Premature babies support group

hi precious_one

i see. wow then angel have shown her ability to adapt and learn well (just 3 days).

looks like school is really the place to learn.

Jane (neoah)

Right school, right teachers, right timing that suits the child, I'm sure the learning process is going to be an enjoyable and rewarding one.

You have to start to collate feedback and evaluate which one is best for Siang. Always attend trials and rackie the centre. Each centre is different even if they carry the brand name.

Sometimes, the child is not ready so we also can't push the child.... Learning should be a fun one.

Hello Mummies

I am very busy at work. Not time to read posts at all.
Costa sms me and said some of you asked about my boys.
A quick one before i buried myself in my work again.

<font color="0077aa">Mummylian</font>
Wow... You are doing great! Happy for you.

<font color="0077aa">Mummylian/ kkf/ Jane</font>
My boys are doing well. Thanks for asking.

They started school last Wednesday. Stayed with them on Day 1.
Left them alone in class with friends and teachers from Day 2 onwards. I didn’t step in at all until class dismissal.
Ditto for the rest of the days.

Dylan the tum chia one will tell me what he eats in school every day.
Evans keep asking “where is that mei mei?” Huh? What mei mei? Aiyoh.... He is only 3. Come back from school and ask for mei mei??

Nothing to do when I was in the school for the past few days, so I walked around to observe other classes.
Seeing the older kids in their K1 and K2 uniforms, the images of my Kindergarten days keep appearing in my head. Hee...
The older kids are a happy bunch. Cheerful, lots of laughing and polite.
I like to see happy kids in school. Happy kids = Happy Learning environment.

Today, left my maid there alone. She waited outside the classroom. Called home just now and she told me the boys had water play today.
Evans was wet and teacher changed him to a fresh set of clothes. Must be fun!

That's all, Folks!
Started CNY shopping? I love CNY.

Mich,
u bot yr cny clothings already or not?i hvnt bot anythg yet...

its good u let dylan and evans to be independent..for me, i tink i lagi worse...left it to my mum to see how he was..tink either i din go or i just went once for a very very short while....i m terrible...

tink i m the most bo chup type..i din recce any childcare and i just happened to noe one neighbour who sent her kid to that cc and i went to take a look and chin chai put my son there..thank goodness, his academics not affected by the poor standards of the teachers there....ahhaa.infact, the cc taught them school work for at least half the term of Primary One....kinderland and eton and those branded type too far from my hse and too expensive..i onli tot of convenience...

i dun like kindergarten last time..i studied in those PAP type..so much homework to do hahah.always cant finish...esp the chinese words writing..realy buay tahan..

hey hallo mich

wow...oh oh oh ..don't tell me Evan is asking about mei mei keke

sound like school has been fun for 2 of them *wink wink* good good keke

costa
hehe me too attend the PAP class. i understand all about the writing part keke...

Mich,
hey, good to see you 'fall in' liao
the other one yet to report is Hope
she must be bz bz

Costa,
you put Zach in cc b4 huh ? full-day or half-day ? I also studied in PAP, ya, got homework, rem my dad is the one who coach me in my chinese
I also rem those tea-breaks whereby they will give us milo in tin-cups and biscuits
greedy me

didi,
yah, i put zach in cc last time started in 2003...that means i put him in cc for 4 yrs...one of the pioneers there hahaha......becuz he was so "unforgettable" (dun noe for wat type of reasons)..the teachers miss him so much.....hahah but the feelings are not mutual..he heck care ...

i put him in there for full day..started wif half day slowly and then full day...the difference in price is not alot and i had to find an arrangement as i din hv maid then and my mum needs a break..so cc is the best....he went the whole day.....it was about $400 plus for whole day...and about $80 plus for transport altho vy near onli....

haha i dun remember got milo but loads of homework to do and my chinese handwriting was oways described by my mum as "cockroach sized"..haha....they never trained me in motor skills tts why till now my motor skills oso vy poor haha esp handwriting....
my sister oso PAP...so u , me and jane are PAP graduates haha..and then when graduation came took picture haha wh i still kept till now...

