Mummies in Pasir Ris

Hey ladies, thanks for the tips on the mix! Yami, I did try google, online recipe seems a bit complicated, got many ingredients.. me looking for simple simple kind! keke.. first attempt, cannot be too ambitious.. dunno where's mbb, me also waiting for her advise! keke

Ya bao, I noticed that too! Wonder Char and Subababe has the same sex baby or not? Mbb/juxta & nana/nuah so far is gal team!

Congrats on all the preggie moms! So miss it!

Welcome the new mummies, this thread is moving!

Yk, u can try Betty crocker instant bluebery muffin mix for the 1st time. It taste nice and will give you encouragement to do more heheh. Idiot proof and fuss free. If you do not have muffin trays, can jus get those hard muffin cups that can stand on it's own while baking.

juxta...tats the one i wanna ask yk to get from giant...very very nice..with real blueberry fruits..hahahahhaa.....

thanks gal!

wow great my fellow preggie PR mummy!! Yep Char I am due in early Nov, expecting another boy haha.

thanks yami! guess i will check CD out, my mum stays really near there so its actually the best choice, juz that i am not crazy that is kinda small coz its below the HDB. I prefer those with their own big compound like bunglow kind of CC.

nuah,
MS is getting much lesser liao but still do feel tired especially after meals, i'll feel a bit queasy. very weird!

ya hor, seems like 2 mummies here get preggie same time. wat a coincidence.
next week is my gynae appt, hopefully will be able to know the gender of the baby. i'm quite anxious to know.

hmm..then maybe later i see if im lazy to step out of my hse bo...i can go whitesands to get then bake it for the boys...

am baking cookies for ian's bday celebration in sch...hehhehe...

yaya.. dsii, bake extra for us too! keke.. got cookie recipe to share too?

ok, juxta and dsii, will go check it out this weekend, u gals make it sound soooo nice! keke.. dunno sheng song or shop n save hv or not

yk
alamak..u think i expert in baking ah? i oso google de...and oso cookie mix from betty cooper.toooo..hahahha

Dsii, la teh at loyang point? Impromptu with yk as need to
collect something from her. Any other mummies interested?

seems like this betty crocker is very popular! keke.. i just bought a small pack of the muffin mix!

bao, thanks for the advise!

I did try making a cake fr scratch, successful but the kids find it so so nia! haha.. think cos it is too plain!

betty crocker is a bit too sweet. i've tried baking the devil's food super moist but the cake took a long time to cook on the inside and by the time it's cooked the cake split. in fact i just learned from a neighbour that the brand "green's" is good. it's not too sweet and it tastes nice. so far i've tried their traditional english tea cake and traditional golden butter cake. nice! can get from ntuc.

they are delicious. i've been very fortunate to have a very kind neighbour who doesn't mind to cook lunch for me during the weekdays for the past 2weeks (her helper cook but i pay lah) and get to eat the cakes she bakes. :p best part is L has fun playing with her boy until everyday almost dun wanna go home. she even naps there now. got a set of clothes there too....jia lat...

Wah, that's nice! U also get to have some rest with L next door , win-win situation! So looking fwd to the weekend, need my beauty sleep, hehehehe.

Wow, Char, ur neighbour so nice, i barely kn my neighbours! haha..

I tried the blueberry muffins, it was great! keke.. will go shop for more this weekend!

bao,

I also need my beauty sleep as hv not been zzing for the past few nites liao...also wkends, need to bring C1 to PP for her princess taking photo ;)

thanks bao for posting the other thread here too, i remember i read that thread too la but i lost them (change comp so my favorites all gone) will go check out all your sprees and stuff!!

Wenlim: just checked out the site. My gal is too young, min four years old for the ice bumper ride.

A lot of mummies baker here
we gave our oven away cos it always cause short circuit in my house ... Dunno y. Anyway my kitchen is v small. Any recipes that I can bake using small toaster ?

yami..actually can bake cookies using small toaster...but of cos u hv to wach out for the temp...my fren baked a cake using small toaster... she bot the 'greens' brand cake premix...

hi there,

I'm new to this site. I'm looking at having my kid to attend Star Learners at Pasir Ris Heights next year... Not sure if it's recommended.. Anyone has any experience there?

