Premature babies support group

Thanks thanks! me so happy for my class. I am sooo relieved, cause my colleague's classes all got Cs, me dun have! yeah! but the top student doesn't come from my school. My school top scores 286, high right? we thought so too, but the highest is 294!!!

Anyway, I have wanted to celebrate, but then my son falls sick!!! He got sudden onset of fever. sigh...high fever somemore, 39degree. Just came back from padetrician with him.

Sigh...

Disneymickey, yup preciousfaith replied saying she cannot collect from your place, so guess I got to get it back from you. Maybe weekends, I will arrange with you to get it back. So sorry for the trouble leh.

hi kkf
gong xi gong xi. am sure dash will score flying colours under your guidance. oh....why the sudden fever? pat pat... let him drink more water

hi fairylander
do keep us posted on your ger progress. about increase of BM, drink more soup and eat more fish. it helps..and rest more ;)

hello fairytale
how is things? here in the forum is all full of chats. now we talking about PSLE result

kkf,

maybe weather keep changing, so dash falls sick? dun worry. so u wan to come to cck & collect frm me? tot my office nearer to ur place? let me know. then i got to bring it back home

kkf
I think the weather is too hot and too cold, that's why fever.....take care of our handsome and smart Dash ya...and you take care too!

DM
oh oh, there goes your yellow bag. Yr hubby taking leave also? SAHM for a few days is fun, long term is no joke....

precious,
my hubby on reservist till sun. tmrw will bring her out shopping. mon sch hunting. tues zoo. weekend usual program - visit IL, etc

Disneymickey, collecting from your workplace also good idea hor. but think you bring home better. I will be free on weekends to get.

Btw, mummies, me so sian...besides going tui na, any idea how to boast immune system?

Oh, have finally decided to let my boy just attend tots house. i really dun want him to get sick. My colleague was talking to me today about her daughter in half day childcare, she got running nose every now and then ever since she attend the half day program. Think I better let my boy attend just 2 hours at tots house, hopefully less chance to fall sick...really worrying and tiring for parents.

kkf
As long as kids attend school, be it playgroup, cc or whatever, I was told that they sure fall sick regularly initially. Slowly the immune system will build up. Even when I keep my gal at home for so long, she also fall sick sometimes lei. It is a matter of if we siam Y2008, we cannot siam 2009 liao becoz of the education system in Singapore. Don't know which smart alec started pre-nursery, nursery etc. Just cross the fingers that no child fall sick in the same centre. Cos one sick, sure spread.....(a lot of parents are working so even when the child is sick, they will still send the child to school).

Yes, when a child is sick, the parents get the hit most....very tiring. That's the price of being a parent lor.

hello kkf
hope dash recover fast. i think...it seem that very difficult to get them to stay away from germs. one of my colleague she told me everytime her ger come back from CC, she will make her scrub clean clean and quickly change the clothes.

hello fairytale,
good to have you drop by and say hi to us despite you busy schedule. do come by often
year end coming. may year 2008 be of a year of wonderful happenings and wishes come true for you. take care ah.

Tell u all a bad news.. My boy is diagnose with hypospadias.. Meaning the opening on his penis is at the bottom instead of the tip of it.. Today went for surgical review and will need a major operation to correct the opening..

I feel so so sad.. it will definitely influence his future life if he need operation down there.. Moreover, there is 10% of risk that it will burst open & another operation to be done.. This operation can only be done if his penis is of good size enough to be done hence may need to wait till he is at least few yrs old.. I dun know how to ans to him if he can't urine at the standing position.. :~(

I hav never heard of this hypospadias thing untill my boy got it.. I really feel so sad and scare.. The doc said this operation need at least 4hrs and need a week to heal.. If the operation can only be done at 7yrs old, he will be primary 1 and how is he going to face it if he goes toliet with other boys standing while he has to sit down..

