Mummies staying at Clementi / Dover / Commonwealth

<font color="0000ff">J Pastries:</font> Emailed u abt e 15pkts of alcohol wipes u ordered. Let me noe when u wanna collect fr my plc opposite e mosque

I have enrolled my girl for 3 1/2 day flexi care at cherie hearts little genius. she will start in march...so far my visits there have been good. children seem happy, place is clean n spacious, staff look ok too. i like the mix of students, some schools in this area have too many expats.

happy new year mummies

<font color="0000ff">Gayle:</font> Gd 2 hear u've made a decision. Do juz monitor -- esp watch how ur gal reacts i.e. going 2 &amp; coming back fr CC. Oh, rmbr 2 put her name on EVERYTHING she has 2 bring 2 sch -- diapers incl.

thks kidzskidz..ya must remember to tag all her stuff

urh...but how to tag diapers? write her name on the actual diaper or bag?

<font color="119911">Gayle:</font> Yeah, write w ballpoint pen. I used 2 write w permanent marker bt it doesnt get fully absorbed onto 2 diaper so rubbed against back of B1's pants til inside was stained w ink. Bt washes off in machine. No prob when I switched 2 ballpoint pen. Actuali her CC requires names 2 b written on e diapers. She drinks her FM fr straw cup so I also use perm marker 2 draw a line 2 indicate how much H20 to go w each portion of FM I packed in e milk powder container. Diz way her tc wont end up putting 2 little or 2 much H2O...

Gong Xi Fa Cai!

It's been a loooong time since I logged in here. But now I think I can log in at night a bit more.....coz I'll be working late at night these few days....haiz.

I'll be sending L to cc soon. Decided to do without maid.
Hope it works out well.

<font color="ff6000">CSI Fan</font> 'alloooo! Yeah, long3 x
CC picked oledi? Izzit near home or wkplc? Hope L wl settle in smoothly

heehee....
kidz, we haven't paid yet though. haha...coz didn't have time to go down, but will be doing so next week. It's along the way (kinda) for hb when he goes to work. He has to make a bit of a detour lah....but I guess can say it's near home. Other cc nearer home....have no vacancies.....

<font color="0000ff">Mommies, I'm spreeing fr e following w fellow Apr '09 Mommies coz our bbs turning 1 soon! Let me noe if u r keen. I'm closing 1st batch order by Fri, 26 Feb. Bt wl do in batches if got enuf orders. No extra charge, juz watz on my CC xchng rate -- so far using UOB has been a nice 1.44 for past two mths.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Spree for Party/Toys/Craft Supplies from Orientaltrading.com</font>
There's 15% discount &amp; free ground shipping. I'l order in batches fr 26 Feb. juz 4ward ur orders 2 me in e format below. Xchng rate was $1.44 last round using UOB CC. Int'l shipping via vPost whc has 10% UOB CC discount if min. shipping costs SGD$40.

Nickname:
Item name:
Product code:
Product URL:
Qty:
Price:
Alternative item's URL, qty, price if OOS -- or advice if u wanna drop item
Grand total of your order:

Personalised items: These wl be shipped separately as abt 3-day work required. So I advise dat onli 2 order personalised items if there r min. 4 other pax sharing e shipping costs w u.

Collect fr my plc in Clementi or possibly mt up in Clementi Central when timing's convi 4 diz SAHM w 2 hands full

Hey kidz,
I'm going to ask a silly question...hehs...

Re cc, how do u pack B1's stuff? e.g. her milk bottle and milk powder container, her diapers. I started with these items in a ziplock bag each. but I think about it, the teachers will open and close a each time, so end up, the ziplock doesn't really work anymore. Then I started thinking, so is there a point in using the ziplock? hahaha. So asking around to see if there are other ways to do it. Hehs....