Costa,
Same lah, I also kept the graduation photos, I took it with my cousin too
so cartoon
come to think of it, cc is not a bad choice
(ie if there's a suitable one).

Costa
I'm also a PAP graduate. My only photo was lost by my brother who brought it to show to his friends then... I think I was a very good student then, very hardworking type, will not eat if I did not finish my homework. Scored 299/300 in final exam, 2nd in class.

wow siah,

we got so much ex PAP pioneers here haha. i too still have my first graudation picture haha. next time i scan and post here hahahha...

costa - $400+ for whole day? that is consider very reasonable. recently i came to know some cc cost nearly $700 :p

didi, hahaha...we shld form a PAP alumni.....

precious one,
wah..so hardworking huh...i always cant finish dg homework during kindergarten..the best part was hving my arm in bandage for one mth after an ancident and no need to do homework for one mth hahah

jane,
my son cc vy lousy one...small and i told you the english spoken is really very lan4....i saw my hb university classmate also put the kid there..wah lau, really i cannot tahan but i just cant be bothered to change and also i thot its convenient

now they raised their prices already..the principal still contacts me and hope tt i put bern there next time...hahha, in my heart i was thinking maybe not man...realli heng my sons's england not affected by it.......my mum said i vy ngeow and asked me chin chai lah, childcare nia and the pay so low wat you expect etc etc haha..infact the principal is a bizad grad one year my senior in NUS..she quitted her job to run tis full time.....but her spoken england not vy good....

Costa,
Yep, Good idea, hmm... PAP alumni

Jane Jane,
the price Costa mentioned is about 5 years ago leh
you want to 'under-pay' people leh
(just kidding !).

hi costa

wow...if zach can thrive despite not having a so called 'good foundation' when he is young. imagine if u had enrol him in a very reputable CC..wow now he be like in one of the gifted program.

but its true u know, some of the student who is in those neighbourhood school also manage to thrive and go into Uni and such... :p

you n your lao gong both did quite good in career so hehe..your boys IQ cannot be too bad la ;)

you see those bosses... some of them their england also not good ah hehehe...but they got so many staff under them that got powdered the full language haha :p (wacky jane keke)

ignore me...should let kids have good foundation (or at least average :p)

didi...

hahahah...wow 5 years from 400 jump to 700. gesh keke..

yeah we should really form a PAP alumni and then take a group picture or wat hahaha...

didi,
no lah...the price is abt two yrs ago.....

jane,
no lah, i not dg vy well in my career...its a dead end job...dun need degree also can do, one....(u sure can also do my job and maybe even better..seriously)..i dun even noe any software like excel or ms word etc..everyday i oni noe how to surf net and blog...during office hrs...

i bo chup lah...on hindsight, maybe i shld hv put him in a better school but the thg is i noe my son's standard lah..now he is in neighbourhood school but hes not the top..as long as dun give me behaviourial pblems can liao...actually i dun mind he is not the top as i never was also so i tink just relax...

true, shld give kids a good foundation but dun pressure them too much i guess...so at home, i try to speak to my son properly although he has oso picked up my bad habits hahah...

Jane,

Costa,
OH understooded
in your opinion, do you think putting the kids in a so called top schools in good for them ? me too early to think of any things, as my gf just managed to put her dotter in one of the good schools. hey, you and your hubby classmates then turn love-birds huh ?

didi,
no...never $700, the year my son left, tink it was about $450 to $500 after subsidy....i wun pay $700 for such a standard man hahahah....

if $700, i rather pay a few hundred more for branded one liao loh...tio bo?

hi costa
me? cannot make it la hahaha...

i agree. no point putting too much pressure. like what kkf earlier say, home must be warm, then the kids will learn better (other than the school factors)...no point pressure them too much. end up we also stress keke

now $700 is quite average pricing for cc ler :p

didi, no lah, not class mates lah....me from bizad,he from ntu engineering..

