Premature babies support group

Xbliss, for the mattress get those latex kinds it is cooler. I agree with Mich about the blankets, so I put my bbs in sleeping bag, iirc I get mine from The First Few Years.

thank you all for the advice. Will go get a latex mattress.. heard there is those with holes.. dunno where to get.

Why cannot use blankets? I saw the sleeping bags but feel they kind of restrict movement leh.. shall go analyze them again.

precious,
thanks, still must follow nicu/scn regime of washing hands?! my hand is peeling very badly from all that excessive use of detergent at home and in kkh..sigh..think i need to add a pair of latex gloves in my inventory too.

updates on bryan,
very frustrating to bottle him prob cos he doesn't like the way i do it.. feel very lousy. the nurses seem to have more success. sigh sigh.. morale low.

Morning mummies.

Xbliss, can tell you right now, I am still washing my hands very frequently as much as possible. It is good. I am washing my boy's hands as well.

Dun feel lousy, it takes time.kiddy palace sell those babysafe mattress, pillows etc, it is suppose to have holess. I bought those also...hee. Me a super kiasu parents as well. I will buy everything that will keep my baby safe.

morning mommies,

dunno y feel so tired. so ytd din feel like posting.

xbliss,
think u r tired? tat's y u feel frustrated easily. take a break if u can..

costa,
u can email me [email protected]

kkf,
every parent is kiasu la, except those super bo-chap parents
saw ur blog on the hotel thingy. looks interesting leh. but now festive season, must b v x rt? hubby say wan to take leave go relax. but this mth so bz month..sigh

morning disneymickey, why are you so tired?

I do understand. I am glad I am a teacher, at least I still have long break to look forward to.

I actually bought the hotel stay from another mummy who has the raffles card, so she has this hotel voucher at a cheaper rate. I paid for ard 250.

Btw, I am toilet training my boy for the first day today! I decide to just half day train...else will be stress to death! haha.
I m bringing him to toilet every 15 mins leh...stresssssss

My goals for this holiday
1. toilet train my boy
2. train him to feed himself

wish me luck!!!!

kkf

<font size="+1">Dash is a smart boy and he will learn very fast. I'm sure we will hear your success stories very very soon.</font> The first few days is hard, will be tiring and stressful on you, so drink essence of chicken.....

kkf,
good luck. i'm sure u'll succeed
jia you
how i wish i hav the determination 2 train my ger. think i'm juz 2 lazy...

dunno leh. maybe played 2 much over the weekend. cos my BIL is back & he'll b flying off this week, so we made use of the time to go his place & bring the kids swimming. went on sat & sun. sun went botanics gardens & marina sq. so tired lor.

Xbliss, you can also get the mattress from Taka (my sis bot from there) as for the sleeping bag, get slightly bigger so it will be roomy.

good morning mummies

kkf
i am sure dash will catch the idea of going to toilet and self feeding very soon. its really habital kind of thing. maybe u try paste something nice in the toilet..then tell dash, want to wee wee? go toilet.... am sure u will succeed. jia you.

xbliss
don't feel low. i had the same experience about bottling in the first place too. pai say to say, until now, my boy does not really like me to bottle him (he like my mum :p). but back at my own house, he bo bian hahahah.... xbliss, its ok, bryan will get used to you. babies are very smart, when they have a choice they chose but if they don't then they bo bian too :p hehehehe... just my 2 cents of thought based on my few mths of motherhood experience keke

hope you can get some good stuff for bryan as year end coming, sure lots of babies sale

hi DM,
me also sian and tired..dunno why keke. holi mood :p

didi
hehehe me othe way round. when I at home - I eat less coz not much to eat! at work, sienz so eat.lunch is highlight of the day.well I read abt lose weiht - tip is stock up on healthy food/snacks/fruits. so if have to eat, at least got healthy alternaties.. hmm trying that out.