Also I read from the net, this only happen 1 in 300 babies.. How lucky am I? Sighzz.. Anyone heard of this or hav frens experience this before? Can advise?

hi alicia,
sorry to hear about the predicament. Be brave and help your boy get through it. no matter what, you and your loved ones will be there for him, so he is still a very fortunate boy who is loved. You have time to think about how he could face the situation and how to explain to him next time.

Updates on bryan
Today is a sad day for me too.. bryan tummy a bit bloated so his milk is reduced. He had the first such episode when he was then in NICU and back then, he cried like mad cos no milk given. Now he is ok with it so we are not too worried. It also seems like he recognises mummy already. I make an effort to kangaroo him everyday.. and he seems to know that when mummy finish kangarooing him, it's time for her to go home.. so he will pout and look like wanna cry or cry it out loud. so sad. wish i could bring him home now. feeling so "love sick"

Re: medication while ebm
i'm also starting to feel ill. Anyone knows if panadol or panadol flu is safe when ebm?

Re: Freezer to store ebm?
Any mummies buy mini freezer to store ebm before too? can advise how much and how big the freezer is? Mine is running out of space.

Precious one, I think kids will fall sick less in childcare non air con one. So angel shd be ok in the childcare you chosen. The childcares around me are air con (those good ones), even tots house also, but maybe lesser hours, lesser chance? not so sure...sigh.

Dash never drank much yesterday. He got such high fever! sigh...very worried. He couldn't sleep well, and vomited. sigh...

I think he got it from his grandpa who also got fever the day before he got his.

Haiz...sigh...sigh...sigh... I really must do some research on how to boast his immune.

Alicia, the condition can be corrected thru surgery, and will not cause any much problem in future right? Sigh...really dun understand why there must be so much sufferings for our children.

kkf
I have not decided on the cc yet cos I am now eyeing another one which has am session but will only speak to the person in charge on Monday next. I find that my gal nap time kena 2pm and the core curriculum starts at 2pm at MMI. Don't want her to miss the teaching part always. Must really think carefully on the education part. Aircon or non aircon, children will still fall sick. The last one that I attended 3 days trial is a non-aircon centre too, but half of the class has running nose. How to avoid?? I'm still holding onto my apple tree slot leh. One more week to decide.

It seems that there's a bug in the air and many children are ill. Give him Glucolin (blackcurrent flavour) if his appetite is no good. This drink boosts energy level. That's what my sis taught me and I gave my gal this if she is unwell and no appetite.

alicia
So sorry to learn about your boy's condition. Be strong. When the time comes, you will definitely have an answer to explain to your boy his condition. A lot of things happen in life is beyond our understanding. Meantime, give him lots of love and nourishment for him to have a strong body to take on the surgery.

alicia
sorry to hear abt tht. hopefully the condition can be corrected by surgery once only. umm dun think abt the 10% risk of repeat. Keep thinking 90% ok one. we'll be here for u. take care

xbliss
been told that panadol is ok by my dr. dunno if there is difference with panadol flu.

alicia,
i dunno anyone who had the condition your son has, but i read up on wikipedia on it. seems that for first degree and second degree, the surgery usually can be done in the first yr of life. an injection may also help to enlarge the penis. i hope your son will be able to do the corrective surgery before gg to school. apparently in some countries the possibility is 1 in 125. that's high! well at least that means kkh should have much experience handling this cases, so your son is in good hands. take care and do update us, ya. if i hear anyone hvg had this before, will let you know...

xbliss,
hope bryan gets well soon... so r they supplementing w IV drip now?

--------------

pregnancy and childbirth realli teach us that things are beyond our control. when these things happen, we are always at a loss and feel so helpless while watching our baby fight thru it. it's very sad but hopefully we all come out the tougher for it.

oh ya.

xbliss,
my RMG doctors n my gynae say panadol is OK (because we have to take panadol as painkiller after birth anyway) but my Clifford Dispensary doctor tends to be very cautious and may tell me to throw away when i am on flu medication. i think should be ok lah.

but if you have diarheoae, then better throw cos gastric flu may be more serious.

