Premature babies support group

jane,
bought alrdy. but nothing fanciful cos i look at myself in the mirror, really cannot make it haha

i sort of agree w mich, & din feel gd after reading precious' post abt accusing 1 mommy here. like wat kkf & jane said, we all hav gone thru so much - i dare say even more than normal birth bb, n we shld b the last person to "curse" or say bad things abt other bb/preemie.

but anyway, it's precious' choice to keep the blog frm anyone.

jane,
bought alrdy. but nothing fanciful cos i look at myself in the mirror, really cannot make it haha

i sort of agree w mich, & din feel gd after reading precious' post abt accusing 1 mommy here. like wat kkf & jane said, we all hav gone thru so much - i dare say even more than normal birth bb, n we shld b the last person to "curse" or say bad things abt other bb/preemie.

but anyway, it's precious' choice to keep the blog frm anyone.

This week is the national day holiday week here. There is a whole lot of activities out there in town but we are stuck at home!! Because we scare of bringing my gal out -- too many pp out thee!!! Sigh...

When did you all start bringing your little ones out for outings? Six months? I heard that after six months, babies are prone to fall sick because the immunity they have from their mother would be used up by then. Is it true?

Wow, disneymickey, so good.. you always go holiday.. bringing your gal on trip troublesome or not? Need to bring a lot of things? Milk powder, diapers? How old was she when you took her for her first overseas trip?

Hi Alicia, take care...take a lot of good food at this time. Fish, chicken soup. When I was confined to bedrest, the good food only came at the 2nd week when my MIL arrives. At the first week, my helper was kind enough to send chicken and fish soup to me at the hospital and a parent from school also very good to make soup for me.. So touched... *Sob *Sob.. You must take lots of 'po' at this time...ok?

hi disneymickey
hehe..not nice? go and shop again, afterall, your trip is next week right? still got time :p. puket is really lovely. the sunset the nice seashore...wow...jane is dreaming liao :p opps!

hi lindah
good morning. my boy next appointment is on 22nd Oct for review. not to worry. hami be ok.. keep us posted on his updates.

lili- wow so its holiday for you over there! that time when my boy came home, he already is 3mths old. so... never really bring him go out. but i think 'it is true' for my boy la, after 6 months he did fall sick but i am not sure if its because of the 'after six months' thing :p or just coincidence.

for info...disneymickey got bring her gal to Hong Kong before :p ... so good hor...jane envy la. then her gal very pretty one. like your gal sweet pretty lady look

you are really lucky to find such good helper. heaven is kind. i was not that lucky when i was in hospital :p

hi mummies, thanks for all that reassurance about labor. i suppose i was panicking yesterday cos it suddenly dawned on me that i will deliver premature afterall.. and the date seems to be getting nearer. I'm very anti needle and hospital one.. even put the IV into my hands i will squirm. at least now a bit more numb.

kkf, when i realised i was pregnant, i already started wishing i din have to work. hee. of cos i can't imagine how tiring it is to work when you havd kids too! In the end, i got what i wish for.. i have been on bedrest since wk 20 (now wk 26) and prob til i deliver. nice to be on bedrest but for wrong reason (i.e complications..)

alicia, i also think it's good idea to listen to docs. they are still concerned about the low birthweight isit? Actually i think KKH is a very playsafe hospital.. like to take their time to observe so it's also good. It's def boring there, but the rest and care will be worth it in the end lah. If bored just play games with your PSP, read magazines, or come here to surf

kai, congrats on your bb's return! lots of work and bonding to do now!

hi lili,
i rem bringing her out when i was on maternity leave. it's short outing like gg my in-law's place or shopping after her pd visit. it's troublesome cos i still need to pump milk. so the outing is short ones.

i brought her to taipei when she was 7mth old. ya, a lot of stuff to bring. she has 1 whole luggage to herself haha. but of cos la, i kia su, so everything oso bring extra. i still remember the carrier was v handy cos the grounds at taipei not v even, so pram was out of the qn, so i used the carrier throughout our 10days there.

