Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

Thanks for sharing. I just brought my gal for the Chicken Pox vac 2 weeks back. May I know is the insect bite sympton all over the body?

I'm planning to take the vac too as I haven got it yet. Worried leh...

Wow, didn't know can still get the CKenPox after vaccine! So the vaccine just reduce the discomfort but not protect against it?

Welcome Joey! Congratulations on your newborn bb! Where do you stay? My bb Dana's only 3 weeks old so I'm also learning the ropes how to care for a newborn. The mummies here are great and have been generous in their advice. So you're found the right place!

Hi Koori
That's great.. See you tomorrow...
will sms before I go over.

Hi Melody
Mine at Paragon Dr Ee but will be changing over to Holland Grove Dr Ravi. As the parking at Paragon is very ex & the lift is always congested. So we want to have PD near our plc for convenience sake lah. How is Dr Gong? Heard that he is good tooo... I tink all mummies will faced the same issues - BB fears of jabs/dr/clinic.. poor bb... & poor mummy!

Hi Kidz...
Kinda of scary too... Insect bites all over the body or just few spots? As my cpox was being suppressed by 'synflex' as I thot I had migraine & kinda of feverish - got a few red spots = then faded after 2=3days.. just by luck escape this cpox... hahaha!!!

Cheerz..

About getting Chicken Pox after being vaccinated:

My nephew only got like one "insect bite" for the 1st few days. After that it was also just a few more. The vaccination is not full-proof but should the vaccinated person gets it, it'll be a mild case with lesser "outbreak" and the whole espisode will be much shorter. Thus less scarring too.

Unfortunately, a certain percentage of vaccinated people will still get a case of the Pox. I'm not sure what's the stats now but I remember back in 1998, a Dr friend told me his wife was one of those in the 10% who stands the chance of getting it in spite of being vaccinated.
Thing too is that immunity is only better after having kenna a full-blown case so if after vaccination kenna once, may kenna 2nd time...

But at the end of the day, still good to get children vaccinated coz they tend to scratch with "enthusiasm". Actually, adults too already cannot tahan so how to stop the little ones?
kao_dizzy.gif

For 6-in-1, if miss the 4th mth jab by 1 mth, does that mean have to retake the whole lot? My girl cough/running nose on and off for 1 mth so she's almost 5mth but still havent taken the 4th mth jab. Any mums have had the same experience?

Got this Nuby Anti Colic Valves (fits regular and wide neck vented bootles) to give away. Anyone here interested, pm me. It's brand new still in the pack.

Rotavirus - 2 dosages only..hmm..I have checked my health book again, there are 3 dates next to it written by the PD and I do remember her giving my gal 3 dosages too. Could the PD have made a mistake? I wouldn't be surprised if she did because she always look kinda dishevelled and has very few patients each time I visited. But for convenience (save travelling and waiting time, save parking fees) I still go to her. Previous PD was Dr YY Yip from Gleneagles but the clinic is always crowded on weekends. Thank goodness my gal is healthy and fine otherwise although given extra dose. But I think I'd better change my PD. My favourite PD is the one in woodlands but he is too far away now.

Anyone has any good PD (patient and willing to explain in details) in the west to recommend? I am looking for one that can use the CDA for payment. I know there is one at Sunset way (not sure if she is good though) but she doesn't accept CDA.

the FP bouncer is useful to me. My gal doesn't want to lie down in it but she can sit in it for a while. It's useful for feeding her before she 'upgrades' to the high chair.

Seems like the BP part of this Forum is creating some unhappiness...but I have to admit that I really do enjoy looking at the things that are being put up on sale there and at the WTS section. I have made quite a few purchases at the BP and WTS section cos it's difficult to shop with 2 kids in a tow even with hubby and maid's help. I find 'freedom' shopping on line cos I'm on my own.

angel - me thinking of chickenbox jab for both my kids but the nurse say must wait till 1 yrs old after baby have the required vaccination then recommend to go for chickenbox one as it is injecting virus to build immunity.

