Premature babies support group

hi didi,
haha...i am in facebook. trying to figure out things too haha..join and just try it out ;) quite fun lots to do haha..

it has mail box and such

Jane, just login, still figuring out how to use

Hello mummies, is there any problem with the forum again? how come I kept having problem coming into the forum?

Hi didi, yup yup, actually dash has good memory for chinese stuff. I recite one or two days to him, and he will remember. But now he is having a bit of difficulty remembering the rest of the san zi jing liao.

Tanya, hope your sister in law can be strong. Tell her not to worry that much. Maybe things are not as bad as it seems? The visual problem may not be that serious?

Reg dash toilet training, yesterday and today i just put him without pampers for half a day. Cause by noon time, he will nap and I will put back pampers, and lazy to take off. die, me a very lazy mum.

Btw, dash is soo bored with me at home, how har? I have nothing much to do with him, plus I am a bit lazy.

I think this staying at home will make me grows fatter now. I have been eating quite a lot at home, because I have nothing to do. haha. Die, must try to find something to do. So thats why I wonder why disneymickey and daec say they eat more at work place and less at home? I am the opposite leh. If I go teaching, wun have time to think of eat.

Btw, me also getting crazy, now searching for ideas to do art with dash at home. Then realise I am really not an art person! die. Even thinking of searching for art program for him. I must try to find more activities for him.

Disneymickey, congrats that your pretty gal can call daddy and mummy!!! you will hear her pretty nice voice calling you mummy everyday now.

wow, jane siang so smart, can say hmmmm when want to poo or pee? my dash cannot leh. Oh yah, he can, he will say "da bian" no matter whether he want to pass urine or pass motion, but then it will only be after he has done so leh.

costa go where har? die, me must have missed her post?

fairylander, congrats in having your gal home! busy now har?

xbliss, how's your boy? must be able to go home soon as well.

mich, your photo skills really good. Shd have asked you to do the montage, must be very nice.

btw, didi, your boys weight certainly ok! very good I must say! so yeah yeah, your hubby shd reward you. haha.

Yeah! tomorrow bringing dash to watch thomas the train at amk hub. Btw, people have been telling me dora show is good...

Fairylander
Congrats on the home coming of ur little warrior! Enjoy her

Tanya
Like wat most mummies say, will be ok one. Ask ur SIL to understand more about the situation. Ask her to be strong cos when she is strong, BB is strong too

Mich
Jus PM u.

Can someone enlighten this gong gong me wat is the face book thingy? Can include me? N how should we do it?? Hee.. Pai seh.. Not up to date

Little Ezann was down with running nose on Monday. She kept using her hand to beat her head... Me got very worried cos she looks very uncomfy n keep banging her head. Brought her to A n E. Afraid could be infection but dr say should be ok.. Observe her at home.. Recovered now but administer paracetamol jus in case she headache

Today is my 24 weeks... Me really count down lei.. Hope to at least carry bb till CNY if possible.. Cos my hb is a rat, my eldest son is a rat and we plan to have another rat
PPL say, 3 same type in the chinese zodiac in the household is very WANG one. Hope so! But most impt, must all be healthy

good morning kkf
yes, think the forum down. hehe dash can say da bian ah. which is better. because sometime my that siang hor, he will just play around and just hmmm here and hmm there kekeke...but of course when he really want to poo poo i can judge from his face expression.

our costa is on leave

hi mummylian
oh don't worry about ezann beating head. siang PULL his hair and pull his private parts :p. its sometime part and parcel of their body parts discovery (since the doc also say she ok...). for running nose, think have to keep her warm. now is a bad season weather. she be ok, don't worry...

oh..if really 3 types of the same zodiac really will WANG ler. ok ok , take care and rest well.

morning mommies,
ya, tried to post last nite, after trying for 1hr 2 put my ger to sleep. sigh. but after typing the message, can't post. so fed up. went to sleep haha

talking abt her calling mommy & daddy, she's been repeating for 1hr last nite. kept asking where's mommy & where's daddy, although she knows v well mommy is beside her & daddy is outside.