i always go hol cos hubby & me dun wan to give up our lives 2 much b4 bb came along. we used to travel v often. went vietnam in mar w/o her & both of us regretted. though it's more troublesome to bring her along, but it's another kind of joy lor. so we hav decided to bring her w us whenever possible. but means no more shopping trips

lindah,
guess u must be bz wif work and tell you smthg, i got a colleague called linda and when i email her, i dun noe why i always type lindah..hahha..tink of you too much ....

hami's next check up is on the 8th oct. with neo nat?u taking leave?

my son next appt is 2mr wif doc k.....hope everythg okay...

lili,
wah, yr school student's parents are so nice..tis is really heartwarming and really machiam like chicken soup for the soul..vy gan dong..especially in a place wh is not familiar ground

hmm, rgding bringing of kids out..i also nt vy sure but i brot him downstairs but not to crowded places..but i guess if you dun bring her to nanjing lu or xu jia hui shld be ok, bah?how abt open fields..

abt immunity..guess you are right abt the mummy's immunity no longer in the child after six mths...r u bringg yr ger back to spore?maybe can ask the paedi whether to take any shots or wat as a prevention?in a strange place, no one wants the child to fall sick.i can understand how you feel..

xbliss,
dun worry too much, u restg at home right?u hv check ups regularly?

disneymickey,
enjoy yr trip, take more "swee swee"photos to show us

oh mich... sunday i bring my boy for the 1pm trial class. i heard from my collegue (her boy in the same class as me). the teacher name is Ms Shannen...

i am still thinking (pressing my calculator) as to sign up the course or not :p

Costa, yeah.. actually when you are overseas, sometimes pp tend to get warmer to each other even if we just got to know each other, especially when you are from the same country.

Disneymickey, you and your husband very good eh, not scare of 'ma-fan'!! Sometimes, my husband always dreads it if I suggest to bring my gal out cos he says very troublesome. I think most of the time it's the parents who needs the training not the child! I remember the first time I took her for her check-up, so excited.. started packing her barangs the night before. Then plan what time bath her, what time feed her!!! Nowadays, I very cool already.. I know exactly what to bring, I will pack a few hours before going...practice makes perfect!!

costa,

yeah... w neo nate. ya lor. half day leave. hopefully in time to bring him home then go to work. Dr A clinic starts at 1030 that day... hopefully can make it to work.

hope your appt tmr is OK!

jane,

aiyo, u & ur calculator!! haha

lili,
ya, practice makes perfect. i oso rem the 1st time i bring her out - to pd. walao, pack such a BIG bag & so gan cheong, wake up & prepare sooo early. now so used to it alrdy. haha. maybe u & hubby try out small small trips, like go nearby places for a few hrs. then when more used to it (both parents & bb), then venture out further. anyway, u coming back sgp soon rt? gd chance to prove urself

costa & lindah,
dun worry abt the chk up
it's juz routine chk rt?
everything will b fine.

Lili,
haha, you so experienced now and capable huh...after u go back to work, either yr mum or yr mil will help you to take care of yr ger, right?

i oso find vy troublesome to bring a child out leh..i vy lazy and the age gap between my two kids makes me vy tired or maybe im vy lazy

lindah,
can smbody bring yr boy there and you go to work and then rush there at 10 plus?can take a few hours off work instead?

thanks, i also hope so everythg okay as thats why all parents worry about...hope hami's appts wif doc A get further and further spaced out..

disneymickey,
thanks....will update you all 2mr....after the visit....

heh heh....talking abt packing. When dd was younger, we carried a huge bag. As time progress, our bag become smaller and smaller. If only dd can nurse directly, my bag will never be big at all.

In my big bag will house my ebms and heavy hot flask with diapers, wipes...

Now, it's porridge container and 2 diapers and wipes. I buy fresh milk from convience stores. Very convienient. hahaha...