Dsii, bake a cake using toaster oven wow. I think I just try cookies first, will check out the green brand u mentioned.

Wholesome : welcome ! I m also searching for CC / kindergarden for my child. But I didn't visit star learners. Hope other mummies here can help u

<font color="#F52887">Ice Bumper Car at E!Hub</font>
Located at the former skating rink next to Xplorer Kids.
So-so only lah, 5-mins bumping around session, weekend queue was about 30 mins wait.
Week days queue shorter and faster, waited less than 5 mins.
Went there on 2 occasions, since my son (6YO) likes it.
Will bring him to Escape Theme Park this Sunday if I’m in the mood and the weather is clear :p

Hi <font color="#F52887">yami</font>
How old is your girl? I saw a mother put her girl (around 1to 2 YO) on her lap to play on the Ice Bumper Car though.

Hello <font color="#F52887">wholesome</font>
Welcome to the thread !!

I have just shifted to Pasir Ris 6 months ago, prior to moving here, I did bring my son last year to do a site inspection at Star Learners @ Pasir Ris.
My son is actually from Star Learners @ Simei since Playgroup till now in K2.
Initially we wanted to transfer him to Star Learners @ Pasir Ris but like my husband and I, he didn't like it either.
Here are our comments:
It's also a landed property converted to a child care centre, interior is like a maze but less organized compared to the one at Simei which is clean, neat and bright.
I observed the transparent plastic covers which is protecting the wall charts etc, some of the sides are coming off in some classes, both upstairs and downstairs.
Call me idiosyncrasy........but to me, day in and day out from Mon-Fri, nobody saw this? No one seems to bother sticking it back properly?
When i look for a child care, my utmost concern is the degree of cleanliness and hygiene the school and teachers practiced.
I met some of the teachers but they didn't appear friendly or approachable, too busy with their own kids I guess.
We all agreed the feel is different, probably we had a comparison.
Sorry we didn't had a positive feeling for Star Learners @ Pasir Ris, but then again, it varies individually.

Maybe you could bring your kid to visit and check out some of the child care?

Some of the mummies here I read send their kids to Carpe Diem or Smart Juniors and Nissi.

I will also be looking out (kiasu) for a child care for my girl to attend when she's about 20+ months old..........now she's 9 months old.

Wenlim: my girl is two plus

thks for the info on the ice bumper!

It's dumplings festival soon , happy feasting mummies !! I just bought some nonya dumplings - can't wait to try !

Wow, hv not been to Downtown East for a long long time liao..

I bought the betty crocker devil's food super moist cake mix but yet to try it! My kids keep asking me when will I make it! haha.. They had been having muffins recently (blueberry &amp; Choc chips, all fr betty crocker), think i better stop making muffin for a while, in case they get sick of it.

Green's cake mix seem to be a bit more ex than betty crocker's..

Yday I had my first attempt at egg tarts! keke.. my kids love it! So happy!

yk,
yuuummmms! the egg tarts hard to make mah? use pastry casings ah?

dumplings? guess the nearest shop is at White Sands? else gotta go to Katong area...

oh yes, new spree on books going on at our Lobang thread, pls feel free to join if you wanna order books

Egg tarts very easy to make, dun need mixer or roller! I bought the metal molds fr Loyang point. Personally find it not as smooth or nice as those fr bakery shops, but the kids love it. Maybe next time will try to add some ingredients into the egg fillings! Got the receipe fr youtube!

White Sand, i tried the mini monya, ok nia, sometimes standard fluctates.

YK,
i've been watching my neighbour bake using green's cake mix and i must say that it is not as sweet as betty crocker and they always turn out nice. i once baked the devil's moist cake and it took a long time for the inside to cook and at the end the whole cake split. u won't get that kind of results using green's. haha, i like promoter for green's.

Keke.. thanks char, I checked green's out at ntuc last weekend (too bad sheng song dun hv), looks not bad, maybe after i finish the betty crocker ones, will go get green's to try!