kkf,
at home, only guai guai eat 3 meals a day. cos the rest of the time hav to jagar the notti ger. n if i eat, she'll oso wan to eat. so i try not 2 let her snack 2 much, so i oso cannot eat lor
at work, if nothing much to do, n while chit chat w colleagues, will munch. if u know which company i'm working in (heehee), u'll know there's a lot of snacks & choc here FOC!! haha

u try this link..got some interesting stuff u can do w dash
http://www.sesameworkshop.org/
http://www.yourlittleones.com/corsites.htm

jane,
me oso in facebook. costa juz 'invited' me to b her fren. die, i oso din know she's gg away.. must hav missed the post

mummylian,
hope ezann is ok..? maybe weather turning cold, so must take care. u oso must take care of urself, hope she doesn't pass the virus to u..take more vit c

hi DM
children is so cute hor, once they learn something, they will repeatively do it ;) cute hehe

hahaha, so we are same. at home i forbide (except my mum) my maid and my hubby to eat in front of my boy because he will want to eat keke...

oh you are in facebook...hmmm let me try and login later haha. i am really new with it, so really is trying to figure how to use it haha.

jane,
ya, cute. but sometimes q irritating, esp late at nite when trying to put her zzz..haha. but again, complaining only la. talk better than dun talk rt?

the other day, i was hungry, so bought a chicken pie, she saw, kept wanting to eat. so i fed her & quickly finish up my pie. eat so fast, oso can't enjoy. when she c the pie being eaten up. she say "no more" then ask 4 milk haha.

hi DM
hahaha...true. siang now don't really know any words but then now he already insist this and that (like he very li hai keke)

oh oh..then i think u really understand what i am talking about when eating food at home haha. sometime really contradicting hor, want to eat things also must like finish fast fast...like at home, i want to eat ice-cream also cannot (unless he is napping). then at night want to eat scare put on weight sigh keke... for now siang only know how to use hand to indicate 'no more' haha... you know (i think he is boy so more rought), he ever put his finger and dig my mouth because i sample his porridge :p oppppppssssss..... keke. nowadays if i sample his porridge he will shout at me loud :p

kkf, so good
Dash got good memory
memory is one of the key points to excel in studies

Jane, thanks, Costa is on leave, no wonder MIA

DM, hmm you are working among the 'sinful' foods, lucky gal
still wondering which co you working for *scratch head*

didi,
heehee.. make a guess..
actually choc is not sinful food la

jane,
aiyo. siang so cute. go dig ur mouth when u eat his porridge. haha. maybe u explain to him y u sample the porridge..heehee

Morning Mummies

The weather is so shiok... So "Christmas"...

I am very busy today. You ladies talk. I read.

Didi
You can see a few of us if you view My Friends.

MummyLian
Hope Ezann get well soon.

kkf
Activities to do - I PM YOU.

DM
Hmm... Nestle?

Jane
Evans can go diaper free in the day.
Dylan still have accidents.

DM, AGREE !!! whenever I eats choc, I console myself by saying that 'it makes me happy'

Mich, ok will try later
me no technology pro leh ... you so good at technology stuff

hello didi

i also just happen to get to know costa is away :p think her ear must be itching now..so many of us miss her.

i also dunno which co DM is with. but sounds so wonderful..all the food. come season time, sure has lots of goodies to bring home ;p

DM
keke, sigh. now hor at this age, difficult to explain to him one keke. hmm...i always eat / sample everything that goes into his mouth (even milk i will dip a bit and drink haha...water also keke.. i realy is KS mum hor haha. so he in turn also sometime does feed me with food (because i always eat his food) so maybe he think i always hungry so eat his food so he may as well feed me (before i 'eat' his) hahahah.. its my own guess la, i also dunno what he is thinking hahahah....

jane,
haha. u so funny. say siang think u r hungry so feed u food. he's so cute

no food 2 bring home, but eat in office haha..

mich,
wild guess?

didi, when I ate chocolates, I will say "its good for heart!"...hee

Jane, Siang really very filial, feed you with food. At least he is willing to share.

Mich, thanks. Haven't got your pm, its always quite slow. You want to email me? [email protected]

Btw, disneymickey, thanks for the websites, me finally did an apple art from the seasme street website. I have tried asking my boy to use straw to blow the paints around (in the end he dip the straw in the paint and eat it!), use those small macaroni to dip in paints for fun (in the end, those macroni only become a mess), finally this apple art works.