I've been reading this thread from time to time as I'm under high risk for premature labour, so just wanted to do some research. I was on bedrest from week 14-26 due to bleeding. My doctor diagnosed the problem as irritable uterus and has put me on progesterone injections and medications ever since. I get cramps easily and thus restrict my walking to not more than an hour or two a day. She plans to take me off the progesterone at week 34. I'm currently at week 30. I'm worried that once off the injections, I may go into premature labour. Generally, how long do babies born at week 34 have to stay in NICU and how much complications do they have? Should I request for my doc to put me on th injections all the way (but I heard there may be side effects to long term use)? It's a matter of balancing the pros and cons.

Jane dearest, hey you are tempted to go Phuket too huh ?

Disneymickey, don't buy swimsuit to bring there, buy over there, heard Phuket got nice bikinis

Mommies, may I know when will all those blood tests be over, very heartache, when see our bbs get pricked

didi,
aiyo, i cannot wear bikini la.. haha

twiggy,

welcome. think u dun need to worry 2 much. ur doc will be the best persont to advise/decide if injections is necessary. my ger was born @34wks. she stayed in NICU for abt 2.5wks & 0.5wks in the normal nursery. luckily, she din hav any other complications besides low birth weight. each bb is different. but i'm sure u hav read frm previous posts, there r many miracle bbs here who have fought well & i'm sure urs will 2!

hi twiggy

yeah, dun worry too much. bb at 34wks very developed already.
i had a fren who bled all throughout her preg and was on complete bedrest for an extended period of time and still managed to carry the bb till full term. hope for the best ya!

costa,

i dun want to trouble my dad lah. he's 70+ and taking care of my son in the morning w my maid. driving alone to kkh is out of the question. my maid no english. hehe. cant even take cab.

Didi,
wat blood tests r yr two boys taking?tink my boy also took last time to check whether his iron stores are sufficient as preemies may not be able to produce enough red bld cells on their own early on, tio bo?

twiggy,
wat did yr doctor say ?she cant continue the progresterone till later?wat are the possible side effects?which hospital did you go to?everyone's situation is different so i may not be able to advise you..but normally babies hv to stay on till 2kg and it may not be nicu but scn (stepped down from nicu)....

complications?preemies face many complications or shld i say challenges but then again, it differs from case to case..even full term kids got their own set of pblems..

my son was extreme preemie and has complications like ROP, brain bleedings, extra heart vessel, feeding pblems....

but if its 34wks, tink maybe the chances of complications shld be much lower....

Rite now, wat i think that you shld request for the jabs to strengthen the baby's lungs shld you be warded in hospital.this jab if i m not wrong takes 48hrs to take effect..i cant remember wat is the name of the jab, the gynae shld noe

hi twiggy, i'm not very experienced in this but i wonder how come your bedrest is not extended? i suppose that is one rather good way of making sure you dun overexert yourself.

i think the jabs that costa is talking about is the steroid jabs right?

costa, i go kkh twice a week for routine scans and then a short consultation with the gynae after that. Good luck for the check up tmr.

hi twiggy, many of the mummies here have known cases of different differnt gestation babies. rest well and try to relax
chat here more and keep your time occupied. time will past fast...take care.

didi - what test is your boys taking? haha, i not that ambitous. i just wish i can go orchard and jalan for 3 hours hahahaha....

stressed and disneymickey - i know about the carry big bag things haha. i am still carrying big bag (in my bag is my boy medical records :p) whenever i bring my boy out :p.

no see kkf. hope you are feeling better today.

lindah, like you, i always take leave to bring my boy for review... but its ok. hope soon your boy appointment will be spaced out (now my boy is like still on 3 monthly lor thou eye doc see him one year later).

*pat pat lindah & all the mummies here*

xbliss,
good to hear tt you hv regular scans and checks...at least it sets yr mind at ease..

mm wat you said abt bedrest is vy helpful...

thanks..hope everythg okay as you noe lah, parents sure kan cheong one...

