Premature babies support group

Oh mummylian, shichida is for any age group? I think? I saw people letting their babies (9months) join.

jane,costa,disney
ya, nestle gold as costa sy very little only.
like my boys 2 person only can eat two meal for one person, 2 time 180ml and 2 time 150ml.
athere cost only RM7.20 at jusco, if at sensi only RM6.80.weight 150gram.
how to do?
ok, example 150ml - just add 150ml warm water in bottle, than put 5 spoon of (simiac spoon) than stir it. very easy, no need to add milk.
i already give my boys try stage 1 - cereal wth apple and canberry abt 10box liao, now go to stage 2 , oat wth prune, they like it so much....and po poo very good. stage 3 will wait, cos got yougat, i never give them try yet.
mummies, give a try nestle gold, very good, soft and better than normal nestle rice.
Jane,
better use spoon feesing for brown rice and cereal.
i will email mich and you the name of soya bean powder. let me take photo first.

Dear All, I found this very useful:

The sound that a baby makes are universal - just as their needs are universal.

In mind your body - October 10, 2007 Wednesday page 8-9 headline: "Craking the baby speak code"

Talk the baby talk

"Neh" - I"m hungry
"Owl" - I'am sleepy
"Eh"- I need to burp
"Eairh"- I have lower wind pain
"Heh" - I am uncomfortable/need to be changed

Been missing for past few days, feeling upset as my son was admitted to hospital after 1 week plus of discharge from NICU since delivery. His sleep apnea problem came back due to block nose and diagnose with viral infection after few days of checking. I suspect some vistors that came to visit baby and me over weekend could have pass to him. Btw, this round I'm with KKH. Can anyone advice me if prem babies is more septical to infections? How to prevent?

Anyone can advice if its good to follow up with PD in KK after discharge? subsided or private clinic or shld i look for PD outside?

hi kai,

hope your son gets well soon. is he better now? can understand your distress, my son was suspected of infections twice while in NICU and had those life-saving anti-biotics.
but those antibiotics may have side effects

yes premmies are more susceptible to infections, but i think the more experienced mummies should advice u as they have more experience.

for me, the only pple who saw him in his first month at home was my family and closest frens - whom i scream at if they dont wash their hands with soap (and dry them) before touching him. I was quite anal even with my mum. I try to avoid his younger cousins (toddlers esp) if I can. Then when my ILs' family or relatives (whom i am more polite to) come, I make him wear long pants, long sleeves, mittens, and booties and watched him like a hawk. After they go home, I will wipe his face and change his clothes. A bit over, but i was very kancheong then. My son is a 24 weeker, so I was very paranoid. After 6 weeks or so, I become more lax and let the kids touch him... that's probably why nowadays I catch him coughing n sneezing once in a while. But cant be helped. I can't keep on scolding his cousins - esp not on my hubby's side as i dun wan to offend ILs. It's quite a sticky situation unless you are the sort who can calmly rqst for these pple to be understanding. i tend to bottle up and take behind-the-back measures with pple that I am not close enuf to nag at.

it's good to make sure AirCon is serviced and make his home as dustless as possible so that he dun get sick. open air may be good for him. parks are good. i was scared to bring him to shopping centres but apparently once in a while is ok. he loved looking around. have to wipe the furniture at home more often. (unfortunately i am not good at this).

i guess as long as the main caregiver is constantly clean and make sure he's wiped (esp hands) if someone else touch him, shud be all right? beware toddlers, dust and crowds.

Take care. Hope your son is okay.

if you are gg private,it may be good to see PD since private service is more personalised and less queue time. but if they allow subsidised, you can really save a lot. e.g. i shud pay abt 58 per folow up visit but am paying 22-24 now cos it's outpatient follow up from C-class. But the long queue is quite taxing. no choice as my son has so many doctors to see.