<font color="0000ff">CSI:</font> Nt silly Q -- took me a while 2 figure out best way 2 pack ok? U r rite abt Ziplock -- tchr wont 'zip' them. I hv e following:

H2Oproof multi-zipper pocket 'document' bag (3 compartments)
- one pkt holds comb, folded plastic bags (for B1's wet clothes)
- one pkt holds diapers
- one pkt holds small pack wipes
All labelled w child's name

Ziplock Bag
- Milk powder container
- Milk bottle (in B1's case, straw mug)
Diz method more 4 containing 'wet' stuffs coz she has milk around 4pm in CC &amp; tchrs usuali in rush 2 wash bottles &amp; stuff back in2 child's backpack

Actuali I got her a wetbag bt nvr let her use. Frankly, there's been times when I find her damp towel stuffed in2 bottom of her backpack or her milk mug has dropped out of e Ziplock bag, so I gotta air e whole bag ovrnite

<font color="0000ff">CSI:</font> Nt silly Q -- took me a while 2 figure out best way 2 pack ok? U r rite abt Ziplock -- tchr wont 'zip' them. I hv e following:

H2Oproof multi-zipper pocket 'document' bag (3 compartments)
- one pkt holds comb, folded plastic bags (for B1's wet clothes)
- one pkt holds diapers
- one pkt holds small pack wipes
All labelled w child's name

Ziplock Bag
- Milk powder container
- Milk bottle (in B1's case, straw mug)
Diz method more 4 containing 'wet' stuffs coz she has milk around 4pm in CC &amp; tchrs usuali in rush 2 wash bottles &amp; stuff back in2 child's backpack

Actuali I got her a wetbag bt nvr let her use. Frankly, there's been times when I find her damp towel stuffed in2 bottom of her backpack or her milk mug has dropped out of e Ziplock bag, so I gotta air e whole bag ovrnite

Hi mummies!!
Been sometime since I log in. Just got back from holiday and now needa crack my brain on which CC/preschl to send my girl to. Wanted to send her to Clementi Woods but vacancy full. Really dunno where to send her to in west coast. Not keen in Calvary n the one next to it. My top choice is actually Odeyssey at Alexandra/4th Ave, but would really prefer to send her to somewhere near.
Can mummies share where do you send your kids to?

Re pri sch
I heard fairfield is a good sch, but I stay too far from it already. Im 1km within Nan Hua, but I dun think that means Im 100% gonna grab a space there right?

Re Nanyang Kindergarden
Anyone can tell me if this is a good kindy?

Kidz,
oooh...got such thing as H2O proof mlti-zipper pocket document bag ah...didnt know. hehs. I was thinking of getting wet bags. Hee...1 for diapers, 1 for milk bottle and powder dispenser, 1 for clean clothes. Hahaha....

Gingerleaf,
Clementi Woods...my bro and sister went there when there were abt 4 yrs. That's how long it's been around.

Odeyssey, seems like a good sch coz my fren sends her DD there.

I'm sending mine to Pre-school By-the-park. It's not the nearest, but at least it's along the way (slight detour) for hb when he goes to work in Woodlands.

Nan Hua, when my bro was going to P1, we were also 1km (they were at Clementi Ave 1 back then). Had to ballot and he also didn't get in. Distance is the last phase, if I remember correctly. Siblings and alumni all come first?

Nanyan Kindy, heard that it's good, but usually full/no vaccancy. For the year my DD was born (2007), another mummy with DS in the same mth, called to register her DS with Nanyang Kindy.....when the DS was 10 days old. And she was already on wait list. And she's alumni (from that kindy). So, it's that difficult to get it. Seems like given the space and the popularity, most of the space is taken up by alumni (must show proof that u grad from Nanyang Kindy).

Hope that helps.

CSI,
yeah, know her from forum too. hehe.
I see her fb update on her dd, makes me so gian. I visited the sch n like it alot, just that its abit far and I needa ferry her to and fro. =p

hahaha....yeah gingerleaf, it's kinda far for me too. Although it's along the way to work for me, but coz I start work really early, no point for me to put my gal there. Then my gal will be in school at a very early hour...quite cham leh.

gingerleaf,
I stay at pine grove. Think everybody is busy handling the haze these days...the air is so smelly! aiyoh....