It is really not easy to have a toddler at home. Cracking my brain how to entertain him.

Mich, can check something with you
the last time you mentioned cheese, what kind/ brand of cheese can I let my boys take ? and can they take now (7mths corrected) ? thanks

mich,
clever ger. wat u eat? so smart

didi,
i let my ger take kraft. low sodium kind.
was thinking of buying those cheese sticks, so she can learn to hold & eat by herself, like some ang mor kids like tat

really can eat cheese? you know sometimes I ate baked rice, want to let my son eat also, but afraid that he may not be able to take cheese. crazy rite?

being bz wif my gal hehe.abit chicken leg duck hand at home lucky my mum help me.wah seems tat every1 kids progress well tats good.i wil be bz for the next couple of weeks.my gal got alot of appointment to go arranged by kkh.i wil try pop by wenever im free.have a good holidays n meery xmas.tks to all mummies here again.

costa,
juz noticed tat u r on vacation,have a happy holidays.hope to see u soon

Didi

I introduced cheese when they turned one year old. These were what i used to give them. Now they eat all sorts of cheese.

1109673.jpg

Laughing Cow: I buy the blue box. Never seen this lighter version in Singapore.

1109674.jpg

Thanks again for your support and encouragement. I really hope my SIL can be strong, for her bb!

Checked with her mum, the doc said something like ROP or something. Anyone heard of that? According to her, it was stage 3. Huh?

What does that mean? Can the child see?

My SIL is better now, but still very depressed. We're worried for her and her bb. Sigh!

Cheers to all the mummies and bbs here!

hi, all,
i am on leave for a few days.....miss you all leh......m at my aunt's hse in hk and cant help it must go to our board to read

will catch up on all readgs when i m back..cheers

tanya,
hvnt read yr story, hp tt everythg wld be okay for yr sil..u can ask her to pm me next wk when i m back..my baby was born at 24wks and got ROP stage 3...anythg can approach me...tell her to calm down..

Dear Tanya

I wonder if your niece has been discharged from the hospital. Which hospital did your SIL deliver her baby?

The following is an abstract from the recent launched book from KKH on the Premies Awareness Day on 30 Nov 07. The book entitled "A Journey with My Child"

Page 95: Visual Problems

Myopia or near-sightedness is one of the most common visual problems related to prematurity. The risk of developing myopia increases with the severity of Retinopathy of Prematurity (ROP) and decreasing gestation. Poor vision will affect learning but most children can be corrected by glasses. Children with severe visual loss, which is sometimes found after high grades of ROP, may need special education programs.

Tell your SIL that ROP is a common thing among premies and most of them could be corrected by laser treatment. As for your niece's case, I'm sure her eye doc. would help your SIL and niece to move forward. Your SIL needs to draw strength from her family members like you. Stay strong and positive for her. Take Care!

Mich, I also didn't see the lighter version in Singapore too, ok will let them try when they are 1

DM, its good to take those low sodium kind, you meant those in slices ?

Costa,
hmm you just concentrate on 'chi tongxi, mai tongxi' when you are back, must share share what you eat and buy hor
did you brought bern bern along ?

Hi mummies.. Thanks for the well wishing for Ezann

Jane
Hope it's jus her curious exploration.. Don know y.. when she is sick, me act very not stable.. not like last time when my boys were sick. Mayb bcos she is premie.. so a little differenT behavior, i worried like mad:p

Costa
Wow.. so gd.. who u go holidays with? U brought along ur elder boy? Enjoy urself

Tanya
Like wat precious one said, ROP is quite common in premie and can be corrected with laser.. Early detection n intervention is helpful.. Ask ur SIL to join us in the forum

Mummies out there
I believe u mix vege into porridge? How do u all usuaaly prepare the vege? anyone steam then add? Any suggestion to do some variety for food for the little ones? BUT hor must not be too troublesome one lei...

good morning mummies

hello costa
wow u must be busy eating and shoping and shopping and eating ;) like what didi say haha. enjoy and have fun. miss ya ;)

hi tanya
am glad that your sil has calm down. it be good if you sil can PM or write to some of the mummies here. ROP can be corrected (via early intervention).

