Premature babies support group

xbliss,
i went 4 hair rebond after confinement. else 'no face to c pple' haha

precious,
tough choice. cc advantage is can relief my parents but disadvantage is the long hrs, scared my ger cannot tahan. playgroup disadvantage is not near my place. urrgghh..anyway, next mon will go 4 sch hunting.

so tired today. today my hubby got reservist, got to wake up at 6am. think the 2 of us din sleep well last nite. kept waking up. juz now went 4 the sata annual health check, the person say my blood pressure @140/90 & 2nd reading 119/89 is high (??) but i went 4 papsmear 2mths ago, BP check @gynae was ok. i conclude is due to the insufficient sleep last nite haha. anyway, gg 4 gynae review (4 the lump in my ovary) next mth, will chk BP again

Costa
D&E attending pre-nursery aka N1 - 3 hours.
Is it same as playgroup? I thought playgroup is for those 18 - 30 mths - 1.5 hours session?
There is no childcare at that school. They have classes from Pre nursery to K2.

mich,
oh i see...i din noe..i thot d and e gg to a cc but just attend classes and not staying the full day....

my elder son's cc got lidat one..got kids attend N1 or play group watever but they onli stay a couple of hrs

but i can, i dun tink i wld let bern go to the same school...standards really low....

mich,
tks
another PR for kkh haha.me n hubby really like kkh.

costa,
tks for the direction not hard to find actually hehe.cathrina conditiion is good she can drink and digest well.btw wat time is the premie awarness start on 30 nov i try to go if i can.

abt the childcare i try ask my hubby tonite coz he is running childcare centre coz from wat i know his centre give free trail.wil update 2nite.

fairylander,
how are you?
u shd be in confinement now right?

me oso nt sure wat time exactly the prem day starts but there wld be a book launch tt day....

good tt cathrina is doing well.......any further updates fm the doctor?hv u been expressing bm?

good day mummies

just back from the KKH jumperoo! i called the physio and occupational therapy classrooms like jumperoo because so much toys (swing, pusher etc) inside. I feel like doing all the games with siang ler :p. hardly have so much toys for his selection at home wor...

siang really enjoy playing with the swing and such...and of course the BIG and Small gym balls hahahaha. I had to practically drag him out of the room before he 'ask' for all the balls to be bring down from the rack :p

The next appointment is next month.

Hello mummylian,
Read about your concerns. hey, cheer up. things will be ok one
. eat well and rest many many.

Time-off? actually to be truthful because earlier this year, siang had quite a number of appointments to go to (plus the one at SGH ENT Centre) henace for most of the reviews, i ask for 'off' . i would love to bring him to meet sweet little Ezann ... but...well. never mind well i am sure have chance. must depend on ms costa to arrange keke...

Costa
feel the arrowing flying acrossing haha

here is raining cats and dogs. i am really tired after the work out this morning. but ..... the jumperoo at KKH really quite fun :p but of course had to paid a price for it (being payment for the physio and occupational theraphist fee) :p

Costa
Low standard means what?
Your area has quite a few reputable ones... You know lah... Those BIG names.
Most important is Bern must feel comfortable.

Jane
Waiting for you to come in.
Did you check out our posters? Hee....
Glad to hear that Siang enjoyed the jumperoo.
The toys and playground-like-kind of set up really attract the kids!
During the boys last review, I also joined in the fun. Very chuan after that.

So, how was the review?

precious_one..
thanks..was wondering how come start so late.....dun noe where got time to do so many thgs like wat they mentioned on the flyer..like performance..etc.

mich,
low standard means the place not say vy big, dun look clean and the worse thg is the teachers' england not vy good...although i must say generally they care for the students

but the england really terok loh...not say my england vy good lah but we are teaching small kids here you noe...aiyoh one day i demo to you the way teacher talks...u sure peng...

once i saw mistakes in their dictation passage and i told the principal and she said they saw the mistakes and yet when they were reciting it to the students, they recited the wrong thg and the students wrote the wrong thing..wah lau, can u imagine..?

i sound like so bitchy but its true loh....

and i also dun noe how come i can let my son study there for like four years...tink i just was too lazy thats all

but my parents plus sister say lucky they accepted my son for all the pblems he caused

cmg to tink abt it, all the teachers miss my son leh....u noe why....my parents and sister say its becuz of wat naughty thgs he had done hahahah......

the teachers still contact me, say they wanna see him but thk the feeling is not mutual, kekek.....