Alicia,
i m sorry to hear abt Craydon's condition.....u are a good mum and yr boy will understand when time comes...

fairytale,
hw are you?so nice to hear from you ..we hope to see u here more often...

kkf,
congrats on yr school performance....how is dash now?

Hi costa

I'm very well.Have been busy lor.Some more i'm back to serving in church.So alternative Sunday,I will serve in church.Really happy now.

But sometimes,I do missed my boy.But it's better for him to be in heaven.At least,no need poking or suction.I'm more relieved now & can rest more.

I was wondering how come u din't email me liao.

Alicia
I have not heard of this condition but will ask around for you.
I echoed Lindah that you are in good hands.
Maybe you would like to check with the Docs if there are other patients with similar condition and whether can you meet/ contact the parents to gather some support or advice from them.
Take care Mummy........

Lindah
Pondering over your last Para. It is so true...........

Fairytale,
I tried adding u to msn..but cant leh....im busy wif work lah..u noe which line i m in lah....can pengsan....

glad tt u hv found peace within yrself.....

will email you later.....

Good morning mummies
Its Friday and its a new day!

hi Alicia
Just to share. My boy has hearing impairment. accordingly to statitics, it happen to one in every about 3 Thousdands children born... so...shall we say, we can only brave the storm and do our best to find all the alternative/solutions and hope that everything will be ok. have faith. keep us posted on your boy condition. am sure with high technology, there is a solution (if not cure). you are a strong mummy. the link here will support you. hope mich or any mummies can share with alicia on more of the condition. yes and i echo lindah, your boy is good hands.

lindah...your last para really calm my minds. its it so true. brave the storm and we wish for clear sky the next day.

hi xbliss
hope bryan bounce back soon (which i am sure he will). sometime is like that, they get a low then suddenly bounce back fast and ferious (wanting more food). i know how u miss him (how u wish to bring him home). the day will come soon. Pat Pat xbliss

oh xbliss
about buying freezer. you can check with the SCN nurse (they have brands to recommend). what i did that time is (mummies, please don't throw BM at me). i clear away those back dated BM that i have at home and i try to take stock of what is balance at KKH freezer then upload them with new ones (as and when my home freezer gg to burst) then ask them to throw away those old ones....

not that i don't recommend buying a freezer...but i thought..eventually the space still will burst :p. hence i thought best way is to always upload with new stock.

and i think i mention before. that time when my boy was in KKH, i almost every day go there and pump fresh for him and i told the nurse, keep the old ones and i give him what i pump that day :p

xbliss : above is just for sharing la

Jane/xbliss
Me also threw away at least 2 mths or more of old milk prior to discharge cos I'm whole day at KKH then. I gave fresh milk in the day time to my gal. I only brought back the more current ones home. I have a BIG fridge at home so it helps with storing. By the time she came home after 6 mths, my gal was drinking quite a lot per feed liao. So actually also not much to store...hahaha..

kkf
I just remembered that other thread mummies told me that colostrum helps boost immunity. I've ordered one bottle to try, just received notice that it arrived today but I have not collected it yet. We ordered BP cos cheaper that way but GNC is selling it at $76 per bottle.

xbliss
Small obstacles here and there helps our little warrior to be a strong fighter in difficult times. Bryan will be a winner at the end of the day!

mich/jane,
yup... not only us, but hopefully our babies also will come out the tougher for it. yeah!

costa,
was watching TV other day. i think you must be very busy now oredi. in fact since last week or so, must be very busy.

xbliss,
dun buy the hotel type of mini fridge..my hb bot last time and wasted money ..its not much space inside to put bm...

if really needed, buy those like ice cream fridge..opened from the top...

My boy has heart defect. Jane's boy has hearing impairment and Alicia's son has hypospadias, strange how come always boys?

Anyway, just to say really some things are beyond are control. We can only pray and hope, and to do what we can for our little ones.

