Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

<font color="0000ff">Warm Welcome to Claire, Oki and Gingerbelle to our thread!</font> I grew up in West Coast, grandma's blk used to be 511, mum's 508 now I'm in Clementi. Still go back to West Coast Hawker for its prata on Sundays

<font color="aa00aa">Mummies</font>, please check your emails and respond accordingly ya?

<font color="0000ff">Koori</font>, my 2 week old Dana now fusses a lot after feeding wanting to be carried and rocked to sleep. Does your bb require that too? My mum says we've spoiled her as we carry her at night after work and during weekends since we miss her so much on a daily basis when we're away at work!

<font color="aa00aa">Coolmama</font>, my husband's hives has come and gone in 1 day, but I've been getting cold quite frequently, dunno if it's allergic to dust as my estate's quite dusty these days due to repainting. <font color="aa00aa">Kidz</font>, I've been bitten by mosquitoes these few nights, do you have the same problem?

<font color="0000ff">CSI_Fan</font>, princess' poo normal today?

<font color="aa00aa">Cecelia</font>, Big thank you for dropping by to visit Dana earlier and blessing her with a gift.
I enjoyed the chat with you.

Hi to all mummies....
Remember sometime back - we chat about GOON &amp; Nepia diaper. Which is better? Any tips?

Was busy coping looking after bb...
6th wk was 'hell' for me - as bb is super fussy &amp; cranky - cry all the time - make me super frustrated &amp; hot too... But finally it was over.

At least now I understand bb better - listen to his cries and body language.

Otherwise, MIL will make lots of silly comments... can't stand her. :eek:

Hi to new mummy = Claire &amp; Chicken Little.
Welcome to our little thread..

Hi to Okipoki:
Welcome! Saw my moving company last weekend.
So it was your new neighbour. Chinese family I guess?

Hi to Koori:
7th Flr got renovation - FYI
so be prepared for some drilling sound...
OOPS....

See you mummies around

Angela - 7th fl gt reno, starting when any idea? Duno why i always kana one leh. Wonder which unit isit, hope not my downstairs one.

U stay with ur MIL?

Angel - my bb start to fuss alot also due to alot of carrying cos my mom and CL kept carrying her whenever she cry....spoil her. I gg suffer if she cont like tat after CL leave. I try to minimise by coaxing her next to her bedside instead of carrying her...maybe u wan try.

hi mummies, just to alert u all abt chinchow posting dated 22 apr- http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2/302091.html.

forum is v.open, everyone can read wat u post, maybe tis thread has gotten v.popular &amp; attracts many readers esp since e shirley saga, so consider having a yahoo grp or facebook grp where u all can share gd lobangs, instead of discussing here or even thru PM as PM is aso owned by SMH &amp; governed under SMH Ts&amp;Cs.

angel, my heart goes out to u, enjoy ur motherhood &amp; concentrate on ur bb, dun bother abt wat happened.

petrina/shauna/csi, sometimes back in mar, i posted abt fidgets tha it's not true it's free for infants in arms, tink u reply to my posting then but sorry tha i din reply then as i din revisit tis thread until i read abt e BP thingy, tink aft my mummy friend complains abt it, they hv revised their website info saying free for babies under 6mths.

claire-
hey i'm visiting MMI west coast soon. may put my son in cc if i feel comfy with the centre visits. tell me how it is there! havent got my mind made up yet. if its all no good, i'm just gonna stay at home to be a huang lian po forever!

errr.. u guys are again being reported by CC... check it out at CL take note thread. i dun understand why he/she did it again?

aiyoh...this CC ah...hey, should we just categorically state that the "BP" is off, for the purpose of this thread? I mean, so many other pple do it in their respective threads (arrange to share stuff with each other, or buy stuff for one another when one is travelling etc etc...)...then how? Tough ah...haiz, just talk about baby stuff lah...

Angel,
Yesterday she pooped after every feed!! Well, the thing is...we usually change her diaper before a feed (while the bottle is warming up). So, her usage of diapers was like...double yesterday! This is one expensive butt....Heng I use Fitti, so not so bad. hahaha.