daec & didi,

i'm like daec,at home, only guai guai eat 3 meals a day. nev snack. but in office, sometimes chit chat w colleagues, then will munch. i stayed at home for 5 days to look after my ger when my parents were not in, i lost 1kg!! haha. told myself not 2 snack when back in office, but when i came back, saw lots of tidbits on my table.. sigh.. heehee

today is another fearful day of bottling for me. sigh, i think i shall just observe mee sees do it for today and hope i can get some inspiration out of it. otherwise, he keeps desat and i get very frustrated. Jane, maybe like u say, he come back bo bian. haha. if not he will go hungry and then i will get scolded by paed later on for poor weight gain :p

thanks for the advice on mattress sets. think i will check out taka. i went bugis junction yesterday but din see those with holes.

i just checked out taka website. it says children's fair is 27 dec to 9 jan. so we shall prob see each other there then!

disneymickey
not tired leh. i feel very happy and energised that bryan is coming back soon, but not being able to bottle him sets me back quite a bit. Maybe i need to lower my expectations on myself.

kkf
good luck on the potty training! agree with precious that dash would be able to get the idea very fast!

mich
got use moisturizer.. but i think it's hormonal change, use too much moisturizer i break out like mad, use too little i peel all over. i feel 5 yrs older with all that dry skin.

xbliss
Don't feel upset over Bryan's bottle-feeding. The truth is Bryan knew how to bottle-feed already as u said that he didn't desat when mee see fed him. This is a BIG consolation. Mee see feeds him 7 times a day, while you only feed 1 time a day, sure your skill cannot match the mee see but very soon when you feed Bryan everyday at home, Bryan won't want anyone to feed him liao. kekeke

Moreover, Bryan is so excited when he sees you as he sees you one or two hour in a day only, so naturally he will forget one step here and there when you feed him. He has to suck, swallow and breathe at the same time.....very siong you know. Perhaps you take a couple of day off prior to Bryan's discharge and take over all the day feeding. I'm sure Ryan will feel more relax then.

You imagine yourself dating your hubby for the 1st few times, very excited right. The more you want to present yourself well, sometimes one just makes blunder....don't know why.

Thanks! got time to post cause dash is playing alone with the balcony door. Think he quite poor thing, mummy trains him to play by himself. He will walk around n play on his own.

Yeah, have faithfully brought him to toilet every 15 mins interval. Jane, good idea, haha, paste his favorite big car on the toilet door, then can attract him to go there.

Hope I can succeed. But regarding poo poo, I still dunno how to train leh. I only dare to let him go without pampers after he poo poo in the morning.

kkf
poo and pee, training method same lar but you have to be very attentive to him and observed his facial expression cos poo facial expression usually very kang chiong one. As Dash can speak already so your training process will be easier. Just keep telling him, poo and pee must tell mummy and mummy will bring you to the toilet.
When he poos or pees in the toilet bowl, please praise him to the sky and give him the loudest clap and your face must show exaggerated joy! hahaha

Yipee !!! this forum is up and running

Daec, DM, last time working very bz no time to snack, now lagi worse this maid of mine can make kueh kueh so there goes my diet plan

Mommies, today brought my bbs for follow-up at pd, she commented that my boy's weight is ok and ask my hb to reward me, hee....hee

precious,
thank you. u are so reassuring. i feel very normal after seeing what u write. Cos the other babies around bryan dun seem to have this problem, even the VLBWs. but to compare with dating?! hehe.. it was very interesting to recall the first moments with my then-boyfriend though!

today i asked nurse to show me.. hmm.. actually he responded same way to nurse too.. so might not be me lah.. i try to leave him alone and wake him near to feed time so he stays awake more. It is very helpful. Think we overstimulated him before mealtime already. It is just tough to convince in-laws to leave him alone. sigh sigh.

didnt post yesterday coz very tired after spending whole afternnon at scn accompany my gal.
she is 1.975kg today hope 2molo can reach 2kg then can discharge liao.

good nite n sweet dreams.

fairylander, good news! let us know when your gal is discharged.

Morning mummies! Yesterday forum down right? Anyway, good morning!!!

good morning mummies

hello kkf
yeah, yesterday forum down keke. wannted to tell you, my boy when he want to poo or pee...he same sound 'hmmmm' hahahah...

hi fairylander
yippy do let us know when cath is ready to go home.

hallo xbliss

keep us posted on bryan progress. i guess by now he is very fun to play with ;)

good morning mommies..

kkf,
how's ur toilet training w dash?

costa,
i've added u on facebook!

my ger can finally call daddy & mommy!! she used to b calling us dad-dad & mama

Good morning Mummies

Didi
Your PD so humorous.
So proud of your achievement.
Your effort of being a SAHM pays off!!

