Premature babies support group

Costa, Yup Yup you should work for KKH's PR Dept, esp in Children's Dept
didn't get mcuh @ Raffles City, just get groceries from Jason's, with the 2 bums at this age shopping is IMPOSSIBLE ! Btw, saw the Chee Cheong Fun with YTF that Zach ate, looks SO YUMMY !!!!

good morning (though not 2 early) mommies,

so many posts to catch up.

was on leave on fri, cos hubby's bd. went out 4 a gd lunch @goodwood park hotel. but kenna diarrhea in the afternoon haha. must b the oysters la :p
then came home & watch dvd. we hav tons unwatched!

sat brought my ger swimming at BIL's place. she enjoyed herself so much. then dinner @dempsey place. so bz hor. something evil (but made me so happy), my ger refused to b carried by MIL, even though she used my nephew as bait (ie. told my ger bring her to find gor-gor, but she still refused). tat's how my ger returned her bias :p
ok, enuff of being evil.

congrats to fairylander & welcome to motherhood.
n lindah aka hope, ur post on mr x real funny.

this fri till next tues will b on leave, cos my parents gg vietnam, i got to take leave & b a housewife & full-time mommy. intend to bring her shopping on fri, zoo on mon & tues (tues including my nephew). lucky company got zoo pass, so FOC

gg do some work now. ltr then write

DM, wow, you have a exciting weekend, hmm Dempsey place, read that they have nice restaurants and a spa there ? That time, I went only saw a few nice art galleries, and interior fittings shops there
you really have all the plans ready for this cmg weekend too

hello disneymickey

wow...sound like your ger going to have a fun filled week. sometime i wish i can take leave and be with my boy too... but alas leave is never enough for me.

hello didi
oh...my poster was submitted on Saturday morning
. me .... sob sob. no ler, i don't have leave...otherwise sure will go and meet up with you mummies (and bring my boy along). sianz..cannot go...

erh...i have a thought. tomorrow i bringing my boy for physiotherapy session. hehehehe...i will go and peek at the posters :p.

lindah
yeah lor ur dedication and all e mummies who go SCN/NICU so often, so late is admirable, wah.one day, this will be fodder for talk to our kids. see how mummy& daddy love u,go hospital everyday,take care of u like siao everyday hehe. must listen to mummy daddy ah ? kwai
hehe

didi/mich,
haha hp kkh offers me a job after this, hahaha....if really work there, wld be so busy until pengsan, wldnt hv time to log in n skive during wkg hrs..

didi,
the ccf wif yong tau foo is in jb..no lah, nt tt nice..the coffee shop is so dirty..doubt you wld dare to eat after gg to the toilet...if in spore, sure fail the hygiene rating one..

for me is okay, the dirtier the place, the nicer the food hahahah...

wah, high class, shop at jasons huh..i go there and bio the food but seldom buy thgs from there...expensive huh?

if shop wif kids, really must hit and run..wif my elder son i can..brg him together into the fitting room..smtimes he can give me comments when i ask him "nice or not"..if i try a bottom...he can tell me "nice but not wif this top" hahahha.....

jane/didi,
ya got plans. but i predict i'll b soo tired tat i'll prob need take leave & go some retail therapy 4 myself

kkf,
my personal view, though the schichida teaching is gd, but got to depend on individual kid la. maybe dash doesn't like it, so he's not 'performing' as well during classes. it's gd tat u observe & withdraw him b4 u waste more $ & make him lagi pissed. maybe other classes appeal more to him.

i'm oso having a headache on choosing a sch 4 my ger. initially wanted to send her to halfday childcare frm jan. but now, looking at playgroup. but the prob is, my parents got to fetch her here & there. more inconvenient 4 them. but i felt it's gd 4 her to interact with kids her age.

jane/didi,
ya got plans. but i predict i'll b soo tired tat i'll prob need take leave & go some retail therapy 4 myself

kkf,
my personal view, though the schichida teaching is gd, but got to depend on individual kid la. maybe dash doesn't like it, so he's not 'performing' as well during classes. it's gd tat u observe & withdraw him b4 u waste more $ & make him lagi pissed. maybe other classes appeal more to him.

i'm oso having a headache on choosing a sch 4 my ger. initially wanted to send her to halfday childcare frm jan. but now, looking at playgroup. but the prob is, my parents got to fetch her here & there. more inconvenient 4 them. but i felt it's gd 4 her to interact with kids her age.

Costa, no, lah, didn't usually buy things from Jasons, happen to be there, then buy lor. I don't mind if the coffeeshop is dirty, just don't look around and don't visit the toilet, will be ok lor
Zach so nice can give you comments for shopping, does he make noise when you shop for your things ? as some of the boys I know they will make noise until you get some toys for them prior to shopping your own things
, hope my boys will be like Zach too.

