Preggie Friends Since 2003

chris
Same for jesse, first day didn't buy anything. Today he bot a stick of satay and coco pops with milk. They have two breaks, one at 9am and another at 11am.

Bot him an alarm clock, he set alarm at 6pm but never wakes up. I told him it only wakes mommy up!!

Yes, wlbe hungry when he is dismissed, so usu. bring biscuits or sth like for him. So late by the time he eats... sigh...

hong
Just found out the Icing Room free b/day is a promotion and has ended. But you can still get the cake, the biggest one costs less than $30 and comes with the deco, so it's still worth it. The gals did theirs just now.

On Wed, jesse spent his money on a muffin and juice, I was like, why did you buy juice? I told you no juice. Hb was like, well done, you went to buy food yourself! haha..see, two different responses!!

So Jan is still staying with your inlaws on weeknights?

trans
His school is from 7.30am to 1.30pm. He was commenting that it's tiring. Falls asleep within minutes this week.

The kids get ready for bed at 8.30pm.

preggie
Wah, joey only eats ah. Did you ask her what is the name of her good friend??

minnie
Oh, I forgot there are afternoon sessions for some schools.

No leh, the food seems reasonable. Maybe he didn't buy the more expensive food.

Actually I see quite a balance in terms of those who are dropped off by cars, those who take school bus and those who walk.

m2b
What times does the student care end? Is this like after-school care?
Wow, you all wake up so early..... I need to start running to boost my energy level...

$2 - you and hong give the most among all of us...keke (maybe preggie gives more than you two..hehe.. since joey seems to be eating a lot!)

good morning mummies!

stylo
yday ash bot chicken rice, but she said not nice haha..
i told ash can only buy milo during her lunch break every wed. wed sch ends at 3pm, so they will hv one recess and one lunch break.

m2b
wah raine's canteen got jap food. ash loves jap food, a pity her sch dun hv jap stall.

mummies, wat is the sch hours for ur kids? ash complains she dun like wed bcoz need to stay longer.. usual is 8am to 1.30pm

The week passed so quickly!

Hi StyloBB,

Joey gets $2 a day from me. But i know sometimes my MIL or FIL will give her an additional $1.

Hi Chris,

Joey goes to school at 12.15 on Monday, 12.30 on Tue, Wed, Thur and 7.14 on Friday.

The thread becomes lively when talking abt kids. Matt is in afternoon session.

My contribution :

1. Do you adjust the bedtime for your kids?

The boys used to sleep at 11pm, now we ask them to go to bed at 10pm. Matt falls asleep within mins maybe due to missing afternoon nap. Nic can't get used to the new sleeping time, keep walking here and there.

hb/i wakes up at 6am instead of 6.30am/7am. Now we need to send the kids to cc/il place before going to work. Also i had requested to leave work at 5pm so that i can pick up the boys, i have to reach office early, thus the changes in timing. But it is good, feel quite refresh at work these 3 days.

2. How much pocket money do you give?

$1, save 20c and bring 80c to sch. last nite i asked him to write down his expenses. (like doing accounts :p)

3. Is your child taking bus or are you fetching him/her?

My sil will pick him and her daughter. in future, i may pick him up after i can confirm i can make it back on time.

Morning,

Stylo,
Yes back to IL place on weeknights so she can sleep earlier at night and slightly later at MIL place. else she will have to wake up same timing as Julian going to CC and we have to go IL place and CC. Routing wise not very good, MIL hse turn right, CC turn left.

I will go and spend time, go thru homework with her at MIL place. This is a better arragement cos she can sleep early at my IL place. If I bring her back home she ends up sleeping at 11pm. Dun know why they seem to settle down to sleep faster at IL place than back home.

As for Julian, he is ok that Jiejie has transit to Primary school and no longer going CC with him. AS he grows older he refuses to stay overnight at IL place. Super sticky to Law.

