Premature babies support group

kkf
the book not poor thing lar, our pockets more poor thing...last time I was like you, so scared of poo and puke, I think GOD knows leh, so He gave me one that pukes so many times until I pro in cleaning liao. Dash's mandarin very powerful, my girl dun even know one word. I bet Dash will give my girl a miss liao....hahaha, her dad very panic now, tried to speak to her in mandarin, my girl no response...

{Jane}
So happy to hear your voice now, today you very busy ah.... feel not right if never hear your kekeke...

{jacelyn}
Where are you huh? Also miss your postings....

talk about sleeping habits, I also very xian. These few days I've been training her and putting her on a schedule for her morning naps. Cos she always naps for 15min to half and hour, wakes up, play for half and hour or so, starts to be cranky, sleep again for another half and hour!!!! I so fed up.. can't have my own time in between. So I told my mum, don't let her get out of the bed when it is her naptime even when she wakes up. Keep patting her until the 2hrs is up then take her out. The first day I was doing this, I was patting her non-stop for 1hr or so, my mum and husband kept nagging behind me. Say, let her wake up lah and play until she tired then she will go to sleep. I so angry patting liao, they still didn't support me. So I told my husband off "Don't question my method. Go and read the book you bought for me. This is what the book says..." Then he tiam tiam!!!! Hard work pays off.. now she is slightly better but still have to sit beside her once in a while to put her back to sleep when she wakes up before the two hrs.. luckily it is showing results, if not my mum and husband will say things again!!! Sigh....

hi mummies, thank you for the advice on pumps and lindah for the links! in the end, we got a new pump at first years at kkh cos hubby says we can use it for second baby (err.. dun think i got no phobia for next child, sure got, even hubby's aunt commented that i better not deliver again in case i lose my life as well! choi choi!)

I am so intrigued with my new toy for now. it has not only halfed my pump time, it has doubled the output of milk! And best part is i finally dare to pump at night without fear of waking up the family! Technology is a god send!!!

Oh yar, today Bryan is 1140g! He surprises us with his weight jump on alternate days. Another 860g to go to reach 2kg! He is very awake in the afternoons when we go, and tries all his cute tricks on us..make us go gaga and coo after him. He is rather infatuated with my finger which i suspect he thinks is a human that got voice cos it's the thing he can see the best with his current eyesight. He loves that finger stroking his forehead. hai, i wish i could stroke his forehead 24 hrs!

Anyone knows when babies are likely to graduated from NICU to SCN? Are other family members allowed at SCN? my mil keep saying she wanna sneak my sis in law in to see bryan.

lili
Can understand, a baby who doesn't sleep enough is really cranky. Pat Pat, we support you. 15 mins is really too short for a nap. Preservere! But hey, you can be quite fierce when provoke... haha

lindah,
my husband also bought a bottle of heniz apple juice. But I think I would rather make puree for her lei, since i'm so free at home. Already told him don't buy but he still go and buy. He even suggests adding the apple juice to the milk so maybe my gal will drink more milk. Sometimes, I really headache. He thinks it's very fun to do all these things but never think of next time if the girl cultivate bad eating habits how... then I have to go and correct it not him!!!

Precious_one,
besides Pat Pat, still got pacifier, must cover her eyes or cover my face with a cloth so she will not think that I want to play with her, hold the pacifier with a finger so that it will not drop off and sometimes still have to let her grab my the other fingers so that she will not knock the pacifier off!! Aiyo..i really need octopus hands... Recently, found a new method, my helper used the adult big pillow and place my gal's body and miraculously she is responding to it and relax better. I think she needs to feel secure before she can sleep.

lili
Your hubby very innovative, is he in F&B trade??
Ya, papa likes to do funny things sometimes but when child get hooked, mummy has to continue or correct, very siong indeed! That's why if I see my hubby plays wrongly with my girl, I immediately stop him cos I said I dun hv the energy to carry on what he has started.

My girl born in 2005, Disneymickey's in 2006 and yours in 2007, I can only say that baby getting more and more demanding each year!