Hello pretty mich

Really chuan hor. review ah ok ah. the physio did not went that well as siang was so busy trying to play classroom soccer with another bigger boy (who was that at the same time) :p. that boy was suppose to kick and pick ball as exercise...my dear boy (instead of focusing on his own due exercises) go and join him...sigh.

i so pai say as the physio lady was trying so hard to get him to do his duly assign exercise wor.

but all in all, i have to train his hand muscle so that he can lift himself up.

But at the occupational therephy room, all went very well. after the few exercise, the lady give me some home work and say that.. as todate la hor, siang scoring accorindly to the performance chart, can say its on par to his actual age. ..dunno how much percentile keke.

hey hey, you know there is this big tyre kind of swing in the OT room. wow siang swing and swing inside (suppose to be for warm up only) :p.

no ler, did not check out the posters (as i dunno where to look for haha) then already running late for work (me alone with siang and maid actually).

Costa
wow...bern almost realy for child care too hor.... for siang i think i have to fast look for something too.

costa
dun know lei, i thot u KKH PRO, may be u find out... hahaha,, i think it is going to be sardine pack cos it is only half a day thingy, plus the food court will be crowded - then all go hungry

Costa, is the childcare nearby your home ? thot I rem seeing a big childcare nearby (not too sure it nursery or childcare ?)
does your workplace has any childcare nearby ? some commercial bldgs have childcare in the bldg and being tenant of the bldg, they give concession rate too

precious_one,
tks i try to be there.

costa,
im ok juz feel abit painful wif the wound sometimes.im doing my confinement now.im giving my ger brestmilk for the since last 2 days coz previously no milk hehe.i wanna ask u hor,my ger now taking abt 18ml each feed,can i put my breastmilk in a few container so tat it wont waste?coz everytime i express i got ard 50 to 70ml.

DM, oh ya, that's true, rem my colleagues will not bring their kids if they are on leave, you mean your new workplace at Changi Biz Park have got cc ? sorry, (hope not too intrusive) can I know if your office is near IBM ?

jane,
no lah, not sendg bern to childcare..i bu she de....anyway, since i got my maid at home..so not so soon....his immunity is not quite there so better dun let him go so soon...

mai kia (dun scared)..lah, me not gg to enrol him so soon....still got long way to go.as i said before even go cc also must hv standby help

precious one,
yah,haha, will find out next wk if i got the time..dpds on my work

didi,
no not the cc near my hse corner, tt one dem BIG..its a small one further inside the small roads..

my office got cc but vy ma fun to bring him there..i dun drive n they dun hv tpt fm my hse..

i noe a hb and wife put their children there and they got featured in one parentg magazine..then by the time the magazine featured them.they had already withdrawn the kids and hired a maid at home..becuz when it was raining, they found it vy troublesome to brg the two kids there

oso, cc near office or home oso got their own pros and cons....if you are on leave n you nd yr kid to go to cc, u also vy mafun, get wat i mean?tis i must agree wif dmickey..

fairylander.
tink you can divide the milk and put into separate containers..remember to label them wif date etc.....

try to build up supply now since its the crucial window period...

fairylander,
u can pour the amt ur ger is drinking into milk bottle or watever used 2 feed her, then keep the remainder in fridge/freezer (depend on how much u hav).

ya, dun waste.. breastmilk v precious

didi,
ya, there's a childcare near my office (in changi biz park) but i heard not v gd. yes, my office near IBM..continue guessing.

hi costa
ya..bern so cute and i find that your maid is doing quite a good job
and home education is somehow best. me too, no intention to bring siang to cc...

hello xbliss

hows bryan doing? oh oh wanted to tell you. siang was in SCN(Blue) too :p. got one nurse her name is Jacqueline (not sure if she still there) she very pretty and tall. i had deep impression of her hahahha..somemore can still remember her name hahahah :p. and of course i still remember a few of the SCN nurse too la.

Costa, ya, the point that DM and you mentioned is so true
used to think that it is convenient to go work and put your kid in the nearby workplace, so guess it is not so ideal

DM, aiyoh, how to guess ? just saw the IBM bldg last sat

Called up tots house to ask if withdraw can take back anything, but sadly, the pax said cannot, not even 50% leh! Precious one, appletree better.

Think have to stick with it liao. Never mind, think for time being will let him try tots house.

If his behavior getting worse, I may consider putting him into full day childcare in sengkang so that the teachers can teach him instead of my in laws.

Hi fairylander, wow your hubby opens childcare? where? needs teacher? can reserve place for me to be teacher? hee...thats what I want to be when I have more money!

Anyway, jane, kkh got so fun place? I didn't know leh...everytime I brought my boy to kkh, we just sat there on the seats, looking anxiously at the number waiting for our turn...haha. Never even know there is such place! I think I must go walk around more. Anyway, sometimes me sooo afraid that my boy touch here n there and garna germs! kiasi!!!