Btw, today is our school's p1 orientation, wow! The kids going to P1 suppose to do a english test! Not easy at all! got comprehension somemore. If they dun score well, will have to go for enrichment b4 school starts. Nowadays not easy to be kids as well. Starting to worry for my son, his ang moh so lousy!!!

Thanks for your concern, costa and fairylander. Dash is still running a fever, and is very cranky. i believe he is really not well. He keeps saying "tong tong", I dunno where pain for him? I hope and seriously pray it is just normal fever. He has quite a few mosquito bites.

Precious one, colostrum I saw from bulk purchase or overseas spree. Is it really useful? If it can boost immune system, expensive I also dun mind. But any child can eat is it? buy from where?

hungry hippo jane going for lunch...chat with you all later ;) hungry hungry hungry

oh..haha. something to share. now my boy force everyone to eat the 'drink' he prepare. Give him a cup (with a little warm water inside). he take a metal small spoon, steer then he will hold the spoon and feed anyone who is with him to open mouth and 'drink' the water. hahahha..my poor maid had to pretend and play with him kekekeke. and you see, his aiming is not accurate hence often our mouth is full of water...of course this mummy is not spared too :p. now everyone in the family see him take the cup and spoon, will quickly open mouth automatic to be feed by him (before he aim aimlessly) :p

just something light to share with all mummies before this hungry hippo mum go for lunch.

hello kkf
yes, we can only pray and do our best for our little boys. pat pat kkf

wow! test even before they got entrol?? gess.....stress ler.

mosquito bites? where he got it? hope dash recover soon.

Jane Jane
what to do ? we will do anything just to make our little ones happy

Mommies, anyone going to the Metro Ladies Affair (20% off) tonite at Paragon ? me thot of going, see whether my leave 'approved' later

Hope, went to Hami's Blog, you really have got a good shopping harvest from Fox's, wish I went too
really good buys...

kkf
I tonbang the other thread mummy to buy one bottle. I think it is cheaper cos they order from overseas and ship in. I still don't know the price. I can't tell you how effective yet cos I have not collect it and try. You can get it at GNC at $76 per bottle. The mummies told me it kind of help their children. Their children born 2005 too. This is not their first purchase, apparently they bought one round before liao.

kkf
I suggest you bring Dash to see doc. again. Fever with pain, sounds quite serious lei, or did you tell the pd on your 1st visit about the pain oredi?

<font color="7E587E"> hello hello...heard someone calling me...hehehe...
long time nvr post here... but i wld come in to read as & when got time... no time to post though...
anyway, just a quick post & i gotta zoom off again... need to feed my boy liao...
weekend then i go thru the posts... tata!!

jane,
u still remember me ahh... *touched* *sobs*

ok, here's the updated table... latest update is kai & fairylander's bb...