<font color="0000ff">Hi all!</font> Quite quiet 4 a while hor.

Btw, my B1 off diapers during day x liao. She kpt asking 4 ballet lessons so I told her no 1 wear diaper under ballet tights - wl scratch tights. She understood &amp; was veri cooperative in telling us when she nds 2 go. She oledi in N1 so tchr also bring kidz 4 potty breaks &amp; make them sit 2 try &amp; go. I also was potty training her til B2 arrived then 2 tired. Anyway, now I stl give her Nepia 2 wear 2 nite coz in AM she may b ovrslp. Otherwise abt 95% of x her diaper dry when she wakes up. Also, day x past wk is 100% accident free. Bought her lotsa cute panties instead &amp; she excitedly wearing them

thread seems to be super quiet these days... recently i enquired at Playdays for a spot for DS1 but they are full for all days (or waiting for other parents to confirm)! And they are not cheap man.

DS1 also seems to be diaper free at home, i think credit goes to my nephew who is 11 months older, so guess he learned by example.

right now waiting for DS2, who is due to arrive any day now

<font color="0077aa">Iso:</font> Exciting hor, waiting 4 DS2's arrival. Everything going well so far? Kp us posted when u hv another free moment!
All the best!

hiya!

yah, everyone is MIA haha. how r u doing?

DS2 is 2 months today!
wah it's a whole other ball game looking after 2. Also now DS1 seems to be getting more clingy to me, not sure if it's because of the changes or because i've been at home for the last 3 months.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Happy 2M b'day to Iso's DS2!!!</font></font>

Glad 2 hear fr u. Hey, ur DS1 naturally feeling a bit "lost out" 2 his bb bro. Like my B1 did when Bastion arrived. Bt e advice I got fr othr mommies wked: schedule 1-2-1 x w ur DS1 ea day. Gd 2 make it a regular timing so he kan look 4ward 2 it -- kan b a regular activity or something regular for a few days then c wat else he liked 2 do nxt time. In addition 2 diz regular 1-2-1 x grab any spontaneous oppts 2 do othr activities w him. Bt make sure u get sufficient rest 2!

Btw, saw u on Wai Shim's FB -- she's my old fren fr JC &amp; I mt w her like once a mth 2 trade motherhood stories, tips &amp; tricks. Helpful 4 me coz her two gals older than my two

<font color="aa00aa">Taking B1 out of CC:</font> Since last Oct/Nov her CC has had like 3-4 cycles of HFMD, 2 rounds of chkn pox, recently 1 headlice case &amp; last wk her classmate had H1N1... She's been sick quite a bit &amp; bringing bug back 2 Bastion then he passes them on to hb &amp; me. Realised for parents in CC, even when kid's a bit sick wl stil bring 2 CC so bug spreads easily. Also w e HFMD &amp; chkn pox cases, found out dat some kids actuali turn up w rashes liao bt parents/helper/grandparents dint noe -- I guess they juz scoop kid out of bed &amp; bring along (hv noticed some turn up in PJs...). Haiz... So past few mths I talked it ovr w hb &amp; chked w frenz, decided I wont go back 2 wk when B2 turns 18M thus kan switch B1 to kindergarten.

Bt onli last wk dan I started calling. 1st choice was Faith Kindergarten -- bt their line was engaged. Nxt I called Clementi Woods bt heart sank when I had 2 put my gal down as #18 on their waitlist. Called Faith agn, got thru bt lady told me no more vacancy either. I asked 2 waitlist &amp; she dug e list out then told me, "Oh, we actuali hv 1 more vacancy." Inside I was like "Hallelujah!" &amp; so qwikly chope &amp; nxt day brought her down 2 register. Toured e plc &amp; she luved it -- especially e big playground. So she'll b starting there nxt Jan, 11:45am-2:45pm slot.