I think juice is still better than soft drink. Janelle is drinking milo, chocolate milk for these few days. I asked her to try other food and dun keep having chocolate. She is quite a chocolate addict.

Icing room - Janelle has being asking for it since last year but I dun see a reason to do the deco. Will bring her to tampines branch to let her deco her own cake and bring over to meet friends for cake-cutting.

Cla,
I didnt the same thing as u. I asked my MIL to give Janelle the balancesheet form. MIL will guide her to tabulate her daily expenses. This way allow us to understand her spending pattern.

Chris,
Janelle is going to school from 7:30am - 10:30am on specific Friday for their ACE (Arise, Come, Enrich) day. However for the 1st ACE day, P1 does not require to attend which mean on 14 Jan is no school day for her.

Good Morning Mommies.

Stylobb,

I think its ok for kids to buy juice/milo in school actually. Once a while, of course. Heh.. difference in parenting between Mommy and Daddy. Daddy happy abt his independence, Mommy worries abt what he eats.

Hello mummies.
Both my children adapt well in school too.

Stylobb,
Charlene is in pm session, she sleep at 10pm and wake up between 8.45am - 9.15am. Clarence is in am session, he sleeps at 9.30pm and wake up at 7am, both them have enuf sleep. My helper walk Charlene to school at 12pm and I fetch her home after school. Clarence is taking school bus and he is happy cos need not to walk.

I give Charlene $1.50 everyday, 1st day she spent 20cents on 1 pack of nuts. A silly gal, she said wanted to buy fishball noodles but only saw the noodles n fishball in bowl without the soup so didnt buy. I told her she got to buy so that the auntie will pour in soup. 2nd day, she bot a bread at 30cents, yesterday bot muffin n fishball at 50cents. She seem quite happy in new school.

Preggie,
Charlene told me she got many frens now, she name 7 frens n yesterday my maid let her bring along fruits, she said no enuf to eat cos all her frens eat too. And Clarence told us he got a girlfriend at bus. Terrible...

Chris,
Charlene can't wait to take her dinner on the 1st day cos she didn't buy food. I think u can let ash to bring some snacks.

Minnie,
The chicken rice at Charlene school is $1. Anyway, the school don encourage us to give too much pocket money, they said $1.50 is good enuf. Only the chicken rice is exp, the rest are range between 50-80cents.

Chris,
Charlene school from 12.30pm to 6pm. She got to be in school by 12.15pm for silent reading. 6pm will join P2 student for flag lowering. This week she finish school at 5.45pm. I think the school start lesson at 1.30pm but haven't seen the memo from school. Yesterday she brot back time table, today got PE. I don know if to let her wear PE shirt to school or what, anyway I asked her put into her bag to bring along. Also, did yr gal wear a short in the dress?

preggie
u mean fri joey goes to sch at 7.14am???

hong
so jan oso in morning session. wat is her regular sch hours then?

cherly
ya tink will put some biscuits in her bag. not sure if they are allowed to eat betw classes or in the sch bus. will ask her to chk b4 she eat.
i let ash wear those shorts that comes with her denim skirts or boxer panties to sch. pf was worrying in long term she will become tomboyish bcoz girls sch they dun care abt 'zou kuang'

Halo Mommies!

Stylobb,
Raine student-care is after- school care and it starts from 1.25 to 6.00pm then she takes the school bus to my mom’s pl for dinner and shower.

Chris,
Raine tried the Jap Udon ydy and it costs $1.50! Think the Jap stall is the most ex liao…BBgal was telling me Rayna bgt a char siew bun on 1st day at $0.70 leh…madness! Hahaha

Raine’s school starts at 7.50am-1.25pm

Cherly,
Raine oso made many new frens, kept telling me her new frens’ names too…plus student care oso hv frens…

Clarence so cute, got gf in bus, then another gf in class?? =)

m2b
wah sounds like the stalls in raine's sch sells pricey stuff
i took a photo of the price list at ash's sch hehe.. average price is 50-80cts.

