Mummies in Australia?

Thanks for all mummies reply!! Really appreciate it!!

Hi Woofwoof, will be submitting maybe by next week once we are done with the police clearance.

Hi tweetie, thanks for sharing!

Hmmm...i thought we need to fill up the form and post it to Australia side just like when we are applying for the PR?? Or we can go to local aus high comm to do it for child visa??

Pinky pooh

why bb need police clearance for their visa?
There is a checklist on immi website on e documentation required for child visa.
From wat I know, u may apply e child visa at aus high comm in sgp- Napier rd... Tweentie shared tat we do not need to bring child along during application

pinkypoh, u dun nid to send the form the australia. Can just complete and bring the form to aust. high comm. They will assess it from here, usually it will be ready in a month's time.

woofwoof, children dun nid police clearance. I didnt recall having to do that.

Yup, most likely I will be a SAHM when I move over. Want to ensure that they are well taken care of.

hi woofwoof and tweetie, the police clearance is meant for me and my hubby. Cos i read from the immi checklist that we need to submit it.

So, we just fill up the forms and submit it to local australia high comm?

hi pinky poh,
me n hubby had to do police clearance when we applied for our child too.
yup, you can submit at the aust high comm.
but make sure you have all the forms and relevant docs etc.
if not they won't accept on the spot, and you have to come back another day.

pinky poh, u mean u haven't file for PR yet? Oh I thought u have PR and now only applying for child. Adult PR will have a lot of things to do and complete.

Yes, if you are outside of australia, u nid to submit to local AHC as it is a offshore application. But u must make sure u meet all the requirements listed down in the application, else chance of rejection very high.

Heard with the new migration law, requirements are more stringent now, so u might need to check again.

carinal, when I applied for my 2mth old child abt 2 yrs back, they didn't require that.

hi tweetie, no lah..We already got the PR 2yrs back. Now applying child visa for my bb gal.

Hi carinal, for police clearance we only do after the aust side give us the form to do it or we can go ahead with the police clearance first. But iirc, we need to have a form to show it to the police that we need this clearance thing for migration purposes. Correct me if i am wrong.

pinky poh, u gotta double check again coz I recall I didnt do any police clearance for my child. The only thing apart from the CTC proofs was medical check up, tat's it.

Is it a new guideline?

hi tweetie, clearance is for myself and hubby only. CHild dun need.

Anyway, for police clearance...do we need to get any forms from the aust high comm before we can proceed for the police screening clearance? Can any mummies advice on this?

Cos think we need to submit a form to give to the police side then they will allow us to do the screening.

Pinky poh, I remembered I got a form when I approach e police departmt for character clearance.... I have an agent tat time, they passed me e form and I went to e police hq

Hi pinky, did u prepare a document call "official statutory declaration" from one of e parent (who is not e sponsor of e child visa)? It is listed in e checklist for e child visa application.

Woof
With regards to your question on
"
min lenght of residency - 2 yrs
saw tat some mummies actually move over on their 4th or 5th yr after visa grant. I was told tat we need to stay in aus for a min period of 2yrs in order to qualify for pr renewal- do we need to stay a ' continuosly' for 2 yrs? I also intend to move on my 4th yr, but wld fly bk to sgp once every few mths for few weeks- does it still count as 2yr residency? "

The 2 yrs is not continuously. It's total length of time. If you move on yr 4th year, you can still fly back to sgp every few months, as long as your PR visa has not expire. If your PR visa expires , you can continue to stay in AU, but, once you travel out of AU with expired visa, you cannot come in as PR .

Mngo, thks for e advice

could any mummy help with e official statutory declaration from e non sponsoring parent (for child visa application)? Any sample wld be very helpful....

Hi woofwoof, sorry for late reply cos was in the midst of moving house.

Yes, we were ask by aust high comm to submit it before we can submit our child pr application forms to them.

We got a lawyer to do the statutory declaration for us. For your information, if your hubby is the sponsor for the child then u(as a mother to the child) need to provide the declaration. Your hubby dun need.

In my case, my hubby is the sponsor thus i neeed to do the statutory declaration under my name. Hope this helps you.

hi aus mommies !!

Just wondering, anyone got rejected before ( visa application)??

I am going to take my Eng test soon and will be going to Perth(most likely) to work as a nurse.

Hi Keira,
if you have the time, u can do this on your own.go to the immi.gov.au - look thru the checklist to determine which is the most relevant visa for your family situation and Print out all the relevant forms.
You may want to check with the Aus High Comm before you actually lodge the application and also ensure that you have all the documents (most have to be certified by a notary public). It's a little cheaper doing without an agent

<font color="aa00aa">I have submitted my application for myself and my family last month.

applied with 2 of my other friends. we submitted our applications at different times. i was expecting a wait of about 2 years. then my friend dropped a bombshell and told me that her application has been approved already! She submitted her application like 2 months earlier.</font>

woof,
What is homestay? Renting a room? or service apartments.