My gal used to fuss a lot too and needs carrying. Well, to me, I'm thinking, how spoilt can she get? She's only a baby...If it's really spoiling, I'd rather spoil her and carry her, than to have her feeling uncomfortable, insecure, dissatisfied, frustrated. My thoughts are that babies at a few weeks or a couple of months do not know how to self-soothe yet (they dun even know how to hold a pacifier in their mouth) and so they get "mang zang". Once they find their fingers/thumb, they should be quite alright.

You may want to try Koori's method. When your gal is older, you can give her a small pillow to hold. She may feel more secure too...

hi angel (babymaybe)

thanks for welcoming me. I grew up in west coast too, shifted to woodlands after marriage and now with kids I'm back to clementi again but at central now not west coast.

CSI: ya... i read the DR Sears' webby... they say bb is too young to know to throw tantrums... so when they cry, they really need something...

though i really buay tahan. my back is breaking, my knees r giving way... i juz bot the Phiten pelvis belt. hope it can partially remove my pain.

The construction at west peak now ongoing. Dunno if because of the stop work order last mth, they'r rushing, nowadays work til 10+ then stop. Was asking hb if can complain to LTA or police, he said so long as not piling, they can work til 11pm. Thank goodness my girls sleep on the side away from the noise, other sure kena woken up. Then the 2 of them so difficult to pacify to sleep somemore, make me super pek chek.

Dear Carole and Jen_phua

I have absolutely no idea what this Chin Chow fellow has against me. Organising a BP is cheap, only $25 but I AM NOT ORGANISING ANY BP AND I HAVE NO INTENTION OF ORGANISING ONE! THERE IS NO BP GOING ON. PERIOD! . The mummies here can vouch for me. Please stop spying on our thread and causing all these duress.
This thread is our 'haven' where we exchange tips and advice on parenting and childcare and we want to feel safe to discuss anything and everything under the sky, not to worry about whether what we type next will end up being used as a threat of having our a/c suspended. Please leave me (us) alone.

1. i am only informing.
2. i dun have that kind of time like CC to sit in every thread to bother wat BP in on and wat is not.
3. i m also unhappy with CC remarks as this fellow is targeting at your thread most of the time. So i am informing.

i dun deserve that "LEAVE US ALONE" i am merely informing that your thread is once again on the "take note"

Angel -- Understand your frustrations. I think the best way to make the problem go away is to ignore CC who obviously has some mental ailment.

Sorry Carole. Please don't be mistaken!! That 'leave us alone' comment is targetted at Chin Chow, not you! Sorry for not being clear...I really appreciate your presence here. <font color="0000ff">A THOUSAND APOLOGIES</font> for the miscommunciation!

angel, no problem. dun worry. I dun come into the thread to spy. frankly i know u already email in pte. and nothing was posted. but this CC just dun let you off.

maybe becos this fellow visits this thread super often and saw you posting on the "2 slots" thingy.

aiyo... CC leave people alone. shut ur trap

angel, u got a pm

Hi Angel,
As far as I am concerned, there is no BP - what BP are you/ CC talking about?! Why again this issue on BP?! Plus this time - a PTE one?!? BTW, if it's PTE, what has it got to do with anyone?! Anyway, BP or no BP, just ignore that barking dog!

Carole Ng, thank you for informing us and what is this '2 slots' thingy? I have not heard of any BP!

Hi Chicken Little,

For Commonwealth Close, you might like to try

-Damien Centre Kindergarten (64737812)

-Faith Kindergarten (64795409)

-Queenstown Lutheran Church Kindergarten (64757458)

These 3 kindergartens are the closest I can think of.

Angel &amp; Gingerbelle,

I think we are are all similar. I also grew up in West Coast &amp; now staying in Clementi. Moved from Town back to Clementi just to be near my parents. Maybe we all from the same school, JT?

shauna
I find mmi at west coast quite good. The teachers are v caring and though each class has their own teachers, the Nursery class tr also know my girl (who's in PG). Quite a lot of independent learning and both hb n i find that after attending sch, she is able to do those knob puzzles and also to sort stuff out according to colour. But she still cant tell what colour is what. Ask her what colour is the traffic light, she'll say yellow. That's her default answer whenever ask her abt colour.
I like the fact that they have mandarin classes and she loves the songs and dancing. I must say that when i sat in the 1st 2 days, i found discipline not v strict. but for such young children, i suppose they want to give them some freedom.
We started her off on 2 half days in oct, then gradually increased til now she's attending 5 halfdays. the sch bus sends her to and from sch every day. We just drop our maid and the 2 girls at il's place early in the morning. Normally #1 still zzz, but when we carry #2 up, she'll wake up already.

