Mummies in Australia?

by the way i was telling Hidora that i'm using those china runaway straw bags as my check-in luggage!!! 'cos their big and weightless!!!! I bought 6 yesterday. dun think enuff!

got different sizes...the one i bought was $5.50 each from marine parade central...i think if my stuff too heavy i may double up. still works out cheaper than a heavy bulky samsonite!

Pls dun buy the fancy cartoon ones. 'cos the handles are not sewn all the way around the bag. Sure gone-case one. Better go for the old boring pink, blue and white strips kind. and check the zippers!

oh Hidora even taught me to punch hole near the zipper to create makeshift lock!

So mummies who r moving to Oz can take note

ozmummie,
ya.. wat u say quite valid.
now i only park 2k aud with hsbc au.
they charging me 10% of int income for tax. cos i dun hv ato no.
if i hv, then is 0% on int income.

diapers...gues i will ship there!!!
now my boy is day diaper free.

hi Ozziemummie
they do have good offers here every now and then
We will buy in bulk whenever there's a good sale and that will see us through a long time before the diapers run out and the next sale comes in

We also realise that Big W prices are already cheaper than the supermarkets even when there is no sale! So, when they have one of their sales, we take advantage of it

We like Huggies here too -- which is already quite expensive in Singapore. But comparing to the brand we use now, Huggies has a smaller cut, and sometimes does not hold the urine well. We use Babylove and it has been great so far.

Where will you be putting up when you are here? There's a Big W at Cockburn (it's brand new) which we go to. Other stores are at Riverton (near Willeton) and Karrinyup (in the north). Check out their website at www.bigw.com.au

Hen
we r just like u!
we dunno where to move to!
sigh! ... still thinking between perth / mel.
if perth, then good for me, cos most mommies here are there, will be there.
if mel, prob more jobs. cheaper property i think

Think groceries are surprisinly pricey there...I usually try to shop @ the weekend markets ( such as the one @ subiaco) as the fruits and veges there do seem somewhat cheaper.

I think all the little things do add up. Moving house is already rather stressful..what more moving country?

Ozziemummie: Spoke to my hb about the car..we will consider as our car's model is not available there so repairs may be pricey. Plus, we are worried about resale value as well

It sure bring back memories to the good old times when I used to go thru the brochures frm Coles/Woolsworth/Target/K-mart/Big W/IGA etc for sale items. Back then, my friends used to tease me that I am soooooo "auntie".

In Per, my friend's family biz Chinese grocery shop in Fremantle sell reasonably priced Asian foodstuff. I don't have the exact addr but its near the Coles supermarket. Those looking for Asian foodstuff, esp spices, can go there to check it out.

Car servicing in AU is expensive though buying a car may be cheap!! Both car parts & labour are expensive. I once had an accident n the bonnet & headlights were slightly damaged. It cost me A$2K+ to have it repaired.

Oh, I used to get pple who come to visit to bring things for me, so over time, I managed to have accumulated quite a bit of things over there (only realised it when I was abt to return back to SG n how much things I need to sell/give away).

mngo,
not sure if u know this, the tax withheld from your bank interest can be claimed back when u lodge a tax return by 31Oct. else better to provide the bank with your TFN, then there will be no tax withheld from the monthly interest ... u will only be taxed if your annual income is more than 7k

tweetie,
i just got the PR for my boy also. andrea has a very comprehensive list in the archive, i also used that as a reference when applying PR for my boy

wah this thread is so HOt tis week.....

hopeac
i apply b4 sept 07...

ozziemum
no reply yet leh...saw ur thread regarding exporting of ur car...tempted to do so for my car...cos mine finish paying so will du the calculation if it's worth it......tell us if u suceed in the exporting...

anybody kno if we buy a house in oz , will spore gov tax us if we r not loaning the bank from here? i read someone building their house there..does the sg gov tax u?

anyone with msn id here?
if u have , do pm me.
prob we can all meet up before we all move to oz

hi ryatie
S'pore govt will not tax..i don't think they even know

but pls be aware, the stamp duty and associate costs are really high with buying/building a house in Aus. Never expected the total bill to shoot up so much with the associated costs

any idea is there any restriction on the no. of can of FM that u can bring in to oz when we go over?