If you are refering to student homestay, I think there are few sites that does that service. You can google homestay melbourne.

Pinky
It really depends. There are some pple who can take months , years to get one job. For some, it's a matter of weeks.

pinky
I 2nd mngo.. my hub is in engineering n is also kinda diff to get job.. it depends on ur luck.. the 1st job is hard to come but once u got a job, lots will come by.. patience is the key

ya, but hubby kind of discouragee already..somemore he really missed the kids in sin..so we may give up our plans to go over.

In fact, he has been actively sending resumes to aussie side for the past one and half years but only 2-3 replies. But then they required him to start immediately for work but we can't cos got other commitments..

pardon me- I read about news on kids going missing or abducted in Australia quite often... Is it something to worry abt?

Of course we need to stay vigilant at all times- no matter wat

Pinky,
yr hubby- civil engineer?
Yr hubby is in aus and u &amp; bb are in sgp?
We intend to plan our move based on tat arrangement too... Know tat it is tough living apart

WoofWoof
Yes... that happens. thing is, it doesnt only happen in AU. It can happen in any countries.
So do keep an eye ....

Pinky
how long has your hb been in perth?
He has to give himself a few months.
If you guys are seriously thinking of leaving Singapore, I am sure your hb doesnt mind taking any kind of jobs just to keep the family going.

pinky n woof woof
my Arrangement was my elder doter n hub goes first n it took him 3 mths to get a casual(temp) job n turn permanent after 3 mths n he's nt in engineering line either but he kinda like the working hrs..tats y he changed trade..the important ting Is tat it helps to sustain our whole family when me n my 4 kids r here after 6 mths... we miss each other alot too n luckily i got lots of leave to spare n flew here 2mths once with kids... its tough especially when i was preggy last yr but we pull thru...

hi woof, yes. Hubby in aus and me and bb in sin.

Most probably hubby will be coming back cos he feels that he still prefer singapore. The cost of living in perth is also getting more and more higher. A loaf of bread cost A3.90.
House in perth is also getting more expensive already...just imagine we may need to work till 70yrs old then can finish the loan.

There are always pros and cons..

I told him wait for another 3 months but think he say he more or less made up his mind oredi..

WA, they said that they are facing skill shortage, need to give incentives for people to relocate there to work- all that I read-Not True???

Engineering in e construction
my friend told me that jobs are aplenty in 2006 or so; for now, she heard that alot of companies have freeze headcount; she is in Victoria

Hopeac,
homestay is like renting a room and staying together with the landlord's family, I suppose...

If hubby is gg over first without the family, maybe he could explore that option to save $.... For student homestay, don't know of they accept working adult

ryatie
I am always under the impression that aus is short of engineers- so that is not true also...

Missing children
mngo
guess I am all jittery when it gets nearer to our plan to move, worry about everything...
Read tat there are few cases in Mel already.

Pinky
A loaf of bread ranges anything from 90cents to a few dollars. you just need to knwo where to find cheap things. Cheap items are not from coles / woolworths .

Woof
Engineers r shortage here but mostly they need here is with WA cert.. N being new here they most likely take locals first unless maybe in mining areas.. But we kinda dislikes the working hours despite their high salary

Pinky
I usually buy at deli.. It also depends on the brand...i nvr buy bread more than $3...we have to shop wisely here...

Pinky,
The bread you are quoting,$3.90 is the branded one. The cheapest house brand from coles is around 1+. And it is twice the size of gardenia bread,

Vege and meat is 1/3 more expensive in coles and woolworth. It is cheaper to get from the butcher and green grocers, at least in Melb. There is Audi if you are going for cheaper alternatives other than woolworth and Coles.

Migrating is not as easy as most pple think. There are quite alot of uncertainties, and you have to be mental prepared for the what ifs.

Woof,
There are a few cases in Melb. The child abduction cases you talking about, happen in Frankston. In Aus, there are good and bad neighborhoods. The better suburbs are generally safe.

In Melb, it may take some time to get the first job even for the locals. So alot of the locals will do casual, part time, contract while waiting for the right job to come about. So if you look at the resumes of the local aussies, you will notice that the do a varied things before they get the job in their chosen career. Be prepared to take 1 step back.

In some companies, their contract, freelance or casual positions will turn into perm positions.

It is also generally easier to get a job, if you have a specialised skills. There is always preference for local experience over the foreign experience no matter how skilled. Sometimes, it is easier to get jobs in regional areas.

My hub was in Melb for 6 months before we came over. He rented a unit and he cooked and cleaned for himself. The other option is you can room share an apartment and do "tingkat" for one person. They have "tingkat" services here too.