M2B,
Yes 1 charlotte from school bus n 1 christine in class. Really terrible.

Chris,
Charlene's form teacher told her on the 1st day must wear a short inside. I couldn't find a suitable short for her, so she wear those square panties. She got back her time table last nite, I think real lesson going to start next week and I need to travel for work next week, I wonder if the daddy can handle both them.

Chris,
Janelle is PM session. Did I confuse u? Only certain Friday she will only attend enrichment class from 7:30am - 10:30am. After that go home, rest and be with family.

Her regular school hr is 12:30 - 6:30pm. Hers is P1 & P3 PM, the rest are in AM. The school is going for a major renovation rebuilt, find it quite a pity cos I like the homely environment.

Cherly,
I also let Janelle wear those boxer panties from Jusco.

good morning mummies!

hong
hehe ya i was confused by your fri remark. Reno will be good right, will hv better facilities.

does your kids' sch provide lockers? i am very glad to find out ash can put her textbooks in sch so that she dun need to lug a heavy schbag to sch everyday.

Good Morning Mommies!

Chris,
Ya man, the food is really ex in Raine's school!
Lockers - Not that I known of as of now...

Cherly,
Clarence into gals' names starting w "C" hahaha, so cute!

I forgot to prepare the boxer shorts for Raine today so I let her just wear normal panties to school, hope no warning from teacher =P

Janelle's school does not have locker for the kids but the teacher will collect some of their workbooks and exercise book for keeping.

Chris,

Not sure about lockers but like Jan, CY keeps most of his books in sch.

Stylobb,

I watched Love & Other Drugs and for the 1st time, I think Jake Gyllenhaal is cute! Not too bad but am surprised at the amount of nudity despite being rated M18.

Pocket money - do you let ur kiddo save the remainder or do you just top up to make the difference for the coming week? I let jesse save the remainder.

Btw what is Edusave Account? It's automatically opened, right? How do we know how much there is?

chris
How come 3pm for ash??

jesse has two breaks. Hence we pack him food to eat at 11am. They are given time to eat at 11am. My mom says he eats a big bowl of rice and food when he returns.

No lockers but they keep their books in school, probably in their desks... ahaha...

preggie
joey's hours are so varied... I think I will be a bit blur ...haha

hong/minnie
milo is a good idea.
fruit juice, maybe a treat on Fridays, is acceptable - I have let him know.

m2b
Wow, Raine practically spends half her day at school....

trans
Was trying to rest over the weekend. Did a run at Macritchie with hb on Sat morning....did not run terribly fast but at least didn't stop.

Oh Love movie - it was reported in the some movie review....

Wow the weather is so cooling! and now it's raining so heavily... first time we slept w/o aircon....

Morning Mommies.

Stylobb,

Pocket money - I will just top up the diff for CY.

Movie - I read abt it but I just din expect that it was so explicit. These days censorship is less strict? I thought it should hv warrant a R21.

Good Morning Mommies!
Nice weather to zzzzzz

Stylobb,
Ya, Raine spent half day in school but so far she is enjoying and the homework that school gave was completed in student-care too! =P

re. lockers, it's good they can leave their books in sch.. tot they need to carry heavy sch bags everyday.. ash already complaining its heavy when i just put 2-3 textbooks and some exercise books in her books on 1st day of sch. luckily she offloaded all at sch.

stylo
they got some program on weds. cant rbr the name, trans will know hehe..
i allow her to get milo on weds during lunch break.
she will save the remaining $. so far she spends max 80cts, with milo is 70cts more.
nowadays sch dun hv those drinks stall which scoops drink from the container one hor.. rbr last time i used to mix pepsi + soya bean hehe
we have been sleeping without aircon for past 2 nites.. our place quite windy.. at night if close windows can hear the 'hu hu hu' sound..

