Premature babies support group

good morning all mummies, its back to routine again :p

hope everyone had a good break over the holis

Updates on siang, he was having running nose on 5 Feb...then....hehe 6 feb afternoon, suddenly STOP! then... was ok all the way. but a bit of coughing so i am giving lots and lots of water. and cooking plain porridge for him.

xbliss : re sarong, siang was on it for quite a while (when he is young). then stop for a while. then now gian back again. my mum does let siang sleep in the sarong (duing day time) but night time he will sleep on the bed. can i ask you... do you often bring bryan to look in the mirror? i think about clinging...most baby will cling onto mummy (siang does too).

about cleaning of tongue. its never easy... (siang now have teeth and sometime he will bite me when i try to clean his teeth...- and i will bite him back!). just try to clean as much as you can...its not easy...

kkf
nice to meet you too. my lao gong say both you and dash have the intelligent look ler. he say, one look at dash, he know he is a clever boy liao. i told him, yeah dash IQ high ler. and yes, keke...siang really like those books, thanks
. the pic you post really cool haha. hope dash recover fast.

didi - is D better? about drinking water...use spoon feed lor, he sure drink :p they thought is like you are going to feed him something..but its only water...keke

mich - sorry that day i was actually in a rush to go out hence could not talk to you much on the phone... i am now mixing the vanilla flavour with the 'non flaovr' powder. we have 2 cans of the vanilla flaour poweder at home...so sayang hence we decide to mix it keke...thankfully there is you i can ask haha. else 2 of us really dunno the 'difference' keke. thanks

precious_one, hope angel is better

costa - gong xi fa cai ;)

morning mommies,

haha.. looks like i didn't miss a lot of posting. guess all mommies bz..

so tiring after 4 days of visiting.. think ws oso tired out. got to keep waking her up else she'll over-sleep heehee

kkf,
aiyoh, dash so handsome. ltr i try to post a pic of ws taken on cny

precious,
how's little angel? gg back 2 sch today?

didi, haha.. i think i am luckier..my nanny train my bb to drink from straw :p

kkf, dash look so big boy in the pic....

Good morning, mummies, Happy New Year..

Jane, happy new year....my two sons were down sick also...din go out reali much just went to my aunt, uncle and my mum's house.....

today gotta go back to work..

Jane,
Happy New Year ! Dylan is slightly better, we cut down some of the visiting
also good, me and hb can get more sleep
another thing, I understand that Siang also take Hou Ning, is it really good ? thot of letting Dylan try.

Bloom,
ya, so lucky, now my elder son is drinking from straw too but very pathetic amount.....

kkf
hehehe Dash so dashing ;)

Jane
I brought Nada to dr. dr think she's also something viral coz change milk back to Neosure still diarrhoea. Behaviourwise like no diff though, she dun look sick at all. That was b4 CNY, now better but stilll not 100% ok, going dr again today.

hi mummies, that day i met dash. he is really dashing (as what daec say). handsome and so charming. yeah charming is the word to describe dash. he was holdig onto a bread and munching away when i was at the door step.

kkf sorry that day siang was not well hence i stand a distance away :p

hi costa
oh..hope both of them is better liao. weather is going to get dryer. yeah today me back to work too.

hi didi
rest is important when they are not well. when siang had running nose, i too let him drink a lot of water and sleep.. and keep him warm. oh i would say the hou ning works (for phelgm) for siang :p but its quite ex wor...

hello daec
oh...so maybe its not the smiliac that is causing nada to have diarrhoea. but..u really think she is not teething?

hi didi
yeah..if really bo bian. for me....siang was running nose, but in then end i did not start to give him the puff. i decide to adopt the 'risky' wait and see how strategy. then just give him lots of water and watery porridge to eat. luckily, his nose stop running...the cough come (i think he got phelgm and dry throat too). but... i will just continue with the watery porridge strategty and lots of water... (i really very busy changing pampers these few days :p).

hope D recover fast...i am sure he will fight all the bugs off.

disneymickey
look at WS...so grown up. wearing that sweet dress
you must be a proud mummy.

me did not take any special picture of siang (too busy house visiting keke)

ger ger good hor, can dress up..clip ribbons etc...

jane,
thanks. my cuz bought this dress frm china 2yrs ago, but until now then can wear.
she's still v shy leh. go into pple's hse, dun wan to say gong xi gong xi, dun wan to collect red pkts. unless the hse got kids, then she'll go play w kids, but still must pull us along

hi disneymickey

ah yo...ger don't be too rough. be sweetie pie better what. i always think that ger should be sweet sweet like that. ws really sweet ler. ah yo...so loveable
. think china dress cutting is bigger. anyway, ger petite size good mah. pple will sayang one. she don't need to gong xi gong xi, pple already will want to give her red packet
. as long as she does play with other kids is ok ah.