Hey flower,

what a coincidence! I was from JT Pri too! Used to join the Choir and performed for it's official opening - we could have been schoolmates!

Hi Angel, just ignore those barking dogs, should it be a BP, then I'm sure you will receive an email from the moderators, telling you to either 'Stop it' or 'Pay up'. Dun worry too much. We will follow whatever decision you make. Just dun be stressed up. Channel all your attention to Baby Dana, she'll appreciate it more.

Moderators (Chin Leng / Bee Lee / Whoever) - I think it will be fair to everyone, if you will just stand up and put a 'Stop' to this issue, once and for all. Do not just sit on the sideline and watch the actions! Its just like you are happily sitting on the sidelines and watching all the mummies 'fight it out' and you feel so shiok! If you think its BP, tell Angeline. If you think its NOT BP, then pls drop a message to bring this issue to a 'Full Stop' and let all the mummies continue with their normal life.

I think its just fair for the Moderators to speak up and make a conclusion. Tks! (Maybe you can also tell that CC to stop her nonsenses or risk having her account suspended too!)

I am staying in Clementi, Blk 327. I am mummy of 19mth girl and expecting my #2 this sept. My girl is born in 2006 and so i am sourcing for a childcare in Clementi for her to attend next year. I am considering Touch childcare, Blk 333. Does anyone have any reviews of this childcare?
Otherwise, any recommendation?

hi Flower

I'm not from JT but CTPS altho JT was closer. Haha..yes very similar indeed, I shifted back to Clementi to be near my mum too! The irony is my mum is not helping me anymore, but still it's good to be near.

oohh...now we're on the topic of schools. Our schools, that is. hahaha. I was from FMSS...anyone?

Btw, mummies with older babies (older than my 4 m.o. gal), what kind/brand of blender do you use for baby's food?

Anyone tried the U-Like Blender (brand is U-Like)? I saw it on promo at Isetan, so hb thot of getting that...

CSI
same family of schools, i was from MGS

For my older girl, we used to squeeze the food through the sieve. Or if really lazy, we used normal philips blender.

angela
I tried nepia once but it didnt work well for my #1. bulky and it leaked for her. Now currently using Goon and I give it 2 thumbs up. It's as thin as pampers premium (or active stages as it's called now) and can last my girls through the nite. I think it's gd value for $$ esp since my girls both golden butt, can only use Pampers AS. And I find the pull-ups for my older girl pretty reasonably priced.

hi angel, i hv no intention to spy into tis thread, was reading e CL pls take note thread &amp; realised tha CC is still not letting e matter go, tha y highlighting it. i aso dun agree w wat CC is doing but apparently he visits tis thread v.frequently &amp; trying to find fault w e pp here, so e best is to communicate via other means. there's all sort of pp in tis world &amp; we can't ctrl wat other pp do. as said in e earlier posting, my heart goes out to u. i cried back then when i read abt ashley, u r a v.strong woman to overcome those &amp; move on w bb dana, so watever hurdles tha come across ur path, am sure u be able to handle it well, dun let tis CC affects u, enjoy ur motherhood &amp; focus on bb dana. cheer up, gal.

chinchow, e matter is closed, pls leave them alone.

how come this CC every now n then so free to disturb us?
very irritating leh...

perhaps we shld all do msn now. the grp conversation type. but, very hard as we r always online at different timings...

how do we hope to enjoy motherhood chats with such KPO ppl ard?

my wrists also painful.. i finally bot a proper firm mattress for Ryan.. he's been slping on his own bed since sunday.
i still need to pat him many times.. i think his growth spurt again? at wk6... every hr he drinks..

i tried yaolan in kiddy palace. he dun like it also.. haiz...

Hi Jen Phua
similar to Carole, my message was directed at CC to 'leave me and the mummies in this thread alone', not at you so I hope you will not take offence. I am deeply grateful to you and the previous mum for alerting me to CC's accusation otherwise I would still be kept in the dark! Thanks for sharing our grief at Ashley and Joash's demise
Today is Joash's 1st Bday cum Death Annivesary. Hubby and I went to Mandai Crematorium after work just now (we bought a balloon for him). It's been a year but the pain is still jabbing at our hearts each and every single day...