wah, rgding good schools, i really dun noe leh becuz u noe lah my son cldnt get into a better school nearer my hse and had to settle for this neighbourhood school...i oso dun noe if its better to put in a better school or not

in any case, even if my son is in a neighbourhood school, he is also nt the top student...so i guess even if he made it to a "good school", wld he do vy well?doubt so?

i really had no time to go and do volunteer work etc for two yrs and i really vy suay becuz zach was born in dragon year....lucky u never see me queuing up in the rain or watsoever and kena appear in front page of straits times hahaha....

now already i find it so stressful for kids...i always tell my son dun hv to be first in class (anyway he never was first in class counting fm the top haha) ....really dun want to overpressure them...i hardly remember studying in pri school and my parents din even bother abt wat i was dg but now every parent is so onz and some even do "resume" for the kid to showcase the kids' talents..i really really find it vy stressful and takes the joy out of learning

but of cse tts my personal opinion lah...

Costa,
I agree with your opinion, me daren't not think of it (I still got a few years more then start thinking). Did you have to queue for Zach's placement in the school ?

didi,
no i din queue..after he cldnt get into school A, i went to school B and when i found out school B also must ballot and i m not even in the 2.4km radius..i rushed to school C (reached there like 10 minutes before clsg time..vy drama)...

no regrets becuz no choice.....got alot of seats..my son is the onli sporean in my block at tis school, the rest are all small little "ann yong haseoyos (koreans)...

talk 2mr..bye...me finishg wk..

wow, MIA 4 an afternoon so many posts..

costa,
me oso frm bizad leh.. u which yr?

precious,
glad tat angel's doing so well, both in adapting new environment &amp; eating. dun worry, her speech &amp; makan will surely improve

bz day today. cos got meeting in the morning then got to finish up some work. tmrw on leave

dm,
tink me yr senior......becuz im older than you...

do you noe tt i like a mkting job vy much but never got a chance to do tis job.....and a job in yr company wld make me vy happy..becuz its vy happening and on the move
too bad, now i stuck in my current job

dm,
haha....u are right...my job allows me to keng and surf net everyday and blog hahah...

supply chain mgt is a very IN thing...

hows ws ?

good morning mummies,

precious_one, glad that your little angel is adapting well in school. I thought she did very well for first time being in a school as she has never been to child care before. Also you mentioned before she is stranger-shy. But it seems like she is really adapting well to her new environment. Maybe being around with other handsome 'gor-gor' helps... ;)

DM and costa, I'm also from bizad leh and PAP.. so we can form both PAP and bizad alumni.

Nowadays, my coco is getting even naughtier when I try to change her diapers and clothes. My mum says it's like slaughtering chicken. Need two person to do the job!! She really screams like we are trying to kidnap her!!! I think if I were to ever leave her with a maid, I m so scare that the maid will get so impatient with her and beat her up!

lili,
u also from bizad...hee hee..i tot u were fm arts since u are a lao shi...but i got many frens who had vy good grades who became lao shis...oso good lah...

but u are so young..tink u must hv entered nus many many yrs after me....

u oso fm PAP...haha..i just remember the tons of homewk tt i had to do..

my son is the same..change his diaper is vy jialut..keep on turning and turning and i beat his backside, still lidat......how?bo bian....its vy difficult and end up wif alot of screaming matches..hahah....saw coco..she got good size..
when u gg back to shanghai?after cny?

glancing thru the posts. Forgot to post this morning.

Hi mich, glad your boys are doing fine. Maybe they will each get a "girlfriend" soon! hee.

Dash cried yesterday. Dunno why. Maybe late symptoms. Hahaha. My in laws said its because he saw his classmates crying so he cried?

Anyway, i saw PAP appearing everywhere, me not from PAP leh. I am from dunno what I also dunno. But I never wear PAP uniform. My kindergarten very lousy, I still remember vividly my teacher threw my book right across the room into the dustbin JUST BECAUSE I DUNNO HOW TO WRITE "B".
I still hated her for this. I was almost on the verge of crying during that time.