Nice meeting you disneymickey! hope the bags are right! Hey i think you really have 10 bags! opps! where does the extra comes from? die...help me see ok? anyway, me really blur from sorting all the bags! I tell myself, no more running of bulk purchase anymore! want my life!

Btw, you look so slim leh! wow, me must work hard liao! eat less work out more (like teach less learn more that is going on in school nowadays!)

costa, which centre is that you talking? anyway, I have went around the childcares, think most are like that, the teachers ang moh not so good one.

kkf
I must send withdrawal letter by 1 Dec 2007 in order to get back the 50%. I have not done it yet. I will attend MMI trial on 3 Dec and I also haven't go and book a place today cos raining. Very tired today. But MMI registration fee alone already $100/- and two weeks trial will cost $272.50. Want my life hor (quote your words).

Tots House website looks good. Don't change unless necessary.

kkh,
my hubby is running cherrie hearts@ harbour front.i cant remember whether he need teacher or nanny atm coz few weeks ago he told me b4.if u keen i can ask hehe

wah.. the mummies here very educational. work as teacher, operate cc. hehe. looks like we have got quite a network here going.

fairylander,
I think i saw your bb in the isolation room. She is with another bb right?

50-70ml is very good for a start. Keep to your 3-hourly schedule and you will soon have more milk. Ask the nurses or docs for domperidon tablets if supply does not increase over next few days. Pls divide your milk into quantities of like 20ml so no wastage at SCN side. Ask the nurses everyday cos the amount to divide will be based on how much your girl drinks. You can freeze all the milk before bringing to KKH in a cooler bag. Pls make sure the freezer is free of raw stuff as much as possible to avoid contamination. I'll be there on friday too. Will tap on the isolation room window if i see u! (hopefully the nurses dun think i am crazy!) err.. i dun think the person u saw was me.. the docs at SCN never want to talk to me or attend to bryan when i am there.. they will attend to every other baby first.

updates on bryan
Today got to change his diaper.. he cry like mad cos mummy here hands like legs and keep getting the diaper tangled in all the wires. Then he decided to pass wind to entertain mummy (first time hear him pass wind), and last but not least, pee all over himself and his bed. sigh...a lot of work for the nurse.

Tmr he has review with senior doc so i will be there to ask questions.

precious_one,
the pace at SCN too fast. i never remember to read their name tags.. will try to look out for sister yuen. But anyway, i got a lot of spare milk so i think i might just throw out those few bottles pumped immediately after the rebonding to play safe..

disneymickey
i have slowly rescheduled the pumps to 5 times a day. I can't do 4 times.. engorged like mad! so pain!!!!! so i get to pump only once in the middle of the night which helps me get more sleep. luckily the quantity didn't decrease but end up increasing. just that it takes longer to empty the breasts when i do less times.

costa,
so sorry i haven't managed to get the test i promised you. been crazy at work cos always peak period at year end. I have scheduled to take leave twice a week cos i am burning out soon. Will pm u once i get the test.

xbliss,
ya my bb is in isolated room wif another bb today.i wont be gg on friday i think but sat n sun i wil be there.hope to see u.all the best to bryan

wow, heard cherie hearts before.

Tots house got website meh? I search and search, never see?

sooo cute! bryan must be wanting to give the nurses work to do! thats right mah, else the nurses will have no rice bowl.

Oh yah, think I found the website, the one combine with jenius kindergarten webpage right?

I dunno, I want to change, mainly because I see my boy getting more and more naughty. I am afraid that if my in laws keep protecting him, then in the end he will turn out to be one of the rascals in my school. Actually I have heard parents of those rascals talking "oh, his gong gong is too protective towards him lor, so he becomes like that." thats not the case for one rascal, it is the case for several rascals!

Haiz...me worry, and sweat! I dun want my boy to end up very naughty in class. So thinking maybe I shd put him in sengkang childcare instead, and bring him there in the morning, and bring home at night. i know very pitiful, but I really dun wan my in laws to spoilt him. They told me themselves, at their house, my boy will be running about and they will be chasing after him everywhere! Thats not the case for my house. For my house, he is afraid of this terrifying mummy, and he will behave.

I dunno...I dun wan him to get sick, I dun wan him to be bullied, yet I dun wan him to be spoilt.

Mummies any advice? I think have asked you before, but then I can tell you, the kids nowadays are really too spoilt by their grandpas and grandmas and become very bad in behaviour, I dun bluff you. I saw those kids in my class with my own eyes (they are all taken care of by grandpas and grandmas).

