Mummies in Australia?

Hi Aussie mummies

Need some advice from you...

I will be going to Sydney sometime next year for about 18 months or so, and am taking my kids (10 years and 2 years) along. I need to know, how I should go about getting a school for them while they're there.

I heard the wait for child care is very long. I'll need to get one for my #2. What is the procedure like?

Finally, what are the fees like? School hours? Anything else I need to know about school for my kids?

Thank you all so much!

cowandchick,

my bub only 7 months now so haven't thought that far and definitely not sure abt the edu system...any mommies out there can advise?

u going 'cos hubby working? if so the company should be paying for school?

yeah i've heard that u need to register ahead of time to get into good schools if u dun want your kid to go to the public schools. not trying to scare u but some even register and book a place for their kids about 3 yrs ahead! I have a fren's fren who did that...their citizens but still in SGP. they flew down few months ago just to get the school admin stuff done.

maybe u want to gather more details abt your trip there first...know your location and then plan from there...surf the web for schools nearby.

mommies pls help!!!

ozziemummie,

I'm abt 24wks pregnant now, initially was planning to go over to AU to deliver this Dec, but as we are not familiar with the medical systems over there, decided to deliver here n move over sometime later next year. After reading your experience, sounds like delivering there is quite ok, maybe I shd consider. But my girlfriend in Sydney told me that if I just pop in at 32wks, they may not want to take me in n deliver for me cos they not sure abt my medical background.

Hey, it'll be good if other mummies have info to share abt the schools in AU. I'm also finding more abt the schools in Perth or Melbourne as I'll need to register my older girl (she'll be 6 yrs old next year) when we move over. Pls share if you got any good schools to recommend. Thanks!

hi hen,
Is your daughter born before 30 April? If she is born before 30th April. She starts 1st grade next year.

Hi Hen,

too much to type, i'll appreciate if u can call me 96887881. I really think u should go to Oz to pop the baby!!!! u can make it! call me anytime!

Hi Hen,

i've yet to hear from u but i sure encourage u to go to Oz to have your baby if u'r already a PR. I assume u're having a smooth and straightforward pregnancy. all u need to do is get your antenatal summary from your Gynae, plus a medical clearance memo to fly.

Get accomodation (bunk with your frenz), book your tix, fly over there...go see a GP in Oz to obtain a referral to the hospital. then the hospital will take it from there...have u gotten your medicare done? It's not too late to do it when u get there...all u need is the medicare number which they'll give u on the spot while u wait for them to mail u the card. u dun have to pay a single cent as long as u opt to be a public patient.

let's say u fly over at 28 weeks...u still have a comfortable window to straighten things out

I'm not sure about Sydney. But it should be the same throughout Oz.

if u give birth there, your child is automatically a citizen as long as either parent is a PR. then u won't have to spend $$$$ to apply for only a PR visa for your baby. it's really worth the mission!!!! but u really need to be a strong mama to do this

after that u'll need to apply for a passport to fly back to Sgp. he/she will be holding an Aussie passport!!! yoohoo!!!!!

Hi ozziemummie,

Sorry for not giving u a call on the phone. Sch hols started, am 24x7 taking care of my elder daughter, so no chance to chat. Really appreciate that u wrote in the forum instead.

So far, pregnancy ok. Gone thru CVS in wk11 to check for abnormalities, etc (me under high risk mummy cos over 35). Thank God, everything is ok this time. And we know the sex of the baby
My gynae at KK is busy man, so the visits interval is quite long, esp he finds that this time round, my pregnancy seems normal n stable. Sometimes, I get anxious having to wait 6wks to know if everything is ok.

Am already PR, that's why the thought of delivering over there. The decision to give birth here instead cos 1. so that hubby can work til next year here for more $$$, 2. hubby can be wz me to help out now n when I deliver, 3. KK here got all my past pregnancy records n knows my medical history, 4. got more support after delivery, esp frm my family.

We already got our medicare done cos every year, we try to spend at least 1-2mths in AU, mainly in Perth, sometimes to Sydney or Melbourne. Got friends in all 3 states. I used to live in Perth for 3+ yrs studying in Curtin.