I saw also Business appearing! I am from arts. hee, not business. My grades too lousy.

Didi asking about good school? I am from good school (supposedly). I dun see much difference. Be it good school or not good school, the most important thing is whether the child is willing to learn the right things and right values. I dun see much difference. But saying that, I prefer to put dash into religion school in future cause I have this belief that religion school teaches some values through their prayers.
I used to come from catholic school, and through the mass they have every friday, more or less, I learnt some values.

Precious one, glad that angel is starting to adapt! great! Dun worry about speech, soon she will pick it up very fast.

Ok, got to prepare for lessons. talk again later.

Jane i believe siang will grow up to be a very intelligent, and well behave boy with your guidance.

I just think sometimes parents like me, because my boy went thru heart surgery before, will tend to over spoil him by thinking he had been thru so much, must sayang him more that kind of thing.
I believe the hearing impairment gal's parents in my class also think the same way.

kkf,
me oso frm gd schs since pri sch. but my grades not fantastic oso leh

actually i believe gd sch somehow got good effect on children, in one way or another la. but of cos, still must c if the kid can adapt or not. i hav a cousin, who insisted on putting her son into nanyang pri, but the son cannot cope, kept having lousy grades. i think this will do more harm than benefits the kid. so we as parents still hav 2 b practical.

i do hope to put ws into nanyang pri . cos i came frm tat sch, hopefully, it's easier 4 her to get in. but must oso observe now &amp; c if she's ready or not. dun wan to put unnecessary pressure on her &amp; on ourselves 2.

costa,
thanks 4 asking abt ws. she's ok. sometimes v guai, sometimes v notti. was trying to teach her to say happy new yr this wk. she can say each word separately, but can't say the 3words together. i ask her to repeat after me 'hpapy new yr', she ans me 'yeh yeh', which = to her yes. haha. i say ya, i know u r happy, but can u say happy new yr?

kkf,
tink maybe dash cried becuz others cried..peer pressure... but wif him so frenly, tink he wld be smiling soon and charming his little frens...

haha...u remember yr kindergarten days vividly becuz you are so much younger than me......for me, i realy forgotten except for the endless homework...

me also used to come from catholic school....the pt is i dun like the school becuz every year, i wld change form teachers twice...the reasons are aplenty...like teacher retiring, teacher becoming nun,teacher gg for kidney operation, teacher giving birth (this one bo pian lah), teacher going university....wah lau....then change and change and i remember tt i was vy blur during primary school....we had mass quite often....

rgding spoiling of kids,by virtue of wat our kids hv gone thru...i oso tink the same way..used to tell the nicu nurse tt i wun beat or scold my son next time..she always laffs and buay tahan me..recently i opened ceremony and beat my son's back side hahah.......

disneymickey,
ws so cute huh...really vy sweet leh...tink she is a very smart ger..maybe she noes how to say but just want to play along wif you...

so good, u got old girls network, next time wld be easier to go to a good school..yr school is a very good school wif an illustrous history..

kkf,
Ya, thanks, it's a good idea to put them in reglious school, one thing I am quite adamant not putting them in a all-boys school
I would prefer co-ed
ha... so their pa-pa's school is out.

DM,
Wow, Nanyang Primary, Good school leh

Hi all mummies
A did very well in school today. After I left her at 0830 hrs, she cried a little (soft type) then okay already. When I fetch her after school, she was not in tears when she saw me, in fact I could sense her joy in attending school. And yes, she also went diaperless.

kkf/lili
Aiyo, A's birth month is Feb so she is jie jie to many. There's one born in Jan and the other one 2 days before her lei.

I was told that today her boy classmate, Xavier, fed her breakfast....wah so romantic, and before I left her this am, me peeping from outside, another boy hug her out of the blue.