Stylobb & Chris,
We oso allow Raine to save up the remaining allowance

Hi StyloBB,

Yah.. her hours are really varied. Plus she has got tuition on weekdays at different timings too! I rely on my iphone to keep my schedule everyday.

Chris,
Raine's locker is outside the classroom so guess thats why teacher asked for a number lock...just got her 1 ydy but told her dun put books inside 1st =P

Hi M2B, Chris,

Joey's school doesn't have lockers... But the teacher collected all the workbooks and exercise books. Her bag is usually not too heavy

I didn't post for a long, long time! Is it too late to wish everyone a Happy New Year?

Pocket Money
I gave Ryan $2 everyday. But this boy don't buy foods to eat this year. Instead he requested for lunch box to bring to school. So I have been making lunch boxes for him. But I will still give him $2 everyday. If he doesn't spend it, he gets save it.

Lockers,
Ryan's school do not have lockers. But the teachers keep almost everything. So the only books that he needs to bring is Chinese Textbook and a storybook.

This year Ryan's school bus uncle change so his timing is very bad. He will go to school at 1130am and returns close to 8pm. How I miss last year timing when he is able to reach home at 715pm! Everything goes haywire now cos most days, he will have tution at 8pm. Agrrr.... still trying to find a way out of this.

Just came back from shanghai, a tiring trip. One meeting after another.

M2B,
Haha, I didn't notice Clarence "gf" all start with C.

Stylobb,
Not too sure if Charlene has locker in school, I know the teacher kept some of the books.

She save her remaining pocket money, we just give $1.50 to her everyday. I saw she bot a pack of cracker for Clarence today, she told me cost $0.30. No wonder Clarence stand at gate to wait for Jie Jie.

Linda,
At first Clarence school bus also haywire, I discussed with bus uncle n he changed the route, if not, Charlene will late for school.

Good Morning Mommies!

Lockers - so far Raine's locker has nothing inside yet...plan to put the art folder there since only every Wed got art class...

Linda,
Wow, 8pm is really very late!
Hope the bus company can try to work out a better route soon!

Cherly,
Haha, Clarence has a fetish for letter "C" =P

good morning mummies!

m2b
ash opp, she only need to bring her art bag home every wed, bcoz its too big to fit into her locker

cherly
hehe u ask if he likes aunty 'Christina' or not :p

linda
halo! long time to 'see'!
wow 8pm is really late..

Good morning mummies.
How's cny preparation? I am rather busy with works and haven't settled anything yet.

The kids are getting used to their new school routine, especially Charlene. She said so much fun in P1, guess maybe still honeymoon time. Are yr kids school also have PAL?

Morning Mommies,

Anyone read the articles about Prof Amy Chua and her tiger parenting? What are your views?

I can actually see some of myself in her article, although I dun agree with it 100%

Morning,

trans,
heard a bit of her articles. It doesnt really suit into current parenting, very much like our old parents times. However, there are some western parenting which I dun really agree with as well.

Cherly,
What is PAL?

We just returned from Penang. Very very tiring leh. We were like rushing from one place to another everyday (and almost missed out flight back to singapore!)

Penang has changed so much. Now it's really crowded everywhere and traffic jam is terrible! I don't think we will want to go back there again. We much prefer langkawi which is a lot more laid back.

Hi Trans,

I read Amy Chua's article and i'm definitely not a "typical" chinese mother.

1) My kids goes for sleepovers
2) They will be allowed to participate in school drama
3) They are not expected and probably will not get As all the time.
4) Music is optional
5) Piano practice, 10mins a day is a bonus. Anything more is impossible!

I actually find her article very revolting leh.

PAL - cant rbr if Janelle school has it. If compare Janelle's time table. I think her the amt of time spend on acedemy is not as much as other schools.

Preggie,
If a child doesnt like music, cant force too so dun know why this Amy so insisted.

