Mummies with 2007 babies in Sengkang

Morning everyone!

Monday blues... *yawn*

Little Fly
Exersaucer is kinda like a walker with activity stations, but without wheels so it's not movable. I rented the Leap Frog exersaucer from Little Fairyland and my boy kinda likes it. So now at least we don't have to carry him and entertain him all the time!

Hi Platsplat

Sounds like a good way for the bb to self-entertain! how big is your boy currently? How much did you rent the exersaucer for and can you share the contact details for Little Fairyland ?

Little Fly,

My boy is now 6 months +. Took a bit of warming up for him though. I rented it for $40 a month from www.littlefairyland.com. You can rent from www.rent-a-toy.com too. I think it's cheaper than buying since they'll outgrow the toys soon anyway.
kao_smile2.gif

Good Morning everyone! Yipee, after today, I can get to relax a bit with my project closed today. On Christmas Mood already...just helped to setup Christmas tree in the office.

platsplat - my girl still don't like slightly coarser food, dun know when can introduce millet. I think bec till today, still only has two teeth on the bottom jaw. hee hee...

Mattmum - keep it up, soon you will find yrself doing great

janjanmum

I think you can grind up the millet after cooking it so that it's more like a puree? I think I'm gonna start my boy on organic brown rice porridge first next week, he's taking the Eu Yan Sang Si Shen Brown Rice now and he likes it!

Yes Christmas is coming! Can't wait! Gotta clean up my new place, set up Christmas tree and then go on long leave till the New Year! Yipee!

Hi mommies - Thanks all for the encouragement...

I am giving up some assignments to make more time...hopefully it will work.

Little Fly - My boy born on Aug 1. My hubby asked me to take at least 2 days off per week by leaving my boy with my parents cos he said full time job also have 2 days off per week haha
Maybe you can try that too...

morning mothers!

Thanks Platsplat! I think its a good alternative to rent the toys versus buying as they get tire of toys very easily. He probably will love the exersaucer when he hits 6mths. Now he already grins from ear to ear when his uncle 'fly' him around like a superbaby. More like a piglet flying in my eyes. hahaha.

Mattmum, that is very sweet of your hubby to initiate that. Check with you har, is your bb currently prefers sitting upright(adults supporting his back) to lying down, enjoys watching TV and also salivating alot? I wonder if the salivating is a signal to mean I could intro cereal/ solids to him as soon as he hits 4mths.

Mothers, do you find yourself getting busier when your boy gets older? I'm kinda of worried coz many elders commented that my boy is a very active baby and I may not be able to handle him. My hubby's relatives already passed comments that I have 'spoiled' him but then he's only 3mths old, how to 'spoil' him this early on?

morning morning everyone!

rainy day today! Such good weather to sleep in!

mattmum
I think I shall learn from you and get the 2 off days per week when I be a SAHM next year! =)

littlefly,
same here..my boy is very active too..cant sit still..cant even crawl now, but keep wanting to stand up and walk ..

well..cant say spoil yah,they are still so young,impossible cane or scold them everytime right? guess its up to individual.

bunz

how old is your boy now? i too lazy to read to my son but my MIL tells me to start him early. She tells me that my niece already know 40 words before she hits 2 yrs old, give me pressure already.

My hubby and I joked that our son (now cooing ang-gege..) will learn alphabets like A for Ang-gege, B for Be-gege, C for C-gege...

little fly,
Ian is turning 6mths this 31st.

i oso lazy to read..bought those nursery rhymes book, but i realise alot i dnt knw hw to sing to him.haha..

and when i took out those flash cards to him, he frown and cry

littlefly, bunz-I also don't read to him but I do sing la but he so active keep wanting to crawl up and down, here and there, don't think he will guai guai sit there listen to me read to him lo. haha.

Just lost a 'battle' feeding my bb water. He spits out every mouthful. Only his bib is 'drinking'. He refuses to swallow water, holds it in his mouth and spat out as soon as he gets a chance to. Alamak!
kao_frustrated.gif

Afternoon everyone!!!

me too seldom read to my girl but will try whenever I free so at least once on wkend, but she could never concentrate for long. I barely read for 2 pages of the board book, you know the type whereby not much words, she started fidgeting and wants to run away from me. But my boss told me have to teach my girl how to concentrate, but ???? really hv no idea.

I read those Baby Centre' progress/development website, that you are not considered to be spoiling your tots when you immediately attend to them at their cries or whining while they're still young. But as they approach (if I recollect correctly) >6mths, you need to say 'No' when needed.

