Premature babies support group

xbliss,
glad that your bryan is coping very well at home! my boy was also in SCN (blue) around the same time as Bryan, think i may have seen u before.

my boy was still slightly jaundiced when he was discharged from SCN, his level was below 200, so no need for phototherapy, but require weekly bloodtest at the polyclinic till his level drops below 100. i believe it's the same for your bryan. i still take my usual confinement food, but omit ginger from my red date tea, my boy's jaundice level is now down to 110+. polyclinic doc say not serious, very common for breast fed babies and it will go down gradually.

hello xbliss

wishing u advance merry merry xmas
Year 07 xmas will always be very special to you and your family

big big hug for bryan

This is my first time posting in this thread even though I have been a silent reader for few weeks after I found out that my twins had growth retriction due to placental blood flow insufficiency and will need to be delivered early. Sorry for the long post, but at the moment I really need some support to help me get through this time of difficulty.

My twins were delivered at 32 weeks gestation and upon birth were put under SCN. Now at about 1 week old, my boy suddenly developed brain oedema and are very sick now. He was transferred to NICU and the Dr told us that his prognosis is very poor. They still don't know what causes his condition and at the same time he was put on life support therapy. It really hurt to see him in this condition right now whereby just 4 days ago he was so active and pink. I'm still trying to come to terms with his condition and felt very helpless.

I had been robotic in this few days, the joy of motherhood seem to be robbed away from me. I am also very worried now for my girl. I had been trying to be strong as I know my husband and our families are very much affected and sad at the same time and yet had to worry about my condition as well. Again sorry for my long post and thank you for reading it!

Happy holiday for all the brave and strong mummies here.

vibes
hi, welcome here..Today was holidy, so will be less mummies chat here, maybe tomorrow they will able to read your post...not to worry as no much mummies reply....
be strong....i am also the mother of twins baby...my boys was born in 2006. 1.51kg and 1.19kg.30weeks...
they was in critical case too when they was born...I almost lose them as 1st twins also have blood in brain whichh stage 2, may cause his grow development problem...2nd twins was facing breath problem as need to in emergency too...i almost cry everytime when i go and see them...I can say is if you cry out you will feel better. so just cry out
Now they was a happy boys as they are, they was 16month now...everthing quiet ok...So , not to worry, will be pass. Doctor and nurse will help your boy and girl...they will be safe...just go and visit them and talk to them..and if you have any chongjiao...go and pray, do whatever you can...
and pls give the best food for them,breast milk, if they cant drink now, just keep it....
jia you...jia you, we are here...we will help you...
just write to us when you feel sad..

Jacelyn,

Thanks a lot for your comforting words. I am so happy for you and your twins and admired your perseverance and determination.

My mum amd mil had prayed at the Guan Yin temple on my behalf as right now I cannot go into temple as still under confinement. I cried so much in the past few days that my eyes are puffy, now I am trying to control but when people asked me about my boy, my tears will just flow and I will sobbed uncontrollably again. My husband had been asking me not to have too high hopes as he worried I might not be able to take the blow if things don't go well. I am doing the best that I can right now, expressing breast milk dutifully for my girl and visiting them daily to talk to them and stroke them.

vibes,
i will post again later, need to give them eat first, i will come in again..
wait for me ha...
ya,u do the right way....just do whatever you can...as i can say is sometime we just follow fate.....
take care

hi vibes
welcome here. i m sorry to hear about your son. As this is the first time i hear about this condition, I cant comment much. But I do understand abt the joy of motherhood being robbed away though, i think many of us here have had ups and downs in motherhood. be strong and recover well during confinement so that you can take care of your twins, ok! What is the doctor say? Maybe you can or are already reading up on the condition on the internet?

was just telling jane yest, hami's hearing test yest did not go well. both ears are diagnosed to have moderate to severe hearing loss - suspected from both conductive and neuro reasons. So he will be queuing up for an op to clear the fluid behind his ears (conductive component) before assessing the neuro ability (cochlear). So I am hoping for the best. Dr (Li?) said his right ear can hear loud talking and abv, and left ear requires shouting and above. I am taking it rather well because his failing of the hearing tests already told me to hope for the best, expect the worst. Sigh. So now have to wait and see lah. His tense muscles also not letting up much... so rolling over is still a bit of a problem altho we noticed he can do it once in a while. It's more that his tense muscles are making it hard for him. sigh. nvm. hope for best, expect the worst (again!!! grrrr...)

