Premature babies support group

Hi eedaddy,

My gal longest record is 7 days no poo.
Super happy to take care of her that time, cos no need to change diaper so often. Relatives and grandparents super worry but checked with friends whose babies on total EBM also like that. Even longer record. So I just relaxed lo.

For BB on total EBM is very normal for not passing motion everyday. And also very irregular poo, sometimes can be 3-5 times a day also. Dont worry too much as long as baby still willing to drink milk and doesn't showed irritable it should be normal.

Hi Aixin

Thanks. Should I admit him?
cos they will do rectal wash for 3 days and then do a biopsy. I scare no problem do until a lot of problem.
He pass air sometime will have a bit of stool come out. I scare wait for him to pass on his own if really stuck, the intestine will rupture.
Very headache. Once think of it I cannot concentrate on my work and feel like breaking down. Especially think of my baby smiling at me every morning. Really dun wish for him to go through this ordeal.

Hi eedaddy,

Why not you bring your bb to another PDs for consultation? Since you also doubt whether your KK doctors are over reacting. I can totally understand how much we want to protect our bb from getting more pain, and yet worry the decision that we make might be wrong. So if not confident get second professional opinion.

Same thing for my gal who always caught flu, and we met those doctors that want to give her antibiotics, but I always ask doctor can we go without. Doctor always said ok to try to let my gal recover on her own if getting worse then come back. After going home, i always feel worry that she will get worse and what i decided only slow down her recovery. But everytime it proves my instinct for my bb is correct, she is strong to recover on her own. Never once did she take antibiotics till now 2 yo plus.

Your baby only on EBM?? My gal also passed a lot air when she is not pooing daily. Actually EBM is easily absorbed by baby intestine so it is normal not to poo daily. Formula have lots of excess in nutrients that is why poo poo is daily, more smelly and colour also darker.

When my bb was warded last time, the doc was not very concerned when I told him my bb hasn't poo for 5 days. That means all nutrients has been fully absorbed. Importantly the bb still pass out a lot of urine and not feeling unwell.

Actually, I got a doc to insert thermometer (with a plastic cover) to stimulate my bb to pass motion. It worked but not recommended to do it frequently coz bb may become dependent on it and not put an effort to push. You can check with your PD.

LAWW,
My bb on total bm does not poo daily. Once in 2-3 days is her average and her longest was 7 days. Doc didn't seem concerned as it's ok if bm babies don't poo daily.

These 2 days my bb hasn't been waking up for her night feeds. E.g her last feed last night was at 830pm and she slept till 6 am this morning (more like we wake her up) to drink. Then she slept till 1030am (I woke her up again). She didn't cry for milk.

Her total milk intake per day is only abt 700-800ml, which is too low in my opinion. Based on her weight of about 7kg, she should be drinking about 1050ml. Anyone can share their experience? I'm worried that her swollen kidney is restricting her stomach space.

Hi all, have not checked in for a bit. Very sad to hear of babies who have moved on. My thoughts are with you.

eedaddy, my limited experience with EBM and pooing is that usually EBM poo is quite frequent and watery..but some babies also have infrequent poos (up to 7 to 10 days occasionally is still ok). But if your baby is frequently constipated beyond every 3-4 days and needs help to move bowels almost every time then perhaps you should follow the advice of KK doctors or other specialists. I think another mummy on this board also had a child go through this -- suspected Hirschprungs that turned out to be habitual constipation? PErhaps that mummmy will chime in too.

My girl is also a little constipated - going every 2-3 days. Every two months or so I have to "help" her along with some vaseline. Everytime I mention this to Drs they say its no big deal and to give her as much water as she wants...so I guess it depends on how often the constipation happens.

Kelly, how old (adjusted) is your bb now? When bb sleeps through the night they will eat more during the day and less during the night. When they start solids they will also start to reduce milk intake. If in doubt though, just give the nutritionist a call to verify appropriate volume intake.