Kai hope your son is better. Frankly, my son is coming to 2 years old, he is still very weak in immune system. You are very daring, let visitors visit your son. For my son's first few weeks at home after discharge, right after half a year later, I think I do not allow anybody to see him...haha. My mum in law who has so many relatives, have them to visit him, and I got soooo angry.

kai, why do you want to consider other places? kkh is the cheapest and most professional. Why choose others? They have your details and records, think will be better right? I mean for follow up.

If for illness, I usually will see padetricians outside nearby my house. I used to change here and change there, but now I just stick to one.

But if fever and more serious illness like bronchitis, will go back kkh.

Hope these help?

Btw, mummies, cheer up your day! My boy's studio photos!

1014843.jpg
1014844.jpg
1014845.jpg
1014846.jpg

You can see our family photos in www.ido.per.sg/dash

Btw, I remember somebody has this apple recipe for curing phlegm right? Can you send me again?
Haiz...my boy doesnt take in the medicine. He hates the medicine. Now I need to try anything that can help him!!!

Haiz...
(( me soooooooo worry about bronchitis again, he got so much phlegm, coughing and vomiting yesterday night.

Why before his birthday! Maybe really padang!

hey kkf, your studio photos are great! dash looks so cute and smily!

think jac was the one who provided the apple juice recipe. you can probably find it in the first part of this page...

hope dash will be ok by tmr for his party.

Hi Jacelyn,
Wow, seems u always travel here n there around JB. I'm fr M'sia too... but have been long time nvr go to beach at M'sia. Ilike Desaru, and telok Ramonia. Nice beach. I nvr been to kukp even though i stayed in JB for 5 yrs before

Well, I really spell the eye screening centre name wrongly. It is called Peadia-optik. It has its own centre at Paragon Medical Centre too, but i think they still attach their staffs to this kinder clinic. U can try give them a call n come for a screening to seek opinion. Of course if anything really serious they'll recommend u to go eye specialist.

U still keep my receipe? hahaha... i myself even forgot wat receipe i wrote to u. Now, i juz simply cook watever can be found in fridge, since my boy already 1.5 YO.

kkf,
wow.. dash sure look handsome! i esp like the last 2 pics

maybe u try mixing med into milk & let him take? tat's wat i did. though some med supposed to be taken b4 meal, but i dun care la. at least the med go in, better than nothing. u make a bottle of milk, pour out a bit, add in med, let him drink all, then give the remaining milk (w/o med). hope he gets well soon.. take more pics & show me ok?

i know of frens whose kid only 2mths alrdy join shichida.

ok..gg to finish up packing .. c all next tues

Kkf,
its open heart surgery for the two little babies mentioned in the straits times yterday.....

the pics vy nice, my frens went there and also the pics vy well done....i like the pic wif the word Dash on it..so cute

my full term elder son hor..also always sick, one last time...every month at least once or more..i already lost count of how many times he went hospital in the middle of the nite due to fever etc, cough and viral infection (hospitalised twice).....when they get older, think their immunity wld be strengthened..

my elder son's school also dismissed at 10 plus...tink orchard road and other areas wld be flooded wif kids..haha

kai,
after discharge, i told my relatives not to come all together and after awhile then let them come in smaller groups.....becuz he was on tube feeding and being born so small, immunity etc also not vy good...

tink yr bb is not vy preemie right...hv you updated yr details wif us like bb dob..birth weight etc..u may like to put the info down so we can update...

for me, i follow all the appointments he was given after discharge but for normal injections eg chicken pox etc etc i brg my boy to the paedi near my house and also i gave d paedi a copy of my son's discharge papers detailing all that he has gone thru so tt the paedi noes although he may not be a neo nat..

then i just go to the neo nat for check ups to make sure everythg is in order......

u can also go to kkh for the jabs etc but for me, i cant really take leave so i rather go to private and waiting time not so long...but of cse, tis is my own opinion..just for your reference...

u can pm me if you want to..

irenelovej,
hws yr pregnancy?did you get yr maid already?hope everythg doing well wif you....

