Premature babies support group

Amy, hope you and your family are coping well. My colleague's mother passed away in hongkong too few months back. She just died from her sleep. Suddenly seems like very scary.

Disneymickey, your in laws shd be more careful leh.

Btw, precious one, disneymickey, my boy has been very restless at nights too. He will suddenly wake up in the middle of night asking for milk, will toss around calling "mummy, mummy, daddy, daddy" then will want us to pat him for long time then he will fall asleep. I have always been a zombie.

disneymickey you on leave, so good.
Enjoy your day!

Jane, really must learn from you, always smiling, always happy.

Your boy very clever. My boy cannot even drink from straw. Now 2 years old, still use bottle with teat to drink water, so malu.

Jane, maybe you can try "your baby can read" or "brainy baby" vcds as well. Good educational vcds.

Thank you all for your concern.

My hubby finally agreed to stay home with Ruby...

I can now travel alone and need to hunt for tickets for departure this wednesday 31/10. Tomorrow is tuesday...

Does anyone have good agents to recommend?

amy, my deepest condelence and do take good care of yourself during this period. Do see the paed to get advice and medication for standby before you go over.

kkf, never bring dash to macdonald's isit? hehe.. i believe every child that goes mac will know how to use straw!

disneymickey, i saw your post on issues with your PILs. my MIL has been visiting bryan at NICU rather regularly but bryan does not open his eyes for her to see at all.. hehehe. so far, everyone has seen bryan open his two big eyes but her.. heheh. just something to brighten ur day.. kids do know! oops, feel bad after posting it. :p

bryan has hit 1.1kg officially and we are still counting down. today he upgraded his feeding syringe from S size to M size. what an achievement for us that the milk didn't take 5 sec to flow down the tube and we can hold it longer. bryan is also more awake n starting to recognise voices.. seems like he can see too cos his eyes can follow our movements if we are near. He cried when we were about to leave and refused to sleep.. hai.. another heartpain episode again.

hi amy,

you posted just before me. i am glad your hubby can make time to stay home with ruby.. very concerned about preemies flying at young age though i have no experience.

i'm not so good with travel, but you can go to the travel agents at people's park to ask them for tickets. They also do just tickets and also packages, i.e. with hotel. My hubby's company buys tickets from Misa travel which is a rather big company. Or buy directly frm cathay pacific http://www.cathaypacific.com/cpa/en_SG/offerspromotions/offerssummary they have promotion of $601 incl taxes for economy seats. The timings available still look quite good. i.e. 8.05am for departure from singapore. Do hope your travel arrangements will be a breeze for you.

Costa, nope they didn't mentioned anything about follow-up
they say just make sure he drinks well. That boy was never a keen drinker so headache now, luckily my maid feed him almost every hour now, plus plain water too.

Amy, my old company uses Travel Shop, for HKG, think the morning, afternoon flights are more expensive, iirc. The evening flights are cheaper

Jane, ya, 'jia jia you ben nam dian de jin'

Bonjour Mummies

Jane
The beach is nice. Let Siang play with the sand and build sand castle.
Bring extra sets of clothes and remember to put sun block for him.
Take lots of pictures and share with us ok? Have fun!!!

Disney Mickey/ Jane/ kkf
Kids learn very fast from other kids. My niece spent the whole day at my mums place with my boys.
She saw the boys drinking and she took their bottles and attempted to drink from it. Eventually, she manages to drink from straw.
When my boys were younger, I had to show them how to do it. Told my sister she is so lucky, no need to do a lot of work and her gal receive free coaching from my boys! Hahaha...

Didi
Sorry, I spelt Darryls name wrongly. Blushed.

Amy
Glad that you have it sorted out.
MISA travel as per Xbliss recommendation is very efficient. Prices reasonable.