Petrina, hang on there. LimAngela also emailed me telling me the same thing - her bb is also undergoing a growth spurt at 6weeks and tiring her out. But very soon, they'll be responding to you and it'll just melt your fatigue away. Now bb Dana still stares blankly into the air when we play with her...

Claire- thanks for info abt MMI. will have a look next week.

petrina- everything ok? when growth spurts happen ,they just wake more often, need to nurse often and are more clingy. it hurts to grow, literally. hang in there. things get better all the time. sidney always has something nice waiting for me. ")

My bb seem to be on the growth spurts also but she only 3weeks old, does this happens? She sleeps less, then need to feed more often and keep crying.

Re : Vaccinations

Wan check did u all go for 5 in 1 or 6 in 1?
Where did u all bring bb for vaccinations. I am scheduled for 1 jab Hep B on 2 May by my PD, tot that the Hep B jab is included in the 6in 1, he din mention to me abt 5 in 1 or 6 in 1, so confused!

CSI: good to hear that it's nothing serious for your girl's case. heehee, isn't it ironic how we now discuss our babies poop like it is something special!!
oh btw, I never bothered blending my boy's food, just use a fork to mash the extremely soft pumpkin/ apple/ whatever that has been cooked already.

angela: personally I prefer Goo.N over nepia. when my boy uses nepia, there is a strong stench of urine and also the material inside seems to separate once it is quite wet. but every mum has a preference for 1 diaper over the other, have you gotten samples to try?

evelyn: welcome! only have 1 experience with touch childcare and that is the china boy who lives opp my grandma and went there, he seems to have benefited from it esp in terms of his spoken English standard.

koori: growth spurts are not on a definite schedule and depend on each individual child. if you want to go for those 5 or 6 in 1, the whole point is to minimize the num of injections your child gets which 5 in 1 doesn't cos I counted and it's the same # as the normal schedule since the child has to separately get the Hep b injections. best go for 6 in 1, or else just go thru the standard vaccination schedule. btw the standard vaccinations are free at all polyclinics, you just have to pay $25 for 2 hep b injections.

Koori, my bb Dana is only 2 weeks old and she's like that already, has to feed before 2 hours is up but I realised she has a 'bad' habit of falling asleep when feeding and hence does not finish her milk (thus getting hungry quickly). How to overcome this?

angel: I asked my mum and she said you can try to make her finish her milk by gently tapping the side of her cheek to remind her to keep sucking. If she doesn't finish her milk, like you say, she will end up being hungry really fast.

Hi to all mummies! wow, the thread so active!!!
The nothing-better-to-do-CC again... haha... lets Forget about him and stop giving him our attention, waste energy on such a person..not worth that wrinkle... ;)

yeah, stroke or pat her cheeks to ask her to rouse her gently to feed... my gals tend to fall asleep at my breast too, and it works.

Agree with CSI,(was watching csi miami just now, and reminded me of you..
) babies are too young to be spoilt. They will cry when uncomfortable and whichever and whatever, that you do, in most cases, are swaddling them, feels reassuring, she will stop crying... its a phase.. my gals was fussy from 1 month-3months...can still rem those crying nights! brrrr....

Hey Claire, maybe we seen each other b4! i do bring my elder gal go over to the playground there to sweat it out. Clarie and Shuana, we can have mini meet up.

Koori, I took the 6-in-1 for my kids. basically just less injections. 6-in-1 consists of 3 jabs. 5-in-1 consists of 4 jabs. polyclinic is free except for hep B and will need a total of 9 jabs + oral.

Petrina, dear, are you ok? hope you felling better. must ask hubby to massage you more. massage the sores away! heehee...

Flower, as i was running errand with the kids in tow, my elder ariel suddenly ask me, "mummy, are we going to the auntie house? I want to find my fren, the gal gal."

I was from JTP and CTSS too!