kkf,
ok, i am here.
take one aple(any apple) put into empty bowl. steam it abt 20monit. after that use fork to touch the apple, if soft already, mesh it can get the juice, remember only juice, apple water. like fuji apple got abt 60ml water. some apple little water only. than you feed your boys the juice. no need to put anything liao. sure he like it. you can give him this two day, see how 1st. if really not ok, maybe you can bring him to doctor there to suck the pump which can help him to deduce the phelgm?
for eating medicine, my boys dont like it last time too, now they like it so much, what i do is give them the bottle of medicine, say cool cool, pree their face, their hand. after that give him water first, after that some water in spoon and add soome medicine, feed him than say cool cool, do a lot of funny face tell him that cool cool and nice. i succeful. now they never reject any medicine, i give them before food, for avoid vomit. you try , see your boy chizhetao or not?

kkf,
your boy really really handsome. tell him dont naughtly, if dont want to eat medicine, sick wont get well, and cant take nice photo, cant cut cake, cant enjoy birthday, try many many word that can pay his attention.
dont worry, i already tell my pusa, tizhangwang, let your boy recove soon, eat medicine soon.i sure he can help your boy.
sorry ha..never get your permision than told my pusa.

irene,

2 mths already join shicida? what do they let the bb do?

costa,

i looked at the straits times yesterday. the malay lady was in NICU same time as my son but discharged earlier as the baby recovered quite fast. Din know he had a relapse. She was in 7th month already when gv birth but the son w the heart issue is the 2nd twin i think - abt 1kg birth wt. Just sharing lah - she had twins and delivered them at SGH - so during NICU days, she is shuttling w her husband between SGH and KKH as KKH is the only one w a surgeon who does the open heart surgery. I initially thot it was a normal PDA as I was too distraught to talk about other pple's baby's problem in detail as it scared me(I was a newbie at NICU at that time). Her gynae was the Dr Aziz at Kembangan, iirc. Luckily both SGH and KKH quite central. So happy to see her bb ok.

jac,

you have a cool way to feed your baby medicine. I shud try that some time...

kkf,

i actually oso put his medicine (panadol, ferrum, polyvisol) all in his milk... so far so good.

kkf, Dash is really handsome and can be a model. He seems very comfortable in front of the camera. Next time, you will be busy counting $$ from his commercial income liao

Kai, all new born (full term and premies) tends to have weaker immune system especially nowadays the weather is so bad and there are so many types of viruses in the air. As a mummy of a 24 weeker with chronic lungs, I adhere strictly to docs. advice:

1) NO visitors for the 1st 6 months, if possible
2) Avoid crowded, enclosed place like shopping centre, cinema, MRT
3) Everyone to wash hands before touching the bb
4) Ask whoever at home to wear mask if he/she is ill.
5) Do no sweep/vacuum the floor in front of the bb, use wet cloth to clean the floor instead, so that the dust won't be flying around during cleaning.
6) House has to be very clean.
7) Change bb bedsheet/pillowcase/blanket every alternate day.
8) Baby toys must be wash thoroughly.
9) Do not give baby furly toys/dolls etc
10) No pets in the house eg. cats/dogs
11) Watch out for the maid's hygiene, sometimes they will wash hands in front of you but wipe dry using the table cloth....
12) After each visit to clinic/hospital, shower/clean the bb, everyone who went to the clinic/hospital, take shower from head to toe and remove/wash/change all outfits worn to the hospital even if visit is very short.
13) If papa return from work, he must go straight to the bathroom to shower, change clean outfit before touching the child.

Sounds kiasu and kaisi right, still I dun mind what others call me. As a mummy, I wanted to protect my child and cannot be chin chye. I imposed the above on every one including parents and in-laws. Those who care, will understand. Distant relatives/friends who want to visit my child, I screen them first. However, you are not going to do the above forever, once your child gets stronger, you can relax a little. Even now when my child is already 2+, if I want to visit my mum, I will call to check if anyone is sick there, if yes, cancel visit, if no, proceed. hahahah (I cannot tahan the stress when child is hospitalised, she suffers, parents suffer too).