Costa
Did Bern enjoy the swimming? Good to start young so they wont have fear of water.
We stopped for a while and when we brought the boys swimming 2 weeks ago, Evans need hubby to hold on his hand.
Dylan put him on the float and he disappeared with my friends, without turning around to look for us! So dangerous right?
My boys noses had been very athletic too. Ran, stop and run

xbliss,
glad to read about bryan?so far, everythg ok..do keep up wif ebm.....i really tried to perservere thru and partly our bbs are prems..need our bm even more...

do text me if you need anythg..

mich,
yes, bern enjoyed the swimming so much and i din want to spoil his fun and now he has a bad runny nose until today..sigh....will not go overboard next time....when i put him in the float, his body was too light and he can just topple over without me noticing..do take note when you bring dylan and evans swimming...tink i m going to get some swimming arms floats, not tt we can leave them alone wif them but its another preventive measure..

same same lah...the nose, run and stop and hope dun run again...i hate runny nose also man..

seems like many pple say misa is good, leh..its near my office at hong lim...

didi,
good man..no medicines.tink viral infection must let it run its course..glad tt yr maid can handle him..i noe i m hopeless at physically looking after kids..its tiring..

hi good morning mummies,

hi kkf, you know actually, i always pick up tips of what u buy for dash and etc haha ;). i have been along learning from you haha. OH such a coincidence another family day there too?? yes, i be bringing my boy, but must see the weather and if he is in happy mood on saturday haha.

kkf - siang is really not clever, he cannot even hold his milk bottle yet you know :p. he always up to no good is what i can say....

hi mich - erh..is it ok for them to play with sands? see see i can ask such panaorid question :p. i kept on pondering on this question the moment i think of bringing him to the beach :p. is the sea brezze ok for him???.... :p such a KS mummy i am hor. sun block? can eat mah (i scare he go and eat his hands or wat :p). die...this time let mich see my true colour (of being a Kia si and kia su mum)haha!! erh, if i am not 'too busy' protecting him, i will try my best to capture some shots ok haha

Your niece very fortunate indeed. get to learn from two smart kor kor.

hi xbliss, wow bryan is 1.1kg CONGRATS! so young he is so aware of the surrounding. am sure he will grow up to be very observant
oh yes, for NB, they can see very very close things (shadow actually).

Amy, take care on way there, your hubby really nice.

lili and kkf ,
being a teacher, now u would know jane is one of those student who shout 'why' why whyzzzz...

didi,
yes, 'jia jia you ben nam dian de jin' but then, so long we know how to decode the meaninging in the prayer book, then all is not that tough isn't it (i think so la hor :p). say is always easy
i know the actual work is tough

i just learn and observe from mich and costa posting that by typing the person name then hit enter then start the message, its easier to read kekekek...jane learn something new today

wow my that boy really only want to eat good food. he dun like apple, papaya. but he just manage to finish one quarter of the 'dragon fruits' and the other day he eat half an kiwi...gess....

Costa
Yes I know what you mean. So happy to see the joys on their faces right?!!
I bought one set of arms float last year but was too big for the boys. Maybe now can fit liao but forgot to let them try.
Luckily I was with my friends who are parents themselves and they know how to handle Dylan.
And I am happy that Dylan shows no fear of water and is sociable.

Jane
Sunblock put on neck, arms, body not on his palms lor.
Sand My boys had been playing leh. So far no problem.
Dun say you are KS lah. I was once like you. Hb will nudge me and tell me to let go and I overcome the fears slowly.
Siang has expensive taste ah....

Xbliss
Remembe to capture the "holding Bryan for the first time" moment on your digi!

Costa, same although I am a SAHM still find it tiring to take care of kids (can't imagine if I am working at the same time

Jane, the kiwis that Siang ate (is it the yellow one or green ones) the green ones are sour, I love the yellow ones and mini ones though

hi mich
oh ok ok. any brand of sunblock to recommend? actually, i am kind of silly, i thought of bringing an umbrella (mich must be thinking..this silly jane haha) :p. i forgot there is such a product as sun block haha!!

oh yes, he have expensive taste and as per jace's recommendation, now weekly he have top/good grade cordecepys and bao shen (all grind into powder) and also i put gan bei into his porridge. I am going to re-introduce fish (gor he) soon again. for some reason, he seem to prefer those 'bitter tasting' food...and as everyone know, bitter food actually is those more costly things :p (liang yao ku kou).

how did you manage to 'let go' in the end?

xbliss
Yes yes, do capture that moment (i really regret that i did not do that).

hello didi,
i think being a SAHM is not easy. example, over weekend i am full time taking care of my boy (not to mention u got two), i am already so tired...salute to all the SAHM.

i think my mum (got it free for siang from market) is the green ones. is there yellow and mini ones? hmm i have not seen those at my mama house market.

hi mummies, thank you for the reminder!! i almost forgot that i need to get the silly old digital camera ready to capture great shots already. Bryan's been very active recently, even the nurses say that, so got lots of action to catch.