Bunz - have added you too. Hope that you feeling much better. Take care as weather turning cold.

littlefly,
haha...maybe u can lie him slightly down abit, so the water will go dwn his throat..

jjmum,
thanks. too heaty lor..then got 1 big pimple on my chin..like volcano

littlefly - my boy is exactly everything you said. An extreme drooler, prefers to sit up(when we lie him down he screams, unless he wants to sleep), and enjoys watching TV yes. His favourites are advertisements and Humphrey Bear's dance(once the music stops he starts fidgeting again).

I asked his PD about the salivating and my boy's sucking of the whole fist, he said it's perfectly normal. Feeding solids rite...I read in a book that once baby shows interest in what you eat and loses his tongue reflex, then he is ready to try solids. I am tempted to try when he turns 4 months, but like all the mommies say, worried about allergies, so I will observe and see how. Maybe 1 teaspoon to try try?

By the way, the other day, we celebrated my mum's birthday, she and my dad were so happy they insisted to let my boy taste a little cream from the cake. (Eat some of Ah Ma's borthday cake and guai guai grow up ok?) Alamak! Even though it's a dab, I'm still horrified...then my mum says, aiyah when you were 4 months I started feeding you food already!

As for drinking water, a few times, he will regurgitate everything he has drank (like vomiting)even before he has finished drinking. Sometimes it goes down. My boy's pattern is, he will push the teat out as soon as he realises it's water and not milk. So I will leave the teat near his mouth and gently nudge it in once I have the chance to, because his reflex is - he will latch on to the teat very naturally. After a few times, he will start drinking the water because he forgets. Dunno whether you understand what I'm saying...but that works for him.

Bunz, enne, littlefly - I just bought some cloth and bath books for my boy...so far no success in getting him to focus. Like your boys, he cannot sit still now, even in his baby rocker. He likes to slide and push himself down with his legs and hip and almost fell off twice. I think it's time for the rocker to retire into my storeroom
kao_sad2.gif

I just want to ask you mommies - do your boys sweat alot? Mine seems to perspire all the time...even when we are in an air-conditioned shopping place. He also sweats at the back of his head when he feeds...my hubby says he is an air con baby

mattmum,
haha..think our boys all same pattern..ian too cant lie down..even change pampers oso cannot !!!
will roll here and there, take his diapers..
but nw he can run abt in his walker and chase my dog.

same thing, ian pespire alot. normal. even rainy days, ian only wear singlets at hm. still sticky. coz pespire and saliva !!! haha...

mattmum
my boy doesn't sweat a lot, prob cos he's very very small to begin with. Not much fats on him
. But he's super duper active, his legs keep kicking non-stop! I always ask him how come his legs not tired! Haha.

I also bought some board books for my boy during the recent Border's sale and try to read to him sometimes. But only 2 of them suitable for him so keep repeating. Even then he seem to enjoy and would reach out to grab the book and sometimes even try to flip the pages. Maybe he's just trying to grab the book to put into his mouth!

bunz-my boy only watches "CHOSEN COMMERCIALS", for example he simply loves the NEWS WEATHER FORECAST haha.

mattmum, bunz-EXACTLY SAME, haha maybe boys tend to be more playful and active hor. hehehe.

mattmum-my boy tends to sweat too but not very extreme like dripping with sweat la. hehe but I think coz they keep moving ba.

enne,
haha...my boy ah...emm..he watch dramas..haha..and his fav is SOCCER !!!

funi thing is whe i was preggy with him, whenever i watch soccer, he will kick and move inside my tummy..maybe explains why nw he like to watch soccer too.

mattmum, my boy did the same thing with the teat so we switch to forcing water down with a spoon. We use the same method as yours for his first morning feed when he sleep til blur blur. Then he realizes he's being conned and he will use his tongue to reject the teat and screams angrily. This repeats every morning. haha.

Everyday as if my boy is on fashion show, change at least 5-6 tops (either due to milk, water, sweat or saliva). Yes, he's perspire alot and screams if the fan is not switched on.

I am taking my MIL's advise not to let him learn how to rollover. She said its ok if he could turn sideways already but once he managed to rollover, then he will keep doing so and then we gotta to keep a close tab at all times! Now, I will distract him when he's trying to do so.

Bunz - same same. He screams and yells as if i torture him when i changed his diapers coz he hates to lie down flat. I wonder how come his back not tired meh from all the sitting upright.