Claire - i think you can check with the doctor/nurse on the 4mth jab, but usually they allow to have the jab later but not earlier than the month.

gingerbelle - same as me, I like to see what are on sale at BP or wts and I do join some bp thread but nowadays too many, a bit confusing, which one having some unhappiness? For those japanese clothing, like nissen, from my past spree experience, its actually cheaper to get from jshopper website directly, includes free shipping too, hassle free.

flower: the HK drama getting more n more exciting.. but i still can't download... argh... cause i really dun understand wat they written in chinese... i downloaded the player liao. but i dunno how to use.. lolz...

my boy coughing dry cough. normal ma? not all the time.. only after or during feeds...
i'm bringing my boy to PD for occasional nose suction.. cause seems tat he can't drink very well.
he spits up milk often recently... dunno y... not regurgitation..

the sunset way PD charges $100 for 5-in-1 & $150 for 6-in-1. expensive mah?

my boy only uses latex NUK teats... anyone wans pigeon teats? giving away teats only... hehe, bottles i keeping for his usage.

i training Ryan on pram... any ways to make him sit in pram constantly? i brought him out on sat, he sat in pram 15mins, then i carry him 15mins. cycle repeats... very tiring...

Petrina,

If you can download the player, you should be able to watch. Choose the type of movies from
the top page. then choose the movie you want. If you want to watch the Michelle show, i think is in page 24 or 25. Then select the chapter. Logon your msn then I can guide you thru.

Your teats is the regular or wide neck, If regular, give me can. My boy using it.

You want the velves? We can exchange.

mummies who'r bfing
pigeon breastpads got offer at NTUC, $8 for a box of 36+6. Just went to get 4 boxes to stock up
Hopefully will be able to use them all.

Petrina

can recommend me which Sunset PD you go to for the 6-in-1? Dana's due for her 1st mth vaccination in a week's time and we've not decided where to bring her. Polyclinic or PD...if PD, which one to go...

Hi Angel,

In fact, if you dont like Polyclinic, which I hate cos of the queue, you can go the any GP for Dana's injection. My sis did all her children's jab with a GP.

actually the waiting time for vaccinations at the polyclinic is not any worst than the PD, be it yvonne see or kinderclinic (MAH) cos you will be given an appt time after the very 1st visit. The most I have waited at the polyclinic is about 1 - 1 1/2 hours (waiting time, vaccination and seeing the doc) which is the same time as I have waited with an appt at either of the PDs I go to.

Hi Sleek and all mummies

yah, the past week our thread has been very quiet. How are you and everyone? Thank God it's Public Holiday tomorrow. For Hubby and I, we've taken over the night duties from my mum this week and Dana's been keeping us awake practically throughout the night! She wakes up for 3 night feeds at 1.5 to 2 hourly intervals and fusses in between wanting company so I end up placing her next to me after her feeds. It's very tiring (esp since I'm working) but her occasional contented smile after feeding (and burping) just makes it worthwhile. Am sure you mummies can identify with that strange feeling!

Anyway, I've called up the polyclinic to find out the charges for the 5-in-1 and 6-in-1 vaccination packages and these are the prices:

<font color="0000ff">5-in-1: $290.40
6-in-1: $326.10</font>

wonder why the prices are so much higher compared to the PDs charges posted here? Will call the Sunset PD later as her clinic isn't open yet...

hello angel! Am feeling hot and bothered by this heat, hehe no air con at home. Think the PD price is per jab plus consult, the polyclinic price covers all the jabs since it's a package and no need to pay consult $ since the nurses are doing the vax.

yah boy, the weather this week is SO HUMID!! even bb is sweating

just called Dr Yvonne's clinic. 5-in-1 does not include Hep B. Hep 2 (2nd dose) $60. Subsequent 5-in-1 jabs at 3rd ($110), 4th ($110) and 5th mth ($150). Total = $430.

If opting for 6-in-1, jabs at 2nd, 4th and 6th months. $150 per dose. Total = $450.

So if jabs at polyclinics, save about $120 but dunno if worth enduring the queues...

Angel,

Another option is to try a GP near your home. Can call and check their prices. Maybe cheaper than Dr Yvonne but less waiting time and crowd.