Jane, Siang very good life wor! eat all the good food! Envy you know the chinese medication. now i eating confinement food i dun even know what they put inside. next time bryan will be kantang (american potato), eat all the western stuff and sushiiii! (my fav!)

I have heard from many mummies that the Ba Bao San and dunno what Ning powder from Eu Yan Sang works miracles for babies with phlegm. They claim that take 3 times of the powder the bbies stop having phelgm already. Maybe those who are interested can try. err.. but a bit ex lor.. like $50-60 per vial that lasts 3 times.

As for playing at beach, it is a wonderful experience. Sand play for children enhances their gross and fine motor skills, as well as gives them lots of space for imagination or pretend play. Especially suitable for children ages 2+ and above (even for adults! keke) In my work place, we have a sand tray. You can make your own at home.. e.g. in a big bath tub, the sand can buy from Beacon (make sure the sand is clean sand cos sand retains a lot of dirt and germs esp if alot of children playing at same time), then buy those 1 packet of children's sand play toys (1 small pail, spade, water holding containers, etc), and ur child will have a fun time! you can reuse the toys for waterplay too. OG sells those very easy to set up swim pool (about 1.3m diameter, costs less than $20) that you can even do at home! I plan to do that for bryan before sending him to swim pool next time. we'll do in the kitchen, then after that can clean the kitchen with the water. hee.

oh yar mummies, i need some help regarding breastpumps. My current Medela mini electric has been good, but as i need to pump regularly plus try to cut short pump time so i got more time to do other things, i thought of upgrading to the Medela Pump in Style (traveller - so that easier to bring to work next time).

Anyone using PIS traveller can give some comments on the pump time, ease of use and cleaning, noise level (current mini drives me crazy.. i shout at my hubby after using it cos a bit chao hee lang already). Any other comments or recommendations are very welcome too!

<font color="0000ff">Jane</font>
Being KS is Singaporean traits, I remembered Sr Minister Goh did mentioned in his speech previously. So you and I and many mummies here are on track...

Your Siang is only corrected age 1 yr or less, and he is progressing very well with your mum's and your good guidance. Pat Pat and Hug Hug

<font color="0000ff">didi</font>
I'm a SAHM and I'm also very tired all the time handling just one kid. So you have two, perhaps you tiredness is double mine...hehe

To be honest, looking after kid is really not my cup of tea, after so long, I still longed to go back to work. Gila right?

<font color="0000ff">kkf/disneymickey</font>
Hey, my girl learned to drink from straw at corrected age 2 yrs and 2 mths. Before I start to train her, I pray for patience cos I don't have much. But she impressed me by learning it in less than half a day. My younger sis told me that her twins (36 weekers) took a couple of weeks or so to master it.

I chose to believe that GOD is kind and fair, he knew that my girl lose her natural ability to suck from milk bottle (cos NG tube feed from birth till Nov 06) and he gave her the drink from straw skill so quickly. I'm truly grateful.
Having said this, until today my girl dun know how to drink from cup!! To me, as long as she can drink either way on her own, I'm contented.

kkf, be patience lar, your boy's corrected age is still less than two lei and I believe disneymickey's girl is also less than two years.

Mommies, have a question : when should I start to shower my boys twice daily ? thanks

Jane, I get the yellow and mini kiwis at Cold Storage, recently I saw them at NTUC, the mini ones are really sweet
I ate a lot during my pregnancy, got a craving for them. Can I know where did you get the cordyceps and baoshen ? what age can we let them consume ?

Precious_One, I also felt like working
but at times I felt I can't bear to leave them and go to work, very ironical lah.

precious_one, i was reminded of you yesterday when i was at NICU. There was a little girl whom i believe used to stay at NICU who came back to visit the nurses there. She was on a stroller, and accompanied by a tank of oxygen and another bag which i believe is the machine that regulates the oxygen. Her parents were also there, a young and beautiful couple. The mummy looked rather conscious of the people looking at them. I asked myself how it would be for me if i had to do that and realised it's pretty tough. Wanted to go up to the mummy to talk with her but no guts.