ok. so now that i am done clearing my heart of my worries (at least temporarily), can invite you guys to visit my blog to see hami's pics when doing hydrotherapy on tues.
he was quite happy.

kkf, didi and precious_one,
regarding the curtains, it's the curtains at my own place here in s'pore.
I'm worst than you, didi. The curtains hasn't been washed since I got married!!!!! That's like about 3yrs ago. plus the time my husband was living in the place before our marriage, I think it's coming to 4 yrs. So i suspect the cloth was 'baked' in the sun until it was crisp that's why crumbled in the washing machine!! But aiya, that's my excuse. I wish i just send it for dry cleaning.
Didi, you are right, they charged by kg. I was also thinking that it might be expensive so try to save lor.. but after weighing the rest of the curtains today, it wasn't that heavy afterall. I think it depends on the type of cloth we use. The one I spoilt is somemore the lightweight transparent type of cloth. I don't think it will cost more than $20 for dry cleaning that. Now I have to spend a few hundreds for a new set... So upset.

Precious_one, you're right. My husband says next time when my gal can crawl, she will go and pull the curtains and hide behind!! So Angel has done that liao
Tomorrow I shall go ikea and check out got any nice and cheaper curtains or not... sigh...

Costa, yeah, so far.. one appt with Dr Argawal, one appt with the physio. 24th Dec another one with the eye doc. So far, so good. Dr Argawal is very assuring and nice.

By the way, I saw the Korea bumper mat on sale at Mini Toons. It looks like the ones some of you bought. But the person told me that it cost only about 100plus after discount. Dunno if it is exactly the same one. He says it's queen size. Then there is another one, thinner and looks like just foam material. THat one is cheaper, about $40plus. If any of you are interested, can go MINI Toons to check it out. But I oredi buy the ABC mats liao.. and must save $$$ to buy a new set of curtain!!!

xbliss, congrats...glad that bryan is home for his first christmas

Lili,
Ikea is a good place to get curtains, they have nice ones
saw the ones at Mini Toons, hb was about to buy them when I realised they are different

Hope,
Hami look so cute with the neck-float (not sure ?), love his pics at Batam, looks like you guys really enjoy the place, esp mommy
Btw can I have the contact for the hydrotherpy ? thot of bringing my 2 bums down for a try

hi vibes,
i haven't been regular in the forum for a while. Today came in and saw ur post. Do take care of yourself so that you can be strong to take care of ur babies. Jac is right, at the moment, the most important thing is to feed them with the best food you can offer, BM. I didn't have the chance to feed my girl BM when she was in NICU for various reasons. Till today, sometimes when i see mothers nursing their child, i wish i had the chance to do it.

Hope, I went to your blog and saw the pics of Hami's enjoying himself in the pool
He has grown to be so charming and his smile is so very endearing. I think this exercise will help him to relax himself. You should continue with it. If it is too far, you can consider buying the float and a tub and do it at home. I actually have the neck float. Shanghai sells it with the tub as well, but I didn't buy the tub. If you want, I can pass the neck float to you. Cos we tried it on coco at the pool and she doesn't like it. I think it's because her neck is very short and all her fats on her cheeks and chin is obstructing the float so it is very uncomfortable. Take heart that Hami is making steps in his milestones. PM me if you want the float. Or if you want a new set with the tub, i can get my hubby to bring in from shanghai when he comes back the next trip.