Hi Sleek,
Lately the weather is terrible!! My boy has got the flu &amp; I lost my voice ... sighz ... how are you &amp; baby? I'm thinking to meet up with Petrina one of these days but have been busy n not too well thus far so .... will you be free to have a mini meet-up @HV?

Btw, in answer to your earlier post... for me, we usually wait about 30mins (max) at the PD i send my son to.... that could be because i always book the slot after lunch (2.30pm)!! hee ... so even if i'm late, i don't have to wait too long. If i have to wait so long, i might as well go to a good GP or just the Polyclinic esp. since the charges are much cheaper.

hey Melody
We're fine but really cant tolerate this hot weather, my poor boy keeps sweating buckets. Petrina told me about it but you were sick from last week so I popped by then to let her try my carrier out. You let us know when you're feeling better, do get well quick both of you!

Hey Shauna,

Are you referring to the one that sell Sunshine books? I been to the sales before, find the books are good but a little expensive. When is the sales again?

BTW, when is our next meeting again? Shall we arrange to meet at a cafe where we can have a cup of good coffee and gosssip too! Any good suggestion?

Hello Sleek,
I'm getting better ... but still coughing n alot of phlegm so I'm abit cautious to meet up ... probably early next next week would be better ... Petrina sorry hah! postpone again ... sighz... I hate it when i get sick ... sure kenna pass to my boy than the vicious cycle repeat itself if we are not careful ... sighz...

Shauna,
Would love to go to the Sale but I don't have a car and am not sure where is the location ... + not feeling well now.. If you are going, pls. update us on what's there ...

Just to clear the air about the rotavirus dosage:

My gal was given the right dosage. It was indeed due to different vaccine from different drug companies. She took Rotateq (MSD) - 3 oral dosages. Rotarix (GSK) is 2 oral dosages. My sincere apologies to my PD for thinking that she has made a mistake.

Hi Mommies - I discovered the following safety-locks for child-proofing at CK Department Store in Bt Merah. Abt $2 each -- almost $1 cheaper than when I bought same items from a local internet site. But not sure if the CK at Clementi (behind the mosque) carries them too. Anyway, have installed the ones on the left and they're serving us well -- I paid $5.90 for a similar pair under Lucky Baby brand! Now gonna install more on our cupboards and book cases as my girl's opening up all the doors now...
nono.gif

1392076.jpg

gingerbelle: great to hear that the difference was simply due to a different brand of vax

<font color="119911">flower: you can start the ball rolling for the next meeting, but not so sure if having it outside is such a good idea cos of space constraints and other patrons may not like having so many babies/ kids running around.
btw, I would love to host it but am staying with my parents so no space

<font color="0077aa">Melody: take all the time you need to rest well before we meet, we all know the vicious cycle of falling ill.</font>

<font color="0000ff">kidz: thanks for sharing about the childproofing items! if clementi ave 2's CK doesn't sell, is there any chance you will be going back to bt merah and can help buy some for me?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">btw, any mummies interested in taking a BN pack of nepia L diapers (but I've given away the seal) off my hands for $12? My boy is allergic to them.</font>

Sleek - sure, can help you buy. Let me know which you want and how many. I can help you get by next Monday. Can trade for the pack of L-size Nepia.

I'm actually short of 2 seals. Anyone can spare me? I'll send you a Stamped SAE for it.

Pet -- saw your post about breastpads. I think the Pigeon brand is most popular and worth buying when it's $8 for a box of 36+6pcs (that's what's printed on the box. But I think one of the cheapest is Tollyjoy (not their premium one) which is about 48pcs per box and retails at $7.90 Normal Price.

