Premature babies support group

Hi Ning ,Bubbly and Costa,

Thank you for taking time to provide your advice. It is much appreciated.

I agree with all of you that it best to do carry on the test, but my wife is just battling with me and wants to stop the test as she feels it is causing pain for the baby. I explained to her the reason why she should continue to test, but she is not in the mood to listen. Also the nurses have told her that it is best not to test so many times so she is sticking to that and saying that she does not want to test.

It is very stressful making a decision when each of the parent is not agreeing.

My kid has come off CPAP and is on nasal prongs with 0.01 - 0.05 oxygen. She has reached 40 weeks and this week should be her actual birth date. Talking to the doctor, he says that her nerves have not fully developed and full development will be about 40 - 42 weeks. Also, his view is that since she is still on oxygen, it is best to test her for any issues, as oxygen can be cause for ROP development. He also mentioned that he would prefer to test and be very sure than to just leave it for a long time and test later.

I think I would also prefer to be on the side of caution although I am stressed thinking if I made the right decision.

Costa, Ning Bubbly,

My doc does the test every 10 days, how often did your doctor do it ?

Suda,

I cant really remember how often the doctors did d test..I could be wrong but think it could be about once every two weeks..maybe the frequency of tests would lessen once your baby is bigger?

Perhaps maybe your wife and you can talk to the doctor to lessen the frequency maybe once in three weeks or something ? Since your baby has already reached 40 weeks and on the road to discharge,perhaps the frequency would be lessened..

I can understand your wife's anxieties as the scene of doing the test may have unnerved her a bit.

Hope that your baby can be ROP free soon and be free from the tests..

Hi Suda,

My son had stage 2-3 ROP for both eyes so he was tested every week when he was in hospital while my girl had zero ROP was tested fortnightly. But after they were discharged, my girl progressed to stage 1 ROP and because my son had to go KKH for weekly checks, my girl ended up had weekly checks too. the weekly checks continued for almost 8 weeks and changed to 6th month check because ROP was totally resolved by then. During the 6th month check, doc checked for squinty, lazy eyes etc. My babies were cleared of these symptoms so now the next appointment is a year later and doc advised that he will discharge them if the next checkup goes ok.

The checks are safe just very uncomfortable for babies and it's very heart breaking to hear them cry and scream in the clinic while undergoing the checks. After checks, you just need to take care not to expose them to strong sunlight because their pupils are dilated for the checks.

In fact, i am surprised that the nurses advised against the checks. For my case, the nurses at SGH (where my babies were admitted) strongly advised and kept reminding me not to miss or postpone eye checkups.I would advise you ask your wife to speak with the doctor instead of the nurses. With all due respect, the nurses are not the eye specialists.

cheers!

Hi Costa and Bubbly,

Thank you for taking the time to write back. Much appreciated. =)

So it seems that the test is conducted even after discharge but the frequency of test is further apart. Am I correct to understand that?

Does the baby have discharge from the eyes after the exam or any swelling or red marks?

The doctor mentioned that he will probably stop it after her nerves are fully developed at 42 weeks and when she is off oxygen and is ready to be back home. This seems to be different from what you'll have experienced.... maybe he just doesn't want to tell now....

I just talked to the neonatologist and he mentioned that our kid does not need to go for another round,however when I talk to the consulting eye doctor he mentioned it would be best to do another round.

Conflicting points...

My wife gets worried and stressed and cannot seem to accept the reasoning as she feels the baby is suffering. But she does not want realize that it would be best for her.

I have been trying to find ways to help her understand but sometimes she just can't understand the reasoning or can't accept it.

Anyway, thank you for sharing your experience.

Appreciate it.

Regards.

Suda,

You are most welcome!!We are most happy to share with you what we have gone thru and admire you for being such a knowledgable and hands-on dad.

i emailed you already just now, hv you got it? thanks for replying to my pm.

Maybe different strokes for different folks.For us in Singapore in kkh, the child is seen quite often after discharge, or at least i know my son was, from iungs issue, to eye, heart etc...and after everythg gets clearance or a better picture is painted, then the appointments are lesser.

If i am not wrong, think kkh and perhaps d government hospitals practise stricter monitoring over the prems as compared to private hospitals..

u are welcome to pm me or share any queries you have and i will try my best to help you find an answer...

Hi Bubbly & Costa,

When did your girl have ROP ? was it before her actual birth age? or after?

Was it after 40 weeks ( gestation) or before that?

I'm sorry, I get confused with CA & AA as there seems to be different definitions for them.

Appreciate your replies.

Hi Suda,

you are right that the eye checks continue after discharge unless doc can ascertain that ROP is resolved or baby's eyes stabilized and will remain ROP free. With regards to the frequency of checks...it basically depends on the condition of your baby. For my case, both babies have no discharge, only slight swelling and usually resolve within the day and only once my son had some burst blood vessels on the eye ball suspected due to checks but also resolve couple of days later.

my girl had ROP near her original EDD..about 4 weeks prior.