Hi all mummies and daddies,

Thanks for all the tips and assurances
I have gave my son 2 day of Suppository straight and the stool change from greenish tar-like to yellowish.
I also start giving him lactus and he start to pass motion twice a day.
I yesterday remove the lactus and still able to pass motion by himself in the morning. Yellow colour.
So hopefully all the sticky greenish tar like stool if out of his guts, he can pass motion daily on his own. Will also start him on Tui Na after the chinese new year and hope he gets better

Hi Kelly,
If u wake her up? does she drink? My younger son is need to wake him up then he eat. Seldom cry for milk while my older son is like alarm clock and cry precisely plus minus 10 mins on feeding time 3 hourly. Also dun be too overly concern on the 150ml x weight formula.
As long the baby is growing and put on weight, should be ok.

dear mummies and daddies,
haven't login to this thread since a long time. very sad to hear the loss of babymaking and suda. i am not good with consoling in words too, but i do hope u will not blame yourself for what has happened and move on. your angels will be blessing you from above always.

i feel the need to post her and share with all of u as u have mentioned abt pre-matured babies.

i had 4 pregnancies and now have 3 kids. 1st pregnancy bb no heartbeat--did D&C. (2 years later)2nd pregnancy- bb born 35 weeks when water bag suddenly bursts w/o any reason or symptoms. (2 years later) 3rd pregnancy- bb born at 32wks+6days when water bag bursts again. (n 2 yrs later) when i had my 4th pregnancy, i was advised by my gynae to had cerclage---stitching of the cervix at abt 11+weeks. i did a research on cerclage n understand more tt it was meant for women whose cervix is weak n couldn't hold foetus for long. nothing said abt water bag bursting, but i decided to go ahead with the surgery for a peace of mind as i am very fearful of even earlier pre-matured bb. throughout my pregnancy, i am careful n limit my walking, n also not to carry heavy things or my elder kids. i am on medication throughout for high blood pressure, n i also try to eat durian n other foods n drink maternity milk to help boost baby's weight. i m glad i made the right choice, coz when my waterbag bursts this time round, bb is at 36weeks n a good weight of 2.5kg. N i thank cerclage surgery for helping my body to hold the baby for a longer period. coz when i am in labour ward, straight after my gynae removed the stitches from my cervix, bb just gushed out within 10 minutes.

so to babymaking and mummies who wish to go for next pregnancy n worried of prematured labour, maybe speak to gynae on the option of cerclage.

i wish all mummies have faith n be brave when facing your future. cheers n hugs.

I agree with onefish as I used to read from books that BM babies will poo more frequent and watery where FM babies sometimes may have constipation or the poo will b harder as compared.. My boy was on BM for 6months only and during that time his poo was quite frequent and watery..

Hui
I had 4 pregnancies too but only 1 boy now @2.5 years.. 3 miscarriages.. First 2 were during 1st trimester and the 3rd one was at 16weeks.. Waterbag burst without Ny reason.. Doc suspect I do have incompetent cervix so I had cerclage done at 11+weeks too.. Limited walking and carrying things.. Am glad I manage to hold him till 31weeks which he borned at 1.62kg..

Thanks for responding to my queries. My girl is now aa 5.5 months, ca 3.5 months. Weight should b abt 7+ kg now. I suspect it could also be due to the milk powder she's drinking coz I changed to another brand today. She seems to b able to finish the whole bottle while the previous one, I've to give her 2 ten minutes breaks in between. The previous one smells rather fishy actually.

HI.. all My Baby was slightly premature at 35 weeks. He was born with an Imperforate Anus.. Would like to know anyone have this condition? can share with me ur experience.

He had done his colostomy and still in NICU.

Hi can I just check:

1) Any mummies have successfully claimed medishield/medishield type of plans for premature labour / and NICU costs?

2) Trying to find a insurance to cover my wife in the future due to PROM for our first baby recently. luckily the stay was only 3 weeks at restructured hospital hence the bill was not astronomical.

Hi fellow fathers and mothers here...

I am going to be a first time father. Wife is at 16 week and routine scan has shown major placenta previa. Dr Ben Tham from TMC warned us of very likely bleeding and 30% chance of premature delivery.