Yeah, we know abt the citizen thingy n want to save $$$ on the PR visa for baby too. Moreover, our visa will be expiring in 1+ yr time. Its my hubby's job n money that we still here. Also, we thought let the baby has SGP citizenship, just in case, we need to come back here next time.

So, how long r u going to stay here b4 u go over? R u a SAHM or working?

Do you on yahoo or msn chat? I'll try to give u a call one of these days, else maybe can catch you online.

hi hopeac,

My daughter is born in Jan'02. That wld means I shd try to enrol her for 2nd grade in 2009. I hope to secure a place for her by middle next year then. We likely to be there in 4th Q 2008.

hen,
Their grade 1 is our primary one. So you may want to see what they cover in grade 1.

On the issue of your kid's citizenship. I am not sure if your kid is girl or boy. But if he is born in Aust, he can hold on dual citizenship up to 18. He can decide then. And if your kid is a boy and is born in singapore, he has to serve his NS before he can drop his sg citizenship.

Hi Hen

Hopeac brought up a good point on citizenship. Do consider carefully. I wanted to go to Perth for the birth of my baby too, but since i was having a daughter, i decided to stay in SG. Another thing is you would have to spend some money to apply for a seperate PR for your baby and that is quite expensive (I just did it for my girl too)

Hi Hen,

i'm a SAHM. i quit my job in healthcare when my maternity leave ended in April 'cos my mom couldn't handle my baby...she could'nt managed.
So i've been busy with my little Joseph as i have no helper. on top of that also have to shop and start packing for our stay in Perth. we're leaving 3rd Dec.
I've been keeping in touch with Hidora thru email. I dun have MSN/yahoo chat. but will probably do Skype when i'm in Oz. best to email me or u can gimme a tinkle while i'm still in Sgp. u dun accept PMs...maybe u wanna consider turning it on.
my son holding dual citizenship. so got 2 passports

I went to apply @ICA when i came back to Sgp. so i got baby bonus here

he will probably renounce Sgp at 21...of cos must get out of here before the age cut-off for exit permit application.

Well it's definitely imprt to have family support for mommies who have just given birth. i can fully understand that. Choose what u think suits your situation best...just make sure u keep your PR at all cost!!

been MIA for awhile

ozziemummie,
have you found a place to stay in Perth already. Ppty prices are soaring sky high now

hen,
am from Curtin too. met my hubby there

Hi Ozziemummie, Sunnygirl, Hopeac,

Thanks for sharing on the citizenship thingy.

Am going to have another girl, so don't have to worry abt the NS thingy. As far as my hubby is aware, Singaporeans r not allowed to have dual citizenship, thatz why we thot better for the 2nd one to hv Singapore citizenship n hold AU PR. Definitely we'll try to keep our PR status, now praying hard that they'll renew our visa in Mar 2009 when it expires (by then, dun tink we hv accumulated 2 yrs of stay in AU).

Yeah, its gonna cost us just as much we spent when we applied for the PR thingy as a family. If I recall, tink its almost S$2K+. No choice lor.

I've been planning our move too (what to bring, what not to bring). If we r moving to Perth, its easier for me cos familiar wz the place n quite nbr of friends there. I'm sure I can get a lot of 2nd hand things from my friends. But if we move to MEL, then many things got to start frm scratch.

hi cowandchick

are u looking at public / private school?

me moving to sydney in dec/jan .. i wil b putting my kids in the neighbourhood public school. i do hav some info on the nsw public school info, pm me if u r keen ..

as for childcare, not too sure, coz not putting any in childcare

Hi all the mummies!!!!

mspiggy - we haven't gotten a perm place in Perth to stay yet. 'cos hubby no confirmed job assignment yet. we're taking over a fren's lease for 3 months before it ends. so will have to house-hunt when we're there. the prices r absurd!!!! probably renting. we leveraging on our Sgp housing loan and keep liquidity when we go Oz.

Hubby studied in UNSW. we applied August 2005 and got PR Feb 2006. time running out...need to go stay and "serve time" there
Dun want wait till last minute.