Hi Jojos...
If it's the usual allowable limit, then it's one can.... but perhaps more is allowed... but have to ask permission...

In the end, I didn't bother bringing in... just switched my boys' formula here...

Re: Bringing FM.

I got this email from Ozziemummie. Advised to print it out in case custom tekan you. :p

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you for your enquiry about bringing Babys milk formula to Australia.
Milk based foods (including infant formula & cereal) for infants may be imported from any country provided the products are commercially prepared and packaged and are for the consumption of the accompanied infant. A single opened can or tin of milk-based foods for infants is allowed when accompanying an infant, however all other cans/tins must be unopened. No more than 10 kilograms or 10 litres of infant formula can be brought into Australia.
If the infant formula does not meet the above import conditions the item must be re-exported from Australia or destroyed. Re-export of the item must be paid for by the importer.

Once passengers arrive in Australia, they are required to complete an Incoming Passenger Card (IPC). On the IPC, they must declare all items of food, animal or plant origin as well as any other articles that are covered on the card (e.g. medicines, wooden articles) - these items are only examples illustrating the types of items that must be declared under each category. All items of food, animal or plant origin must be declared on the IPC for the purpose of inspection by an Australian Quarantine Inspector.

After passengers have collected their luggage, they will be directed to a Quarantine Officer who will inspect any declared items and inspect and/or x-ray any remaining luggage before they depart the international arrivals area.

For further information on what goods can or cannot be brought into Australia, you may visit our website at www.affa.gov.au/airports or our Import Conditions database (ICON) at www.aqis.gov.au/icon. This database lists the Quarantine conditions under which various commodities may be brought into Australia. Using the ICON search facility, enter the item into the Commodity field, insert the country of manufacture or origin in the From country field and leave All End Uses in the For end-use field. Then, click "search" and the database will return the results. If an AQIS Import Permit is required, or if any other specific conditions apply, ICON will specify this.

The information available on ICON is the same information that AQIS's clearing officers use when inspecting and clearing goods arriving into the country. I recommend that you refer to this database regularly to keep up to date with any import condition changes by AQIS.

I hope this is of assistance to you. If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sui Ying Soong

Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service
Airports Program
Fax: +61 (2) 6272 3468
Email: [email protected]
Web: www.affa.gov.au/airports

The information here covers AQIS quarantine requirements only and is current on the date of transmission but may change without notice. Passengers must satisfy quarantine concerns and comply with quarantine import conditions applicable at the time of entry. The Commonwealth, through AQIS, is not liable for any costs arising from or associated with decisions to bring items to Australia based on conditions detailed above that are not current at time of importation.

It is the passengers responsibility to be aware of and to ensure compliance with the requirements of all other regulatory and advisory bodies prior to and after bringing items to Australia, for example, the Australian Customs Service, the Department of Environment and Water Resources (eg. CITES restrictions), the Therapeutic Goods Administration, the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority, the Office of the Gene Technology Regulator, or Food Standards Australia New Zealand and State Departments of Agriculture.

wah Hidora u very efficient

But mummies dun spread this material too far hor? keep within this thread can. Otherwise next time Oz govt place restrictions on FM leh

Sunnygirl, car very sticky issue 'cos involves quite a huge amount of $. u do have a point abt the servicing and repairs. Aiyah Oz is like that one lah...labour cost very ex!

Yatie, like i told Sunnygirl, u have to read and research on the websites for info before u really decide to export your car.

mngo,

Yes i'm still in Sgp. Flying off 3rd Dec.
Eh u hurry go over there and apply for TFN. my hubby just reminded me u have to be PHYSICALLY in Oz before u can apply. 10% tax rate quite high leh.

ozziemummie
i tried to apply TFN when i was there in March.
Half way thru the forms, we retracted, cos we din have an address there.

Wow, this thread is suddenly moving so fast and thanks so much for the information I require.