If your child has no serious medical condition after discharge, it is ok to bring him to a private PD whom you're comfortable near your house. More convenient. However, if the apnea episodes are considered serious in the KKH doc's eyes, then it is good to continue visiting KKH PD so that they have all the medical records/history in place. The difference between KKH A&E/KKH private clinic....You pay $75 at KKH A&E and your medicine is free (sometimes you have to top us a few dollars). At KKH private clinic, you pay docs consultation fee and medication separate. I think the consultation fee is about $10 more than A$E charges. You have to make an appointment, otherwise, the waiting time here can be very long without appointment. At KKH A&E, if you child is very ill, he/she gets priority but if common flu/cold/fever, join the queue.

I know private PD outside KKH might cost more than a $100 sometimes.

lindah,
io put the medicine in milk too before that, but i feel not so good , the result not very good, so i try to feed them use spoon, if really want to put medicine, put in half amount of milk only, afraid he cant finish.

lindah,
lucky the bb okay and everyone at home now..the mummy is a brave and strong mummy

rgdg shichida, my frens sent their kids there...tink they have flash cards training and other stuff,..u can goggle and look at their webbie..www.shichidamethod.com.tink it takes alot of commitment and effort on the parents part also...

jac,
oic. yes sometimes he doesnt finish. maybe i should separate some w and some without.

precious,
wah i never change bedsheet for very long, one. you just reminded me to change them again soon.

costa,

thanks for the link. physio exercise, i havent complete, it will be sometime before shicida can come along...

yes, she is a strong mummy. she drag her 3 yr old son to hospital every day too. one in SGH, one in KKH. tough. but the SGH one was discharged first of course. so identical, i couldnt tell the difference when i saw the elder twin. She told my mum she wanted to faint when she heard about her son's rare heart defect but her mum told her - no choice, must be strong. your baby needs you now.

Jacelyn, i'm going home next month liao. You still interested in the sleeping bags? I'll have to buy it soon. Then we can arrange to see how I can pass it to you.

lindah,
alamak,must even brg her son there to hospital...last time i had to drag my son there if no one is taking care of him....and he used to get q upset as he is jealous of all the attention on the bb......not easy....

sigh..really as i said before, all preemies face different sets of pblems be it heart or lung etc..

rgdg shichida,sama sama..i cant find the time to be so committed, my frens all got one kid and the hb is always in town..i cant...i hv to manage the elder one and i really cant find the energy to do so many thgs...

hello good morning mummies. its friday ! yeah!

jace - ok ok. this weekend i will ask my husband to go to singpaore NTUC to source for the Nestle Gold cereal
thanks for sharing. and ok ok, no urgency take your time. we all know u got two in hand. post us the pic when u manage to get it.

jace - about medication, me too never put inside milk and like you, i spoon feed and haha ya ya, have to make funny faces and let him sip and sip...

hi amy : hmm..interesting facts. but then hor. my boy...he jumble up all the 'sound' ah and don't know eeh ah what....i must learn to try and distinguish it then :p

hi kkf - wonderful picture! dash really handsome ler. hehe agree with precious_one. think dash can be a kid model as a start. you got try and register him for those channel 5 kids star search? you should ler. he sure is a champion! about padang... sometime, we try to put that aside. hope dash speedy recovery

hi costa and lindah. wow this mummy really strong.

hi kai - hope your boy speedy recovery. i think basically all baby is prompt to infections. not only premmies. for my boy...anything, i go to KKH (unless is like normal flu..)

jane,

if you are talking abt the nestle gold series, i think i see before, it's dark purple and gold box. look very classy. but i havent buy as my son dun even like rice cereal lah. your babies big oredi should be alright...