Hen - i agree with u... it's almost nerve-wrecking planning what to bring for the little one!!! sometimes i wish the airline excludes the weight of our luggage bags when they weigh our baggages!!!
We decide on Perth 'cos like u we have frens there and nearer to Sgp. my in-laws in their 70's so anything can happen if u know what i mean....easier to fly home.

Jojos - i'm not the most techno-savvy person but Skype is similar to MSN or yahoo messenger...can chat like ICQ...it's freeware also. just need to download
I used to talk to my hubby using a headset with microphone using Skype.. he was still in Sgp when i went to Perth 32 weeks pregnant. He joined me when i was 38 weeks...my son was really good...waited for Daddy before he came out at solid 40 weeks!

Anyone joining Hidora and me at Subiaco during summer?

Hi ozziemummie

You moving to Perth @ the end of the year? I may be moving 1st Q of next year lor.. If there, may be we can meet up.
My DD just got her PR so we plan to validate with a trip end of this month..hopefully we can go to the Perth Royal Show.
Where will u be staying?

Long time no drop in here. Ozziemummie, we should set up a SMH kopi club in Perth. =D

jojos,

There's another service similar to Skype, owned by Starhub. I was introducing that to ozziemummie too. http://www.pfingo.com/pf/portal/control/main

Basically, for pfingo, either you use a headset with microphone, or buy yourself a Voip phone. It looks like a mobile phone but it has a wire which you need to attach to the usb port of the cpu. Install the program and you will be given a sg number that people from sg can call you at local sg call rate. You can also use the phone to sms. But the program must be on so that calls/ sms can come in thou.

sunnygirl,

We are thinking of going to the Perth Royal Show too! How long will you be in Perth for this trip?

Jojos & Hidora,

what Perth Royal show? i dunno leh. damn suaku ah....

I'll be stay at Fairway, CRAWLEY (Nedlands)from 3rd Dec for 3 months. it's right next to UWA. 5 min drive from Subiaco!

Kopi club is good!!! hopefully hubby's job won't take him too far out in the rural area!!!

Anyway i'm looking forward to Australia Day in Jan. 'cos fireworks! Matilda Bay just in front 5 min walk!!!! good view also!!!! This yr went with Joseph in my tummy..next bring Joseph in Stroller!!!

seems like most of you have a firm date to move already. i'm still hanging there.

managed to get my extension in May hence still can "drag" 1-2 yr more before the big move.

so excited to know there's so many sin mummies in going to perth.

sunnygirl,

Yup, was in Perth since June.

Which area is your house in?

ozziemummie,

I have not been to the Perth Royal show before but heard it's not to be missed. I looked through the website, so many activities! See until blur..

Hi ms piggy

yes..so many mummies going to Perth. We can start a SMH- Perth branch..heehee

When do u plan to move over? There have been some citizenship changes so do take note if u plan to get citizenship

Hidora: PMed you.

Perth Royal Show is nice, they have it once a year in the showground in Subiaco. Its the time where you get to take roller coaster rides, see farm activities n exhibitions, buy show bags, etc. Used to go when I was studying there, n last year, brought my daughter there. Be prepared to spend lots of money!

Yes, the property prices is ridiculous now. Now really regret not buying a house 3 yrs ago. Prob will rent for a year or so, hopefully property prices will drop by then.

Hi sunnygirl,
dont have a date yet for the big move... looking at 2-3 yrs time. dont intend to give up singapore citizenship yet. you going to do that?

hi mspiggy

me also same as u ..plan to move next year depending on hubby's job . however, have to do so soon coz PR only limited for 5 years so need to go and stay in order to renew..

property prices in Perth are now next highest in Aus (after sydney). The economy is doing well there coz of the resource boom . I am building my house there now...been 1 yr already..but it is still building :-( Very slow lor...i think if it is here, already finish building 1 block of flats already..heehee

Hidora, Sunnygirl, mspiggy, hen,

hello hello!!

yeah we'll be renting too 'cos the property prices sky high..the mortgage interest also very high leh.

hubby say dunno whether Oz will eventually have sub-prime problem or not...if got then maybe the prices may go down..then maybe we can consider buying.

