kkf, Dash is really handsome and can be a model. He seems very comfortable in front of the camera. Next time, you will be busy counting $$ from his commercial income liao
Kai, all new born (full term and premies) tends to have weaker immune system especially nowadays the weather is so bad and there are so many types of viruses in the air. As a mummy of a 24 weeker with chronic lungs, I adhere strictly to docs. advice:
1) NO visitors for the 1st 6 months, if possible
2) Avoid crowded, enclosed place like shopping centre, cinema, MRT
3) Everyone to wash hands before touching the bb
4) Ask whoever at home to wear mask if he/she is ill.
5) Do no sweep/vacuum the floor in front of the bb, use wet cloth to clean the floor instead, so that the dust won't be flying around during cleaning.
6) House has to be very clean.
7) Change bb bedsheet/pillowcase/blanket every alternate day.
8) Baby toys must be wash thoroughly.
9) Do not give baby furly toys/dolls etc
10) No pets in the house eg. cats/dogs
11) Watch out for the maid's hygiene, sometimes they will wash hands in front of you but wipe dry using the table cloth....
12) After each visit to clinic/hospital, shower/clean the bb, everyone who went to the clinic/hospital, take shower from head to toe and remove/wash/change all outfits worn to the hospital even if visit is very short.
13) If papa return from work, he must go straight to the bathroom to shower, change clean outfit before touching the child.
Sounds kiasu and kaisi right, still I dun mind what others call me. As a mummy, I wanted to protect my child and cannot be chin chye. I imposed the above on every one including parents and in-laws. Those who care, will understand. Distant relatives/friends who want to visit my child, I screen them first. However, you are not going to do the above forever, once your child gets stronger, you can relax a little. Even now when my child is already 2+, if I want to visit my mum, I will call to check if anyone is sick there, if yes, cancel visit, if no, proceed. hahahah (I cannot tahan the stress when child is hospitalised, she suffers, parents suffer too).
If your child has no serious medical condition after discharge, it is ok to bring him to a private PD whom you're comfortable near your house. More convenient. However, if the apnea episodes are considered serious in the KKH doc's eyes, then it is good to continue visiting KKH PD so that they have all the medical records/history in place. The difference between KKH A&E/KKH private clinic....You pay $75 at KKH A&E and your medicine is free (sometimes you have to top us a few dollars). At KKH private clinic, you pay docs consultation fee and medication separate. I think the consultation fee is about $10 more than A$E charges. You have to make an appointment, otherwise, the waiting time here can be very long without appointment. At KKH A&E, if you child is very ill, he/she gets priority but if common flu/cold/fever, join the queue.
I know private PD outside KKH might cost more than a $100 sometimes.