Anyway, really salute you! u have put in so much for your girl and now she is developing so well! kudos!

xbliss,
i used Pump In style....not too bad...can pump both sides at the same time..(altho it took me some time to learn as i chew kena kar..hand like leg) but once get used to it its a breeze.

i bot it from the shop downstairs at kkh..i din noe then it was parallel import meaning if you bring it for repairs thru their agent, they will repair for you at extra costs and more ex than if you had bot from the original store..

tink u can get it from kkh pharmacy but do note they dun sell the accessories...

can adjust the speed etc but tink mine is old model...

too cheong hei alrady...text me..so far, i find not bad lah...

where to buy the sand from Beacon?where is beacon?sorry hor, i really not in the know....

xbliss, I am also using the PIS advanced, I bot it from KKH Pharmacy. It is efficient I would say, it pump enough for my two bbs
yes, like Costa say it is a breeze to use, I can pump both sides and surf the net at the same time
, the speed can be adjusted
No Regrets buying it....

xbliss

i bought the pis advanced limited edition bag(699 ) which is 12 w, quiet and the bag is big and useful, . can buy from kkh - my first year - i got the discount card - dont know if u get 10% or not - i can lend u my card...
i used ameda until the motor died and avent iquno is so slow.

xbliss
Yes, those were the days, when we brought our girl back for the many many reviews after discharge, we invited many many stares from curious parents and children. Some were compassionate stares, some were very funny stares....Some even walk closer to the baby just to stare...Tell you what we brought, a CPAP machine, two oxygen cylinders (cos we dun know how much time we need to spend in the hospital each time, must stand by one cylinder), one portable suction machine and many many types of medical accessories like such catheter, saline etc. We looked like we are "dao nang ze" cos our two maids' hands are full, my hubby pushed the baby in the pram and I busy running from counter to counter....

There was once when my baby was still in NICU and I saw an indian mummy whom just gave birth to pre-matured twins girls crying at the NICU reception with a man standing beside her. My heart felt so much for her and I thick skin a bit, went up to her to offer my consolation and encouragement. She held onto my hands so tightly. The man beside her was actually her brother and her hubby was not present then. While crying, she still smiled and said thank you to me. Assuring that she felt much better, we went separate ways. Surprisingly, some weeks later, she looked around for me (my baby discharged liao) thru KKH social worker. I got hold of her telephone no. through the social worker and called her. She wanted to express her gratitude to me, she said that my sharing with her on that evening touched her greatly. Her babies were also discharged already. So I'm thankful that I was thick skin on that particular evening.

Didi
There is no guidelines on this.
My boys have a bath in the morning, another one in the late afternoon.
If weather is cool and rainy, we will skip the afternoon bath and wipe them instead.
Before zz at night, we will wipe them with warm water before changing to PJ.

Xbliss
I used PIS too. I used to lug it to office every day.
The pump is powerful and the accessories are very useful to transport my EBM from office to KKH everyday.
No regrets!

dear didi/precious_one

i also think SAHM not easy one. Kudos to u for managing
I had a short taste of it.

precious_one
touched by ur experiences. u're wonderful strong mum!

xbliss,
the PIS Advance and Ameda makes the same level of noise. you can try a demo set at the breastfeeding org at bugis (waterloo street) but i think u might as well buy it lah. a lot of pple say very good. i tried the demo sets - the sound is sooo much better than the mini electric. the mini electric shocked me. haha. i used ameda due to cost considerations.

precious,
i saw a trachy boy at kkh on one of the days i was there for son's check up. the boy's abt 7 or 8? his mummy is so young and pretty and smiling away at the nurses while dragging the o2 tank despite pple looking at them out of curiosity. there was one period of time there was this loud vibrating noise from his machine and he looked like he was trying to hang on to the trachy. guess god realli knows which mummies n kids can take these challenges. my heart goes out to him. he was very aware that pple are staring at him but he has to take it in his stride. Think I even caught him trying to smile back at me (when i smiled at him), which is such an amazing display of his spirit within.

on the topic of SAHM,
I confirmed C.M.I - Cannot Make It. nowadays I am as cranky as my son at night. yesterday nite realli wanna lose my temper. lucky my hubby ard can take care of him. but he was so cute earlier in the evening. making so much noise. on one hand, i feel like my head is going to break apart. on another hand, i am so happy he can make so much sounds!!! hahaha. nuts.