kai,
pai seh... i not sure ur bb boy or gal... can let me know?? thanks </font>

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Baby's DOB</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Birth Weight</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Length of Stay </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf's mom</TD><TD>15-Nov-78</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1000g+</TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>02-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>775g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU-3mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>mich</TD><TD>31-Jan-05</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>600g&720g</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>NICU&SCN-3.5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious_one</TD><TD>06-Feb-05</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>710g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-5mths 28 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>yvonne (voncm)</TD><TD>24-Aug-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1480g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>NICU-8wks, SCN-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>kkf</TD><TD>15-Oct-05</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU+SCN-2mths 3 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>disneymickey</TD><TD>25-Feb-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1450g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2.5wks, SCN-0.5wk </TD></TR><TR><TD>naddy (telly)</TD><TD>16-Mar-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1136g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-2wks, SCN-4wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>stressed</TD><TD>31-May-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1890g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>NICU-13days </TD></TR><TR><TD>costa</TD><TD>22-Jun-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>750g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>NICU-14wks, SCN-8wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>luana</TD><TD>18-Jul-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1164g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-27days, SCN-53days </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheaky</TD><TD>05-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1900g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane (neoah)</TD><TD>12-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>985g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>NICU-2mths, SCN-1mth </TD></TR><TR><TD>jacelyn tey</TD><TD>14-Aug-06</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1510g&1190g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>57 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>mummylian</TD><TD>07-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1034g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>NICU-38days SCN-20days </TD></TR><TR><TD>chloegal</TD><TD>21-Sep-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2000g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN- 5 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>puppyduppy</TD><TD>16-Oct-06</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1140g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>nana</TD><TD>13-Dec-06</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2185g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>myfab</TD><TD>14-Dec-06</TD><TD>Girl&Girl</TD><TD>1118g & 780g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>3mths&4mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>lindah</TD><TD>04-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>680g</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5mths 18 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>didi</TD><TD>18-Feb-07</TD><TD>Boy&Boy</TD><TD>1520g & 1610g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>4.5wks&9wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>amy</TD><TD>15-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>641g</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>80 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili</TD><TD>30-Apr-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1400g</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>6 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>flora</TD><TD>18-May-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2334g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>SCN-2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>picky</TD><TD>01-Aug-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>850g</TD><TD>26</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>alicia</TD><TD>03-Oct-07</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1500g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>SCN-21 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>fairylander</TD><TD>15-Nov-07</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1628g</TD><TD>36</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>irenelovej</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1600g</TD><TD>34</TD><TD>NICU-3wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>geraldine</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy&Girl</TD><TD>1500g & 1700g</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>NICU-6wks </TD></TR><TR><TD>adeline lee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>815g</TD><TD>29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD></TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1015g</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>48days </TD></TR><TR><TD>kai</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2100g</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>15 days </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="330033">hi alicia,
so sorry to hear abt ur boy.... pai seh...i no time to read the details yet...
stay strong & be brave!! ur boy wld be fine!!
oh, btw, ur fren is my neighbour lar..not the other way ard..u think think ..a fren who lives in tiong bahru area?? catch up with u another day!! stay positive re ur boy, ok?</font>

hi didi
yeah lor and i want to encourage his imagination (EQ) ah...I quite often had role play games with him. there was once we play soliders fighting war at home. then papa kanna have to lay flat (pretend kanna shot) haha then eeeeeee my boy go and pull open his eye :p

oh tonight are you going? wow..happy shopping if u does

Jane
Siang so clever. Can pretend play liao.
Go get kitchen sets for him.
My boys love to "cook" for me.
Before they feed me, they will blow the "food" and said, "hot, hot! I blow".
Next they said " Mama, open mouth".
Finally, "Mama, Nice?"

Didi
I KPO, went to see Lindah's Blog. Wah! So much shopping.....
I just came back from PS, looking for something to wear for our company dinner next week. It will be held at the beach, so obviously dress code is beach wear. Need to hunt for new sun dresses..... Any ideas?

hi nana
of course jane remember you (i had your name in the table that you send to me earlier) cos you been so nice always updating the table for us (erh can PM me the updated file please :p).

i think can remove kai name...

xbliss
you wanna put bryan name into our table :p

Jane, so cute, the way you and your hb play with Siang Siang
, nice... next time, will make my 2 'soldiers' to shoot their daddy
, did you buy him those pistols with rubber bullets ?, boys get to play this, gals will be playing masa masa.

hello mich

oh you call it pretend play ah?......kitchen sets? hahaha can i use those plates and cups i have at home hahaha. pai say, its not about money but i no time to go anywhere (to shop) to buy for such toys (unless happen to see it). your 2 boys so smart
sayang mama.

wow! so your company dinner at the beach (i gather its sentosa pah). cool! wow...imagine beatiful mich wearing floating skirt and sexy top ;) chio ler

Mich, hmmm sundresses, so far I seen some at Island Shop at Tangs (not sure if it is nice)

Hey, I just realised when I looked at the chart, D&E gonna be 3 years old next year, wow you can 'shake legs' a bit me still long way ....