I think she is enjoying the attention liao lar....though she gong gong turn her face away from the boy who hug her but she didn't push him away.

lili
Wow, Coco is a strong baby and she knows how to get attention....I dun remember A needs two people to change her diaper when she was a baby.

Precious_one,
Wow, A is a charmer already
already 2 'bfs', when she goes into primary school, your hse phone gonna be bz

didi
You make me laugh....she is only going 3 lei.... but hor, I'm surprised to see the primary school students holding handphones liao, few years down the road, I think your boys can make secret calls out to girls using their mobiles...house phone is a white elephant liao....haha

Precious_One,
Ya, that day my dad was telling me and my sis not to give our kids handphones
how to ? peer pressure all around

me popping by again...

precious one,
wah... ur gal so fast got 2 bfs liao...hehehe... she is such a sweetie... no wonder... good to see that she is adapting well to school leh..u must be very happy &amp; proud of her

wah...all talking abt schools ahh..
i also from PAP kindergarten..hahaha..
then my pri school is just a neighbourhood school which happened to be just downstairs near my block...so my parents enrolled me there lor... now no longer exist liao ..haha..
actually, think i also quite bo chap leh... just intend to send my boy to a primary school nearest me...hehehe... cos like what DM said, if send to good school &amp; the kid cannot cope, then wld be so stressed...if the kid does well, can go to good secondary school based on his grades lor..

wah so many of u from bizad... me fr accountancy...

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>600g&amp;720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&amp;SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_one</TD><TD>06-Feb-05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>710g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-5mths 28 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1164g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-27days, SCN-53days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1510g&amp;1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1118g &amp; 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&amp;4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1520g &amp; 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&amp;9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD>01-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alicia</TD><TD>03-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1500g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-21 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>jewel</TD><TD>09-Oct-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>45 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cookiemz</TD><TD>14-Nov-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2260g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-8 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairylander</TD><TD>15-Nov-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1628g</TD><TD>36</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1500g &amp; 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

disneymickey, I am not from good school. I mean I am now teaching in supposedly good school in my neighbourhood.

I am all along from lousy schools. Haha. I just want somewhere near. Up till now, look at me, my job is also near my house. i am that lazy. Friends have been laughing at me saying if I got married, must held my wedding dinner somewhere nearby my house, maybe downstairs. In fact, I really chose somewhere nearby. haha.

I just simply hate travelling.

Anyway, precious one, angel so pretty, of course will attract a lot of "bees". hee. Glad she is adapting well!

Dash never cry yesterday too. Think all his classmates are slowly adapting.

I think he is overwhelmed by lessons lessons lessons. Saturday and sunday also lessons for him, I can sense that he prefer to go out and not to go for lessons. Really got to stop one of the weekends class, but really not sure what to stop.
Both have its own good and bad, most importantly, me too kiasu. haha.

Dropping by to say hello! have a nice day!

Oh yah! lindah! where is lindah! long time never hear from you. Busy busy busy with teaching? How's your contract school leh?

nana "ryan"
Tks for updating the chart diligently.

nana/kkf
Am glad that A proves me wrong. I thought she will take a while to adjust and she really surprises me this time. Yes, am proud of her.
But next week will be another challenge cos she is going to face two new chinese teachers as it is the mandarin week.

A has 6 bfs already cos her class has 6 boys and 4 girls (including her). kekeke

nana,
thanks for doing the work of updating..guess since u are fm accountancy, you must be vy good in figures....

kkf,
i really laff at yr posts..so cute..marry at somewhere nearby yr hse haha..

how was everybody's lunch?me just came back from central...sian, nowhere to go during lunch..

precious one..
haha...so interesting yr lunch....sardine puff plus noodles.......my lunch is so boring but just had to get out of office...

costa
I'm just too lazy to cook for myself or hb these days so I whack everything I can find...cos A is sleeping and I can't handle her alone in food court. Self service, then who's going to jaga my girl when I buy food...... so I am a rubbish bin at the moment.