He also advised us to go KKH coz TMC NICU charges are much higher.

But reading the posts in this forum hint that KKH NICU may be full at times.
My question is, anybody know if we sign up to deliver at KKH but if there's emergency premature delivery before the scheduled date, would NICU vacancy still be guaranteed?

Raymond, sorry to hear about the previa. Hopefully your wife's pregnancy will still be uneventful. There are few guarantees in life, and a bed in the nicu is unfortunately not one of them.

That being said, I believe if you let KK know of your wife's situation in advance, KK can better prepare for your baby's arrival.

When I was warded at KK before my twins' delivery, there were signs posted saying that the NICU is full. I was worried that there would be no space for my babies in the NICU and specifically asked the neonatologist about that. She said that they can accomodate current patients and their babies, but they have to turn away emergency cases that they have not anticipated - from private hospitals etc.

Hope that helps.

Raymond sorry to hear about that, Dr Tham also advised us the same and unfortunately KK turned us away due to the lack of beds. We delivered at SGH subsequently.

Best is to go to KK straight instead of via a&e.

Hi Raymond,

So sorry to hear that. I was with Dr Tham until I had to be admitted to hospital on an emergency basis. He tried KKH for me but was turned away as KKH was unable to cope. Luckily KKH helped to refer me to SGH where i delivered my twins. It was a emotional nightmare when I was at his clinic waiting for either KKH or SGH to take me.

Hence, agree with soul108 that best is to go to KKH straight now.

wishing you all the best!

Hi Soul108,

my twins are 16mths old now, corrected age 13 mths. they are doing fine but their development seems slower even at corrected age. But i am not complaining as i count myself lucky that they have come so far and are otherwise healthy, active and they do not have many health issues.

if your baby gets hungry sooner than 3 hours, you can increase the EBM.

how's your baby?

Hi I really need advice.my bb went for medical checkup today.no Gd news.at corrected age 9 mths, n actual age 10 mths she can't sit on her own.doc says her muscles r weak n she has e signs of a hypotonia cerebral palsy kid.refer me to child development clinic.i feel lost after I step out of her room...now wat's next?

Bubbly_me: what would you corrected age? My darling daughter will be a month old this sat. Honestly it's a trying experience being first time parents. Certain things you just trial and error. Of course you will have the over eager maternal grandma and my own mum who is very experienced in taking care of kids but she plays it cool so that my inlaws can look after my dd. My wife is extremely tired due to EBM'ing every 3 hours. Average 70 to 100ml now. Flow is good. She's afraid to let baby latch on coz baby still small and her mouth is small. Lol..

I try to make it a point to measure her temp every 3 hours to make sure it doesnt fall below 36.5.. Healthwise she is doing ok. Thank god. Frankly I wish for nothing more than just gd health right now.. We were feeding her the last week 38 to 40ml and just recently up to 45-50ml.. Really not sure if should increase or anything..

Julbee, don't worry too much. Take her to the developmental clinic as advised. They will most probably have a physical therapist evaluate her and teach you some exercises to do with baby. These exercises will help her progress.

Is your bb sitting at all? Supported? In tripod position? If she is, those are positive signs. She may just be a bit behind.

For what it's worth, my son only sat unassisted at 1 year corrected. Crawled at 10 months corrected, cruised at 1 yr corr and finally walked at 17 months corr. All behind the norm, and he still receives PT today.

In the meantime, you can practice with her. Sit her in your lap and read books, play with toys, sing songs and clap her hands. This way she feels supported and can gradually learn to sit by herself.

Hi soul108, my babies are 13 months corrected age now. Same as you, all i wish for is that they are healthy and nothing else matters.

babies get hungry faster when they are on EBM so if your DD needs more intake, suggest can increase feed if she gets hungry sooner than 3 hours.

what is your DD's actual age now?

Happy full month for your DD and wishing her good health!

Bubbly_me: I'm abit confused on the corrected age. Haha., she was born on the 4th Jan, so her actual age is 1month this sat? But corrected age is 37weeks coz she was born on the 33rd week?

