

all along siang is on pigeon teats and prince bottle...so...i never thot of changing. or is it the teats hole is too small? sorry cannot advise much on that...

oh xbliss :p me is loyal to pigeon because since siang is born, he was using it and the speech therapist that time say "it suits him :p". thou that time i had tons of avent items at home (end up i give it all away). maybe u try poke bigger hole (u have those poke hole thingy?) as bryan now is more grown up...

precious
my granny said that there is a proverb-that grandparents love/pamper their grandkids more than own kids.thk its true from wat I see eheh. maybe its their age, more mellow. whereas parents know must harden heart for kid's own gd.

Jane
yes that bathing clip still there. now she dun kick like that so often so I'm glad I still have it. latest crop of pics not up yet-darn sien/tired after work

hallo daec

yeah...after work really tired hor. okie okie later i go in and see again haha (me never got tired with it). i also like dash blog. very nice and interesting to read hehe and some of the babies blogs...all full of small notes and such, really brighten up my day

daec
haha..nana play in a dry bath tub hahaha...my mum do it with siang too hahaha...because he just kept on inisiting wanting to go into the toilet because the bath tub is there haha... good strategy keke

Disneymickey!

ah yo...ws really full of action ler. ger is ger, do anything also so sweet. hahaha, i like the ants bully part haha. you are really creative. the sleepyhead part also very funny haha. so is the laundry (ws is a great helper).

oh i notice your baby cot is really big..is it those can convert to junior bed type?

dash i think he help to sweep floor too...

recently, i been very diligently practising what the therapist teach me about 'giving'. but siang does not seem to know how to give.

but then, well, he know how to give away his porridge (whe he is full) and definitely he know how to give away his milk bottle when he refuse to drink.

so mummies, i really is wave white flag come to talking abt giving (the definiation become unclear to me) haha

just a simple note to cheer everyone up haha

jane,
thanks. i love the laundry & sleepyhead part 2. in fact, i was impressed w the 1 which she hanged onto teh bar. i tried to hold her armpit, but she say to me "mommy, mai" n pull my hand & ask me to sit down & 'watch' her. btw, she doesn't say no, she says mai (in hokkien).

ya, saw dash help to sweep floor.. tat's v sweet of him.. lucky kkf

to cheer u up, my colleague's son, who's 1 mths older than siang (full-term bb) oso doesn't know abt 'giving'. whenever she ask him to 'give', he'll throw! so b patient..

jane,
my bb cot is a hand-me-down frm a colleague whose 3 daughters hav slept in!! she say it's frm ikea. ya, it's those tat can b converted to bed type.

btw, hav to give hubby credits la. those videos r taken by him & posted by him. me only know how to use mouth & work haha

disneymickey

hahahah..siang also seem to understand hokkien. your caregiver speaks hokkien at home?

yeah i am impressed by ws able to swing on the bar. this show she really is very strong ler..not easy to perform that stunt. she is veyr flexible. maybe u can let her learn dancing...

yeah lucky kkf hor, how many man actually sweep floor :p

yeah yeah... i tell you, if i tell siang don't throw, he listen only to the 2nd word and he throw...so how ler..i decide not to mention 'throw' haha. now i only say DON'T and i drop the 'throw' haha.

therapist target me to teach him about giving..so i am also not sure if i am heading the right direction or am i off the track hahaha...

oh the baby cot is those convertable ones...i thining shld i get a resale one too. wow 3 daughters cool!

your hubby really sweet. yeah really credits to him

jane,
my parents speak mostly mandarin to her at home. but sometimes among themselves, bit of hokkien.

the other nite, hubby say "si mi" (wat, in hokkien), ws oso repeated! *faint*

try to tell siang "Don't do tat". then u repeat what he's supposed to do. well, must hav a lot of patience. juz hav to keep repeating.