<font color="0077aa">Searching for Playgroup</font> Now I'm trying 2 find Playgroup for Bastion. Saw poster abt Creative Twinkles @ 462 Clementi Hts (opp NTUC). 2hr prog starting @ 8:30am or 11:15am. They stl hv vacancy &amp; I plan 2 visit nxt wk 2 chk it out. 1st timing's like early for us &amp; 2nd timing wld b juz great coz I'd hv both kidz off my hands for @ least 2hrs. Bt itz Bastion's nap x. So kang khor... Anyway I'm stl scouting around -- any recommendations? Dunno if I shd chk out 1/2 CC in e end as an alternative. Some of Bastion's Apr 09 cohort goes 2 JG @ Evans Rd -- tink itz e Play Nest prog. Bt location out of e way so I dun like.

<font color="ff0000">Library Membership:</font> Signed up mbrship for both kidz two wks back. Dint nd their BC -- juz give their BC no. + produce my IC kan liao. Btw borrow 6 books (max. allowance) on e day u apply e mbrship &amp; show e loan receipt @ Customer Svc Counter 2 redeem a free PVC tote bag -- nice design + sturdy enuf 2 tote e heavy books around. Last wk brought both there agn &amp; Bastion kpt picking out a particular book "Rabbit's Day Off" even when I put it back twice so I finally borrowed it 4 him. Come home he kp picking it up agn bt I hvnt read it 2 him. Reading othr books we borrowed on our 1st visit as B1 luvs those for her bedtime reading &amp; Bastion wl also lie nxt 2 us &amp; listen + look. While @ library, he also wld bring e book 2 e table &amp; climb on e chair dan open e bk 2 read. B4 dat I had him in stroller &amp; when I passed him a book, he wld open, stare, then pt @ different pics in e bk &amp; go "ah-ah-ah, ee-ee-ee" b4 flipping 2 anothr pg. Veri funni so I took video - tinking of submitting 2 Okto for Okto Bites segment. Bt muz cut out one bit where aft he "read" a while, he stuck finger in his nostril

Being e 2nd child, he's reali learning a lot fr observing B1. Reading is one. I've been going thru a Ladybird Pre-Reader w B1 &amp; coaching her simple spelling e.g. shoes, sweater. Bastion wld also get hold of e book &amp; open it up &amp; try 2 mimic B1. Other thing he's copying a lot of is taking toys/containers &amp; sitting on them a la "Potty" I'm praying diz is a gd sign i.e. he kan b potty-trained sooner dan later

<font color="0000ff">ireadnwrite.com.sg:</font> I juz started B1 @ ireadnwrite.com.sg aft she attended FOC 1hr trial. Was veri impressed she cld read 5 words @ end of e trial. Plus itz a veri fun 1-2-1 format: coach child for 5mins, send child to play, then call child back agn 2 coach... There're like 2-3 grps of children @ e class so when B1 goes 2 play, she's got company + nt 2 mention loads of "new" toys! She luved it aft dat trial session so we signed up her 2 attend twice wkly for 1st term. If any1 interested note dat I got e 1hr free trial thru coupon fr Eduguide 2009/2010. Picked up a copy fr 7-11 for around $5 &amp; itz got lotsa info + coupons 2 utilise. Btw, there's a $40 referral fee prog for ireadnwrite. So if any1 do sign up, kan quote moi &amp; we split e fee?

kidz
i thot must borrow 16 items to get the tote from library, so i didn't bother.. i'm q impressed by the way the kiosk can create the library card just like that hor?? i made a card for #2 already too, haha.

how old is your B2 now?

i actually have a lot of time with #1 but at times when i have to carry #2, he will protest and want to be carried too. otherwise he is very very sweet towards #2. just very whiney and clingy these days. and can repeat himself a million times, it's driving me crazy! it can be like "mummy i want XXX. i want now. i want XXX. i want now." etc.