hope,
lindah, relax...we need to pass all this happen on our baby, they was prem baby, so they will be have more problem than other baby...like last time, when i know bryan shortsignted, i also cant take it, even now i always feel my pusa not good to me as i never hurt people and i care all the people around my side, why it let my boys prem and i need to suffer so much during take care my boys last time and maybe need to worry them until i am old......i ahve this silly question mark ....
But, when i look at my boys play wth me, smile wth me, hug at them, my sadness and angry lose.....no more in my mind, and i will thanks my pusa and god for giving me this two boys which so love me as they stay wth me and i can hold them tight tight....whatever they turn to anything???they sick?they happy? they not normal or they waht what what what wtaht????all i can accept, cos they are the only two.....they are wth me in my stomuch even only 30weeks, but just like 30years...i think this few you understand right...
So, just follow doctor intruction, just help him, you see jane, she very brave , she can accept all this and she always happy and share wth us his siang development...So we must follow her...
I also will be sad when my bryan need to wear spec when he turn to 2 or 3years old...but, now just dont go and think it...now think i go and search and when buy to buy the spec,and i will buy the spec which fashion,nice,special.and he will look very handsome when wear it....ha...ha...and i must fatter his face cos if face too small wear spec very ugly lei...i dont want him to be a chicken little..ha...ha...
HAmil got one mummies who love him so much, i think he will be healty...and happy, remember he was in hospital so long!!!!but, now?he can at home and play wth you, see , how brave he was...
vibes...
just come in and chat wth us, we have a lot of mummies here,
like mich,didi and me was twins mummies...which powerfull>>>you know why , cos people only give birth one, but we give two..he..he...
like costa,jane,hope,kkf and many many mummies here all have a lot of experinces...some of their babyu was smaller than us one...must learn from them...me also get the support at here when i am lose.......

Dear Vibes,

It's ok to feel dispair and cry. All of us here have shedding tears - out of frustration, out of saddness and out of helplessness.

I still find myself tearing from time to time after 18months.

Do your best and I pray for your little one's recovery.

<huggs>

Jac,
Thanks for the encouragement
I always rem and 'push' myself by what mich told me 'two to kiss, two to hug' whenever I feel angry and impatient having to take care of 2
, rem there was once a nurse in NICU teased me saying 'twins huh ? double trouble' I answered her 'but double joy too' ha....ha..... hey today public holiday, you didn't bring Bryan and Terry 'jalan-jalan' ? me tonite got a dinner to attend, hb's long-time client throwing a early xmas party at their house

Vibes
Saw ur post.. Don be discouraged.. As i said, the little premies here are all warriors! Stay positive for ur babies! Keep us posted!

Xbliss
Happy to hear tat little bryan is doing well at home! U muz have enjoyed him tremendously
Still rmr the time when Ezann was back.. Was so happy
Time flies

Precious one/Costa
My 2 boys were delivered at 37 weeks. All well.. Can't agree more tat it was due to Ezann's prematurity tat worries me for this pregnancy.
Will be seeing the gynae tomor.. tat time he say he will check to see i have dilated.. do u mummies think tat it is wise??.. Am worried tat after the check may induce dilation or infection.. Siao liao.. This worried, tat worried

Hope
Really admire ur positive attitude.. No worries.. the other time i shared with Jane tat with the advanced medical science now, more devices, Hami's hearing will be aided
Always have Faith!

Jane
Can understand y u wanna cuddle siang in ur arms.. Was like u too.. but now, tummy bigger, lower energy and plus the tummy ache, din really carry her for the past 2 weeks liao.

<font color="0000ff">Vibes</font>
Do not lose hope on your boy, he is in a live race. With your support, love and encouragement, he will emerge a winner! Be strong, bold and brave. Stay and think positive. I'll pray that every drop of milk you feed your babies, they can only grow stronger and stronger. Very soon, both will be in your loving arms at your home sweet home. Let your boy know that he is not alone in the race, YOU and PAPA are with him all the time. Take care and rest well during your confinement. Come and talk to us when you feel down.

<font color="0000ff">Mummylian</font>
I personally feel that the gynae is the expert in answering your question. Before he checks, tell him your concern about induce dilation and infection and see what he has to say. You decide what is best for your darling in your womb. People told me having a premie is like striking lottery, won't always hit...so you will be able to carry your current one to full term, only if you stay positive and do not entertain negative thoughts. Be positive, mummy of three!!

<font color="0000ff">Hope</font>
I saw your blog and Hami really enjoyed the hydro therapy. He is getting more and more handsome and I think also fairer now. Am I right? On his hearing, when is the ops? Why Q? You are well read and I believe that you know what is best and what you can do for Hami. I admire your positive outlook in this aspect.

<font color="0000ff">Hope/daec</font>
Selamat Hari Raya Haji!!

This morning I woke up and saw my hubby not at work, I asked him why, he said he took leave. Then later on he asked me if we want to join his sis for lunch? Then I asked him, why your sis take leave today? He laughed and said today is Hari Raya Haji.......Gosh...being SAHM for 3 years, everyday is a holiday to me liao...I don't look at calendar until I receive a KKH reminder for appointment. I recalled the last Hari Raya Puasa, my hubby and I drove to MOM, wanting to do some paper work and was informed by the security guard that, MOM not open cos today holiday....