If I can afford, I will take care of him myself. But if I take care of him myself, I think we will have problem surviving and having next child.

Btw, tomorrow psle results release, really hope my kids do well in chinese language.

xbliss,
take longer time to pump means more milk, which is gd 4 bryan. dun complain
keep it up

kkf,
juz sms u. got 1 extra yellow. the precious faith not the "precious" in this thread? if yes, gd, cos she's oso staying ard cck area, can pass to her. if not, i can take it & pay U? grin

tots hse i oso heard b4, shld b q gd rt? i've a fren who's staying in sengkang, he sent his kid to a cc in sengkang area, he say it's q gd. u wan? i can ask him 4 ref.

me no slim la. ytd juz had a SATA checkup, i've put on 1kg alrdy la :p must go on diet, but mouth itchy leh

kkf,
tat's oso the reason y i was thinking of putting my ger to childcare. cos she's juz being spoilt (rotten) @ my parents' place.

on sun at home, she tripped over a stand & hurt her legs. but she learnt. cos when i asked her if she wans to go there again? she shaked her head cos she knows it's painful. but my mom say not so at her place, she hurt her fingers while playing w drawers, but still carry on playing. i told my mom at my hse, she dare not play w drawers cos we juz need to stare at her, she'll stop.

but ya la, bit poor thing lor, so young go sch. but i always tell myself, it's 4 her own gd. she can learn 2 b more sociable, & more independent. n the sch can teach her more things which her ah gong & ah ma will not teach her.

tat's y i tot maybe go half day, then remaining half ah gong & ah ma still get to play w her.

dunno la. v fan over this childcare thing

Aiyo, 1 kg only! hee. Me still got dunno how many kgs to slim down.

No lar, not same. Our precious here is precious one, not faith...

Where you staying? I try to get it back? the precious faith is not staying around sengkang too. Actually maybe she is staying near your place.

Tots hse good? It is not whether it is good leh, now my concern is, I shd let my boy in full day childcare so that my in laws wun be able to spoil him...

kkf,
but i lost 5kg after birth (finally!!!) i dun wan to put on leh.

ok, u find out where precious faith is staying then let me know. i'm on leave on fri to tues. u sms me.

maybe u try halfday childcare 1st? at least slowly let them & dash get used to childcare 1st.

kkf/DM
Looks like three of us here are cracking our head on cc. I intend to put my gal in MMI pm cc first cos though she isn't look after grandparents, she is just too sticky on me and refuse to greet anyone except her parents. She will also cover her eyes when strangers/whoever come close to her. Too shy and she wants mummy to do everything for her, so not independent....So I also have to hen xia xin lai, put her in cc for half day. But owing to her eating skills not so good, I'll put her in pm cc so that only one snack item will be given which I will provide them with cereal/milk. Having said this, I will go on trial on 3 Dec for two weeks first and see how well she settles in or feel the school/teachers. I'm surprised to learn that for pm cc, they will repeat the morning curriculum at 2 pm in the afternoon when the full day children are sleeping. So if things turn out well, my gal will have 3 hrs of N1 programme with MMI instead of 1.5 hr playgroup with appletree. I can pick her up anytime before 7pm. Sounds good to me but still have to see her adaptability.

precious one,
which MMI u gg?
cos when i chk out the kinderland, they told me am & pm schedule is diff. eg. if they teach chinese in am, they'll teach english in pm. so if my ger attend am, she'll miss the english lessons, & if attend pm, will miss chinese lessons.

I'm going to the one at Phoenix Walk cos no air-con and housed in a landed property. The one at ten mile junction - the aircon is powerful boy but it is a newer centre. 2yrs old. look very clean and bright. Phonenix Walk one is already 7 yrs old so the furniture as in those built in kind look old liao. Must mention that both centres am session are full too. They open for parents viewing/inspection on Sat from abt 1000 hrs.

Costa/preciousone
The lymph node is still 'swollen' but u must pressed n touch.Can't see with the naked eye. She is not sick le(touchwood)

Jane
Ya! No worries. Will definitely have a chance to meet up! Guess Ms Costa will definitely be glad to arrange the next gathering.. Heee

KKF
Can see the big discussion about putting ur little ones in the childcare. I personally don like to put my little ones in the child care. As u say, they tend to fall sick easier. But on the discipline issue, can't say much lor, cos grandparents definitely dote on the little ones. My two elder ones were never in CCs. They are not very well behaved, but i guess, that's jus BOYS. Especially when there r 2.As i told Costa, let them be, just lead them to the correct behavior. We can only guide wat. Perhaps, i take things lighter cos my attention span must be subdivided
Hope ur kids do well in ther PSLE. Come next year, will be my eldest boy turn:p

mummylian,
haha, want to "hai4 wo3" to arrange the gathering?