You see while typing this, my girl tip toe, dig out my wallet from my hand bag on the working desk and now digging my monies, cards out, must go stop her liao!! She's going to cry if I keep my wallet. Sigh!

Dam, heard the news said holland road found the body of a poor newborn baby boy!

I hate those people who just dumped their babies like that! I wish to just have two but it is sooo difficult for me, yet so easy for others who dun seem to treasure!

Precious one, yup I must say everyone is very impressed with dash's mandarin. I am impressed too, but then very very worried about his english!!! When his indian teacher in shichida asked him questions, he will reply in mandarin, and you will see a chicken talking to a duck. haha.

My boy likes to dig out my wallet and play too! sama sama.

xbliss, bryan is a wonder! he will go to SCN soon, not to worry. Actually, my boy was borned 1.14kg, he went to scn only after at least 1 month plus. But in between he garna infection, so delayed a bit.

Family members are allowed into SCN two at a time.

kkf
No worry, at least your Dash respond to the indian teacher, mean he understands english but dun want to speak yet. My girl totally ignore the daddy if he speaks to her in mandarin!!

PARENTS WHO DUMPED THEIR BABIES NEED TO BE SEVERELY PUNISHED!! HOW CAN THEY TREAT BABY LIKE RUBBISH...SO KE WU!!

Mich, Yes..... been wanting to go HKG for a long time, was planning to stay a nite or 2 at the Disneyland theme hotel. Thanks for reminding me
can shop, eat and have fun hor. Are you planning to go ?

Jane, you mentioned that you add the ready-made cao mi to the milk ? so you need to enlarge the teats ? and wondering if it is heaty ? thot of giving it to my elder boy but if it is heaty then got to cut-down the qty

xbliss,
hehehe. 2nd bb... that was what i thought when i wanted to buy the PIS... but as i am no good at maintenance, i chose the cheaper ameda, then sold it off cheaply after i used. when you stop using, every month or so, it's good to let the motor run because electronic stuff stays in good condition if you remember to run it regularly. tt's what the brfdg group lady told me on how to maintain my pump.

nvm, we shall jia you for a second one together later on. hehehehe.

bryan good boy, so big oredi... normally if he is putting on weight well, need no medications and IV drips, and is off the CPAP, they will think about transferring to SCN.
you can ask the nurses when is the expected time.
I remembered daec's dd being in SCN while still in incubator so I think they can transfer your bb to SCN even before reaching 1.5kg as long as the doctors think the bb dun need so much attn from nurses.

lili,
your hubby very creative hor? i too scared to try these things - in case son gets stomach upset. btw, my son has been on adult pillow for very long oredi cos my mummy started it. he sleeps on adult pillow, as well as pillows left and right and btw his legs. Loves air con. When me or my dad takes care of him, he tends to sleep 1hr only. It is my mum (who takes care of him from 1.30pm to 6.30pm every day) whom he can sleep 3-4 hours str8. Prob because of his afternoon feed and that my mum uses the "quiet room" in my house at that time. She will play Solitaire or Hearts on the PC there while my son sleep. Maybe it is just his own scheduled time to sleep out of habit. I oso dunno. but my dad (who takes care of him from 8.30 to 1.30 w maid's help) always complain he doesnt sleep much when he's with him. End up he watch TV with my dad. *shakes head*.

kkf/precious,
poor bb boy - cannot see the world. must be the mummy was mentally unsound or so terribly scared that she never even think of letting him go for adoption for his sake. so sad. the other time in kkh last yr when i was still pregnant, i remembered this girl registering. and i think she said she was born in year 1989 (because she gv her IC no to the registration nurse who was also attending to me) so both the nurse and me were shocked for awhile. she was there with her mum. her mum very young and looked a bit pale. must be worried for her daughter. Luckily the girl has family support. Nowadays teenagers too knowledgeable in the areas they should not be so knowledgeable about. My sis worry every day abt my teenage nieces! I hope they stay away from such things despite all the MTV-watching.