DM, retail therapy is the BEST therapy

didi,
my son now is asking for ridiculous thgs ..tink he kena influenced by his frens in school..imagine he is in neighbourhood school,nia..he asks for thgs like xbox, dun noe wat psp, handphone..

i just pretend not to hear and juz ignore him..hahah...

last time he more kuai, wun make so much noise, now he would.....oso now adays also seldom shop wif him cos got bern and also not much time since he started gg to 'big school' tis year...

Costa, this is what me and hb worry too, how to stop them from gtg these such electronics games,
we don't like them to be addicted to such gadgets, as one of hb's friend son got addicted to PC's games etc and became a changed boy
Till one fine day, the daddy remove the PC from home and he became 'normal' again ..... Btw, my hb also addicted to Xbox too, b4 we had the boys, he can play until 2am !

Holiday for me? but me in school now...sian. Morning got department review, then I am one of the very unlucky one selected for people's developer interview for my school. Got to wait till 3pm. Else can go home. Now busy going thru the powerpoint slides school has made for us to read soooo sianz.

Jane n didi! I submit my poster on saturday noon. I dun consider as poster, cause it is slightly smaller than A4 size...haha. I submitted two. One is the montage I did, the other is something my hubby did.

Oh mummies, I have also printed a A4 size poster of the montage I have did for our premature babies from motherhood forum. Hope you all dun mind! I am thinking since I have already done it, might as well print out for KKH preemie awareness day.

Costa, yah, nowadays kids are like that...sigh!

mummylian, some babies like 9 months already attending shichida. But frankly, they are very money minded. If distance not a problem, why not try baby jumper gym which is cheaper, and program around the same. It is at bukit batok.

disneymickey you are right, I think not all courses are suitable for all kids. My boy is simply not a shichida boy.

fairylander, think your gal will just stay in scn not long, maybe 1-2 weeks. About enlarged kidney, how is it like? My friend's gal has only one kidney but is very healthy leh.

hello mummies
just got news from my agent that my boy Personal Accident policy has been approved. hmmm...wow...must put back wards some of my plans to buy certain things liao :p

hi kkf,
am sure thou your poster is very nice. i wish i can have a look hehehe...can u PM me the picture (if you got take).

Jane,
forgot to tell you tt my son's insurance had been rejected due to all d issues tt he had/has...anyway, gv up this idea at the moment....

costa,
me oso looking for insurance for bb, which one did you try? but i think hami still too young.

jane,
where did you take the insurance from?

lindah,
i tried to buy insurance from my company's sister company..u noe which one lah...anyway, i sort of expected it lah with all d issues he has..tink pbly..he can try again when he is 3 yrs old..

tink the one which i tried to buy is for health..all these insurance thgs are beyond my knowledge and understanding....

hello mummies
about insurance haha. me really knock at a few doors. am pending one on whole life with one agency (PM me please hehe)

i am trying for whole life policy with child n major illness coverage right now.

hi Hope
The PA i got is from AIA but then it exclude any accident of hearing loss because my boy has already got a record on that. other wise, everything is in.

hami is still young. i opt for the PA cos. thought ok to buy :p

costa
i heard from my agent is ok...just try at a later stage (i actully been ask by some agency to try when my boy turn 2 years old. but they told me, haha can try every year :p). because their health condition will improve over time. so its ok la.

Jane, Costa, I wanted to get H&S too, but rejected till they are 3 years later
ya, maybe I can try next year too

jane,
will pm you another day..vy fan2..waste my time...

didi,
wat to do ?tis insurance cos vy one kind..preemies oso shld be q alright..cmon who wants to claim tt kind of money, tio bo?

costa/jane,
tx. i think i will try when he is 18mths onwards.
so far NTUC has good coverage but they tell me due to premature will need a lot of underwriting n most likely they will only consider when 2yrs old. my current financial planner is w manulife. din even bother to ask him since i sorta know right now too many issues. see how lah.

Very busy leh... So sian.

Some updates on the boys. Brought them to their new school on Saturday for orientation programme.
Dylan, as usual, mingled with the other kids easily. Evans needed encouragement and preferred us to be around him while he played.
Have to train him to be more independent.
Both were ok with the place and teachers and they said : I like my school when we left the place.
Bought school uniforms too. Will take pictures and show you all.

Mummies with 2006 kids Registration for your kids 2009 playgroup can start as early as March/ April 2008. Vacancies in the popular schools will be snatched up very quickly. Do keep a look out.

Costa
T3 still very bare now...
Can smell the new-ness.

KKF
Regarding Shichida, in my personal opinion, I think it is the environment.
Very structured, very restricted. You know... The typical Japanese style.
Dylan was used to those fun environment which he learns through play.
He cried a few times before entering the Shichida classroom. It never happened to him when we brought them for other classes. So we are very sure that he is not comfortable there.
Hence, we decided to stop for the time being and may continue again next year.
One of their classmates is very good. He can do most of the activities and can concentrate in class.
So at the end of the day, it depends on the child. Follow the cue of your child.