Suda, my baby had weekly eye checks when he was in hospital. He had ROp 2 n some parts 3.
He was CA 1-4 weeks then. After he was discharged at CA 4 weeks, the eye checked continued but were further apart if the ROP shows regressing trend.
Might be a good idea to stay away when docs doing their checks.., so that ur wife won't feel too upset.

Hi Ning, glad ur baby is recovering. My younger son in KKH mrsa blue. just recently a mum keep on coughing. I ask the nurse to inform her to wear a face mask. She say will tell the sister about it. Yesterday when I went there 2 baby caught cough infection and isolated. My younger son never kana but I should have tell the mummy upfront instead of going thru nurse. Felt quite bad...

Anyone heard of twinsinsg? Think they having a garage sale in horsecity. Going to find stroller there. Hehe. Hope today don't rain.

My baby had been rejecting his 12am feed
He's CA 4.5 mths , taking 900ml per day if inclusive 12am feed. If exclude, then only 780ml. Dietician says need abt 990 ml but he will reflux if we try feed him to much. We didn't dare to stop night feed but he will protest n scream when we wake him. I read that some mummies n daddies dream feed... But my baby refused. When he's tired or sleeply, he hates it if we wake him. So we r in a dilemma ... Let him sleep thru the night fr 930pm to 6am so continue to disturb him at 12... Just mow he barely drank 20 ml.. Can I check when your babies start sleeping thru the night? Did dr or dietician say ok before u let baby sleep thru the night?

Will prob check with dr agarwal when we see her next week

Hi Ning,

Your boy is he on semi soli food?
I think the Dietrician might recommend start giving him semi solid food and milk as supplement.
If I go to KKH tonight I help you ask the Dr if I see one around.

Ning:my baby takes only 6 feeds per day..it's not easy to wake her up to drink.besides I thought I shouldn't disturb her sleep as babies need alot of sleep n it's Gd for their brain development.so long as bb is happy..1 feed less is not an issue ba..

Eedaddy, we have not started him on solids.
He's AA 7.5 mths n CA 4.5. Think they follow CA n guideline is start ard 6 mths right? Maybe it depends on indv baby too

Julbee, we also think we shld let him sleep ESP since he's CA 4.5 mths already. But just unsure cos he was born so premature and was a ELBW baby. I remember u had problems waking your baby for feeds too, is she taking solids already?

Hi Ning,

Yes you are right, just checked, is CA 6mths
I have the KK notes with me. I type it out for you below

For Milk refusal,
-Avoid giving water between feeds
-Check teat size,flow rate
-Pacing - able to suck-swallow-breathe comfortably
-Avoid force-feeding
-Do not keep changing milk formula

Hi Ning, we actually try giving her formula milk for her last feed as formula milk can last her longer.when we first started we were thinking if she is hungry she will cry out..but she din.so we start her feeds at 7 am n her last feed at 10pm.yes she has started on cereals.right now only 1 of her feeds is solids.we r making changes gradually..she loves eating bits of bread,banana,apple too..initially I was bothered by e fact that she is born premature.but now I really treat her like any normal bb cos if we keep thinking that she is premature we tend to b worrying too much in our decision making..again e same thing so long as she is happy we r ok..her wt n height r just figures to us..we r not really bothered by it.

Hi mommies and daddies,

Sharing the latest picture of my warrior who turned CA 6 months today.
Born at 31w6d, she weighed 990 gms and was in NICU/SCN for 2 months. She fought through NEC and a hernia surgery before coming home in May 2011. Unresolved issues include a hole in the heart, a bleed in the brain and feeding problems but hopefully everything will be ok soon. Currently at 5.8 kg, she is generally a very happy baby and the joy of our lives. Thank you to all mommies and daddies for their valuable advice and words of reassurance. To those whose warriors are in hospital now, fight on!

6292129.jpg

Thk u for advice. DecisiOn when to take out bb taken out of our hands now. This morning warded for preterm labour n rupture of membranes.

Now on meds to control cOntractions, bb is only 26 weeks.

babymaking, I also had premature rupture of membrane (PROM) @ 25weeks. Managed to "tahan" until 28weeks. With all the invasive checks by the doctors, I eventually succumb to infection and doctors stopped all anti-contractions medication to allow me to birth naturally. There are a few things which you should do now:

1. Try to relax though easier said than done. Keep telling yourself and the baby that he can stay inside. Hopefully that tear of the membrane is not too big.
2. Help baby to gain weight by drinking milk powder for pregnant mummies (I think by Abbott) daily. I kept drinking and drinking and baby came out at 1.089kg. Doctors were glad that he was at least 1kg.