Amy,
singaporeair.com.sg selling for $641 including taxes for SIN-HKG-SIN Economy, if you fancy their timings (6 flts a day).

daec
Tks. I have learnt one thing, some people learn the easy way, some people learn the hard way but at the end of the day, we all learn something and through experiences, we become stronger and wiser. Now that we are mummies, do you agree that being a good mummmy is the toughest job!!

hi xbliss
keke...ya, so hence jane need to work hard so that he can enjoy all the good food. as for TCM (tradition chinese medicine), some of it is good but i think its up to individual babies. Western have their own fair of good stuff, eg beef is something that is very good for children (that i think a couple of mummy here have tried)

TCM - introduce by my mum and a few of the mummies here and my collegaues.

for confinement food, do take more, it will do good for you... are u engaging a confinement lady?

EYS. oh haha, i have many receipes from there :p. yes, i have both the Bao Bao San, and the Hou Ling powder in my boy 'everything about medicine' box. and yes, it is costly but then, for siang it works. so i have stock at home :p (shy to say).

Yes, yes...where is beacon? like costa, i am very interested. wow...your kitchen have place to built this 'in house' sand playard?

about the pump, i stick to Medela mini electric all the way. it works wonderful for me... but in office, i use the hand pump. then at KKH, i use theirs pump (which is like Medela)

hi didi,
about shower, so far, my boy only shower once a day :p

lindah
Children are angels!! They are really ignorant and harmless and as I've mentioned before, despite their medical condition, they are always smiling!! Sometimes I wonder if they actually feel pain going through all the surgeries, needles etc.

mommies, thanks, think will bath them once in the day and maybe bath them again if the weather is hot
ok as now my boys bath once a day, and I thot I 'under-bath' them

Hi going my mum's place, dun have time to post. Will post at night. Anyway, have a nice day!

precious one/didi/Lindah,

yes so true, being mummy is toughest thing. Close second to me is dealing with my hubby and IL heheh.

I also aim to be SAHM. but my brief stint of abt 2.5mth make me think if I crazy wanna be that? haven even do hsework, only care for baby. coz sometimes I also really cannot take it. I dunno how I going to make it. well, think somehow can - just struggle thru and learn manage.

nitetime she drove me crazy at first. latest is 3am. now hehe shave it to 8pm. had to troubleshoot/experiment/struggle lots lots to get it like dat.

no, I havent break the 7pm crankiness. Well I think she will grow out of it.besides, then got excuse to say have to go home early ;)

Stressed
Tks. I'm glad that lady gave me a chance to be an Angel in my life. The feeling is so so sooooo good!!

daec
I felt like I'm crazy everyday. Sometimes I felt angry with myself for allowing myself to land into this state.. hahaha should have insisted no kid to my hubby who so love kid. But hor, love kid doesn't mean can handle kid well.... if my gal is not born prematurely and with medical conditions, perhaps the whole experience will lead to a different mindset... who knows? Thereagain, I must say that life is never the same again with Angel and Angel completes my life, though tough start, having her is the greatest joy. She makes me a woman and a mother!! You see, I also dun know what I'm saying to you, think really crazy liao !!

precious_one

I have a feeling I will be like dat too ehheh. I guess coz when take care baby, really test emotions and patience then really hard to find breaks to defuse. Do take time out for urself when u can, push hubby for it. dunno if ur hubby like mine, must ask else he blur heheh. if feel guilty take break, lagi dun get.its difficult for us mums to maintain our own identity/space coz too busy being someone's mum, someone's wife, someone's somethng

I agree love kid doesnt mean can handle well. Work In Progress one ;)

I think I know what u mean. no leh, u not crazy lah ;) hmm more like - a mom loving being a mom despite the tough times?

for the mummies interested in buying the sand, beacon is at
Address 998 Toa Payoh Nth #06-03 Toa Payoh Industrial Estate Singapore 318993
Phone 62505707

Do call to check for stock.. They have quite some educational toys too, but beware the price! hehhe. mostly is catered for preschools lah, that's why.

hi daec and precious_one, yes a mom loving being a mom despite the tough times...well said.

xbliss
oh oh..gotten go to toa payoh, i got a thinking. can i just dig some sands from the many playground at my house? hahahha...sorry, i just sudden thots. will copy down the address. thanks
you are also very informative.

daec
haha, Great mummy thinks alike ah.... You just hit the nail of how I feel .... and I like that phrase...a mom loving being a mom despite the tough time....
Glad that someone understood my feeling.