DisneyMickey
Dempsey is very happening now. Where did you eat?
Au Petit Salut? Prime Society? Margarita? Hee...

Didi
I can hardly shop with the boys too.
Have to take leave and go shopping.

hello didi
my company has H&S cover for dependant. hence...for now my boy follow me. but i am trying to get whole life for him as a basic start.

costa/hope.
actually, after i tried with a few...i find that its better to try a bit later when our baby is more grown up and have lesser issue. so that not so much underwriting required. so its ok to hold and wait.

hello mich

wow...they are big boys, go school liao. hmm 2006 born bb can go in 2009? erh...wow..so fast like that hor. but u are right. time i think if shld bio which playgroup (maybe a special one for my boy) can go....but shall see how...

mich,
ate at a korean bbq restaurant. fed my ger porridge b4 gg. so when there, she juz ate her favourite - mushroom. finished 2 plates of those appetiser. made daddy to go ask 4 more, but sadly, they run out of mushroom haha. food ok la, but i prefer Gyu Kaku (oso BBQ) @ chimes

jane,
happy bio-ing 4 childcare/playgroup. i having headache now, dunno childcare or playgroup. next mon & tues, will bring my ger to look ard. must let her go in & c if she likes the place or not.

hello DM,
wow....your ger know how to appreciate good food ler. hehe so fast right, x'mas round the corner
. have you decide on the next trip?

jane,
ya man. not many kids, even adults, like mushrooms. but she loves them - button mushroom, shitake, chinese or golden mushroom .

not yet. but hav decided not gg batam

hi disneymickey,
mushroom is good for our body
. oh ok, me for sure not going anywhere keke - maybe just jio a few friends come my house and have a small year end kind of party keke :p

mich how come got orientation? my son's tots house dun have leh...I heard others talking about orientation too. dun tell me tots house soo lousy?

Mommies, sorry huh, a bit 'mountain tortise' here
so am I correct to say my boys must start playgroup first, nursery and K1 K2 huh ?

i am really zombified already..now so tired to post. After starting work, life is really like robot. I get to sleep only 6 hrs a day due to waking up to milk at night and it has zapped the life out of me. But i am perservering cos i know it will be even more haywire when bryan is back! arghhh!!! hopefully bryan can follow SCN routine next time. haha.

I missed so many posts but really no time to read.

Fairylander,
Yes, we can meet. bryan is in SCN blue bed 50. your girl? come look for me tomorrow evening lah. i'll be there from about 7pm. Are you diligently expressing bm for cathrina? must keep up with it k?

didi,
that sounds like the correct order. Nursery is also divided into N1 and N2.

some updates on bryan
today he passed his first eye review (with flying colors i hope!) hehe. So far so good, he din get purple eyes like what another mummy said so i not so sim tia.. hehe. but to make sure he is ok, i kangarooed him again just to give him the encouragement. hehe. but today breast engorged so kangaroo very painnnnnn!!!! he like to scratch that area somemore...

precious,
ur hair so straight already still rebond?! aiyoh! i was thinking to myself how nice if i have ur hair! i really cannot tahan the mess.. going for rebonding soon as it has gotten onto my nerves and affected my self image!

And last but not least,
my company camp confirmed on 30th.. BUT i no need to go cos it's outdoor and in wilderness (i.e. forest or some hill) so i am exempted cos i can't possibly express under some tree and behind some leaf! which means i can get to see all the pretty mummies, handsome daddies, and cute little ones!!! wish bryan can be there to join u all to rally for the cause but i suppose not! next yr maybe!

kkf,
my ger left kidney enlarge is due to dilated ureter.the pd at kkh told me yesterday tat they will refer tis case to urologist to do more detail scan n test so far not a big problem coz her right kidney is functioning well.another problem is there is a hole in her heart but doc told me normally it wil close up after abt 2 or 3 years.

xbliss,
oh u were in blue zone.my ger also there but isolated room.i think i saw u yesterday but i duno whether is u or not standing outside wif ur family talking to 2 doctor at abt 6pm coz i think i heard byran name hehe.im getting more n more milk for cathrina.i think she like kkh coz yesterday i saw her smile 2 times there and she really has good sleep there.at glenE she cried alot.i wont be gg to see my ger today.i think i wil only go on friday but my hubby wil go coz im still under confinement.

Fairylander, my boy has hole in heart as well. But because it is moderate in size, and the position of the hole does not allow tissue to grow to cover it up, so he has to go thru operation. But we knew it quite early. Since the doc told you it will close up, it will def be so.

May you gal drinks well, breathes well, grows well and gets out of SCN and be home soon!