Sunnygirl...how come build house so long? 'cos they dun have Bangla workers like we do here in Sgp right? how much u pay for eveyrthing? land plus building? did u get some grant of AUD7000?

yeah all mummies got PR one pls get constant updates on citizenship from immi website. 'cos they keep changing their prerequisites for apply citizenship. Also depends on when your PR was approved. So pls read carefully.

I miss Subiaco!!! Still remember was walking around there so often with my huge tummy!!

Sunnygirl, wld like to check wz u whether u applied for your daughter's PR here in SG or over in AU? How long did your application get approved? I'm trying to plan if I shd make a trip there after I give birth to apply for the baby's PR or shd I do it here.

Sigh, got a problem now. Really didn't want to wait till last minute to enter AU but our plans keep changing due to circumstances. Hubby may go to China to work next year. If so, don't think we can go AU by end of next year. Then again, we need to get in before our visa expires in Mar'09. Anyone got any tips how I can get visa extended though I didn't managed to stay continuously for 2 yrs??

morning ladies

sunnygirl,
building a house takes a long time in Aus, you must be very excited seeing how it build from scratch.

am planning to get a ready house if we really moving next yr.

hen,
i didnt stay for 2 yrs but somehow managed to get the visa extended. i flew down just to extend the visa and comes out with all sorts of reasons like i get preg cant travel and also cant find jobs hence no income hard etc etc... must show that we are sincere to stay in AUS.

1 most impt thing we met a very nice officer who buys our story. i guess it all depends on the officer how is handling. so pray hard!

ozziemummie: ya..will be entitled to the grant..have to claim it though.. i bought the land almost 2 years back lor..so has been taking loooong time to build. wait til my neck long long already

Renting is good idea as prices are bit high at the moment .

Hen : It took me about 1 month to get the PR for my DD. I applied here. As for RRV, it depends on how you present your case to the officer.

mspiggy: wow..u are really lucky to get a nice officer to re extend. eh..but do bear in mind that the citizenship laws have changed.I believe u and I are under the old scheme whereby the citizenship requirements are much easier...so if u want to get citizenship..do it now...or else after 2010..tougher already liao

Hidora : din manage to catch u on msn yet...hehehe..one of these days must chat with you ;)
Subprime is referring to the loans default problems in the US...actually, it hit Aus pretty badly..that's why the currency collapsed to 1.2 few weeks back.

sunnygirl,

Ya we should chat on msn one day! Haha, after your explanation, I still have no clue what subprime is.. I think I let hb go headache anything related to $$ ba. Really bad at all these. ;p

sunnygirl,
yes... we're very lucky!!! so now really can't drag to very last min coz dont think they will buy our story again. hehehee

Guess I got to leave it to fate (hopefully I meet a nice officer too) to decide if I get to keep my PR status in 2009. For now, the plan would be to deliver here in this Dec, then apply passport for the baby in Jan, go to China, come back sometime in Jun to apply for AU PR.

In the meantime, maybe I'll start looking into some kind of investment over there to increase my chances, like buying land/house (though its really not worth it since the price is ridiculously high, but no choice lor). Or start some kind of small business, hmmm...

Trying to get a letter from gynae to allow me to fly but the problem wz KKH is that you can't reach your gynae directly. Been calling the main line, they directed me to The Private Suite where I see my gynae, but no one picks up the phone there. Sent them email also no reply. So much for service excellence. So frustrating.

hen,

think u need to just make appt to see gynae to get letter lor. bloody shit all the hospitals need to pay $$ to see them just to get letter. Pardon my language!

I was seeing Dr KT Tan at the private suite before i flew to Oz. she's ok lah...

sunnygirl & mspiggy-- think the officers have probably heard the same old stories many times hor? must think of new storylines liao.

I didn't get to collect my baby bonus from OZ 'cos i flew back after i applied for it. So when i return to Oz in Dec i'll go appeal on grounds my mother-in-law not well...which is true. 4000AUD leh!!!! must try to get it back!!

ozziemummie,
what abt the baby bonus in OZ? i try reading from the website but cant gather much. seems like only for babies after before 2004 right?

mspiggy,

i'm not sure leh.. yeah i remembered reading the babybonus on the website very blur...think it's after...anyway as long as u'r a resident and your baby is born there (citizen) u'll get it. The hospital will give u some application forms...then u go Family Assistance in the Medicare centre they'll help u through it....