lindah
you can buy at jb, more cheap, try the stage one 1st, red wth gold. here sell RM6.80
lili,
i want to buy, i never received any link lei....never mind, you just buy for me two pcs, can be two diffirent colour. try to get for me cheap one, any carton, boys one. i ok one. thanks ha...
jane,
ya lor, some time i feel i like monkey mummy leii.....
costa,
i saw the news at newspaper here too, but not so detail like your side...never write anything regarding their mummy, only write how was singapore hospital succeful to done the op,,,,is it pre baby only 1kg?

hi lindah, oh ok ok...hmm my boy has never really tired cereal (spoon feed) but i think if bern and jace twins like it, then should be very nice hor. ok ok this weekend buy and let my boy tried hehe

hi jace - haha, its ok, we go all out so long they drink and eat right. Monday to Friday, at my mama house my boy eat porridge by the window side. he will cling onto the window grill (we live in HDB flat :p) then watch the bus and car goes by and he will have his breakfast, lunch and dinner busy looking at the cars haha. then weekend at my house, i let him sit on walker and shop around my house (then i give him one plastic bag which he will go around collecting things) while he eat his porridge :p. i lagi worst right..do such things :p

Jacelyn, ok then I choose nice nice one for you
Your boys roughly how tall? Cos some bags they write for ages 1 to 2 but it depends on the kid's length. Sometimes the ages not good gauge cos cutting different. Maybe I will go and stay with my MIL for a few days when I go back next mth. I'll contact you then and we can meet up for lunch or something.. So exciting

kkf, your family pic looks very very nice. Your hubby so cooperative.. My husband don't like to take such studio pictures one. Even the wedding picture I have to force him! Sigh...

thanks jac for the tip. will look out for it when i go JB. probably next week.

jac, ya. i think both were premmies.

jac and jane, quite funny the way you describe how you entertain your son.

wow li li can look forward to the trip
so nice. is it ex to travel over?

hi lindah - haha, what to do :p my boy ah, drink milk, bath, eat porridge also stand one :p tabu lei tahan :p sitting is just not his cup of tea really...disneymickey would know what i am talking about haha... oh tomorrow be bringing hami go round house visiting? enjoy and take lots of picture for us to see. was telling costa. this weekend i must roll out a bit of the poster that i been trying to do :p hehe

ji mummies,
ai yah, so boring lei...later need to go back my MIL house, kluang. sunday than back. i was thinking to shop at jb as hari raya, sure got offer, but, my hubby say wantt o go back his mum house, want my boys go back, so no choice lor...so can chat a while only, need to pack things
lindah,
Selamat hari raya. Semua ahli keluarga saya wish keluarga anda selamat hari raya..... makan banyak banyak ha,,,,anak ambil banyak banyak angpau hijau ha.....he....heeee
jane,
ya, i want to share wth you one things, before my boys go back to my mum house, i have difficult way and time to feed them makan, some time finish cereal and porriage very long. but after i go back my mum do this way, now they come back here, just watch vcd and listen song, they will finish in very fast and enjoy the food.
ok, is my mum take seven pcs of leaf, like xialiuhio(DONT KNOW HOW TO SAY)the leaf that if people go funeral they will use that leaf to bath, for clean the dirty one. or take lime leaf too can. than put in water which they bath one, mean that mix in water . than bath for them, my mum say xi xi xi, xi diao huai xi guan. guai guai ting hua.....really work lei,,now they sleep well, makan well and know a lot of thing lie,,,like example i say, terry and bryan come, mummy want to give porriage, and they will come in very fast. when i say crap hand, stap feet,knoc head, shake hand,yes, no,etc,,,they all know how to do,,,
they give seven cos chinese say qi qi qi, go away. very funny ha....just share wth you.

Thanks for all your warm wishes and sharing all your experiences and advice. Really appreciate the time you took to post the messages, find out more info for me and provide me links to other websites...I must learn to be strong like all of you. Trying to rest in bed more and minimize walking about at home (except to eat and go to the bathroom).