Kkf
Hows first day of toilet training? NO stress ok.... The child will give you the signs whether he is ready or not.

Fairylander
Thats good news

Keep us posted.

Xbliss
If your condition is quite bad, maybe you want to see a dermatologist.
My skin was ok after giving birth.

DM
Costa on holidays.
So shiok to hear that for the first time right? Hee.....

Jane
Siang so clever..... Muak!

good morning mich

yeah..costa fly off liao ;).

clever? i feel so funny..do all kids hmmm when want to pee and poo poo mah hahahaha...confuse me :p. its by incident that i notice that when he want to pee he also hmmm keke...

wow..how i wish i can go holi too....

Jane
My one year old niece is doing that too. She will say Hmmm and then try to GEK, my mum will bring the potty for her.
I find it so clean this way!
Holidays can start to plan now lor...

Jane/mummies
have put up Nada's clip of her splash splash while she bathing. if u wish to see, address is nada.alkaff.com

Jane
yeah me wish can go holi. honestly I not confident yet bring her out holi. It takes a LOT to persuade hubby to go holi. he type not so keen.

Didi
heheh hope hubby really rewards u. u deserve it !

disneymickey
understandable lah so bz so not start on train her yet. me whenever got time away from work - just wanna rest and have fun with ger.

congrats on yr ger calling u daddy & mommy!

fairylander,
wow almost there! hang on, u so close !

xbliss
It does take time to adjust for both baby and mum. its different for everyone. so if compare will come out short one. Then there e factors like u mention eg. overstimulation. sure this will be overcome soon. take heart..

yup its v difficult to persuade parents/esp inlaws when it comes to overstimulation. will be better as time passes. somehow find ways to deal with it.

Didi/DM
another tip I heard, must drink 2litres water. I thkin to go for more walks with my ger. she can be my 'weights' coz 'weightlifting' help burn calories heheh. its fun for her too

hi mich
hmm but siang hmmm for both pee and poo hahaha...poo poo he will hmmm la...but pee keke... how did u train D&E? can share mah?

good morning daec
sorry, i really love to see baby bath, hence once saw your post, i go and click on my fav nana tag and saw the Nada splash duet video clip. hahaha...she really enjoying. wow next time national swimmer (back stroke) hehe.

for me.. holi is a dream so far off. maybe just target go zoo with my boy haha

DM
wow both oh you must be really happy when your ger called u now. your effort has paid off

My niece was born premature, 32 weeks. The doctor just informed my sis-in-law that her bb may have some visual problems.

My SIL is distraught and has been crying non-stop. Can anyone advice?

jane & mich,
ya, we were v happy when she called us dad-dad & mama. but suddenly, really suddenly, she juz call daddy..mommy...ytd she called ah-yi (she used to call my sis yi-yi). my sis oso v happy.

xbliss,
try ur best to 'educate' ur inlaws abt not over-stimulating bryan b4 nap. i know it's difficult. luckily 4 me, my in-laws dun bother abt how i put my ger to sleep. but when i was there last wk when my sis in law not ard, her maid try to put my nephew to sleep, but both my IL kept playing w him. until i buay tahan, told my hubby to go scold them. sigh.

Mich, ya, so far it is ok to be a SAHM, don't know how long I can tahan

Daec, next year when you became a SAHM, you also will reap rewards

Tanya
my babe was born 32wks too. The dr said maybe only ? so not confirmed rite ? BTW All premmies have to go thru eye checks. Had some frens who had some issue too, but its ok after some treatment.have to see case by case. suggest ur SIL talk to mummies here. even if premmie, our little warriors r strong.