Precious_One,
Wow, you very onz sahm leh
me just waiting for ph so my hb will take over the day shift, then I can have 'me' time

hi vibes,

i'm a mommy of a premie too although i hardly ever come here anymore. it is by chance that today i had a strong urge to be updated here and chanced upon what you wrote.

i can only hope that things will look good for you. your son may very well be a fighter and surprise everyone.

have you heard of kangaroo care? last week, i read a story in the papers, how this mom who gave birth to a micropremie was told that her baby was dying. she asked to hug the baby and she put the baby in her hospital gown, on her chest, and hugged the cold baby. and the baby suddenly started breathing on his own and turned from grey to pink and started crying. is that a miracle or what?

i hope you'll experience a miracle of your own.

all the best!

long long time didnt post here...i cant catch up with u all ever... *faint*
just speed glance thru the posts...

hi vibes,
stay positive &amp; we pray for the best for your boy.. so sorry i cant give u much advice here... all the other mummies here are very supportive &amp; helpful though...
u can share ur thoughts here anytime...
stay strong, there will be miracle if u believe...

mummies in facebook, pls add me leh... [email protected]
so far only didi &amp; precious are my frens, i not sure who is who so dun dare to add...hehe..

hi kkf,
i added u leh...u bo approve my fren request yet??

updated table with jewel's gal details...
jewel,how heavy is ur gal when born?? or did i miss it?? sorry hor..
any other new member for me to add?? i might have missed out the post...
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>600g&amp;720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&amp;SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_one</TD><TD>06-Feb-05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>710g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-5mths 28 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1164g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-27days, SCN-53days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1510g&amp;1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1118g &amp; 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&amp;4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&amp;Boy</TD><TD>1520g &amp; 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&amp;9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD>01-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alicia</TD><TD>03-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1500g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-21 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>jewel</TD><TD>09-Oct-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>45 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairylander</TD><TD>15-Nov-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1628g</TD><TD>36</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&amp;Girl</TD><TD>1500g &amp; 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

ryan mummy,
thanks for updating..can help to update one more for my fren...cookiemz...

Her boy was born on 14th nov 07 at 33+wks, wt 2.26kg, stayed in SCN for 8 days.

m on facebook as well..wld try to look for you to add u in..

morning mommies,

thanks 4 all ur concern, ws is ok now. except for an occassional cough.

precious,
wanted to post ytd, but think forum down?
anyway, wanted to tell u i pei fu u SAHM. no leave/no mc. last 2 days were terrible. felt so weak &amp; sick. can't visit my ger 2,cos scared she c me, wan to come home, ltr i soft hearted, will bring her home, then can't rest well. anyway, rested q well on wed nite, &amp; ytd, cos my sis came over &amp; help to entertain her, so i'm ok now.

xmas mood in office. no mood 2 work liao haha

good morning mummies
advance merry xmas to all first. i want to share sometime with all mummies here. siang can pull and stand up on his own in his baby cot liao!!!! yippy i am so happy i am the witness of it. sorry i know most of the bb here at very early stage already can do it...but...but... i thought that was really awesome of siang to be able to do it on his own... :p i am so proud of him.

hi Vibes, i am a mum of 26 weekers. Toon Siang (here all mummy called him siang). i ... not much to share. but yes, we all belive in miralce and faith. stay strong and stay in faith. pray. all will be well eventually.

hello hope
i pray for hami that after his operations his hearing will improve (which i think will - from what i know). because taking into consideration that the fluid issue is a factor on his listening ability. text or talk to me... with good intervention, hami be ok. he will be. next time got chance, i let siang meet up with cute hami. u will see. sometime, seeing is beliving (this is what i learn after i start to find solution for siang hearing issue)

hi jace

ah yo..pai say la. i am not brave really. it really happen that i got to know some guardian angels that i manage to get the right help for siang hence i was able to walk the path of uncertainities. mummies here have also been very encouraging.

hi nana
thanks for updating the table. hug hug

halo mummies,
thanks for all your kind words and encouragement.
oh yes. thanks for the compliments on hami too.
he has gotten more good-looking now that his breathing is better. all pink. during the hearing test, they measured his O2 saturation - 100%. amazing when i think abt the days in NICU and SCN when the alarm keeps going off when he only did 86 - 92. I used to be happy when he was doing 91! but his lungs retractions are still there. I guess it will take a while to reduce. Thank god for little blessings first and it will add up.
I'm now bracing myself for hami's devt to be slower than his peers. At 7mth corrected, he's still not rolling that much. And he cant sit up yet either. And not reaching out for things. His full term cousins are doing these at 4mths of age! I hope he will catch up but I guess I can't force it. My MIL was worried that he couldnt take the hydrotherapy. A part of me was upset cos hami had to be treated differently, but then again i realised that it's better that pple ard him know and care that he is at his comfort level.