hi mummylian
who don't worry about our babies. i worry about my boy everyday :p. i ask many pple about siang pulling hair and knocking head... some say see doc (which i already consulted Dr Agarwal) and some say its ok its a stage (which i read in the book some of the behaviour is just a stage)...so...end up, i decide just monitor :p. i not only worried until mad...i worried until at time i go really crazy and bark at my husband :p.... so i tell my husband. sometime i really is just out of my mind (forgive me :p).

about veggies. what i do is when i am cooking porridge, i wash a few leaves then i put into the water and cook for a while (until it turn green like we cook veggie in soup like that) then i take out and cut into very small piecies and put aside. when siang is about to eat his porridge, i put into the bowl of porridge (which i steam hot in rice cooker) and put in the veggie and make hot again. then i serve. i thougth this way, can retain the veggie nutrients haha...

oh on variety. jacelyn would be about to provide good information. but...jace....dunno is she back from her hometown visit ler..

Good Morning Mummies

<font color="0077aa">Tanya</font>
This website will give you a better idea of what is ROP: http://www.nei.nih.gov/health/rop/index.asp#2
My twins have ROP (on both eyes) and underwent laser therapy.
Twin 1 has PERFECT eyesight now.
Twin 2 is short sighted on one eye and need to wear glasses.
Share success stories and positive news with her.

<font color="0077aa">DM</font>
Bingo!
Wish I can be so joon when comes to Toto. Hahaha...
Check your email.

<font color="0077aa">Hope</font>
You there?

didi,
yes, low sodium in slice. i bought those cube kind, but she doesn't like.

mummylian,
yes, sometimes i'll steam the veg (broccoli or spinach). then mix everything into porridge.

mich,
saw u 'invited' me into facebook. but now bz. cos a lot of reports to b submitted by today.

ltr then write

DM, think cheese is an 'acquired taste' my niece don't like it either (she is 4 next year)
planning to start porridge next week, I will cook in the slow cooker, do you think I can steam the veg like you then put it in the slow cooker to cook for the day (ie lunch and dinner ?)

Mich, when you strike toto, don't forget us hor

didi,
actually, u can put the veg into the slow cooker & cook w everything else. tat's the wonder of slow cooker. i used to do tat. cos if u steam alrdy then put into slow cooker again, the veg may become 2 soggy.

mich,
so now u know which company i work in, got support our products or not? btw, i went into facebook & saw ur picture.. wow, pretty mommy leh, may i ask how old r u?

hi, dear mummies

i am back, let me read all the post first than reply your....
i am back early cos my boys fall sick, but now ok liao.....

have a good day.

miss your

hi DM
hehe....mich chio hor keke. i always thought so since day one i meet up with her hahaha!!

hello jace

welcome back. oh....glad both is ok. chat with you when u are free

didi,

i am a silent reader here with a pre-term gal.

u can try kiri cheese too (its comes in cheese cubes) recommended by other mommies in other threads. i saw it at jurong point ntuc. i had tasted it before, its not saltish (so i assume low sodium).

Hello everyone.

Tanya hope your sister in law is ok now.

Costa, enjoy yourself wow!

Me going batam tomorrow with my whole family inclusive my in laws (they are very familiar with batam as my mum in law is indonesian).

Next week, lindah will be going right?

Hi bloom, do join us more often.

jane and disneymickey, yeah! mich a beauty. Honestly, I think she and precious one are very pretty mummies. Envy lor. hee.

For cooking, me not good, so dare not comment. Me is the laziest mummy on world when it comes to food. Just now brought my boy out to eat again, I am jusssss soooo lazy.

Intend to bring my boy to see thomas with my colleague today, but last minute, never go, cause my mum is coming to the polyclinic near my place to scan her intestines, thought of going with her since she nearby, sometimes must be filial a bit lar. haha...(though I admit I am not).

Hopefully I can bring my boy to watch thomas next weekends.

kkf,
enjoy ur trip!
one tip on ferry ride: try not to bring ur boy onto the ferry 2 early. u know la, when the ferry is not moving, it'll still move.. sometimes the shaking can make u feel terrible. so try to board juz in time

great tip disneymickey, thanks! will board just on time.

Precious one, want to ask you have you gotten the colostrum? have you started you gal? me started my boy, bought from GNC. Found it very ex $70 plus like wat you said. But luckily christmas got discount. I went to get one from overseas spree also but then suddenly got this idea: is it safer to get from singapore? at least we got tighter control. Overseas not so sure leh. Also, the colostrum from cow's milk, got mad cow disease or not?