There is a singapore mothers group in Melb, which meet up occasionally. If you are interested, I can do an invite in facebook.

Hi there
This is my first post. My hubs just broke the news that he is going to be sent to NSW on a work assignment between 6-8 months from October this year.

I'm very nervous because we have 2 kids under 2 to move with us!

I dont know if this is doable but we don't plan to ship anything there. We will try to carry stuff and buy the rest there...?

Accommodation-wise, I saw some people recommending LJ Hooker and Professional...any others to consider? We are hoping for fully furnished dwellings because svc apts are so expensive. We are looking at neighbourhoods close to Darlinghurst where hubby will be working.

Those in Sydney / NSW, can you tell me which neighbourhoods close to Darlinghurst are nicer and which to avoid? I'm aware that King's Cross is the red light district..

I'm quite excited about this temp move though I think I'll be holed up at home most of the time. Would appreciate any advice.

pinky,

Your hb is here for less than 2 weeks and he has already made up his mind in less than 1 week (according to the date of your posting) Wow.. that's fast.

Cost of living in Perth is not low but hey, at least sch fees are free in public schools. Medical fees are free for kids below 16 and when you reach pensioners age. Also, you get family assist monies each yr for being a SAHM. Last I received close to 10k AUD.

As for buying food at cheap prices, it really comes down to the place you shop. And I'm not surprised he doesn't know the places since he's here for like 2 wks?

Housing exp? Ok lah, compare with Sg housing side by side, very cheap already lor... At least we stay in "bungalow" with big land space here. Min got 3 - 4 bedrooms and is freehold... And I'm not even comparing by size hor. One "bungalow" here, can get for less than AUD$300k depending on location. And in fact prices of housing are decreasing, not increasing..

In Sg, all the $ are used to pay minsters already...where got $ to take care of citizens. If wanna stay in Sg till old, better make sure "can die, cannot fall sick".

Oh, unless you are FT, then Sg gahmen will look after you better.

Perth property prices are expected to continue to fall for the rest of the year in what could be the city's worst property recession since before the Global Financial Crisis.

And while WA's strong economic prospects could prompt a recovery, analysts now fear the property market will need to show a significant turnaround before the negative sentiment can be reversed.

Data released by Australian Property Monitors - owned by Fairfax Digital, publisher of this website - shows Perth median house and unit prices fell for the third consecutive quarter during the three months to March and show no sign of stabilising.

Read more: http://www.watoday.com.au/business/property/perth-property-in-freefall-as-price-slump-shows-no-sign-of-ending-20110427-1dwi3.html#ixzz1NLm7rc00

Article on the news today. I personally think it doesn't apply to just Aussies, but rather the ppl living in Au.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/newshome/9509295/aussies-enjoying-the-good-life/

Australians are enjoying the best quality of life in the world.

A special investigation by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development of the world's richest nations finds that on almost every measure - from the number of rooms in our homes to the quality of education - Australia is the place to live.

Only Norway can strike a claim to be ahead of Australia.

The Paris-based think tank, which monitors economic policies across the world's 34 richest nations, has pulled together a disparate range of ways to measure the quality of life.

It is an attempt to go beyond a person's income as the way to determine if they are happy.

Asked if we were satisfied with our lives, three in four Australians believed they were, compared with a global average of 59 per cent.

Australians were the fourth most satisfied nationality in the world, behind the Danes, Canadians and Norwegians.

We are even more upbeat about the future, with 83 per cent believing their life will be satisfying in five years.

Through an ordinary day, 74 per cent of Australians say they have more positive experiences such as pride in a job well done than negative ones.

If we get in a jam, 95 per cent of us know someone who can help, compared with a world average of 91 per cent.

Sixty-five per cent of Australians reported helping a stranger in the past month, compared with a global average of 47 per cent.

Our air is cleaner than in most other nations, only one per cent of Australians are considered long-term unemployed and almost all of us have an indoor toilet.

We work an average 1690 hours a year, fewer than most people in the developed world with an average of 1739 hours.

Australia does have a bigger number of people who work long hours - more than 50 hours a week - but at just 0.14 per cent of the total workforce, it is not significant.

While we bemoan our school system, our children rank sixth in the world in literacy.

We live longer than most others with an average lifespan of 81.5 years - two years above the OECD average and two years more than a Briton and nearly three years longer than an American.

This may be partly because of Australia's success at halving the number of smokers between 1983 and 2007.

We have the third lowest smoking rate in the developed world.

But our obesity rate is the fastest growing of any rich nation in the past 20 years. One in two Australians is now overweight.
"Obesity's growing prevalence foreshadows increases in the occurrence of health problems (such as diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and asthma) and higher health care costs in the future," the OECD investigation found.