I think i beter switch my boy to let him watch kids channel. Now he watches the taiwan soap drama together with his grandma coz she likes to carry him and watch her shows at the same time. Better don't let him become a drama papa next time.

Btw, i saw some cloth books at Robinsons which reads out to kids when the pages are turned. Thinking of getting it when they go on sale.

morning ladies.

mattmum, WHO & many health orgs recommend to intro solids aft 6mths. i saw fr a tv programme, e PD being interviewed said tt dun intro high dan ba zhi food when bb is <6mths, cos if bb gets allergy to tt food, he's likely to get allergy again even when u intro at a later stage. so i insisted tt no solids b4 6mths, will start intro solids to my boy tis weekend cos he turned 6mths ytd.

little fly, but i thought rollover is part of their learning process? shd we interfere their learning process just becos need to watch him closely? if they dun learn how to roll fr back to tummy, how to learn crawling in future?

littlefly,
my son too roll here and there, but i nvr interfere..let him be active and move ard by himself. guess its ok to do so

Bunnybluey,bunz, I don't know what is really better for him. Would ur bbies roll back on their backs once they learn how to rollover. I am quite paranoid on him not knowing how to roll back.

littlefly,
its normal, they are still trying to learn hw to balance too.
ian at times wnt get to his back after rolling too. dnt forget, at times they might be tired.so they rest.
they take alot of effort and energy to roll and turn yah

morning mothers!

My little boy grumpy today....dunno why. Maybe due to yday's thunder...once, he saw the lighting streak and loud thunder, then he broke into hysterical cries..sigh...dunno wait until when then can bring him out to see the flower flower world...

Bunz - did u put ur bb to sleep in the cradle or the cot? my boy only likes the cradle coz we could rock him to sleep. He sometimes sleep on one side but only after he finished turning and tossing. My mum said he's like a little worm, always wriggling about.

Gd Mornings All Mummies

mattmum - my girl also sweat easily, but it's ok so long there's fan blowing. I did not let her enjoy air con....hee hee not even night time.

littlefly,
ian slps in sarong..same as yr boy, like a worm.turn and toss , till he tired, he will just KO. haha..so at times he is lying on his side to slp in sarong.
he cant slp well in baby cot, abit noise he wake up.

littlefly,

it's ok to let babies learn how to roll over, as part of growing stage, from there, babies naturally learned how to lift up their head when on their stomach. It's fun watching them progress from one stage to another.

jjum,
i dnt knw what cartoon ian like...i knw he loves dogs and hokkien songs !!!

maybe barney, coz when he see barney soft toy, he will smile.

little fly, at 1st, bbs will learn to flip fr back to tummy, it'll take them a while to learn to flip fr tummy to back. my boy now knows how to flip fr back to tummy, then tummy to back & it just goes on, so hv to be careful. when plc them on e bed, must ensure got mattress on e fl so tt if they fall, they r protected. now, he even uses his legs to lift up his butt & then use e head to push himself forward. i feel tt we shdn't ctrl them as it's part & parcel of their learning & development, if u ctrl, dunno wat will e impact be? aso, it's really thrill when u witness their 1st flip. in my mummy grp, we always announce tt "my boy/ger has flipped!", then "my boy/ger has flipped fr tummy to back!"

bunz, better put a mattress under e sarong. few days ago, i met up with my insurance agent to buy some policies for my boy, she told me tt there's a sad case she had to process, bb slept in sarong, fell out & knocked e head, brain damage, so claim for permanent disability. so really gotta be careful.

Littlefly - I feel like we are playing mind games with our babies...hahaha
My boy also change at least 2 tops everyday. Now I put bib on him but his bib will soak through to his clothes too...arhhh.

I just bought a clip on fan from mothercare so I can clip to his stroller when he goes out. Same as your boy, if I bring him into my study where there's no fan and I don't turn the aircon on (only open windows), he will scream until I carry him out of the room.

Bunnybluey - thanks for the advice...I think I will start when he is 6 months to be safe

Mommies - rolling over is considered as a major milestone in a baby's growing stages right? My boy is learning to roll over, but he rolls over and his hand gets stuck under his body and he cannot get it out...!!!

mattmum, starting is like tt, bbs will learn, eventually they'll know how to adjust their hands. i dun interfere, when my bb is tired or not comfy, he'll make noise, then i help him.

bunnybluey,
thanks for the advise. will put mattress under the sarong.

guess it best for our babies to grow and learn their own natural 'baby way' its very fun to see them try to turn and crawl. and you will feel so glad that he made a tiny little bit of improvement each day