Hi twiggy
My ger born at 34wks and stay at SNC for 5days and was allowed to go home. No complication for her but just jundice.

Hi Hi so many posts!

Jane, thanks for asking about me...here I am! you miss me yah? me ok, back to work liao...

twiggy, hi you so lucky. Me got bleeding during pregnancies too...sianz. I was on horomone injections and also the pills you mentioned, and even anti contraction pills. I was on bed rest from 20 weeks too. But sadly, my boy still came out early even though I never stop the pills. ha! He came out at 27 weeks. So I said you are lucky, already in 30 weeks, shd be no problem for you to continue till 40 weeks, not to worry. If your baby is to come out early, no matter got the pills or not, still will come out like me. So since he hasn't come out, that means he will stay till 40 weeks!

My colleague's wife also got bleeding since 1st trimester leh. Doctor said the baby will most likely be gone, but think right now, she is still carrying her baby, and into her 18 weeks or so. Must ask him how is his wife now...

I think nowadays bleeding very common in pregnancy.

So good, you all can take leave for your child's medical checkup. Me cannot leh...me only got 5 days childcare leave so most likely used up. My boy's iq test coming, really wish to be present, but then that day got psle marking...

disneymickey, so good you going phuket with you gal? me wanted to go in december as well, but then my stupid hubby said nothing there, not fun for the kids blar blar blar...so sianz...

I want to bring dash to cruise, but realise kids over 2 years old must PAY!!! even for planes and cruises...want my life!

So mummies, before your children turn 2 years old, better go sit more aeroplanes...hee free of charge. and cruises too, 25% payment only.

disneymickey btw, aiyo, you must have very high expectation so you said you look fat (although you already very slim)! hee. Me even worse, dun dare to wear swimming costume now...too big size, hee

kkf,
kids below 2 oso need to pay la. but take budget airline only pays $40. but if they r above 2yr, they can enjoy more if u bring them out. so got pros & cons la.

how u know i slim?? i not slim la. my ger resembles her daddy.. i oso dun wear swimming costume in s'pore, but go hol bo bian mah. phuket is juz 4 relaxing lor. actually juz planned 2 go w/o her, but in the end, still bringing her. aiya, i'm 1 who can't stay still 1, so always look out 4 places to go 4 short trips..need to take leave again in nov cos parents gg hol & after xmas. thinking of gg short trip again. but wait till come back frm phuket then decide.

yawn..think i'll leave early today. v sleepy..

disneymickey, when you come back from phuket, let me know whether good or not, then I see if I want to bring my boy over in december, hee...me also wish to go overseas every now and then, but then very difficult...because I spend too much, hee.

precious one, you dun want to talk to us already is it?
we really really innocent, I think.

I really do believe none of us here is the wicked mummy. All of us celebrate every success of our little one like you.

Do continue to post here.

Mich also, where are you today?

hi for info...one of my colleague she bring her gal (who just turn one year old) sit air plane to Penang. cost a whoppy $200 :p for a seat belt

wow, thats expensive...my favorite line "want my life!"

I think I just stick to my rasa sentosa can liao...

hi kkf hahahaha.... ya really ex hor. and its not for seat. its just one belt :p. jane exclaim "want my life" too when my colleague told me the price :p

oh me going home liao..good night mummy

Btw,mummies, you think it is safe to bring my son to desaru? you think will garna dengue (will there be lots of mosquitoes there?)

Costa, tio lah, the blood test for iron level hor, although they needn't be tested on every pd's visit but then still poor thing lor

kkf, hmm Rasa Sentosa also not cheap rite ? haven't been there b4, have you been there, it is 'clean' me very scary cat lah.

Disneymickey, can get those more 'cover-up' bikinis lah not those string bikins, me too most of the time only wear tankinis no fab body to flaut, only 'properous' tummy, thanks to childbirth

Jane, its those iron level checking tests lor, me too, everytime go out with the boys need to lug a big bag, sianz, but hb will get to carry as I carry 1 bb, maid carry 1 bb then he carry bag, so my diaper is blue in colour so he won't be paiseh....

