Preggie Friends Since 2003

Minnie,
Charlene will have 2nd chinese test this Thursday. I only asked her to do own revision as I am really quite busy recently.

Chris,
March's holiday not yet come, u thinking of June holiday liao ah?

minnie
ash only has topical tests.
travel - no plans yet.. not many places to go in jun or dec actually haha.. too hot or too cold.

cherly
its preggie, not me haha.. i only asking her.. mayb she booked until dec at natas already

Cherly,

I think Charlene should be able to manage on her own. Afterall, she has always been quite motivated.

Chris,

If you travel regional, I think its still quite alright. But need to secure tickets early cos closer to date may have sch hols surcharge.

Trans,

Does CY have SA this year? Will he be streamed to a different class for next year? My colleagues and friends have told me that Science is really a challenge in P3.

Chris,
Now u same fate as me, can't log into SMH in office?

Minnie,
She told me it's HYPY test and she said it's ok for her. I just leave her to manage and see how. So far she did well for last round so can trust her.

minnie
see how ba.. pf has been quite busy at work. dun dare to plan too early also, in case he cant take leave.

cherly
smh can la.. i still doing my eshopping at overseas spree section :p

Minnie,

CY oni has one SA end of this year. Afterwhich, he will be streamed to a different class. Mayb I shld go Popular & flip thro the Sci books to see how difficult it is.

Trans,

I actually bought P3 Science text and workbooks to intro Josh to Science. Its basically nature and general knowledge so I feel no harm for me to intro early. Apparently, there is a range of answers for certain questions and as long as you can justify, you will be marked right. Not sure how it works though.

good morning mummies

hong
oh! let me know how is it? i actually booked the legends for mar but postponed due to some family matters.

homework - not everday, ash will do at my mil hse after sch then i chk/coach her at night.

Morning,

Chris,
Wanted to book Legend water chalet but my collick going to Avilion and reading the review look like Avilion will be more interesting for the kids cos they have a mini zoo. Will head down Malacca for a night after that.

cherly
I think gals are gnrly more motivated??
I hv to coach him in his hypy ting xie.

trans
Watched any movies lately? "The King's Speech" is enjoyable. Nothing fanciful but a good storyline.

hong
No homework for but they hv online work to do.

But they will hv mastery tests which are adhoc, so we don't know when. Told him to pay attn in class.

minnie
Science assessment books are only available for P3?

How do you teach hypy ting xie?
Do you teach word by word or do you let the child go thru it himself/herself and you test him/her later?

stylo
i dun really teach ash hypy ting xie.. she will learn it herself then i test her. one thing i tink is they shd 'ping' out the words rather than learning the alphabets by hard. thats wat ash do but sometimes she will 'ping' wrong when the sounds are very similar. good and bad ba, if they learn by hard, then less errors, but it will defeat the purpose of learning hypy right?

Stylobb,
Charlene learn ting xie in the morning, I test her when I got home.

Hong,
Charlene don really have homeworks too. My colls told me his son will have 1st "show & tell" test after mar holiday. The child got to show photos, pic (as in drawing) or toys that bot to talk abt their holiday.

cherly
ash got her english & chinese show n tell already. english is on 'fav animal', chinese on 'self intro'

HYPY - OK I realised Janelle learn by hard, not very good in combining the letter and get the words. infact, I attended the Meet the Parent session and the Chinese tr from China told us it was a bad idea to get the kids to learn HYPY now. She told us it will slow down the kids from learning Chinese words. HYPY shld be learnt in P4 instead.

I treated this HYPY as an introduction to the kids will be revisit in P4 but then shld not be too hard for them. I will cover the HYPY when I went thru Chinese with Janelle, dun want her to depend on it.

Janelle goes thru spelling and ting xie herself. This is the method my MIL used on her, i find it good cos empower her memory.

show and tell - Janelle went thru a few, she brot toy and photos.

Halo Mommies!
So fast, 10 weeks over already...Term 2 onwards, grading will starts...

Chris,
Raine oso had her English & Chinese show & tell on self intro...English spelling is weekly but Chinese ting xie quite random...so far only 3x...

Stylobb,
Raine does have some homework but normally she finish them at student care so I just check through at nite...student care teachers oso teaches them their spelling and ting xie...

hong
i was told term 2 onwards no more hypy during parent mtg session. the class will be split into 3 groups - core, medium and intermediate.

m2b
ash got grading for this term already, got her assessment report back yday.