Lindah
actually dah gd if get token as not all hubbies give. if can get $100, gd already heheh for spending money. the other expenses still goes to hubby ;) guy is leader due to the higher finance responsibilty. else what's the diff..

xbliss
wah Bryan weight is moving gd !

shld be abt 1.5kg when moved to SCN. around there, my girl got moved earlier when she was 1.4+ something coz her health was stable and they needed the space abt NICU for other babies coming in.

SCN depending on the time - can sneak in other people hehe. that time when not crowded managed to sneak my sis in. but sis-in-law couldnt as she came at a crowded time so the nurses checked.

kkf/precious
I guess as they get older, they sleep bit later so hope have more time with them. well, I feel v bad now coz I spend so little time with her.

now my parents take care of Nada, lucky not IL ;) but its not the same lah. I want do myself.I think there will be times when I would miss working heheh ;) both type of life has pros and cons one. I guess depends which a person wanna choose. if cannot choose, hve to make the best of it I guess. if the biz/SAHM dont workout financially, I may still have to work in future.

precious_one/disneymickey
I read this bk 'Baby Whisperer'.Maybe can check it out. they give tips to wean out of such behaviour. think there are other similar bks too.

morning mommies,

the bb boy dumped in a rubbish chute @havelock rd. sigh. poor thing. if u dun wan the kid, juz give him up 4 adoption la. there r many who wan

kkf,
i like ur description on chkn talking to duck. cute. i guess it's the environment la, cos u mentioned b4 u & hubby speak mandarin to him at home rt? slowly la, at least he understands english, must slowly try to make him speak.

talking abt mandarin, my mother is complaining my ger only knows how to speak english, though she understands mandarin. so now, she learnt a new word - ma (horse). kept saying & saying till it irritates everybody haha

precious,
my ger oso loves to play w her daddy's wallet. tell u her another love. she loves to play w our old passports. u know, those passports w pics taken >10yrs ago, she can point to my photo & laff. urrgghh. cos her daddy played w her tat way. evil daddy

good morning mummies

heaven...siang really 'beyond description' throw his fav car car out of my mum 8th floor window and i had to go down and pick it up early this morning at 7am. throw never mind, he give me a BIG GRIN
after that. what to do, this mummy (think he never wear hearing aids) say throw la ... i just say say only. who know he really THROW! alamak! after throwing he give a big shout then start to cry...gessh....whose fault is it i also don't know :p. my mum and maid say its MINE fault (ask him to throw mah!) but i am innocent one..so two of them think i should be the one to go down and pick..so what to do...3 against 1 haiz

hi precious_one, recently quite busy because year end coming, lots of event to runzz...

xbliss : so happy and hip hip horray bryan! about graduation to SCN and then soon home
like other mummies say will have to be determine by the doctors. perhaps you can find a chance and check it out with them. Oh you bought the pump, yes technology really awesome. keep pumping and keep it for bryan
. I remember on SCN visiting, they only allow 2 visitors per time and still only allow the immediate family members (include grandparents) but if your sil wish to see bryan and cheer him up, she can stand outside the window panel (just outside the SCN) and you can bring bryan to the window panel...

disney
hahaha. you dd cute la. dunno if she know she's laughing at her mummy. hehehehehe.

jane
siang must have been amused at your shocked face when he threw it down - that's y the big grin. hehehehehehe.

good morning lindah,
ya really...he first give me a blur look and the big Grin (as if to say, well mummy i did what u told me to) then he shout and then cry so loud (must have realise his car car missing from his hand). sigh....he amused and bemused all of us really. then my mum and maid all give me the accused look...manzz...

saw the news about the bb at holland road...
bluez

didi,
oh i have not answer your query. about heatiness, normally is the night feed milk time then i give my boy the chao mi (to make him full). Nope, i never enlarge the teat (right now my boy is using L size teats) cos the chao mi powder kind of melt with the water. sorry i forgot to copy down the brand again..tonight tonight i will do so then post it tomorrow. there is quite a number of brand of such chao mi sold off the shelf.

but for the grinded Brown rice i buy to cook the porridge, i make sure its really boiled and cook together with the white rice.

disney
hahahaa, can I take a look at the pics also?