Jane,
Yes, Hami and I hope to meet siang one day.
congrats on siang's new milestone.
btw, i am really glad you shared on siang's hearing issue, at least i got someone to ask for help. hehehe.

The doctor say the fluid is a factor (the fluid accumulates there from the times when he had infections/flu/etc. if small amts, it can disappear on its own. in hami's case, dunno y lah but din disappear). but the fluid cannot fully explain his level of hearing loss as measured by the hearing test.

lili,
Thks for your offer. I will PM you abt the float and tub. Isn't the tub like too huge to bring back? I signed up for a 6x package at the Punggol Plaza btw.

precious,
well it's not exactly queuing for the op - more like he has to be listed for the op. (book date etc). he is advised to do it at 12mth corrected age so that he is better able to take the GA.

didi,
the number is 64894847, email addy is [email protected]. The hp no of the boss is 91250969. His name is Jason Luke. He has two frenly PRC ladies (dunno if wife, sister or what) who did the bath and massage. 1 x hydro therapy = 25. 1 x baby massage = 20. The whole thing took abt 40mins. If buy 4 sessions, get one free. As I signed up with my SIL, Jason gave buy 4 sessions, get 2 free... so $180 for 6 sessions.
Must make appt, tho... as they only have 4 tubs.

hope,
dun worry. hami will b fine, like wat jane say. btw, i like ur LV 2
but i dun think i will ever buy LV, 2 x la. me only can get Coach, n frm US factory outlet, haha. but i'm glad u got wat u wan &amp; u like it

jane,
dun b shy to share. i'm sure u r very happy &amp; proud of siang when u saw him stand up. tat was wat happened 2 me. when i saw my ws stood up in her cot, 1st thing i told hubby is, to lower the cot (so tat she won't climb out). these little milestones r extremely big 4 us preemies' mommies, cos somehow, i believe, in our hearts, we r always worried tat our little ones will 'lose' out 2 the full term bb. but not to worry, i think they'll catch up soon, cos they r all good fighters

good morning lindah

something that i wish to share. Siang too could not really flip that time and he was not crawling/creeping). Siang did not progress much until he was about 9/10mths corrected. But suddenly recently (now he is 13 mths corrected, 16mths actual) he can point at things, hum songs with me etc. thou the doctor still say he is a bit slow...

i am just glad i can share what i have experience. i often tell one/two mummy, i am just glad siang has a milestone each time (no matter big or small).

the fact that Siang have hearing impairment and his hearing is not on par to his peers, at 13mths corrected he can called ah ma, pao pao (carry), ah pa (he called his daddy "ah pa" - am not sure who taught him that haha). and he can what i refered as eeeehhh ahahah (my maid called it sing song - everytime he eehh ahah..my maid say OH siang is singing songs :p) and he can clap hands. to many, all these is nothing. to ME, it is everything
maybe i am simple...

lindah - time will be the factor that determine certain things. time was what siang take to 'progress' from profound to moderate. thou...in my heart i hope he will be ok eventually but still, i go for early intervention (ie i let him wear hearing aids).

well, certain things just cannot be explained .. but. have faith, hami be ok. he is brave and you are strong. power of mother and baby
i have faith in you.

hello disneymickey
indeed, when he pull (thou i can tell he toke a lot of effort to do it) and stand up. i was like WOW!!!. but i keep my happiness to myself. then later, i let him to be at the cot, i ask my hubby to come. he was like "awww...wat am i up to". then i ask him to just sit at the sofa. then i put siang on the cot...then....of course, he pull the bars and VIOLA he stand up. my hubby was....speechless! so was my maid. then i just smile at both of them! siang was standing and smiling at me. and no one say anything. but there was 3 happy smile

DM, you are absolutely right. mummy here really can understand my thots. yes we worried in our hearts of our little ones. You have done a great job on WS. one day she will grow up as a swan and do you proud
hope she recover fully soon and enjoy the seasons

lindah, drop a quick post here. Will be a bit occupied the next few days to come in.