lets make it on nov 30 then...a mini one..organised by kkh and got free performance and launch of book, can?hahah...

wait till u see my elder son's real behaviour..u sure see alrady cannot tahan one..

kkf,
my son cc is vy near my hse...better dun mention the name here..haha, if not,their enrolment goes down...haha..

xbliss,
no hurry on the test as i noe you are busy..take yr time

didi,
u sure you wanna go back to wk..both got pros and cons..not easy to find a balance..i m struggling oso actually

Yah, precious one, really a big headache on choosing childcare. Today me dun have anything on in school, so brought my boy to "My little cottage" also in sengkang. Heard colleague said forum mummies staying in sengkang mentioned this centre is good.

When I went there, wow! seems like quite a lot of kids in a class, the pax said around 12 in a class. Tots house got lesser kids, and the environment is less complicated, only 2 teachers with few kids.

Then the pax brought me to walk around, nothing special. I find all childcares the same. Yah, the pax who spoke to me ang moh better, but not sure if she is a teacher, maybe she is a supervisor or admin staff.

Actually I find that the childcare nearby my place (faith educare) even better, cause they got enrichment like speech and drama during curriculum and is cheaper.

I really think all childcares about the same. How you gauge whether one is good har? I realised nearby got kinderland too!

Dunno, still deciding where to place my boy, headache!!!

Disneymickey, ok, let me ask preciousfaith first, not sure where she is staying.

Mummylian,

Boys are boys, they tend to be naughtier, but I def see a lot of very well behaved boys in my school. Dun mention boys, nowadays gals are also very naughty.

I guess a lot have to depend on how parents control and teach the child. Very difficult. As a teacher, having seen soooo many difficult kids, frankly, I am really afraid that my boy will become one of them, so really got to try to control him since young.

Costa, I agree... many mommies that I know advised me not to return to workforce and take care of the boys myself citing many reasons. You also at this dilemma ?

kkf, knowing that you have bot some Leapfrog toys for Dash, did you happen to buy those Leappad ? that you can insert the book cartridge kind ? as I realised that that certain leappads is for certain age group, being the KS mommy, I want to know if that's one that can last till 4 years old ? and if it is useful ?

hello all mummies

hi kkf,
No la...its the physio/occupational theraphist class room that i refer to as like gymboree because inside got lots of toys and such

mummylian/costa
sob sob..i cannot join in for the gathering on 30 Nov wor...do have fun and must post a lot of picture for me after the event and must show me if dash is to perform singing.

all mummies who is discussing on child care/school..wow.. so much to put into consideration. i wish someone can collate the information that we are discussing then we compare notes hehehehe... :p

kkf
You are right, most ccs look the same so you must attend a few days trial with them to see how teachers work/speak/talk. How's the lessons conducted etc. Eg. I attend a 3 days trial with a cc before, half the class has running nose but the teachers didn't bother to clean them. So can you imagine the children looked dirty always. The food preparation, the kitchen, cleaniness of school and toilets and also the type of toys used. Safety also. Like the gate, the door (lock or not) anyone can walk in freely etc. If it is near a main road, safety is very important. At the end of the day, it is based on your guts feel.

Jane (neoah)
When my gal attend OT session and it happened to be the room with the tyre swing etc. wah, she also dun want to go home. Have to drag her out.

precious one, can trial one? Oh yah, My little cottage mentions can bring my boy to get used to environment in december for a week or so before starting school.

Hmm...you are right, maybe I shd do just that! since I am free in december.

Didi, mine is for bigger child I think. Mine is leadpad learning system. My boy doesn't really know how to read yet, he just use the pen to point here point there and listen to voice.

hello precious_one
so you know about the tyre swing. i thought that was really awesome they actually have it there :p

kkf
The last one I attended, the trial is only for 3 days am trial, then must decide liao. But on the 4th day, I went during their breakfast time thinking that I want to sign my gal on but it was a chaos, cos the teachers were so bz and I saw the 18mth toddler fell off the chair. So I carried my gal and drove home right away. I noticed that the chinese teacher (which is for my gal's age, was very very careless). For MMI, the trial is for 2 weeks but I have to pay registration $100 and 2 weeks trial $272.50. So total of $372.50 for pm trial.

So if you want Dash to attend full day trial, you must watch out carefully on everything including how they bathe your Dash. hahaha

Jane (neoah)
I knew KKH facilities pretty well by now.