Jane
At one stage, my girl also threw her small toys downstair through a gap in the wall at the recess area. I didn't know until I noticed that her abc cubes became lesser and lesser. So I look out of the windows one day when i saw her holding the cubes in her hands and came into the house with nothing,, I saw a handful of the cubes on the ground level. So I've to carry her and go downstairs to pick them up. I asked her daddy to do something to cover up that gap which he didn't. Then we bought a new flat screen tv. The next day the remote control flew down the gap too but it was beyond redemption.
Then mummy had to cover up the gap cos daddy - no action.

Your work bz ah, i thot u bz doing research on various brands of "toilet papers"....hehe just kidding...

daec
you impressed me with your knowledge on books as in your blog....you love reading ah? btw, I welcomed you with open arms to join the SAHM club.

Jane, it's ok, you can let me know the brand when you are free
for those you cao mi you bot at chinese medical halls, do you need to cook ? thanks

Motherhood forum down the whole day yesterday right?
<font color="ff0000">jane</font>, your boy really cute. My mum told me when I was young, i like to throw things too. When she brought me to supermarket, I would throw whatever things I could grab and she had to pick it up for me. My boy now is also like that. During lesson, he will throw whatever materials that he thinks can throw, and sometimes even at the teacher! Make me so malu.

<font color="ff0000">precious one</font>, I must start counting my boy's toys. Maybe he has also thrown the toys out somewhere without my knowing!

<font color="ff0000">disneymickey</font>, haha you gal can laugh at your photos, so smart. Her english must be very powerful. Now I am really trying hard to teach my boy english, so will be sending him to zoo phonics for a 5 days program in december, hopefully that will help a bit.

Yeah, finally it is friday again! Will have a busy weekends. Going for my nose checkup tomorrow, and also to sentosa for home team affairs family day.

How I wish I can find a baby at my rubbish chute. Will def adopt him and bring him home. I wish to have many kids, but then it is very very difficult for me. I dun even know whether I will be lucky and blessed enough to have next one.

good morning mummies,

hi precious_one, wow clever angel know where is the exact place to 'put away' those things that she tenatively does not want to play with ;)

didi
i got the details of the instant Ginseng Sze Shen Coarse rice Powder that i put in my boy milk liao. can i go and scan the paper (that i copy the details) and PM u later as there is so much to type keke. about the cao mi i buy from the medical hall. YES must cook thou its grinded in powder form.

hello kkf
about supermarket siang does not throw things there but...he can go NTUC and help to arrange tubes of colgate and darlie ..then also the packet of pampers etc...imagine how malu i am too ah yo !. then he go wet market he can arrange the bread and such until all the uncles and aunties know OH OH OH! the busy boy is here hahaha!! power of their judgement haha! but they really nice, they give him fruits, biscuits and veggie :p.

yes its friday again. tomorrow trip still a question mark for me becasue my lao gong need to work haiz. shall see how. what happen to your nose?

yes, wonder if i am blessed with 2nd one too...

oh didi
you must be pondering..why cannot this jane just take a picture of the rice powder and post online? well, 1, jane is a IT idiot, 2, my erh work place does not allow digital camera :p

so...wait a while..i go and scan haha

Food (aka bread) for thought today :

Gardenia is having promotion for their Raisin Loaf 400g (at $2) and Fruit and Nut Loaf 500g (at $3). good buy ler :p

mummies, please don't misunderstand, i really don't work for gardenia but just so happen to know about this promotion (cos doing BP in my office haha). then gardenia have a Hi-Calcium bread, which i think quite good for kids :p. thats all for now on bread (aka food)for thoughts ;)

what to do..got to save some money for the seek of my boy haha...

kkf
My mum told me many times that I was picked from a dustbin in Redhill. Should I believe her?? hahaha, when young, I kind of believed but when I grow older, I told her how fortunate and lucky that she had picked me.
By luck, if you come across many babies in rubbish area, tell me ok, I dun mind having another one "free". My heart tell me I want to have another one but my brain tell me that I shouldn't go through another stress. hehe

kkf/Jane
Think positive and work hard for the 2nd one. You will be blessed surely.