Costa,
After seeing your cakes, me like wanna buy a oven liao, was thinking of gtg those 2-in-1, like microwave and oven kind, but I heard that this kind of oven is not good for batch-baking, consume a lot of electricity
btw, something to share, same same, Dylan's upper jaw one of the tooth seems to be crooked, think for one, he will have to wear braces like me (I wore them in secondary school too)
, hopefully Darryl's ones will be like Daddy

didi,
haha your post got spelling mistake...its only CAKE not CAKES...haha, so far only made one cake...but it din turn out vy nice hahah....

i din noe tt tis kind of oven consumes so much watts....maybe those specialised in baking type wld be better eg baby belling brand etc ......

yr maid is indo right....she noes how to make kueh or not....?

dm,
so sian, my co juz blocked youtube....i cant believe it manz..realli moody..guess i can onli view it at home

Costa,
okie okie, cake 'coming soon' cakes lor
my maid can make a few kind of kuehs, she used to make when my mom is still helping me put, cause my mom will go and get those ingredients for her.

Didi, my fren's maid oso vy good in making kuehs..me so xian4 mu4.....my filipino maid dunnoe hw to bake leh....my ex maid used to cook for me pork adobo filipino dish..wah dem nice leh..dunnoe my current maid can make so nice or not...

dm,
yr office oso lidat ah banned youtube..for us, i guess it was a matter of time.....becuz the traffic load is getting heavier
me so angry...

Costa,
My maid can make like simple ones Cake Zebra (something like 'huat' kueh), Kueh salat, kueh kosui etc, think she is better at doing finger-food. You haven't go out for lunch yet ? golden shoe got good food
me also hungry, think will just eat my mom's dry mee siam later for lunch.... did your maid make cold 'macaroni salad? rem my colleague's maid alway make it for her son and her son loves it......she told me it's a filipino's dish ?

hi disneymickey,

haha i guess its ok for them to get to learn as many languages as they can so that in future when they go out to society they are more versatile

wow didi and costa, me just back from lunch at Holland Village (eat fried mee hoon) and u all discussing finger food...jane dreaming liao keke

my maid...haiz...cannot even fried vegtable without putting too much soya sauce :p but she is ok with my boy..so ok la, i do all the cooking on weekend. occasionally, i let her do the job so that she get to experience too

Jane,
my maid also like that when she first join us, too much salt and sugar cause my indo-chinese told me indonesians like very sweet stuff, for eg when their orange juice are mixed with sugar ? you need to specify that you don't want the sugar..... Holland V, you didn't eat the Ipoh horfun/ laksa ?

hi didi,

haha do you know, i steam gor he for my boy. so i thought. also steam one slice for my maid. then after that i happen to see she pour one table spoon of the soy sauce on my expensive gor he...

my this maid i know she like salty and hot stuff. my soy sauce always run out very fast :p

hehe no ler. trying to cut down on the food intake so..thought eat simple, eat fried mee hoon with chicken wing and hot dog :p

didi,
the cake zebra sounds good leh..

jane and didi,
my maid also eat vy saltish one..cant stand man..my fish sauce oso finish vy fast..i told her not tt fish sauce is vy expensive but you eat so salty no good for yr body and kidney

dun noe is it becuz they salt alot of their stuff to preserve their food so very used to eating salty things...

Jane,
Ya, think because in their hometown, they seldom/ don't buy gor-he, expensive mah.... last nite, my maid just told me she eat the most amount of fish in my household than her previous employer
(could be because her employers are local indonesian, and they only buy salar fish etc). Another thing, my oyster sauce also run out very fast .... scary cause not healthy. Hey fried mee hoon is simple, but not so simple when you add chicken wing and hot dog leh

hi costa,
fish sauce?? whats that?? i think i don't have it at home keke

didi
erh...because at my home, only my boy, me eat fish (my lao gong does not really fav fish). so i thought..ok la, since i am steaming... steam one more slice for her.

oyster sauce??? erh...how she eat it? soy sauce i can understand. oyster sauce??? haha. i don't have that at home haha :p

but they like fish hor.