Talk about hubby, he is like you, my 2nd BIG challenge. He is a true workaholic, always working, always on the phone in the evening and in weekend too. He feels that his child is in the best care cos she is with mummy whole day. He forgets that mummy is make of flesh and blood and she needs to take breaks too. Perhaps he thinks mummy being SAHM, got free time in between....then one day, mummy asked him for a break to go holiday alone (cos cannot go together as a family yet, girl girl not fit to take aeroplane), mummy said need to breathe cos very choking, he said ok, on your birthday in Jul, I take leave. July come and go already, he forgot to deliver his promise leh...no matter how I complain, he will give me an understanding look with no action. So mummy also give up liao. Oh ya, sometimes mummy fell ill too, so asked him to stand in for a 2 hrs' nap in the weekend, when mummy woke up, saw him also sleeping, with girl girl lying beside him doing nothing staring at the ceiling...!! Only last week then mummy then felt appreciated cos he returned home and told me that his office manager was complaining to him that looking after her full term sick baby was so tiring, dun know how we cope with Angel previously, he proudly told her, aiyo, you lidat already complaint, then look at my wife, how??? So you tell me, he knows that I need a break or not... hahaha Having said this, he is a good father but he is one man who inhibits his emotion kind.

precious_one

u superla, take care of Angel til like that!

wah ur hubby similar to mine. he will also forget that kind thing. :p I still persist talk to him tho wan vomit blood sometimes heheh so that he will learn help me and he appreciate better what I do/give up for Nada/family,

he also workaholic. I keep telling him Nada needs her dad, her childhood won't keep.

at first he dun understand why I need him to help. he thot that time I was SAHM so can handle as not work,that I mum means automatic know what to do. Whereas he feel like he dunno anything so dun try, leave it to the mum. I just say I still learning, not automatic,I also dunno what to do. just learn on the go.still need his help,I say he after work can rest, I where got time to rest if she wake up every few hrs even at nite? I wan to eat also no time. make him think think ;)

one of the mum say is true - let him taste wat its like to attend to crying baby.then he will understand better ;)

sometimes have to show vulnerability even anger.Else he blur think everything is ok then leave it to the mum. then later mum burst he panic heheh

daec
I tried all methods liao, crying, volcano erupt, etc. but he is really stubborn. Perhaps he is also stressed until dun know how to react liao. So he immersed himself wholly onto his work. So this is what I've asked him to do cos I told him if you don't do it (especially when he travels quite frequently), then if your gal dun recognise you, you cannot blame me hor:

1) Angel last feed for the day. Clean her, change her into her pj and pat pat her sleep (he did this quite ok, but lately also getting lazy liao)

2) Feed Angel on Sat/Sun and includes bathing. This area he always make me angry cos he always miss one or two feeds kind so I've to remind him and he will say, no need to eat so much lar... so lazy right. (Aiyo, mummy follows KKH dietician plan lei )

Now I'm training the new maid to feed my girl slowly....so I dun need his help anymore....

precious_one

hehe we similar in that sense too. hmm if he travel often, v hard already. if he too stressed, yea it make a diff. difficult ah..

dunno why when I read tips in bks, they always say give dad the choice of things to do but mum no such thing grr..coz dads are picky ?

mine is adhoc - I ask him to help. he's bad at schedule coz get lost in work, even at home. I get so sien of reminding him. The tasks he help is play,feed(quite rare),walking her around, entertain her when I go eat/bath/take break

good lah, u got extra help

I knna bounce out of the posting so many times. Lucky I clever, do a cut and paste at another place first!!! If not have to re-type... !!!

Jane,
hee hee.. yes, it's better to format the posting a little bit so that it's easier to read.. too many posts lah.. eyes go ga-ga already. Still can do bold letterings for more easy reading.. Did you see kkf's link the other time for the formatting?