Do update us and jiayou.

Babymaking, hang in there. I had similar problems and was warded when baby was 24 weeks. together with the KK docs/nurses, delayed for 2 weeks + till 26 weeks 5 days.

Like wat lilac says try relax n eat well. If you wish to talk, just pm me ur number ok?

I remember how upset I was when stuck in labour ward but do talk with ur hubby, family members n friends n nurses... It helps . Everyday that passes is a victory for baby n you.

The docs told me they seen cases where mummies tahan for up to 2 months till 32 weeks ..

Lilac, ning

Thks for tips to cope. How were your babies at 28 weeks & 26 weeks?

The last scan 2 weeks ago, bb is almost 1kg. They gave the jab to mature bb lungs this morning also.

Hi Babymaking,

Stay positive! for my case, I was admitted at 23 weeks and i managed to "tong" for another 2 weeks before delivery. Tell yourself you can do it and i have heard that some mummies "tong" for months even with a ruptured membrane.

Babymaking, my baby was 910g at 26 weeks. Had to be on cpap 21%. He had to deal with challenges that a lot of the ELBW babies had to deal with like PDA, hernia, ROP, chronic lung diseases , infections etc... Every preemie is different n have different set of problems , but they are all warriors.

The injection to strengthen the lungs is v important n it's good that u had sufficient time to take the injection.

Take one step at a time, concentrate on resting n encouraging your baby. You are in good hands with many docs n nurses on standby to help you.

You have done well, from last week to this week is already six extra days baby remained in your womb. Continue to jia you ! Every day counts !

babymaking, the first 1 year was difficult. Had to bring him back to hospital for various checks. He was discharged with poor post-natal growth, ROP II, hernia operation etc. Now at 2 years old, he is growing very well sans his weight lah. He is abit on the small side but other than that, he is doing well. One outstanding issue is his eyes. Still need to go back for yearly review.

Viman, ur baby's eyes r beautiful !!

Let's continue to cheer our babies on n hope the prematurity issues will resolve soon.

Julbee - good that your baby is interested in solids! It's a good sign . Dr agarwal is ok with us not waking baby for the 12am feed, but it's really case by case basis. Other daddies n mummies of preemies shld still check with doctor if unsure. Just in case... Cos preemies really dun really cry for milk.

We will see dietician next month when baby is CA 5.5 mths
Will discuss semi solid or solid feeding with Dietician then.

Thanks all for the replies n PMs

babymaking,

So sorry to hear about the rupture.. I had ruptured membranes from wk 18-29. Whatever you do, do NOT let the doctors examine you internally or insert anything into the vagina. Most doctors will not know about the risk of infection or don't care (its true) because they think you will deliver soon anyway.

The other things that I felt helped me was to drink lots of water, lie very still on complete bedrest, use bedpan (gross but it helped minimize fluid loss), use stool softeners, change pad often.

Also, you may already have been told that any sign of fever, abdominal pain or general unwellness should be reported to doctor..because if infection does set in, it can happen fast and be dangerous to mother and baby.

I didn't know I had gone into labor..just felt like constipation. Finally the CTG machine detected contractions and they were already 2 min apart. Also had loss of appetite on onset of labor. (atypical for me). So if you feel "off" its better to ask for CTG monitoring.

Good luck..hope you can hold on for a good while longer. Every day in the womb is helpful to baby.

Mommies and daddies,
My bb currently has iron drops, multivitamins, valens carborie, beneprotein and MCT oil added to her milk (ebm). In view of all these additions, should I use L teat instead? I am using NUK silicone ones and even though it says S s suitable for bm, she takes more than an hour to finish her bottle and I am wondering if it's the teat size. I tried M too, but no difference.

babymaking,
Your baby is in good hands...in kkh?

my son was born at 24wks 5 years ago at 750 gm and he's okay and is a naughty little boy now...

we will hold your hands along the way in your journey thru nicu...dun worry, okay?

anything, you can just post here or you can pm me...

just take a good rest for the next leg of your journey..

everyone of us has been the same route and have graduated fine..u wld also...

Babymaking,
1070 g is good. Many of our warriors have been much less and have fought on and done well. Be strong and like costa said, just ask here if you have any questions. Jiayou!

Hi Babymaking,

My girl is also 26 weeks + 5 days but only 590 gram. Coming 3YO, small but a stubborn and playful girl.

Be strong and believe in your girl. She is a strong warrior like all the warriors here.

Anything we can help, do let us know.

Hi baby making,

Do try get as much rest as possible while you are still warded.

My baby was also born 26 weeks 5 days at 910g.
He's now 7.5 mths (CA 4.5mths).
Let us know if there is any way we can help

Hi Babymaking,

My baby girl was born in August and was 25 weeks 5 days and weight 750g. She is now 2.95 kg.