If i say ok, wait, i'll get it for you, he'll still keep repeating like he didn't hear me. yesterday we went to cold storage and i got some yoghurt for him, he said he wanted it now, but got no spoon, so i said later when we get home, but he still kept repeating himself. headache!

faith kindy is not that close to you right? nearby no other kindergartens?? we will probably be moving at the end of the year, so i already enrolled #1 into a PCF in our estate for N1. the timing is lousy though, 3-5pm (or 1-3pm).

WS - yes! we are excolleagues, and i love to consult her on kids issues too, since we're quite on the same wavelength.

<font color="119911">Iso:</font> Tink our B1's got same syndrome: muz kp repeating, nt satisfied w our ans! Faith Kindy ok lah, 2.5 MRT stations away? Wl likely put B1 on sch bus. Yah, I also asked e Librarian, "U can c all my info???" Bastion wl b 16M old on Nat'l Day, time flies hor?

<font color="0000ff">Hi Cutie!</font> Welcome 2 diz thread. R u wkg? I'm SAHM, staying Ave 1 side. My gal's almost 3.5Y, my boy abt 16M.

Hi mummies, can I join here as well? I stay at Clementi. FTWM to 3 lovely kids of 1 Yr, 3 yr and 5 yrs old.

ANyone who has a 5 YO also? Are u considering the primary school for your child next year? I stay within 1KM from NHPS. But just now, out of curiosity, I called the school and found out that there are already 82 applicants within 1KM vyingfor the cpveted 35 places for next year Pri 1. I wonder what kind of "fight" parents would have to go through...and what are the parents' thinking like? If child do not get into NHPS, where do they go to? Clementi so short of pri schools.

ya. I agree that clementi is so short of pri schools. I wonder why? is it bcos we are consisted mature estate so lesser young generation.

I agree. Clementi West has got no pri school. All secondary schools. I wonder if we can all get into Nan Hua based on this reason?

Bellgal, I seriously doubt that NH will buy that reason. :p

So just for polling, which school will you send your kids to next time?

I will start...
#1: Fairfield Primary
#2: Clementi Pri

You are right.

I will send to Fairfield Primary.

How is Clementi Primary? Is it good? Seems like any other school will go into Phase 2C already...

Bellgal, I seriously doubt that NH will buy that reason. :p

So just for polling, which school will you send your kids to next time?

I will start...
#1: Fairfield Primary
#2: Clementi Pri

<font color="ff0000">Zoo-phonics starting 1st CCC @ Dover Rd:</font> Hey mommies, they're calling it Safari House -- same as othr branches in e original UK(?) set up. Located inside e Dover Rd dat leads in2 United World College -- bt nt all e way in 2 UWC there. Can chk Zoo-phonics website 4 info. CC ready in Oct/Nov for viewing &amp; 1st intake in Jan '11. Fee is around $950 (b4 subsidy) for 7am-5:15pm. Otherwise itz abt $100 more for their extended service i.e. 7am-7pm.

Btw, I kinda give up on finding playsch 4 B2 coz of B1's 11:45am class @ Faith nxt yr. So seriously looking @ CC for now 4 B2.

Any1 heard anything abt Kinderland @ Singapore Poly? Pls share. I intend 2 visit e plc nxt wk. Tx!

<font color="119911">Dingdong &amp; Bellgal:</font> U all stressing me out liao &amp; my B1's a 2007 bb!!! Bt juz 2 join in e poll of PS...

1st choice: MGS (diz 1 gotta reali dream. Benefit of coz is e affiliated SS)
2nd choice: FMPS (diz 1 e affiliated SS nt dat gd rite, Bellgal? Datz why #2 choice)
3rd choice: NHPS

Anyway, all e abv I gotta dream x 1000 &amp; maby pray hard get accepted as vltr? Actuali watz e vltr strategy I also dun noe. Muz go do my research. Bt rite now B2's situation weighing heavier on my mind lor... Buay tahan, reali so stressful 2 parent in Sgp.

Kidzkidz. Chill out man...2007. My boy is 2006, so will need to worry 1 year before you.

You mean FMSS not dat good? In what way? I'm not sure, but I think yes, internally I agree not so good back then.