The tub is a collapsible one. I'm not sure if they do sell it her in s'pore. You can check around. It's just like the inflatable type of 'swimming pool' but this one is deeper rather than wide. I don't think it is heavy to bring back at all
. If you would like to have the neck-float earlier and try it out at the public pool, I can pass it to you first. Cos the next trip back for my hubby will prob to end of jan, nearer to the chinese new year. Just drop me a PM.

Btw, your hami really very charming lei... I noticed he has lost some of his baby fat. Now look so handsome ordei

lili,
when u gg back to shanghai?will u continue the checkups in shanghai?you got a referral letter from the shanghai doctor before u came back, is it?

lindah,
early interventation is the best for all our preemies.....dun worry...hami wld be okay...slowly encourage him in his motor skills..
saw yr blog.....the water thgy like vy fun leh....

vibes,
hang in there..u doing great..drop here more often and do be strong

DM,
i am a coach fan too! LV is very exp but I think once in a while splurge is ok. haha. batam trip, i manage to go cold turkey and stop bag-shopping. haha. i wish can go US factory outlet but cannot lah. I've been eyeing the tattersall pouch (small handbag). but I am trying to ignore the temptation to join the mummies sprees...
there's a good one at i-luv-bags.blogspot.com

Jane,
thanks for sharing. You almost made me cry when you told the story of how siang WOW-ed your hubby n maid. V touching. I understand on the "to many, all these is nothing. to ME, it is everything". When I tell pple on hami's devt, they oso say like "it's expected"... but to me those "expected" things are unexpected! So I feel a bit "suaku" smtms.

My sis also recently told me that her fren's premature kid was very slow too until almost 1.5yr old... then suddenly progress very fast. Looks like Siang proved this is true!

Lili,
thanks for dropping by. Yes! In that case I am quite interested in the tub.
I dun mind end of Jan... as long as your hubby dun mind.
I think pool water is too cold... Hami din like the Batam Holiday Inn pool cos too cold... Maybe I drop by ToyRUs and check if they have the tub... but I think I nvr saw it before...

Thanks a lot for all the comforting words.
Sad to inform that my boy didn't make it. Everything happened so fast and I haven't come to terms yet with all the happenings. It is like half of me was taken away but at the same time I can't stop worrying about my girl. I keep telling myself that I have to be strong for my girl, my husband and our families.
I may not be able to come in often for this few days as there are plenty of things that we need to settle. I need time to grieve and hopefully get some form of closure........

vibes,
It must hurt a lot but plse do not despair. I cant empathise fully as I have not been there, but you are absolutely right - you need to be strong for the sake of your bb girl. Your bb boy will be remembered by you and his little sis. Some mummies in this forum have oso lost a little one before. I hope they will get in touch with you, esp if you need to talk to someone.

Be strong.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">hO</font> <font color="119911">HO</font> <font color="ff0000">hO</font></font>
<font color="ff0000">SEASON’S GREETINGS!</font>

<font color="ff0000">Didi</font>
Mich reporting to the forum.

How was the party last night?

<font color="119911">Hope</font>
Hug hug.
Just to share..... When D&amp;E celebrated their fist bday, Evans was still unable to sit very well without support.
Glad that you found Jane here.

<font color="ff0000">Jane</font>
Congrats on another milestone achieved.
You always write things that make me stop everything and ponder over your words......

<font color="119911">Vibes</font>
I am a twins mummy too.
I am not familiar with your boy’s condition so cannot advise you much.
Not easy at all to have to worry for 2. You take care ok.....

costa,
thanks. my prob is i am very lazy with the PT exercise. hopefully things be better soon. Have to try and make time.

didi,
forgot to say bb must be less than 12mths of age to go for hydrotherapy. my 11mth old niece who went with us was screaming because (1) she has more common sense so she doesn't like the thing ard her neck, and (2) she quite heavy oredi so her feet can touch the bottom of the tub. So I dun think she enjoyed it.