Jane
Look like not, but then me first time mum - dunno till I see 'em heheh. well, she does like bite more stuff recently.

well can't be milk since reverted back to Neosure. may just see dr for a checkup. could just be pattern change - she just as frisky as ever.

using the wait n see how strategry like u ;)
Hope Siang will get better and better.

Precious
Happy Birthday to Angel

i want to tell you all something. yesterday a 13 month old baby ger came to my house (my lao gong fren bb). she was already walking

but...i was not at all envy that the ger is walking (at 13 mths). i quite contended that siang (who is turning 18 months but actual is 15mths) crawling... :p

i think the parents look at me so weird...why i like ok that siang is still crawling and not walking. but...i don't care how they look at me.

i am contended because siang is like talking :p (my focus is on speech because siang got hearing impairment) and also, i know...his pysical developments is catching up... give him a little while more. if the physio is right, he should be running ... but for now, at least i finally see him on all fours crawling :p and not creeping.

don't know why, i just feel comfortable to share here with all the mummies...feel so at home..

hi daec,

me new mummy too...one thing to look out is does nada have lots of saliva dripping?...or u feel her gums, see if any thing coming out... haha, yeah the 'wait and see' how stratgey sometime is the way to know hor kekekeke...

siang ok ok ah. just that sometime cough a bit then like got phelgm sound lor...

jane,

dun worry..i know u r not worrying. every child is different. ws oso walk at abt 18mth (non-corrected). but now she's running ard & i'm oso like u, v happy tat she's talkng.. but sometimes she does talk rubbish.. but i'm juz glad

kkf,
congrats 2 u & dash 4 he can eat on his own now!! my nephew who's abt same age as him can't even do it! u must b so proud.

my mom told me ytd, ws can oso 'semi' feed herself. when u pass her the spoon w food inside, she'll put the spoon into her mouth, n use her left hand 2 'block' the food frm falling off. i haven't seen it yet.

Jane
u are so super!

gd to be like that, tho personally I think I mite find it hard when pp talk.

Nada no drip saliva. shall moniter closely.

hi disneymickey and daec

I cannot say i am not affected by what pple say but maybe maybe perhaps because i do see him progress (thou not major break through) hence i am not very worry in terms of physical development. i concentrate more on his fine motor skill and speech developments.

but of course, haha i do not let him slack and i do still let him do physical exercise :p.

disneymickey
with ws good speech development, perhaps ws will going to be a DJ/reporter ;) and she so pretty..wow...she will shine under the spot light ler ;)

For that few mins that i met up with dash and kkf, dash really was munching the bread away. he look so contended. and he mandarin language commend is really awesome! thumbs UP for kkf for all the coaching. i feel like going for kkf class keke

daec
i not super la...maybe after so many months, i learn to just focus on his progress and not on what other babies is performing pah :p.

yeah..think just monitor nada for a while more. else could it be heaty? because heaty also will cause diarrhoea. hope she recover fast fast.

hullo mummies

didi, good to hear D is recovering.

jane, i buey tahan stay at home whole weekend. so tired. cannot be housewife. hami still strugling w me nowdays. haiz. good to hear that siang is developing well. as long as the progress is obvious, i think we can be happier.

daec, i kow what you mean lah abt pple talking and feeling affected.

i get pple asking me all the time what hami can do now. and i er... dunno what to say. *shakes head*. dunno y pple always want to know can crawl or not, can sit or not. sometimes i feel like they want to compare my kid to someone else. maybe just me being sensitive. i esp get stressed when they imply i am not taking care of my baby properly. sometimes when i say he cant do something yet, my eyes like wanna tear up because i pity him being pitied by other pple. i also feel pitiful.

cant help it lah. what to do.

hi hope

its not easy to handle the emotions part. i think..i think. just have faith in our children pah. what they miss out, somehow or other, they will have other capability that other kids don't have.

*hug hug* hami be ok. we are just human (thou we suppose to be the wondermum hummm) there is a limit to what we can do. cheer up. come pop by when you are free... chat with us often.

oh hope..i cannot tahan staying at home with siang too kekeke... got chance i PM u again (think your work keep your busy)..

hi jane,

i am doing my essay in the lib. so got time to post. usually at home no time to post. with hami all the time when at home. i tell my hubby definitely i cannot become housewife. i will stress myself and end up making hami hate me, fighting w him all the time. haha.

Free now in between periods.