Jane
no worries, had idea u would enjoy it as I did ;)

Didi
hehe hope so !

yesterday I saw 'Great Expectations'. I purposely wanna c that episode. its abt mums who gave up their careers and built a biz. biz flexi, can adapt to their kids timings. so motivating at the same time, wonder how to do.. the mums own biz - MomsInMind, Bumwear, Bellysima, LittleDreamers

Jane
got target is gd. first target zoo, then later move the target more far, far each time until not in SG ;)

kkf, May I know how did you teach 'San zijing' to Dash ? do you recite to him everyday ? he does a good memory
not easy to remember
, wow you really a Romantic wife, planned a getaway for hb's birthday

daec
Thanks for reply. I didn't get to hear what the dr said. I only caught the few words between the sobs!

What kind of 'visual problems' is 'common' amg premature bbs? My SIL is still in no state to speak to anyone. Will try to speak to her later when she calms down. Was already so depressed when bb was premature. Sigh!

You mummies here, be strong!

good morning mummylian

yeah that pic of ezann really nice hor. i think if send ezann and dash picture for those poster competition, sure win ;)

mich has an eye for photoshot and she does wonderful edition to the picture of her . she has this special editing program...hahah todate i still trying to figure out what is she editing with haha...

<font color="0077aa">Jane</font>
I think Siang cannot differentiate the sensation when he wants to poo and pee. So to him it is just ' Hmmm." Make sense right? Hee...
Aiyoh... my photo editing skills so amateurish. *blushed blushed*

<font color="0077aa">Tanya</font>
My twins are 25 weekers and one of them need to wear glasses. He is short-sighted on one eye.

<font color="0077aa">Mummylian</font>
PM me your email address. I email you the pictures.

tanya
understandable she like dat.no one expects their baby to be premature. i was depressed too. however, it does happen. our babies r strong and r blessings irregardless. it really is heartening to see our babies thrive after such a start. pls do remind her that there r other mummies goin thru similar and our premmie babies r strong and doing fine. some babies were born lesser than 32 wks and doing fine.

think some mummies here have some xperience, can give better advice than me. if u r at KK, can borrow some bks on premmies there. it outline possible conditions. can't remember exactly. dr say maybe only so it may not happen at all.

<font color="0077aa">Jane</font>
I think Siang cannot differentiate the sensation when he wants to poo and pee. So to him it is just ' Hmmm." Make sense right? Hee...
Aiyoh... my photo editing skills so amateurish. *blushed blushed*

<font color="0077aa">Tanya</font>
My twins are 25 weekers and one of them need to wear glasses. He is short-sighted on one eye.

<font color="0077aa">Mummylian</font>
PM me your email address. I email you the pictures.

hi daec
i love it when bathing my boy hahaha. but soon i have to find new toys for his bath time because he already know how to hide the water ducky into the small pail (i played hide the toy when bath time haha)... its a really silly game la :p haha..

hi mich
wow....i love the one you toke and edit on the playground (the one you posted on your poster). so nice. so natural...so light hearted.

hi tanya
perhaps it would be good for your sil to understand more from the doctors. ask her to wipe dry her tears. with good monitoring, many issues can be ironed out. her baby will just be ok. if she wish, she can join us in this forum. we have a few mummies here that should be able to shine some lights about eye review queries. Hug hug her for me. tell her, stay strong and things will just be fine.

oh mich...hmm. you could be right hor haha...

oh DM
wow if i were you, i be happy over the moon haha
wait till she say, mummy/daddy I LOVE U wowowowowowo......

hi tanya,
dun worry everything wil be ok.all the mummies here r pro n their bb r real fighter.

juz a quick update,coz me gg to fetch my gal home today at 5pm as she can discharge today.so happy wil chat wif u all wen free.tks for all the support n encouragement.u r all the best.

mommies, can anyone explain to me what is the Facebook thingy about ? it is something like msn ? or hotmail ? THANKS .......

fairylander
Congratulations. This is best news! Your gal will sleep with mummy and daddy from tonight onwards! Hip Hip Hurray! So happy for you and your family!

tanya
The only thing you can do now is to let your SIL cries her heart out, then offer any assistance you can with regards to the baby. Be there for your SIL and your niece always. Hear what the doc. has to say and follow the doc.'s plan. Crying helps to de-stress and I believe your SIL will stay strong for her baby. This is GOD's gift for all mummies ~ protect and provide unconditional love for her child. Let us know if you need further assistance.