Dun go MMI/touch, enrol in Coolmama School! i'm studying montessori method of teaching now, so All the little children, come come, be my guinea pigs.... just joking.

have a good mid week everyone!

b4 i forget, got a silly question.. about BP, can anyone explain to me, why is that people so fervently organise BP/spree? to earn money?

angel- tapping their chins and rubbing their palms help to keep them awake. these babies are terribly sleepy when they are young. its true what sleek says, better try n keep them awake to drink milk, if not they will be hungry.

coolmama- why not? but with the hfmd, its abit of a scare to take them to the playground now tho.

sleek: yah manz...it's just poop! hahaha. but it's like, so precious to us. coz it tells us so much about our kiddos...

angel: yup, you can try stroking her cheek, chin, the back of her hands, her feet, letting your fingers to the walking on her back...basically to sort of wake her up a bit, to remind her to continue drinking.

vaccinations:
the diff between the 5-in-1 or 6-in-1 and the standard vaccinations is the HIB vaccination. HIB costs $200+. HIB is included in 5-in-1 and 6-in-1, but it's not included in the standard vaccinations. I think it's coz not everyone in Singapore can afford HIB.

Hey, JTPS has closed, you gals know? (I'm not from JTPS...but I go past it almost everyday on way home from work).

wat is HIB? haha, i so moron...
till now, i still can't decide how to give him his jabs...
anyway, PD gave him his 2nd hep jab @ 1st mth liao.
he arranges Hep B jab separately.
so Ryan's schedule has 5-in-1 @ 3mths, 6-in-1 @ ??mths, Hep B Jab, etc...
i also very blur liao...

BTW, when shld i jab Ryan wif RotaVirus &amp; P Jab if we're gg holiday in end Sept?

CSI - wats HIB?

Ya i also need to know when to take Rotavirus &amp; P jab?

Does that means that if i choose the 6 in 1, i do not have to go for the Hep B jab during 1st mth? Can someone clear my doubts?

koori/ pet: no need to do hep b at 1mth with 6in1.

rotavirus is not a jab but a oral vaccine, can start first dose at 1 1/2mths.

HIB is haemophilus influenza B, a bacteria that causes meningitis (infection of brain) and pneumonia (chest infection), it is not a compulsary vax though.

Thanks for the warm welcome

Limangela,
Yes, is a chinese family with 2 kids. Recently from my kitchen I smell of those confinement food. Realised alot of new mums around this area.

Koori,
So far at such a young age, PD wont recommend any other optional jab as they want the bb to build up their own immune system. You can consider optional jabs when they are older. But I would recommend rotavirus cos I hv heard horror stories. Rotarix is best to complete before bb turns 6 mths old &amp; total will be 2 oral vaccine.

My ger has 6-in-1 cos she has missed the 1mth jab. However, come to think of it I have save her from an additional jab. Regardless, all jabs will come with slight fever, juz need to monitor and fed her with the medicine.

CSI

I'm from FMSS too. I'm using the Braun handheld blender. Easy to use and clean.

Koori

Rotavirus if taken while baby still little need to take 3 oral dosage. When taken when they are older (can't remember what age) only need to take 1 dosage (can't rem oral or via injection).

To play safe my gal has completed all 3 oral dosages by 6 months old.

My son took Rotavirus when he was older so only one jab (oral? can't rem) cos I had no idea about Rotavirus when he was younger.

Pneumoccocal - my gal has taken the jab too. But all these are additional jabs to the standard ones so you need to inform the PD that you want these jabs. The PD will administer them together with the other standard jabs. So per visit my gal took two jabs (ouch!) and one oral dosage.

gingerbelle,
Ohh how come urs is 3 oral ? My ger born in 2006 only needs 2 oral dosage leh. I sent my ger for her Pneumoccocal jab after she turns 12mths and only need 2 jabs.

For Pneumoccocal for bb below 12mths is 3 jabs, after 12mths below 24mths is 2 jabs and after 24mths only 1 jab

I'm from JTSS not JTPS. I was from Tanglin Pri instead. Shifted from Commonwealth to Clementi.

As for Blender, just remember to find the metal type rather than the plastic. Plastic will stain easily and the smell too. This was taught by one Chef that I know.

Coolmama, my girl also mentioned about your girl recently too. Maybe arrange to meet up again.

My girl is off this fri, planning to bring her out. But cant think of a place? Any suggestion?