So tired today!!! monday blues, new year blues watever blues...zzzzzzzzzz

Anyway, jane, haha, you so cute, you praise dash so much! thanks really! Dash is very contented with his bread really. He is contented with any junk food. haha.

Siang looks so cute!
He is so shy...hee. Mummy so slim, envy.

Btw, your hubby said I got intelligent look? is it because at night never see properly, haha, I think I got the blur and tired look. Thats me. Now also, wearing glasses, eyes half close.

I agree totally with wat you said about being comfortable here. Frankly, me feel the same way too. I felt weird around my friends who gave birth so easily. I felt so alien among them. Somemore, my boy got heart defect, while theirs are perfectly healthy and full term. Sometimes, till now, I still think, nobody will be so unlucky like me. But when I am here at this forum, I know I am not alone. I am not the only person who has premature baby, and is not odd person, you know what I mean.

Jane and Lindah, your boy has hearing impairment, my boy has heart defect, actually some of our children here have problems here and there. We will give support to each other ok?

Talking about walking, dash started to walk quite slow too. Think boys are slower.

I am indeed very happy that dash can eat on his own disneymickey cause that means I can eat in peace now! hee.

Dash is still coughing leh, me a bit worried. One month liao leh. I wonder whether I shd bring him to see doctor for the 3rd time.

jane, I really like you. You never compare, and you are so contended with what you have.

You will always be a happy woman.

hullo hope
i see...some quite time alone. its what we need to refresh our minds

hi kkf

bread is ok pah... at least can fill stomach ah. siang shy? wow...u never see when his full of action hands is at work keke.. me no slim la. really is just 'deceiving look' keke. no ah. you too have high forehead so really is intelligent ones.

yeah....here the mummies each faces different set of problem. supporting each other become important here...
but we have each other to talk to so... life become better.

re cough... if really need. then .. ok to let him see doc just check check...but that day when i met dash, he look ok ah.

oh oh i know how to describle dash liao!. he have the 'i know it all' look. really!!! i finally know what i was trying to describle!

me? i just hope...hope and pray that...someone out there is listening to my prayers pah. and may my heart remains strong. but then again, my fren told me...i have the 'stress look' when i am with siang. maybe deep down i am still stress and worry pah...

i admit. i do have the 'stress' with me. perhaps i am jsut hoping and waiting see if miracle will happen for me pah. but i also know i cannot jsut pray. i must action if i wish well for siang...

keke..don't know what am i talking about liao...crazy jane kekeke

Hope,
Thanks for the concern for D
Nice to 'see' you here, yup, sometimes I also lose my cool with the 2 fellows

Jane,
I agree every mother will face different kinds of challenges
we just have to face it when it comes
I believe God will be benevolent to us, we already faces so many challenges already)

didi,

hmm hope so. anyway, hehe after writing out my thoughts, feel better. now is back to figure out what is best for my boy :p. brain go tick tock tick tock again.

the speech therapist have give me a homework. she wants me to target siang to recognise (not talk) at least 50 words. i am counting it and wrting it down (in a paper she gave me). so i am quite preoccupied with it keke. then i have finally manage to teach siang how to put rings into a pole :p and also him to give and take things...

hmmm so much to do before he turns 2 years old :p

kkf,
dash is really very adorable leh.....can learn thgs so fast..can "bai3" pose smmore.....

u got any idea on how to make a face mask besides using paper plates..went to look at yr blog for inspiration..now parents must get so involved in the kids studies and i wonder is it me studying or my son.....

dm,
ws looks so demure in tt photo..really gers are super sweet..

jane,
till now my son doesnt really noe how to give intentionally......the last OT session was a disaster as its clashed wif his morning nap and the whole session really wasted everybody's time

hi costa

you making something for our elder boy? art is something that needs some inspiration hor. kkf would be able to give you some ideas
, she does beatiful craft..

gers is really super sweet hor...

ah yeah, OT and PT session much has to depends on our baby mood lor. so far the last few session we went, sometime good sometime bad... we just have to to monitor and try ourselve at home pah.. maybe he know. but then hehe...he does not want to perform it yet ;) you try ask him to give you his milk...he sure will hahahahah

kkf,

try rubbing some vicks onto the feet of dash when he zzz at nite. hope it helps his cough.

costa,
ws only "looks" demure in photo.. she's chor lor in real life. haha.