Very long never come here liao.

kkf, I saw that you want to go rasa sentosa. I had very bad experience there. Waited for more than an hour just to check-in. Dirty beach (My son stipped on oil). Insufficient parking lots (it happened that there were 2 weddings going on that night). They asked us to park all the way to other attraction's public car park.

Twiggy, my son born at 32 weeks. No complication. Stayed in NICU for 2 weeks cos can't regulate his own temp maybe due to little body fat. Now at 13 mths, 8+kg. Don't worry. Our premmies pick up fast.

hello all...

ehh...what happened here??

precious one,
u dun want fren us anymore?? i think wont be any mummy posting the nasty comment.. must be some bo liao surfer lar... just ignore & delete the comment... dun angry liao ok?? some pp just have no brains... *pat pat*

twiggy,
my boy born at 33 wks... no complications also... he even discharged same day as me.. but went back for photo therapy after one wk as he got jaundice... so dun worry too much... jia you!!

kkf,
glad that u ok liao...u recover very fast leh!! super woman!

cheaky thanks for letting me know...me decided to change to desaru instead...hee, about same price anyway, and better still can go "overseas".

Nana, when I got flu, I will eat the medicine prescribed by my doctor here. I think his flu medicine (1 for day and 1 for night)is really very powerful! My hubby and I always ate that whenever we got flu, and recovered quite fast!

btw, rasa is around $300 per room. not very expensive, about the same as normal hotel leh.

good morning..ya where is all the mummies

twiggy take care. xbliss too
keep us posted on your baby development.

hello nana
hello cheaky
i learn that saying hello is a very good form to start the day (at kindermusik hehe). then hor, to teach baby to give things, we must say "good bye bear" good by this and that..

mummies..please don't faint. jane just trying to practise how to teach my boy things keke..

hi kkf good to see your recover fully
wow, so you decide to go desaru? nice place too. but when are you going? year end there may be not that good weather. are you brining dash?

good morning all..

jane,
ya, tat's wat we taught my ger. for eg. when we bring her to lot 1, she wans to sit in those coin-operated cars, let her sit lor, but i kiam siap, nev put $ in 1 haha. noticed tat when we pull her away, she refused. but we let her play until she ok, then ask her to say bye bye to it & say we r gg elsewhere & will come back again, she'll guai guai say bye bye n leave w us.

good practice. i'm sure ur boy will turn out 2 b a good boy cos he got a nice mommy

hmm..$200 to buy a seat belt? x, but no choice lor, i can't imagine taking a 10hr bus ride with my ger. i thnk reach penang i alrdy regret & wan to come home liao haha

kkf,
i think desaru is a better choice than rasa sentosa. though i haven't been to desaru b4, but i think there r other places u can visit if u drive, for eg. on the way, can stop & c things as & when u wan. but like wat jane say, chk out the weather b4 gg.

ok. will let u know abt phuket when i come back

hello disneymickey
haha.. oh so the bye bye thing really works? but i heard they easily addicted to those coin operated machine :p i must remember what u say today so that next time if my boy wants to be on it...i will do the same thing ;) thanks for sharing.

this mummy no good one la... copy all the ideas here and there keke.

true hor...imagine 10 hours ride keke.

when is the next time i can board a plane ler??? jane wonders again :p

nowadays forum so quiet...

mummies..come back and join us ler...

kkf,
harlo, u wake up so early..u must be in school now..psle started or starting soon, tio bo..u sure vy busy one....

hmm, must ask you wat flu medicine so good?i always tio flu.......recently i took a flu vaccine..

thk must wait for school to end before you got time to log on again..

jane,
siang is at kindermusik?

nana,
join us here more often lah....

didi,
dun tink yr kids will be tested anymore..maybe chk wif the neo nat

alicia,
how are you, u recd my email?

sally,
u coping well?any help you need, please post here...