Chris,
You mean there will be sort of streaming for Ash's class from Term 2?

Oh, Term 1 already has grading ah? Raine's school is:

Term 2 - 20%
Term 3 - 35%
Term 4 - 45%

m2b
ash got marks for english and maths. out of 100 kind. from topical tests, spelling, show & tell etc.

Chris,
for CL, only split into 3 groups after term 2.

Janelle school is
Term 2 - 20%
Term 3 - 30%
Term 4 - 50%

M2B,
Janelle has 1 spelling and 2HYPY ting xie each week.

Morning. Good to see the thread alive again!

Stylobb,

I watched "The King's Speech" and enjoyed it. Do you intend to watch "Black Swan"? I was told its a very dark show. How about "127 hours"? I'm definitely not watching that as I dun wanna sit in the cinema for 1.5hrs watching someone cut his arm off.

HYPY - CY has got quite good foundation from Berries. He 'ping' the words out rather than memorise them. HYPY is a breeze but its writing the characters that is a challenge.

Hong,

CY's sch teacher oso told me before that he doesn't agree with the way Chinese is taught now. I rbr we only learn HYPY in P3 and we learn it in 双拼法. These days, kids are supposed to memorise the pinyin by hard.

Morning,

transparent - I believe the teacher teach them using 双拼法 but for the kids, memorising it will be easier now.

Hong,

According to the teacher, they are supposed to use the 直呼法. Mayb diff schs teach differently. I insist that CY uses the 双拼法. I actually think that is easier.

Morning

trans
I am hesitant about watching "Black Swan"...
No no for "127 hours".

What is 双拼法 and 直呼法??

chris/cherly
Yeah, telling he beta learn the ting xie himself....

hong/m2b/chris
jesse's school has chinese tests but they don't know when, it's a surprise test .. think me more gan jeong than him.

Stylobb,
Charlene back with assessment test schedule from T2 to T4 yesterday. But I don know what they going to test.

Trans,

I didnt know they have 双拼法 and 直呼法. No wonder Janelle can tell me without 拼 the words.

Stylo,
Take example.
白 if using 双拼法 will be taught as "b" + "ai".
Am I right trans?

Surprise test - Janelle also has, such test will able to see if the kids really pay attention in class and revise at home.

I dun like to give Janelle HYPY ting xie, sometime I have to try to make up what is the HYPY words.

MIL said she was very helpless when Janelle asked her abt HYPY. She wanted to help me to revise with Janelle but she dun know how. I told her it was ok, I will go thru with her myself.

Cherly,
No. Should come with Chinese Character so the kids will also recognised the words right. I think I should translate the HYPY into Chinese character for Janelle.
SO who is attending P1, haizz..

Hong,
Charlene ting xie got Chinese character come with it, just that they no need to learn the words. That's why I got no problem guessing the words.

Anyway, starting fron next term they will stop teaching HYPY but come to T4 the kids will have a HYPY test. I wonder if the kids can still rbr.

Stylobb,

Hong is right on the 双拼法. A bit like phonics, breaking the sounds down into 声母and 韵母. In Hong's eg, the 声母 'b' forms the initial sound of the word, whereas the 韵母 'ai' forms the 'tone' of the word.

When you teach the word 白 with 双拼法, the kid will learn to say "bo-ai" = "bai", bai1, bai2, bai3, bai4. This way they will also know the 声调. This was how I was taught.

I'm not too sure how 直呼法 is taught. I reckon the kids don't break the word down like that, they just memorise the whole pinyin as a word.

Hong/Cherly,

CY's HYPY tingxie comes with the characters as well. In P2, he is supposed to write down both the Chinese characters and HYPY for tingxie.

Trans,
OIC, Charlene also learn in this way. However, she said she prefer pin yin than character cos too diff to write.

Good Morning Mommies!
Ydy went Raine's school for her Sports Meet...her house lost and she cried as some gals started crying
Have to console her and her classmates!!! hahaha Gals!!!!

Trans,
Raine learns HYPY in 双拼法 too...like CY, TH gave her a good foundation in HYPY.

Term break and Raine has so much homework leh...not a holiday meh??!!

Helo,
I am back from the trip.