Mich,
Season's Greetings to you too. Look like you are in full swing into celebrations!

thanks for sharing. haha. look like i have to do a lot of carrying till then. I was hoping he can sit soon but from the way things are gg, have to wait lah...

<font color="0000ff">Vibes</font>
I am sorry ..... didn't see your post until I refreshed the screen.
You be strong and take care............

lindah,
me also vy lazy wif PT exercises..2mr got appt at kkh for Occupational Theraphy..already went to kkh twice tis wk liao....but must perservere lah...bo pian...

aiyoh, i was tinking of bringg my son for the hydro thingy..but now too late i guess

vibes,
i dun noe wat to say to you except i lost a twin myself too last year at 21 wks......I find the following quote vy meaningful (hope it doesnt increase yr pain)...

The quote is "We never get over the loss of a child, we just get used to it".. which i find vy true...once yr child, he/she is always our child no matter whether it is for a day or a lifetime..

Hope,
thanks for the contact
will make prior appt b4 going down

Mich,
ytd's party was fun, cause one of the guests has a pair of twin girls
but they are much much older 12 yo
oh ya, wonder if this is the same with D&amp;E, the mommy told me the girls are very very close to each other and in kindergarten should 1 get bullied the other girl will join forces and 'bully' the 'outsider' ? food was good
for the 1st time, Darryl didn't cry, hmm must be the spacious house that makes him ok, both me and hb were surprised

vibes,
u need to take care of urself, 4 ur daughter's sake ok?

jane,
wow. siang smart huh, can say bao bao (carry) alrdy? tell u wat. my colleague's kid who's born in jul06 (full term bb) can't talk yet. so u c, siang is actually smarter than him

vibes, i don't know what to say. i just feel so sad. Promise us to take care. and stay strong for your ger. hug hug. keep us posted

vibes..
Be strong...your girl still need you, must be positive...everthing will be allright....Just take your time and do the necessary thing first..when better than come in again,,,welcome you.
costa,
very meaningful of your quote..ya, chinese say bu chai hu tian chang ti jiu, zhi zai hu chen jin yong you....
Hope...
I agree what Jane say...my boys grow development similar wth jane siang..as my twins boys too.but my 2nd twins which bryan he was faster than his brother...everthing was he first...he can stand crawl,walk ,,,,,all faster than his brother terry...but, he was more unhealty than terry, as he more slim and more weak(i can say as he more weak in his lung) and he was shortsignted too)see, can say god wont give all the good and nice things to one people, it will give this more that less. is fair...Like my terry, He only know how to sit down himself when he was 1years old...and crawl when he was 14month, as now my twins 16month, corrected month 14month. but now suddently he same wth bryan, both of them know how to stand and walk....see, this happen to my boys...dont care how slow they was, if they want to do they will do it until you were not prepare....
I been order the huggies ultra for you, but not so soon, maybe next month, is it ok???i will meet you at jusco if i get the thing...but if you cant wait so long, than never mind...just let me know

Jane...
Hi, congrat on you ha...Now siang can stand in babycot,maybe one more month he can stand withour support liao. like my boys....
jane &amp;mummies
Hee.hee.share my boys things too...
My boys were same month wth siang,,,they been do the same thing...that mean this three boys not late lei,,,they all normall.....even late but they can do it...
When we ask them crap hand, comb hair , knock head,pull out hand say hurray,wash hand,bye bye,pengkiss..all they can do...and they can call me mama...point the car say car...point barney say baba...call their papa too,,,and when we got makan, they will say mammam...i am so happy as they can say this word...even was a simple word, but for me......waitting so long...now a day when they walk walk, i always think in my heart and say to myself, when i bring your home in 1.5kg....two of your dont know how to move...but now i need to catch you...touching right???i think the mummies who pass this step they will know...
And here what i say is dont think your baby dont know,,,just spend the time and play and teach them..i feel that cos now a day,,i spend more time to teach them and talk to them, they catch up very fast...so what they need is our love and caring and teaching, they was a plain paper, never write anything, what we need is write for them and teach them...
and give them more delicious food , so that they got energy to learn ma...
ok la...dont write so mnany , later kena scold...

thanks for mummy for encouragin me to go on and on..

lindah,
Sometime ago, someone tell me siang will catch up, i did not quite belive. but today, you are telling me that our baby just take time to do it. but eventually they catch up. so I am very very sure hami will wow-eds (i put s because there would be many wows to come soon - when you least expect ;) remember, they are miracle and they give surprises.