We aren't sure abt how to feed.. We upped from 40ml to 50ml? She can finish but then it seems like she regurge a little later..

Soul108 n one fish> thank u for replying.my gal can tripod n she can try to sit up from her lying position..i hope she is really fine!

Julbee: parents got to be strong for the children. Don't worry too much. These are all just tribulations so she can grow stronger in the future..

soul108...her corrected age is -3 weeks leh because i understand that corrected age starts from the EDD. But i think your DD is doing very well! 7 weeks premature and is already discharged before 37 weeks, impressive! good job, little girl!

if she regurges a little, probably slightly overfed so you can maintain the feeds and stop increasing. their stomachs are about the size of their fists, so you may have to increase feeding frequency instead of increase feed.

it's a lot of guessing work in taking care of a baby because they are all so different!

good luck!

Bubbly_me: lol I get it now. Corrected starts from EDD. I guess need to wait till her corrected one month or more before can bring her out also. Yeah we hope so, tomorrow is her first checkup after being discharged.

She's a fiesty little one. Now she screams if we are a little late for feeding. Wife is saying she is starting to be a little difficult.

We are feeding about 2hrs 45mins to 3hours on average. And that's difficult for us to sleep.

That's true! Thanks so much for your advice!

Thanks guys.
We decided to go to TPS to preempt any chances of premature delivery. As what you have adviced, KKH does mention that they usually will have no problem coping with their patients but emergency cases may get turned away. Thanks for your advice.

Im a mom of a 26 weeker n got discharged fron kkh recently. If I'm in need of medical advice, do i go back to kkh A&E Or do I look for a private PD? I find that kkh A&E always admit us once they know that my baby is premature baby, no matter how minor is the sickness.

Any good PD that is experienced with premature baby to recommend around north area?

Thks a million

hi lyteh, not sure if bishan is ok for you to travel to but i used to live up north. went to a few children's clinic eg ooi and ooi clinic but feel that Dr Oh Meng Choo at Bishan children's clinic is still the best. i like her because she is very nice, will answer all the question i ask her and is very careful with her prescription of medication for me boy esp since he is premature. she believes in preventive medication more than reactive.

Thks lilac for d info. Will try her out next time.

My baby is having cold symptom. She has blocked nose n a little bit of dry cough, (less than 5 times a day). We scared that it will progress into killer bronchiolitis ! Her blocked nose started last Saturday n her cough started two days ago.

Need advice from you guys.

Happened to saw this
I had a premiee last yr in Jul too
She is 5 mth corrected G.A today
Reading all the posts bought back tears

She's delivered at 31 weeks at nuh n coping very well till date
From a 1.5kg BB till now 7 kg
Alots of sweats n tears involved
I still remembered am requesting to go hm n got a shock tat I have to c sect her out... Seeing how small she is n the tubes on her totally freaked me off on the 2nd day I saw her ...

Hi, I delivered recently as well, twins, 25wks 5 days. In KKH NICU now.

Wanted to ask the KKH mummies here if you know how KKH uses the EBM you send in? As in, do they throw away EBM every 4 hrs or every 24 hrs? The lactation nurse told me that they will use 1 bottle every 24 hrs (that is, assuming your baby's 24-h intake is less than the amount in the bottle), however, a nurse from NICU told me that once they open the bottle and take out the amt required for 4 hrs (i.e. 2 feedings) they will discard the rest of the EBM in the bottle.

I've asked the NICU nurses several times actually but I keep getting a different answer each time! So far, I've been putting enough for a 24-hr into one bottle, but my EBM seems to be used up at a faster rate than I thought it would be, so I thought better check with other mummies.

Hi Blossom,

My lactation consultant asked me to show in very small quantities like 20 ml per bottle in the beginning. To avoid wastage. I was told they will use 1 bottle every 24 hours.