Jane
You are right hor, perhaps my gal is doing housekeeping for me, chuck her toys somewhere first, for this, I must give her one BIG kiss.

Wah, I can't even afford Gardenia bread! To save money, I buy NTUC bread....hehe

precious
thanks 4ur compliment and welcome ! yes I love to read. share secret k ? its coz mum used to read to me everynite bedtime story. its also a fav bonding memory for me.wanna start with my gal2

Jane/precious
hehe Siang and Angel dd so naughty & cute, play their toys like dat

kkf
just do ur best, dun worry. Just as u are blessed with Dash, it cld happen again, rite ?
I'm also worried but can't do much except do what we can - pray hard, think positive

$2 for raisin bread? cool. tt's cheap. fruit n nut i oso like... you think 7-eleven got? that's the nearest plc I can get bread ard here. but i think by the time i get there oredi sold out.

hello mummies

precious_one and daec, haha amazing what they can do hor. cute? daec, wait till u see the lion face that siang can make :p

hello lindah
ya i too think its very good deal :p so thought i share share here. all provision shop etc should have. maybe u try check it out
i like their fruit and nut too. hope u manage to get it

ya, forum down whole day ytd. but lucky i smart (hee hee.. buay pai seh hor?) saved wat i've typed, then today juz paste

precious,
no way..the pics.. urrgghh..

daec,
my fren who sent the kid to schichida (maybe kkf can confirm) say to talk to ur kid for 5mins after he/she has fallen asleep. juz talk softly & nicely, the kid will b able to sleep thru the nite. well, i tried for 2 nites, my ger started crying since 5am+ urrgghh.. i gave up. but i think maybe coincidence la, cos the 5min talk shld b soothing enuff 2 make them sleep well. anyway, anybody wanna try? maybe kkf can try then let us know. heehee

kkf,
abc pasta is pasta in shape of alphabets. can b found in ntuc. i like it cos no need to cut. the size is juz nice 4 our kids age

my ger can only say few words. but she understands most of wat we say, both in english & mandarin. my parents sometimes will speak in hokkien, if they dun wan her to understand something, but i think if this goes on, soon she'll oso understand hokkien haha

jane,
my ger oso go ntuc & 'helped' arrange things haha. u know those sweets section? for eg. mentos got diff flavors/colours rt? she 'helped' to arrange all the same colours together. *faint* lucky i was not w her, haha. so malu

hi disneymickey
hahaha...your gal so smart. know how to arrange things properly. my boy is only good in BIG load stuff haha :p. my mum always tell me, my boy work hard at the supermarket or market hahaha... but i still think, they go and arrange is good at least they never insist to buy something back hor ;).

my maid tell me the other day, the bread uncle give siang bread. then i say OH so pai say, then my maid say, Madam, siang work hard at the bread stall ler....then i give the oh gosh...he must have work really hard there...:p.

kkf & disneymickey, my boy like only recognise NO (shake head) :p. Yes means keep quiet and head does not shake haha

disneymickey
Hmm interesting! Shicida method sounds interesting leh.

so far I used mixture of pat-pat, lie down beside her until she sleeps, some breastfeed. takes abt 30min. lately I dunno she will wake up at 1am and 5am. she used to be able to sleep thru the nite.

my mum in the day uses a combo of patting, let her hug bolster sometimes pacifier.

lili
when I first started trying to get Nada sleep time from 11+ to 9pm, I also pat-pat my girl for nearly 2h. It works after some time. cheers!

jane,

juz something to share w u & other mommies who r interested. my colleague once told me, whenever he bring his kids out, he & his wife never buy things 4 them in front of them. so tat they won't insist of buying something whenever they go out. make sense. i try to follow, as much as i can.

my ger initially only know how to say yeh-yeh (which is equal to yes yes). but dunno how to say no. until now, she can only shake head when no, but still can't say the word no.