I do hv a ANZ account but hasn't been able to pump in $$ to put in term deposit and the exchange rate is too high now, so nw gotta wait n c if the timing lor!

Yeah, AUD10k might be too little but sigh, not much savings at hand and we spent a lot of $$ on treatment to hv this little precious one due to infertility. If not, we will be much richer. Sigh!!! Wat to do.... can't hv the best of both.

Oh, I nearly forgot abt TFN thingy lei... U mean we will get taxed as well when we put term deposits over there??

Ozziemommie, sure... must PM me the contact once u hv yr shipment settled.

ozziemummie :

think my HB will have to learn how to repair car alraeady lor...ahhaha...will see how it goes...so many things to think about. At least u have a date of departure confirmed. I still dunno lor...

Mngo: I think lots of things will need address when we apply....so we will have to wait till we go over then can do

Tweetie : dun worry.....will get by, just have to try to save a bit when u r there. Maybe u can consider another state coz sydney is rather expensive.Another option is to quickly get job. U can ask ur HB to start looking from here...

sunnygirl
yea lor. tats the thing. the ONE and ONLY thing i got is the Medicare card! tats abt it!

Ozziemum
talk to hb regarding the export, he more afraid tat there's no spare part there..heard tat in aus not much japan cars lah...so most probably will skip the idea...
just advice, it's that u tape the zipper section all around the china strw bag...cos it tends to break easily when they toss it in the plane...

have anyone open an account at C'wealth Bank in singapore. if yes, can we just tf money to c'wealth bank australia w/o having any surcharges once we r there...

been awhile since i'm here... so much info suddenly.

i also open an ANZ term account.. regretted not pumping in more. now the exchange is so bad for us.

those mummies going to perth, you might want to shop fresh vege from Canning Vale weekend markets. gotta buy in bulk but it's so much cheaper. good for those cooking every day.

I will be in perth the first week of December.

mspiggy,
My friends will bring us to Canning Vale weekend markets. They have promised us cheap fruits etc.

hi ryatie,
If you check the rental companies, most of the rental cars are toyota, nissan and mitisbhi. The top used car sales are also the above 3 brands. So I think they will have the parts.

hi hopeac,
yes... good place for marketing.

you will be going for good this time? where will you be staying?

hidora/ozziemummie and all mummies,
thks for the info on FM, very useful indeed .. now at least i know i can bring more than 1 can coz worried that i cant find a good substitute FM for my boy in oz ..

Andrea,
what FM is ur boy taking now in oz?

Tweetie,
u won't get tax if your income is <7K pa. But part of the monthly interest earned fr the bank will be withheld by ATO if u don't provide the bank with your TFN.

ryatie,
regarding opening oz bank acc in sg, think will have to deposit a lump sum of amount in AUD. Ever checked with Westpac before, cant remember how much. Need to chk with the indiv bank for the initial deposit required ..

Ozziemummie,

Haha, just happen to see the thread so I posted the email lor. :p

Anyway, like what ryatie22 said, you gotta tape the zip of the china bag. First time when I used that, I didnt tape anything as I didnt know. But luckily my bag arrived safely. Then when we were coming in June, my guy frens squeezed the air out of the bag and taped around a few times.

ryatie22,

Which part of Aus are you moving to? There's a lot of Jap cars in Perth. Most of the cars I see on the road are either Jap or Korean cars. I also see workshop that specially sells Jap car parts.

hopeac,

Perhaps we can meet up! Since ozziemummie will also be in Perth by then. :D

jojos,

Dun worry abt formula milk. The selection is pretty good here. I'm giving my son Bellamy's organic FM. It's about $19 here. And this brand is selling for about $40 plus in Cold Storage! They also have Pura fresh milk specially formulated for kid.

Fremantle market things more expensive, Canning Vale weekend market is cheaper but got to buy in bigger quantity. I used to buy in bulk there n split the goods wz friends/neighbours.

I used to bring in 2-3 packets of milk powder whenever I go over for a mth or so, n have no trouble going thru customs. Just declare honestly and they r ok one.

My msn id is [email protected] while my yahoo id is hentang2k. Most happy to chat online, though once baby pops out, I doubt I'll have much time to log on.