mich
hmm pai say la i am simple with my words. sometime i write with lots of typo because i just write :p

costa
you are one brave mummy. the quote is so true..it touch my heart.

disneymickey
he not smart la. i tell you, someone tell me, now the "Y" generation bb/children, everything is needs. haha thats why he say 'bao bao' and this bad mummy just really always carry him :p. mummy (finally i speaks the truth)...:p. i am not smart (see la, do poster also copy other pple idea) haha so..i don't expect siang to be :p

hello jace
Actually, I alway look towards you for motivation because siang is about same age as your twins. you have done so much...

yeah yeah..don't think they don't know. it is WE who think they don't know :p. maybe back in their mind, they think...'ah yo, mummy so stupid' :p opps!!!!

yes, i too belive in talking and talking to them
Oh oh merry xmas to you first

vibes
Please take care of yourself. Focus all your energy and attention on your girl. She needs You and Papa to be strong for her. Talk to us whenever you feel down.

Jane
Congrats!! Siang is a good boy, always doing things to make you happy.

DM
Glad that you recover now. WS miss your hug hug.

Jane,
All your hardwork didn't go wasted hor

Do you still rem how many months did your bbs started crawling ? mine is only 8 mths corrected, guessed I am too 'kan cheong' liao

Jane,
ha..ha..actually we are learning each other la...
hei, now i notice...boys like people say them clever lei..like now i use this way to encour them to learn the thing...example when they do something, i will crap my hand and say yei,!!!!bryan clever....bryan know how to wash hand....than they very happy and show off again..use their hand to show me how to wash hand again...some time i say handsome boy clever, they will point themselves...se..so haolian one....ha...this is one of them way..maybe can try...and sometime i like strike 4D like that, my hubby will say i sampat,,i say no choice ma..must enjoy myself, if not, how my boys feel it..and you know how now, my hubby act like strike toto..ha...ha...
ya, wantto share wth you too, my boys dont how to save money for me liao...if they want to poo poo, they will show their face like angry and sound em..em..emm.than i bring thme to their tong tong...they will pass motion...hei,,,,very guai ha...actually this also i teach them, i say if want tapian must like mummy ha..than i show my funny face for them, they follow me, if they have difficult to pass, than i will scream wth them, sound em..emmmthan my face like want tapian too, after that come out too...he..he..am i crazy?????
And now they know how to complain to,...like yesterday, my hubby bring them to upstair bedroom first, terry knock his head to wall, when i go up he use his hand to point head and pai his head and ke ke cry...than i know he knock his head, i ask my hubby he say yes...so now i no need to worry if my maid buddies them..ha..ha...
just share wth you, hope can bright your day...
actually if we stay near than good, we can learn each other and sure our boys like san siong ti...best friend...
didi,
dont kanjoing...my 1st twins was 8month, he more fast one, so cannot calculate him in the list as he more slim...my 1st twins abt 1years old lei...must see baby size too....and we must do something like , for me, i will crawl at floor and ask them follow me.....hei..hei..siao ha...me

Jac,
You are not 'siao' lah, rem reading somewhere that we should crawl and show them and it will motivates them to crawl, ok I will try later

Hope
Jia You!! Really hope that you can re-adjust your daily timetable to include a slot for Hami to do some physio activities. It will help him a GREAT DEAL in a long run. As it is, our children are 24 weeker and we read that the smaller the gestation, more areas of concerns so as their mummies, we can't afford to lax now in helping the child, we can only be more hardworking. Success only come with hard work and I know Hami with your support, will make it.

Just to share with you, when A was still a baby, she was slow in every area, even with the oxygen tube attached to her trachy tube, the ng tube inserted through her mouth and a prode tied onto her foot, I still perform the physio exercises with her as instructed. Looking at her struggling with all the tube and cables around her body, I have to harden my heart to make her do the exercise. The experience I learnt from it was though she was slow, she would master each assignment before the next review in the combined clinic.

Hami is at this age that he will learn very very fast. If you can't find time, please get your HB or your caregiver to perform the exercises diligently. It is very beneficial to Hami.

Once he is up to mark, be it months, one year or even two years later...you will have plenty of time to relax and enjoy. This is just my personal feel, please do not take offence. I know having to work full time and then do the exercise is very tiring but we really do not have a choice.