Fairylander
Morning! Hope all is well with little Cathrina. My ger oso has a "little hole" A PFO . But the cardiologist jus discharged her from any further scan. They say not a concern and don need intervention. She is now corrected 11.5mths. No worries men. As i always said, the bbs here are all warriors

So like wat kkf mention, since dr say will close, it will close.

KKF
U sure are the early bird! Now school hols le, still working? Visited ur son's blog. Very nicely done. Was telling Costa I don know how to do it at all!

Xbliss
Wow, i sure like to kangaroo my ger when she was in SCN. The feeling is sooo wonderful! A yippee for little bryan!

Costa
Am ok.. Still hesitating to seek 2nd opinion a not le... My hubby say everything should be ok.. Approaching 22 weeks liao. Siao one, now seem to be counting down each day at a time. Trying to stay as positive as possible.

Jane
Sigh, heard u can't apply leave to join us at the awareness day... Time off le, Wanna see how ur little Siang is liao
Ezann still can't stand without support yet.. Wow, cld see that Siang is growing well!

Tat day when my ger went for follow up, Dr Khoo mention that the lymph node near her groin is a bit swollen.. She say must monitor if there is fever of if when pressed,it is painful a not?? But she oso say it is quite common.. Anyone out there can share. Thank goodness.. So far no pain n no fever

xbliss,

hug hug. juggling working + expressing milk + bb is ssure tiring. how many times r u expressing a day? after i've started work, i've slowly reducing to 4 pumps a day. once in the morning abt 6am, once in the office abt 10am, then in the afternoon abt 4pm, then at nite 11+. maybe u can try this routine? then no need to wake up in the middle of the nite.

kkf,
jzu now drove pass sengkang/punggol ard 7.45, wanted to call u c if u r still at home, then can go collect frm u.

kkf,
ya im kinda relief aft hearing the what the doc told me.tks

mummylian,
u dun worry too much ok?stay positive,eat well and rest well.happy mummy=happy baby.

disneymickey,
i think u can bring ur ger to try out those childcare or playgroup see which one ur ger like.they should have free trail rite?

mummylian,
guess everythg wld be alright like wat yr hb says...dun worry too much..

when my elder son had fever last time..the doc wld feel for the swollen lymph nodes and i think if you are sick or hv fever, it wld be swollen, m i right?if doc khoo doesnt say anythg, guess it shld be okay, bah?

fairylander,
wah, u tink more ahead than me..for me is you yi tian, guo yi tian...

mich,
i din noe got orientation for ccs etc...for my elder son,its up to ME and my convenience and he has to go there hahah..

Morning Mummies

Costa
What is CCS?

Mummylian
Dun say sian lah..... stay positive!

Xbliss
Your description of pumping behind trees and leaves is funny.

KKF
Yes, there was a short orientation programme for the pre nursery, N1, K1 and K2.
The principal did a introduction of the school, the curriculum, teachers etc.
Then the kids are brought to their respective classes to mingle with friends and teachers.
Also an opportunity for the teachers and parents to know each other and interact a bit.
Collect name badges and buy uniforms. Thats about all lor.

Didi
I replied to your PM.

Fairylander
Cathrina is a nice name.
Glad that you managed to transfer her to KKH. They have the expertise to handle most medical conditions.
Cathrina is in good hands.
You eat well and rest more. Pop in here to chat when you're free

mich,
sorry for my short form..ccs stands for childcare centers haha...

today yr turn to be PR for kkh..hahah

Costa
My boys not attending Child Care Centers lah.

hahaha.... Yah hor.. I didn't realise. Oops...!
Just want to reassure Fairylander that they are good.

mich,
d and e attending play group is it?they hv childcare or not?

fairylander,
how are you?hows yr experience wif kkh so far?u managed to find the way to scn easily yterday?

xbliss
My hair before rebonding is straight but a bit frizzy. t is an eye sore to my eyes too. Now, it looks more silky. hehe

Really ah, u wanna go for rebonding during ebming ah.....previously, Sis Yuen advised me against doing any hair perming, colouring etc during ebming... can tong or not... why not you check with Sis Yuen since she's looking afer SCN now.

fairlander
It seems that hole in a heart for premies are pretty common and it will close up as babies grow unless otherwise advised by the neo nat/pd. Cathrina was delivered on the 36 weeks, her health will be alright and she will be home soon. Take care of yourself well during confinement.

Nowadays, we have to pay for trial lessons with playgroup and cc. No more free!
(There's only two that I attended that didn't charge but they only allow you to attend one session and they were those housed in HDB void deck or bomb shelter kind).

Mummylian
My girl had a few of those swollen lymph nodes when she was younger. It seemed that it appears when she is sick (not just fever, may be cough and cold etc.) but pd always said it is common and will subside by itself. Now that you mentioned it, I think I didn't see them anymore.

disneymickey
cc vs playgroup - tough choice, isn't it?