I think everyone is talking about their baby so that you know that you are not alone and you can always come this forum for help , advice, support etc..

Do take care of yourself as its very important that you are well so that you can look after your baby.

Hi babymaking,

my twins were born at 25 weeks + 2 days weighing 660g and 805g. they are now 7.5kg and 9kg, healthy, active and playful.

stay strong and take good care of yourself during this critical period.

Babymaking,
Take care. Try your best to pump milk, that is the most important thing as mother can do after baby left our womb.
Premature baby's mother produce milk with higher nutrient to support their growth.

Agreed with Lilac, ur bb weight is very good for 26 wker.
My gal borned at 30th week, about the same weight with yours.

Thks mummies n daddies

Been trying to express milk for whole of today, but nothing coming out, am greatly pressured. Lactation says it's blocked ducts and requires deep massage but she massage breasts until bruised but still no sign of supply.

Any other ways of stimulating bm supply at this stage? It's day 3 and nicu is waiting for bm to feed bb.

Baby making,
It will take some time. I pumped for three days with no outcome, then finally got only a few drops. Soon after, I started getting a lot. The key is to not give up 3-hourly pumping, even during the night. Which pump are you using? Also try hand-expressing.

Oh, you can also ask the LC to prescribe you fenugreek tablets to boost supply. I was taking them -- 3 capsules thrice a day.

Babymaking,
I also didn't had any milk In the first few days. Continue trying n hv to pump every 3 hours to stimulate. I supposed u are using hospital pump,that shld be good enough. What my lactation consultant taught me was, pump for 5 mins, stop to massage . Then pump again. Repeat 3 cycles. During pumping, do the U shaped compression. If u r at KK, they usually teach this, nurses or LC.

I was prescribed fenugreek n domPeridone to help with supply . N drink at least 2 liters of water everyday. All these helped me

Got this from the web " early pumping is for stimulation purposes only. It is important to tell the mother that no one expects her to obtain large volumes of milk initially. Babies can obtain colostrum easily from the breast because they strip the milk from the sinuses but colostrum does not pump out well. Most mothers obtain only a drop or two of colostrum for up to three days after birth. If she is told that there won't be much milk with the pump, she will be encouraged by any small amount produced. What is important is the regular stimulation of the breasts to enhance the process of lactogenesis and to bring in a full milk supply. "

Full article here if u wanna read: http://www.lactationconsultant.info/preterm.html

Jia you

Thks, the massage is excruciating.

Can anyone recOmmend any bOoks or website on preemies and their growth advancement etc? Going to be discharged today.

imho the painful bruising massage is BS. Just keep on doing *gentle* massage and pumping every 3 hours. Don't be discouraged by nurses/LC who tell you that milk should have come in by now. It can take up to 5 days to come in. Keep up the good work

Yeah you don't need so much milk in the beginning anyway... They will test the tummy with 1 ml or so at first... so don't be discouraged. Just keep going even if you don't get much.

Books:
You can borrow from the KK NICU library. Just ask the nurse. I think the books are in the breastfeeding room near the NICU.

Babymaking

Mine even worst.. No supply for almost 2weeks.. But I din give up then after that slowly few drop till full bm for Javier.. Initially stage they dun nit so much supply coz bb taking 1-2ml each time oni.. The lactation gave me a white tablet, 4get the name to increase my supply too.. Took that for abt 2weeks.. So try ur best and dun give urself too much pressure coz u still nit to take care Zac..

Bf- still nothing. Very sore though, so much so that pumping bring tears. :-(

Nicu started on fm feed this afternoon- nOw waiting to see klarissa's reaction to fm feed.

Babymaking - Maybe adjust the pump Setting a little. If it is so painful everytime u pump, it might be counterproductive. I used to suffer from soreness too n will apply the medela cream ( yellow tube) it helps. Warm towel also help soothe a little. Also check whether the breastshield size is suitable. It was less painful for me after I change breastshield.

Most preemies mummies have supply issues, ESP in the beginning. I understand how stressful it is, especially since u r still recovering from childbirth. Jia you, we all hope our encouragements help you.

I use medela PISA pump... So the below guidelines on breastshield size helped me:
http://medelamobile.com/tips-and-solutions/13/choosing-a-correctly-fitted-breastshield

Dear mummies, I just went for my 25 weeks checkup at TMC and received very bad news. My twin girls are having symptoms of TTTS (one is weighing 600 plus gram and the other is at 500 plus grams). I will need to go back for bi weekly checkup and if this continue, I will new to transfer to KKH and have them delivered around 29 to 30 weeks. The estimated length of stay in NICU will be 3 months. Any mummies with similar encounter? Can you share with me your experience? I am trying to put up a very brave front even though I wanted very badly to breakdown.