didi - i want to be simple but i decide to add something different to the otherwise plain mee hoon (i excuse many many hahaha)

Jane,
I also didn't buy fish sauce
No, she didn't actually 'eat' the oyster sauce but whenever a dish calls for oyster sauce she will put a lot of it into the dish
until I tell her STOP !!!!
My this maid don't fancy fish but she loves prawns, so much so that almost every vegetable dish that she cooks must include prawns (think for them Seafood is considered a luxury)....

jane, fish sauce is the yu2 lu4....that we can mix wif red chillies, lime juice to make those like thai sauce....

tts my maid's favourite...i already complain my mums cooking too giam and our fren can go and dip the food in fish sauce....

hi didi and costa

after reading your posts, i better don't buy both oyster and fish sauce :p

really wonder how the dip all the sauce with all that food hor.

didi - your maid know how to enjoy ler (prawns...). my maid love fish (that i know keke)

costa - i agree with you. its not the cost of the sauce but is the cost of the health for eating so much giam thingy...

xbliss, thanks. I just bought one extra photo at $10. I didn't really like those photos, so I was not tempted to buy more.
Some really took a long long time to choose and buy a lot. But I really think it is worthwhile as its free. Do apply a metro card if you have none mummies!

Saw the topic about new year clothes again. I love to get clothes from iora/bega. Haha, I think they are comfortable and most importantly, no need to iron for most clothes! Me thinking of going chinatown to get some traditional wear to wear for chinese new year eve in school.

Hey mummies, recently me like a zombie! I feel like a very very bad mummy! You know what? Dash recently kept waking up in the middle of the night and started making a lot of noise like saying "want mummy" "want daddy", the refused to sleep until maybe an hour later. I really going to die soon if he continues like that. Yesterday night, I scolded him, and he cried. Somemore he used to say "want mummy", now because I scolded him, throughout the whole night yesterday he said "Want daddy". Haiz...I felt like a very bad mummy scolding him, but I was really tired from waking up these few nights!

I can tell you he can never manage to sleep throughout the nights.

Btw, he missed his playgroup for 2 days already. He garna cough, and I kept him at home.

Jane and other mummies, thank you for visiting dash's blog. Hahaha...so cute! I am lucky? haha. I really hope he can help me sweep the floor then I dun have to employ part time cleaner.

costa, talking about baking. Its something I hope to do, then every now and then can bake somethings for my school kids, bribe them. haha. But cooking is never never never my cup of tea.

Precious one, thanks for your compliment too. wow, angel is getting bravier each day!
glad she is doing well in school. My wedding photos cost ard $5000 plus and is gathering dust.

Disneymickey, agree with jane, learn more languages better. haha. Now shichida also promotes that. They will introduce wat german, french etc in class. Although dialects are not proper, but still it is a form of language. haha

Oh btw, dash is very skinny leh! yesterday went to bring him to see doc, he weigh only 12.5kg. Last time he weighed 13kg. sigh...he is getting skinnier, instead of putting any weight.

Going for full day course today at ang mo kio, so wun be going school.

Have a nice day mummies!

good monring all mummies (me early today because siang insist of going downstairs after waking up at 5am *want my life* - borrow kkf phrase haha)

so 4 of us (maid, my mum, me and siang) went down at 6.30am to wait for my sbs bus...

sigh...he happily sit with my maid at the bus stop...cannot tahan him...wake up want to go out liao...

hi kkf
wow today dun need to go to school, so nice. you have a nice day too, cheers

good morning didi

send me to work...wow pengz keke... he flower leg, just want to go out. Scream so loud once he is out of the house (make me pai say) ah yo.

i have to bring him out or else he will go around wanting to knock at the door (and my bro n sil is still sleeping)...

i wonder..when i P, i was never really going out ler..wonder why he so 'flower leg' :p

Jane,
aioyh 'flower leg' never mind, so long as not 'flower heart'
does your mother bring Siang out during the day ? maybe he just wants to see-see, btw Siang didn't cry when he see you board the bus ?