Chris,
we enjoyed the trip very much. I have uploaded a portion of the trip pictures in my FB.

Cherly,
oops that is my tummy. how I hope I am pregnant again. KPI this yr, to slim down. kekeke..

Helo,
I am back from the trip.

Chris,
we enjoyed the trip very much. I have uploaded a portion of the trip pictures in my FB.

Cherly,
oops that is my tummy. how I hope I am pregnant again. KPI this yr, to slim down. kekeke..

Hong,
Look like PD is a good place for holiday. The water chalet look the same as years ago, however the place look more develop now. Do not have time to bring the kids out during this holiday, hopefully we can make it in June Holiday.

Haha, so sorry, at first glance, i thot you are expecting #3. Few of my frens and colls are having #3, so i thot u also join in force.

Cherly,
they are still refurnishing some of the rooms.
The whole area is very very well organised and clean. The mini zoo especially, someone will clean up after the kids went in to feed them.

Very clean place... I will want to bring my mum there next year.

We only manage to venture into Lukut but dun have the chance to try the famous food but we are lucky to bump into their pasar malam of the month.

Good morning mommies,

So many 法, i'm confused! haha

Just returned from China... had a fabulous holiday. Everyday skiing, relaxing, eating, massaging. We are addicted to Club Med! KB is already asking where we are going to ski in December. Wonder if it'll be ok to go to Japan by then or not..

Feel so sorry for Japan

Hi Chris,

June, we are going to Taipei. We've booked a private tour and will be visiting farms and staying in 民宿. We wanna 体验一个不一样的台湾.

Will bring Joey to this place called the miniboss where she can experience different kinds of occupations. I think she'll have fun!

Hi M2B,

Lost and cried? Gals are really emo hor?

Good Morning Mommies!

Preggie,
Yalor, 1 started crying and all followed so end up I'm consoling 3 gals hahaha...but they are ok after awhile
Raine said she will train harder for next year!

good morning mummies
trying to relive the thread there

went jb for 2 consecutive sundays for seafood dinner..

minnie, i tink u recommended me one b4. issit 'tian lai' at geylang patah?

Good morning mummies.
How's everyone? I was busy with works and family. Charlene is sick and today is 10th day. She was on MC for last week except Friday. In fact, she wasn't very well just that no fever so I agreed to let her go, her cough don seem getting better. She took medicine more than her food, guess she must be feeling terrible cos she tear when I fetched her from school on Friday. I asked what happened, she said she don know why she sick till like that. She left only bone now, so poor thing.

halo mummies

cherly
aiyo how come so serious? ash also having slight cough & flu since last week. i tink the weather too hot nowadays... even adults cant take it. hope charlene gets well soon.

Hallo Mommies

Chris,

Nope, its called Chua Seafood(something like that) at Gelang Patah. In a small lane, just opp a petrol station/bank. I only know when you see the big globe, you turn left. Then drive all the way down and then end of the road, turn right. Turn left at the 2nd left lane, after you drive past a bank on your right... Hope Ash recovers soon.

Hi Cherly,

Alamak. Bad virus infection? Take care and I do hope she is feeling better today. Today also resting at home?

Halo Mommies!

DJD,
Charlene's condition sounds serious...went back to doc for follow-up? Normally if after taking med for about 3-4 days no effects, I will go back to the same doc/another doc for review. Hope Charlene is better now.

Chris,
Raine oso just recovered from cough & flu...she fell ill during the school holidays...end up stayed home rather than student care...

BTW, hope Ash recovers soon too!

Chris / Minnie,
I do hope she recover soon too. Brot her to both western n Chinese doctor, as usual western doctor said virus attack. Chinese doc said heaty. No more fever n flu but no much voice due to cough. She called earlier and said she is feeling better and want to return to school.

M2B,
Yes she visited 2x of western doctor within a week, finish her antibiotic. She is now on Chinese med for cough. Stopped all her activities for the last 9 days and she trying to act cool n ask me to let her go for swimming.

minnie
oh then i tink its a different one. but i know the globe u are talking abt hehe.. next trip we will try that one

cherly
ash opp, she say she sick dun wan to go sch.. i told her cough only hv to go! haha

Chris,
I guess Charlene is bored at home, that's why. She actually said she wish everyday is thu & fri. I asked ben, kids also have Monday blues?