Sleepovers - I allowed too, is planning for sleepovers during holidays.

trans/cherly
yes ash has PAL every wed. this term they hv wildlife excursion with p6 buddies, not sure where yet.

preggie
penang sounds bad lei.. pf wanted to go very much.. will feedback to him

linda
if you are still here.. which hotel is better in PD? i booked legends water chalet, is it ok? will be gg during mar holidays.

hong/preggie
i allow sleepovers too. ash slept over at her cousins' place during dec hol bcoz their parents (pf & his cousin) used to do that when they were young, so they wan to continue the 'tradition'

trans
where to find this article.. i am interested to read after preggie said its revolting hehe

Chris,

The article was in The Sunday Times. I think she just wants her gals to try their best and not give up halfway if they encounter difficulties but I do not agree with her one-sided parenting style. Too suffocating for me. I always believe in two-way communication with a child.

Preggie,

You went Penang over the weekend? I was there last year and traffic was ok. But nothing much besides food..

Trans/Hong/Chris,
Charlene's school introduced the PAL for P1 & P2, it is 4 days a week for 1hr each day. They have PAL music, speech & drama, art and enrichment. For PAL enrichment, they have cartoon drawing, lifeskills or dance. I also not very sure how it works. They cover core & enrichment. On top of that, they have normal lessons.

Charlene supposed to go school at 1.30pm on every wednesday, however due to PAL, they start the lesson as per normal at 12.30pm.

Halo Mommies!

DJD, Trans, Hong & Chris,
Dun think Raine's school got PAL...it sounds good leh...

Preggie,
So shiok went short trip over the weekend!

Hi Minnie,

Yeap, we were there from friday to sunday. We found that the food standard has dropped too. We stayed at Gurney drive and the road is always packed with cars.

I think the thing we enjoyed the most this trip is the hotel and meeting up with friends! haha.

Hi Cherly, M2B,

Joey had manga drawing, speech and drama and gymnastics as part of Pal programme in P1.

Can I do quick poll who goes for AM and PM sessions? Even P2 ones are welcome to join. Need to seek advice on how to manage the kid after school... thanks.

AM
jesse

PM
charlene
jan

Morning,

chris,

Thanks for the compliments
and for adding CY's name in the list.

Stylobb,

I dun think I can give much advice. It's my mom who manages CY's schedule when he gets hm. She keeps him bz with homework, assessment books, etc. I know he will get some TV and play time too.

Good Morning Mommies!

AM
jesse
ash
cy
raine
rayna

PM
charlene
jan

Trans,
Pretty & Kind Mommy, can I have the article to read too?

Stylobb,
Raine goes student care and this is what she will do:

Lunch
Shower
Nap
School Homework (if any)
Tested on Chinese and English Spelling
Some work (currently is Maths Time-table)
Some activities (either colouring or play at the Netball court)

Then she will board the 6pm bus home and reached my mom's pl at 6.05pm.

AM
jesse
ash
cy
raine
rayna

PM
charlene
jan
Joey (but friday, am session)

For Joey, KB will send her to MIL's place at abt 9 or 10am, MIL will feed and bathe her before sending her to school. I don't know what she does during the 2 hours but i bet she must be watching TV!

I pick her up from school at 6.40 and we arrive home at about 7.15pm. On monday evening, she has piano lessons at home, and wednesday Ballet.

When we have no lessons, we usually take the kids out shopping or running around T3 till about 9pm, then head home, bath, sleep. We also try to squeeze in some time for spelling, tingxie and homework.

On weekends, she has to do all her tuition homework, attend writing, swimming and chinese tuition.

So that's our life in a nutshell

Good Morning Mommies.

AM
jesse
ash
cy
raine
rayna

PM
charlene
jan
Joey (but friday, am session)
Josh
Ryan

Josh has morning tuition to occupy his time on Monday, Wednesday and Thursday. The other 2 days he gets to do whatever he wants before getting ready for school at 11am.