during CNY, went my auntie's place, there's a fish tank in the hse, she kept wanting to feed fish w duck meat (cos tat's her favourite food). go to another fren's hse, oso wan to feed fish, until spill some of the fish food on the floor. lucky not the 1st day, so can sweep floor haha

dm,
ws so cute huh..likes to eat duck...she is really a vy sweet ger...her name is wen shin right...i see her photos, i feel vy wen xin (sounds like her name..vy heartwarming)...becuz she so adorable

jane,
my son dropped the bombshell on me yterday when last minute then he told me got homewk, hasnt done yet...at least yterday was better, there were a few wkends he only upon sleeping then realised got homewk hasnt done yet..i got no energy to go after him nowadays

the mask issue..is becuz they need it for show and tell, wah lau really buay tahan...my art is like dun noe what,thats why must ask kkf for ideas...

costa

wow... if only school got a system where by they will post to all the parents via a online system what home work/assignment the kids have :p. then we will like being kept informed :p

oh....really tough to be a parent hor. now i am just trying to teach siang 50 words, i already keng liao..cannot imagine if i were u...:p

Costa, face mask, yah, can try making using paper bag, those paper type of plastic bag thing, erm...like macdonald type, but must be plain one, also dunno where to get.

Or you try printing from computer? easier! You can print a big face of the character you want, punch two holes at the side, then use rubber band or something better to tie?

Hope is helpful.

Jane, I do understand your stress. I have this stress too. I constantly worry as well.

I want to give the best to dash just like you give the best to siang.

Dash got the "i know it all" look? haha. funnie leh. really ah? I must go observe.

disneymickey, you like my mum told me to rub vicks. hee. think must have really worked! must try. seeing your gal makes me want to have a gal even more.

May all our children grow up strong and healthy. May all the illnesses stay away from them.

Costa,
aiyoh, very standard lah, I have heard my gfs complaining that when they ask their kids got homework, they say NO then when they search thru the bags then realise got leh

hahaha, didi, that sounded like my students! their parents always told me the same thing too!

good morning mummies

kkf
hehe..yes yes dash really have the look. awwwww...me too still having post CNY blues keke. tired

kkf,
re vicks method, i read it somewhere & tried it on myself when i was coughing very badly last wk. well, it's juz rubbed onto the bottom of feet, so shouldn't hav any harm rt? my colleague told me she rubbed it on her chest. but i guess 4 kids, rub on bottom on foot less harm (if there's any, touch wood!!!). hope dash will b better.

costa,
oh no, i oso v scared 2 b in this position, got to constantly check on kid's homework..urrgghh.. ws' name is wen (2) xin (1), not wen (1) xin (1) haha

kkf,
thanks for the tips..but i dun noe where to get the brown bags fm.thk me wld get a paper plate and chin chai get it done together wif my son..really tak boleh tahan...

didi/kkf/dm,
not all kids are like my son, dun worry..i hv seen excellent kids around who monitor their own work......

tink my son is like me, last time i also lidat..wake up before school and realise homewk not done...

sigh....alrdy must work full day, go home must check this check that....maybe if we hv more children, we wld learn to let go and let the kids face the consequences...

dm,
ws reali vy adorable..dun u tink u see her you feel vy heart warming
at least i do..becuz she so pretty

Jane,
gd lah u learn like dat. Its still super that able to get to that stage ;)

hope
nice to hear from u!

people like to ask that sort of questions. this comparison thing common among fullterm babes. however with premmies - its not fair comparison. think its normal we sensitive.

maybe after some time, we learn be like Jane. if not, never mind we come let go steam here and support each other. It really helps to know not alone in these feelings.

think hsewife or working mum - will still end up 'fighting' with our kids heheh and cannot tahan at times. dun stress, its normal part of motherhood which we will strive to overcome ;)

good morning daec

yeah...i somehow...get to 'this'/'that' stage. i wonder when can i upstage hahahah... (jokine)

you are right..comparison is no end. even the speech therapist tell me, i must let siang stay competitive and compare to a 18th months baby(not 15th mths baby). she tell me, if i coach siang well now, i won't be so stress that he is unable to catch up at a later stage...so...i shall stay focus on that 'assignment'

yeah come here talk it out :p let go of the steam. all will be well eventually. we will overcome. all of us will
its matter of time isn't it ;)

hi Jane,
hehhe I'm sure u will 'up' somemore wonderful optimistic person that u are. Jia Yuo on that assignment ;)

Our babes have come so far from birth and will go further somemore with God's blessing

daec

keke me really not that optimistic (still under much stress) and i really don't have such wonderful 'up' personality la keke. For now, just concentrate on the task on hand pah :p. just walk the path that the therapist has plan for Siang and every month when i see her, i hope that she will say "OK" we can move on to the next milestone...:p

yes they have come so far, so have we

daec

i am speaking the truth..sometime i go crazy :p (most of the time i am lost) keke. being mum really not easy ah...what a 'job' keke...