Haha, you see me lar, want to let my boy eat but still got so many question marks and doubts.

Bloom, thanks for the info, ya, 'see' you more you will grow to get 'hooked' on this thread, believe me !!!

DM, me ardent supporter of your company leh
thot if dump in all the veg, veg will lose nutrients ?

kkf, you sure have an 'exciting' holidays
if you like donuts, rem to buy J&Co's donuts, tried in jakarta, quite nice, heard it is BIG in Indonesia and Batam has a branch I think

wow, thanks didi! will sure try the donuts if I happen to see it.

Got to have some fun during the holidays! next year when school starts, you will see a mad woman again.

Btw, I really hope next year june holiday, i will be able to go japan! Thats my goal! Must start saving, spend less on motherhood bulk purchase...haha.

didi,
alamak, so now no secret which company i worked in heehee

i only know overcook the food (be it veg or meat or fish, etc) will lose nutrients. but then hor, i think think, we must cook the food 4 long, so tat it's soft enuff 4 our bb to eat rt? like tat oso means no nutrients? sigh. so difficult hor

kkf,
i oso wan to bring my ger to japan next yr..dream only la, cos i think of the 7hr flight, headache

now abit free to pop by to chit chat abit coz my gal sleep liao.seems tat alot of mummies here gg holidays,me so envy,wish i can go wif my gal soon.or may be next time we organize then go 2gether.

enjoy ur holidays cheers

kkf (Da Mei Ren)

I'm only collecting the colostrum this weekend. I would love to think that it is safe as this is not the first time they ordered from overseas. Their kids have eaten one or two bottles already. My only concern is their kids are full term whereas ours are premies so not sure whether there's any difference in health...you know what I mean. A is going to take the HIB jab from a private ped. tmr and I hope I can remember to ask him about taking colostrum. I can be forgetful sometimes.

Have a wonderful weekend in Batam. I'm planning mine for coming CNY and if happens, we will take the plane.
I badly need holidays....

Dear all mummies

Thanks again for your reassuring replies. I have forwarded them to my SIL, and she seems a lot more positive now.

Her girl was diagnosed with ROP Stage 3(?) 6 weeks after her birth, which was this week. Her greatest fear was that her bb won't be able to see again. But from your replies, it seems that much can be done to help.

I haven't time to talk to her coz I down with flu, and don't want to spread to her or her bb. I have directed her to this forum, hopefully she'll visit and draw some strengths from you mummies here!

So, bbs with ROP can be treated, and there'll be no further vision problems after that? It sounds very heartening and a great relief!

Once again, kudos to all mummies here, and many happy wishes to your lovely bbs!

I think I'll leave my SIL to follow-up from here. She'll know what she needs and what info she wants.

Hello all

One post before I see you all on Monday!
Oh... Saw <font color="0077aa">Xbliss</font> at KKH just now. She said Bryan may be discharged next week.

<font color="0077aa">DM</font>
Age - Same as you lah.

<font color="0077aa">Kkf</font>
Dash can take outside food? So good.
My Evans very fussy... Not very adventurous with food as compared to Dylan.
Enjoy your holidays.

<font color="0077aa">Didi</font>
I Kept thinking of you just now. ... Hilarious.

<font color="0077aa">Fairylander</font>
Pop in to chat when free.
Time passes very fast hor. The kids grow up very fast.
Yesterday, hb commented how he wish the boys can stay at this age forever cos they are really so fun to be with now.

<font color="0077aa">Tanya</font>
You are welcome and thanks for the well wishes.
Season's Greetings to you and your family too

-----
Vegetables:
Steam the leafy vegetables to 3/4 cook.
Remove and chop to smaller pieces.
Transfer cooked porridge from slow cooker to a pot.
Heat up pot of porridge over slow fire.
Once porridge boils, stir in the steam veg quickly and off fire.
Serve
----
For pumpkin, sweet potatoes, I steam them to fully cook.
When comes to meal time, I just mix them into the hot porridge.
------
Brocolli will turn yellow if put in slow cooker. I usually steam or blanch in boiling water and repeat the same step as leafy veg.

Hope the above helps.