Didi,
I used to bath my girl twice a day too in the heat of the summer. Have to do that then cos it's just tooo hot and she so dirty at the end of the day with all the milk split. Those were also the days she kept spilling out milk!! And she enjoys the bath time and after that tuck her to bed with the aircon on.. wow... I feel so comfortable for her.. I wonder if she feels the same. Actually, I think twice a day is ok for babies if the weather is hot. They will also be more relax and sleep better if they are given a good bath before bedtime. A lot of the western books recommend bath in the evening.. but I think we asians are more used to baths in the morning.

xbliss,
maybe you missed out my posting the other time. I'm interested in what you do
Are you a psychologist? In a private practice?

Amy,
Glad your husband will help out with Ruby. Deepest condolences to you and your family. Take care.

Yeah, SAHM can be very challenging. We are faced with the baby 24/7. I think we also need to make effort to have our own time. One of the challenge I face is that I become detached from the world... sigh.. that day, when I went out for coffee break with my mum and baby, I saw the ladies already all dressed up in nice autumn wear...and here I am still so 'ah-soh'!!! Must keep up with time.

Precious_one
Sometimes I also get into these "what-ifs' thoughts... it's a confusing dilemma. Once, a friend told me, If we have the answers to the "what-ifs", then there will be no beggars on the streets liao... I think it's a movie line from some cantonese movie.. .. hee hee.. me talking nonsense too.. also going crazy liao. Btw, I have got down to setting up the google account.. once I get it done, I tell you ok?

Precious_one and daec, ya.. I think husbands are like that especially when we are SAHM. Maybe they won't take us for granted if we are working mums - I think. I understand what you all mean when they think that we got all the time in the world to take care of the kids.. sometimes also need a break. My husband at first will still eagerly do the feeding and change her diapers. Now, he seldom do it liao, maybe because her number of feeds becomes lesser. But it's true, like what precious_one says, my gal does take quite a while to warm up to him again after he went for trip for one whole week. But at least I know he is feeling it... then sometimes also my fault la..I always think he handle her well, so I just take over... I can't imagine him bathing her though... maybe next time when she can sit properly liao he can try.

lili
tru tru I also feel very ah-soh or in malay makcik. get clothes size difficult. mus lose weight hmm..

lili, i got scolding from my mum for making my hubby bathes my girl, she said not right and not nice papa bathes daughter????

Hubby sense the difference in my girl's attitude's towards him when he returns from trip then he tells me his heartache ... hahahaha, so he always buys lots of goodies for her when he returns... this area I lost to him liao, cos he got buying power, SAHM dun have....

daec, my new maid came for about 3 weeks liao, this means that I also didn't do housework for 3 weeks, I noticed that my tummy stick out again... Sigh!!

i can identify with what you all say about hubby.. my hubby also quite ego.. prefer me to do things for bryan.. lucky i warn him before marriage that i'm very bad at housechores so he can try to take over that bulk. I suppose most of them get away with the easy job of entertaining the child and making the child happy while we get the shitwork. :p i'm returning to work the following week.. keeping 2 mths of maternity so i can bond with bryan when he is home. I am still thinking if i should continue to work.. now that got bryan, i feel like dedicating the first 2 yrs to him.. always believe the first few years are very important.

Jane
Playground sand can, but it's very dirty!! err. i remember my client's kid dig a dead lizard out of it and was so proud of himself..(still got sand playground meh!? i tot all convert to those rubber kind) You probably gotta disinfect the sand by soaking it. I remember the sand at beacon not too ex.. about $4 a packet. that was 2 yrs ago, not sure about now.

Some updates on bryan
He is now taking 8ml ebm (i panicking cos haven't been expressing diligently!) He has put on quite some weight and is starting to look chubby at the face, so cute! Weight today is 1105g. Do you know when he can start cycling? I am estimating around next week or end of this week. so exciting cos seems like his homecoming is getting nearer!

BTW, anyone of you know of any websites or forums that do second hand sales? I am thinking of getting a second hand Medela PIS. thanks in advance!

lili, Actually I am also in favour to bathing them twice (maybe next year) cause I felt they can sleep better if bath in the evening