Hi lyteh, hope your baby is feeling better now. When my baby had blocked nose, I brought him to KKh once for suction. They sucked out a lot mucus fr his congested nose. Subsequently, KKH prescribed a type of liquid (they say its saltwater soltution) for flushing into his n then for us to do our own suction at home.

Other advices I got fr this forum includes elevating the bed (using towels) n having humidifier in the room if sleeping in Aircon.

Keep baby at home to avoid getting anymore virus...

Hope your baby recovers soon

Hi Ning,

My baby is getting better already. We brought her to a PD near our house and he prescribed the same liquid that you mentioned and a medication to clear the phlegm.

Thank god that her blocked nose and cough did not get worse. We limit our outing to only KKH and sometimes air con shopping centre during weekday. We dare not go out on weekend as everywhere is too crowded.

Hi lyteh,

how long did your baby stay in KKH btw? Mine were born at close to 26 weeks too, I'm wondering how long this will last. They have been in there for a month, it already seems like forever. And their weight gain is sooo slooowww....

hi, Blossom(seasideblooms),

Welcome to this board!!

I am the starter of this thread..my son was born at 24weeks about five years odd back..usually babies will stay till they are 2kg or till the time they are supposed to be full term...

my son was supposed to be born in oct but born in june..he stayed till november as he had some issues which were not resolved...

its case by case, i have seen babies go back at the 35 week threshold(when they are supposed to be 35 weeks if they had been less premature)...

hope this helps..

anyway think its better for babies to full recover before they are back...

my child is now coming six...and doing okay...

Hi Costa,

wow 24 wks! It's so nice to hear about other preemies who are doing well now.

I don't think my twins will go back at 35 wks tho...one only just got off the ventilator, and the other has a large PDA. You're right tho that it's better for them to stay longer in NICU than to go home when still risky. In any case they are only 900+ grams now, don't think they can gain >1 kg in 5 weeks.

Suspect it is actually tougher AFTER they are back home...

hi,blossom (seaside blooms),

hmm....tell you something lah..after 1kg, the weight increase wld be mega fast..before long, time to bring yr kid back!!!

i had the same worries as you also but rest assure that they wun let you bring back the baby/babies if you are not confident...

the hospital wld train you before discharge...my son was discharged wif tube feeding and i had to learn it before he went home...

dun worry.....everythg wld fall into place...

there are many preemies who are doing very well so dun worry...my son has minor issues here and there but nothing major..trust yours wld be the same...cheers

For formula milk feeding, do we follow actual or corrected age? My boy is turning AA 12 mths n CA 9 mths. So formula should use step 2 (6 mths n above) right? Not sure which brand to use. Any recommendations?

hi all.
not logged in for v v long time. wishing u all strength and hope tru these times.. stay strong...

suda - so sorry to hear abt ur loss. pls dun blame urself..no one is to blame..

kelly - I had preeclampia with first baby resulting in premmie baby at wk 32@1kg. 2nd baby was overdue and no issues at all

most dr said high risk again. no one can guarantee anything so just go for it.

I opted for a dr who wasnt so ermm.. pessimistic. He prescribe aspirin which thins e bld as a precautionary step so that more gets to the baby. no guarantee of coz. I ensured I got enuff vitamins, positive thots & prayed for the best,support from mummies here.. Just heard of another mum who had a premmie and norm preggy this time too.

I'm new on this thread. I delivered in Jan 12, 27weeks 5days, weight at 965gm. Currently my baby is still in NICU. I'm preparing myself to take care of him when he's back home. Any tips to share on how to take care of premmie baby. Anything to take extra care or to take note? Please share on your experience.

Thanks Mr Q. We managed to check with dietician n they advised that we shld follow CA too.

Hi blossom, my baby is also 26 weaker. Stayed in KK for 4 mths. The length of stay depends on the docs assessment. Jia you !

Hi Sally, the hospital will actually prepare the parents b4 the baby us discharged. If ur baby is in KKH, they offer classes for parents . For me , I tried reading up - books , online , the archival of this thread . The nurses at KKH are also knowledgeable on care of preemies. Preemies needs extra attention in most areas like feeding, breathing , development etc...