I bought the Avent washable ones but realised that after throwing in the washing machine, the edges seems to be more pronounced -- either the stitches shrank in my warm water wash setting or the padding shifted? Thus the edges became super obvious under tight tops e.g. camisoles. I stopped using them after that. The worst is that most nursing rooms don't have mirrors so can't tell sometimes when the edges are showing under tops.

kidz: haha, I'll let you try the locks first before committing to buy them though
If they're working out for you then sure we can trade for the nepia

<font color="aa00aa">Re: breastpads. Totally agree with kidz, pigeon disposables is really THE brand to buy especially in the early months when dealing with oversupply, engorgement, leakages, etc. I asked my friend who has nursed all 3 of her children which brand to get when I was pregnant and it was the one she recommended to me and I am happy with her recommendation. It has the same gel inside as some diapers and sanitary napkins so it can hold quite a fair bit of BM before needing to be changed.</font>

btw if any mums want to get some, I have 2 boxes of the 36+6 that you can help clear my space for $15. I was too kiasu and bought too many the last round but now I don't need to use as many anymore and have also switched to washables.

Sleek: the locks are working well. We actually installed one (the type on left in pix) on our bi-fold toilet door which can only be locked from inside. So when air pressure in toilet is weaker, the door pops open. The lock's holding well. Of course no lifetime guarantee for such stuffs (any brand) and toddlers are much stronger than we give them credit for so my advice to any mommy is to check all child safety locks regularly for wear and tear on the latch, mounting tape, etc. in order to enjoy better peace of mind.

These from CK are truly good bargains. But the cheapest alternative is to use regular masking tape like one of my friends did -- effectively too for her at least...

Hi flower and melody, yes its the one which sells the sunshine books! and the sunshine classics have a 40% discount. its at kaki bukit tho.
do to edventure.com.sg for the catalogue.

hi gals...

How's everybody? Been quite busy the past week. Went and came back from Beijing (biz trip...sianz). But TGIF!! heehee...phew. the 1 day PH really recharges (although was also working through the day - think it's more psychological...hahaha).

breastpads
i bot farlin washables. very thin. good enuff for day usage. nite use not good. overflow.. haha
i use tollyjoy washables at nite n farlin in day.
my disposables also not used. only use it when i go out as it's thinner n less obvious...

3rd Gathering
Time: 2pm
Date: 8th May 09 - Thursday
Attendees:

1) Petrina &amp; Ryan
5)
6)

Any other dates/location suggestions? i'd prefer HV, but as sleek mentioned, no endurance for kids running ard?

Hi - just to add that my friend who used masking tape to "lock" cupboards for child-proofing also leaned on them nonchalantly when her kids tried to open the doors. Seems after tugging futilely for a while, they realised no point and event after different distractions. Actually reminds me of elephants straining in vain at the chains on their legs, and then when chains are removed, the elephants never realised they are free...

Next week there're full day seminars on Enhancing Attachment in Adoption but it's suitable for birth parents too as the attachment parenting issue is valid. Check out www.tcs.org.sg for info.

sandy: paiseh... my mom bot a few stacks liao... forgot to tell u. u ordered le mah? if so then i'll take. if not, pls remove my order. thks.

kidz: haha, i wonder if that will work with my boy, he's super stubborn and will keep doing something even though we repeatedly stop him from doing it. and of course there is no lifetime guarantee for anything but if it's going to break after a couple of weeks, then there's no point for me to buy a whole bunch (to make up the diaper price).

pet: go-go bambini may not be a good idea as it's quite far in to walk from the bus stop.

Mommies: wish I can join in next Thu's gathering but got function to attend same afternoon. One suggestion though for place - call Swensens and see if their upstairs dining area will be open for the group of mommies and babies. Upstairs has air-con as well as an alfresco dining area (but latter will be dusty with construction going on). Basically the upstairs dining area is more private.

3rd Gathering
Time: 3-5pm / 6-8pm
Date: 10th May 09 - Saturday
Attendees:

1) Petrina &amp; Ryan
5)
6)

Pls note, in order for more mummies to attend the gatherings, i'm considering shifting our 3rd gathering to nxt saturday to benefit the working mothers...
I understand some SAHMs r not convenient meeting on wkends. perhaps we can meet in the evening for dinner? or ard 3-4pm for high tea?

Bambini wun not be a suitable plc due to high rate of HFMD... thks sleek for highlighting it to me... I forgot liao.