Actually, I wanted NHPS, but I think it's quite impossible to go in, judging from the stats this year. Seems like FMPS, NHPS demand > supply by at least 6 times!

I haven't seen others coz I'm counting my bets on these 2 only...

In the end, decided to give up NHPS, coz it's really like impossible!

Hi Mummies!!

Kidzkidz, Your B1 is in 2007? Mine is oct 2007. ireadnwrite.com.sg seems interesting! Where is it?

My gal is at mmi west coast. Lately there's been a case of hfmd there, so she is currently not attending sch. Am looking ard for a new kindy/cc for her. No idea where to start looking oso. Wanted to do chiltern, but its at turf city. Kinda out of the way coz I stay near hongleong.

NHPS,
am staying within 1km of nhps too. This sounds really scary that even within 1km, we are not garanteed a place. There is another pri sch here. Qifa pri which is actually nearer to me, seen alot of international kids from there, but if to compare to nhps, I'd prefer to choose the latter.
My gal is not even 3 yet and Im fretting on pri sch! Such stress we parents faced in singapore for our kid's education.

re: clementi wood kindy.
I placed my name on their list for N1, think i was top 5 in queue, but they also never call me. That was 6mths ago. Is this kindy that popular?

Pat's sch hse was on my list, but went to check out the sch and didnt quite like the fact that the place smells quite strong of food as they actually catered to all their outlet's meal in the west.(or all in sg? I forgot)

<font color="119911">Gingerleaf:</font> B1's a Feb 07 bb. Faith Kindergarten is in Faith Methodist Church, juz next to C'wealth MRT Station. I Read N Write is onli available @ Pandan Valley (condo). B1 reali lurves going there &amp; I muz say I'm stl impressed w how she's picking up new words @ each lesson. She onli started mid-July &amp; I rarely go thru e sentences she's learnt (she brings her exercise bk bak) &amp; she's stl able 2 recall. I suppose @ diz age they absorb veri fast so itz a window of opportunity nt 2 b missed. Rite now I'm exploring Chinese enrichment lessons -- NTU's Confucious Institute @ NTU Alumni Club in One-North has an interesting one. It includes 30mins of mental mathematics. I intend 2 arrange 4 a trial class bt e one for 3YO onli available on Sat whc is cutting it a bit close 2 her ballet lesson.

<font color="ff0000">U kan chk out Zoo-phonics 1st CC @ Dover Rd:</font> http://www.zoo-phonics.com.sg/ Itz @ Dvr Rd. Dunno if convi 4 u bt new ctr wld usuali hv better standards. Can register now bt ctr onli ready for viewing in Oct/Nov &amp; operational in Jan '11. No nd 2 pay til u view e plc &amp; make a decision. I'm contemplating putting B2 there coz itz nearer my hb's wkplc. Bt B1's sch starts onli @ 11:45am nxt yr so a bit tricky 2 hvta bring her along 2 send B2 in dan like gotta come home w her... Bt I do wan B2 2 hv some structured learning &amp; it wld help if I dun hvta bring him along when B1 goes 4 her PM enrichment lessons. &amp; yes, I'm looking @ more in e pipeline 4 her e.g. Speech &amp; Drama, Arts + she oledi doing 1 reading lesson on a wkday PM.

<font color="0000ff">Clementi Woods:</font> Wah, no one gives up a plc? Our fren worships in dat chr &amp; when she found out B1 was 17 on e waitlist, she said juz hang on lah -- mayb they'll start a new class. I said it dint sound like dat when I asked if I kan waitlist, e lady on e phone kinda like went "U sure u wanna waitlist?"
So hallelujah Faith stl had 1 vacancy!

<font color="aa00aa">Pat's Sch House catering:</font> Why so strange dat one ctr cooks 4 e others? Like dat machiam nt fresh rite? Tho it prob helps othr ctrs saves on operational costs e.g. gas, electricity, cook... Bt stl veri strange leh. I suppose better diz way dan they go cater fr SFI &amp; kena poor qlty food