jane,
aiya, we all share & learn mah. we oso used this method to all her toys. when gg to sleep, will ask her to say bye-bey to all her toys. of cos when gg home frm my mom's place, will say bye bye to & hug everybody. think this type of 'good' habits must cultivate frm young. when she can talk, must make sure she greet everybody. i dun like kids who r rude & refuse to greet pple, so must make sure my own kid is nev like tat.

think today costa & lindah bringing their boys 4 chekup? so 2 less kakis.. kkf still in sch.. tat's y quiet lor.

hi costa good morning

its very quiet today. oh last sunday i bring siang to kindermusik for trial class
am still deciding if i should sign him up for a term or so.

you took the flu vaccination too? that time was contemplating to take but then end up totally forget about it hahahaha...

hi disneymickey - you are right. many things is cultivate from young.

oh ya. today lindah bring her boy for check up. think maybe afternoon she will drop by.

today PSLE :p

Hi mummies, thank you very much for the reassurance and encouragement. Feel much better knowing that it should be quite ok.

Costa, I didnt ask my Dr why she plans to stop the jabs at week 34. I'll check w her next time i see her. I'm at Raffles Hospital. My Dr is very experienced so I normally listen to her recommendations.

Xbliss, I was going nuts staying in bed for three months.
So as my condition stabilized, I started to do a bit more. Have only just done my baby shopping in fact. But I still limit my movements to minimum walking around.

Kkf, ya, the bedrest sucks ya? But as long as baby ok eventually, it's all worth it. Ask your colleague's wife not to give up. When I started bleeding heavily at 14 weeks onwards, people though also gone case. Lucky my Dr didnt give up. She put me on CRIB for a long time and that saved the baby. She told me to tahan till at least week 28 when baby has a fighting chance.

twiggy,
harlo...now wif technological and medical advances.......23wkrs hv also a vy strong fighting chance..

i thot you are in kkh and i can say harlo to you as i m going there today and tomorrow....

i hv seen a 23wker so adorable and then can drink so well and so cute.....born at i think 500plus grams....

yr gynae must hv her reasons to stop the jabs at wk 34.....every situation is different..guess now, yr job is to be a good gal

anythg u want to discuss, u can pm me..

Costa, okie, will check with the pd

Jane, where is the kindermusik that you are sending your boy ? do they have a lot of branches ?

twiggy, i see. have to agree that bedrest is really argh. spoils my whole body bloodflow cos i can only lie on left. 3 months is really long.. i;ve been on it for nearly 2 months. but im not complaining!! i need to hang in til at least 32 wks! (personal target lah.. hopefully tts can hold out til so long).

i havent done any bb shopping... dun dare to buy. so chicken right? cos i worry bbies can;t go home so soon. but i got do research online.. so in the event need to buy, i can just pass shopping list to hubby. partial reason is also cos of my woman genetics.. cos i know got yr end sale.. heheh. so hopefully can wait til then to get to lower my expenses!

is there any way i can get to see the montage that you all are doing?? so curious and i think i will be very motivated by the cute bb pics!

kkf, desaru sounds really far. i tot i may settle for batam. ehhe. if it's just beach that u are looking for (i never go desaru befor lah), batam view has a pretty nice beach and pool. harris resort at batam - beach not fantastic but got children's club... so u can spend some time with hubby while they bbsit ur child! harris has more facilities like bowling, nice pools, arcade, table tennis, etc. If need help can let me know.. i used to go batam a lot for massage. good and cheap.

hi twiggy, rest well and keep us posted

didi - i went to the one at tanglin mall. think only one outlet in singapore :p

xbliss,

where in batam is massage good and cheap ah? i am gg to stay at holiday inn in dec leh. any tips?

jane/disney,

me no appt today. my appt on 8 oct next week. costa is the one who has appt today.

lindah, you so 'hardworking' to bring hami honey out of Singapore, me and hb daren't venture out of Singapore yet
too tedious to bring the two bunnies out
hb wants to either bring them to Bintan, Jakarta or Bali.