Will update you all with my progress. My gynae said no need to be admitted at this stage. But to go over to the labour ward if i feel any contractions or water leaking. My gynae is at SGH and he wants to see me in 2 weeks time for another ultrasound scan. By then, I will be 25 weeks... Hopefully things would hv improved and I will have some good news to share.

Meanwhile, do take care and all the best to you too

hi jac..wow ...u going away again. envy u (thou i am sure lots to pack and unpack) but then its fun to go travelling... :p

oh i know about the washing with the leaf. that time my boy come back from hospital my mum also wash it for him....
your mum also very li hai ler! yes xi xi xi and all bad things go awayzzz.....

enjoy your trip and have fun. wow kluang quite far hum? when you coming back? going to miss you

lili,
ok, leave it to you.
my boys height abt 75cm. weight abt 9kg. i think biger better. can buy 18-36month. ha..i very kiasu right?bobian la....hangqinbuhao. need to save money.
ok, call me when you here, i can drive and bring you go shopping. buy cheap thing. come my home too. i cook for you, try my cooiking. let me know early. i buy the thing. they say i cook cili tomato chicken very nice, if you like pineapple, i can mix too, ha...
ok ha...i wait for you.

sweet rose,
take care ha....take a good rest.
jane,
actually i still do it everytime they bath, everyday i put 7 leave. quiet good lei...i be back sunday, wont stay long, miss me ha...and twrry bryan too. kluang abt 1.5hour can reach

hi jac..wow T&B really good height and weight. well done jace
oh ok ok..hmm maybe time i start planting the tree too (so that i have the leaf). ok ok . u better go pack. am sure two of them very excited with going on trip (thou only 1.5 hours away)

jane,
ha...actually is terry 9kg, bryan only 8.5kg.but height same lor....bryan very skinny in body, only hand and leg ba ba...

lindah,
bern causes trouble now...dun wanna eat and got bad temper....haha...when he doesnt want to eat, he really turned his head and turns angry and violent..haha

jane,
u let siang use walker?

hi costa, he is only on walker when eating porridge at my own house :p. its like a sitting place ah. for that 15mins makan time :p. i just could not get him to sit on high chair kind of thing :p...

thanks mummies for the compliments. Think it is the photography who took it well, haha.

jacelyn thanks for the recipe. but will it be too "liang"? It is meant to dissolve phlegm is it?

hi costa hahahha..now? he 15mins inside very good liao :p. now he like people to hold his armpit and walk around (kaypo) keke.

jacelyn, wow, so amazing, maybe I shd try that on my boy so that he can guai guai eat medicine. Use you zi leaf is it?
Btw, thanks for helping me tell your pusa.

I have went to temple nearby my school to pray this morning too!

Lili, my hubby also sianz one, but his wife loves it! I decide to take studio photo for dash every birthday!
siao rite?

My wish, I really hope to have a complete family studio photo, with my hubby, me, dash, his elder brother up in heaven somewhere, and young mei mei! yeah!

You know something? 15th october is a school holiday! yeah!!!

I am thinking where to bring my boy (alone, cause hubby working leh)? His birthday falls exactly that day!

hi kkf,

this is a away message from jace : "I is off to holiday at his mil house at kluang be back on Sunday" :p haha

yes yes, jace refers to the you zi leaf. do u plant that at home? i am considering to do so :p. no harm trying hor

kkf - i am sure your family be always happy as always

jac,
thanks for your wishes.
enjoy your weekend too.

jane,
ya will take pic tmr and post. today half day, come home, alter my son's hari raya clothes... not very good at stitching but no choice.

costa,
bernard only one yr old can throw temper? Wahhh... I scared liao. The other day I was in the car alone w Hami when he cry loudly non-stop. I cried out along. Think I can go nuts already.

lindah, enjoy Hari Raya, hey Hami Honey can go and collect 'Green Bao' this year
happy collecting
Btw, what's your family color scheme this year ?

Costa, see told you, bern bern got Character
think most boys are like that
I expected my two bums will be like that too