Hi sunnygirl,

Ya lor... no choice... juz hv to save bit by bit. My HB oredi lookg for a job, now waiting for the 5th round of interview.

We chose Sydney coz he is doing IT and job opportunities will be better there rather than in Melbourne or Perth.

Hen,
Included u in my MSN liao

yatie,

thanks for china strawbag tip! Hidora too!!!

u can check out www.ozforex.com.au
my hubby used this service to transfer $ over. Apparently it has NO service charge but minimum amount must be 10K. i dunno 10K is aud or sgd though. So u'll only lose out on the exchange rate. Plus their rates r good. But hubby also warn need to do quite a bit of paper work to get security clearance before u can use this service. So maybe u would like to check this website out.
Hubby transfers his $ to his ozforex account. Then ozforex will convert his sgd to aud, and then transfer into our Oz bank account.
Be very cautious. There are many websites out there...and some are con-jobs.

sunnygirl, yatie,

dun worry alot of jap cars there....the one i drove last summer was a Toyota. Feels like Sgp's Nissan Cefiro/toyota Camry.

Think our Nissan Sunny is similar to Oz's Nissan Tiida. u can check out nissan.com.au

Tweetie: wow, 5 rounds of interview, must be rather stressful. I hope he gets the job!

Ozzie: yah...i think we may end up buying a car rather than shipping our car. Worried we cannot get parts for our car there as this model is not available there.

Hen : added you to msn.

so far, only ozzie mummie confirm date of departure, what about the other mummies? When are you leaving? We should have a meetup ..hehe..so at least we can put faces to the names.

hi sunnygirl,
i dont have a confirm date yet... everything still not firm

yourself? you have a date already?

mspiggy,

I'm staying in Cannington area. Settling pretty well here. :D Still have not gone to the Canning Vale mkt yet, maybe shld go this Sat.

COMMONWEALTH BANK.
I called them up.
We can open account with them with initial deposit of 200k AUD.
TT to CBA AU is 30AUD flat.
TT to other banks is 0.125% of amt. (whichever is higher *i think* )

we didn't wanna procrastinate further abt our plans to move to Oz...we didn't want to push our luck too far when we finally have to apply for RRV or citizenship in the near future. We knew that the move to Oz has to happen. So decided to just buy the air tix....then definitely must make plans to move

If u dun have tix, very difficult to get your asses moving!! I took my girlfren's advice

mgo,

commonwealth bank needs 200K aud to open account?!?!!? wah so much meh? where to find the cash?

we're with BankWest..it's a small bank, low overhead costs so the service charges are low...of cos not as flexi as commonwealth but it suits us fine. But hubby say small banks can be very vulnerable to subprime problem...but he'll watch the market and bail out before the bank collapses!!

thanks all for te replies....wah 200k so much where 2 get sey.....must werk like mad...

currently my hubby n i have not decide cos it depends on where he get ajob...for me prefer perth cos' got some frens like u all n relatives there..at least not boring when i'm not werking....my hubby prefer brisbane cos he studied there...but i think melbourne got more job oppurnities.....

if i got my PR, i'll move in 3 yrs time.....so got more money 2 save...moreover my hubby just change job here...so if can... see whether his company can tf him to mebourne instead cos there's a branch there.....

hi hidora, ozziemom,
We can meet up when we are in perth, however, I will be leaving on the 5th night.

Tweety,
I am also in the IT line. Though the jobs are more in Sydney, and salary is higher. The cost of living in sydney is much higher, schools, housing etc. At present, we are looking at melbourne, becos base on the cost and income ratio. We feel is the best. Though our preference is melbourne and perth. As we have friends in both places. We wouldn't mind sydney or even brisbane.

Are you using an job agent? If you are, can intro?

misspiggy,
Not going for good. we are staying in an apartment in subiacco. For good, we want to get a job before moving over.

hidora,
WOW... so near!!!! i'm currently looking at houses in Queens Park too! you renting now or you have bought this house?

hopeac,
same here. trying to secure a job first, currently we are trying to find a house too.