Not sure if it was something I ate or the dust or what, got rashes last weekend. So, I went to KKH 24hr Clinic on Sat morning to see a doctor. I was sent to the Delivery Suite & after half an hr of observation & some questioning by the duty doctor, was given some medicine for the itch and sent home. The doctor said not sure why the rash and it does not look serious and the baby is ok. So, I asked the doctor for a letter for travel and he gave it to me. Just after, my gynae called me. I told him that I am at KKH and have already asked the doctor for the letter. Well, at least he called back.

ozziemum

ur link was indeed useful...pls keep in touch when ur in Perth so that we can meet up.....still waiting for my PR application still pending....

hen,

how's your itch? sorry we took so long to reply!!
anyway where was the itch? Usually our tummy very itchy one mah...i remember i had quite a bit of rashes too - 'cos our skin stretches as the baby grows. It went away after i apply stretch oil religiously. Every mummy has her favourite stretch mark cream or lotion. I used this brand think it's called "Earth Mama & Angel Baby" Stretch Oil. U can get from Mom Essentials @ KKH near the private suite. small bottle costs about $28. dunno got price increase or not. i love it!!!
hope it helps

Yatie!!!!
hi!! I haven't been surfing the Oz gov websites but when i do and i come across any useful info i'll post the link here.

Mummies, any of u lodge your tax returns for Oz before? must lodge or not? even if u not working in Oz plus worse still pple like me still in Sgp?!?!

i'm feeling kinda anxious abt my move this Dec...more because have to bring so many things for my boy!

Hen,

one more thing: the lady boss @ Mom Essentials is a very nice lady. Her name is Pamela. Our mothers are friends. She's very helpful and knows her products very well.
Another product u may wanna try on your baby later is AROMABABY from Oz!!! the baby lotion is really good. no fragrance or extra chemicals...my son's skin (face also) very nice partly 'cos of this product!!!

ozziemummie,

Not true wor, I dun have a fav brand of stretch mark cream or lotion cos no matter what I applied, still got stretchmarks.. ;p

Been away for a while, just came back from Shanghai. We very lucky, there was typhoon the week before we flew in, and again a day after we flew out.

ozziemummie,
The rash was all over my body, arms n legs, definitely not the usual stretch mark kind of itch. For stretch marks, I recently bought the Vichy cream n its quite effective. Then again, I'm not very diligent when comes to beauty care, so I don't apply every day.

As for the tax return, so far, just like u, we r here in SG, so we have not lodge any income tax returns over there though we already got our tax file nbr.

Am worried abt our PR now, cos we haven't continuously stayed there for 2 yrs, so they may not extend it to us when it expires. Anyone went in just before theirs expire n managed to extend for another 5 yrs?

hen,
if you decided to make the move before expiry should not be a problem. in case you need to return to singapore urgently, you can apply for extension.

i managed to get another 5 yrs... but considered lucky to meet a kind officer then. be prepared to tell them why you didnt move earlier and show/prove to them that you're sincere abt moving ASAP.

Hi Hen,
we just managed to extend our PR for another five years. I only arrived in June, and my PR was gg to expire in Oct. When we went to the Immigration Dept, it was a problem coz I haven't chalked up 2 years (although it wasn't a problem for my husband who has been working here for awhile). They asked us to write a statement to support our RRV application.

Anyway, they called us about 2 weeks later to say that it has been approved on grounds that my husband is working here.

However, I also know of someone who has successfully applied for the RRV even though she hasn't lived here two years... It is a case-by-case application...

HTH

Hi Andrea,

The RRV is the returning resident visa rite where u need to exit of Australia when yr PR expires is it?

Can check with you for my case, both my HB n my visa expire Aug 08 and we intend to migrate sometime in June 08 after I deliver my bb nxt mth and settle her with all the infant jabs. Would that hv breached any part of the migration laws? So far, when I asked a lawyer friend over there, he was telling me as long as we enter before the time line it shdn't be a problem.

But in any case, if we r there before the time line. Do we need to go to any relevant authorities after aug 08 to renew anything? These laws and acts makes me so confused.