Yup heard by hubby said shichida method believe in telepathy (is it this spelling?) A brain damage person, after his mother keeps telling him he will recover everyday, really recovers because he feels the love and faith his mummy has for him. I dunno, thats what my hubby told me what shichida said.

So moral of story, we must talk every 5 mins after our kids have fall asleep some positive stuff, and he will be as positive as what we said.

kkf,
ya, i tot no harm trying, so i tried for 2 days, but the result in the next morning not 2 gd leh. u try? heehee..if got a successful case, i'll re-try again.

btw, u got my hp number rt? if the bags i've ordered via BP here alrdy, can sms me? cos sometimes i nev chk email 1

First of all, about the news of the bb being thrown away.. remember how our parents used to say they picked us up from rubbish dump.. this one is the classic example, so evil!

Re the schichida method,
eh, i tell bryan nice things about him in NICU all the time! hehe.. somemore we stay there for 1-2 hours and talk non stop! hehehe.. maybe talk too much. nowadays after hearing our voice, he will struggle to get out of his sleep to open eyes big big and kpo. But i doubt the method will be welcome by my parents in law, always scolding me for praising bryan directly.

Some updates on bryan
His feeds are increasing everyday by 1ml, now is 11ml already. They are planning to stop the nutrition once he hits 12ml and is stable on it. Today morning, the nurses tried to cycle him, but our dear boy forgot to breathe, so they will try again next week.

Jane
Today really amusing, the 2 of us! i quickly rush to NICU after hearing ur news ok! I thought miracle already happened, but bryan still there lei! Anyway, the baby in the next bed graduated to SCN instead! hehehe.

<font color="ff0000">jane</font>, do hope to see you around tomorrow. You hubby from home team affairs right?
Anyway, my nose? I need to check half yearly because from one of the checkup I have, it shows I am high risk for nose cancer, sigh!
Thanks for sharing about the bread, my boy's favorite! rasin bread!

<font color="ff0000">disneymickey</font>, never try that on my boy. Forgot about it! Must try tonight, but everynight, I am dead beat. Hahaha, hope will remember.

Btw, mummies, tokomama got bulk purchase on crayola products, good for art work.Me ordered some for my boy.
http://www.tokomama.com/smforum/index.php/topic,394.0.html

Fairytale,
how r u?u must hv been busy wif work..me too......

wat hv u been up to?

kkf,
hows dash?saw yr blog, hes still as handsome despite hving been sick and kena bruised......

hello fairytale
all is well here. how about yourself? been quite sometime since you pop by...

xbliss :p sorry but my initiation tell me...soon soon bryan will graduate. oh for cycling, be patience, when he is ready he will be ready. siang cycle for quite a while that time. have patient. the day will come (before you know).

hi kkf, its my company event :p. haha, got to see if siang eat porridge, toke his morning nap then shall see how is the weather..see see so many factors keke. oh i see, actually for a while, the doctor also suspect i had nose cancer (i did a blood test before actually)..cos there was once i cough so badly until my ear is block and blood was coming out from my nose...:p was on antibiotic for quite a while...

oh oh. ok ok will go on the link and see see. thanks for sharing. see you know what is good stuff.

Hello Fairytale
How are you?

KKf
Thanks for the link. Went in to see but no details yet.
I am keen to buy more of these

kkf and Jane
Enjoy your family day tommorrow!
I will avoid Sentosa and Vivocity tomorrow. Sure very crowded.

Have a nice weekend all!

Mich, details are up already under "latest bulk purchase".

Jane I am not suspected of nose cancer, but I have this dunno what in me that makes me high risk for nose cancer, so got to check up half yearly.

Jane, not that I know what is good stuff. it is I always know how to spend! Will keep searching around for things to buy! thats why always broke.

kkf
I looked at your BP thread, but how come I can't find the pix of the scissors that you buy?

I see that all your $ are spent on Dash, dun worry your investment will reap results. Dash is a promising young child and soon young man.

$ broke never mind, rich in the heart.